9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

TV3 News: Laptop Detector Exist and widely avai.

Aoshi_88
post Aug 10 2007, 08:22 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 9 2007, 11:35 PM)
i still dun believe this. as an electronic engineer, i know that it is possible to 'scan' the frequencies. last time college time we did have such a scanner. it costs 50k! the scanner is a spectrum analyser, and is used to 'see' what wave is emitting surrounding us.

anyhow, it wont be able to detect any signal if the laptop is not switched on to emit 2.4ghz. sommore most laptops have hardware switch to turn off power to the wireless card.

the tv3 news page looks written in childish language so i would doubt its authenticity. http://www.tv3.com.my/content-news.asp?id=12228

furthermore, if the laptop really emit a wave, the car boot metal shud be able to shield it.

the statement that it is able to detect lead is even more.....
- laptop batery is NOT made of lead. they think the laptop battery is car battery meh.. car battery is created with lead-acid.

bluetooth, wifi, microwave oven and several more electronic devices all exist in the 2.4ghz domain. and its impossible to distinguish between them using a simple device as rm50

Alat pengesan yang dijual bukan sekadar mampu mengesan sebuah komputer tetapi dengan frekuensi  50 megaherz hingga 6 gigaherz ia mampu membuka kata laluan.
- this is true.. as it scans the frequency, it will open most of the car alarm and open the door. but its not targeted, and shud trigger the whole parking lot's car and making the siren sound.
- NO it does not decrypt ur password.

Pengguna telefon bimbit dengan kemudahan  bluetooth pula perlu berwaspada kerana alat yang digunakan itu membolehkan penggunanya mencuri dengar perbualan.
- ho ho ho..

Saya nasihatkan tindan barang tu dengan satu keping tudung periuk ke taruk dalam periuk ke. Itu standard dengan itu maka gelombang itu akan pecah boleh read tapi tak tau ape jenis barang.
- sounds like april fool... or the fellas father is making periuk as business.
- or its just a social research project to see how widely this hting spread.
- if this can work... all the fighter jet/kapal selam will look like periuk liao...

the 'scanners' are actually inductive loop sensors, and is widely used in the industry to 'detect' metal embedded in plastic/wall etc. you can buy one at ace hardware stores. thus it can detect nails, wires, anything that got metal content.

now the truth is....
the modus operandi works on sharp eyes.
they have people scanning the parking with their eyes.. looking for victims who open their car boot and put something in, then leave for the shopping mall. there must be something valuable there!

so.. my advice,
1. before u reach the destination, put the laptop under ur seat, better is the back seat, and push the seat backwards to cover. maybe cover up using some plush toys tongue.gif
2. never use a laptop bag. use a normal bag with internal cushion. using a laptop bag is telling the world u have soemthing valuable.. come rob me.
3. if u have to put ur laptop in the locker, put it in the bag before going into the gym locker. then no one can guess whats inside. use ur own lock!

finally.. even pikom's also did made an announcement about this, and tell the world it is not true....
QUOTE(dannytzh @ Aug 10 2007, 12:19 AM)
wow very well writen response, Ij0000. I'm studying Electrical Engineering as well and whatever Ij0000 wrote about shielding of electromagnetic and electric fields are true. It is near to impossible to detect our laptop's emitted signal when it has already been shielded by the car's body. The distortion due to the car's body will most likely be high enough to not reveal things that are behind it.
I WAS WAITING FOR SOMEHTING LIKE THIS TO APPEAR!!!

WHERE WERE you guys? Hiding all along? I've already explained about alu foil and Faraday cage earlier but no one noticed! sad.gif

Oh wait...this thread also exists in the Hardware Forum. doh.gif
yewkhuay
post Aug 10 2007, 08:23 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

conclusion?????/
no worry ?
xenon
post Aug 10 2007, 08:42 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 9 2007, 11:35 PM)
they have people scanning the parking with their eyes.. looking for victims who open their car boot and put something in, then leave for the shopping mall. there must be something valuable there!
The above should be the conclusion.
Social research project rclxm9.gif
shumaky
post Aug 10 2007, 08:43 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Journalism gone bad .
jiaxun
post Aug 10 2007, 09:19 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

There is something you can do. Buy a safety box and put inside your car XD
It's made of thick metal and can stop any signal from penetrating the box

The box here is that one that usually put valuable stuff inside with security code. But please don't buy those with digital code
CapKapak
post Aug 10 2007, 09:43 AM

240 posts

There is this device called Lojack for Laptops. Started producing for cars then they side tracked to laptops.

www.lojackforlaptops.com
Spiv
post Aug 10 2007, 10:33 AM

1,009 posts

lojack does not work in Malaysia. Its coverage in US.
julchin_09
post Aug 10 2007, 11:05 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Damn bloody carpack security guards sleeping ar? Whats all the CCTV Camera's for then? Like that another Canny Ong case can just happen again.

I was thinking, regarding the detection thingy, is it these shaddy individuals are lingering around the carparks looking to see if there are people taking lappies from the car's Cabin and putting it into the boot? This way they can see the item without needing a detector. I tried telling my friend like what some of you mentioned earlier, Leave the lappie in the car's cabin under the seat or something instead of having to get out and put it into the boot.

Also, is it local Malaysian cars such as PROTON and PERODUA are more prone to this as the locking mechanism is simple unlike the continental/imported cars and is just there for the sake of keeping the boot lid closed? Like that might as well put your own padlock with key like Mr. Beans car and they'll have to come with a metal cutter....

Interesting discussion. Do brainstorm and post more.....
eddy230379
post Aug 10 2007, 11:49 AM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 10 2007, 11:05 AM)
Damn bloody carpack security guards sleeping ar? Whats all the CCTV Camera's for then? Like that another Canny Ong case can just happen again.

I was thinking, regarding the detection thingy, is it these shaddy individuals are lingering around the carparks looking to see if there are people taking lappies from the car's Cabin and putting it into the boot? This way they can see the item without needing a detector. I tried telling my friend like what some of you mentioned earlier, Leave the lappie in the car's cabin under the seat or something instead of having to get out and put it into the boot.

Also, is it local Malaysian cars such as PROTON and PERODUA are more prone to this as the locking mechanism is simple unlike the continental/imported cars and is just there for the sake of keeping the boot lid closed? Like that might as well put your own padlock with key like Mr. Beans car and they'll have to come with a metal cutter....

Interesting discussion. Do brainstorm and post more.....
sigh ... cant they make better quality locks on our cars ???

sweat.gif
karhoe
post Aug 10 2007, 03:55 PM

6,238 posts

It was once published about this rumour

Actually, some claimed that it happens this way

1) You drive with your laptop put at the back seat.
2) Goes shopping, move the laptop to the car trunk, cause you don't want the laptop to be seen visible through the glass
3) Some people are already watching you, they saw you moving it into the trunk
ronnie
post Aug 10 2007, 04:02 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 10 2007, 03:55 PM)
It was once published about this rumour

Actually, some claimed that it happens this way

1) You drive with your laptop put at the back seat.
2) Goes shopping, move the laptop to the car trunk, cause you don't want the laptop to be seen visible through the glass
3) Some people are already watching you, they saw you moving it into the trunk
That's why always move via the back seat and don't make it so obvious.
Especially to the guards in the shopping mall car parks.
ataris
post Aug 11 2007, 03:57 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

thats why u put it at the trunk earlier. dont put it last minute...
karhoe
post Aug 11 2007, 04:01 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Aug 11 2007, 03:57 PM)
thats why u put it at the trunk earlier. dont put it last minute...
People don't put in the trunk earlier because of the heat
dannytzh
post Aug 11 2007, 05:32 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Okay Okay... so in a VERY VERY BIG nutshell:-

1. These detectors that were shown by TV3 are most likely phony devices claimed to function by the company that sells it.

2. Do not leave your notebook in the boot in the heat, and do not transfer your notebook to the trunk in public area. Safest place to do it is at home, or any place that is out of human sight. OR place it in the trunk via lowered backseat.

3. If you still think that these detectors work, order a LEAD box. Remember, must be LEAD. Why lead? Becasue even radioactive particles/waves cannot penetrate lead box, so whatever the laptop emits will definitely be shielded by the lead box. Lol. If you do this, let me know. I want to understand why you can be so paranoid. tongue.gif

Enuff lah ppl. Move on to other topics le. haha...
williamlee_1985
post Aug 11 2007, 05:42 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

lol so laptop detector device does not exist?
eddy230379
post Aug 11 2007, 06:51 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Aug 11 2007, 05:42 PM)
lol so laptop detector device does not exist?
thats the conclusion i guess ... so no more need to buy lead kuali ... lol ...

williamlee_1985
post Aug 11 2007, 07:38 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 11 2007, 06:51 PM)
thats the conclusion i guess ... so no more need to buy lead kuali ... lol ...

haha. seems so..

well if u guys are travellin short distance, just stuff it in the boot 1st in ur house
Max Hell
post Aug 11 2007, 09:38 PM

28 posts

ok, i wanna comfirm it, you mean

1. Put latop in the car boot is safe , as long as no one see it, or put in boot before you reach mall or destination
2. Puting laptop in car boot can avoid from detector device
3. leaving laptop in back seat is safe, as long as it's not visible

correct me if i'm wrong
el.primero
post Aug 11 2007, 10:06 PM

175 posts

good idea rclxms.gif

QUOTE(realpesky @ Aug 9 2007, 05:50 AM)
just remove the battery.. it's not only to detect laptop.. ppl use this device to detect phone too.. so.. if u wanna keep ur laptop in the car.. just carry the battery in ur pocket.. haaha
yewkhuay
post Aug 11 2007, 11:35 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

the last time (only time) i kena was (without lappy) put a bag in my car even b4 i go to lowyat parking, but happen tht day car alarm Koyak....come back booth ok, go home open baru realise kena kopek oready....so, they do hav eyes in the parking lot...know u don hav alarm or wat...

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:01 PM