Suzuki Malaysia rebooting., Kawasaki to handle Suzuki CKD operations

TSZZR-Pilot
post Aug 30 2020, 11:19 PM, updated 2y ago

1,057 posts

A visit to GC Ann in K Sgor on Sat revealed the news that Kawasaki is currently in the midst of taking over Suzuki Assembler Msia's operations. The dealership flat out told me, if I'm thinking of buying a V-Strom, hold the thought for now until they finalize the CKD version in the coming months.

He quoted me RM43k OTR as the current price for the 650XT, which suggests they might be clearing out the CBU stock to make room for the CKD production. Who knows?

Interesting news, nonetheless.

https://pandulaju.com.my/kapcai-suzuki-munc...ar-di-malaysia/
alexei
post Aug 30 2020, 11:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

yeah, heard this few weeks back. local bike scene be like Japan vs China.
Sincerely, I hope kawa will sustain, and Modenas with it, too.

ZZR-Pilotbeen to anywhere lately?
TSZZR-Pilot
post Aug 30 2020, 11:40 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 31 2020, 12:29 AM)

ZZR-Pilotbeen to anywhere lately?
The wifu never cared much for riding the entire time I owned the TNT600. With the D400, she's now hooked..!

Took her to Melaka right after the hardcore MCO ended. A few weeks later, I took her up to Genting... but bloody hell, the place was packed despite half of Genting was closed. Even Gohtong Jaya was jammed up. A couple of weeks ago, I took her to Cameron Highlands via Pos Slim... also packed...!! So on Sat I took her to Pantai Remis... coz I actually wanted to go to that bike shop looking for a tourer that won't numb my ass with all that buzzing after 2 hours...

alexei
post Aug 30 2020, 11:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 30 2020, 11:40 PM)
The wifu never cared much for riding the entire time I owned the TNT600. With the D400, she's now hooked..!

Took her to Melaka right after the hardcore MCO ended. A few weeks later, I took her up to Genting... but bloody hell, the place was packed despite half of Genting was closed. Even Gohtong Jaya was jammed up. A couple of weeks ago, I took her to Cameron Highlands via Pos Slim... also packed...!! So on Sat I took her to Pantai Remis... coz I actually wanted to go to that bike shop looking for a tourer that won't numb my ass with all that buzzing after 2 hours...
wow nice.
D400 works, I wonder why? I'm looking for a tourer as another bike, too. Dare not venture up Genting or Cameron since I'd be driving instead.
Pantai Remis coconut is nice, I heard. Is that where you heard about the Suzuki/Kawasaki thing?

TSZZR-Pilot
post Aug 31 2020, 12:55 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 31 2020, 12:54 AM)
wow nice.
D400 works, I wonder why? I'm looking for a tourer as another bike, too. Dare not venture up Genting or Cameron since I'd be driving instead.
Pantai Remis coconut is nice, I heard. Is that where you heard about the Suzuki/Kawasaki thing?
Yeah pretty much. Noticed that the key Suzuki dealerships (Sin Seng Huat, GC Ann, Eang Chun) are slashing price of the V-strom on Mudah, so I decided to make a trip out to K Selangor to check what's up.

D400 is more than OK when riding solo, but when touring two-up with luggage its lack of displacement and cylinders quickly become apparent. There's nothing below 6000rpm and above 8000rpm it runs out of puff while its fuel economy goes to shit shockingly fast. Exploiting the few overtaking opportunities on the tight twisties towards Tapah for example got me bouncing off the rev limiter in 3rd gear a few times.

However, it truly shines when commuting and negotiating city traffic plus the lack of heft makes it super easy to muscle in and out of tight parking spots.
fat16
post Aug 31 2020, 09:29 AM

4,582 posts

Suzuki moped problem is branding. many motor dealer don't sell or recommended suzuki bike.
Kawasaki Motors Malaysia (KMM) must deal with this bike taiko else new suzuki just like old suzuki.
https://www.mmsda.org.my
Dreadlock13
post Aug 31 2020, 05:15 PM

480 posts

Hears the news way back when i go into kawasaki dealership.
And on july a statement way release from suzuki that they stopped all bike purchase and cancel all order from customers. They also said a new agents will takeover. It's probably KMM.

Man now sv650 is back on my radar
Dreadlock13
post Aug 31 2020, 05:19 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Aug 31 2020, 09:29 AM)
Suzuki moped problem is branding. many motor dealer don't sell or recommended  suzuki bike.
Kawasaki Motors Malaysia (KMM) must deal with this bike taiko else new suzuki just like old suzuki.
https://www.mmsda.org.my
But suzuki bike are insanely good and reliable. My late father suzuki still running. A few friends still using them for work daily.

Why dealer dont sell them?
leon898
post Sep 1 2020, 10:37 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 31 2020, 05:15 PM)
Hears the news way back when i go into kawasaki dealership.
And on july a statement way release from suzuki that they stopped all bike purchase and cancel all order from customers. They also said a new agents will takeover. It's probably KMM.

Man now sv650 is back on my radar
yup, me too looking for this bike biggrin.gif
Heard this rumors since June iinm. Kawasaki Japan will do partnership with Modenas..That leaves Kawasaki Malaysia with no choice right?

This post has been edited by leon898: Sep 1 2020, 10:37 AM
hitz
post Sep 1 2020, 10:42 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 31 2020, 05:19 PM)
But suzuki bike are insanely good and reliable. My late father suzuki still running. A few friends still using them for work daily.

Because hard to find spare parts for suzuki bikes.
Not all shop sell them.
basilisk
post Sep 1 2020, 11:59 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 31 2020, 05:19 PM)

QUOTE(hitz @ Sep 1 2020, 10:42 AM)
Because hard to find spare parts for suzuki bikes.
Not all shop sell them.
well as explained by fat16..

it's all 'fixed' by... the persatuan dealer ... mmsda

This post has been edited by basilisk: Sep 1 2020, 11:59 AM
alexei
post Sep 1 2020, 01:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 1 2020, 11:59 AM)
well as explained by fat16..

it's all 'fixed' by... the persatuan dealer ... mmsda
you mean, that persatuan determined which brand to get more market share and distribution?
basilisk
post Sep 1 2020, 02:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 1 2020, 01:11 PM)
you mean, that persatuan determined which brand to get more market share and distribution?
we all know la, frm long time ago dealer only like to push for Y.. and they purposely mark up S spare part price, sell fake S spare part, don wana restok genuine parts then said parts hard to get...bla bla bla...

there is nothing susuki can do...

then consumer will blame susuki marketing no good.. spare part mahal...
knight_kriss
post Sep 1 2020, 02:10 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 1 2020, 02:08 PM)
we all know la, frm long time ago dealer only like to push for Y.. and they purposely mark  up S spare part price, sell fake S spare part, don wana restok genuine parts then said parts hard to get...bla bla bla...

there is nothing susuki can do...

then consumer will blame susuki marketing no good.. spare part mahal...
jual motor also have politics doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
basilisk
post Sep 1 2020, 02:31 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Sep 1 2020, 02:10 PM)
jual motor also have politics  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
of cos.. Y can sell rm85 k.... lol...

alexei
post Sep 1 2020, 04:07 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

I see... some manipulation at play here.

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 1 2020, 02:31 PM)
of cos.. Y can sell rm85 k.... lol...
That's a buyer from Vietnam.
basilisk
post Sep 18 2020, 11:01 AM

30 posts

this mornin susuki msia's fb info was updated, address , tel no, working hours changed to kawa hicom address... biggrin.gif...

so can buy susuki kapchai parts frm kawa oredi... ??

SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Sep 18 2020, 08:46 PM

1,471 posts

are they bring in Katana ? hehhehe i love their old popup katana.
basilisk
post Sep 18 2020, 08:55 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Sep 18 2020, 08:46 PM)
are they bring in Katana ? hehhehe i love their old popup katana.
katana been selling here long time dy .. bro... heheh...
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Sep 18 2020, 08:58 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 18 2020, 08:55 PM)
katana been selling here long time dy .. bro... heheh...
cause i don't see many (suzuki) OTR .... hahahhaha

This post has been edited by XXXOOOXXXOOO: Sep 18 2020, 08:58 PM
hong3831
post Sep 19 2020, 08:10 AM

314 posts

There was one Suzuki showroom opposite my office at Bandar Sunway, just closing down last month....
basilisk
post Sep 29 2020, 09:06 PM

30 posts

LoL... still belalang ar?..
Dreadlock13
post Sep 30 2020, 05:53 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 29 2020, 09:06 PM)

LoL... still belalang ar?..
So GSXR and belang?

Cant wait to see what other model.

They not wrong tho. Belang is still the king of the street. That bike is scary fast
lowpro
post Sep 30 2020, 08:10 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 30 2020, 05:53 AM)
So GSXR and belang?

Cant wait to see what other model.

They not wrong tho. Belang is still the king of the street. That bike is scary fast
The headlamp image belongs to the Bandit 150. I think they will launch low cc models to quickly build up numbers first. But then a sport bike above 250cc might form the brand's halo model...so, GSX-R is a possibility, but which one?
Quazacolt
post Sep 30 2020, 09:11 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Sep 30 2020, 08:10 AM)
GSX-R is a possibility, but which one?
No need think la, that title is only for the GSX-R1000R and GSX-R1000

only 2.

So I lol'd at the image +title combi
basilisk
post Sep 30 2020, 09:15 AM

30 posts

that head is belalang head...

for me, as a 1st gen belalang owner, i wont upgred la..
i bot it even b4 d bike is officially launched in 2009,
cos of the simplicity, no liquid cool, no plastic, less headache...
gaya is anorexic.... ie kurus kering,
ergo is ... bars too low..

awol
post Sep 30 2020, 09:18 PM

909 posts

Suzuki belang 150 again?
alexei
post Oct 1 2020, 08:12 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Boleh na... GSXS150 right? rclxs0.gif rclxs0.gif
https://www.globalsuzuki.com/motorcycle/pro...s150/360viewer/

This post has been edited by alexei: Oct 1 2020, 08:13 AM
Quazacolt
post Oct 2 2020, 07:24 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

time flies!

it's been 4 years

JLA
post Oct 6 2020, 07:57 AM

2,768 posts

PETRONAS SUZUKI SRT MOTOGP 2022 ?
https://the-race.com/motogp/petronas-suzuki...-2022-shake-up/
basilisk
post Oct 24 2020, 01:58 PM

30 posts

susuki filipin ya...

msia aft one month sunyi oni...

basilisk
post Oct 26 2020, 01:24 PM

30 posts

if these 2 kambing to mehsia...

will it be like the honda 250single?

a bike tht nobody wants.. design uglier than chinese bikes...

lolsomany
post Nov 1 2020, 01:05 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 30 2020, 09:15 AM)
that head is belalang head...

for me, as a 1st gen belalang owner, i wont upgred la..
i bot it even b4 d bike is officially launched in 2009,
cos of the simplicity, no liquid cool, no plastic, less headache...
gaya is anorexic.... ie kurus kering,
ergo is ... bars too low..

the new UPCOMING Belang fi has radiator, fuel injection which make it more efficient than belang carb. belang carb only goes up to 160Km according to suzuki, the new FI one can reach 200KM.

another thing is HP also increase

Belang Carb is 16.6HP

Belang Fi is 18.2 HP

more faster than 125Z

maybe equal to sym V3FI facelift that produce 18.5 HP
lolsomany
post Nov 1 2020, 01:11 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 26 2020, 01:24 PM)

this 2 bikes is 160cc

they both are indian made

they have less HP than belang which is not good to cilok cilok or potong cars

if i'm not wrong only 13.9 HP

belang carb can produce 16.6HP
belang FI which upcoming next year is 18.2HP

but there's 250cc variant that can do 22HP. but its still considered for santai ride and not for rempit style
i don't know which variant will enter malaysia
basilisk
post Nov 1 2020, 01:27 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(lolsomany @ Nov 1 2020, 01:11 AM)
this 2 bikes is 160cc

they both are indian made

they have less HP than belang which is not good to cilok cilok or potong cars

if i'm not wrong only 13.9 HP

belang carb can produce 16.6HP
belang FI which upcoming next year is 18.2HP
but there's 250cc variant that can do 22HP. but its still considered for santai ride and not for rempit style
i don't know which variant will enter malaysia
the pics ive posted, its gixxer 250 brudder, just launched more than a week ago in the filipins...
i just double check the photos, ada 250 decals there.

india got it earlier this year...

https://www.topbikes.ph/news/2020-suzuki-gi...home_featured_1

personally, for a small cc 150 kapchai, i prefer less complicated tech, doesn't matter how many hp it has got...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Nov 1 2020, 01:43 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Nov 1 2020, 08:19 AM

157 posts

I always wanted to ask
Why bikes on India have this ugly side frame /rack covering the rear tyres ?

Some sari protection?
RalphRatedR
post Nov 3 2020, 06:58 AM

280 posts

Even the old GSXR 600/750 SRAD looks prettier than gixxer sf sweat.gif
basilisk
post Nov 3 2020, 09:28 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 1 2020, 08:19 AM)
I always wanted to ask
Why bikes on India have this ugly side frame /rack covering the rear tyres ?

Some sari protection?
yes correct!

now required by law to have those on all motorbikes...

https://m.freepressjournal.in/article/india...83-749af495818d

SUSskyblu3
post Nov 3 2020, 01:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 3 2020, 09:28 AM)
yes correct!

now required by law to have those on all motorbikes...

https://m.freepressjournal.in/article/india...83-749af495818d

Thanks for the info
basilisk
post Jul 17 2021, 12:28 PM

30 posts

TSZZR-Pilot
post Jul 17 2021, 07:43 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 17 2021, 01:28 PM)
Funny that I had texted Gary of GC Ann coincidentally just yesterday to check on the news, specifically the CKD V-strom that he had mentioned late last year.

He said nothing could move due to the MCO (makes sense), hv to wait towards the end of the year at best.... so I'm not sure what Mr Ramanujam is talking about in this article. Pre-order to wait how long exactly and what's our incentive to do so?

Things should get interesting this year-end though, he said, coz if the kilang jalan then we can expect the V-strom 650XT Adventure (that's the version complete with the hard panniers) going for under RM40k. Plus the CFmoto 800MT should be due in at the time too.

Me, I'd take it with a fistful of salt. But what have we got to lose in waiting anyway, since this pandemic is getting worse and it doesn't look like I could go touring on a new bike anytime soon...

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jul 17 2021, 07:43 PM
TSZZR-Pilot
post Jul 18 2021, 11:26 AM

1,057 posts

Apparently Wah Hong Motor in Klang says they're taking RM500 bookings for V-Strom 650 to be sold at RM38K (not OTR). Updates coming next month. Maybe this is the CKD thing GC Ann was going on about...

Interesting....
minmin
post Jul 18 2021, 12:11 PM

203 posts

I might be getting the gsxs750. Any one with experience on this bike ?
Dreadlock13
post Aug 25 2021, 02:20 PM

480 posts

Gsx 750 at 40k

Sv650 and v strom at 37k

This post has been edited by Dreadlock13: Aug 25 2021, 02:20 PM
alexei
post Aug 25 2021, 04:45 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(minmin @ Jul 18 2021, 12:11 PM)
I might be getting the gsxs750. Any one with experience on this bike ?
K5 engine, need to ask those GSXR750 owners. should be no problem lah...
basilisk
post Aug 26 2021, 04:29 PM

30 posts

all cbu so far...
if ckd even cheaper ???

This post has been edited by basilisk: Aug 26 2021, 04:34 PM
Dreadlock13
post Aug 26 2021, 06:23 PM

480 posts

I remember sv650 was rm 43k before.
And gsx s750 was even more expensive.

But wow kawasaki malaysia not messing around this time.

ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 26 2021, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 25 2021, 02:20 PM)
Gsx 750 at 40k

Sv650 and v strom at 37k
Ya wor, drooling for gsxs.. Used to be 54k if not mistaken.. Too bad salary got affected, else sure grab either Gxsx or v-strom... sad.gif
Dreadlock13
post Aug 26 2021, 11:13 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 26 2021, 10:54 PM)
Ya wor, drooling for gsxs.. Used to be 54k if not mistaken.. Too bad salary got affected, else sure grab either Gxsx or v-strom... sad.gif
Was holding my purchases since covid.
Everything went wrong.
Don't know if I ever get the chance to buy one anytime soon.

And yes gsx s750 price was insanely high back then.

ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 26 2021, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 26 2021, 11:13 PM)
Was holding my purchases since covid.
Everything went wrong.
Don't know if I ever get the chance to buy one anytime soon.

And yes gsx s750 price was insanely high back then.
Yea, now even if not affected also better just focus on necessity 1st.. Seems like situation is out of control, no one knows what will happen next.. Now me surviving on EPF withdrawal only.. Salary down 50% since 1st MCO.. After pay installments left almost 0.. doh.gif
TSZZR-Pilot
post Aug 28 2021, 12:28 PM

1,057 posts

GC Ann guy got back to me today, confirming that the V-strom he mentioned months ago turned out to be CBU.

Long story cut short, I was offered rock bottom RM38,500 OTR (3rd pty insurance) cash price, minus the freebies.

I'm like DAAAAAAAAAMMMNNNN.... people were trying to sell their 2-3 year old V-stroms for that price in the used market!

But it left me wondering... if Suzuki can flog this bike CBU at under RM40k and still make a profit (pretty sure they're not doing it for charity at this point), imagine the profit margin they were raking in when they were selling it at RM45k previously!

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Aug 28 2021, 12:32 PM
Dreadlock13
post Aug 28 2021, 12:41 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 28 2021, 12:28 PM)
GC Ann guy got back to me today, confirming that the V-strom he mentioned months ago turned out to be CBU.

Long story cut short, I was offered rock bottom RM38,500 OTR (3rd pty insurance) cash price, minus the freebies.

I'm like DAAAAAAAAAMMMNNNN.... people were trying to sell their 2-3 year old V-stroms for that price in the used market!
But it left me wondering... if Suzuki can flog this bike CBU at under RM40k and still make a profit (pretty sure they're not doing it for charity at this point), imagine the profit margin they were raking in when they were selling it at RM45k previously!
Yeah the new bike all cbu from Japan.
Before every suzuki bike is overpriced.

I think KMM already have the infrastructure to do mass import and cut price to suit Malaysian Market.

They did this with kawasaki. So they pretty much know what to do already. And they already got the plan and infrastructure lay out. All KMM had to do is bring in the bike in large number

This post has been edited by Dreadlock13: Aug 29 2021, 07:00 AM
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 1 2021, 10:17 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Aug 28 2021, 01:41 PM)
Yeah the new bike all cbu from Japan.
Before every suzuki bike is overpriced.

I think KMM already have the infrastructure to do mass import and cut price to suit Malaysian Market.

They did this with kawasaki. So they pretty much know what to do already. And they already got the plan and infrastructure lay out. All KMM had to do is bring in the bike in large number
So what happens to the Versys 650? Will they cut price to match?

Pandemic notwithstanding, at least now I got something to really look forward to in Q1 next year. Need to see the CFmoto 800MT in the flesh, see if I can handle the seat height and decide. Admittedly, although looking rather old fashioned by now, the V-strom does actually fulfil my needs to tour 2-up comfortably with the wife... and it does so with proven bulletproof reliability & at a significantly lower price. The pricier 800MT comes with the twin seduction of more power & more modern specs.

Dreadlock13
post Sep 2 2021, 02:24 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Sep 1 2021, 10:17 AM)
So what happens to the Versys 650? Will they cut price to match?

Pandemic notwithstanding, at least now I got something to really look forward to in Q1 next year. Need to see the CFmoto 800MT in the flesh, see if I can handle the seat height and decide. Admittedly, although looking rather old fashioned by now, the V-strom does actually fulfil my needs to tour 2-up comfortably with the wife... and it does so with proven bulletproof reliability & at a significantly lower price. The pricier 800MT comes with the twin seduction of more power & more modern specs.
Kawa versys is always more expensive then V-strom.
But both are proven a reliable bike.

But kawasaki 650 is more of a road going bike.
And V-strom is a very capable off road motorcycle due to its better ground clearance.

At the end of the day. Pick the right bike for the thing you planned to do

joemiad
post Sep 2 2021, 11:08 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 2 2021, 02:24 AM)

And V-strom is a very capable off road motorcycle due to its better ground clearance.

If like touring.. maintenance wise both is OK right? But which one is more comfortable for long ride? Or depend on the user?

basilisk
post Sep 2 2021, 12:21 PM

30 posts

versys 650 vs vstrom plenty of reviews comparison online, frm west to east.

i read versys owner switch to vstrom, they say aft ride versys long distance, pegang rokok oso d hand shaking... vstrom is like moving sofa... lol..
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 2 2021, 12:58 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 2 2021, 03:24 AM)

Definitely prefer the Suzuki. I feel it's narrower at the waist, making the bike more manageable for me.

Not interested in taking it off-road although having that limited dirt road ability in reserve is always a good thing when getting off the highway. I just want to tour with the wife & luggage in comfort, maybe head out to Laos or even China one day!

And I rarely pamper my bikes, so it has to look good & stay reliable while looking like absolute shit. LOL.

In a sea of parallel twin engined bikes, that V-twin now becomes something of a novelty.
joemiad
post Sep 2 2021, 01:57 PM

78 posts

Thanks all for the input.. Vstrom 650 below 40k nowadays... waiting covid to subside... then will sambar...
alexei
post Sep 2 2021, 02:25 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Kawa 650 engine is vibrate, and different from 1 bike to another.
Some owner complain, some not.
Some vibrate at certain RPM, some don't.

See how much rubber mounting is used on the KLR650... footpegs, handlebars, and seat mount.

The Suzuki situation reminds me of when ER6 first came, CBU then slowly CKD. Quality can see difference, but after many years CBU become lackluster and only manage to hold little value.

The road will be flooded with these price friendly bikes.

Hopefully this time around, Suzuki brand is managed better, and supply chain properly looked after. Otherwise it's just another Japanese brand with foul aftertaste.
Dreadlock13
post Sep 5 2021, 01:27 PM

480 posts

but seriously tho.... I was not expecting GSX S750 was price at 40K, even the honda CB650r is price higher then that,

omg
alexei
post Sep 5 2021, 08:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Compare MSRP
GSXS - $8499 - 35k
CBR - $9699 - 40k
Dreadlock13
post Sep 6 2021, 12:44 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 5 2021, 08:12 PM)
Compare MSRP
GSXS - $8499 - 35k
CBR - $9699 - 40k
Wait just 35k?? Back then the gsx was 54k.
Damm
alexei
post Sep 6 2021, 10:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:44 AM)
Wait just 35k??  Back then the gsx was 54k.
Damm
Compare MSRP
GSXS - $8499 - 35k
CBR - $9699 - 40k (here is $46k)
MT09 - $9399 - 39k (here is $54k)
Z900 - $9099 - 38k (here is $48k)

some models are sold more expensive than others...
basilisk
post Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM

30 posts

mt09 bugface launch basic price where got rm54k?
alexei
post Sep 6 2021, 03:51 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 6 2021, 12:13 PM)
mt09 bugface launch basic price where got rm54k?
haha, of course not
lowpro
post Sep 8 2021, 12:12 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 6 2021, 12:44 AM)
Wait just 35k??  Back then the gsx was 54k.
Damm
Yeah, that's why the GSXS750 is sold out in many places. New stock only arriving at month end (told by eang chun).
Dreadlock13
post Sep 8 2021, 12:47 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Sep 8 2021, 12:12 AM)
Yeah, that's why the GSXS750 is sold out in many places. New stock only arriving at month end (told by eang chun).
No joke. 40k is a bargain for a new bike with that spec. (In Malaysia)
I want In-line 4 bike. And cb650r was on my top list.
Since kawa basically dead now.
Now gsx s750 show up.

alexei
post Sep 8 2021, 02:05 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Kawa has a power gap in the middle range roadbike series, and it's always that twin 650cc engine since long time ago.

MT07 is the new benchmark, then a powerful triple MT09 or Triumph.

Honda seeing success with 650cc 4 cylinder and selling like hot cakes.
Triple engines also have good success.

Suzuki SV and the 750 is very overlapping to compete with all these, so is a smart move for Kawa Malaysia to revive Suzuki brand in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by alexei: Sep 20 2021, 08:20 AM
lowpro
post Sep 8 2021, 09:03 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 8 2021, 12:47 AM)
No joke. 40k is a bargain for a new bike with that spec. (In Malaysia)
I want In-line 4 bike. And cb650r was on my top list.
Since kawa basically dead now.
Now gsx s750 show up.
If I waited, I could have gotten the GSXS. But tak pe lah, I got my bike earlier in the year and managed some nice rides with my buddies. At least now that I know Suzuki no longer selling the SV650X, I can rest assured that mine is a limited edition model biggrin.gif
alexei
post Sep 10 2021, 04:40 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Sep 8 2021, 09:03 PM)
If I waited, I could have gotten the GSXS. But tak pe lah, I got my bike earlier in the year and managed some nice rides with my buddies. At least now that I know Suzuki no longer selling the SV650X, I can rest assured that mine is a limited edition model  biggrin.gif
Almost jump gun for this bike too... very sui des.

basilisk
post Sep 17 2021, 06:28 PM

30 posts

haya busat....??

gataddhin
post Sep 20 2021, 06:45 AM

Tested out my new Black Hammer boots with 3cm insoles. Almost flat footed on my new 15mm lowered Suzuki V-Strom 650XT.

gataddhin
post Sep 20 2021, 07:12 AM

Ultimate, will get the lower seat from Suzuki Hatyai. 3600 Baht (RM470)
alexei
post Sep 20 2021, 08:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Sep 20 2021, 06:45 AM)
Tested out my new Black Hammer boots with 3cm insoles. Almost flat footed on my new 15mm lowered Suzuki V-Strom 650XT.

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Sep 20 2021, 07:12 AM)
Ultimate, will get the lower seat from Suzuki Hatyai. 3600 Baht (RM470)
Very good. Even the forefoot looks to have better reach to the floor.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 20 2021, 09:51 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Sep 20 2021, 07:45 AM)
How did you lower your V-strom by 15mm? New suspension links?

gataddhin
post Sep 20 2021, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Sep 20 2021, 09:51 AM)
How did you lower your V-strom by 15mm? New suspension links?
I measured the distance from center hole to center hole of the ori link which gave me 140mm and 155mm from the lowering link (dog bone) which installed by the shop.

gataddhin
post Sep 20 2021, 11:10 AM

TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 20 2021, 06:44 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Sep 20 2021, 12:10 PM)
How much did the shop charge you for these links? Were you given a choice of link lengths?

The shop I went to did mention this option, but I had no idea how much ground clearance I would be sacrificing. I was thinking to take it to a seat shop to have it modified and reshaped into a lower seat instead - cheaper than the Suzuki item & tailored for the shape of my arse with full customization options.
gataddhin
post Sep 21 2021, 07:55 AM

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Sep 20 2021, 06:44 PM)
How much did the shop charge you for these links? Were you given a choice of link lengths?

The shop I went to did mention this option, but I had no idea how much ground clearance I would be sacrificing. I was thinking to take it to a seat shop to have it modified and reshaped into a lower seat instead - cheaper than the Suzuki item & tailored for the shape of my arse with full customization options.

The shop charged me RM200 for the lowering links. I did not ask about sizes. I told the shop that I must tip toe or else I would not buy. So far, I am happy with it. My bike's ground clearance now is 150mm. (Stock 170mm).

Later I may remove the 4 pcs of rubber seat cushions under the seat and replaced with thin rubber strips to get it even lower.
gataddhin
post Sep 21 2021, 07:59 AM

Or cut half of its height
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 21 2021, 03:03 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Sep 20 2021, 06:45 AM)

Where did you buy this?
gataddhin
post Sep 21 2021, 03:33 PM

You just key in "insoles pad" in Lazada. Plenty stuff there.
basilisk
post Sep 21 2021, 03:36 PM

30 posts

" we tried our best to bring every susuki model..."

sorry, but susuki models are not very interesting now...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Sep 21 2021, 04:04 PM
basilisk
post Sep 22 2021, 03:48 PM

30 posts

ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 22 2021, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 22 2021, 03:48 PM)
Apa ni? Haha.. Looks like my likings, sport touring model...
Dreadlock13
post Sep 22 2021, 05:55 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 22 2021, 03:48 PM)
Anyone know what model this is?

This pretty dope
VWXYZ
post Sep 22 2021, 06:00 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 21 2021, 03:36 PM)
" we tried our best to bring every susuki model..."
sorry, but susuki models are not very interesting now...

looks good. price gonna be super competitive.
Just like their gsxs 750
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 22 2021, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 22 2021, 05:55 PM)
Anyone know what model this is?

This pretty dope
Gsx s1000gt
blackbox14
post Sep 23 2021, 12:45 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(VWXYZ @ Sep 22 2021, 06:00 PM)
looks good. price gonna be super competitive.
Just like their gsxs 750
Hopefully at least one of those 150s comes equipped with ABS. It's a very important feature.

I'm still sad that Kawasaki Malaysia didn't bring in the 250 Versys with ABS equipped...it would have been a near perfect bike. Can hope that the V-Strom 250 is coming too.
alexei
post Sep 23 2021, 11:44 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

At least have ABS as an option.
But, I prefer without. Then again, it hampers the resale value. Can get 1 first, bypass it, then fix back when selling.
Dreadlock13
post Sep 23 2021, 10:00 PM

480 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4R1mIfbNRE

apparently the 2021 Suzuki bike are a promotional price,

so anyone who want to get the gsx s 750 or V-strom better book them now
basilisk
post Sep 23 2021, 11:21 PM

30 posts

kawamsia need to be clear bout the price, tht day live stream did they say anything ? the big boss there..

not use these vlogger/ sales guys to tell buyers...
Dreadlock13
post Sep 28 2021, 09:41 PM

480 posts

Just wondering

Is suzuki motorcycle spare parts more expensive compared to other manufacturer?
TSZZR-Pilot
post Oct 1 2021, 09:26 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Sep 28 2021, 10:41 PM)
Just wondering

Is suzuki motorcycle spare parts more expensive compared to other manufacturer?
The last time I owned a GSXR, I used to ride all the way down to that Suzuki parts dealership in front of Simlim Tower for parts. Stuff was relatively cheap... heck I bought everything from that area incl tyres, esp from Ahboy's.

But then that was waaaay before Ringgit made like Duit Daun Pisang and went down the Malaysia Boleh forex shithole.

Nowadays, I dunno about Suzuki parts supply in Msia but since there's better economy of scale now for big bike parts I wouldn't be too worried.
Quazacolt
post Oct 1 2021, 12:16 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 1 2021, 09:26 AM)
... heck I bought everything from that area incl tyres, esp from Ahboy's.

But then that was waaaay before Ringgit made like Duit Daun Pisang and went down the Malaysia Boleh forex shithole.
Yeah Lim Ah Boy/Regina is pretty much no brainer hands down cheapest until past 2-3 years where our RM continues its nosediving
VWXYZ
post Oct 14 2021, 08:17 AM

122 posts

I source almost all parts either from Glenmarie (when I was staying in Shah Alam) or Penang's Suzuki Prai production plant (when balik kampung...now kilang tutup already).
Price probably standard if compared with Yamaha or Honda...at least for normal wear and tear parts.
It was the dealer/workshop that jack up the price.
Back then Suzuki kapchai oil filter cost about 6 ringgit or something at Glenmarie/Penang but when u buy from outside workshop, price become double.

Now I buy parts mostly from ebay for my K9... and some from Glenmarie. You can whatsapp them. Give part number and they'll return with quotation. Fast, transparent and easy.

basilisk
post Feb 17 2022, 03:32 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Feb 18 2022, 05:39 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Feb 21 2022, 05:37 PM

30 posts

tak abis abis teaser...
mcdonald13
post Feb 22 2022, 11:08 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 18 2022, 05:39 PM)
this bike is quite hot in taiwan, now baru masuk malaysia, hmm
basilisk
post Feb 22 2022, 11:24 AM

30 posts

stok standard can beat y + h + sim,
joy for susuki fanboys,
im jz gona keep my old susukis,
current ŝusuki bike kinda behind in style/gaya liao..
basilisk
post Feb 23 2022, 06:11 PM

30 posts

Dreadlock13
post Feb 23 2022, 09:13 PM

480 posts

Probably gonna trade in my suzuki fx110 to belang.
If I got extra cash. Still saving
basilisk
post Feb 24 2022, 12:30 PM

30 posts

susuki my calender, y la use wrong foto.. tis belang got no radiator leh...
basilisk
post Feb 24 2022, 03:42 PM

30 posts

11,xxx
10,xxx
9, xxx ???
Asthen1a
post Feb 25 2022, 02:59 PM

45 posts

booked belang already
basilisk
post Feb 25 2022, 03:38 PM

30 posts

no more belalang! its raider now..

awol
post Feb 25 2022, 03:41 PM

909 posts

My belang already 11 years old
basilisk
post Feb 28 2022, 03:40 PM

30 posts

in april 2009
i paid 8.3k otr for belalang...

lonewolf
post Mar 3 2022, 09:55 AM

3,945 posts

New gsxs750 vs used z900, care to share ya views
alexei
post Mar 3 2022, 12:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Mar 3 2022, 09:55 AM)
Which one u prefer?

VWXYZ
post Mar 7 2022, 09:58 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 28 2022, 03:40 PM)
in april 2009
i paid 8.3k otr for belalang...

it's over 10yrs and still within that range.
Amazed to see how they set the price. Considering major restructure, closing of Prai assembly line, etc etc etc.

basilisk
post Mar 7 2022, 10:06 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Mar 3 2022, 09:55 AM)
engine performance difference...
z900 assesory got alot here...
z900 used price still maintain steady...
for more detail u need to seek owners of both bikes for review..
basilisk
post Mar 9 2022, 10:27 AM

30 posts

lowpro
post Mar 9 2022, 01:09 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 9 2022, 10:27 AM)
I think the key to this bike moving is gonna be the price. In such a brand and price sensitive market, the only way for it to shine is to undercut the main rivals. Kinda like being slightly above the SYM or Benelli models but below other Japanese brands.
basilisk
post Mar 9 2022, 01:20 PM

30 posts

yea but they say the final price is on the dealer...

only a handful of authorize dealer, other jz take frm them, so cash price gona be different..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Mar 9 2022, 01:22 PM
JustForFun
post Mar 9 2022, 03:02 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

The belang looks so weird if you put a basket on...
lowpro
post Mar 10 2022, 08:48 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 9 2022, 03:02 PM)
The belang looks so weird if you put a basket on...
You might have a small storage space though...

JustForFun
post Mar 10 2022, 10:03 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 10 2022, 08:48 AM)
You might have a small storage space though...
Our tapau culture is too strong. Having talked to an Indonesian friend, contrary to how we ride our bikes they actually don't put basket or box on their bikes, if they have to carry something they will usually bring backpack. Come to think of it, I don't even see the Vietnamese doing it, maybe it's just us where we value practicality over style and speed/aerodynamics.
leon898
post Mar 10 2022, 10:55 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 10 2022, 10:03 AM)
Our tapau culture is too strong. Having talked to an Indonesian friend, contrary to how we ride our bikes they actually don't put basket or box on their bikes, if they have to carry something they will usually bring backpack. Come to think of it, I don't even see the Vietnamese doing it, maybe it's just us where we value practicality over style and speed/aerodynamics.
it's just a moped...not a sports bike imho...better go with something that offer practicality rather than pretending to be 'sporty'. No worries for strong 'tapau' culture
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 11:00 AM

30 posts

its all individual preference lah lol..
basket no basket
box no box

This post has been edited by basilisk: Mar 10 2022, 11:01 AM
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 11:04 AM

30 posts

aft 1 hour oni tell price?

dont be like HL... price later oni tell..

basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 11:26 AM

30 posts

kedai mao markup brapa??

GSXR 150 - RM 11329.00
GSXS 150 - RM 10289.00
RAIDER 150 - RM 8173.00

JustForFun
post Mar 10 2022, 11:31 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

The entire line up is cheaper than it's main competitors by Yamaha.

Considering that the Y16ZR goes for 10K before shop top up... this one seems to be a better value proposition all across the line.
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 12:12 PM

30 posts

the skinny style is not for everyone.. lol...
it is anorexic...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Mar 10 2022, 12:13 PM
Asthen1a
post Mar 10 2022, 12:28 PM

45 posts

i booked raider, now waiting otr price. hopefully below 9k
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 12:43 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Asthen1a @ Mar 10 2022, 12:28 PM)
i booked raider, now waiting otr price. hopefully below 9k
klang valley? which shop?
Asthen1a
post Mar 10 2022, 01:16 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 10 2022, 12:43 PM)
klang valley? which shop?
chia motor
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 01:24 PM

30 posts

where got understorage... lol...

basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 01:31 PM

30 posts

everyone tot it is under the seat.

eidrag
post Mar 10 2022, 01:46 PM

242 posts

part already available? Can convert old belang to new raider coverset?
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 02:11 PM

30 posts

carb to fi coverset not sure ngam or not...

JustForFun
post Mar 10 2022, 04:03 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

All I hope is that it doesn't end up becoming one of those motor panas so consumers have more choices than just Honda mopeds... I think these should give it a good chance of being safe:

1. Controversial looks
2. No good for basket
3. Less moddable compared to Yamaha bikes
sayafauzi
post Mar 10 2022, 04:53 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 10 2022, 01:31 PM)
everyone tot it is under the seat. 

so tak boleh letak bakul la....
basilisk
post Mar 10 2022, 04:56 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(sayafauzi @ Mar 10 2022, 04:53 PM)
boleh gua,

letak, then ni box takleh bukak.. camtu la lol..
lowpro
post Mar 11 2022, 07:54 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 10 2022, 04:56 PM)
boleh gua,

letak, then ni box takleh bukak.. camtu la lol..
Not sure but maybe can put one or 2 packs of mee goreng in there? Wonder if there's storage under the seat for a tool kit

alexei
post Mar 11 2022, 12:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

one can of softdrinks, and a lot of ice
basilisk
post Mar 11 2022, 01:32 PM

30 posts

CASH OTR
RM 8773 (FIRST PARTY ALL RIDER)

SUZUKI GSX-150S
CASH OTR
RM 10919 (FIRST PARTY ALL RIDER)

SUZUKI GSX-150R
CASH OTR
RM 11979 (FIRST PARTYALL RIDER)

i think mebe not possible to put a full basket in the front (fi model) cos not enuff space...

TSZZR-Pilot
post Mar 11 2022, 01:49 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(sayafauzi @ Mar 10 2022, 05:53 PM)
Taruk bakul kat depan la, atas mudguard.
alexei
post Mar 11 2022, 02:05 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 11 2022, 01:49 PM)
Taruk bakul kat depan la, atas mudguard.
above headlamp better
Asthen1a
post Mar 15 2022, 04:10 PM

45 posts

waiting for my raider

lowpro
post Mar 16 2022, 01:48 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Asthen1a @ Mar 15 2022, 04:10 PM)
waiting for my raider

thumbup.gif Hope you get it soon! Good to see more variety on the roads
Asthen1a
post Mar 17 2022, 02:58 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Mar 16 2022, 01:48 PM)
thumbup.gif Hope you get it soon! Good to see more variety on the roads
all raider still can't register in jpj. now bising in group raider
alexei
post Mar 18 2022, 01:24 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Asthen1a @ Mar 17 2022, 02:58 PM)
all raider still can't register in jpj. now bising in group raider
yeah man, surprised to hear this... lol
basilisk
post Mar 18 2022, 02:04 PM

30 posts

ppl oredi kautim lo.. can get bike liao...

this ergo....

alexei
post Mar 18 2022, 02:41 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

No number plate one.
basilisk
post Mar 18 2022, 02:47 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 18 2022, 02:41 PM)
No number plate one.
those ppl not buying der,

jz wana show the bikes ergonomics
alexei
post Mar 22 2022, 12:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 18 2022, 02:47 PM)
those ppl not buying der,

jz wana show the bikes ergonomics
Belang has been like that, kena lutut for taller riders one
veli fast, my RGV cannot keep up
quintesson
post Apr 2 2022, 12:30 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(Asthen1a @ Mar 15 2022, 04:10 PM)
waiting for my raider
Jgn lupa kasi prebiew-prebiew sikit. FC, pengalaman tunggangan, dsb.
Berapa otr?
basilisk
post Apr 2 2022, 02:27 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 2 2022, 12:30 PM)
Jgn lupa kasi prebiew-prebiew sikit. FC, pengalaman tunggangan, dsb.
Berapa otr?

u can find alot these info in fb group...
quintesson
post Apr 2 2022, 03:47 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Apr 2 2022, 02:27 PM)
u can find alot these info in fb group...
Sini bikers punya prebiew more trustworthy.
basilisk
post Apr 2 2022, 06:37 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 2 2022, 03:47 PM)
Sini bikers punya prebiew more trustworthy.
sini u b lucky to get any bikers to sembang here..

better u lurk here, plenty of infos..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/4341006969261445/?flyingspaghettimonster=share
quintesson
post Apr 4 2022, 07:51 PM

564 posts

Any good Suzuki authorised dealers in Klang Valley?
Can we test ride or start the bike?
basilisk
post Apr 5 2022, 11:19 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 4 2022, 07:51 PM)
Any good Suzuki authorised dealers in Klang Valley?
Can we test ride or start the bike?
u can check suzuki msia website got list out, only a few in kl/klang valley.
eang chun is one of it

test ar? never heard got wor, sit + rem enjin mebe can gua,
NAQD
post Apr 5 2022, 11:27 AM

78 posts

last i go check eang chun in setapak and yu huat in seri kembangan have all 3 model in store.

in yu huat got a number of raiders inside showroom, maybe got owners booking i guess.

don't think any of the shop have test ride. maybe just see online review for now: https://fb.watch/cbs5GaQ0PF/
JLA
post Apr 8 2022, 08:27 AM

2,768 posts

KPN kirim salam kepada Suzuki Rider Belang 177 km/j

https://www.wapcar.my/bm/kpn-syor-haramkan-...a-dipetik-44395
basilisk
post Apr 8 2022, 09:50 AM

30 posts

those kedai modi berlambak, should go there n visit ler
b4 this skinny bike launch, accident rate of kapchai rider oredi high..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Apr 8 2022, 09:52 AM
kykylala
post Apr 8 2022, 12:50 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Apr 8 2022, 08:27 AM)
KPN kirim salam kepada Suzuki Rider Belang 177 km/j

https://www.wapcar.my/bm/kpn-syor-haramkan-...a-dipetik-44395
LEL, DS KPN pun nak komen pasal kapchai. Kasi can lah.
blackbox14
post Apr 10 2022, 12:42 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Apr 8 2022, 09:50 AM)
those kedai modi berlambak, should go there n visit ler
b4 this skinny bike launch, accident rate of kapchai rider oredi high..
Yup. And from what I remember quite a number of the accidents are not speeding related but because of running red lights.

Saw at least 2 viral videos of kapchai getting T-boned or T-boning a car at traffic light in the past year.
lowpro
post Apr 11 2022, 09:18 AM

180 posts

I believe it is not really that fast. 'Meter ringan' comes to mind...
alexei
post Apr 11 2022, 11:02 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

dyno can use to measure topspeed is fail army punya kerja, belang use digital meter measure with sprocket rotation, i hope is accurate

more worry is later kena ECU cut rpm below spec, potong stim masuk 6 gear at 8.5k rpm the bike just blows air and retarded at 120kph
leon898
post Apr 11 2022, 11:24 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 11 2022, 11:02 AM)
dyno can use to measure topspeed is fail army punya kerja, belang use digital meter measure with sprocket rotation, i hope is accurate

more worry is later kena ECU cut rpm below spec, potong stim masuk 6 gear at 8.5k rpm the bike just blows air and retarded at 120kph
Yaa....suspect gonna be like that for next batch
alexei
post Apr 11 2022, 11:47 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Apr 11 2022, 11:24 AM)
Yaa....suspect gonna be like that for next batch
that reminds me of old LC ppl keep looking for V1 ECU no cut
but true la, front tyre 70, rear tyre 80... at least la put 80 front 90 rear
lowpro
post Apr 11 2022, 12:10 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 11 2022, 11:47 AM)
that reminds me of old LC ppl keep looking for V1 ECU no cut
but true la, front tyre 70, rear tyre 80... at least la put 80 front 90 rear
If the owner upgrades the tyres to what you suggested, how will it affect handling? Improvement or worse? I also think the ori tyres are way too skinny
kykylala
post Apr 11 2022, 02:11 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 11 2022, 11:02 AM)

If this is the case then they'll have to remap the ECU or change aftermarket ECU. Rugi la, you've spend money on a new bike then have to spend some more for this.
alexei
post Apr 11 2022, 02:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Apr 11 2022, 12:10 PM)
If the owner upgrades the tyres to what you suggested, how will it affect handling? Improvement or worse? I also think the ori tyres are way too skinny
I dunno, never tried. tyre gotta match rim size iinm is 1.4 front 1.6 rear, anyhow usually those tyre speed rating P is 150kph nia so laju2 also can fly one even battlax bt39, 170kph need R above, like bt39ss... will anyone spend rm500 for one set? or, more likely change rim to sp522 lagi best

QUOTE(kykylala @ Apr 11 2022, 02:11 PM)
If this is the case then they'll have to remap the ECU or change aftermarket ECU. Rugi la, you've spend money on a new bike then have to spend some more for this.
no la, not everybody kaki fly one, 130kph also happy liao
kykylala
post Apr 11 2022, 02:16 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 11 2022, 02:12 PM)
no la, not everybody kaki fly one, 130kph also happy liao
Better by the bike now then before any of this shenanigan gets real. Buy first, worry about registration later. tongue.gif
zinniur
post Apr 13 2022, 11:23 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 18 2022, 02:04 PM)
ppl oredi kautim lo.. can get bike liao...

this ergo....

how much the cash price actually? afraid shop will jack up price like y15/y16
basilisk
post Apr 14 2022, 07:49 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(zinniur @ Apr 13 2022, 11:23 PM)
how much the cash price actually? afraid shop will jack up price like y15/y16
otr cash frm 86xx onwards...
quintesson
post May 27 2022, 10:41 PM

564 posts

why not much update on the Raider? it rather hot at the moment.
basilisk
post May 28 2022, 10:27 AM

30 posts

update is, yes they have designed a box where u still can use/open the kicik miao box in the middle,
some say ugly af.. lol...

quintesson
post May 28 2022, 12:29 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 28 2022, 10:27 AM)
update is, yes they have designed a box where u still can use/open the kicik miao box in the middle,
i read in FB many berpusu-pusu go to install it. at least it's functioning.
some say Suzuki is bringing new colour next month, how true is this?

This post has been edited by quintesson: May 28 2022, 12:29 PM
lowpro
post May 31 2022, 10:18 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 28 2022, 10:27 AM)
Got any pictures of it (the box)? Can't seem to google it. Just curious how it looks like
dinbk90
post May 31 2022, 11:48 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ May 31 2022, 10:18 AM)
Got any pictures of it (the box)? Can't seem to google it. Just curious how it looks like
Bkp just produced the box. Quite nice I think. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Qsd7U_Hzro
lowpro
post May 31 2022, 12:54 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(dinbk90 @ May 31 2022, 11:48 AM)
Bkp just produced the box. Quite nice I think. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Qsd7U_Hzro
Looks pretty good. Not that aerodynamic but oklah and it is useful enough to ta pau food back home.
basilisk
post May 31 2022, 12:58 PM

30 posts

good la can put box liao, new kaler dono la.. jz wait la...
basilisk
post Aug 16 2022, 03:00 PM

30 posts

lowpro
post Aug 17 2022, 09:05 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 16 2022, 03:00 PM)
Maybe I can wait for a used one a few years from now. Knowing Suzuki, this model may still be current for many years more.
basilisk
post Aug 17 2022, 03:42 PM

30 posts

this new gt looks too yamaha-ish

i like the old 1000f, is like a bird+fish.. more suzuki-ish.. lol

basilisk
post Aug 24 2022, 05:36 PM

30 posts

pipu took at ami susuki
lowpro
post Aug 25 2022, 09:02 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 17 2022, 03:42 PM)
this new gt looks too yamaha-ish

i like the old 1000f, is like a bird+fish.. more suzuki-ish.. lol

Not so sure about the bird-fish thingy but I agree that the old one looks better. Headlamps look more like headlamps in the older version
basilisk
post Sep 10 2022, 07:36 PM

30 posts

susuki parallel twin..

can surpass mt07??

jaycee1
post Sep 11 2022, 05:20 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Sad to see Suzuki dropping the v twin in the "V"Strom. But I get it...it's well overdue for a proper update.. Hopefully they can eek out a bit more performance with the expected lighter weight....maybe now with a more compact motor, can follow honda and angle the engine down, lowering CoG.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 11 2022, 11:13 PM

1,057 posts

V-twins are falling out of favour in the face of the rise of the parallel twin, except among manufacturers that hv made the V engine an inalienable part their brand identity such as Ducati, Aprillia, HD etc.
alexei
post Sep 12 2022, 10:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

rumor - Suzuki 700cc NA and turbo

inline twin can make into V4, who knows? Suzuki V4... wow
jaycee1
post Sep 14 2022, 10:18 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 12 2022, 10:01 AM)
rumor - Suzuki 700cc NA and turbo

inline twin can make into V4, who knows? Suzuki V4... wow
Thats the part I found odd. In some article on the new 700 twin, they showed a picture of a turbo twin. Very very interesting.

Looks like there is a new arms race brewing in the middleweight segment. Honda's new 755 might pack 92hp....very impressive numbers.
alexei
post Sep 14 2022, 01:35 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 14 2022, 10:18 AM)
Thats the part I found odd. In some article on the new 700 twin, they showed a picture of a turbo twin. Very very interesting.

Looks like there is a new arms race brewing in the middleweight segment. Honda's new 755 might pack 92hp....very impressive numbers.
https://www.cycleworld.com/story/motorcycle...-twin-revealed/
News on the parallel twin turbo has been a while, and back then I was looking at the SV650.

4 Jap brands, YHKS, with K having the ER6, then Y the MT07, now S, and then H are following suit with the Hornet twin.
It's time for S to replace K given the potential bike models that may be coming out. Chinese bikes are re-using the ER6 engines somewhere.
basilisk
post Sep 28 2022, 02:51 PM

30 posts

dealer viewing

zinniur
post Sep 28 2022, 04:09 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 28 2022, 02:51 PM)
dealer viewing

2 cylinder but 24 hp only? i tot jujuki will bring single cylinder 250cc not 2 cylinder
basilisk
post Sep 28 2022, 09:28 PM

30 posts

tis more gaya than that single ...
but power tarak .. heavy oso...
basilisk
post Oct 1 2022, 01:44 PM

30 posts

lowpro
post Oct 3 2022, 12:07 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 28 2022, 09:28 PM)
tis more gaya than that single ...
but power tarak .. heavy oso...
I wonder why they even dare to sell a bike that is so outclassed by the competition. Furthermore, even their name is not as strong as the competition. Even CFMoto with their 250SR single can push out 27.5hp from its DOHC engine with 22Nm of torque and it doesn't look bad either.
basilisk
post Oct 3 2022, 12:32 PM

30 posts

more products to offer are better than less gua...

the name afy suzuki wana be setanding
bs honda + hl yamaha..

even can beat modenas in producing 100% local kapchai

https://www.hmetro.com.my/vroom/2022/08/874...empatan-metrotv

This post has been edited by basilisk: Oct 3 2022, 12:33 PM
kllam
post Oct 3 2022, 12:53 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 1 2022, 01:44 PM)
the newer model looks better than this, dunno how true is the article that saying the bike is spotted testing

https://www.zigwheels.my/motorcycle-news/su...ing-in-malaysia
jaycee1
post Oct 4 2022, 12:54 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Power seems suspiciously low for a 250 twin.

The vstrom 250 sounds interesting.
basilisk
post Nov 8 2022, 07:11 PM

30 posts

susuki hornet killer??

https://bikes.suzuki.co.uk/news/all-new-gsx...uzuki-at-eicma/

basilisk
post Nov 8 2022, 07:22 PM

30 posts

ugly, ~1.2k pound more exp than hornet..

basilisk
post Nov 8 2022, 09:33 PM

30 posts

‼️ 𝐒𝐮𝐳𝐮𝐤𝐢 𝐆𝐒𝐗-𝟖𝐒 ‼️

▪️81 bhp
▪️78 Nm
▪️776cc parallel twin
▪️3 power modes
▪️202kg
▪️270 degree crank
▪️KYB suspension
▪️Radial Nissin brakes
▪️Slipper clutch
▪️Quickshifter/blipper
▪️5" colour TFT dash

basilisk
post Nov 17 2022, 01:46 PM

30 posts

alexei
post Nov 17 2022, 02:05 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

https://www.cycleworld.com/story/blogs/ask-...orcycle-engine/
harryleesbr
post Feb 9 2023, 10:16 AM

Hi Gais, manage my B yesterday after 10months with a repeat of bhg 2.
Back to cctv adv. bike. Now focusing on V-strom. Any idea/news the DE will be coming in to Malaysia? TIA.

This post has been edited by harryleesbr: Feb 9 2023, 10:17 AM
lowpro
post Feb 12 2023, 03:52 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Feb 9 2023, 10:16 AM)
Back to cctv adv. bike. Now focusing on V-strom. Any idea/news the DE will be coming in to Malaysia? TIA.
Got your B? Congratulations!

This post has been edited by lowpro: Feb 15 2023, 10:04 AM
alexei
post Feb 15 2023, 08:53 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Test ride event last weekend

harryleesbr
post Feb 15 2023, 10:38 AM

Mantap. Ada berita untuk 800DE tak?

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 15 2023, 08:53 AM)

alexei
post Feb 15 2023, 01:27 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Feb 15 2023, 10:38 AM)
Mantap. Ada berita untuk 800DE tak?
haha, dunno... that engine is new, and the bike spec is very good on paper.
basilisk
post Apr 14 2023, 12:01 PM

30 posts

sure is cbu, unless miracle.

jaycee1
post Apr 14 2023, 12:46 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Apr 14 2023, 12:01 PM)

sure is cbu, unless miracle.
The Suzuki dealer said they are expecting the bikes and demo bikes to be coming in around June. So yeah..pretty soon. Going to be expensive though. CBU.high 40s.
basilisk
post Apr 14 2023, 03:20 PM

30 posts

Nightstalker1993
post Apr 15 2023, 12:11 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 14 2023, 12:46 PM)
The Suzuki dealer said they are expecting the bikes and demo bikes to be coming in around June. So yeah..pretty soon. Going to be expensive though. CBU.high 40s.
Should be higher than sv650, lower than gsx-s750. If really high 40s will be very hard to sell and honestly extremely overpriced given the Cb650r is only 43k. Though of you can get it or not is another question.

QUOTE(basilisk @ Apr 14 2023, 03:20 PM)
YouTube suddenly flooded with gsx-8s reviews too from the same media test ride even in the UK
jaycee1
post Apr 15 2023, 09:04 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 15 2023, 12:11 AM)
Should be higher than sv650, lower than gsx-s750. If really high 40s will be very hard to sell and honestly extremely overpriced given the Cb650r is only 43k. Though of you can get it or not is another question.
YouTube suddenly flooded with gsx-8s reviews too from the same media test ride even in the UK
Let's hope it's not the case. The 8s is one of my shortlisted bikes. Hopefully the price would be lower than expected. Well Suzuki dealer thinks as such...considering the s750 is now hovering about 48k.

But I won't expect the 8s to be any less than 45k. This is considering the base price of the 8s is 20% higher than the Hornet, which should come in low 40s....(slightly less than the 650r) assuming we can actually get honda bikes from Big wing.

But we have seen some quite aggressive pricing from Suzuki Malaysia when they came back...hopefully this will continue.
lowpro
post Apr 15 2023, 12:45 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 15 2023, 09:04 AM)
Let's hope it's not the case. The 8s is one of my shortlisted bikes. Hopefully the price would be lower than expected. Well Suzuki dealer thinks as such...considering the s750 is now hovering about 48k.

But I won't expect the 8s to be any less than 45k. This is considering the base price of the 8s is 20% higher than the Hornet, which should come in low 40s....(slightly less than the 650r) assuming we can actually get honda bikes from Big wing.

But we have seen some quite aggressive pricing from Suzuki Malaysia when they came back...hopefully this will continue.
Wonder if they will keep selling the GSX S750 and the SV650 when this 8 comes...
mADmAN
post Apr 15 2023, 01:18 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Apr 15 2023, 12:45 PM)
Wonder if they will keep selling the GSX S750 and the SV650 when this 8 comes...
iirc the 8s is the replacement for the sv650...so that should be gone.

GSX S750 should still remain.
ajaibman
post Apr 15 2023, 05:31 PM

233 posts

Let's not forget the KTM.. Duke 790 and 890.. it's on the low 60s and high 70s K.. (for naked midrange hooligan bikes - AMA terms)

So this bike hopefully can sell.. but I would guess the P-Storm version will have more fanboys out there..
Quazacolt
post Apr 15 2023, 06:27 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Feb 9 2023, 10:16 AM)
Congratulations bro!
Quazacolt
post Apr 15 2023, 06:33 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 14 2022, 10:18 AM)
Looks like there is a new arms race brewing in the middleweight segment.
Yeap! That's the segment that can attract new blood, new up and coming riders, or old ones who want more relaxing rides from their overpowered super sports (or too expensive to maintain, impractical to ride etc)
jaycee1
post Apr 15 2023, 08:25 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 15 2023, 06:33 PM)
Yeap! That's the segment that can attract new blood, new up and coming riders, or old ones who want more relaxing rides from their overpowered super sports (or too expensive to maintain, impractical to ride etc)
Hopefully they will stuff the new twin into more bikes. Just like honda.

I'm lost for bikes now....can't seem to find a suitable light/middle weight adventure/sports tourer to replace my dominar.

Born with short legs, almost all the current ADVs are too tall.

The 790 ADV fits perfect and a great bike on and off road but too expensive...almost 80k.
The 800DE and Transalp likely too tall. The Vstrom and versys 650 tall and heavy. Almost all Chinese ADVs are too heavy to be taken off road with short legs. Tracer 7 takde masuk. 500x, good luck with BSH, same for the underpowered CRF250 rally. KTM shelved plans for the 490...so no 490 Adventure. Tiger 900 with low seat is ok, but price problem like the KTM. Himalayan? Too underpowered, maybe wait for the new 450 version.

That leaves the Tiger sport? The Morini is quite decent if it was lower by an inch.

Still hoping if I can turn the 8s into a sport touring bike. Have to see how to mount luggage on the back. Or fingers crossed for Suzuki to do a 800cc version of the GSXs1000 sport touring bike.
Quazacolt
post Apr 15 2023, 08:50 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 15 2023, 08:25 PM)

Or fingers crossed for Suzuki to do a 800cc version of the GSXs1000 sport touring bike.
Well, ADV are the SUV of bikes. And i personally not fond of them lol (as with tall SUV 's)

Well, it's probably easier to just get an existing GSX750 or just straight up GSXS 1000 lol
xnobys
post Apr 17 2023, 08:47 AM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

I'm lost for bikes now....can't seem to find a suitable light/middle weight adventure/sports tourer to replace my dominar.

The 790 ADV fits perfect and a great bike on and off road but too expensive...almost 80k.
The 800DE and Transalp likely too tall. The Vstrom and versys 650 tall and heavy. Almost all Chinese ADVs are too heavy to be taken off road with short legs. Tracer 7 takde masuk. 500x, good luck with BSH, same for the underpowered CRF250 rally. KTM shelved plans for the 490...so no 490 Adventure. Tiger 900 with low seat is ok, but price problem like the KTM. Himalayan? Too underpowered, maybe wait for the new 450 version.

That leaves the Tiger sport? The Morini is quite decent if it was lower by an inch.
Still hoping if I can turn the 8s into a sport touring bike. Have to see how to mount luggage on the back.  Or fingers crossed for Suzuki to do a 800cc version of the GSXs1000 sport touring bike.
What about Norden or Tuareg? Or perhaps Svartpilen 401 with spoke wheel?

Not sure about the off-road capability, but XADV is marketed as an adventure bike by Honda. The seat is not that high.

This post has been edited by xnobys: Apr 17 2023, 08:52 AM
jaycee1
post Apr 17 2023, 12:15 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Apr 17 2023, 08:47 AM)

Not sure about the off-road capability, but XADV is marketed as an adventure bike by Honda. The seat is not that high.
Those are good suggestions. The norden and Toureg are both too tall and out of budget. If my budget was healthy enough, I would have gotten the 790 Adv. ..excellent as a bike other than it's less than perfect reliability and electronic foibles and looks only a mother could love. Lightweight, very balanced, exceptionally good on road manners for something with a 21" front, capable off road, low enough for my short legs. Perfect for my requirements...except being about 20k out of budget.

The 401 is the single cyc problem....just like the 390Adv. Not different enough to my current dominar to justify the 30k+ expenditure.

The XADV is an excellent touring bike. Less so for off-road. Smaller tyres and quite long wheelbase, meaning break over clearance is limited. Same problem with my dominar...end up scraping my exhaust. But it's moot point anyway..no new XADVs and used ones are selling over retail price.

Tough selection. May have to go with 2 bikes. A bigger sports tourer and something more off roady like a CRF250 or KLX250. Keep looking I suppose. I though 40-50k budget should be pretty healthy for a bike..I guess I thought wrong.

I may just pick a cheap cfmoto 650GT or 700CLX sport for highway....save my budget and worry about off road with another bike.
ajaibman
post Apr 17 2023, 12:20 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Apr 17 2023, 08:47 AM)

Norden and Tuareg, its for Europeans from Netherlands, (read 180cm and above)

V2 X-ADV (Asian version) have better V-Shaped seat in order to giving more kepit feeling between your balls so your leg can touched the ground better.

But X-ADV waiting list will be until the next PRU.
xnobys
post Apr 17 2023, 12:51 PM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 17 2023, 12:15 PM)
Those are good suggestions. The norden and Toureg are both too tall and out of budget. If my budget was healthy enough, I would have gotten the 790 Adv. ..excellent as a bike other than it's less than perfect reliability and electronic foibles and looks only a mother could love. Lightweight, very balanced, exceptionally good on road manners for something with a 21" front, capable off road, low enough for my short legs. Perfect for my requirements...except being about 20k out of budget.

The 401 is the single cyc problem....just like the 390Adv. Not different enough to my current dominar to justify the 30k+ expenditure.

The XADV is an excellent touring bike. Less so for off-road. Smaller tyres and quite long wheelbase, meaning break over clearance is limited. Same problem with my dominar...end up scraping my exhaust. But it's moot point anyway..no new XADVs and used ones are selling over retail price.

Tough selection. May have to go with 2 bikes. A bigger sports tourer and something more off roady like a CRF250 or KLX250. Keep looking I suppose. I though 40-50k budget should be pretty healthy for a bike..I guess I thought wrong.

I may just pick a cheap cfmoto 650GT or 700CLX sport for highway....save my budget and worry about off road with another bike.
I forgot about Versys X-250.

But the bike is way overprice IMHO now. If only Modenas will bring it back to local market.

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 17 2023, 12:20 PM)
Norden and Tuareg, its for Europeans from Netherlands, (read 180cm and above)

V2 X-ADV (Asian version) have better V-Shaped seat in order to giving more kepit feeling between your balls so your leg can touched the ground better.

But X-ADV waiting list will be until the next PRU.
The ones BSH bringing in are the Asian or European version?
ajaibman
post Apr 17 2023, 02:49 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Apr 17 2023, 12:51 PM)
I forgot about Versys X-250.

But the bike is way overprice IMHO now. If only Modenas will bring it back to local market.
The ones BSH bringing in are the Asian or European version?
X-ADV from BSH is Asian version.

The Recond unit from Chear Motor are EU's
ThE DaReDeViL
post Apr 20 2023, 08:46 AM

Still hoping if I can turn the 8s into a sport touring bike. Have to see how to mount luggage on the back.  Or fingers crossed for Suzuki to do a 800cc version of the GSXs1000 sport touring bike.

Even my GSXS 750 can be turned to sport touring.. tongue.gif If creative enough, can do DIY.. This and my previous ER6n 1st model I DIY myself.. Or if lazy can bring for shop to do custom.. Both I retain the handle's height because I am fine with it, and I don't want to lose its sportiness handling.. Anyway, GSXS 1000 GT is already out which is a sport touring model..
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 20 2023, 09:03 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Apr 20 2023, 08:46 AM)

Even my GSXS 750 can be turned to sport touring..  tongue.gif  If creative enough, can do DIY.. This and my previous ER6n 1st model I DIY myself.. Or if lazy can bring for shop to do custom.. Both I retain the handle's height because I am fine with it, and I don't want to lose its sportiness handling.. Anyway, GSXS 1000 GT is already out which is a sport touring model..
And gsx-s1000gt getting pretty much universal acclaim from pretty much every reviewer. Side panniers can even fit full face wtf
jaycee1
post Apr 20 2023, 09:04 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Apr 20 2023, 08:46 AM)

Even my GSXS 750 can be turned to sport touring.. 

Anyway, GSXS 1000 GT is already out which is a sport touring model..
Haha, of course you can.

But sport/sport naked bikes tend not to be so ideal for 2up.

My budget is 40 to 50k which unfortunately excludes the GSX s1000GT.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Apr 20 2023, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 20 2023, 09:03 AM)
And gsx-s1000gt getting pretty much universal acclaim from pretty much every reviewer. Side panniers can even fit full face wtf
Yup, attracted to it since it is launched, but too bad out of budget and I need it for work as well coz I only want one bike do-it-all..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Apr 20 2023, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 20 2023, 09:04 AM)
Haha, of course you can.

But sport/sport naked bikes tend not to be so ideal for 2up.

My budget is 40 to 50k which unfortunately excludes the GSX s1000GT.
Owh, it's another case then.. Haha.. I'm solo rider, so I have less issues to consider.. Anyway, sport touring models are really lacking in middle weight bikes which makes us have less options.. Only ways is to get a bike you like, and mode it yourself.. sad.gif
paskal
post Apr 20 2023, 01:20 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 15 2023, 08:53 AM)

i went to this test ride event since it's quite close.

rode a few bikes.

spent the most time with the vstrom.
didn't follow the pre-planned route. i took it to some bad roads and gravel agriculture roads around the area.

if you want something for long distance touring, will do 2up with panniers, can do some mild offroad, more power and upgrade from your dominar,

do test ride the vstrom 650. it's not as tall or heavy as 800cc+ midweight
not much power tho. might feel the same as your dominar.

bmw f800gs, bmw f750gs, bmw f850gs. f800gs with the rear tank doesn't feel as heavy as f850gs. f700gs/f650gs is even shorter and lighter.
crf 250 don't make much power and not nice on the highway. topspeed 110-120, lack of power to overtake.

the himalayan and scram 411 don't make a lot of power. heavy clutch. 5 speed gearbox. might feel a downgrade from your dom

i feel the 790 adv is too expensive for the asking price.
no cruise control. non adjustable suspension.
some features like adjustable traction control, slip control you need to get the rally pack or tech pack.
tiger 900 has more features vs 790adv at the same price.

but going past 800cc the accessories and parts price is really on another planet.
you drop the bike offroad and hit a rut or a rock RIP wallet puke.gif
jaycee1
post Apr 20 2023, 02:14 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 20 2023, 01:20 PM)
i went to this test ride event since it's quite close.

rode a few bikes.

spent the most time with the vstrom.
didn't follow the pre-planned route. i took it to some bad roads and gravel agriculture roads around the area.
if you want something for long distance touring, will do 2up with panniers, can do some mild offroad, more power and upgrade from your dominar,

do test ride the vstrom 650. it's not as tall or heavy as 800cc+ midweight
not much power tho. might feel the same as your dominar.

bmw f800gs, bmw f750gs, bmw f850gs. f800gs with the rear tank doesn't feel as heavy as f850gs. f700gs/f650gs is even shorter and lighter.
crf 250 don't make much power and not nice on the highway. topspeed 110-120, lack of power to overtake.

the himalayan and scram 411 don't make a lot of power. heavy clutch. 5 speed gearbox. might feel a downgrade from your dom

i feel the 790 adv is too expensive for the asking price.
no cruise control. non adjustable suspension.
some features like adjustable traction control, slip control you need to get the rally pack or tech pack.
tiger 900 has more features vs 790adv at the same price.

but going past 800cc the accessories and parts price is really on another planet.
you drop the bike offroad and hit a rut or a rock RIP wallet  puke.gif
Yeah..my thoughts exactly. Already tried the Vstrom 650. Decent bike but looking for something lower and lighter.

The 790adventure would be perfect if not for the too high price. You just don't seem to get good value for money. And yes, I agree the tiger 900 on the lower seat setting would be better value ..except for the stupid T plane engine.
alexei
post Apr 20 2023, 03:15 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

paskaljaycee1
I thought V-strom 650 likes to be revved? Somehow I see it's tuned for higher RPM.
Never did ride one but few guys around me have it. Don't get me wrong, it's good enough to chug along slowly as well.
jaycee1
post Apr 20 2023, 05:29 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 20 2023, 03:15 PM)
paskaljaycee1
I thought V-strom 650 likes to be revved? Somehow I see it's tuned for higher RPM.
Never did ride one but few guys around me have it. Don't get me wrong, it's good enough to chug along slowly as well.
Actually the Vstrom 650 powerplant is perfectly fine for it's intented purpose. Very flexible engine. I don't see anyone complaining though....maybe only those used to litre bike powerplants or those newer parallel twins from KTM like the 790 and 890.
paskal
post Apr 20 2023, 07:07 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 20 2023, 03:15 PM)
paskaljaycee1
i feel that there's not much torque from the engine. maybe like you said it's tuned for higher rpm.
kindda hard to powerslide (even on gravel) just from engine power alone. even after turning off traction control.

with that engine i feel that you don't even need traction control haha biggrin.gif
it feels like cb500x, good enough but not much fun factor. feels quite boring to be honest.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 20 2023, 05:29 PM)
Actually the Vstrom 650 powerplant is perfectly fine for it's intented purpose. Very flexible engine. I don't see anyone complaining though....maybe only those used to litre bike powerplants or those newer parallel twins from KTM like the 790 and 890.
ktm tuning is really fun.
feels like it's trying to kill you if you mess too much with it.

same with triumph. feels fun and lively. boatload of torque in the lower rpm.
sport mode, and if the road wet, you'll powerslide on the white lane marking just by twisting the throttle.
then traction control kicks in and you'll recover.

fun as hell. biggrin.gif
alexei
post Apr 20 2023, 07:59 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 20 2023, 05:29 PM)
that's what I understand, thanks for the insights
haven't test ride anything big cc just sitting here reading up spec sheets

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 20 2023, 07:07 PM)
i feel that there's not much torque from the engine. maybe like you said it's tuned for higher rpm.
kindda hard to powerslide (even on gravel) just from engine power alone. even after turning off traction control.

with that engine i feel that you don't even need traction control haha  biggrin.gif
it feels like cb500x, good enough but not much fun factor. feels quite boring to be honest.
ktm tuning is really fun.
feels like it's trying to kill you if you mess too much with it.

same with triumph. feels fun and lively. boatload of torque in the lower rpm.
sport mode, and if the road wet, you'll powerslide on the white lane marking just by twisting the throttle.
then traction control kicks in and you'll recover.

fun as hell.  biggrin.gif
I heard it's quite sedate, unlike the MT07... thanks for validating

jaycee1
post Apr 20 2023, 08:41 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 20 2023, 07:59 PM)
that's what I understand, thanks for the insights
haven't test ride anything big cc just sitting here reading up spec sheets
I heard it's quite sedate, unlike the MT07... thanks for validating
The CP2 is a gem of an engine. Very punchy lowdown . Lightweight bike. Small and compact. I think in terms of outright fun, only the duke 790 is competition with similar power delivery, just a notch higher...but at a different price point. KTM sure can't do electronics reliably and styling, but they sure know how to build a fun engine.

The sv650 is quite a nice bike as well, just not as lively as the Yamaha. But it's likely weight and that 19" front wheel makes the Vstrom feel weaker and duller. But fit for purpose. One feature you don't see on bikes that price point is the remote preload adjuster....great for touring bikes for easy adjustment depending on 2up or luggage. I absolutely hate busting my knuckles each time I hard to break out the c spanner.
alexei
post Apr 20 2023, 09:28 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 20 2023, 08:41 PM)
I absolutely hate busting my knuckles each time I hard to break out the c spanner.
I saw a video, a foreman uses a large screwdriver to jack the spring up first against the shock body as leverage, and turning the preload ring becomes so much easier. To avoid damaging the spring and the shock, can wrap or brace the screwdriver with a cloth or wood.
jame
post Apr 22 2023, 02:36 PM

Hold onto your GSX-S750 since it's rumoured replacement, the GSX-S8 is going to the twin and no longer inline four. Yes I'm a big fan of inline four sound. lol.gif
basilisk
post May 1 2023, 03:58 AM

30 posts

yang mana satu?

This post has been edited by basilisk: May 1 2023, 11:23 AM
zarakiken
post May 1 2023, 11:55 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 1 2023, 03:58 AM)

yang mana satu?
Should be 250 right? because banyak buzz among dealers on the 250...
jaycee1
post May 2 2023, 09:30 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

I'm guessing the 800DE
Nightstalker1993
post May 2 2023, 10:34 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(jame @ Apr 22 2023, 02:36 PM)
Hold onto your GSX-S750 since it's rumoured replacement, the GSX-S8 is going to the twin and no longer inline four. Yes I'm a big fan of inline four sound.  :lol2:
No doubt the engine on the gsx-s750 is superb, but I can't stand the looks of it and it's pretty dated by now with no LED lights and dated gauge cluster. The gsx-8s looks much better personally but in the end I bought something that looks and performs even better than either of those 2 bikes, but I need to refuel much more often laugh.gif
alexei
post May 3 2023, 08:44 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

yang mana satu?
looks like 250, didn't know got such model now I do
interesting rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 2 2023, 10:34 PM)
No doubt the engine on the gsx-s750 is superb, but I can't stand the looks of it and it's pretty dated by now with no LED lights and dated gauge cluster. The gsx-8s looks much better personally but in the end I bought something that looks and performs even better than either of those 2 bikes, but I need to refuel much more often laugh.gif
If I have the Katana, I think I won't be looking at other bikes for a while

Like most Jap bikes, the S750 needs a better shock. I bet the Katana is sufficient in this department.
Nightstalker1993
post May 3 2023, 09:12 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 3 2023, 08:44 AM)
interesting  rclxms.gif

Like most Jap bikes, the S750 needs a better shock. I bet the Katana is sufficient in this department.
Well I was looking around before I got the Katana haha. And the Katana rear shocks are decent but still could use an upgrade. No compression adjustment for the shock is a bummer
alexei
post May 3 2023, 10:09 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 3 2023, 09:12 AM)
Well I was looking around before I got the Katana haha. And the Katana rear shocks are decent but still could use an upgrade. No compression adjustment for the shock is a bummer
you use top box then better get those with preload adjusters, and fancy clickers.
Ohlins, Matris, Bitubo, Nitron, Andreani, YSS, Ktech etc are accessible to you.
Nightstalker1993
post May 3 2023, 11:14 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 3 2023, 10:09 AM)
you use top box then better get those with preload adjusters, and fancy clickers.
Ohlins, Matris, Bitubo, Nitron, Andreani, YSS, Ktech etc are accessible to you.
Preload is standard, compression damping is the thing it doesn't have. And my top box isn't that heavy.
ArmFix
post May 6 2023, 11:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 3 2023, 08:44 AM)
interesting  rclxms.gif

Love the S750, great bike in both handling and engine. Hope that with upcoming 8s, suzuki won't drop entirely on S750. But why the hell all those manufacturer want to involve in another MT07 clone. I know that kinda of setup is fun and punchy where the it's very torque but can you level with MT07 with that dirt cheap price.

This post has been edited by ArmFix: May 6 2023, 11:24 AM
Patent
post May 6 2023, 12:28 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(ArmFix @ May 6 2023, 11:22 AM)
Love the S750, great bike in both handling and engine. Hope that with upcoming 8s, suzuki won't drop entirely on S750. But why the hell all those manufacturer want to involve in another MT07 clone. I know that kinda of setup is fun and punchy where the it's very torque but can you level with MT07 with that dirt cheap price.
yeah its weird why they want to make a copy of mt-07 now out of all time it had been out..
but if it works, it works i guess rclxub.gif
basilisk
post May 6 2023, 02:26 PM

30 posts

yang mana satu?
lol... none of the above..

shudhav tot of that the 800 is too new...

alexei
post May 7 2023, 08:20 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ArmFix @ May 6 2023, 11:22 AM)
QUOTE(Patent @ May 6 2023, 12:28 PM)
yeah its weird why they want to make a copy of mt-07 now out of all time it had been out..
but if it works, it works i guess  rclxub.gif
I think it's emissions and it's time they have something to compete with F800/F900 series engine. MT07 not so much, but that's what they sing about out there. To be frank, MT07 isn't new, there's been ~650 twin engines way before that. Just that Yamaha tuned it's peak torque much lower that people loved it.

It's only now Yamaha put that concept into a naked, a Tenere, and R7.

These newer 800cc twins are not that fresh also, but better.

This post has been edited by alexei: May 7 2023, 08:21 PM
basilisk
post Jun 11 2023, 03:53 AM

30 posts

when can get bike oh?
48k?? lol
basilisk
post Jun 19 2023, 04:08 AM

30 posts

dealer is right,.. 50.8k ... huhu...
launch price of 2021 gsxs750 cbu jap is 41k

paskal
post Jun 19 2023, 09:58 AM

2,801 posts

similar price as upcoming transalp? heard transalp would also be priced around 60k
youtube reviews are saying the 800de feels lighter than a t7 tho it's 30kg heavier
harryleesbr
post Jun 19 2023, 05:54 PM

ada mention the 800de price ?
mADmAN
post Jun 19 2023, 06:26 PM

10,530 posts

my god... suzuki trying to commit suicide or wat?

8S @ 51k? macam better ambik Z900 or MT09 or MT07.

800DE oso unless betul2 offroading, would rather go for the versys 1000 or Tracer.

would be interesting to see how much they can sell with those prices.
Patent
post Jun 19 2023, 06:30 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 19 2023, 06:26 PM)
my god... suzuki trying to commit suicide or wat?

8S @ 51k? macam better ambik Z900 or MT09 or MT07.

800DE oso unless betul2 offroading, would rather go for the versys 1000 or Tracer.

would be interesting to see how much they can sell with those prices.
exactly my thought.. like no brainer z900 is the better choice. sweat.gif
basilisk
post Jun 19 2023, 07:18 PM

30 posts

ami suzuki got no choice, even tho they cant offer lower price, but still they need to market n sell to be relevant.

unlike bsh hlym can sell plenty of kapchai + scooters.

Patent
post Jun 19 2023, 07:46 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jun 19 2023, 07:18 PM)
ami suzuki got no choice, even tho they cant offer lower price, but still they need to market n sell to be relevant.

unlike bsh hlym can sell plenty of kapchai + scooters.
this gsx-8s still cbu?

basilisk
post Jun 19 2023, 09:41 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 19 2023, 07:46 PM)
this gsx-8s still cbu?
should be,

no info stated, those journos never ask, tak buat kerja.
Aaronnnnnn
post Jun 20 2023, 08:10 AM

I’ve become too strong
706 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 19 2023, 07:46 PM)
this gsx-8s still cbu?
yes CBU saw Eang Chun shared in their FB, fully imported unlike MT-09 and Z900
Patent
post Jun 20 2023, 11:01 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Aaronnnnnn @ Jun 20 2023, 08:10 AM)
yes CBU saw Eang Chun shared in their FB, fully imported unlike MT-09 and Z900
Well that explains the price.. but still really hard to compete with those other 2
Nightstalker1993
post Jun 20 2023, 02:12 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Will be very interesting to see the sales numbers seeing that the versys 1000 is not too far off from the 800de pricing, and also the z900 is cheaper than the 8s yet have more power. Only thing the 8s wins over that is the quick shifter up and down I guess but reviews are saying the implementation of the 8s/800de quick shifter is less refined particularly on the downshift.

Though I personally know someone who is placing an order for the 800de even after knowing the price, so I guess the bike does have it's fans.

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Jun 20 2023, 02:13 PM
alexei
post Jun 21 2023, 09:43 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 20 2023, 02:12 PM)
Will be very interesting to see the sales numbers seeing that the versys 1000 is not too far off from the 800de pricing, and also the z900 is cheaper than the 8s yet have more power. Only thing the 8s wins over that is the quick shifter up and down I guess but reviews are saying the implementation of the 8s/800de quick shifter is less refined particularly on the downshift.

Though I personally know someone who is placing an order for the 800de even after knowing the price, so I guess the bike does have it's fans.
I heard, the 800DE is geared too slow, so will tend to kena the 7th gear syndrom

RalphRatedR
post Jun 22 2023, 09:35 AM

280 posts

https://www.motorcyclenews.com/bike-reviews...rom-800de/2023/

Even in UK it's considered expensive.
jaycee1
post Jun 22 2023, 01:22 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

I think Suzuki missed an opportunity to launch a more road touring orientated model beneath the 800DE for those that only take a bike as far as light gravel only.

17/19 wheel combo. Less aggressive but stiffer suspension and 30mm lower seat height.

Would sell like hotcakes replacing the old vstrom650.
basilisk
post Jun 22 2023, 03:25 PM

30 posts

suzuki is trying to make the new vstrom more off road capable, cos the global majority market likes goin off road.

thts y the tenere7 is doing so well.
lowpro
post Jun 23 2023, 10:09 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jun 22 2023, 03:25 PM)
suzuki is trying to make the new vstrom more off road capable, cos the global majority market likes goin off road.

thts y the tenere7 is doing so well.
Would love it if they could put that engine in a bike like the V100 Mandello. That Moto Guzzi is one beautiful bike. Perhaps in the near future, Suzuki could explore that formula for that engine. Like a Mandello or like a Tiger 660 Sport. More road going.
basilisk
post Jun 23 2023, 02:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jun 23 2023, 10:09 AM)
Would love it if they could put that engine in a bike like the V100 Mandello. That Moto Guzzi is one beautiful bike. Perhaps in the near future, Suzuki could explore that formula for that engine. Like a Mandello or like a Tiger 660 Sport. More road going.
go for test ride

lowpro
post Jun 23 2023, 05:13 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jun 23 2023, 02:11 PM)
go for test ride

Hope my penguin legs can reach the floor! biggrin.gif
kllam
post Jun 25 2023, 10:30 AM

1,228 posts

Went to try out the 800de, for my height i can flat foot on the bike and both legs straight.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Jun 25 2023, 12:36 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 19 2023, 10:58 AM)

similar price as upcoming transalp? heard transalp would also be priced around 60k
youtube reviews are saying the 800de feels lighter than a t7 tho it's 30kg heavier
Tubed tyres are a dealbreaker for me.
vexus
post Jun 25 2023, 09:31 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

price slightly higher than cfmoto 800mt. I think suzuki would perform better?
jaycee1
post Jun 26 2023, 07:44 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 25 2023, 09:31 PM)
price slightly higher than cfmoto 800mt. I think suzuki would perform better?
Quite the different beast.

The 800MT is more a big tourer than something I would even try to take beyond light gravel.

My Dominar feels like a kapchai parked next to a 800MT.

I'm just preplexed why Suzuki didn't see it fit to put cruise control on both the 8S and 800DE, especially the DE. On longer trips is such a relief to be able to take your hand of the throttle for even a minute or so...
jaycee1
post Jun 27 2023, 07:26 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Just went to have a test ride on the 8S. A few rounds around the block.

Punchy engine. Good midrange. Reminds me of the KTM790. Nice TFT. Interesting exhaust note.

Typical of Suzuki....signal lamps still bulb type. Hahahaha.

Jumped on the 800DE. Leg cannot reach floor. Hahaha.

Let's hope Suzuki will do the 19/17 combo version of a more road friendly 800DE. Dealer seems to think there is such model in the pipeline...
basilisk
post Jul 14 2023, 10:09 AM

30 posts

test ride ....

genesiscopy
post Jul 14 2023, 11:06 AM

37 posts

Does the Katana have IMU like its sports touring sibling?
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 15 2023, 07:47 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Jul 14 2023, 11:06 AM)
Does the Katana have IMU like its sports touring sibling?
No the Katana does not have IMU, for both the previous 2019-2021 gen Katana and latest 2022 gen Katana which wasn't brought into Malaysia. I own a 2021 Katana, AMA.
basilisk
post Jul 15 2023, 09:44 PM

30 posts

jaycee1
post Jul 15 2023, 10:09 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 15 2023, 09:44 PM)
Apa ini?

2024 gixxer 10R? Or the 8R based on the current 8S twin?

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jul 15 2023, 10:10 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 16 2023, 12:13 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:09 PM)
Apa ini?

2024 gixxer 10R? Or the 8R based on the current 8S twin?
That exhaust and engine is for their inline 4 engines, exact same exhaust as the gsx-s1000, GSX-S1000gt and Katana. I'm guessing new gixxer model soon with the new style exhaust design ditching the giant can? hmm.gif

Edit: seeing it has the rear grab bars/luggage rack and tall windscreen, looks like it's some form of sports tourer? But the GSX-S1000gt already exists, so I'm pretty confused....

Edit 2: looks like it's gonna be something in between the GSX-S1000gt and the v-strom, to be named the GSX-S1000T

https://www.motorradonline.de/tourer/suzuki...-s-1000-t-2024/

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Jul 16 2023, 12:22 AM
basilisk
post Jul 17 2023, 11:07 PM

30 posts

sv650 lives on..

2023 grey colour seems nice... rm39xxx

lowpro
post Jul 18 2023, 09:03 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 17 2023, 11:07 PM)
sv650 lives on..

Perhaps they still need a price point presence in the entry level big bike market. The 8S is already at RM50k so it makes sense to retain the SV at its current price point at below RM30++k.
kllam
post Jul 18 2023, 10:16 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 17 2023, 11:07 PM)
sv650 lives on..

Hopefully the is and the vstrom650 will still be available here after the new model is launched.
alexei
post Jul 18 2023, 10:53 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

SV, vs the S800
Vstrom vs 800DE

they are tailored for different riders. older one for shorter legs.
800DE is tall but, less intimidating than Tiger/12xxGS IMO.
basilisk
post Jul 18 2023, 12:05 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Jul 18 2023, 10:16 AM)
Hopefully the is and the vstrom650 will still be available here after the new model is launched.
2023 sv650 the pic frm eang chun la, ready stock!

old vstrom dono..
TSZZR-Pilot
post Jul 18 2023, 01:05 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 18 2023, 12:07 AM)
sv650 lives on..

Man... that's barely RM5k short of a Triumph Trident, which is a far more modern bike.

With its parallel twin replacement coming soon, that kind of pricing is rather optimistic.

jaycee1
post Jul 18 2023, 05:04 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 18 2023, 01:05 PM)
Man... that's barely RM5k short of a Triumph Trident, which is a far more modern bike.

With its parallel twin replacement coming soon, that kind of pricing is rather optimistic.
Lower end twin? As far as I know there is a huge price hole in Suzukis lineup. The 8s is 51k.

No doubt they are filling the hole with the sv and old vstrom...at least until they develop a new bike....which I dont think will be the case.

Before the price hike, SVs were 35k and the classic vstrom was 38k. Both bikes are severely dated.....unless you die die want a budget v twin.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Jul 18 2023, 06:28 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 18 2023, 06:04 PM)
Lower end twin? As far as I know there is a huge price hole in Suzukis lineup. The 8s is 51k.

No doubt they are filling the hole with the sv and old vstrom...at least until they develop a new bike....which I dont think will be the case.

Before the price hike, SVs were 35k and the classic vstrom was 38k. Both bikes are severely dated.....unless you die die want a budget v twin.
Oh wait... the GSX-8S is the SV650 replacement. doh.gif

No wonder they're pushing the ancient SV650 for RM39k.
jaycee1
post Jul 18 2023, 07:17 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 18 2023, 06:28 PM)
Oh wait... the GSX-8S is the SV650 replacement.  doh.gif

No wonder they're pushing the ancient SV650 for RM39k.
Yeah... Suzuki's big bike ranges starts from the 8S...if not for the older bikes.

There is still value in the SV and classic vstrom. Known reliability, v twin smooth, plenty of aftermarket parts. We've just being spoiled by KTM power delivery.

If only they updated the old vstrom .... There is a 20k gap (!!) between it and the new 800DE. Wouldn't mind the old vstrom if they got it a bit lighter, get full led lights and a TFT screen. Still a good bike.

basilisk
post Jul 22 2023, 05:16 PM

30 posts

mok motor test ride...
not car park ya,
pic frm fb

alexei
post Jul 24 2023, 09:30 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 22 2023, 05:16 PM)
mok motor test ride...
not car park ya,
pic frm fb

hahaha, some test ride only carpark

the DE is not low but these guys made the bikes look short.

kllam
post Jul 24 2023, 10:47 AM

1,228 posts

Tested the height on both Vstrom. The DE is taller than the 650xt but for me, i will go for a bike with less electronics.

This post has been edited by kllam: Jul 24 2023, 10:48 AM
basilisk
post Jul 25 2023, 02:15 AM

30 posts

Patent
post Jul 25 2023, 11:02 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 25 2023, 02:15 AM)
No GSX-S750?
Are they stopping the production of that bike?
kllam
post Jul 25 2023, 11:11 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 25 2023, 11:02 AM)
No GSX-S750?
Are they stopping the production of that bike?
From what i heard when i went to the shop, they sell those remaining stock. After that no more bring in.

Patent
post Jul 25 2023, 11:14 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Jul 25 2023, 11:11 AM)
From what i heard when i went to the shop, they sell those remaining stock. After that no more bring in.
well that will be the last middleweight inline-4..
if buy now even second hand value can hold laugh.gif
basilisk
post Jul 25 2023, 03:14 PM

30 posts

not selling in msia la, not stop production gua,
cos here kenot fai z900 liao.
seken price oso 29k now...
Patent
post Jul 25 2023, 03:59 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 25 2023, 03:14 PM)
not selling in msia la, not stop production gua,
cos here kenot fai z900 liao.
seken price oso 29k now...
true I guess but for a smaller bike to have almost the same power with z900.. its a shame they have to stop bringing it in
market already niche enough really hard to compete
so the remaining s750 owners now have a collectors edition bike (for malaysia) laugh.gif

kllam
post Jul 26 2023, 01:35 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 25 2023, 11:14 AM)
well that will be the last middleweight inline-4..
if buy now even second hand value can hold laugh.gif
Suzuki is still selling the gsxr 750 so i guess the gsxs750 will still be around, just a matter if local distributor bring in or not.
ganz
post Aug 16 2023, 05:10 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

just asking, is Vtrsom 650 better than latest Versys 650?
paskal
post Aug 16 2023, 11:38 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Aug 16 2023, 05:10 PM)
just asking, is Vtrsom 650 better than latest Versys 650?
you're gonna have to go for a test ride. both bike feels different and handle differently.

the new modenas versys 650 have more gadget than the vstrom.
and currently it's cheaper than the vstrom that is now selling for RM42k-44k new

but after testing both i think i prefer the vstrom as it feels lighter, easier to maneuver and felt narrower.
on the highway the versys might be better since the light handlebar is prone to wobble and quite a number of people are reporting this issue on the vstrom.
also people are reporting high speed wobble issue when the vstrom have panniers installed.

so which bike is better is purely based on your usage.
ganz
post Aug 16 2023, 11:59 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 16 2023, 11:38 PM)
you're gonna have to go for a test ride. both bike feels different and handle differently.

the new modenas versys 650 have more gadget than the vstrom.
and currently it's cheaper than the vstrom that is now selling for RM42k-44k new

but after testing both i think i prefer the vstrom as it feels lighter, easier to maneuver and felt narrower.
on the highway the versys might be better since the light handlebar is prone to wobble and quite a number of people are reporting this issue on the vstrom.
also people are reporting high speed wobble issue when the vstrom have panniers installed.

so which bike is better is purely based on your usage.
thanks.. i will test Verys this Saturday at section 15 shah alam.. do u know where can I test VStrom.?

i read that Vstrom has the low RPM assist

paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 07:22 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Aug 16 2023, 11:59 PM)
thanks.. i will test Verys this Saturday at section 15 shah alam.. do u know where can I test VStrom.?

i read that Vstrom has the low RPM assist
Yes the vstrom has the low rpm assist.
But a lot of bikes also have the low rpm assist but didn't advert them. My tiger for instance have an even better low rpm assist system that makes it even easier to ride at low speed, but never advertise it.

Suzuki frequently do road test event. Maybe you can follow Suzuki Malaysia FB
Patent
post Aug 17 2023, 10:30 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

I'm not really a fan of suzuki low RPM assist, kinda neat at first but later become annoying

If you are at gear 1 and let go of the throttle bike will become jumpy because the rpm trying to go up and down..
even my old z250 was smoother

This post has been edited by Patent: Aug 17 2023, 10:33 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 17 2023, 01:28 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 10:30 AM)
I'm not really a fan of suzuki low RPM assist, kinda neat at first but later become annoying

If you are at gear 1 and let go of the throttle bike will become jumpy because the rpm trying to go up and down..
What bike is this? My Katana ok jer low rpm assist very smooth
basilisk
post Aug 17 2023, 02:01 PM

30 posts

2024 vstrom650 lives on
Patent
post Aug 17 2023, 02:16 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 17 2023, 01:28 PM)
its a GSX-S750 that I bought used
guess I need to get it checked then hmm.gif
paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 03:09 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 10:30 AM)

on triumph low speed assist you could even press the brake (front or rear brake) to slow it even more and it doesn't stall.
very easy to ride slowly on gravel since you could put it in 1 2 3 gear and just let it creep slowly.

i feel that the bike is easier to creep very slowly than my kapcai. a godsend feature
Patent
post Aug 17 2023, 04:09 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 17 2023, 03:09 PM)
on triumph low speed assist you could even press the brake (front or rear brake) to slow it even more and it doesn't stall.
very easy to ride slowly on gravel since you could put it in 1 2 3 gear and just let it creep slowly.

i feel that the bike is easier to creep very slowly than my kapcai. a godsend feature
No stalling at all?
That's impressive
paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 07:11 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 04:09 PM)
No stalling at all?
That's impressive
Unless you forcefully pull the brakes to stop the bike, then it'll stall.
While creeping if you pull the brakes you can hear the bike purposely revving the engine to avoid stalling.
lowpro
post Aug 20 2023, 09:27 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 17 2023, 01:28 PM)
It works fine on my SV650X as well...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 20 2023, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 02:16 PM)
its a GSX-S750 that I bought used
guess I need to get it checked then  hmm.gif
It is like that.. At least I know it is for Gsxs750.. The bike and the sound is jumpy.. biggrin.gif
Patent
post Aug 20 2023, 02:01 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 20 2023, 11:41 AM)
It is like that.. At least I know it is for Gsxs750.. The bike and the sound is jumpy..  biggrin.gif
is that so.. guess I'll have to live with it sweat.gif
now trying to get used to the vibration of it, riding at 8k+ rpm footpeg and handlebar vibrate like massaging machine laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 20 2023, 06:45 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 20 2023, 02:01 PM)
is that so.. guess I'll have to live with it  sweat.gif
now trying to get used to the vibration of it, riding at 8k+ rpm footpeg and handlebar vibrate like massaging machine  laugh.gif
Maybe you're feeling it is jumpy because the engine cc is so large and a small change in throttle changes the power output by alot compared to your 250cc.

The vibration shouldn't be THAT bad kot but on my Katana also 6000rpm and above the vibes really starts coming in laugh.gif
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 20 2023, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 20 2023, 02:01 PM)
is that so.. guess I'll have to live with it  sweat.gif
now trying to get used to the vibration of it, riding at 8k+ rpm footpeg and handlebar vibrate like massaging machine  laugh.gif
Saw earlier on YouTube, the low rpm problem can be solved after full system exhaust + Dyno tune.. Not sure if it works on just Dyno itself as it is not mentioned.. But it does say that the bike is running lean on factory default to meet the Euro4 requirement..
Don't ride fast always, so can't feel handle vibrate much.. But the footpeg, yes.. I usually just ride around 7k rpm under normal circumstances..
Patent
post Aug 20 2023, 08:11 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 20 2023, 06:45 PM)
Maybe you're feeling it is jumpy because the engine cc is so large and a small change in throttle changes the power output by alot compared to your 250cc.

The vibration shouldn't be THAT bad kot but on my Katana also 6000rpm and above the vibes really starts coming in laugh.gif
I'm not sure if my bike vibration is bad or normal.. might need second opinion on that
I'm also a lightweight person so I guess the vibration has higher impact on me

Hands and feet buzzing after 8k rpm, but the bike telling you to 'keep pulling that throttle' devil.gif
basilisk
post Aug 29 2023, 10:25 AM

30 posts

250 macam macam ada...

twins...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Aug 29 2023, 10:27 AM
paskal
post Aug 30 2023, 08:32 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 29 2023, 10:25 AM)
250 macam macam ada...
Haiya that old gen vstrom 250 really kenot la.
Hopefully they'll release the new gen and not this new retro modern classic adv haiya
basilisk
post Aug 30 2023, 10:31 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 30 2023, 08:32 AM)
Haiya that old gen vstrom 250 really kenot la.
Hopefully they'll release the new gen and not this new retro modern classic adv haiya
yes new under 18k they say, but is a single...

old is twin, still for sale somewhere in this world.

here msia pipu will sembang go for versys 250 cos its twin...
alexei
post Aug 30 2023, 10:34 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 30 2023, 10:31 AM)
yes new under 18k they say, but is a single...

old is twin, still for sale somewhere in this world.

here msia pipu will sembang go for versys 250 cos its twin...
heck I didn't notice it's a single
basilisk
post Sep 19 2023, 09:40 PM

30 posts

This post has been edited by basilisk: Sep 19 2023, 09:41 PM
basilisk
post Sep 30 2023, 02:26 PM

30 posts

this vstrom 250 cyclop is still in production

jaycee1
post Oct 7 2023, 06:12 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Maybe here early 2024. Road biased version of the vstrom 800DE called the 800RE. 17/19 combo wheels, lower suspension. 825mm seat height. Upgraded radial front brakes from the 8S. Standard quickshifter. Touring windshield.

Price to be somewhere between the 8S and 800DE.

Interesting.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Oct 7 2023, 06:13 PM
vexus
post Oct 8 2023, 08:55 AM

6,659 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 7 2023, 06:12 PM)

Maybe here early 2024. Road biased version of the vstrom 800DE called the 800RE. 17/19 combo wheels, lower suspension. 825mm seat height. Upgraded radial front brakes from the 8S. Standard quickshifter. Touring windshield.

Interesting.
many item accessories missing.

This post has been edited by vexus: Oct 8 2023, 09:03 AM
jaycee1
post Oct 8 2023, 09:38 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 8 2023, 08:55 AM)
many item accessories missing.

Such as?

AFAIK, they downgraded the suspension with less adjustability. The QS is still standard. You do get a taller touring screen as standard.

But it remains to be seen what comes with the bike when it gets here.
vexus
post Oct 8 2023, 09:42 AM

6,659 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 8 2023, 09:38 AM)
Such as?

AFAIK, they downgraded the suspension with less adjustability. The QS is still standard. You do get a taller touring screen as standard.

But it remains to be seen what comes with the bike when it gets here.
hand guard, skid guard, & some bar for fixing crash bar, touring box fixture plate?. probably some ride setting changes. Probably no gravel mode?
jaycee1
post Oct 8 2023, 10:10 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 8 2023, 09:42 AM)
hand guard, skid guard, & some bar for fixing crash bar, touring box fixture plate?. probably some ride setting changes. Probably no gravel mode?
Fair enough. But most of these things can be done easily via the aftermarket. Good they left these out. Not everyone will want them for a more road biased bike that would likely see light gravel at most.
Patent
post Oct 21 2023, 11:43 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Went to this test ride earlier today.
Tested both GSX-S1000 and the Katana.

Katana is the old model with no quickshifter and still with throttle cable.
Test ride at the NPE highway with mild traffic where you have to follow the marshal.

Initial impression is the torque on 1000cc pretty crazy.. shocking.gif

Katana throttle also feel twitchy compared to S1000, really felt the difference between cable and ride by wire.

Both use the same K5 engine but somehow the S1000 feels smoother and less vibration compared to the Katana.

Gotta say Katana has the look but I felt more comfortable on the S1000 and the mecha look is growing on me.

You will also get a Suzuki tote bag with a t-shirt and notebook in it.
This is your chance to try a Hayabusa laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Patent: Oct 21 2023, 11:47 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Oct 23 2023, 12:43 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 21 2023, 11:43 AM)

Went to this test ride earlier today.
Tested both GSX-S1000 and the Katana.

Katana is the old model with no quickshifter and still with throttle cable.
Test ride at the NPE highway with mild traffic where you have to follow the marshal.

Initial impression is the torque on 1000cc pretty crazy..  shocking.gif

Katana throttle also feel twitchy compared to S1000, really felt the difference between cable and ride by wire.

Both use the same K5 engine but somehow the S1000 feels smoother and less vibration compared to the Katana.

Gotta say Katana has the look but I felt more comfortable on the S1000 and the mecha look is growing on me.

You will also get a Suzuki tote bag with a t-shirt and notebook in it.
This is your chance to try a Hayabusa  laugh.gif
Wah test ride got proper free gift eh? The cable throttle on the Katana takes some getting used to but once you get used to it, it nice and consistent. Did you manage to try a first gear pull? At which rpm do you feel the s1000 engine is smoother?
Patent
post Oct 23 2023, 03:39 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 23 2023, 12:43 AM)
Wah test ride got proper free gift eh? The cable throttle on the Katana takes some getting used to but once you get used to it, it nice and consistent. Did you manage to try a first gear pull? At which rpm do you feel the s1000 engine is smoother?
about 6k rpm is i started feeling vibration on the katana on the seat and footpegs meanwhile s1000 only has smaller vibration at the footpegs at the same rpm
wonder if 2023 katana will have the comfort improved.. asked the guy at the shop and he said it will arrive next year.
hope they will put it up for test ride

Yeah managed to tried first gear pull for a short distance, I'm surprised I still came out alive after all that g-force laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Oct 23 2023, 09:35 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 23 2023, 03:39 AM)
about 6k rpm is i started feeling vibration on the katana on the seat and footpegs meanwhile s1000 only has smaller vibration at the footpegs at the same rpm
wonder if 2023 katana will have the comfort improved.. asked the guy at the shop and he said it will arrive next year.
hope they will put it up for test ride

Yeah managed to tried first gear pull for a short distance, I'm surprised I still came out alive after all that g-force  laugh.gif
Wah new Katana arriving next year? I jealous max, got quickshifter and ride modes so nice cry.gif

Honestly I didn't expect them to bring in the new model since the older model sales were so bad. My bike was sitting at showroom for 2 years before I bought with large discount.

Yeah the Katana between 6000-8000rpm vibrations quite kao, then after 8000rpm smoothen out again. The bike wants you to either ride chill or all out, no I between laugh.gif

First gear pull until redline anot? At around 9000rpm peak torque the front wheel will start lifting, that g force sure is scary and addictive, but not many roads you can unleash that g force laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Oct 23 2023, 09:35 AM
Patent
post Oct 23 2023, 10:36 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 23 2023, 09:35 AM)
Wah new Katana arriving next year? I jealous max, got quickshifter and ride modes so nice cry.gif

Honestly I didn't expect them to bring in the new model since the older model sales were so bad. My bike was sitting at showroom for 2 years before I bought with large discount.

Yeah the Katana between 6000-8000rpm vibrations quite kao, then after 8000rpm smoothen out again. The bike wants you to either ride chill or all out, no I between laugh.gif

First gear pull until redline anot? At around 9000rpm peak torque the front wheel will start lifting, that g force sure is scary and addictive, but not many roads you can unleash that g force laugh.gif
didn't redline... got traffic and I'm also scared laugh.gif
jaycee1
post Oct 24 2023, 09:11 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 23 2023, 10:36 AM)
didn't redline... got traffic and I'm also scared  laugh.gif
Can mah. Adrian didn't let you take the bike on the NPE?
Patent
post Oct 24 2023, 01:32 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 24 2023, 09:11 AM)
Can mah. Adrian didn't let you take the bike on the NPE?
went through NPE but to get the maximum torque no need to redline
maximum torque at 9k rpm but at 8k rpm you already get 90% of it also
Nightstalker1993
post Oct 28 2023, 12:27 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 24 2023, 01:32 PM)
went through NPE but to get the maximum torque no need to redline
maximum torque at 9k rpm but at 8k rpm you already get 90% of it also
You get to hit 9k rpm means you were going pretty fast already laugh.gif
basilisk
post Nov 6 2023, 08:38 PM

30 posts

jaycee1
post Nov 6 2023, 10:03 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Air/oil cooled 250 single with 26hp sportbike?

Er.. pass. It's an Indian bike, not japanese. That price I would still stick to the Dominar 400
alexei
post Nov 7 2023, 10:34 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 6 2023, 10:03 PM)

Er.. pass. It's an Indian bike, not japanese. That price I would still stick to the Dominar 400
oh? macam the R15?
jaycee1
post Nov 7 2023, 10:57 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 7 2023, 10:34 AM)
oh? macam the R15?
lol.

Better just pay a little more and get the Kawa 250 or R25/MT25

I get that there are benefits to that cheap simple lightweight engine, like in the Vstrom 250. But in a sportbike?

Even if your stack the vstrom 250@18k against the versys 250@25, that price differential isn't all that much, considering you do get standard factory panniers, crashbars, and foglights thrown in.
Patent
post Nov 7 2023, 02:33 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 6 2023, 10:03 PM)

kasi can la, suzuki also want to try this segment laugh.gif
Patent
post Nov 7 2023, 05:55 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Suzuki announced 2 new bikes,
-GSX-S100GX like 1000GT but more upright and taller.

-GSX-8R, racing version of 8S

I like the looks of them, futuristic but not overly done like yamaha MTs
basilisk
post Nov 7 2023, 06:20 PM

30 posts

more to touring full fairing version actually,
front kinda looks like xj6 Diversion F.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Nov 7 2023, 06:27 PM
basilisk
post Nov 7 2023, 06:23 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Nov 15 2023, 11:41 AM

30 posts

basilisk
post Nov 25 2023, 11:55 AM

30 posts

basilisk
post Nov 25 2023, 01:46 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Dec 1 2023, 10:31 AM

30 posts

TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 1 2023, 03:08 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 7 2023, 07:12 PM)

Interesting.
Direct competitor to the Triumph Tiger 850. Too bad it's 2.5 years late to the party, otherwise... hmmm... who knows...!

jaycee1
post Dec 1 2023, 04:34 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 1 2023, 03:08 PM)
Direct competitor to the Triumph Tiger 850. Too bad it's 2.5 years late to the party, otherwise... hmmm... who knows...!
Yeah late to the party, and price jacked. Otherwise would have been a hit. I heard quite a lot of cancelled orders for the 800DE because some riders found it too tall. They should have just brought in the 800RE first. Most people don't do that hardcore off road after all.
MuhdYusri
post Dec 16 2023, 02:47 PM

328 posts

Any idea where to test ride GSX 8S?
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 16 2023, 04:39 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 1 2023, 05:34 PM)
Yeah late to the party, and price jacked. Otherwise would have been a hit. I heard quite a lot of cancelled orders for the 800DE because some riders found it too tall. They should have just brought in the 800RE first. Most people don't do that hardcore off road after all.
The guys at Gene Batu Caves said it will be priced at around RM58k, just under the 800DE's price (RM60k). That's definitely the Triumph Tiger 850 territory, just slightly above the CFmoto 800MT's price (RM54k).

Fast Bikes also said the Honda Transalp 750 is coming next year. Dunno how much, but being a Honda it won't be any cheaper than RM60k for sure.
Patent
post Dec 16 2023, 05:24 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(MuhdYusri @ Dec 16 2023, 02:47 PM)
Any idea where to test ride GSX 8S?
you just missed the test ride event at welly batu cave last week..
but maybe you could walk in there and ask if its possible to test ride it
another shop to ask is premium sportcycle at sunway
basilisk
post Dec 21 2023, 10:57 PM

30 posts

Gsx-8s year end promo.

Depending on bike shop,
some giv voucher up to rm10k, some give cash rebate rm5k.

up til now no owner report in fb group, mebe kenot sell..

Patent
post Dec 21 2023, 11:02 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 21 2023, 10:57 PM)
Gsx-8s year end promo.

Depending on bike shop,

other bikes also got rebate
only gsx-s1000 no rebate.. i ask salesman this one already sold out brows.gif
basilisk
post Dec 22 2023, 10:06 PM

30 posts

rm40k wor! this price like mt07 oredi...

Patent
post Dec 22 2023, 11:33 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 22 2023, 10:06 PM)
rm40k wor! this price like mt07 oredi...

pretty good value, no need to look at 800NK anymore laugh.gif
jaycee1
post Dec 23 2023, 08:23 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 21 2023, 10:57 PM)
Gsx-8s year end promo.

Depending on bike shop,

Seen a few vstrom 800DE but have yet to see any 8s on the road yet.

I think the price is set too high. It's quite a lot more than the old GSX750s which I think many see as a downgrade from.

Then considering the basic z900 that is going for 44k and the upcoming NK800 below 40k. If anything the KTM mill on the NK800 is far better than the Susie twin. The Suzuki twin isn't a bad motor, just that the KTM motor has a little bit more up top.

I've tested the 8s, z900 and NK800 all recently and still seems the 8s looses out on quite some aspects....but mostly on pricing being a CBU unit.

If somehow Suzuki ends up down pricing the 8S, I'm hoping they bring down the upcoming 800RE as well.
paskal
post Dec 25 2023, 07:55 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 23 2023, 08:23 AM)
If somehow Suzuki ends up down pricing the 8S, I'm hoping they bring down the upcoming 800RE as well.
Good wakeup call for Suzuki to mind the pricing.
The brand name and CBU status is not enough to entice customers.

Just like Yamaha. Haven't seen 1 tenere on the road yet.
basilisk
post Dec 29 2023, 10:39 AM

30 posts

Just noticed that suzuki rekemen oil change interval is

6k km oni...

checked gsx8s, sv650, gsr750, and this katana oso....
other model hayabusa etc blom check...

yama kawa is like 10k , 12k....

basilisk
post Dec 29 2023, 01:05 PM

30 posts

rugi tak beli??
susuki is 10years late in releasing inline twin...

Patent
post Dec 29 2023, 02:51 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 29 2023, 01:05 PM)
rugi tak beli??
susuki is 10years late in releasing inline twin...

not rugi i think.. japan reliability cant go wrong.
suzuki slowly making comeback also good for the market
basilisk
post Dec 29 2023, 03:24 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 29 2023, 02:51 PM)
not rugi i think.. japan reliability cant go wrong.
suzuki slowly making comeback also good for the market
wht i meant is , wit current offer, if dont buy is rugi lor..
Nightstalker1993
post Dec 29 2023, 03:36 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 29 2023, 03:24 PM)
wht i meant is , wit current offer, if dont buy is rugi lor..
Apparently the 10k rebate is not initiated by Suzuki Malaysia but by individual dealers. I wonder if gene advance is just offloading stocks and ending distributorship? 10k discount is huge per bike.
basilisk
post Dec 29 2023, 03:54 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 29 2023, 03:36 PM)
Apparently the 10k rebate is not initiated by Suzuki Malaysia but by individual dealers. I wonder if gene advance is just offloading stocks and ending distributorship? 10k discount is huge per bike.
eang chun, welly, others oso got same offer wor
NAQD
post Dec 29 2023, 04:30 PM

78 posts

as usual sv650 not in the list
Patent
post Dec 29 2023, 04:40 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 29 2023, 03:36 PM)
that would be weird because all suzuki distributor seems to be doing the rebate promotion. hmm.gif
eang chun, welly, wilhin, tm motoworld, etc
Nightstalker1993
post Dec 29 2023, 08:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 29 2023, 03:54 PM)
eang chun, welly, others oso got same offer wor
QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 29 2023, 04:40 PM)
that would be weird because all suzuki distributor seems to be doing the rebate promotion.  hmm.gif
eang chun, welly, wilhin, tm motoworld, etc
Oh really ar? I saw some was give 5k voucher. Probably smaller dealers kot. But damn 40k for the gsx-8s is a bloody good deal. If they can maintain that price it would be a killer sale
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 30 2023, 01:42 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 29 2023, 11:39 AM)
Just noticed that suzuki rekemen oil change interval is

6k km oni...

checked gsx8s, sv650, gsr750, and this katana oso....
other model hayabusa etc blom check...

yama kawa is like 10k , 12k....

I don't trust 12000km oil change intervals even if that's what the manufacturer recommends, coz I can't imagine even synthetic oil going that long without having the oil level drop after the first 5000-6000km due to evaporative losses and normal oil consumption.

My manufacturer says my 3.2 litres of oil have to hold up for 10000km. In our hot climate? Hell no. The dealership says have to keep an eye on the oil level and top up when it drops. I decided not to bother and change the oil every 5000km anyway (keeping the filter), which is a simple enough job that can be done at any reputable workshop.

Major service intervals, now that's something else altogether. In my experience, valve clearance jobs may require a set of gaskets, seals and o-rings to be replaced, regardless of whether or not you need new shims. Pricey little buggers, these. Whether or not their costs are factored in up front by the dealer, that's the question to ask.

minizian
post Dec 30 2023, 03:09 PM

1,074 posts

Wonder if anyone saw or ridden Gixxer 250 Naked Bike?

I really keen in it vs Dominar 400 since it is light bike for fun ride.

Rarely seen on on the road except GSX 150 once.

And checked before no discount for Gixxer 250 too, not sure if still the same or not?

QUOTE(NAQD @ Dec 29 2023, 04:30 PM)
as usual sv650 not in the list
Just wonder why not? I really like the bike for what it is being as basic B full bike blush.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Dec 30 2023, 03:10 PM
Patent
post Dec 30 2023, 03:14 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Dec 30 2023, 03:09 PM)

And checked before no discount for Gixxer 250 too, not sure if still the same or not?
Just wonder why not? I really like the bike for what it is being as basic B full bike blush.gif
sv650 current price already discounted.. getting discontinued also so no new production coming in
minizian
post Dec 30 2023, 03:30 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 30 2023, 03:14 PM)
sv650 current price already discounted.. getting discontinued also so no new production coming in
I see, so its like now is the time to get it before its gone for good (from malaysia market)?

This post has been edited by minizian: Dec 30 2023, 03:36 PM
Patent
post Dec 30 2023, 03:36 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Dec 30 2023, 03:30 PM)
I see, so its like now is the time to get it before its gone for good (for malaysia market)?
arguably yes.. and its gone for good in the whole world since suzuki is stopping the production to give way for their new parallel twin platform

basilisk
post Dec 30 2023, 03:56 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Dec 30 2023, 03:09 PM)

for the same price, almost u get alot more in gsx8s... jz hv to imagine it looks like sv..
when u r riding u cant see the bike most of the time.. lol..
basilisk
post Dec 30 2023, 04:04 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 30 2023, 03:14 PM)
no news of discontinuation yet so far..
susuki msia stop bring in.. itu lain cerita...

Patent
post Dec 30 2023, 04:23 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 30 2023, 04:04 PM)
no news of discontinuation yet so far..
susuki msia stop bring in.. itu lain cerita...

good for them, imo the sv650 look is timeless
minizian
post Dec 31 2023, 07:00 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 30 2023, 03:56 PM)
for the same price, almost u get alot more in gsx8s...  jz hv to imagine it looks like sv..
when u r riding u cant see the bike most of the time..  lol..
yes surely it is better spec but somewhat I am attracted the SV650 being very kosong with only bare essential (ABS/low rpm assists) without any fancy electronics.

For some reason sat ontop on gsx8s and my feet cant really touch the shifter lever due to my feet being out-toeing.

Also the bike was wider too due to twin parallel design

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 30 2023, 04:23 PM)
good for them, imo the sv650 look is timeless
Yes, looked old skool for sure which make me like it.
Again usually what its hot and desirable for the rest of the world its not applicable here in malaysia doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Jan 1 2024, 10:05 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 30 2023, 01:42 AM)
I don't trust 12000km oil change intervals even if that's what the manufacturer recommends, coz I can't imagine even synthetic oil going that long without having the oil level drop after the first 5000-6000km due to evaporative losses and normal oil consumption.

My manufacturer says my 3.2 litres of oil have to hold up for 10000km. In our hot climate? Hell no. The dealership says have to keep an eye on the oil level and top up when it drops. I decided not to bother and change the oil every 5000km anyway (keeping the filter), which is a simple enough job that can be done at any reputable workshop.

Major service intervals, now that's something else altogether. In my experience, valve clearance jobs may require a set of gaskets, seals and o-rings to be replaced, regardless of whether or not you need new shims. Pricey little buggers, these. Whether or not their costs are factored in up front by the dealer, that's the question to ask.
In my manual there's another section that gives the service interval for European climate and it lists the service interval at 10k km or 1 year. I think most people would be hitting the 1 year limit before 10k km anyway.

QUOTE(minizian @ Dec 31 2023, 07:00 PM)
yes surely it is better spec but somewhat I am attracted the SV650 being very kosong with only bare essential (ABS/low rpm assists) without any fancy electronics.

For some reason sat ontop on gsx8s and my feet cant really touch the shifter lever due to my feet being out-toeing.

Also the bike was wider too due to twin parallel design
Yes, looked old skool for sure which make me like it.
Again usually what its hot and desirable for the rest of the world its not applicable here in malaysia  doh.gif
Faster buy the sv650 then. I still see some places listing it. But the gsx-8s at 40k is a serious steal of a bike considering everything you're getting. The sv650 is probably gonna outlive the 8s in the really really long run though laugh.gif

Biggest fears with these new bikes nowadays is how long can that TFT meter last in our climate especially. Changing that out is gonna be a super expensive affair.
minizian
post Jan 1 2024, 06:31 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jan 1 2024, 10:05 AM)
In my manual there's another section that gives the service interval for European climate and it lists the service interval at 10k km or 1 year. I think most people would be hitting the 1 year limit before 10k km anyway.
Faster buy the sv650 then. I still see some places listing it. But the gsx-8s at 40k is a serious steal of a bike considering everything you're getting. The sv650 is probably gonna outlive the 8s in the really really long run though laugh.gif

Biggest fears with these new bikes nowadays is how long can that TFT meter last in our climate especially. Changing that out is gonna be a super expensive affair.
Yes the price is defo tempting, the shop i went to just totally bypass sv650 and ask me to look at this instead (at the time no discount/rebate yet so I suspect he want higher commision lol)

I think the same applies to car that are packed with electronic gizmos too that would start to go down and would be damn expesnive to replace, not to mention is new product so long term durability is still unknown yet.

Had some older car which is now worthless to sell off but still able to go about anywhere.

That why my current car also quite kosong in tech but came with unkillable ESC (unless plug out the fuse manually) which make life sucks on track day cry.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Jan 1 2024, 06:57 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Jan 1 2024, 09:00 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jan 1 2024, 06:31 PM)
Yes the price is defo tempting, the shop i went to just totally bypass sv650 and ask me to look at this instead (at the time no discount/rebate yet so I suspect he want higher commision lol)

I think the same applies to car that are packed with electronic gizmos too that would start to go down and would be damn expesnive to replace, not to mention is new product so long term durability is still unknown yet.

Had some older car which is now worthless to sell off but still able to go about anywhere.

That why my current car also quite kosong in tech but came with unkillable ESC (unless plug out the fuse manually) which make life sucks on track day cry.gif
Now with the discount, just get it. Though now new year liao dunno still valid anot that price.

At least car somewhat protected, bike for the tft display it's exposed to the direct sunlight when parked in the open.
basilisk
post Jan 2 2024, 01:49 PM

30 posts

i would save up to ~20k and buy the sv used in cash
tht's more worth it in my opinion.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 2 2024, 01:50 PM
lowpro
post Jan 2 2024, 05:23 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 2 2024, 01:49 PM)
i would save up to ~20k and buy the sv used in cash
tht's more worth it in my opinion.
I sold mine in the mid 20's. Good buy for the buyer.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Jan 2 2024, 05:24 PM
basilisk
post Jan 2 2024, 06:01 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jan 2 2024, 05:23 PM)
I sold mine in the mid 20's. Good buy for the buyer.
finally ar? good la.
new owner sure heppy la, rare stuff man.
susuki no doubt bout reliability n age very good.
even the now gsx8s i heard to clear the check light still can use jumper wire method.. lol
no nid go pay pipu to clear...

used sv is rare, so hv to patiently wait...

minizian
post Jan 5 2024, 09:30 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 2 2024, 06:01 PM)
finally ar? good la.
new owner sure heppy la, rare stuff man.
susuki no doubt bout reliability n age very good.
even the now gsx8s i heard to clear the check light still can use jumper wire method.. lol
no nid go pay pipu to clear...

used sv is rare, so hv to patiently wait...
I remember saw one used but the price is quite close to a new one. That even just base price not yet include insurance and what not shakehead.gif

Anyway, hnngh

Nightstalker1993
post Jan 7 2024, 12:33 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jan 5 2024, 09:30 AM)
I remember saw one used but the price is quite close to a new one. That even just base price not yet include insurance and what not shakehead.gif
Anyway, hnngh

Buy la tunggu apa lagi. But 10k rebate still on or not now masuk 2024 already 😂
basilisk
post Jan 8 2024, 02:39 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Jan 19 2024, 10:11 PM

30 posts

paskal
post Jan 22 2024, 11:35 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 19 2024, 10:11 PM)
they even let the bikes loose on the dirt and muddy track.

feel like attending the event next month. wanna try ducati desertx in the dirt hngnghhh
jaycee1
post Jan 22 2024, 12:11 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jan 7 2024, 12:33 AM)
Buy la tunggu apa lagi. But 10k rebate still on or not now masuk 2024 already 😂
10k rebate until end of this month.
paskal
post Jan 27 2024, 06:22 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 22 2024, 12:11 PM)
10k rebate until end of this month.

fulamak 12k voucher for the 800de.
can turn to DP? can contra with bike price?

RM48k for 800de? laugh.gif
jaycee1
post Jan 28 2024, 07:56 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 27 2024, 06:22 PM)

fulamak 12k voucher for the 800de.
can turn to DP? can contra with bike price?

RM48k for 800de?  laugh.gif
Apparently so, thats what Adrian@ Premium sportcycle said. Just use the rebate as DP when I went back to look at the 8S. Although Excell bikers might be different.

The current 3k rebate GScycle is giving for other cfmoto bikes also can be directly applied to DP
SupermanLick
post Jan 28 2024, 08:50 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

😆 hand clutch motorbike are scrap
Vincent6596
post Jan 28 2024, 07:06 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 28 2024, 08:50 AM)
😆 hand clutch motorbike are scrap
how to say like that ?
is because you don't like clutch motorbike ? hmm.gif hmm.gif
basilisk
post Feb 8 2024, 11:10 AM

30 posts

basilisk
post Feb 16 2024, 10:30 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post Feb 18 2024, 09:38 AM

30 posts

https://www.topspeed.com/2024-suzuki-gsx-8r-recalled/

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 18 2024, 09:38 AM
Patent
post Feb 20 2024, 03:15 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Demo bike for sale... very cheap

basilisk
post Feb 20 2024, 03:49 PM

30 posts

clear stok??

basilisk
post Feb 22 2024, 02:53 PM

30 posts

https://ridermagazine.com/2024/02/21/rider-...-suzuki-gsx-8s/

basilisk
post Mar 11 2024, 11:48 AM

30 posts

lsm1991
post Mar 12 2024, 01:35 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 11 2024, 11:48 AM)
just wondering.. for these suzuki test rides, is it a requirement to come kitted up, gloves shoes and whatnot?
Patent
post Mar 12 2024, 02:13 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 12 2024, 01:35 PM)
just wondering.. for these suzuki test rides, is it a requirement to come kitted up, gloves shoes and whatnot?
From my experience, it is required to come with helmet and proper shoes. and of course your B full license
I tested without glove while some others bikers tested without jacket back then at pj premium sportcycle and welly batu cave test ride
lowpro
post Mar 12 2024, 02:42 PM

180 posts

Wondering if the 8R will make it here...so tired of naked bikes
basilisk
post Mar 16 2024, 10:39 AM

30 posts

trainin notice for dealers...

new models kambing soon...

basilisk
post Mar 23 2024, 01:18 PM

30 posts

mari mari!!
rebate datang lagi!!

mADmAN
post Apr 23 2024, 11:54 AM

10,530 posts

anyone?
basilisk
post Apr 23 2024, 01:21 PM

30 posts

basilisk
post May 21 2024, 11:43 AM

30 posts

Patent
post May 21 2024, 04:57 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Model announced:
GSX 8R - RM 53 900
GSX 1000GX - RM 89 900
Vstrom 800RE - RM 54 900

For CBU japan bikes, must say the pricing is quite aggressive.

This post has been edited by Patent: May 21 2024, 05:29 PM
basilisk
post May 21 2024, 05:00 PM

30 posts

Wait for 10k rebate
basilisk
post May 22 2024, 11:40 AM

30 posts

Pipu are angry y susuki msia still not able to market the vstrom250...

TSZZR-Pilot
post May 26 2024, 01:47 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ May 21 2024, 05:57 PM)

Vstrom 800RE - RM 54 900

Bloody hell I would have bought this in a heartbeat... if it had arrived 2.5 years ago.

Saw all kinds of mid-capacity ADV bikes at the show on Wed. Really spoilt for choice now.

The Chinese offerings looked very convincing, the only problem is Mforce tapao all.
lowpro
post May 27 2024, 07:46 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ May 21 2024, 04:57 PM)
Model announced:
GSX 8R - RM 53 900
GSX 1000GX - RM 89 900
Vstrom 800RE - RM 54 900

What do you guys think of the price? Reasonable? Gotta note that Honda's Hornet price is super close to the 8R and 8S, and there's a whole bunch of upcoming China bikes soon to challenge the Japanese dominance.
Patent
post May 27 2024, 10:50 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ May 27 2024, 07:46 AM)
What do you guys think of the price? Reasonable? Gotta note that Honda's Hornet price is super close to the 8R and 8S, and there's a whole bunch of upcoming China bikes soon to challenge the Japanese dominance.
I think they are priced reasonable fro cbu japan bikes.
Although the 8R might get the same treatment like the 8S if it doesn't sell well... so wait for possible rebate? laugh.gif

Their closest japan competitor here is kawasaki, but they don't have the same segment for the 800cc platform.
jaycee1
post May 27 2024, 11:19 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ May 27 2024, 10:50 AM)
Although the 8R might get the same treatment like the 8S if it doesn't sell well... so wait for possible rebate? laugh.gif

Their closest japan competitor here is kawasaki, but they don't have the same segment for the 800cc platform.
Kawazaki just does one better giving you 948cc displacement for the same price.

Just too bad they don't have a full fairing sports tourer...next step up is the 1000sx and another planet's price point.
lowpro
post May 27 2024, 11:28 AM

180 posts

Those bikes even though with 800cc (82hp) are still twins. Lack the power (it has more torque though) and sound of triples or 4-cylinder bikes. That makes them seem a little less substantial to the buying public. Perhaps those into lightweight twin cylinder bikes may go for them but for the money, a Z900 still has more grunt and sounds way nicer, while being more affordable (to me, for bikes, I don't see much difference between CBU and CKD). Even Triumph's Trident 660 (80hp) and Daytona 660 (95hp) offer more for the asking price than the 8R and 8S. So, like you mentioned, just wait for them to rebate biggrin.gif
lowpro
post May 27 2024, 11:29 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 27 2024, 11:19 AM)

Just too bad they don't have a full fairing sports tourer...next step up is the 1000sx and another planet's price point.
Ya. I totally agree! The lack of a full fairing Z900 is a huge wasted opportunity now that fully faired bikes are slowly making a comeback.
basilisk
post May 27 2024, 11:36 AM

30 posts

Susuki should be cbu jap, but tht honda should be frm thailand, angmoh said go compare the built quality (hornet)
Patent
post May 27 2024, 11:42 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 27 2024, 11:19 AM)

z900 just need a little bit of upgrade to be perfect.. ride by wire, quickshiter + autoblipper, and cruise control.
basilisk
post May 28 2024, 10:53 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 27 2024, 11:36 AM)
Susuki should be cbu jap, but tht honda should be frm thailand, angmoh said go compare the built quality (hornet)
Fast bike fb said hornet cbu japan...
Dono true or not la haha...

Some komen bout 8s handling...

[A]aronLJW
post May 29 2024, 09:35 AM

60 posts

8R main competitor should be the CBR650R and Daytona 660.. 8R price quite higher than both the others, I think we're gonna get another round of rebate incombing, sus is their marketing strats all along, to filter the actually buyer.
basilisk
post Aug 5 2024, 07:57 PM

30 posts

This post has been edited by basilisk: Aug 6 2024, 02:19 PM
basilisk
post Aug 22 2024, 02:32 PM

30 posts

JustForFun
post Nov 4 2025, 08:58 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

This looks so sick.

New touring version of the SV650 announced today.
paskal
post Nov 5 2025, 08:25 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Nov 4 2025, 08:58 PM)

This looks so sick.

New touring version of the SV650 announced today.

yeah mang.
i'm so excited hhhnnnnngggghhhhh
finally the legendary vtwin reliability in a modern, exciting design.

if yamaha release the tracer 7 here, i doubt it'll be priced as competitively as what AMI is doing with suzuki.
tracer 7 is going to be yamahal, not even surprised if tracer7 is RM69k

This post has been edited by paskal: Nov 5 2025, 08:26 AM
Patent
post Nov 5 2025, 04:32 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Its great that they are updating the look and use new tech but still no cruise control for a touring bike? What are they thinking doh.gif
paskal
post Nov 5 2025, 07:08 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 5 2025, 04:32 PM)
Its great that they are updating the look and use new tech but still no cruise control for a touring bike? What are they thinking  doh.gif
Probably to keep cost down.
Its still using the same nissin calipers, telescopic fork, rear swing arm.

But since its now ride by wire, aftermarket cruise control can easily be added for about rm1k-ish
mADmAN
post Nov 6 2025, 12:41 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 5 2025, 04:32 PM)
Its great that they are updating the look and use new tech but still no cruise control for a touring bike? What are they thinking  doh.gif
y u lompat so far ahead with cruise control?

center stand oso they dont give!! HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA
alexei
post Nov 6 2025, 04:22 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

is this like Vstrom?
Patent
post Nov 6 2025, 06:55 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 6 2025, 04:22 PM)
is this like Vstrom?
yeah similar but 17 inch wheels on front and rear while vstrom 650 has 19 front.

alexei
post Nov 6 2025, 07:52 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 6 2025, 06:55 PM)
yeah similar but 17 inch wheels on front and rear while vstrom 650 has 19 front.
I see... less off-road more ADV touring
kinda like old CB500X with the telescopic forks, but dual disk brakes
JustForFun
post Nov 6 2025, 10:11 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

This and the S1000GX look so much like the Yamaha MT series design, gotta wonder if Yamaha designer moved to Suzuki
alexei
post Nov 7 2025, 09:45 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

I guess they are just catching up on the looks department
their powertrain and transmission are faultless
jaycee1
post Nov 10 2025, 02:29 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 6 2025, 07:52 PM)
I see... less off-road more ADV touring
kinda like old CB500X with the telescopic forks, but dual disk brakes
the current NX500 (and the outgoing cb500x) already got inverted forks and dual front brakes already. This is closer to the Tiger sport 660 though, with 17s. The CB/NX has 19s

I like that they are making sport tourers again. Not everyone wants a tall and overweight ADV. I had thought they are binning the vtwin.

I wonder how they would price this under the Vstrom 800RE. The new bike could be a winner if priced under 45k ....and below the 800RE's 55k. Remember the old vstrom 650 was sold under 40k, not too long ago....the new bike would undoubtedly more expensive than the outgoing vstrom 650.

The chinese are throwing everything in. The clone QJ650SVT is being sold discounted to around 33k new....with brembos and luggage thrown in.

Not going to consider a "touring" bike without cruise control. And with this being ride by wire, weird they left it out. Honda is another idiot of not even including CC on the 750s and even the 1000 hornet. Maybe the new, just announced 1000GT perhaps?

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 10 2025, 02:31 PM
JustForFun
post Nov 10 2025, 06:35 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 10 2025, 02:29 PM)
the current NX500 (and the outgoing cb500x) already got inverted forks and dual front brakes already. This is closer to the Tiger sport 660 though, with 17s. The CB/NX has 19s

I like that they are making sport tourers again. Not everyone wants a tall and overweight ADV. I had thought they are binning the vtwin.

I wonder how they would price this under the Vstrom 800RE. The new bike could be a winner if priced under 45k ....and below the 800RE's 55k. Remember the old vstrom 650 was sold under 40k, not too long ago....the new bike would undoubtedly more expensive than the outgoing vstrom 650.

The chinese are throwing everything in. The clone QJ650SVT is being sold discounted to around 33k new....with brembos and luggage thrown in.
Not going to consider a "touring" bike without cruise control. And with this being ride by wire, weird they left it out. Honda is another idiot of not even including CC on the 750s and even the 1000 hornet. Maybe the new, just announced  1000GT perhaps?
Given that the SV650 is being sold at 30K, paying 10K more for the fairing and an upgraded meter seems a tough sell to pragmatic buyers like myself, even though they will price this above 40K for sure...

I don't think cruise control matters that much for this bike, though. This seems more targeted to those who wants only one bike, rides mostly for city commute and only do touring only occasionally. They focused on this bike being 'slim' and having a low ride height during EICMA.
jaycee1
post Nov 11 2025, 10:21 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Nov 10 2025, 06:35 PM)
Given that the SV650 is being sold at 30K, paying 10K more for the fairing and an upgraded meter seems a tough sell to pragmatic buyers like myself, even though they will price this above 40K for sure...

I don't think cruise control matters that much for this bike, though. This seems more targeted to those who wants only one bike, rides mostly for city commute and only do touring only occasionally. They focused on this bike being 'slim' and having a low ride height during EICMA.
The SV WAS not 30k. Haha. Only the limited run final editions were. Those who bought it at that price scored a good bike.

The SV was selling at 37 to 38k when it was first reintroduced a few years back.

As for cruise control, once you have it, you'd never go back without if you do any distance work, even occasionally.

0.4500sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:59 AM