Zanza the Divine
728 posts

Deleted wrong topic

This post has been edited by destiny017: Jun 17 2020, 06:44 AM
jimmylim85
post Jun 17 2020, 07:47 AM

iPhone world....
7,825 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 17 2020, 03:15 AM)
Yeah but alot of people would not accept the speed capped since they can register with DiGi with a bit higher price and will have virtually no limit.
Cool. 30mbps is really not bad if given a single user browsing videos or even Netflix.

Then again DiGi has a higher data quota but with a shitty internet speed doesn’t mean much. Prior to my cancellation of Digi Infinite 150 which I’ve been using more than 2 years. The last speedtest I got is somewhere 3-12 mbps which is pointless to continue paying for a hefty RM 150 a month.
glauncher
post Jun 17 2020, 08:28 AM

320 posts

Hi, i just signed up to maxis one go wifi, and went to a local store to buy router. The promoter recommended me TP link brand similar to below

https://www.allithypermarket.com.my/product...629942345&_ss=r

I see everyone mention about Huawei, can any sifu explain whats the difference between this and the Huawei B818? as the price difference a lot.

This post has been edited by glauncher: Jun 17 2020, 08:40 AM
lambox105
post Jun 17 2020, 09:23 AM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Jun 17 2020, 08:28 AM)
Hi, i just signed up to maxis one go wifi, and went to a local store to buy router. The promoter recommended me TP link brand similar to below

I see everyone mention about Huawei, can any sifu explain whats the difference between this and the Huawei B818? as the price difference a lot.

a lot difference
one cannot change band (tplink) one can change (b818)

one is lte cat 6 (tp link) one is lte cat 19 (b818)

If budget is not your concern get b715 (lte cat 9) [Shopee about RM600] or b618 (unlocked or t-mobile set) (lte cat 11) instead [Shopee about RM700] since they have stable rom

What i mean by stable rom here is wont get locked by telco in unwanted future forced updates

This post has been edited by lambox105: Jun 17 2020, 09:26 AM
glauncher
post Jun 17 2020, 09:46 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Jun 17 2020, 09:23 AM)
a lot difference
one cannot change band (tplink) one can change (b818)

one is lte cat 6 (tp link) one is lte cat 19 (b818)

If budget is not your concern get b715 (lte cat 9) [Shopee about RM600]  or b618 (unlocked or t-mobile set) (lte cat 11) instead [Shopee about RM700] since they have stable rom

What i mean by stable rom here is wont get locked by telco in unwanted future forced updates
Thanks mate. If my area speed normally 15-20mbps only, will the speed be different if i upgrade to b715? or is it upgrade or not also limited by Maxis coverage already?

This post has been edited by glauncher: Jun 17 2020, 10:44 AM
borneoman1
post Jun 17 2020, 10:32 AM

119 posts

To test the speed in my area, I bought the Hotlink Unlimited prepaid sim, then bought the 1 day pass, and the 1-hour no speed cap add-on. Only got around an average of 20Mbps.

This means for my location, the MaxisOne Go Wifi speed should be about the same if I subscribe for it, right?

If yes, very underwhelming...

This post has been edited by borneoman1: Jun 17 2020, 10:32 AM
jimmylim85
post Jun 17 2020, 10:34 AM

iPhone world....
7,825 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Jun 17 2020, 08:28 AM)

That TP-LINK model is just a Cat4 LTE with speed up to 150mbps and it’s just LTE not LTE-A meaning you’ll only able to use single band unlike HUAWEI B525 or B618 or even B818 that can connect two bands at the same time in which gets you LTE-A aka 4G+.

Anyway if speed is your concern and budget ain’t an issue. I would recommend getting this unlocked international set. https://shopee.com.my/product/11343598/6635387930?smtt=0.0.9 BTW I personally using this too.
glauncher
post Jun 17 2020, 11:20 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 17 2020, 10:34 AM)
That TP-LINK model is just a Cat4 LTE with speed up to 150mbps and it’s just LTE not LTE-A meaning you’ll only able to use single band unlike HUAWEI B525 or B618 or even B818 that can connect two bands at the same time in which gets you LTE-A aka 4G+.

Anyway if speed is your concern and budget ain’t an issue. I would recommend getting this unlocked international set. https://shopee.com.my/product/11343598/6635387930?smtt=0.0.9 BTW I personally using this too.
oh i see, thanks for your info bro
silentser
post Jun 17 2020, 03:14 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 17 2020, 10:34 AM)

BTW have you install hmanager for your b818, did you ever got 4g+? I don't know why my maxis here would never lock 4g+ only 4g
jimmylim85
post Jun 17 2020, 05:48 PM

iPhone world....
7,825 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 17 2020, 03:14 PM)
BTW have you install hmanager for your b818, did you ever got 4g+? I don't know why my maxis here would never lock 4g+ only 4g
Yes I did. Using android. Manage to let it setup B3&B7 and get 4G+ but I was lazy and set it back to Auto. Hoping maxis will use B38 in which Maxis doesn’t 😂.
jimmylim85
post Jun 17 2020, 08:36 PM

iPhone world....
7,825 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 17 2020, 03:14 PM)
ckimsem
post Jun 17 2020, 09:32 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 17 2020, 04:14 PM)
Some Huawei 4G modem will stay on 4G during idle, it’ll change to 4G+ once you’re running on high speed websites, e.g. speedtest.
Huawei B618 will remain on 4G+ network on idle, whereas B525 stays on 4G on idle.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jun 17 2020, 09:35 PM
silentser
post Jun 17 2020, 10:33 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jun 17 2020, 09:32 PM)
Some Huawei 4G modem will stay on 4G during idle, it’ll change to 4G+ once you’re running on high speed websites, e.g. speedtest.
Huawei B618 will remain on 4G+ network on idle, whereas B525 stays on 4G on idle.
Learned something new. Thank you
tai_digidestany
post Jun 18 2020, 06:52 AM

505 posts

nightzstar
post Jun 18 2020, 11:42 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

how is the speed after reach 300gb
wetrabbit
post Jun 18 2020, 11:56 AM

i can only get this plan online? cant walk to the store and get it?
jimmylim85
post Jun 18 2020, 01:02 PM

iPhone world....
7,825 posts

QUOTE(wetrabbit @ Jun 18 2020, 11:56 AM)
i can only get this plan online? cant walk to the store and get it?
You can walk in to Maxis Centre just that RM 1
Modem contract may not in stock.
lambox105
post Jun 18 2020, 05:55 PM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Jun 17 2020, 09:46 AM)
Thanks mate. If my area speed normally 15-20mbps only, will the speed be different if i upgrade to b715? or is it upgrade or not also limited by Maxis coverage already?
There may be an improvement on speed but this is location dependent (places not congested will get improvement)

At least if u use b715 & above equivalent modem, the connection is more stable than that of tp-link (VERY VERY less fluctuation between towers)
ckimsem
post Jun 19 2020, 08:47 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 17 2020, 11:33 PM)
Learned something new. Thank you
Since you said the speed will be capped at 30mbps after 300gb consumption, please share if there's any further capping after more usage, like after 500 or more, TQ.
destiny017
post Jun 19 2020, 04:12 PM

Zanza the Divine
728 posts

Speed is nice despite living at ppr flat, better than my celcom postpaid 148rm 15 mbps....devil.gif

30 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:50 AM