I don’t have a choice. Cars in Sg are expensive.
Why do you buy a car above Rm100k?, Sharing
Jun 1 2020, 10:29 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,847 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
I don’t have a choice. Cars in Sg are expensive.
Jun 1 2020, 10:29 AM
365 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
why burn money on depreciating asset
public transport kan murah, if not there's always grab for last mile connectivity |
Jun 1 2020, 10:30 AM
998 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Bangi & Kuala Terengganu |
of coz for fame and powah. even with entry level 2.0 liter engine with tebo is far more than enough. tekan ciket terus pegiiii. effortless.
Jun 1 2020, 10:30 AM
4,482 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Mondello @ Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM) for me its relate back your nature of work... if u just an exec siting in office 9-5pm dealing mostly internal staff...well yes might be your case i don't believe in those line of work hence if that's how life is.. it's pretty sad in my own oppinion.but in reality there are also jobs out there that required to build confident from your prospect and how they see you as a lead...not ALL but somwhat true in today's world regardless how many times they manage to sign off the deal...but it's to ensure they got higher chances will u choose to follow a team leader who just know doing works but nt smart to carik makan or a leader know how to bring u up carik makan regardless his way of working ????? QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM) Correct. And different people have different priorities you are right. last years trip to Japan, New Zealand, Germany and some local trips had already cost us approx RM50k. I guess if i really choose not to go anywhere like with this MCO incident recently by the end of the MCO i'll just buy another property la. HAHAHAPeople who complain about other people's car spending probably spend ungodly amount on other things too like watches, vacations, weddings, foods, etc I just don't care about those things as much as I care about my car. Plus my flashy car helps close my insurance deals |
Jun 1 2020, 10:34 AM
572 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
A C-segment sedan costs up to 150k, its the best range for value where you get everything besides performance for a reasonable price. Lesser priced cars are usually lacking something such as comfort, NVH.
Good thing is that even cheaper cars are relatively safe nowofdays so yea, no real need to buy a >50k car compared to a few years back. However the heavier more expensive cars are even safer due to their weight. |
Jun 1 2020, 10:34 AM
137 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
If rich can lah buy also no effect. If you work as kuli better think wisely. Ive two cars, one preve and one old wira. I drive my old wira once a week cause if not moving the car for a week battery will kaput while my juniors coming to the office with their beemers and mini everyday So rich youngsters nowadays
Jun 1 2020, 10:35 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 1 2020, 10:30 AM) i don't believe in those line of work hence if that's how life is.. it's pretty sad in my own oppinion. To be honest, it is no different than clothesyou are right. last years trip to Japan, New Zealand, Germany and some local trips had already cost us approx RM50k. I guess if i really choose not to go anywhere like with this MCO incident recently by the end of the MCO i'll just buy another property la. HAHAHA "The carriage maketh the agent. Proton-driving-agents have no influence in the market". I was driving my Persona Elegance for the longest time, the Bimmer really makes it easier to close deals, even if all it does is boost my confidence That is fair, and you won't see me criticizing your spending. Problem is that many would criticize those spending so much on cars while they themselves have their own "vice spending" that do not make much if any personal finance sense |
Jun 1 2020, 10:36 AM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 1 2020, 10:30 AM) i don't believe in those line of work hence if that's how life is.. it's pretty sad in my own oppinion. to be honest its the reality if u're in frontline sales/recruitment /agents /negotiators /etc ....the competition is stiff and people perception mattersthats why ppl with conservative mindset canot do sales |
Jun 1 2020, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 10:35 AM) To be honest, it is no different than clothes my polo T bought in shopee RM15 each only and i buy 5 each time - maybe once a year to replace my old working shirts."The carriage maketh the agent. Proton-driving-agents have no influence in the market". I was driving my Persona Elegance for the longest time, the Bimmer really makes it easier to close deals, even if all it does is boost my confidence That is fair, and you won't see me criticizing your spending. Problem is that many would criticize those spending so much on cars while they themselves have their own "vice spending" that do not make much if any personal finance sense my T shirts are usually bought by my wife and mum and some fancy shirts which cost more than i could afford were usually bought by my wife. but hey, i always tell ppl these. it's about how much we spend vs how much we could save and invest. If the Bimmer you are paying RM2400 and it's only a fraction of your pay package then why not? But if the bimmer you are paying and it cost you an arm and a leg where you have to makan countless time of roti and maggi then you should not. |
Jun 1 2020, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Mondello @ Jun 1 2020, 10:36 AM) to be honest its the reality if u're in frontline sales/recruitment /agents /negotiators /etc ....the competition is stiff and people perception matters i beg to differ. i do see folks who were so successfully and yet they are driving an old Satria only. Doing sales. Instead of spending on a ride the person had his first condo paid off at the age of 26/27. Moving to subsequent property and now having his own company. It's been a while since i last saw him but i'm pretty sure he would have change his car at this point of time.thats why ppl with conservative mindset canot do sales |
Jun 1 2020, 10:56 AM
57 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Georgetown,Penang |
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:13 AM) Currently i am driving a Rm50k+ car(24 years old with Rm3.9k salary). The car does all that i require of it really well and has not failed me thus far. If this car get old, i will probably get another brand new Rm50k+ car no matter what i am earning at that point in life. As far as my job is concerned, the type of car i drive in no way affects my performance or affect my KPI. So that brings the question, why do people buy cars above Rm100k+? Dude. Driving a benz vs a honda vs a proton. Come share your experience about why. (Car more comfortable, bragging rights, your job performance increase as the cost of your car increase, cheonging purposes, sense of status/superiority, for showing off, Hobby, etc) PS : Regarding the bragging rights/ sense of superiority. If you are doing a job or doing a business which earn you enough to own a Rm100k+ car. Then you will already be well respected by your peers no matter what type of car you use. Lets say you are the big boss of a local company earning upwards of Rm100000 a month and drive a kancil. I am pretty sure your worker and people around you will respect you regardless of what car you drive lol. But if your working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you and will even call you stupid for buying such a car. Its like staying in 5 star 1 thousand a nite hotel vs a cheap 3 star hotel. We need it coz its a necessity. For you to ask no diff , and save money part.. The world doesnt work that way. Majority of ppl loves to be pamper. Thats why you see top girl models go for rich guy.. if follow ur logic . Ur wife can be a ugly duckling with no request in life.why look for presentable girls. |
Jun 1 2020, 10:57 AM
6 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
Sometimes buying >RM 100k car is solely for ego, safety, handling or space reason only.
Doesn’t mean it’s more reliable, comfortable or problem-free. |
Jun 1 2020, 10:58 AM
167 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Old d back pain
Jun 1 2020, 11:01 AM
872 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Classified |
I like big cars, spacious space (no lorry or van tho), and reliable. C segment easily over RM 100K. D and E over RM 200K.
Jun 1 2020, 11:03 AM
1,527 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Heaven |
Fama gave 200k+ car use only loh
Jun 1 2020, 11:06 AM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
I got a pickup, simply because easier to drive at night with no street lights and total blackness, can haul stuffs and best of all, it is duty free.
Jun 1 2020, 11:06 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 1 2020, 10:48 AM) my polo T bought in shopee RM15 each only and i buy 5 each time - maybe once a year to replace my old working shirts. Correct. Ive never skimped on my meals, never concerned about the cost of my meals and clothes too, im doing OKmy T shirts are usually bought by my wife and mum and some fancy shirts which cost more than i could afford were usually bought by my wife. but hey, i always tell ppl these. it's about how much we spend vs how much we could save and invest. If the Bimmer you are paying RM2400 and it's only a fraction of your pay package then why not? But if the bimmer you are paying and it cost you an arm and a leg where you have to makan countless time of roti and maggi then you should not. But here's the problem, plenty of people are quick to jump on the conti buyers without understanding how much they earn. I am not about to publish my borang B or my spending receipts to show that I can afford the car and live a good life la haha This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2020, 11:07 AM |
Jun 1 2020, 11:07 AM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
different ppl have different goal to drive your motivation..there is no right or wrong..just personal preferences..
some ppl like to buy house some ppl like to buy car some ppl like to buy bike some ppl like to go travel some ppl like to eat ... ... some ppl like to cheong i know someone that is earning >15k but everyday just ride honda EX5 to work..but every year spend about 50k and bring family to go travel This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 1 2020, 11:11 AM |
Jun 1 2020, 11:14 AM
2,096 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
wait till u r 40 yrs old.... see many frens already "got it".
if can afford.... why not? |
Jun 1 2020, 11:18 AM
597 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I bought the car bcoz my bank account has savings much more than the car price. If some drunkards bang me, their car is in worse shape than mine.
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
5 queries
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:14 PM |