paskal
post Apr 20 2023, 01:20 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 15 2023, 08:53 AM)
Test ride event last weekend

i went to this test ride event since it's quite close.

rode a few bikes.

spent the most time with the vstrom.
didn't follow the pre-planned route. i took it to some bad roads and gravel agriculture roads around the area.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 15 2023, 08:25 PM)
Hopefully they will stuff the new twin into more bikes. Just like honda.

I'm lost for bikes now....can't seem to find a suitable light/middle weight adventure/sports tourer to replace my dominar.

Born with short legs, almost all the current ADVs are too tall.

The 790 ADV fits perfect and a great bike on and off road but too expensive...almost 80k.
The 800DE and Transalp likely too tall. The Vstrom and versys 650 tall and heavy. Almost all Chinese ADVs are too heavy to be taken off road with short legs. Tracer 7 takde masuk. 500x, good luck with BSH, same for the underpowered CRF250 rally. KTM shelved plans for the 490...so no 490 Adventure. Tiger 900 with low seat is ok, but price problem like the KTM. Himalayan? Too underpowered, maybe wait for the new 450 version.

That leaves the Tiger sport? The Morini is quite decent if it was lower by an inch.
Still hoping if I can turn the 8s into a sport touring bike. Have to see how to mount luggage on the back.  Or fingers crossed for Suzuki to do a 800cc version of the GSXs1000 sport touring bike.
if you want something for long distance touring, will do 2up with panniers, can do some mild offroad, more power and upgrade from your dominar,

do test ride the vstrom 650. it's not as tall or heavy as 800cc+ midweight
not much power tho. might feel the same as your dominar.

bmw f800gs, bmw f750gs, bmw f850gs. f800gs with the rear tank doesn't feel as heavy as f850gs. f700gs/f650gs is even shorter and lighter.
crf 250 don't make much power and not nice on the highway. topspeed 110-120, lack of power to overtake.

the himalayan and scram 411 don't make a lot of power. heavy clutch. 5 speed gearbox. might feel a downgrade from your dom

i feel the 790 adv is too expensive for the asking price.
no cruise control. non adjustable suspension.
some features like adjustable traction control, slip control you need to get the rally pack or tech pack.
tiger 900 has more features vs 790adv at the same price.

but going past 800cc the accessories and parts price is really on another planet.
you drop the bike offroad and hit a rut or a rock RIP wallet puke.gif
paskal
post Apr 20 2023, 07:07 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 20 2023, 03:15 PM)
paskaljaycee1
I thought V-strom 650 likes to be revved? Somehow I see it's tuned for higher RPM.
Never did ride one but few guys around me have it. Don't get me wrong, it's good enough to chug along slowly as well.
i feel that there's not much torque from the engine. maybe like you said it's tuned for higher rpm.
kindda hard to powerslide (even on gravel) just from engine power alone. even after turning off traction control.

with that engine i feel that you don't even need traction control haha biggrin.gif
it feels like cb500x, good enough but not much fun factor. feels quite boring to be honest.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 20 2023, 05:29 PM)
Actually the Vstrom 650 powerplant is perfectly fine for it's intented purpose. Very flexible engine. I don't see anyone complaining though....maybe only those used to litre bike powerplants or those newer parallel twins from KTM like the 790 and 890.
ktm tuning is really fun.
feels like it's trying to kill you if you mess too much with it.

same with triumph. feels fun and lively. boatload of torque in the lower rpm.
sport mode, and if the road wet, you'll powerslide on the white lane marking just by twisting the throttle.
then traction control kicks in and you'll recover.

fun as hell. biggrin.gif
paskal
post Jun 19 2023, 09:58 AM

2,801 posts

similar price as upcoming transalp? heard transalp would also be priced around 60k
youtube reviews are saying the 800de feels lighter than a t7 tho it's 30kg heavier
paskal
post Aug 16 2023, 11:38 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Aug 16 2023, 05:10 PM)
just asking, is Vtrsom 650 better than latest Versys 650?
you're gonna have to go for a test ride. both bike feels different and handle differently.

the new modenas versys 650 have more gadget than the vstrom.
and currently it's cheaper than the vstrom that is now selling for RM42k-44k new

but after testing both i think i prefer the vstrom as it feels lighter, easier to maneuver and felt narrower.
on the highway the versys might be better since the light handlebar is prone to wobble and quite a number of people are reporting this issue on the vstrom.
also people are reporting high speed wobble issue when the vstrom have panniers installed.

so which bike is better is purely based on your usage.
paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 07:22 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Aug 16 2023, 11:59 PM)
thanks.. i will test Verys this Saturday at section 15 shah alam.. do u know where can I test VStrom.?

i read that Vstrom has the low RPM assist
Yes the vstrom has the low rpm assist.
But a lot of bikes also have the low rpm assist but didn't advert them. My tiger for instance have an even better low rpm assist system that makes it even easier to ride at low speed, but never advertise it.

Suzuki frequently do road test event. Maybe you can follow Suzuki Malaysia FB
paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 03:09 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 10:30 AM)
I'm not really a fan of suzuki low RPM assist, kinda neat at first but later become annoying

If you are at gear 1 and let go of the throttle bike will become jumpy because the rpm trying to go up and down..
even my old z250 was smoother
on triumph low speed assist you could even press the brake (front or rear brake) to slow it even more and it doesn't stall.
very easy to ride slowly on gravel since you could put it in 1 2 3 gear and just let it creep slowly.

i feel that the bike is easier to creep very slowly than my kapcai. a godsend feature
paskal
post Aug 17 2023, 07:11 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 17 2023, 04:09 PM)
No stalling at all?
That's impressive
Unless you forcefully pull the brakes to stop the bike, then it'll stall.
While creeping if you pull the brakes you can hear the bike purposely revving the engine to avoid stalling.
paskal
post Aug 30 2023, 08:32 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 29 2023, 10:25 AM)
250 macam macam ada...
Haiya that old gen vstrom 250 really kenot la.
Hopefully they'll release the new gen and not this new retro modern classic adv haiya
paskal
post Dec 25 2023, 07:55 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 23 2023, 08:23 AM)
If somehow Suzuki ends up down pricing the 8S, I'm hoping they bring down the upcoming 800RE as well.
Good wakeup call for Suzuki to mind the pricing.
The brand name and CBU status is not enough to entice customers.

Just like Yamaha. Haven't seen 1 tenere on the road yet.
paskal
post Jan 22 2024, 11:35 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 19 2024, 10:11 PM)
they even let the bikes loose on the dirt and muddy track.

feel like attending the event next month. wanna try ducati desertx in the dirt hngnghhh
paskal
post Jan 27 2024, 06:22 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 22 2024, 12:11 PM)
10k rebate until end of this month.

fulamak 12k voucher for the 800de.
can turn to DP? can contra with bike price?

RM48k for 800de? laugh.gif
paskal
post Nov 5 2025, 08:25 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Nov 4 2025, 08:58 PM)

This looks so sick.

New touring version of the SV650 announced today.

yeah mang.
i'm so excited hhhnnnnngggghhhhh
finally the legendary vtwin reliability in a modern, exciting design.

if yamaha release the tracer 7 here, i doubt it'll be priced as competitively as what AMI is doing with suzuki.
tracer 7 is going to be yamahal, not even surprised if tracer7 is RM69k

This post has been edited by paskal: Nov 5 2025, 08:26 AM
paskal
post Nov 5 2025, 07:08 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 5 2025, 04:32 PM)
Its great that they are updating the look and use new tech but still no cruise control for a touring bike? What are they thinking  doh.gif
Probably to keep cost down.
Its still using the same nissin calipers, telescopic fork, rear swing arm.

But since its now ride by wire, aftermarket cruise control can easily be added for about rm1k-ish

0.0332sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:15 PM