horns
post Feb 4 2021, 06:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Feb 4 2021, 04:57 PM)
price point below rm300. so far i found to be in that category is

1) tecware Phantom Elite - almost all out of stock except Kailh speed bronze

2) Hyperx Alloy FPS Pro - only have Blue switch

3) coolermaster ck530 v2 - the silver keyboard surface is abit ....

I am more on casual gaming. Maybe Tecware Phantom L is good enough which is below rm200?
of the three, tecware phantom elite should be better for you, because you can swap its stock switches with other 3-pin switches later.

if you are interested in testing different mx style switches later on with one board, then don't get tecware phantom L. they use low-profile key switches, with outemu sockets, which narrow down limited options even more.

horns
post Feb 4 2021, 07:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 4 2021, 07:33 PM)
when u have a kibod that is good for urself, this thing happens. type long long coz the feeling of typing is so good.

sugoiiiii !
you're damn right hahahahaha!

horns
post Feb 5 2021, 09:48 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 4 2021, 09:46 PM)
but on serious note, lots of key points and tips in ur wall of text. keep up the good reviews by u. i like reading them.
thanks; i'm glad smile.gif

--

another small update about switch film vendors. note that this is an OPTIONAL item to minimize switch top wobbles, and change typing feel and sound. you CAN opt to not using it.

1. tx, https://txkeyboard.com/ (2 types of thickness, the usual 0.15mm and the new 0.125mm)
2. kebo, https://kebo.store/products/switch-films
3. deskey, https://deskeys.io/
4. thicc, https://maartenwut.com/product/thicc-films/
5. kelowna, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=620073366941 (2 types; thickness: the double-layer HTV film is now 0.16mm (previously, 0.15mm); the previous MDI film is now EVA film, 0.3mm, similar to deskey's, but relatively cheaper)
6. kbdfans, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=627414114157 (2 types; thickness: 0.15mm)
7. durock, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=633069338401 (double-layer HTV film is 0.15mm; similar to kelowna's)
8. equalz, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=634032504499 (material: TPU, soft material like deskey's; thickness: 0.18mm)

in general, PC films are hard, hence producing crispier sound; HTV is slightly softer than PC; and finally, MDI films are the softest, hence producing dampened sound.

horns
post Feb 5 2021, 10:40 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Feb 5 2021, 09:56 AM)
went to read on Kailh switch upon your suggestion. Speed bronze is clicky, i use pc more at night time so dont think clicky sound is appropriate.  biggrin.gif  is other Tecware keyboard recommended? or go with Hyperx or coolermaster as in the list? Thanks in advance

btw, many seems to think Gateron is better than Kailh
you can swap the switches out, and replace them with non-clicky ones, like 3-pin gateron. it's a simple process.

imo 'preference' is the much better word for 'better' in terms of switch choices.

tbh, it's really up to you to decide which one you're after. i suggested tecware phantom elite because i think you might try out other switch types later on, and you can do it right away, by getting some and put them on.
horns
post Feb 5 2021, 10:59 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 5 2021, 10:42 AM)
I've said it once and I'll say it again. This needs to be on the first page.

BTW, do you think it's worthwhile salvaging films? Moving between WFH and on-site every few days, I'm transporting my keeb a lot these days. The other day I dropped it and broke the left CTRL switch(one of the pins snapped, switch was slightly above plate when I opened it). I threw the switch in the trash, but I can probably find it back to go and get the TX film that was in it.
hahaha it's meant for the eyes of regulars here mainly.

imo if the condition is still ok (meaning there is only minor deformation), you can salvage and reuse it. just test it out after install to see if it still works as intended. for tx films, i do reuse them if they are still in ok-ish conditions, and the outcomes are still ok.
horns
post Feb 5 2021, 01:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Feb 5 2021, 11:52 AM)
anyone here letting go of their kbd67 lite? Thinking of building my first keyboard or any recommendations for 67 keyboards? I really like the kbd67 & alt drop high profile design.
there is a kbd67 mkii hot-swap with black ink polycarb case currently on sale at mymkb mechmarket, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKET/.

alternatively, just wait for next rounds of kbd67 lite or whatever 65% that meet your needs.

QUOTE(holyghost @ Feb 5 2021, 01:19 PM)
i didnt know can change to other brand switches. Thought have to use same brand switch but different model. thanks for the advice n suggestion. will give it a thought.  smile.gif
right. as long as the board is tecware phantom elite series, full-size or tkl (and not other models), you can do that. this is because in elite series, they use kailh switch sockets, instead of the outemu switch sockets in their previous models.
horns
post Feb 5 2021, 02:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Feb 5 2021, 02:04 PM)
Hi, I hope the sifus here can help enlighten me. I am looking for silent tactile switches. I have tried my friend's zilent switches and I like the bump on those switches. But I have also read that u4 switches are even better than zilent. What say you, sifus? Or is there any other switches out there that you would recommend for silent tactiles?
you should also post this at mymkb fb page to get better feedback. maybe they can provide better comparisons with switches that you already have.

if you have a hot-swap board, the even better way to find out if you liked it is to try it out yourself. get a small amount first. if it's ok then get more.
horns
post Feb 5 2021, 06:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Feb 5 2021, 02:22 PM)
ya I saw that but 1.3k and with keycaps + switches could easily go to 2k  bye.gif
I have a set of neon keycaps coming so hoping to get a keyboard within 1k  sad.gif
ok haha then good luck (i still think you should wait for the next round)

QUOTE(AureusX @ Feb 5 2021, 03:41 PM)
Yeah, I think I will try to get some from aliexpress and see how it goes. I'm sad that I can't read chinese and get some good finds for this hobby from Taobao.
don't feel sad. like niakulah pointed out, there are still plenty of options at the website smile.gif

horns
post Feb 6 2021, 10:22 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(13th @ Feb 6 2021, 05:22 PM)
Hi, anyone want RK61 for rm120? New as I bought RK71 because RK61 not for me
you should also put this on sale at mechmarket, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKET
horns
post Feb 7 2021, 11:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(lhooi101 @ Feb 7 2021, 04:09 AM)
Hi guys, not sure if this is the right forum to ask this. But does anyone know anybody who provides keyboard commissioned building service in Malaysia? Basically I supply the parts, but that person will do lubing, assembly and etc.
for building services, you can contact quovadis123 or GRexer for their availability. both are skilled and experienced. you can also find more at mymkb/mechmarket fb pages.
horns
post Feb 17 2021, 12:59 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(DonutZai @ Feb 16 2021, 03:16 PM)
Tecware Phantom TKL Red just 3 months in and I have got 3 malfunctioning keys (W,R,=).
The 4 extra switches provided wont last for long.
it should be just switches. just replace it. maybe your unit has few outemu switches.
horns
post Feb 18 2021, 07:59 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cryonic @ Feb 17 2021, 11:56 AM)
I ve got my ducky mecha mini returned under warranty, took more than 1 month for the wait. They do not want to RMA it. i think they only tried to fix it. But within a week using, I am still getting problems where the keeb disconnects itself or died and required a usb re plugin, sometimes twice. Overall i ve only used it for a week before claiming warranty, and now less than a week after return from warranty.

I took a pic of the pcb underboard before and after but decided not to share. The soldering isn't one of the best either. They did tried to fix rather than RMA.

I saw a year printed on the PCB, 2013. Is that the manufactured date?
this sucks. they're supposed to honor the warranty. it's ridiculous that they thought it's ok to do this kind of 'repair' (repaired unit is supposed to work fine, not like yours), instead of sending you the actual working unit.

ducky is a known brand. please pm the actual fb accounts, and tell your story to them, and see if they can help:

https://www.facebook.com/DuckyMalaysia
https://www.facebook.com/duckychannel

horns
post Feb 23 2021, 12:58 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Feb 19 2021, 01:30 PM)
tecware phantom elite seem out of stock everywhere except bronze clicky key. I prefer more quite keyboard. Any other brands can recommend on the same price range or lower?
it's better for you to ask this at mymkb fb page. there are more active users that are well aware of alternatives over there

--

getting more jwk v2 pcb-mount stabs from keys.my. this, and c3 v1/v2 stabs, are pretty much the two stabilizer options that i will stick to for builds with pcb-mount stabilizers.

horns
post Feb 23 2021, 08:30 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(yohomies @ Feb 23 2021, 08:19 PM)
Hi Sifus, may i know are there any local seller for Millmax 0305 or 7305?. Seems like i can't get any besides ordering from Digikeys or Mouser =/
once in a while, someone in mymkb fb group will conduct a gb for these. alternatively, just get them from those places that you mentioned.
horns
post Feb 25 2021, 05:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Feb 25 2021, 02:46 PM)
dear sifus, so I completed my build last week. After using the keyboard for about a week the Enter key started to make uneven sounds depending on which corner I pressed. So I took out the cherry stabs and re-lubed the wires with thick coat of krytox 205g0, then the sound is even again.

Few days after that my left shift key same problem, diff sound when I press on diff corners of the key. So I re-lubed the wires again so problem solved.

Now the backspace key pula got the same problem. So I need to re-lube the wires again.

May I know what's causing this issue? Is it bcuz I did not put enough lube the first time and I need to overlube the wires? Why does it happen so often? I don't think I should be lubing my wires every few days lol

Switches: Gateron Yellows clear top milky bottom, lubed with krytox 205g0 & tx filmed
Stabs: Cherry Stabs lubed with krytox 205g0, band-aid modded too
this is usually due to uneven wire tips, bent wire, or warped key caps. to solve this normally we try to make wire tips to point to the same angle and direction, tune the wire to be as straight as possible, then apply the so-called holee mod (reference videos about holee mod are as follows):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmOSSqpHAws
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDX-jwbqie4

here is another new one, called tailor's stab mod, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2S61CynOwOc

basically all the above means to use soft material to make stab holes for wire tips smaller, so that the wire tips have less room for free plays. note that if the tape or thread is too thick or too thin, the result might not be what you want.

alternatively, you can also stick the foam/tape on top side of wire tips only, covering the whole tips. usually i just use 0.2mm eva foam with single-sided adhesive to do this.

edit: if you have a warped key cap, just soak the key cap into boiling water for 20 to 30 seconds, take it out and press both sides until it's cooled down. if this still cannot fix the warped key cap, get new ones that are straight.

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 25 2021, 05:17 PM
horns
post Feb 25 2021, 07:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Feb 25 2021, 06:51 PM)
thanks for the tip horns! I wanted to do that hole-e mod but then decided to conduct my own experiment first.
Here's what I did:
1) Re-lubed the stabs housing and wires
2) Put extra band-aid on the plate to reduce rattling
3) Change the stabs
4) Change the switch for a stock Gateron Yellow
5) Remove the TX Film from my lubed Gateron Yellow

To my surprise, it was actually 5) that fixed my problem. Could I be that the TX film is causing the switch housing to be too tight and making uneven noise? It doesn't make sense but somehow it fixed my issue and my backspace sounds consistent and even now  confused.gif
yes you should always test different ways to fix issues smile.gif

the part that no. 5 is the culprit might be possible, but unlikely imo. it's possible because the housings were not secured properly, or the switch didn't sit flush on the plate/pcb. (not because of it being too tight)
horns
post Feb 25 2021, 10:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Feb 25 2021, 09:25 PM)
I'm honestly kinda surprised, now thinking whether I should just remove all my switch films. Too much work though for 68 keys  tongue.gif  bangwall.gif
haha just do whatever you want that you see fit

i usually test everything with a hot-swap board first. (e.g., gk64, kbd67, or melgeek's z70ultra) starting with stock, then depending on time allowed, i progressively test the switches with different tunings. finally i will make soldered builds with them.
horns
post Feb 26 2021, 06:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Feb 25 2021, 10:40 PM)
after i mod my k6, i've been happily typing on it since then.

What I did was

cut some eva foam to fit the bottom space

foam in between plate and pcb

change switches to lubed and filmed FFF linear

clip the stabs and lube them

change to some cheap china PBT keycap

It's amazing. Well amazing enough until my custom keyboard from the groupbuy arrive  tongue.gif  which is expected in a month or two.
fff is one of the better linear switches smile.gif

right, the main goal about this hobby is always to find out better configurations for your board, so that it can give better typing experience to you, based on your preferences.

it's never about how cheap or expensive your kits, or parts are.
horns
post Feb 26 2021, 07:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 26 2021, 06:54 PM)
agree so much to that statement.

tho cant deny some expensive stuff is indeed better.
it really depends on areas that you're looking at. quality wise, expensive stuff are better, especially when they provide rare keyboard constructions. they are meant for collection purposes.

however, if you're like me, who wanna build reference bare bones from time to time, with new switches, new stabilizers, etc., unobtainiums like pcbs, plate options, will become a problem to the continuity of such projects.

well, i will still get some later on, because i wanna support the original creators, especially local creators. let's see if i had the luck smile.gif

horns
post Feb 28 2021, 12:04 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Feb 27 2021, 01:27 PM)
currently looking for  tkl keyboard and prefer no rgb etc and end up with like 2 models so far..

leopold and filco i guess. so my question is, are these 2 good brands and which one are better so far? can i change the key caps later on like customization you guys have here?

also, can find leopold in shopee but cant find filco anywhere there. Where can you get or buy filco then?
just go for leopold. in terms of values for money, i think it's better (compared to filco or varmilo):
1. good build quality, modifier keys with tuned stabilizers;
2. stock thick double-shot pbt key caps (1.5mm);
3. detachable cable;
4. local warranty;
5. standard key layout, so almost all key cap sets are compatible;
6. since it uses cherry plate-mount stabilizers, it's relatively convenient to change key caps.

leopold, filco, and varmilo are still undisputed in terms of good typing experience.

31 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.2672sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:37 AM