Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

jack2001
post Aug 29 2020, 07:38 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 29 2020, 06:27 PM)
For those who think 4G is faster than 3g,
in real life situations, sometimes 3G is faster than 4G in urban, congested area. Not kampung areas.
Putting into this scenario, if they force migrate the current 3G owners over to 4G, this will seriously further congest the already congested 4G network. Already some telco admit some of their BTS stations are not fiberised.

This is very true.
Sometimes I find myself switching to 3G at night only to find its noticeably faster.

Second - I switch to 3G again because I want to save battery power. I don't need 4G horsepower when I'm idling or just Whatsapp-ing. Weaker 4G signals does sap battery power even idling.

Third - 3G signal is stronger in some cases. I've experience places whereby 4G is impossible to get, only 1 bar or nearly dead, but 3G is alive in that particular area.
The engineers seriously need to seriously retune their present 4g coverage. But sometimes complaining to Customer Service about poor coverage is like talking to the wall.

And another issue - VOLTE.
How many telcos currently are supporting VOLTE. Hardly.
You do know that when you make a call on 4G, it will switch to 3G . And if 3G were to be switched off, then how is the Non-VOLTE (regardless phone support or not) gonna work?

These are my personal views.
Actually alot of the time 4G is congested because there isnt enough bandwidth to support everyone, hence why they want to kill of 3G to allow for more 4G bandwidth. 4G is alot more efficient at spectrum utilization than 3G.

Also, 4G & 3G in general consume about the same amount of power given the signal strength is the same. 4G might save u more power cuz your phone can check for new uodates or notification much faster(provided its not congested), so the radio on ur phone can go back to sleep much faster.

As for the VoLTE, I think that will be the greatest hurdle, Maxis doesnt even have support for VoLTE yet, and many 4G capable phone do not support VoLTE(referring to older or more budget ones).

Likely I think the gov will miss the 2021 target, but i'm interested to see whats the plan going foward.
jack2001
post Aug 30 2020, 11:28 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 30 2020, 09:40 AM)
Did a speedtest early this Sunday morning at a Maxis tower I'm very familiar and its frequently connected to.
Running on Maxis got around 46.6Mbps.

And this is celcom, when its quite near the tower.

When i'm back in my home, I got half (around 26Mbps), which is fine. But sometimes can get below 10Mbps even.
What tells me , if this is the max bandwidth for maxis in my area is around 46Mbps, imagine when its during the weekday .

46.6Mbps / 3Mbps per user (assuming one uses their Unlimited plan) = 15.5 users per sector.

Whether its a spectrum issue or due to back-haul issue, is another question.
I really doubt Maxis tower's backbone is less than 50mbps, it depends on the Band frequency of 4G youre connected to. I dont have the numbers for Maxis, but Digi's 4G network runs on 4 different bands. Band 1, 3, 7 & 8. Different Bands have different bandwidth. Digi's Band 3& 7 each is 20Mhz(same for Maxis AFAIK). Band 8 is 5Mhz & Band 3 is 10Mhz. Band 8 being only 5Mhz only has a theoretical max throughput of about 35mbps whereas Band 7 & Band 3 each can do 150Mbps each. Band 1(2100) is actually refarmed from 3G because Digi has 15Mhz chunk for 2100Mhz. So some area 10Mhz is for 4G & 5MHz is for 3G. Same for Band 8 which is 5 for 4G + 5 for 2G.

The reason 2G is know for its coverage is due to the use of 900Mhz(Band8 for 4G). Thats why Digi has made efforts to roll out 4G exclusively with B8 in many rural areas. Band 8 is key for good indoor signal penetration, so killing off 2G would allow for that.

Band 1 would be also be helpful to supplement B3 & B7 if those gets congested. Not only that, your phone can do CA(carrier aggregation) with two of the least congested bands for better through put(eg B3+B7 or B3+B1). These are all not possible on 3G. Since most will be connected to 4G, the spectrum allocated to 3G would be wasted, hence why sometimes 3G can be faster because phones default to 4G.

Phasing out 3G is bound to happen eventually, its just that 2021 is too early still(at least for malaysia) Singapore doesnt even have any real plans of shutting down their 3G that soon either.

Most of the time congestion is due to a lack of spectrum, not due to back-bone, but i'm not in this industry so i know nothing. sifu prosibu please enlighten us smile.gif

jack2001
post Aug 30 2020, 11:31 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Aug 30 2020, 12:24 AM)
IoT(Internet of Things) , M2M(Machine to Machine), Telemetry, SMS, cellular widest coverage at remote place. 2G phone

3G tower will be upgrade to 4G. 3G spectrum refarming to 4G
How hard is it to migrate those M2M to 4G? I'd assume it is very tedious and might be impossible for some.
jack2001
post Sep 9 2020, 08:16 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Sep 9 2020, 07:19 PM)
IMO shutting down 3g in 2021 is just too soon, when 4g doesn't get fixed and they want to shutdown 3g... thats a lack of foresight here.

And 4g/2g can be used in a MSR mode as demonstrated in taiwan (in chinese):
https://chinese.engadget.com/chinese-2017-0...-2g-900mhz.html
In Malaysia we are already doing that, 2G&4G for 900Mhz & 3G&4G for 2100Mhz.
jack2001
post Sep 16 2020, 07:28 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 16 2020, 01:46 PM)
One glaring difference between a 3G and 4G LTE cell tower is that the network coverage or maximum range of 3G or non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS is about 32km while for that of 4G VoLTE voice calls and SMS (plus Internet data) is only 5km(for 800MHz; and only 2km  for 2600MHz). From 32km to 5km is a huge difference in terms of coverage for voice calls = more 4G LTE  cell towers will be needed to replace one 3G cell tower, especially in suburban, small town and rural areas. For those who mostly make voice calls while travelling outstation and visiting remote stores in rural areas, eg salespersons, the transition from 3G to 4G LTE and 5G will be a problem, ie much less 4G LTE/5G network coverage for VoLTE voice calls.
....... Note that the max range of the slower 3G Internet data is similar to 4G LTE/5G Internet data, depending on the frequency used.

What about 2G.? If 2G is retained when 3G is sunset by MCMC in 2022, then no problem with network coverage for 2G or non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS, but only for those legacy Big 3 celcos who still maintain 2G networks.
....... Latecomer small celcos like U Mobile do not have legacy 2G networks = when 3G is sunset, its subscribers will have to make do with 4G VoLTE voice calls and SMS only, which has much less coverage compared to 3G/2G non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS. The last-comers and newest celcos, YES and TM Unifi Mobile, do not even have their own 3G network, ie they only have 4G LTE networks.
You got any source on that? i wanna read up on it
jack2001
post Sep 22 2020, 01:31 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Sep 21 2020, 09:26 AM)
Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) is actively expanding 4G coverage in Kiulu, in Tuaran district, Sabah

the effort is being implemented in six locations in Kiulu, namely, Pukak, Lokub, Mantob, Kitapol, Kampung Sinorut and Kampung Gonipis.

“The expansion exercise will increase 4G high-speed data coverage and voice services, with fibre optic connections to all transmission towers, involving almost 39 kilometres of optical fibre, expected to be completed by the end of 2020,” it said. Previously, Kiulu only had spotty radio coverage supported by 3G services.

For the record, thousands of villagers in the sub-district in Tuaran have appealed to the government to set up a telecommunications tower in the area immediately.

https://www.theborneopost.com/2020/08/19/4g...tive-expansion/
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...u-sabah/1904167
I remember back then when 4G was just starting to get rolled out, Digi did a campaign where people can vote for towns to get 4G coverage. The gov should make it something permanent for all telcos, and award telcos that manages to bring 4G to the place first.
jack2001
post Jan 18 2021, 03:30 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 16 2021, 10:38 PM)
Also worth noting that accessing USSD menus (e.g. *118#, *128#) won't work in full 4G LTE mode.

Whenever you dial any USSD menus, your phone will fallback from 4G to 3G network (or 2G) to access to the USSD menus.
Until you exit the USSD menu, then only it would go back up to 4G.

For those who force 4G LTE mode on their phones, you will realise that USSD menus will not work.
For example, it will shows this message "Connection problem or invalid MMI code" immediately once you "Call" the USSD menus like *118# or *128#.

This could mean that after 3G network is shut down in Malaysia:
You try to access to USSD menu = The phone fallback to 2G = You'll temporary lose 4G mobile data connection until you exit the USSD menu

Could it be the reason why telco like Yes 4G doesn't have USSD menus?  hmm.gif
Unless if they make USSD over LTE network possible, otherwise it could mean that USSD menu may become a thing of the past?
Really doubt they will bother to implement this, too much work for barely any gain(esp financially). Most users won’t notice it...
jack2001
post Mar 3 2021, 10:00 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 3 2021, 12:54 AM)
If you force LTE, you might not be able to make and receive calls anymore, especially if your phone doesn't support VoLTE...?
Of course, that is subjective to many technical factors, from various telco to various phone models...
Depending on your phone model you might struggle, but I was using a S8 and was able to force 4G only for almost a year without any issue. Calls routed through VoLTE and didn't have to deal with 3G at all, very reliable.
jack2001
post Jul 6 2021, 05:40 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 6 2021, 10:23 AM)
Well..
Shut down should be delay?
Thanks to the FMCO imposed now....
But 5G contract already given???
Confused 🤔
I'd be suprised if there arent any delay to the shutdown lol
jack2001
post Jul 19 2021, 10:06 AM

1,304 posts

I also received the same SMS from Digi but I can still switch to 3G just fine so…idk

jack2001
post Jul 19 2021, 02:40 PM

1,304 posts

Well… here’s an update

0.1048sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:03 AM