Maxis One Go Wifi, Now with unlimited(?) quota

jimmylim85
post Jun 1 2020, 01:01 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Brembo Performance @ May 28 2020, 11:35 PM)
Have been using this for a few days now and I can tell yall, EVERYTHING IS A FKING LIE

1) Speed is heavily controlled and/or fluctuated
I can get 2Mbps from 8am-10pm, 20Mbps from 11pm-7am

2) Dont bother for torrenting, torrent not working at all it just wont connect

3) Speed is super inconsistent, unlimited data or speed seems a joke since I dont even get consistent speed.

Side notes:
-My modem get constant 4G signal
-My phone maxis 128 plan speed no issue
-Called CS they claim no "limit" or any "speed blocks"
-My streamyx actually gets better and consistent speed.. which defeats my point of getting another line (streamyx for parents to watch youtube so i need another dedicated line for gaming/downloads but my area no UNIFI AIR coverage yet)

Disapointed with this.. unlimited speed and quota? Sure!

but what they dint point out is
-FLUCTUATING SPEED NOT DEPENDING ON SIGNAL
-NO TORRENT OR HEAVY DOWNLOADS
Technically many telco provider doesn’t allow torrents download. For example, Digi i150 doesn’t allow torrent but maybe very low Kb like less than 10kb/sec. while Digi PostPaid which have limited data quota package allows you to download full speed for torrents.
jimmylim85
post Jun 1 2020, 01:08 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ May 29 2020, 10:08 PM)
sorry to hear about your experience.

I have just registered the plan today and all great so far. Any wireless technology depends on area as the CS agent said.

My speed can go up to 100Mb ansd stable around 80-90.

Im using B818 modem and got great signal at my area.

Edit: did not try torrent yet
Mind telling me which HUAWEI B818 model you’re getting? And where can I get this B818. Thanks
jimmylim85
post Jun 1 2020, 08:25 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 1 2020, 01:51 AM)
Model B818-263. got from Shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/Huawei-B-818-263-4-Ca...7898.6122544789

Disclamer: Taiwan telco set. Might get sim-lock if in the future if the Telco decide to force update the modem. If it get sim lock, will become a very expensive door stopper.

Tried a few games  rclxm9.gif 

Apex Legend and CS:GO able to play without lag, but since it is midnight now cant give opinion yet. CS:GO ping is around 45-60ms, averaging at 45-46 ms most of the time.

Anyone know if can make Apex Legend showing ping? I might do a video showing the experience.
Funny thing that HUAWEI looks like not telco type. I have a Huawei B525-23a which is not telco lock. Is the B818 admin menu shows HUAWEI or something different?

If the CS:GO average 40-45ms ping I assume that’s the lowest possible on 4G Maxis connection as I’m having that ping time too.
jimmylim85
post Jun 1 2020, 04:08 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 1 2020, 12:17 PM)
There is no branding of other telco at all even in menus, but got people in the B818 community that directly ask the seller and the seller inform unlock taiwan telco set.

Even got another person directly contact huawei customer service, and the staff informed the same thing.

There is one seller in shopee that advertise he is selling International set, instead of Telco, but the price is around RM 700.

You are using wireless internet too?
Yes I’m using Digi i150 with HUAWEI e5168 under telco PLAY for 2 years now and HUAWEI B525 unlocked unit for my Maxus Share 48
jimmylim85
post Jun 2 2020, 12:44 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Can HUAWEI B818-263 runs hwmanager or e5168 app for configuration and dB details?
jimmylim85
post Jun 4 2020, 05:07 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Guys anyone ordered Maxis one go WiFi via online order? Still waiting for my Sim pack and modem to arrive 🤔
jimmylim85
post Jun 4 2020, 11:36 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Finally receive my Sim pack with modem package via GDEX. It’s send out yesterday. Seems like during night period the speed is capped. Avg I’m getting somewhere 12mbps to 35mbps. Will try it 7am how fast can it go. I’ve tried using maxis app to check data usage balance. Turns out it just show unlimited usage.
jimmylim85
post Jun 5 2020, 07:13 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 1 2020, 01:51 AM)
Model B818-263. got from Shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/Huawei-B-818-263-4-Ca...7898.6122544789

Disclamer: Taiwan telco set. Might get sim-lock if in the future if the Telco decide to force update the modem. If it get sim lock, will become a very expensive door stopper.

Tried a few games  rclxm9.gif 

Apex Legend and CS:GO able to play without lag, but since it is midnight now cant give opinion yet. CS:GO ping is around 45-60ms, averaging at 45-46 ms most of the time.

Anyone know if can make Apex Legend showing ping? I might do a video showing the experience.
Bro I forgot to ask you, the B818 you bought came from Taiwan given what type of power plug? 2 pin china plug or 3 pin UK plug?
jimmylim85
post Jun 6 2020, 09:32 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ Jun 5 2020, 09:27 PM)
Hi Maxis Go Wifi user,

Which Maxis APN setting you guys are using?

Beside the default Maxis APN - unet

Any other APN setting?

Does different Maxis APN have effect on speed?

Thanks in advance.
No different. My maxisshare 48 uses maxisBB

jimmylim85
post Jun 6 2020, 09:35 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

My maxis able to pull this speed in the morning 😂

Tested on iPhone XS Max. Intend to get HUAWEI B818 😏

Cause my B5186 able to pull somewhere 112mbps max only.

jimmylim85
post Jun 6 2020, 08:55 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 6 2020, 05:37 PM)
B818 getting higher everyday better be fast...

Im not sure my speed is capped or not.. but speedtest no longer showing 90-100Mbps for me now. Average 30Mbps...that enough for me for download 🤣
Yeah. That Taiwan model price from RM 521 now at 600 mark 😤

Average 30mbps?? Speed being capped for over usage?

I’ve notice peak hours I’m getting 12-30mbps 🤦
jimmylim85
post Jun 6 2020, 10:41 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 6 2020, 09:05 PM)
Not sure.... Can only confirm again once it reset. But meh... Even if the speed is like 100Mbps, YouTube will only use 3-4 Mb to load. Netflix 2-3 Mb. So i dont feel mucj different 🤣 i will use another month or so then will try DiGi

I set the VPN into the modem (damn fuking hard to find l2tp vpn now days, why huawei dont support openvpn) so don't feel the throttle at all
Okay keep me posted whether max is throttle the speed. But maxis speed sucks during peak hours 😓

I’ve finally made the decision to get HUAWEI B818-263 but the international version / unlocked. Cause previously I also bought a B525 23a international version.
jimmylim85
post Jun 9 2020, 11:21 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ Jun 8 2020, 10:26 AM)
Hi .. may I know where you get your B818-263? Mine to share the site.... thanks
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.bOpSG

It’s selling very fast too
jimmylim85
post Jun 11 2020, 10:56 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 11 2020, 08:56 PM)
The FUP should be 500GB or even 750GB+ at least since people pay at premium price ph34r.gif
Dream on bro, maxis will NEVER do such a thing for customer. I’ve contact maxis today question them why did they throttle our speed so bad during 8pm-12am. They just give you cold answer is the MCO period reason 🤦
jimmylim85
post Jun 12 2020, 07:13 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Finally received my Huawei B818-263 Global Set

And this the speed I able to achieve at this hour. Will try again 6-7am for the best speed possible

Because my iPhone XS Max able to achieve this speed 😆

jimmylim85
post Jun 13 2020, 08:28 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

This morning. Best achievable speed

jimmylim85
post Jun 13 2020, 08:36 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 12 2020, 02:02 AM)
Hard to answer that, 1. Speed is different from area to area and depends on the modem/device you will be using. 2. This plan sort of categories the speed based on what you are using it for. what are you looking at? Pure downloading (not including streaming) or social media {including YouTube)
Surely they won't layan cause

1. You are talking to customer service agent, Which i am also in the same line of work. We could not care less regarding complaints cause we have no power of whatsoever. I have been a CS to at least 4 big well known company, (telco, handphone brand, hotel) and NONE of them have any platform for us to convey your complaints , we could only listen and say bullshit to get you off the phone. Problem with the thing you are using, yes we can help. We have many level of department to help with that. Don't like the thing you are using, too bad for you, your complaint will just end there. Want us to convey the message to the manager? Sure, but still it will just end there.

2. It already stated in policy. They could just say that to you.
Any good VPN to introduce for this HUAWEI B818 router your boost surfing speed? 😏
jimmylim85
post Jun 14 2020, 04:56 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 14 2020, 02:09 PM)
Damn yooo that nice speed. I got 3 more days before reset. Right now still seeing under 30 Mbps no matter day or night.

That the sad part about huawei modem. Can only use l2tp protocol for VPN..... Waiting for some Philippines coder to make openVPN for B818.

The only i can recommend is expressVPN if you want to use the vpn for inside modem as it still support l2tp.

If you don't mind to install vpn in every of your device. Can buy surfshark account from shopee for like 10 bucks.
that expressVPN is like RM 450 a year sweat.gif but i wonder does the VPN really improves the speed usage
jimmylim85
post Jun 15 2020, 02:24 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jun 13 2020, 08:42 PM)
Great, sacrifice a little money in exchange for better speed.
Did you take Maxis ZTE modem?
Yeap. Took the Maxis ZTE modem too and planning to let go cause I wouldn’t be having it as backup modem.
jimmylim85
post Jun 15 2020, 02:32 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 14 2020, 08:48 PM)
hmm.gif why this modem appear anywhere in forum..any special?not really expert of modem
Because HUAWEI B618 and B818 is one of the best 4G modem in the market.

0.0298sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:38 PM