7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Why do you buy a car above Rm100k?, Sharing

SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:13 AM, updated 6y ago

121 posts

Currently i am driving a Rm50k+ car(24 years old with Rm3.9k salary). The car does all that i require of it really well and has not failed me thus far. If this car get old, i will probably get another brand new Rm50k+ car no matter what i am earning at that point in life. As far as my job is concerned, the type of car i drive in no way affects my performance or affect my KPI. So that brings the question, why do people buy cars above Rm100k+?

Come share your experience about why. (Car more comfortable, bragging rights, your job performance increase as the cost of your car increase, cheonging purposes, sense of status/superiority, for showing off, Hobby, etc)

PS : Regarding the bragging rights/ sense of superiority. If you are doing a job or doing a business which earn you enough to own a Rm100k+ car. Then you will already be well respected by your peers no matter what type of car you use. Lets say you are the big boss of a local company earning upwards of Rm100000 a month and drive a kancil. I am pretty sure your worker and people around you will respect you regardless of what car you drive lol. But if your working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you and will even call you stupid for buying such a car.

This post has been edited by ChenHo123: Jun 1 2020, 02:22 AM
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jun 1 2020, 02:15 AM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

more comfortable and better driving experience and of course bragging rights.

i mean if you can afford it why not?

lets say i got rm1000, i can eat rm5 AEON foodcourt sushi or i can eat rm100 sakae sushi.

SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:18 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jun 1 2020, 02:15 AM)
more comfortable and better driving experience and of course bragging rights.

i mean if you can afford it why not?

lets say i got rm1000, i can eat rm5 AEON foodcourt sushi or i can eat rm100 sakae sushi.
Well, if your the top performer of your company or in a high paying position to be able to afford a Rm100k+ car then i am pretty sure you are already well respected by your peers no matter what car you drive.

If your a guy working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you no matter what car you drive lol
tdzheng
post Jun 1 2020, 02:18 AM

23 posts

If ayam can afford it why not?
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2020, 02:19 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:13 AM)
Come share your experience about why. (Car more comfortable, bragging rights, your job performance increase as the cost of your car increase, cheonging purposes, sense of status/superiority, for showing off, Hobby, etc)
Because i can, I've worked hard for my money and life is too short to keep driving my Proton Persona Elegance or anything of the same level

As you grow your income you upgrade your lifestyle too. As long as you do it within your means you will be OK

1. Faster car, and I need to go to places quickly
2. Much more comfortable
3. Helps close the deal. When you have two great agents, one drives a BMW and the other drives one-step lower, subconsciously you will be attracted to the Bimmer. My sales numbers as of May have equaled my previous year's
4. The Persona was too old. I could have jumped to a mid-level like a Civic or a Mazda 3 but I'd say why not quantum leap all the way to a German marque?
5. It was my dream car anyway, the 3 Series (or a C-Class)
6. As an extension to number (3), I am an insurance/takaful agent. Of course I have to drive a BMW/Merc/Audi laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2020, 02:22 AM
LowKeras
post Jun 1 2020, 02:20 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 31 2020, 08:13 AM)
Currently i am driving a Rm50k+ car(24 years old with Rm3.9k salary). The car does all that i require of it really well and has not failed me thus far. If this car get old, i will probably get another brand new Rm50k+ car no matter what i am earning at that point in life. As far as my job is concerned, the type of car i drive in no way affects my performance or affect my KPI. So that brings the question, why do people buy cars above Rm100k+?

100k, nothing i can talk
1. 5k can? My kapchai 2nd hand i buy
Source96
post Jun 1 2020, 02:22 AM

TechSavvy!
2,640 posts

Some being car enthusiasts, buying a dream car has always been something to achieve at any point of life.
Also, if people can afford, then let them be.
It can a financial burden, but coming to this context, driving experience matter most.
But of course not to the point 3k salary, pay 1k for car installment, this is overdoing it.
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jun 1 2020, 02:23 AM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:18 AM)
Well, if your the top performer of your company or in a high paying position to be able to afford a Rm100k+ car then i am pretty sure you are already well respected by your peers no matter what car you drive.

If your a guy working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you no matter what car you drive lol
stop projecting man, i mean im salaried worker 3k per month, and i own 2 300k+ cars. its easy just go into massive debt.

maybe some ppl just like spending money on fancy stuffs?
pisces88
post Jun 1 2020, 02:25 AM

3,968 posts

Bcos wanna award myself for 10yrs of work?
SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:25 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 02:19 AM)
Because i can, I've worked hard for my money and life is too short to keep driving my Proton Persona Elegance or anything of the same level

As you grow your income you upgrade your lifestyle too. As long as you do it within your means you will be OK

1. Faster car, and I need to go to places quickly
2. Much more comfortable
3. Helps close the deal. When you have two great agents, one drives a BMW and the other drives one-step lower, subconsciously you will be attracted to the Bimmer. My sales numbers as of May have equaled my previous year's
4. The Persona was too old. I could have jumped to a mid-level like a Civic or a Mazda 3 but I'd say why not quantum leap all the way to a German marque?
5. It was my dream car anyway, the 3 Series (or a C-Class)
6. As an extension to number (3), I am an insurance/takaful agent. Of course I have to drive a BMW/Merc/Audi laugh.gif
Well in your case, the type of car you drive does have a direct correlation with your job performance (Making sales). So it makes sense to increase your expenditure on your car cost because higher car expense equals higher sales which lead to high job performance
SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:28 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:25 AM)
Bcos wanna award myself for 10yrs of work?
It means you like cars and gain pleasure/entertainment from driving good expensive cars.
crador
post Jun 1 2020, 02:29 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:13 AM)

PS : Regarding the bragging rights/ sense of superiority. If you are doing a job or doing a business which earn you enough to own a Rm100k+ car. Then you will already be well respected by your peers no matter what type of car you use. Lets say you are the big boss of a local company earning upwards of Rm100000 a month and drive a kancil. I am pretty sure your worker and people around you will respect you regardless of what car you drive lol. But if your working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you and will even call you stupid for buying such a car.
Car - A-B enough
House - Can sleep, eat, rest, shelter enough
Food - Gives good nutrition enough
Clothes - Can cover body enough
Travel - see photo and watch documentary enough
so on so forth...

where is the drive / desire to progress in life?

SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:33 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(crador @ Jun 1 2020, 02:29 AM)
Car - A-B enough
House - Can sleep, eat, rest, shelter enough
Food - Gives good nutrition enough
Clothes - Can cover body enough
Travel - see photo and watch documentary enough
so on so forth...

where is the drive / desire to progress in life?
Well if you love driving good expensive cars, love traveling, like alot of space(big houses) or love fine dining then of course you would want those things in life and will work to get it.
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2020, 02:34 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:25 AM)
Well in your case, the type of car you drive does have a direct correlation with your job performance (Making sales). So it makes sense to increase your expenditure on your car cost because higher car expense equals higher sales which lead to high job performance

Yes, but I could have gone for some old-model BMW F30 3 Series, the 2017 318i, with only three cylinders, 1.5L engine that sells for only RM100k, my clients most likely would not know that it was quite cheap (cheaper than a new Civic)

Instead I went for the G20 330i (2L engine with 258 HP and 400 Nm) because I wanted the best-in-class. There isn't any better performing 3 Series or C-Class model in Malaysia (German marques only, not interested in Japanese or Korean)

So the first few reasons was as I claimed: fast car, to get to places quickly. And it had to be BMW or Merc

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2020, 02:37 AM
SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:37 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 02:34 AM)
Yes, but I could have gone for some old-model BMW F30 3 Series, the 2017 318i, with 3-cylinder, 1.5L engine that only cost RM100k, my clients most likely would not know that it was quite cheap (cheaper than a new Civic)

Instead I went for the G20 330i (2L engine with 258 HP and 400 Nm) because I wanted the best-in-class. There isn't any better performing 3 Series or C-Class model at the time of purchase in Malaysia (German marques only, not interested in Japanese or Korean)

So the first few reasons was as I claimed: fast car, to get to places quickly. And it had to be BMW or Merc
And after owning the car, did your job performance increase notably compared to before owning the car?

This post has been edited by ChenHo123: Jun 1 2020, 02:38 AM
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2020, 02:40 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:37 AM)
And after owning the car, did your job performance increase notably compared to before owning the car?
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 02:19 AM)
At this rate I will double my 2019 numbers. So easy to close the deals now. My confidence have shot through the roof. A number of k/tards hate my guts now

But that's fine, my clients can see that I am more gungho now and more have become repeat-customers

"the carriage maketh the man"

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2020, 02:42 AM
SUSChenHo123
post Jun 1 2020, 02:42 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 02:40 AM)
At this rate I will double my 2019 numbers
Woahh. It was definitely worth it then. Congratulation to you sir!
pisces88
post Jun 1 2020, 02:42 AM

3,968 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:28 AM)
It means you like cars and gain pleasure/entertainment from driving good expensive cars.
Actually i duno much about cars leh. Maybe jus to be more comfortable , as i drive alot, on average 2-3K km.
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2020, 02:44 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:42 AM)
Woahh. It was definitely worth it then. Congratulation to you sir!
Thanks. And at the same time I zoom through the highways on my new car feeling good. Just so much benefits

But wait, don't go buying into my tales if you work an office job. You would need a different type of motivation and/or reward. If your income is rm4k now, will buying a Mercedes ensure your salary to double next year? Unlikely

Different methods for different people
skycrawler
post Jun 1 2020, 02:45 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

long distance wise good car really helps ur driving

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0191sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:13 PM