4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

sHawTY
post Feb 22 2022, 11:18 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Cincai.La @ Feb 18 2022, 02:29 PM)
Ok. I will buy a new one to replace it.
Do some research before you proceed buying one

I've seen lots of people buying RM100 ~ RM300 routers thinking it would solve their issue
Later, they blame the brand instead of themselves for not doing proper research whistling.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 22 2022, 12:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Feb 22 2022, 11:54 AM)
You think most of the issues are caused by ISP side?
When did I say that?
All I said is you should never rely on ISP-provided routers

No ISP in the world provides good routers for free. Time Fiber once offered ASUS routers but that still comes with an additional fee. Not for free
sHawTY
post Feb 22 2022, 05:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Thinking of subscribing to ALLOWIFI / CITY Broadband for my in-law's house in Ipoh
Do any of you guys know if they entertain Public IP requests?

PS: Is ALLOWIFI & City Broadband the same company? blink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Feb 22 2022, 05:53 PM
sHawTY
post Feb 22 2022, 07:49 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Feb 22 2022, 06:04 PM)
No Public IP for home plan
Request also won't be entertained?
sHawTY
post Feb 23 2022, 05:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(apekpro96 @ Mar 15 2021, 04:54 PM)
mine is type 3 also, had requested change to public ip address ,when they change , mine cant use internet, no internet for 3days
So what happened? You're back on private IP?
ALLO technical team couldn't fix your Public IP issues?

QuantumEdge thank you for the assistance
sHawTY
post Jul 25 2022, 03:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Nevermind. Already found the answer

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 25 2022, 03:12 PM
sHawTY
post Aug 4 2022, 10:34 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Highway-Star @ Jul 28 2022, 02:37 PM)
Do they now include Wifi6 router?
I just got ALLO installed for my in-laws on Monday 1st August 2022, and no, they are still supplying WiFi 5 (AC) router
The router that they supply is D-Link DVG-F2452

But no matter. I'm not gonna use their router anyway, all ISP-provided routers are always crap no matter which ISP you registered to
Already bought ASUS RT-AX56U for my in-laws
sHawTY
post Aug 5 2022, 03:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Hey guys, I need some input from experienced ALLOWIFI/CITYBROADBAND users who have replaced the stock router
I spoke with their helpline and they mentioned that I have 2 options to use my own router

1. Let the BTU (modem) do the dialup (PPPoE) and manage DHCP (this is the stock configuration) - less favorable to me as I would prefer the router to do the heavy lifting because the new router is much better hardware (2 x ASUS RT-AX56U)
2. Let the router do the dialup (PPPoE) and manage DHCP so the BTU (modem) only does the fiber termination (translates the pulses of light that carry data over the fibre optic cables into electrical signals)

Is what the helpline agent saying true? I can pick between these 2?

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 5 2022, 03:18 PM
sHawTY
post Aug 5 2022, 04:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Aug 5 2022, 04:07 PM)
I just changed the router by dynamic ip connect into BTU. No PPPOE involved.
I dont see any PPPOE option inside the BTU as well. The login use some 10-12 digit alphanumeric for authentication.

Or maybe we have different BTU.
That's why I'm confused
A few users in this forum tells me that

I called ALLO (CITY BROADBAND) helpline twice, and spoke to 2 different people (on different days) and both of them mentioned PPPoE
sHawTY
post Aug 5 2022, 04:46 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

The red box marks the BTU that they supplied. Quite small I say
The broadband is installed at my in-laws house in Ipoh on Monday 1st August 2022, driving there tonight so that's the best picture I can supply to you right now

wc_how is it the same as yours?

sHawTY
post Aug 5 2022, 05:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Aug 5 2022, 05:06 PM)
Does anyone having issue accessing Allo selfcare?
Allo selfcare is down right now
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 11:33 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Selfcare still not working until today
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 11:34 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Aug 4 2022, 11:19 AM)
Edit: Disconnected because of changing public IP.
Fixed Public IP right? Not Dynamic Public IP?
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 02:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Aug 8 2022, 12:26 PM)
Allo's review coming? 🤣
Very straight forward
Submit my registration on 27 July, ALLO came and install on 1 August
Friday 5 August I drove to Ipoh, just cabut the original router and replaced it with ASUS RT-AX56U, pulled an Ethernet cable from the ground floor to the 1st floor (my in-law already prepared some piping inside the wall for this), connect another ASUS RT-AX56U on the 1st floor & done. Very easy setup. Both RT-AX56U running as MESH so we get full coverage all over the house

Done. Very fast setup

Internet speed, get 100Mb/s all over the house
Able to play UniFi TV (using the app) though loading times are a bit longer than playing UniFi TV on an actual UniFi connection

My in-laws is so happy, they binged watch movies until 3AM laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 02:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Aug 8 2022, 12:55 PM)
No idea. Never restart since public IP. But should be dynamic as the registration form is mentioned.
Registration form? A form specifically to get Public IP?
Can you share the form?
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 03:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Aug 8 2022, 02:49 PM)
Sure.
Whoa. The form really did say Dynamic Public IP
Nice thumbsup.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 8 2022, 05:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Selfcare can login again now

Xelnagakail juzmafia
sHawTY
post Aug 9 2022, 11:23 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Aug 8 2022, 06:26 PM)
..and they still haven't fix my August bill overcharge issue..🙃
QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Aug 9 2022, 09:05 AM)
Just email Allo recently, this is what they reply. Even though I pay extra RM10.
Both of you have overcharged issue?
sHawTY
post Aug 9 2022, 02:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Aug 9 2022, 02:14 PM)
Mine also 50Mbps but at RM69/month
Woah, how did you get RM69? sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 9 2022, 02:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Aug 9 2022, 02:24 PM)
very early promotion in Ipoh area. Mine was last batch RM79@50m.
My installation was done on 1st August 2022, spoke to their helpline am I eligible for the promotion of 100Mb/s @ RM89, they said no because I submitted my registration for 100Mb/s @ RM99

Felt unfair because my contract started on 1 August 2022 sweat.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:41 AM