Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

angel82
post Jul 13 2023, 02:10 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Grimoire @ May 23 2023, 03:58 PM)
So the BCM recall is actually for the battery drain issue.
So the BCM update is to fix battery drain issue? Any improvement or issue happen after update? Going to send for next service soon.
ChiaW3n
post Jul 13 2023, 03:13 PM

3,737 posts

RM0 PROTON: Dear Customer, bring your X50 for a free BCM software update to optimize your car performance. Make an appointment through MyPROTON App now.

Just received sms about this, my 19k mileage already clocked but sc appointment only avail next Saturday
zero5177
post Jul 13 2023, 03:16 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 4 2023, 11:50 AM)
if i were u, I will buy the battery charger online and put the car's battery to charge up for a few hours. my other car is with a battery that was changed back in June 2019, I put on a Foxsur charger once a month.
Wanted to ask about this battery charger on your X70, did you remove the battery and if you did any trouble reconfiguring the car system?

Wondering if anyone actually take out their battery for this...
ycs
post Jul 13 2023, 03:37 PM

4,239 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jul 13 2023, 03:13 PM)
RM0 PROTON: Dear Customer, bring your X50 for a free BCM software update to optimize your car performance. Make an appointment through MyPROTON App now.

Just received sms about this, my 19k mileage already clocked but sc appointment only avail next Saturday
can share how old is your car? i didnt get any sms, mine is 2yr+
ayamxxx
post Jul 13 2023, 03:46 PM

4,063 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jul 13 2023, 03:16 PM)
Wanted to ask about this battery charger on your X70, did you remove the battery and if you did any trouble reconfiguring the car system?

Wondering if anyone actually take out their battery for this...
Been done that more than 5 times. I remove the battery connector (+ &-) b4 put in the charger for few hours. Then connect back after done. No errors whatsoever even the radio still retain the same fm station.

The removal of connector take 1 minute job

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 13 2023, 03:47 PM
contestchris
post Jul 14 2023, 01:47 AM

5,584 posts

I also got the SMS, my car was manufactured in October 2021.

A few questions:

1. Is it necessary (or recommended) to get this update?
2. What is changed/improved?
3. Are all X50 affected since launch? Or only certain batches?
4. Will the update cause GKUI to update to Atlas OS?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 14 2023, 01:49 AM
ChiaW3n
post Jul 14 2023, 03:21 AM

3,737 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 13 2023, 03:37 PM)
can share how old is your car? i didnt get any sms, mine is 2yr+
Just over one year and I have changed my battery once
james2306
post Jul 14 2023, 09:45 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

My car sept 2022.

Bcm update done when i went for 10k service 2months ago.

I was worried it would update the ihu too, but it was a different system. So in my case, ihu untouched.

No noticeable changes with new bcm. I never had battery issues.

Double check with SA if they will touch ihu or not la when u send in for this bcm update.. not sure if maybe now latest version, ATLAS ask sc to force update or not. Just decline lor.
ayamxxx
post Jul 14 2023, 09:57 AM

4,063 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ Jul 14 2023, 09:45 AM)
My car sept 2022.

Bcm update done when i went for 10k service 2months ago.

I was worried it would update the ihu too, but it was a different system. So in my case, ihu untouched.

No noticeable changes with new bcm. I never had battery issues.

Double check with SA if they will touch ihu or not la when u send in for this bcm update.. not sure if maybe now latest version, ATLAS ask sc to force update or not. Just decline lor.
Tbf the bcm and HU are not the same system right?
psyduck989
post Jul 14 2023, 10:38 AM

On the topic of servicing anyone realised the increased in servicing of these specific products:

Petronas 5W-30 EO - from RM162.50 to RM189.00 (16% increase sometime in Aug22)
Drain plug gasket - from RM3.88 to RM5.26 (28% increase sometime in 2023?)
Wheel Alignment & Balancing - from RM68 to RM98 (31% increase also recently)

What I find even more sad is that all the above are likely manufactured / serviced here in Malaysia but well there are lots of money to be had. Anyone noticed any other price increase just can't wait for the Nano Mist to increase from current RM40 to RM60 and telling us how good it is.
james2306
post Jul 14 2023, 10:39 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 14 2023, 09:57 AM)
Tbf the bcm and HU are not the same system right?
its not the same
ayamxxx
post Jul 14 2023, 11:18 AM

4,063 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ Jul 14 2023, 10:39 AM)
its not the same
Can put HU lock b4 send SC for service then
james2306
post Jul 14 2023, 11:28 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 14 2023, 11:18 AM)
Can put HU lock b4 send SC for service then
What is HU Lock?

Will it help if SC Tech just cucuk the update USB in?
coolguy99
post Jul 14 2023, 07:29 PM

7,356 posts

Wonder need to tell them to not update HU when I send my car in for bcm update? Scare they hand itchy.
ycs
post Jul 14 2023, 08:43 PM

4,239 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 14 2023, 07:29 PM)
Wonder need to tell them to not update HU when I send my car in for bcm update? Scare they hand itchy.
use the AppLock to lock the settings page
xeon1989
post Jul 14 2023, 09:45 PM

Member since 2008
964 posts

QUOTE(ahmadelinz @ Jul 7 2023, 01:03 PM)
hi all, is it possible to uninstall custom app one by one? i followed the script provided by xeon1989 and it erased all the custom apps that i installed earlier on. Anyone have the solution, kindly pm me yea.
You may delete the folder of apps you don't need before installing the app.
coolguy99
post Jul 15 2023, 08:06 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 14 2023, 08:43 PM)
use the AppLock to lock the settings page
How do I go about doing that?
ahmadelinz
post Jul 15 2023, 09:04 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(xeon1989 @ Jul 14 2023, 09:45 PM)
You may delete the folder of apps you don't need before installing the app.
Yes, I deleted the folder app, but the app I wanted to uninstall still remained in the system. May I know, how to go about it?
purplefellow
post Jul 15 2023, 06:58 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(psyduck989 @ Jul 14 2023, 10:38 AM)
On the topic of servicing anyone realised the increased in servicing of these specific products:

Petronas 5W-30 EO - from RM162.50 to RM189.00 (16% increase sometime in Aug22)
Drain plug gasket - from RM3.88 to RM5.26 (28% increase sometime in 2023?)
Wheel Alignment & Balancing - from RM68 to RM98 (31% increase also recently)

What I find even more sad is that all the above are likely manufactured / serviced here in Malaysia but well there are lots of money to be had. Anyone noticed any other price increase just can't wait for the Nano Mist to increase from current RM40 to RM60 and telling us how good it is.
Not sure about the pricing increase, but the Nano Mist Disinfectant is actually optional and not part of the servicing requirement. You can ask them to remove that item before you service the car. I've done it twice with no issue.
lexapro P
post Jul 15 2023, 10:17 PM

Probation

Hey guys, I just dropped / lost my X50 remote key in the park. I think some one must have picked it up because I ran the entire footpath and can’t find it. Fortunately, I got my folks to drive over to hand me the spare remote key.

How fast and how much is it to get a replacement remote key from Proton? Would it be the same day? Also, would they reconfigure the car remote / alarm signal? Is it a long and complicated process?

I’m feeling annoyed with myself I wasn’t more careful. Would appreciate any reassuring advice, thanks!

440 Pages « < 383 384 385 386 387 > » Top

0.0232sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:25 PM