39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

coolguy_0925
post Aug 29 2020, 11:30 PM

3,686 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Aug 29 2020, 11:08 PM)
My Nokia 2G phone still can use  laugh.gif
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 29 2020, 11:22 PM)
And many those kampung folk too...
Still going strong with dumb 2G phone 💪🎉
Wonder is this the reason why they are retaining 2G?
nexona88
post Aug 29 2020, 11:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
41,828 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 29 2020, 11:30 PM)
Possibilities is there..

And u don't play2 with them...
If angry with government policy.. really GG because the power they all have in the position of many parliament seats... They decided.. not the super big urban areas...

U think why there's also no end life policy for old cars???
Same like 2G lorh... Many still using them.... U touch them. GG for u & your government...
TSJLA
post Aug 30 2020, 12:24 AM

2,299 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 29 2020, 11:30 PM)
IoT(Internet of Things) , M2M(Machine to Machine), Telemetry, SMS, cellular widest coverage at remote place. 2G phone

3G tower will be upgrade to 4G. 3G spectrum refarming to 4G
Hummingbird
post Aug 30 2020, 01:25 AM

977 posts

I choose not to believe it until it has happened. Based on the current political scene, for whatever announced policy it’s better to just keep in view...
TSJLA
post Aug 30 2020, 09:00 AM

2,299 posts

Telkomsel Pilih Suntik Mati 3G Daripada 2G
masih ada 47 persen pengguna Telkomsel yang menggunakan ponsel 'jadul' (zaman dulu).

Indosat Belum Mau Matikan Jaringan 2G
masih banyak pelanggan-pelanggan yang pakai handset jadul [jaman dahulu]. Jadi yang 2G itu masih di atas 20 persen,"

Direktur Teknologi XL Axiata Yessie D Yosetya mengatakan pihaknya bakal mematikan jaringan 2G karena pengguna tinggal 10 persen dari total pengguna.

Elisa Plans To Shut Down Finnish 3G Network In 2023
After 2023, customers who have a telephone that supports 3G will automatically be transferred to the 2G network, which will continue as before.

jibpek
post Aug 30 2020, 09:07 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 29 2020, 06:27 PM)
For those who think 4G is faster than 3g,
in real life situations, sometimes 3G is faster than 4G in urban, congested area. Not kampung areas.
Putting into this scenario, if they force migrate the current 3G owners over to 4G, this will seriously further congest the already congested 4G network. Already some telco admit some of their BTS stations are not fiberised.

This is very true.
Sometimes I find myself switching to 3G at night only to find its noticeably faster.

Second - I switch to 3G again because I want to save battery power. I don't need 4G horsepower when I'm idling or just Whatsapp-ing. Weaker 4G signals does sap battery power even idling.

Third - 3G signal is stronger in some cases. I've experience places whereby 4G is impossible to get, only 1 bar or nearly dead, but 3G is alive in that particular area.
The engineers seriously need to seriously retune their present 4g coverage. But sometimes complaining to Customer Service about poor coverage is like talking to the wall.

And another issue - VOLTE.
How many telcos currently are supporting VOLTE. Hardly.
You do know that when you make a call on 4G, it will switch to 3G . And if 3G were to be switched off, then how is the Non-VOLTE (regardless phone support or not) gonna work?

These are my personal views.
4G is much faster than 3G.

But malaysia 2" telco never implement the full spectrum of 4G.

So we are only 2" 4 G
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 30 2020, 09:40 AM

I'm me bro, let me be me
2,390 posts

QUOTE(jack2001 @ Aug 29 2020, 07:38 PM)
Actually alot of the time 4G is congested because there isnt enough bandwidth to support everyone, hence why they want to kill of 3G to allow for more 4G bandwidth. 4G is alot more efficient at spectrum utilization than 3G.

Likely I think the gov will miss the 2021 target, but i'm interested to see whats the plan going foward.
Did a speedtest early this Sunday morning at a Maxis tower I'm very familiar and its frequently connected to.
Running on Maxis got around 46.6Mbps.

And this is celcom, when its quite near the tower.

When i'm back in my home, I got half (around 26Mbps), which is fine. But sometimes can get below 10Mbps even.
What tells me , if this is the max bandwidth for maxis in my area is around 46Mbps, imagine when its during the weekday .

46.6Mbps / 3Mbps per user (assuming one uses their Unlimited plan) = 15.5 users per sector.

Whether its a spectrum issue or due to back-haul issue, is another question.

nexona88
post Aug 30 2020, 10:01 AM

The Royal Club Member
41,828 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Aug 30 2020, 01:25 AM)
I choose not to believe it until it has happened. Based on the current political scene, for whatever announced policy it’s better to just keep in view...
Haha...
Understand...
They keep going U Turn on various policy & plans..
No firm on any decisions... Got backlash from the people, enough to make them cancel 😂
Mirror Master
post Aug 30 2020, 10:06 AM

Postal worker needs more business. Sending snail mail to communicate when there is no 3G and 4G
jack2001
post Aug 30 2020, 11:28 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 30 2020, 09:40 AM)
Did a speedtest early this Sunday morning at a Maxis tower I'm very familiar and its frequently connected to.
Running on Maxis got around 46.6Mbps.

And this is celcom, when its quite near the tower.

When i'm back in my home, I got half (around 26Mbps), which is fine. But sometimes can get below 10Mbps even.
What tells me , if this is the max bandwidth for maxis in my area is around 46Mbps, imagine when its during the weekday .

46.6Mbps / 3Mbps per user (assuming one uses their Unlimited plan) = 15.5 users per sector.

Whether its a spectrum issue or due to back-haul issue, is another question.
I really doubt Maxis tower's backbone is less than 50mbps, it depends on the Band frequency of 4G youre connected to. I dont have the numbers for Maxis, but Digi's 4G network runs on 4 different bands. Band 1, 3, 7 & 8. Different Bands have different bandwidth. Digi's Band 3& 7 each is 20Mhz(same for Maxis AFAIK). Band 8 is 5Mhz & Band 3 is 10Mhz. Band 8 being only 5Mhz only has a theoretical max throughput of about 35mbps whereas Band 7 & Band 3 each can do 150Mbps each. Band 1(2100) is actually refarmed from 3G because Digi has 15Mhz chunk for 2100Mhz. So some area 10Mhz is for 4G & 5MHz is for 3G. Same for Band 8 which is 5 for 4G + 5 for 2G.

The reason 2G is know for its coverage is due to the use of 900Mhz(Band8 for 4G). Thats why Digi has made efforts to roll out 4G exclusively with B8 in many rural areas. Band 8 is key for good indoor signal penetration, so killing off 2G would allow for that.

Band 1 would be also be helpful to supplement B3 & B7 if those gets congested. Not only that, your phone can do CA(carrier aggregation) with two of the least congested bands for better through put(eg B3+B7 or B3+B1). These are all not possible on 3G. Since most will be connected to 4G, the spectrum allocated to 3G would be wasted, hence why sometimes 3G can be faster because phones default to 4G.

Phasing out 3G is bound to happen eventually, its just that 2021 is too early still(at least for malaysia) Singapore doesnt even have any real plans of shutting down their 3G that soon either.

Most of the time congestion is due to a lack of spectrum, not due to back-bone, but i'm not in this industry so i know nothing. sifu prosibu please enlighten us smile.gif

jack2001
post Aug 30 2020, 11:31 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Aug 30 2020, 12:24 AM)
IoT(Internet of Things) , M2M(Machine to Machine), Telemetry, SMS, cellular widest coverage at remote place. 2G phone

3G tower will be upgrade to 4G. 3G spectrum refarming to 4G
How hard is it to migrate those M2M to 4G? I'd assume it is very tedious and might be impossible for some.
vanillapire
post Aug 30 2020, 11:33 AM

375 posts

Don't think he knows what he was talking
vanillapire
post Aug 30 2020, 11:33 AM

375 posts

Don't think he knows what he was talking when 5G awards were a mess
GOPI56
post Aug 30 2020, 11:56 AM

1,396 posts

Normally those telco towers that have fiber backhaul network have speeds up to 1Gbps. This speed is then gets split to the number of users connected to that telco towers.

In Malaysia, most of the telco towers are still connected with copper backhaul networks which have slow speeds. Only less than 50 percent of towers in Malaysia have fiber backhaul networks. It costs a lot to set up a fiber backhaul network.
JuneResources
post Aug 30 2020, 02:54 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,128 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Aug 29 2020, 08:45 PM)
They talk about 3G shutdown, but no mention of 2G.  So VoLTE availability will not be an issue...yet.
That means 2G still maintain, but only 3G signal shutdown?
tympg
post Aug 30 2020, 03:32 PM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 30 2020, 02:54 PM)
That means 2G still maintain, but only 3G signal shutdown?
Looks to me like that.
poh880
post Aug 30 2020, 04:57 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 29 2020, 08:41 PM)
F*ck la...
The rural area no 4g...now kill it...how...
Most of the place only 3g...
Inside house only 3g...
If they can boost the signal and speed baru chop off the 4g...
Else go f*ck themself...
Gov forced umobile and unifi mobile to go faster, pure 4G + 5G laugh.gif
If not we will stuck with 2G thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by poh880: Aug 30 2020, 04:58 PM
PJng
post Aug 30 2020, 05:19 PM

10,537 posts

Those teeminal e wallet, credit card use 2G or 3G? If 3G GG lo
poh880
post Aug 30 2020, 05:22 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Aug 30 2020, 05:19 PM)
Those teeminal e wallet, credit card use 2G or 3G? If 3G GG lo
sure 3G cool2.gif
KCY3701
post Aug 30 2020, 06:03 PM

On My Way to Level 50
630 posts

5G pun takde lagi, wanna kill off 3G and not 2G. What a joke.

On a more serious note, I would like to see how the implementation of 5G would be in Malaysia, be it Low band (600~700Mhz), Sub-6 or mmWave.

Wawasan 2020 dicapati.

39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0173sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:16 PM