Money in EPF vs Unit Trusts

TSEnemy
post May 15 2020, 12:50 PM, updated 6y ago

73 posts

Let me first start by admitting that I am almost clueless about Unit Trusts. However a few years back I decided to support a friend who is a Public Mutual agent, and ever since funds have been withdrawn from my EPF to go into unit trusts that he manages. But it seems like his unit trusts have been underperforming (versus EPF's return) for the past few years since we started.

Now he's asking to withdraw even more from my EPF. Should I stop all of this and just keep the funds in EPF? Or let him continue with the unit trusts?
powerlinkers
post May 15 2020, 12:56 PM

652 posts

If you want to buy unit trust, now is the good time. Stock market is down.

Most of the time: EPF is better, very low risk, guaranteed by government. No charges to sell back.
waghyu
post May 15 2020, 12:57 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Enemy @ May 15 2020, 12:50 PM)
Let me first start by admitting that I am almost clueless about Unit Trusts. However a few years back I decided to support a friend who is a Public Mutual agent, and ever since funds have been withdrawn from my EPF to go into unit trusts that he manages. But it seems like his unit trusts have been underperforming (versus EPF's return) for the past few years since we started.

Now he's asking to withdraw even more from my EPF. Should I stop all of this and just keep the funds in EPF? Or let him continue with the unit trusts?
It’s a good way for Unit Trusts agents to siphon your EPF and immediate profit for agents.

Unit trust return also not that good anyway minus fees year fees agent fees. Better leave it in EPF.
yunodie
post May 15 2020, 01:07 PM

475 posts

it is a no brainer. Withdrawing from EPF to unit trusts is not a good option. Why?
1. Buying into the unit trust, you have to pay 3% Management fee. Imagine, the trust have not even started making money for you, you are already at a -3% position.
2. There is no guarantee that you will make money. In fact, some funds are losing value. At least EPF is guaranteed to give you at least the prevalent FD rate.

Some may argue, the market is cyclical, when times are good, it will the losses will be recouped if we look at 5y -10y horizon. Right, the same can be said about EPF, risk free.

There were fear about EPF being a piggy bank of the government before due to mismanagement of government finances which is true to a certain extent. However, i want to believe that EPF is one of the well managed government entity that we have in Malaysia just like LHDN/Khazanah/PNB/BNM. The people running it day to day are professionals and are the creme de la creme of the society. It is the politicians sitting in the Boardroom that are creating all the problems.
l4nunm4l4y4
post May 15 2020, 01:07 PM

749 posts

They say to sell Unit Trusts during MCO.
I didn't and I lost about RM10k.
prophetjul
post May 15 2020, 01:28 PM

12,279 posts

Don't TRUST them. Only a handful beats EPF returns.
xcxa23
post May 15 2020, 01:32 PM

2,649 posts

Whats the unit trust you bought?
I believe most fund dropped due to covid19, excluding precious metal
TSEnemy
post May 15 2020, 01:40 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ May 15 2020, 01:32 PM)
Whats the unit trust you bought?
I believe most fund dropped due to covid19, excluding precious metal
To be honest I don't really know. Just that when I met him about 2-3 months ago, I know that only some are positive, but still nowhere near to cover the losses.
Thank you guys for giving your opinions. So far I'm seeing that it's best to just keep the funds in EPF.
tadashi987
post May 15 2020, 01:43 PM

2,106 posts

it depends if u know how to choose a quality funds, if u bet on good quality funds yeah, your annual return could be more than EPF return

but how many people out there know how to screen out quality funds to invest?

majority are just persuaded by sale oriented agents (which most likely dunno or not well versed on quality funds as well) to take out EPF monie and invest in funds.

these sale hold no responsibility in your investment decision yet earn on your investment's sale charge tho
doomx
post May 15 2020, 02:10 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

majority of time if u let your friend manage your UT, sure koyak one

i got my friend to manage my UT also, money burn, i ask to sold the remaining and then i took back whatever i have and manage my own UT buys

They all do part time, they only start to care when u stop giving them money. My friend also asked me to draw out my EPF, which i didnt cause no way can beat EPF return.

encikbuta
post May 15 2020, 02:26 PM

275 posts

so like most of the respondents here, i'm voting to keep the money in EPF.

it's just so hard to find a unit trust fund that could give you more than 5 - 6% p.a. returns. i'd say picking an EPF-beating fund is almost like gambling.

be good with your friend, be better with your money smile.gif
roy_zu
post May 15 2020, 02:40 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

I made the mistake not once but twice. First time into CIMB Mutual Fund. Lost 5-7%. Took out the fund and put back in EPF. Then, 2nd time with Kenaga. Lost 8-9%. (This is including commission but not including the potential profit I would have gain from EPF).

lyc1982
post May 15 2020, 02:42 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

based on feedback here...epf still the safest option to keep more money in it
el_buho
post May 15 2020, 02:52 PM

13 posts

Stay away from local unit trusts like a plague. You are not going to make money out of it. The agents and the FI will get paid no matter what the economic climate will be. At least EPF guarantees minimum 2% profit if im not mistaken.
apathen
post May 15 2020, 05:14 PM

322 posts

your friend didn't tell you that you can diy invest your epf money with 0 - 0.5% sales charge only ?

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/-/kwsp-salurkan-rm1...ortfolio-luaran

those agents gonna hate me here
precept66
post May 15 2020, 06:21 PM

1,054 posts

Divest all my UT back to EPF years back. No regrets.
afif737
post May 15 2020, 06:24 PM

103 posts

My best fiend is a unit trust agent, but he knows that I really dislike unit trust agents,with a passion haha. I'm not generalizing but I can say that 99% of unit trust agents don't care about your savings or how much money you make. They only care about their commission. For me personally, I don't touch my EPF money.
cempedaklife
post May 15 2020, 08:01 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

Epf is one of the safest investment. Not many can earn more than epf. Even if there is, its higher risk anyway.

Having said that, i expect this year epf divvy not that good. Hence i dropped some into unit trust from epf for the first time. A bit late to the market. But im paper earning close to 10% in a month time. Banking on the recovery of the market.

Now a bit regret didn't drop more.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: May 15 2020, 08:01 PM
ckdenion
post May 15 2020, 08:44 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

my own preference is not to invest using EPF since EPF itself is not that bad either. also by using EPF to invest into UT through UT agent, the total fee charged will be 3%. so yea the UT you choose at least must perform at least more than 7% to grow more in the long run.
David_Yang
post May 15 2020, 08:57 PM

775 posts

No good idea to put money out of EPF and put in unit trust.

But certainly it is a good idea to invest in the stock market.

Usually people first contribute the maximum to EPF (think it is 60000) and then put the rest in FD and stock market.
saintmikal
post May 15 2020, 08:57 PM

157 posts

Why take EPF money to dabble? It's a safety net.

There is always PRS, suppose to be EPF back-up plan. From my experience, if not for the savings on income tax, I would stay far away from PRS.

ckdenion
post May 15 2020, 09:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ May 15 2020, 08:57 PM)

There is always PRS, suppose to be EPF back-up plan. From my experience, if not for the savings on income tax, I would stay far away from PRS.
i do agree with you. there are so many good funds to choose from asides those from PRS.
howszat
post May 15 2020, 09:32 PM

2,932 posts

You are clueless, and his unit trusts have been underperforming.

Perfect reasons to keep in EPF.

(and give him a kick in the butt, but that's optional).

SUShioniq
post May 15 2020, 09:56 PM

132 posts

Been invested in public unit trust for 5 years with monthly top up, even bought the newly launched fund with extra 1% unit. But sadly since day 1 losing money. The launch price is RM0.25 and continue dropping till RM0.1x.after 5 years. In the end I gave up and withdraw with net loss few k not counting the interest if put into bank. Most money paid as mgmt fee only
cxjiek
post May 15 2020, 10:12 PM

119 posts

Check out EPF making unrealised loss of 1.4bil in 2018, also negative reserve of 9bil in 2018. Donno why EPF yet to publish their 2019 report, I bet the loss and reverse might be even greater.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/974...t=1564377639847

EPF declares stable dividends every year. When they perform well, they will keep the remaining profits so that future years can still declare. This time around market has only performed well in 1 out of the past 5 years, until the reserve also become negative. Why EPF can declare 5% dividend in 2019 while Tabung Haji cannot? Not to worry as EPF has guaranteed dividend 2.5%, but donno where they will get the money.

EPF recently (commenced this month) lowered fee to transfer to Unit Trust via i invest at 0% fee (before was 0.5%) and through agent to 1.5% (before was 3%). Not sure why EPF giving such an incentive right now?

Making profit or loss depend on when you transferred (if you had transferred 15 years ago, UT might have outperformed EPF. if 5 years ago, most likely it is loss)

There are few cases where transfer from EPF to unit trust might work:
-If you can predict future market performance (if you think market will gain higher than epf 5% can also able to cover fee of 0%-1.5%)
-To reallocate between equity and bond (EPF is roughly 50% equity 50% bond, switching to unit trust can let you allocate higher portion to either which one you want more)
-To reallocate diversify to specific country market

This post has been edited by cxjiek: May 15 2020, 10:24 PM
SUSyklooi
post May 15 2020, 10:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cxjiek @ May 15 2020, 10:12 PM)
Check out EPF making unrealised loss of 1.4bil in 2018, also negative reserve of 9bil in 2018. Donno why EPF yet to publish their 2019 report, I bet the loss and reverse might be even greater.
that was ending Dec 2018....1 year later they can still gives 5.45% dividend rate for year 2019... devil.gif
potatoes
post May 16 2020, 09:10 AM

169 posts

No not worth it, the benefits you gain from EPF are way more than what you risk in mutual funds. I am not against investing in unit trust, in fact I made quite a handsome returns from them. However, EPF is your retirement fund hence, preserving and protecting your funds is the priority. It is your golden nest eggs
ckdenion
post May 16 2020, 09:17 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ May 15 2020, 09:56 PM)
Been invested in public unit trust for 5 years with monthly top up, even bought the newly launched fund with extra 1% unit. But sadly since day 1 losing money. The launch price is RM0.25 and continue dropping till RM0.1x.after 5 years. In the end I gave up and withdraw with net loss few k not counting the interest if put into bank. Most money paid as mgmt fee only
most people get to know of unit trust through Public Mutual. PM doesn't have a lot of good funds to choose from. you can open an account and waive agent commission through eUnitTrust or FSM. im from Phillip eUnitTrust btw. if you still wanna have a portion of your portfolio in UT and will like choose from more than 30 fund houses, you can deposit investment fund yourself. eUnitTrust/FSM is suitable for you then.

QUOTE(potatoes @ May 16 2020, 09:10 AM)
No not worth it, the benefits you gain from EPF are way more than what you risk in mutual funds. I am not against investing in unit trust, in fact I made quite a handsome returns from them. However, EPF is your retirement fund hence, preserving and protecting your funds is the priority. It is your golden nest eggs
yes agree with you. some agents advise clients to invest from EPF is because clients will mostly agree since they do not need to fork out money from their pocket. really sad to see this, i have a client whom has less than 10 years to retire, invest into a bad performing china equity fund from PM... regretted his decision.
Eurobeater
post May 20 2020, 01:30 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(cxjiek @ May 15 2020, 10:12 PM)

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/974...t=1564377639847

EPF declares stable dividends every year. When they perform well, they will keep the remaining profits so that future years can still declare. This time around market has only performed well in 1 out of the past 5 years, until the reserve also become negative. Why EPF can declare 5% dividend in 2019 while Tabung Haji cannot? Not to worry as EPF has guaranteed dividend  2.5%, but donno where they will get the money.

EPF recently (commenced this month) lowered fee to transfer to Unit Trust via i invest at 0% fee (before was 0.5%) and through agent to 1.5% (before was 3%). Not sure why EPF giving such an incentive right now?

Making profit or loss depend on when you transferred (if you had transferred 15 years ago, UT might have outperformed EPF. if 5 years ago, most likely it is loss)

There are few cases where transfer from EPF to unit trust might work:
-If you can predict future market performance (if you think market will gain higher than epf 5% can also able to cover fee of 0%-1.5%)
-To reallocate between equity and bond (EPF is roughly 50% equity 50% bond, switching to unit trust can let you allocate higher portion to either which one you want more)
-To reallocate diversify to specific country market
Now I'm no accountant. But I believe those numbers you are seeing are the effects of EPF switching to MFRS9 accounting standard in 2018. You can see that the main reason why the reserves and the total comprehensive income became negative is due to a revaluation of their equity assets from using AFS to FVOCI. MFRS9 includes some kind of impairment provision into the revaluation if I'm not mistaken, hence dragging down the revaluation.

If you look at their statement of P&L, it is still healthy. Retained Profits increased from RM 3.8 bil to RM 5.2 bil. Meaning their investment activities are still sound.

As to why so long 2019 not out, I don't know. But EPF is not alone. Pretty much all the government bodies have yet to release their 2019 annual report.

This post has been edited by Eurobeater: May 20 2020, 01:33 PM
romuluz777
post May 20 2020, 02:25 PM

2,220 posts

Don't withdraw EPF funds to buy UTs.
Keep it in EPF.

kelvinfixx
post May 20 2020, 02:29 PM

1,590 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ May 15 2020, 08:57 PM)

Yes, but the real purpose of PRS is not make sure you contribute diligently for a period of time, force investing.
kelvinfixx
post May 20 2020, 02:36 PM

1,590 posts

Don't do it if you don't know what you are doing.
funboy555
post May 20 2020, 03:09 PM

74 posts

My personal opinion is that taking EPF (which almost guarantee you minimum 5-6% return) and putting it into Unit Trust is totally not a best move.

Like earlier someone mentioned, a lot of those friends as agent will tell you take your EPF out and invest into those Equity funds, it can generate 18% - 40% return from what you see in the past. Then you don't need to take out your own money (Cash) so you wont feel you are losing out. In fact, when you withdraw EPF and invest into UT, last time usually invest using EPF will have 3% sales charge for those growth fund, which means before your investment start to make money for you, you got penalised to pay commission to the company and your friend by paying 3%. To earn back this 3% is not like this year up 3% then you gain back, you need it to up at least 3.5% just to breakeven. Dont forget about your EPF return that give u 5-6% returns.

I am not saying Unit Trust is not a good investment tools, but just now using your EPF. Invest your cash or savings and understand the type of Uint Trust. A lot of agents out there introduce you Unit Trust which is growth fund (high risk) and comes with high sales charge and management fee. It is suitable to you? Not necessary, but is suitable to your friend because he can earn commission. I am not blaming the agents, they are finding a living too, but you must understand your own risk appetite and investment horizon (short term, long term) and the liquidity of your cash.

Hope it helps explain your concern.
backspace66
post May 20 2020, 05:09 PM

2,139 posts

It depends, if u are familiar with investimg through the stock market or unit trust, i believe you are also familiar with the risk.

I actually started to invest in unit trust via epf i-invest around 2 month ago. I also invest in the stock market and unit trust directly and aware of the risk. I also control my exposure by allowing only a certain percentage in the unit trust. I also have managed to earn roughly 3x of the 2019 dividend ( percentage wise for the amount invested) for this short period.

Please do not follow the advise of unit trust agent, learn about investing yourself and get familiar with all the charges involved. By the way all sales charge for EPF MIS through i-invest is 0%. The one who tell you otherwise is just not updated and the previous sales charge coupled with listening to their agent without any understanding of investment caused a lot of people to get burned.

This post has been edited by backspace66: May 20 2020, 05:13 PM
SUSBora Prisoner
post May 20 2020, 10:47 PM

532 posts

The only person making money here is your ‘friend’

Jaclow
post May 20 2020, 10:52 PM

171 posts

It is about averaging monthly..If u not consistent..better dont..
klangboy83
post Dec 2 2020, 05:19 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ May 20 2020, 05:09 PM)
It depends, if u are familiar with investimg through the stock market or unit trust, i believe you are also familiar with the risk.

I actually started to invest in unit trust via epf i-invest around 2 month ago. I also invest in the stock market and unit trust directly and aware of the risk.  I also control  my exposure by allowing only a certain percentage in the unit trust. I also have managed to earn roughly 3x of the 2019 dividend ( percentage wise for the amount invested) for this short period.

Please do not follow the advise of unit trust agent, learn about investing yourself and get familiar with all the charges involved. By the way all sales charge for EPF MIS through i-invest is 0%. The one who tell you otherwise is just not updated and the previous sales charge coupled with listening to their agent without any understanding of investment caused a lot of people to get burned.
I initially invested some elf money into mutual fund through investment agent. This year, I asked whether got any difference if I invest directly through I-invest, he said cannot, EPF withdrawal can only be done through thumb print using agent's help... is he BS me? do I need to do thumb print withdrawal with I-invest website?

GrumpyNooby
post Dec 2 2020, 05:23 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Dec 2 2020, 05:19 PM)
I initially invested some elf money into mutual fund through investment agent. This year, I asked whether got any difference if I invest directly through I-invest, he said cannot, EPF withdrawal can only be done through thumb print using agent's help... is he BS me? do I need to do thumb print withdrawal with I-invest website?
iInvest needs to have existing account from supporting platforms: FSM, eUT, PM, Principal, etc
Otherwise, you have to it the manual way.

Example 1: If you select a fund from Principal

Example 2: If you select a fund from Kenanga

Best way is to have/open an account with FSM (iFast) or eUT (Philip Mutual)

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Dec 2 2020, 05:29 PM
taiping...
post Dec 2 2020, 05:46 PM

1,056 posts

Ive always wanted to withdraw my epf and putting it into UT

But after reading this thread, am glad i didnt
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 2 2020, 05:48 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 2 2020, 05:46 PM)
Ive always wanted to withdraw my epf and putting it into UT

But after reading this thread, am glad i didnt
Why glad that you didn't?
backspace66
post Dec 2 2020, 06:01 PM

2,139 posts

That is pure BS, he just want to earn partly from the sales charge. If you buy yourself from epf-mis portal, you can get 0 % sales charge and he will not earn anything from you.

Just as a reminder, 0% sales charge is temporary until next year april IIRC. As for FSM , the sales charge for epf-mis is 0% even after the next april 2021 but other fund house such as public mutual will start to charge 0.5% afterwards.

Register for FSM and public mutual online and proceed to invest through epf-mis.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM
whirlwind
post Dec 2 2020, 06:04 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

You don’t need thumb print withdrawal

Go get your online epf log in and try it yourself
Many good and helpful people here that can help you if you encounter any issues
taiping...
post Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 2 2020, 05:48 PM)
Why glad that you didn't?
Seems public mutual fee is not worth it
backspace66
post Dec 2 2020, 06:09 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM)
Better learn and update man. All the complain is before the existence of epf-mis portal(august last year) which enable you to invest yourself with zero or near zero sales charge (public mutual 0.5% after next april 2021)
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM

24,406 posts

Majority of unit trust in Malaysia are rubbish. I will say 90% of them.
Only some are good ones. The good ones easily 10-20% returns every year. Living proof.

Public mutual was never any good. Never buy unit trust based on brands.
whirlwind
post Dec 2 2020, 06:35 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

Since it’s still 0% sales charge, you should grab this opportunity

And yes, like all the sifus say there’s so many other better funds available in epf-mis
taiping...
post Dec 2 2020, 08:36 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Dec 2 2020, 06:09 PM)
Better learn and update man. All the complain is before the existence of epf-mis portal(august last year) which enable you to invest yourself with zero or near zero sales charge (public mutual 0.5% after next april 2021)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM)
Only some are good ones. The good ones easily 10-20% returns every year. Living proof.

QUOTE(whirlwind @ Dec 2 2020, 06:35 PM)
Since it’s still 0% sales charge, you should grab this opportunity

And yes, like all the sifus say there’s so many other better funds available in epf-mis
Base on history, EPF returns are doing much better
Am not going to take out money from EPf to put into UT

nanan75
post Dec 2 2020, 08:39 PM

434 posts

think 20 times before parking money in UT. I havent had good experience, to me let it compund in EPF is better.

Or if you can take out, buy gold.
cklimm
post Dec 2 2020, 08:42 PM

2,338 posts

Although a PB Bank shareholder, I used to be a PB Mutual hater due to the weak return over the years, BUT they surprised me this year

This post has been edited by cklimm: Dec 2 2020, 08:46 PM
ky33li
post Dec 2 2020, 09:16 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM)

agree. our local fund managers underperform as compared to overseas one. Not to mention the various sales charge and fees.
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 09:17 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 2 2020, 08:36 PM)
Base on history, EPF returns are doing much better
Am not going to take out money from EPf to put into UT
That's only true if
1) you pick lousy funds which is majority of what's being sold. So chances of picking the lousy fund is very high considering majority of it is lousy
2) you blindly buy without what fund to buy (ie listen to agents)

That's why learning how to analyze unit trust is very important.

QUOTE(ky33li @ Dec 2 2020, 09:16 PM)
agree. our local fund managers underperform as compared to overseas one. Not to mention the various sales charge and fees.
Overseas also the same. Only a handful of funds are good to buy overseas.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 2 2020, 09:19 PM
ky33li
post Dec 2 2020, 09:21 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 09:17 PM)
That's only true if
1) you pick lousy funds which is majority of what's being sold. So chances of picking the lousy fund is very high considering majority of it is lousy
2) you blindly buy without what fund to buy (ie listen to agents)

That's why learning how to analyze unit trust is very important.
Overseas also the same. Only a handful of funds are good to buy overseas.
Ramjade, may i know why you buy from eunitrust sg instead of fsm sg? Also, do you mind sharing which fund u bought in Singapore? TQ
cnks
post Dec 2 2020, 09:26 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 2 2020, 09:42 PM)
Although a PB Bank shareholder, I used to be a PB Mutual hater due to the weak return over the years, BUT they surprised me this year

I got some surprise this year as well. One of my 3 years old fund yield 30% return (10% p.a. on average), sold it already. Another fund I bought early this year is seeing 27% return already, despite less than a year. Previous years all my funds are either at loss or below 5% return.
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 09:36 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Dec 2 2020, 09:21 PM)
Ramjade, may i know why you buy from eunitrust sg instead of fsm sg? Also, do you mind sharing which fund u bought in Singapore? TQ
FSM SG have quarterly platform fees while eUT SG does not have quarterly fees.
Both zero service charge. So why should I pay FSM SG for quarterly platform fees when eUT SG is not charging me? What benefits I will get from FSM SG to warrant that extra charge? Nothing.
Both have the same fund.

Schoders asia growth
Blackrock World Tech funds
- You can pick any tech funds, is just I like this one

I only have this 2 and they are good. Giving me almost 30% returns already.

ear_hear
post Mar 31 2021, 08:02 AM

19 posts

Any EPF-MIS funds exposed to US market?
MUM
post Mar 31 2021, 08:50 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(ear_hear @ Mar 31 2021, 08:02 AM)
Any EPF-MIS funds exposed to US market?
Try check this out?
It is at abt 39.5%
Principal global titan fund
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...c=global-search
ben3003
post Mar 31 2021, 08:55 AM

10,859 posts

i think cannot go wrong with good funds. i using hit and run method. anytime my epf fund i invest using FSM hit 10% i will take out. then put back in again. cos sometimes fund like china one very volatile, anytime can hit 10% in 1 month. if i can hit 10%, i already get so much better return compare to EPF.
tehoice
post Mar 31 2021, 02:16 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ May 15 2020, 02:40 PM)
I made the mistake not once but twice. First time into CIMB Mutual Fund. Lost 5-7%. Took out the fund and put back in EPF. Then, 2nd time with Kenaga. Lost 8-9%. (This is including commission but not including the potential profit I would have gain from EPF).
may i know which fund did you invest in?

if you are in KGF and been investing consistently, you should be positive right now instead.
ChessRook
post Mar 31 2021, 02:45 PM

375 posts

I think this keep in EPF vs use EPF money to invest in UT, depends on the risk appetite of the individual. For example, 59 vs 24 year old, a person with millionaire parents, person with 6 dependents vs bachelor with no family, etc.

Also important is that the person has some financial knowledge, personal interest and time to analyse UT.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Mar 31 2021, 02:46 PM
leileichungy
post Mar 31 2021, 03:13 PM

102 posts

UT is not like share market, u put in today, then tomorrow cash out. Is a long term saving for compounding purpose ma.

If you wanna see a big untung, then go forex, or those money game.

Just my 2cent.

Recently I got look into some equity fund that has average around 8-10% return. Not bad what?
no6
post Mar 31 2021, 05:04 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 09:36 PM)
FSM SG have quarterly platform fees while eUT SG does not have quarterly fees.
Both zero service charge. So why should I pay FSM SG for quarterly platform fees when eUT SG is not charging me? What benefits I will get from FSM SG to warrant that extra charge? Nothing.
Both have the same fund.

Schoders asia growth
Blackrock World Tech funds
- You can pick any tech funds, is just I like this one

I only have this 2 and they are good. Giving me almost 30% returns already.
eUT SG --> this one ? https://unittrust.poems.com.sg/
any difference from this --> https://www.poems.com.sg/
Ramjade
post Mar 31 2021, 05:36 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Mar 31 2021, 05:04 PM)
eUT SG --> this one ? https://unittrust.poems.com.sg/
any difference from this --> https://www.poems.com.sg/
Same.
pinksapphire
post Mar 31 2021, 07:35 PM

1,264 posts

Came across this thread, then it reminds me of what I read on EPF regarding 0% UT for certain fund house.

Are alot of you guys venturing into this still since it's almost ending (April deadline)? I heard good returns on it, but for myself, I try not to touch my EPF, just because.
roy_zu
post Mar 31 2021, 11:18 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 31 2021, 02:16 PM)
may i know which fund did you invest in?

if you are in KGF and been investing consistently, you should be positive right now instead.
Can't recall the fund. Yes, it might turn profit now. But no regrets for me since after I moved the fund to EPF, still getting good returns without headache.
DragonReine
post Apr 1 2021, 12:27 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Mar 31 2021, 07:35 PM)
Came across this thread, then it reminds me of what I read on EPF regarding 0% UT for certain fund house.

Are alot of you guys venturing into this still since it's almost ending (April deadline)? I heard good returns on it, but for myself, I try not to touch my EPF, just because.
I put some into Public Mutual (global select fund n singapore equities) as well as principal (one of the China-exposure funds).

Not looking or expecting super big profits, but just want diversify. So far Public Mutual funds are up 15% unrealised profit, Principal is -3% laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 1 2021, 12:27 AM
tehoice
post Apr 1 2021, 10:10 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Mar 31 2021, 11:18 PM)
Can't recall the fund. Yes, it might turn profit now. But no regrets for me since after I moved the fund to EPF, still getting good returns without headache.
timing to invest in UT is also kinda important, investing in all time high might set you back a little.

But if you are in KGF, their annualised return has always been good and even up a lot (2 folds easily) since its inception.
no6
post Apr 1 2021, 01:20 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 31 2021, 05:36 PM)
Same.
is this the same company from eunittrust malaysia, just that poem is sg version ?
what do they earn if there is not fees at all ? earning from target incentive?
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 01:24 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 01:20 PM)
is this the same company from eunittrust malaysia, just that poem is sg version ?
what do they earn if there is not fees at all ? earning from target incentive?
SG company is the parent company. Like FSM. FSM MY and FSM SG are different.
They earned by trailing fees. The more money they hold, the more money they get from funds. Eg a expense ratio is 1.5%. Out of the 1.5%, maybe 0.3% go to companies like FSM and POEMS. No one knows what is the trailing fees those companies earned.
no6
post Apr 1 2021, 02:21 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 01:24 PM)
They earned by trailing fees. The more money they hold, the more money they get from funds. Eg a expense ratio is 1.5%. Out of the 1.5%, maybe 0.3% go to companies like FSM and POEMS. No one knows what is the trailing fees those companies earned.
ah i see, thanks for sharing.
which platform would you recommend for sg stocks? saxo or poem ?
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 02:30 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 02:21 PM)
ah i see, thanks for sharing.
which platform would you recommend for sg stocks? saxo or poem ?
FSM/Tiger/Interactive Broker. Avoid Saxo or POEM.

no6
post Apr 1 2021, 02:37 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 02:30 PM)
didnt know ibkr is good for holding sg stocks, reits, will explore since i have tsg account.
fsm here referring to fsm sg right ?

so poem is only good if you are into sg unit trust for their 0% fees ?
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 02:53 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 02:37 PM)
didnt know ibkr is good for holding sg stocks, reits, will explore since i have tsg account.
fsm here referring to fsm sg right ?

so poem is only good if you are into sg unit trust for their 0% fees ?
Come on. IBKR have the cheapest commision.
Yes FSM SG.

Yes POEMS SG is only good for UT
no6
post Apr 1 2021, 03:13 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 02:53 PM)
Come on. IBKR have the cheapest commision.
Yes FSM SG.

Yes POEMS SG is only good for UT
IBKR 0.12% or min SGD 3.75 is really awesome thumbup.gif
FSM 0.08% or min SGD 10 is good if amount is >12,500 , correct ?
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 04:00 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 02:30 PM)
Is it because SAXO are the fees? Or something else?
apathen
post Apr 1 2021, 04:04 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 03:13 PM)
IBKR  0.12% or min SGD 3.75 is really awesome thumbup.gif 
tiger cheaper actually with 0.08% no min
no6
post Apr 1 2021, 04:12 PM

427 posts

is there any referral promotion going on for fsm sg currently ?

pinksapphire
post Apr 1 2021, 04:27 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 1 2021, 12:27 AM)
I put some into Public Mutual (global select fund n singapore equities) as well as principal (one of the China-exposure funds).

Not looking or expecting super big profits, but just want diversify. So far Public Mutual funds are up 15% unrealised profit, Principal is -3% laugh.gif
Thanks for your response. Diversify is important, this is my goal too. Since it's 0%, it seems reasonable to do so. But lately market a bit wee wee le, lol...
DragonReine
post Apr 1 2021, 04:47 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 1 2021, 04:27 PM)
Thanks for your response. Diversify is important, this is my goal too. Since it's 0%, it seems reasonable to do so. But lately market a bit wee wee le, lol...
Haha, personally I think if your concern is the volatility but you want to take advantage of equity based UTs' potential returns, a conservative way to do it would be to choose UTs where the prospectus indicates exposure to a wide range of developed countries. Usually (but not always) these kinds of funds will have quite steady growth, not very exciting but you won't lose sweat either. My investments in Public Global Select Fund, for example, has only stayed in green zone since I invested XD

Good luck!
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 04:52 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 03:13 PM)
IBKR  0.12% or min SGD 3.75 is really awesome thumbup.gif 
Yes. If you are doing SGD12500 better got with pure IB. Cheaper.
For me, there's no reason to open FSM.

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 04:00 PM)
Is it because SAXO are the fees? Or something else?
Yup. Saxo like FSM only good for SG stocks. Nothing else. Do not fall for their marketing. Saxo have very good marketing. biggrin.gif
Saxo have platform fees, lousy exchange rate vs IBKR.

QUOTE(apathen @ Apr 1 2021, 04:04 PM)
tiger cheaper actually with 0.08% no min
If you trust a China company eventhough they have license. For me I only use them for real time data. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 1 2021, 04:12 PM)
is there any referral promotion going on for fsm sg currently ?
Only this
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/advice...vices/faq/8937/
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 05:25 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 01:24 PM)
Anybody into 0% promo trade for US stocks for POEMS just for this month only?
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 05:46 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 05:25 PM)
Anybody into 0% promo trade for US stocks for POEMS just for this month only?
Don't get bluff by 0% promo. There's platform fees. You want real 0%, use webull where everyday is zero.
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 07:55 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 05:46 PM)
Don't get bluff by 0% promo. There's platform fees. You want real 0%, use webull where everyday is zero.
What is their actual platform fees on POEMS? A bit confused on their fees structure
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 08:11 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 07:55 PM)
What is their actual platform fees on POEMS? A bit confused on their fees structure
SGD 2 per stock up to a max. of SGD 150 per quarter (7% GST applies)
Monthly charges are automatically waived if there are at least

(a) two trades in your trading account in the same calendar month, regardless of trade size in local or foreign shares OR

(b) six trades in your trading account in the same calendar quarter, regardless of trade size in local or foreign shares OR

© SGD 132 of paid brokerages in the same calendar quarter

https://globalmarkets.poems.com.sg/faq/fees...ges-settlement/
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2021, 02:57 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 08:11 PM)
Settlement fees it looks like it

Super confusing especially Asian brokerages
SUScatherintherye
post Apr 2 2021, 08:23 AM

64 posts

Wow, so many platform wants to be like EPF. Look at characteristic

EPF
- Every month 21% deducted from your salary to EPF for investment.
- EPF build porfolio using SAA (strategic asset allocation) just a fancy name means, 50% fixed income, 40% equity (local/foreign), 6% property, 4% money market
- 0 fees

Unit trust, mutual, stashaway, whatever
- Every month you decide pump in how many
- depend on type above u choose, and porfolio they build, be it by robo by fund manager, choose their own SAA style
- annual fees (1-2%), transaction fees ( 0.x - 1.x%) no free lunch, initial buying fees, some could cut into 5% first etc...

The way they make money is the the more u transact...the more fees. So, your investment, please take into account such thing, every month u depost RM1000 to whatever type, could be 1% charges or 10 ringgit whatever depend %, so your RM1000 is actuall 990 only, plus yearly come, fund manager wants to take a cut.

SUSyklooi
post Apr 2 2021, 08:49 AM

8,188 posts

At the e nd of the day, it is the returns that matters to each individuals at the investment platform or products that suits the risk appetite n returns expectations of that individuals...
Fees are just secondary....
It will have to be the consistency of "net" returns that matters most in their mind initally.

After some times, if the returns are consistent, then they will think abt the fees variance..... To try to get more for the same amount of risk taken

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 2 2021, 08:53 AM
blackchides
post Apr 2 2021, 12:21 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Definitely a lot of irresponsible agents out there. I have seen some actually got their clients to park EPF money into Public Mutual bond funds with 4% 10 year annualized returns, which is lower than EPF 6% 10y.

The excuse was so that they can reoptimize the portfolio when equity markets are underperforming. Completely ridiculous - why not reoptimize into the EPF fund itself then?

This is in addition to parking in equity fund with only 7% 10y annualized performance. Why risk your EPF money for extra 1% outperformance?

honsiong
post Apr 2 2021, 12:36 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 2 2021, 12:21 PM)
Definitely a lot of irresponsible agents out there. I have seen some actually got their clients to park EPF money into Public Mutual bond funds with 4% 10 year annualized returns, which is lower than EPF 6% 10y.

The excuse was so that they can reoptimize the portfolio when equity markets are underperforming. Completely ridiculous - why not reoptimize into the EPF fund itself then?

This is in addition to parking in equity fund with only 7% 10y annualized performance. Why risk your EPF money for extra 1% outperformance?
EPF already put 50% in fixed income and 3% in money market iirc. Agents really got huge conflicts of interest.
farizmalek
post Apr 6 2021, 11:33 PM

182 posts

Better EPF because:-

1. less risk

2. compunded dividen every year

3. Every month deduct salary 11% and Employer contribute 13% and go into your EPF.

4. 50 years old age can take out 1/3 and at 55 years old can take out all. However below 50 years old also can take out if more than a million in your EPF account. You can take out the balance at anytime. Minimum cannot take out is RM1 million.
afif737
post Apr 6 2021, 11:49 PM

103 posts

You don't always have to flex to prove a point you know. Just saying.
NorAzdanNordin
post Apr 7 2021, 12:39 AM

132 posts

Just gonna leave this here.

I cincai throw into one UT during the 0% sales charge sometime Oct last year, gonna sell back and put into EPF balik.

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 09:40 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(NorAzdanNordin @ Apr 7 2021, 12:39 AM)
Just gonna leave this here.

I cincai throw into one UT during the 0% sales charge sometime Oct last year, gonna sell back and put into EPF balik.

thumbup.gif good that you got positive results in your investment.

if those that had previously entered and cabut during these indicated periods, they would have cursed about this fund at that time of their exit....their reasons are valid too....

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 09:53 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 6 2021, 11:33 PM)

Better EPF because:-

1. less risk

2. compunded dividen every year

3. Every month deduct salary 11% and Employer contribute 13% and go into your EPF.

4. 50 years old age can take out 1/3 and at 55 years old can take out all. However below 50 years old also can take out if more than a million in your EPF account. You can take out the balance at anytime. Minimum cannot take out is RM1 million.
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

as per 2018 article....
A net worth of $93,170 U.S. (abt RM400k) is enough to make you richer than 90 percent of people around the world, Credit Suisse reports.
The institute defines net worth, or “wealth,” as “the value of financial assets plus real assets (principally housing) owned by households, minus their debts.”

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/11/07/how-much-mo...-worldwide.html

in 2019 report, 3.7% Malaysians was placed in the US$100,000 to US$1 million wealth band.
https://themalaysianreserve.com/2019/10/22/...wealth-bracket/
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:12 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 09:40 AM)
thumbup.gif good that you got positive results in your investment.

if those that had previously entered and cabut during these indicated periods, they would have cursed about this fund at that time of their exit....their reasons are valid too....
Good chart. This just shows that you can outperform EPF with UT, but must be prepared mentally to handle the volatility and you must be in for the long haul to ride any multi-year dips.

Whereas EPF returns are almost linear every year like clockwork, so you may feel tempted to switch out from UT in those years when returns are below EPF dividends.

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 10:24 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 7 2021, 10:12 AM)
Good chart. This just shows that you can outperform EPF with UT, but must be prepared mentally to handle the volatility and you must be in for the long haul to ride any multi-year dips.

Whereas EPF returns are almost linear every year like clockwork, so you may feel tempted to switch out from UT in those years when returns are below EPF dividends.
hmm.gif based on past performances, your statement maybe questionable for some of the EPF-MIS funds that are in FSM platforms (the image are excludes those from other source or PM funds)

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 7 2021, 10:29 AM

hussain
post Apr 7 2021, 10:27 AM

2,012 posts

Diversify
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:36 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 10:24 AM)
hmm.gif based on past performances, your statement maybe questionable for some of the EPF-MIS funds that are in FSM platforms (the image are excludes those from other source or PM funds)
Oh yes, I was speaking purely based on the snapshot of the fund you posted.

There are plenty of really crappy underperforming funds out there pushed by irresponsible agents.

As usual, whoever wants to take this route must do sufficient research, look at the usual metrics - annualized returns, annual performance, beta, Sharpe ratio, benchmarks.

kidmad
post Apr 7 2021, 10:40 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(l4nunm4l4y4 @ May 15 2020, 01:07 PM)
They say to sell Unit Trusts during MCO. 
I didn't and I lost about RM10k.
2020 was the best time buying UT. nearly all portfolios went up approx 30%. Even the few portfolio's i invested in now 2020 shown 22% for their conservation 24% for their balance and 32% for their moderate aggressive portfolios.

How come you lose money? something must be wrong.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Apr 7 2021, 10:41 AM
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 7 2021, 10:40 AM)
2020 was the best time buying UT. nearly all portfolios went up approx 30%. Even the few portfolio's i invested in now 2020 shown 22% for their conservation 24% for their balance and 32% for their moderate aggressive portfolios.

How come you lose money? something must be wrong.
Old post. May 2020. He must be celebrating that he didnt sell now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by blackchides: Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM
kidmad
post Apr 7 2021, 10:46 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM)
Old post. May 2020. He must be celebrating that he didnt sell now  biggrin.gif
ops my bad! hahahaha yes! then indeed he must be celebrating if he didn't sell them. muahahahaha
Cookie101
post Apr 7 2021, 12:59 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Apr 6 2021, 11:49 PM)
You don't always have to flex to prove a point you know. Just saying.
I personally like the way he flex- lol!

humble flex with points and showing /k 20k standard is not a myth

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 09:53 AM)
thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

as per 2018 article....
A net worth of $93,170 U.S. (abt RM400k) is enough to make you richer than 90 percent of people around the world, Credit Suisse reports.
The institute defines net worth, or “wealth,” as “the value of financial assets plus real assets (principally housing) owned by households, minus their debts.”

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/11/07/how-much-mo...-worldwide.html

in 2019 report, 3.7% Malaysians was placed in the US$100,000 to US$1 million wealth band.
https://themalaysianreserve.com/2019/10/22/...wealth-bracket/
any report for 2020 yet? pls do share!

xcxa23
post Apr 7 2021, 01:20 PM

2,649 posts

A bit regret did not put bigger portion on this
Anyhow, if you know what you are doing and the risk involved, just go ahead.

Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 01:27 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:20 PM)

That's 3-4 years return. Faster returns.
xcxa23
post Apr 7 2021, 01:31 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2021, 01:27 PM)
That's 3-4 years return. Faster returns.
I think 1st deposit was 2019

3rd quarter of 2019

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Apr 7 2021, 01:32 PM
farizmalek
post Apr 7 2021, 02:31 PM

182 posts

UT depends on agent. Dah kena tipu dua kali serik dah

afif737
post Apr 7 2021, 03:19 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Apr 7 2021, 12:59 PM)
I personally like the way he flex- lol! 

humble flex with points and showing /k 20k standard is not a myth
any report for 2020 yet? pls do share!
Lol. Well the one showing 20k with 16% return is actually okay. But showing a screenshot of your total epf and asb in almost every reply is just showing off. It’s 10% substance and 90% bragging. Just my opinion though lol

afif737
post Apr 7 2021, 03:22 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:20 PM)

May i know do you guys choose which UT to invest in on your own and is it cheaper than say going thru public mutual?
MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 03:24 PM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Apr 7 2021, 03:22 PM)
May i know do you guys choose which UT to invest in on your own and is it cheaper than say going thru public mutual?
Public mutual high sales charges...
buying from banks may also has high sales charges too

xcxa23
post Apr 7 2021, 04:08 PM

2,649 posts

1st experience with dad, then banker then lowyat forum.

Buy thru agent/banker definitely expensive. Recommend thru EPF, FSM, eunitrust.

DragonReine
post Apr 7 2021, 04:15 PM

2,610 posts

Research online. Buy through EPF or FSMOne is far cheaper than thorough bank/bank's agents
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 04:16 PM

24,406 posts

Go to FSM thread and read first page. There are some basics when it come to picking unit trust. Do not trust agent at any cost. They are only interested in making their bank account fatter.

Avoid public mutual. Use FSM or eunittrust Malaysia.
farizmalek
post Apr 7 2021, 09:27 PM

182 posts

Yup I am showing off, Jangan sentap
hedfi
post Apr 7 2021, 10:45 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 7 2021, 09:27 PM)
😄 1.2 sentap ape, move to a bigger pond and feels small la
afif737
post Apr 8 2021, 03:12 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 03:24 PM)
Public mutual high sales charges...
buying from banks may also has high sales charges too
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 7 2021, 04:08 PM)
1st experience with dad, then banker then lowyat forum.

Buy thru agent/banker definitely expensive. Recommend thru EPF, FSM, eunitrust.
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 7 2021, 04:15 PM)
Research online. Buy through EPF or FSMOne is far cheaper than thorough bank/bank's agents
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2021, 04:16 PM)
Go to FSM thread and read first page. There are some basics when it come to picking unit trust. Do not trust agent at any cost. They are only interested in making their bank account fatter.

Avoid public mutual. Use FSM or eunittrust Malaysia.
Thanks for your replies. Much appreciated. I try not to touch my epf at all but right now I'm looking at the options and the returns. Have always been avoiding agents but I didn't realize that we can invest in UT on our own and save on the agent fees. I'll try to read up more on the fees.

afif737
post Apr 8 2021, 03:16 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 7 2021, 10:45 PM)
LOL lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif
backspace66
post Apr 8 2021, 05:00 AM

2,139 posts

For some reason, there is a bad reputation on unit trust investment using epf-mis scheme, what i can say is previously the sales charge using agent is high. There is conflict of interest in whatever advise they are giving. Now it is 0% through epf-mis portal for funds under FSM and even Public mutual.

Just thing to take note 0% sales charge for public mutual is actually a promotion which ends this month. it could revert to 0.5%.

Somd fund have switching fee and even redemption fee. I make use of the 0% sales charge to make short term trade which some would not agree because this is unit trust. Make use of the 0% sales charge to trade and make use of short term opportunity.

Started from last year march using DCA. I have realized around 20k profit and unrealized is around 26k. Planning to realized the remaing once i reach my personal target. Could have made more if i dont DCA but at least i can sleep well.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 8 2021, 05:07 AM
backspace66
post Apr 8 2021, 05:16 AM

2,139 posts

It depends on your age also.
If 1 million epf in your 30s, that is amazing
If it is in 40s respectable
If it is in 50s, i dont think it needs to be mentioned at all.

I am an average salary man in my industry, i will reach 1 million in 6-7 years (mid 40s by the time i reach that mark) but only because my 2nd account has almost zero balance. The assumption was based on interest of 5% and 0% increment.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 8 2021, 08:25 AM
romuluz777
post Apr 8 2021, 07:46 AM

2,220 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 8 2021, 06:16 AM)
It depends on your age also.
If 1 million epf in your 30s, that is amazing
If it is in 40s respectable
If it is in 50s, i dont think it needs to be mentioned at all.

I am an average salary man in my industry, i will reach 1 million in 6-7 years (mid 40s) but only because my 2nd account has almost zero balance. The assumption was based on interest of 5% and 0% increment.
At age 55, its worth mentioning only if the contributor has at
least 2M and above
backspace66
post Apr 8 2021, 08:29 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Apr 8 2021, 07:46 AM)
At age 55, its worth mentioning only if the contributor has at
least 2M and above
It depends on perspective i guess, we are talking and comparing with our own, i know some forumer here have more than 4 million in epf alone from combination of mandatory and self contribution. That guy probably laugh at that 2 million figure.
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2021, 08:35 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Apr 8 2021, 03:12 AM)
Thanks for your replies. Much appreciated. I try not to touch my epf at all but right now I'm looking at the options and the returns. Have always been avoiding agents but I didn't realize that we can invest in UT on our own and save on the agent fees. I'll try to read up more on the fees.
Just use EPF i-akuan. Before this I avoid using EPF money cause too much hassle. Now with i-akuan, it makes life easier.

Of course picking the wrong unit trust = getting less than EPF returns.
farizmalek
post Apr 8 2021, 10:50 PM

182 posts

No need to be at 50s to be a millionaires. With careful plan and disciplines at 41 also can. Makan gaji also can. Just work smart and pray.
ragk
post Apr 9 2021, 12:03 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

This is my result, invested around 3-4 years ago, deposit once awhile, the result is pretty good so far
klangboy83
post Apr 9 2021, 12:05 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 8 2021, 10:50 PM)

No need to be at 50s to be a millionaires. With careful plan and disciplines at 41 also can. Makan gaji also can. Just work smart and pray.
harder if not bumiputra, cannot buy those lucrative bumiputra funds...
that's why non-bumi sometimes not so happy with all these bumi perks, like bumi housing discounts, bumi uni quota, etc.

Just stating the $$ facts, don't get into racial topic.

This post has been edited by klangboy83: Apr 9 2021, 12:06 PM
DragonReine
post Apr 9 2021, 12:10 PM

2,610 posts

A lot harder for non-bumi, won't have assess to ASB funds and other economical incentives like house price discounts, easier access to public universities etc.

Not to say that bumi don't have own cchallenges like discrimination, but when it comes to things where gahmen got incentives like ASNB, education, bumi has substantial advantage on starting point for savings.
real55555
post Apr 9 2021, 12:29 PM

309 posts

Actually in the end is best to educate yourself with some financial knowledge, know how UT works and what is the expected returns for each type of UT. Like insurance, there are good and bad agents out there. With equipping yourself knowledge, you can filter out those bad agents when they try to sell you certain UT and unable to answer your questions or give unconvincing answers.

EPF at 5-6% p.a. is decent return should you choose not to invest in UT using EPF fund, nothing wrong with that. But nowadays most people who know how to invest will invest through FSM or online, bypassing the agent commission. But I must say the sales charge is not a big thing to me, most important is fund selection. A performing fund can earn back the sales charge easily, while a non-performing fund will give you greater headache even if you get cheaper sales charge.
asdfgvbnqw
post Apr 9 2021, 12:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 9 2021, 12:10 PM)
A lot harder for non-bumi, won't have assess to ASB funds and other economical incentives like house price discounts, easier access to public universities etc.

Not to say that bumi don't have own cchallenges like discrimination, but when it comes to things where gahmen got incentives like ASNB, education, bumi has substantial advantage on starting point for savings.
Correct. As a bumi myself I definitely agree with you.
backspace66
post Apr 9 2021, 03:05 PM

2,139 posts

Funny popeye the sailorman. I didnt know you need a million in epf to be a millionaire. This is new knowledge. Glad i learn new thing from popeye.

Net asset at least for me is a few multiple the one in epf, targeting at least 3 or 4 times by the time i retire. Not anyone can be popeye and enjoy not paying tax.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 9 2021, 03:08 PM
no6
post Apr 9 2021, 04:20 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Apr 9 2021, 12:03 PM)
This is my result, invested around 3-4 years ago, deposit once awhile, the result is pretty good so far
surprised that public has such result thumbsup.gif
DragonReine
post Apr 9 2021, 04:54 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Apr 9 2021, 04:20 PM)
surprised that public has such result  :thumbsup:
Public's funds that invest in East Asian markets have been doing well, and last year they rocketed up laugh.gif

Personally I can say Global Select in particular has been doing very good and consistent return, been only growing upwards since I first invested in 2012
afif737
post Apr 9 2021, 07:35 PM

103 posts

Yeap there's the asb screenshot lol.gif

Well I also makan gaji and was already a millionaire at 32, of course I keep reminding myself what I was taught before I started working which is = 'if you think that you are smart, a lot of people are smarter than you. If you think that you are rich, a lot of people are richer than you'. I will leave the showing off to you, a pro. Kinda ironic when you mention about praying, just remember dengan sikap takabur,ujub dan riak, anytime Tuhan boleh tarik balik nikmat tu.

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 9 2021, 12:10 PM)

As a bumi, I too agree.

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 9 2021, 03:05 PM)
Funny popeye the sailorman. I didnt know you need a million in epf to be a millionaire. This is new knowledge. Glad i learn new thing from popeye.

Net asset at least for me is a few multiple the one in epf, targeting at least 3 or 4 times by the time i retire. Not anyone can be popeye and enjoy not paying tax.
LOL. You know what they say about guys with big cars right? Trying to compensate for something else lol

Okay now back to the topic.
afif737
post Apr 9 2021, 07:45 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Apr 9 2021, 12:03 PM)
That is impressive. Don't mind me asking, if I'm not mistaken someone made a calculation in this thread comparing if you take out money from epf to invest in UT with a return of 8% , with just leaving the money in epf for the compounded dividend, it's not that worthwhile taking into account the risk etc. But in your case just by looking at the returns, it is worthwhile right? Have you done a calculation on how much you would end up with, if you were to have left the money in epf?
ragk
post Apr 9 2021, 08:09 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Apr 9 2021, 07:45 PM)
That is impressive. Don't mind me asking, if I'm not mistaken someone made a calculation in this thread comparing if you take out money from epf to invest in UT with a return of 8% , with just leaving the money in epf for the compounded dividend, it's not that worthwhile taking into account the risk etc. But in your case just by looking at the returns, it is worthwhile right? Have you done a calculation on how much you would end up with, if you were to have left the money in epf?
because i deposit multiple times within the 4 years, so that's average cost down factor here, its abit hard to calculate as i dint record when i do the transaction and how much it is
but if i do a no brain calculation comparison, follow previous 4 years of dividend history record from EPF, that's 25% profit with compound interest, on my EPF fund dashboard today, its showing overal 35% profit since my first deposit
Ofcoz we cant say EPF fund is always better thn EPF, u can say im lucky that my fund manager do their homework. And in bad economic year, the market wont cause your capital to decrease in EPF, but fund will

This post has been edited by ragk: Apr 9 2021, 08:11 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2021, 08:15 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Apr 9 2021, 07:45 PM)
You have to pick good fund. To pick good fund you need to know which are the good funds to pick and there are some work involved. Unfortunately if you rely on agent you most likely will be worse off than EPF.

My unit trust have been outperforming unit trust for don't know how many donkey years.
zuozi
post Apr 9 2021, 08:29 PM

1,267 posts

only 2 kind of thinking i cant afford it or how can i afford it
mostly thinking profession is your income do it asset pay all your liability and expense yet your profession income pay for your hobby and other investment dont keep thinking i need few job cover blah at the end rich getting richer poor getting poorer

i dont even finish my primary school using broken english hahahaha no issue at all as long my life until dead nothing to worry
farizmalek
post Apr 9 2021, 08:56 PM

182 posts

From Khazanah

http://www.krinstitute.org/The_State_of_Ho...INEQUALITY.aspx

"Although the average investment in ASB increased from RM14,096 in 2012 toRM15,928 in 2014, the distribution remains skewed. In 2012, the bottom 73.7% of unit-holders of ASB had an average savings of RM611 in their accounts. By 2014, the average savings for the bottom 71.5% of unit-holders had fallen to RM536."

Eventhough ASB is for the Malays but not all afford to have a savings. Or mabe some prefer to invest in UT for higher returns.

Yup I riak to myself and only God can judge me. What is important is I don't attack or condem people.

Err. sentap ke?
afif737
post Apr 10 2021, 02:33 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 9 2021, 08:56 PM)
From Khazanah

http://www.krinstitute.org/The_State_of_Ho...INEQUALITY.aspx

"Although the average investment in ASB increased from RM14,096 in 2012 toRM15,928 in 2014, the distribution remains skewed. In 2012, the bottom 73.7% of unit-holders of ASB had an average savings of RM611 in their accounts. By 2014, the average savings for the bottom 71.5% of unit-holders had fallen to RM536."

Eventhough ASB is for the Malays but not all afford to have a savings. Or mabe some prefer to invest in UT for higher returns.
Yup I riak to myself and only God can judge me. What is important is I don't attack or condem people.

Err. sentap ke?
You : I riak to myself and only God can judge me.
Also you : Yup I am showing off. *and posts screenshots of epf and asb in almost every thread you are in
Me : staring at the wall for 10mins. Confused kejap.
LOL

Sentap? lol. You are hilarious. Hard to believe you are a 40+ year old. Xpe xpe. Saya bagi. Betul betul saya sgt sgt sentap. lol. I hope that will help you sleep well at night.

This post has been edited by afif737: Apr 10 2021, 04:42 AM
afif737
post Apr 10 2021, 02:36 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Apr 9 2021, 08:09 PM)
because i deposit multiple times within the 4 years, so that's average cost down factor here, its abit hard to calculate as i dint record when i do the transaction and how much it is
but if i do a no brain calculation comparison, follow previous 4 years of dividend history record from EPF, that's 25% profit with compound interest, on my EPF fund dashboard today, its showing overal 35% profit since my first deposit
Ofcoz we cant say EPF fund is always better thn EPF, u can say im lucky that my fund manager do their homework. And in bad economic year, the market wont cause your capital to decrease in EPF, but fund will
I totally understand. Thank you for your reply though. Glad that it's working out for you.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2021, 08:15 PM)
You have to pick good fund. To pick good fund you need to know which are the good funds to pick and there are some work involved. Unfortunately if you rely on agent you most likely will be worse off than EPF.

My unit trust have been outperforming unit trust for don't know how many donkey years.
Thanks for the tips.

backspace66
post Apr 10 2021, 06:21 AM

2,139 posts

I can sense a lot of people always recommend fsm and ask newbie to completely ignore public mutual. This is the performance so far for my publiv mutual fund. Consider both and judge yourself. Some people dont really know what they are talking about.

PGSF - one year old from the start of investment , additional investment during DIP only, lol my way of DCA. When i start investing i was charged 0.5% sales charge since the promo havent started back then.

PIALF- 6 month from the start, invest during dip only, the value shown on the screenshot is around 10% below the peak. This one 0% sales charge as promo already started.

Both FSM and public mutual service is top notch. I always receive answer/response on the same day.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 10 2021, 06:30 AM
debonairs91
post Apr 10 2021, 07:33 AM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 7 2021, 10:45 PM)
Ouch lol. I bet this one hurts a lot. He can only show off here coz he knows in the proper rich world 1m is nothing to show off about
asdfgvbnqw
post Apr 10 2021, 09:32 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Apr 10 2021, 07:33 AM)
Ouch lol. I bet this one hurts a lot. He can only show off here coz he knows in the proper rich world 1m is nothing to show off about
Ya lor hahaha
DragonReine
post Apr 10 2021, 10:45 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 10 2021, 06:21 AM)
I can sense a lot of people always recommend fsm and ask newbie to completely ignore public mutual. This is the performance so far for my publiv mutual fund. Consider both and judge yourself. Some people dont really know what they are talking about.

PGSF - one year old from the start of investment , additional investment during DIP only, lol my way of DCA. When i start investing i was charged 0.5% sales charge since the promo havent started back then.

PIALF- 6 month from the start, invest during dip only, the value shown on the screenshot is around 10% below the peak. This one 0% sales charge as promo already started.

Both FSM and public mutual service is top notch. I always receive answer/response on the same day.
People who say ignore public mutual usually see the sales charge n get turn off from it without actually researching the funds laugh.gif

I'm biased because I'm a long time public mutual investor, but I would say "public mutual can't perform" is a very underinformed mentality. Not as high as some famous funds like those in Kenanga and Affin but their growth is generally steady. PM's "weakness" is also a strength if investor is risk adverse.
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2021, 11:12 AM

24,406 posts

Don't compare 1 year. Compare long term. Long term public mutual is name only and not much substance when compare to peers (fund that invest in same sector).

Combine that with years of under performance and service charge further worsening the performance I am staying far away from public mutual. Remember the fund need to make 3-5% profit just to break even for service charge while I don't need a fund to break even if my fund have no service charge.

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 10 2021, 10:45 AM)
People who say ignore public mutual usually see the sales charge n get turn off from it without actually researching the funds laugh.gif

I'm biased because I'm a long time public mutual investor, but I would say "public mutual can't perform" is a very underinformed mentality. Not as high as some famous funds like those in Kenanga and Affin but their growth is generally steady. PM's "weakness" is also a strength if investor is risk adverse.
If a fund consistently underperformed other similar funds I am better off putting money in other funds as my money is working harder as public mutual.

Eg
Other fund 10% p.a for 5 years
Public mutual 7%p.a for 5 years

I won't even bother with public mutual cause the different in 3% over long term will make the one who invest in other fund give a better returns Vs using public mutual using the same money.

Ramjade
post Apr 10 2021, 11:12 AM

24,406 posts

Don't compare 1 year. Compare long term. Long term public mutual is name only and not much substance when compare to peers (fund that invest in same sector).

Combine that with years of under performance and service charge further worsening the performance I am staying far away from public mutual. Remember the fund need to make 3-5% profit just to break even for service charge while I don't need a fund to break even if my fund have no service charge.

If a fund consistently underperformed other similar funds I am better off putting money in other funds as my money is working harder as public mutual.

Eg

I won't even bother with public mutual cause the different in 3% over long term will make the one who invest in other fund give a better returns Vs using public mutual using the same money.

ChessRook
post Apr 10 2021, 11:13 AM

375 posts

I think it depends on what pm funds focus on? If the sector is US, China or even India, then the performance is great. However, if the funds are focus in malaysia or asean then not so much. I have pingef and pgf. You can know just by the name which fund is doing well and which one is worse than savings account performance.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Apr 10 2021, 11:14 AM
backspace66
post Apr 10 2021, 12:37 PM

2,139 posts

Totally agree with you on this. For me i consider all the fund and being open minded on all opportunities. I dont understand why one need to have a strong view on something rather than just keeping an open mind.
backspace66
post Apr 10 2021, 12:44 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 10 2021, 11:12 AM)

Eg

This is for PGSF

This is PIALEF

They are pretty good so far. Of course past performance is not guaranteed to be repeated. Since we are talking about investing using epf i-invest the sales charge you mention 3-5 % doesnt matter, because those figures are not relevant for epf i-invest.

Not sure if anyone actually read what is written there, i did mention 0.5% since epf i-invest started back in august 2019 for public mutual fund. Right now it is 0% although it is possible to revert back to 0.5% next month. Again that is not a typo, it is half of a percent not 5 percent.

FSM has always been 0% since the start of epf i-invest.

If a funf underperformed it peers for a few years , why would anyone hold on to it? We dont have to be afraid of sales charge here since it is almost non existent. Sell that underperforming fund (thus returning it to epf) and buy another fund instead of switching ( since that could incur some charge). There is lag time though but that is another story.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 10 2021, 12:51 PM
xcxa23
post Apr 10 2021, 01:20 PM

2,649 posts

I assume ppl here asking to avoid PM most likely due to high sales charges, myself included.

Just a note, I remember reading somewhere EPF 0% sales charges will end soon. Sorry I can't find back where I found it.

When the promo ends, fund purchase thru PM will had to pay sales charges. What's the normal rate? 0.5%?

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Apr 10 2021, 01:20 PM
backspace66
post Apr 10 2021, 03:58 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 10 2021, 01:20 PM)
I assume ppl here asking to avoid PM most likely due to high sales charges, myself included.

Just a note, I remember reading somewhere EPF 0% sales charges will end soon. Sorry I can't find back where I found it.

When the promo ends, fund purchase thru PM will had to pay sales charges. What's the normal rate? 0.5%?
Yes it is 0.5% sales charge using epf i-invest before the 0% SC promo. But one thing about public mutual is switching charge is still there even under promo. Most fund under fsm doesnt have such thing except fund under RHB.
farizmalek
post Apr 10 2021, 04:08 PM

182 posts

laa tak habis lagi sentap je...
afif737
post Apr 10 2021, 04:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 10 2021, 04:08 PM)
laa tak habis lagi  sentap je...
whatever you say man lol.gif
CSW1990
post Apr 10 2021, 04:50 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 10 2021, 12:37 PM)
Totally agree with you on this. For me i consider all the fund and being open minded on all opportunities. I dont understand why one need to have a strong view on something rather than just keeping an open mind.
The only thing make the difference is the FQ aka financial quotient of the investor himself.
Buying house, car, stocks, some people can end up buying liability or bankrupt but some can eventually getting asset earning passive income
soules83
post Sep 11 2021, 08:03 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 10 2021, 03:58 PM)
Yes it is 0.5% sales charge using epf i-invest before the 0% SC promo. But one thing about public mutual is switching charge is still there even under promo. Most fund under fsm doesnt have such thing except fund under RHB.
How come I read and it said 3.75% sales charge?
backspace66
post Sep 11 2021, 08:33 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Sep 11 2021, 08:03 PM)
I suggest you to go epf website and selet the investment tab, you can verify from there. This is a snapshot i have just taken from the website.

apathen
post Sep 13 2021, 01:13 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Sep 11 2021, 08:03 PM)
you still want 0% sales charge can look for principal funds, you want earn extra welcome reward can pm me for referral
daniellehu
post Sep 30 2021, 07:55 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 10 2021, 03:58 PM)
Interesting!
dickybird
post Nov 1 2021, 01:40 PM

2,093 posts

I myself have paper gains in PM funds and moved from just using an agent to self selecting funds online.
Last year was a busy year buying and switching.
My practice is to realise some of the double digit gains by switching into new funds that I hadn’t bought into before because when I started with UT it was mainly Syariah compliant funds because my agent was malay. Sit on the paper gains or realise and switch?
A bird in hand is worth 2 in the bush as the saying goes.
klangboy83
post Nov 2 2021, 08:48 AM

438 posts

I tried to purchase Manulife fund using KWSP's self service portal, and noticed it charges 0.5% fee compared to 0% from other funds (Affin Hwang, Public, Principal, Hong Leong, etc), is Manulife really a better fund that justifies 0.5% annual fee?
Thrust
post Nov 2 2021, 08:56 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

My advice is.. keep your existing funds in EPF. The compounding interest in EPF work wonders.

Assuming if you have a balance of rm500k. Annually, you will be getting a return of around RM20k - RM30k.

Unlike UT, you need to pay this and that fees and might also expose to losses if the fund is not performing.

If die die want to play unit trust, I will go for PRS. At least the RM3k invested, I can get tax refund. Already money in your pocket first and the rest will depends on the fund's performance.
genesic
post Nov 2 2021, 10:40 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 2 2021, 09:56 AM)
My advice is.. keep your existing funds in EPF. The compounding interest in EPF work wonders.

Assuming if you have a balance of rm500k. Annually, you will be getting a return of around RM20k - RM30k.

Unlike UT, you need to pay this and that fees and might also expose to losses if the fund is not performing.

If die die want to play unit trust, I will go for PRS. At least the RM3k invested, I can get tax refund. Already money in your pocket first and the rest will depends on the fund's performance.
for PRS, member not allows to withdraw from EPF into PRS.

This post has been edited by genesic: Nov 2 2021, 10:41 AM
SUSshamino_00
post Nov 2 2021, 07:13 PM

77 posts

Unit Trust, mutual fund, ETF, they are mostly the same. Basket of stocks link to an index or nav. Becareful and checkout the fees, annual fees, sales fee, transfer fees, buying and selling fees.
For every EPF 5%, add maybe around 3$ a UT need to overperform by 8% and more to be same as EPF. Remember you bear all the risk if the UT underperform where it's nav can drop just like share price.
Imagine the pressure to consistent deliver 9% each year and there's danger when it comes to that retirement age when you needed the money the most, the UT index suddenly drop or crash 20~30%.....you may not have the time or years left to let it recover.
Be prudent, if you want to play, maybe 10% of the fund, you put at the highest growth/risk UT.....at least if anything happen u can fall back to the steady consistent EPF growth...
SUSyklooi
post Nov 2 2021, 07:23 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(shamino_00 @ Nov 2 2021, 07:13 PM)
Unit Trust, mutual fund, ETF, they are mostly the same. Basket of stocks link to an index or nav. Becareful and checkout the fees, annual fees, sales fee, transfer fees, buying and selling fees.
For every EPF 5%, add maybe around 3$ a UT need to overperform by 8% and more to be same as EPF. Remember you bear all the risk if the UT underperform where it's nav can drop just like share price.
Imagine the pressure to consistent deliver 9% each year and there's danger when it comes to that retirement age when you needed the money the most, the UT index suddenly drop or crash 20~30%.....you may not have the time or years left to let it recover.
Be prudent, if you want to play, maybe 10% of the fund, you put at the highest growth/risk UT.....at least if anything happen u can fall back to the steady consistent EPF growth...
I think epf has already structured the withdrawal to take into consideration of that for those not at age 55.
Those under 55, must meet minimum sum requirement, after that only xx% of amount that exceeded that minimum sum can only be withdrawn for investment... Thus a sizeable sum is still in epf compared to the amount taken out
RigerZ
post Nov 5 2021, 12:55 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 1 2021, 01:40 PM)
I myself have paper gains in PM funds and moved from just using an agent to self selecting funds online.
Are the sales charges still 5-5.5% if you buy online?
dickybird
post Nov 5 2021, 01:00 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Nov 5 2021, 12:55 PM)
Are the sales charges still 5-5.5% if you buy online?
Because I’m using epf funds, only one 0.5%.
If I’m buying online, it doesn’t count as agent recommendation so they don’t get a fee.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Nov 5 2021, 01:01 PM
dickybird
post Nov 5 2021, 01:04 PM

2,093 posts

How often do you guys realise the paper gains?
MUM
post Nov 5 2021, 01:07 PM

14,948 posts

A Sensible Approach on When to Redeem your Funds
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Menu/Learni...deem-your-Funds
gogocan
post Nov 10 2021, 02:01 PM

486 posts

This is my return so far 11 yrs. 2010 took out RM 25k from A/C 2 and dump in ASB 3.

Another RM 25k i dump into AHB. .average return for the past 7 years around 6 %. except for this year 2021 4.7%.

As both return > EPF i will leave it there until retirement.

This post has been edited by gogocan: Nov 10 2021, 02:20 PM
SUSyklooi
post Nov 10 2021, 02:35 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Nov 10 2021, 02:01 PM)

This is my return so far 11 yrs. 2010 took out RM 25k from A/C 2 and dump in ASB 3.
Another RM 25k i dump into AHB. .average return for the past 7 years around 6 %. except for this year 2021 4.7%.

As both return > EPF i will leave it there until retirement.
how is the performance comparison between EPF and ASB3 for the current last 3~4 yrs?
(since 2017/2018?)

This post has been edited by yklooi: Nov 10 2021, 02:38 PM
MUM
post Nov 11 2021, 02:24 PM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 10 2021, 02:35 PM)
how is the performance comparison between EPF and ASB3 for the current last 3~4 yrs?
(since 2017/2018?)
googled and found this (compiled comparison)

cempedaklife
post Nov 17 2021, 04:48 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

Hi everyone,

I know there is discussion about investing using KWSP money but I cant remember where exactly it is so I'm hoping I'm posting to the correct place.

So I have PRS and some unit trust, also investment from KWSP via fundsupermart. I do monitor another fund under RHB that is possible to invest via KWSP, however, we cant select this fundsupermart via the iInvest, only via RHB portal i believe.

my question is, can i just invest via iInvest but having no login to RHB at all and have no intention to do so? i can still monitor my investment via iInvest. is that possible?
thecurious
post Nov 17 2021, 05:31 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 17 2021, 04:48 PM)
Hi everyone,

I know there is discussion about investing using KWSP money but I cant remember where exactly it is so I'm hoping I'm posting to the correct place.

So I have PRS and some unit trust, also investment from KWSP via fundsupermart. I do monitor another fund under RHB that is possible to invest via KWSP, however, we cant select this fundsupermart via the iInvest, only via RHB portal i believe.

my question is, can i just invest via iInvest but having no login to RHB at all and have no intention to do so? i can still monitor my investment via iInvest. is that possible?
Not possible, EPF MIS only routes your order to the fund house. You still need to have an account with the fund house to buy.
cempedaklife
post Nov 17 2021, 06:04 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 17 2021, 05:31 PM)
Not possible, EPF MIS only routes your order to the fund house. You still need to have an account with the fund house to buy.
ok thanks!!
adam1190
post Apr 3 2022, 06:02 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by adam1190: Apr 3 2022, 06:12 PM
adam1190
post Apr 3 2022, 06:12 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 5 2021, 01:00 PM)
Because I’m using epf funds, only one 0.5%.
If I’m buying online, it doesn’t count as agent recommendation so they don’t get a fee.
For the portion we withdraw from EPF account 1 to invest in the approved fund, can we liquidate our investment in the approved fund and get the money back before we reach the age of 55?

Was thinking of cashing out from my EPF Account 1 by investing somewhere else (that is approved by EPF) and get the return (if any) before 55 rather than wait till 55 only can access to the money in Account 1
ikanbilis
post Apr 3 2022, 06:30 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,544 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Apr 3 2022, 06:12 PM)
For the portion we withdraw from EPF account 1 to invest in the approved fund, can we liquidate our investment in the approved fund and get the money back before we reach the age of 55?

Was thinking of cashing out from my EPF Account 1 by investing somewhere else (that is approved by EPF) and get the return (if any) before 55 rather than wait till 55 only can access to the money in Account 1
All liquidated investment will go right back to your epf account.

No loophole to get your money before 55.
adam1190
post Apr 3 2022, 06:42 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

Duplicate

This post has been edited by adam1190: Apr 3 2022, 06:42 PM
adam1190
post Apr 3 2022, 06:43 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Apr 3 2022, 06:30 PM)
All liquidated investment will go right back to your epf account.

No loophole to get your money before 55.
Make sense, thought I fount a loophole.. it goes back to account 1 right?

This post has been edited by adam1190: Apr 3 2022, 06:46 PM
ikanbilis
post Apr 3 2022, 06:50 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,544 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Apr 3 2022, 06:43 PM)
Make sense, thought I fount a loophole.. it goes back to account 1 right?
Yes
Boneny
post Apr 4 2022, 03:55 PM

54 posts

Hi, does anyone know of a thread that discuss investment using epf money among those who are eligible to withdraw? Such as retirees, over 1 mil, etc. Thanks
SiakapRM1000
post Apr 4 2022, 09:51 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 11 2021, 02:24 PM)
googled and found this (compiled comparison)
interesting
iZuDeeN
post Sep 15 2022, 11:46 AM

3,466 posts

guys .. means its best just keep the money in EPF? in general ya.. after minus fee etc
CommodoreAmiga
post Sep 15 2022, 01:33 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 15 2022, 11:46 AM)
guys .. means its best just keep the money in EPF? in general ya.. after minus fee etc
It all depends on you. There is no straight answer. If you are not risk taker, EPF is safest bet. If you already rich enough, EPF also good (the top tier people in EPF have like over RM10 millions in there...surely these people are not stupid people). But for most people, probably they will want to proportionate their portfolios between EPF, FDs, Stock Market, Money Market and Unit Trust. Although personally i hate Unit Trust. I have a bit, won't buy more. I will rather buy stocks myself as i know exactly what i am getting into. I just likes to have control over my finances.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Sep 15 2022, 01:34 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 15 2022, 04:27 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 15 2022, 11:46 AM)
Keep in mind EPF is giving you around 5%p.a
So if you want to buy a unit trust, make sure the returns are more than 5%p.a to make it worth it.

If you want fee free. Use FSM
If you want to use EPF money to buy unit trust. I will say don't bother. The only good unit trust available to buy via EPF money is principal global titans fund. Rest of the unit trust are a joke (negative returns or less than 5%p.a). Global titans have been suspended likely political cause EPF wants you to invest money into bursa.
If you want to contribute extra money into EPF, think twice. You are getting paid 5%p.a in RM. Can you get 5%p.a in SGD or USD? Of course.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 15 2022, 04:28 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Sep 15 2022, 04:39 PM

1,354 posts

And this is what I really hate about Malaysia.
Malaysians are unsophisticated and willing to cheat others to the point of asking people to put their epf money into unit trust. Even Singaporeans do not do that. At least they have a conscious not to ask ppl to put monies into a fund which in most cases give a far lower return then epf.

Unless you can find a fund that gives around 10%. But those funds are risky anyway
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 15 2022, 03:52 PM

64 posts

The consistency of EPF in producing positive return is unparalleled and jives with many Malaysians whom prefer consistent and stable returns for our live savings.

Never the less, unit trust will always be an option for investors with higher risk appetite. An experienced and knowledgeable investor would be able to apply the right strategy in order to take advantage of the various opportunities that arise from market and fund volatility.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 15 2022, 03:56 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Sep 15 2022, 04:39 PM)
And this is what I really hate about Malaysia.
Malaysians are unsophisticated and willing to cheat others to the point of asking people to put their epf money into unit trust. Even Singaporeans do not do that. At least they have a conscious not to ask ppl to put monies into a fund which in most cases give a far lower return then epf.

Unless you can find a fund that gives around 10%. But those funds are risky anyway
Yes, UT agents are real mathafarkers, preying on your EPF like vultures.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Nov 15 2022, 03:57 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Nov 15 2022, 04:31 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(FSMOne Malaysia @ Nov 15 2022, 03:52 PM)
The consistency of EPF in producing positive return is unparalleled and jives with many Malaysians whom prefer consistent and stable returns for our live savings.

Never the less, unit trust will always be an option for investors with higher risk appetite. An experienced and knowledgeable investor would be able to apply the right strategy in order to take advantage of the various opportunities that arise from market and fund volatility.
And why would you want to do that? You get at most 4-5% extra the most but take all of the risk.
The only reason why I would want to put my money into unit trust is so that I can take out my money from EPF instead of leaving my monies there. But apparently you cannot do that.

MUM
post Nov 15 2022, 04:50 PM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Nov 15 2022, 04:31 PM)
And why would you want to do that? You get at most 4-5% extra the most but take all of the risk.
The only reason why I would want to put my money into unit trust is so that I can take out my money from EPF instead of leaving my monies there. But apparently you cannot do that.
I kaypoh as I am not qualified to gives financial advises...thus just talk talk only.

Some would plan investment in a more holistic manners...example, using asset allocation to determine their overall risk appetite in investing.
Example: using 70% fixed income against 30% equities ratio.
Thus some may use the money in epf as fixed income portion....if hv excess %,, move it to equities portion.
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2022, 05:54 PM

4,686 posts

Any UT using EPF no matter what the money still goes back to EPF once you liquidate UT

So no matter how you take out EPF there are only few reasons the money leaves EPF as it closed loop system 🤦‍♀️ hence EPF have yearly review of UT approved by EPF
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 16 2022, 09:51 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 15 2022, 05:54 PM)
Any UT using EPF no matter what the money still goes back to EPF once you liquidate UT

So no matter how you take out EPF there are only few reasons the money leaves EPF as it closed loop system 🤦‍♀️ hence EPF have yearly review of UT approved by EPF
Yep. I wipe out my UT from PBB and put it back to EPF earlier this year. Cukur. Now all market kantoi. Made me peanuts for like 10 years.
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 16 2022, 11:53 AM

64 posts

not really, if you look at the our fund selector for EPF fund in 10Y annualised perfomance, you can see that return is at least 9%+

but of course, current short-term market movement is normally driven by the market sentiment and it is rather hard to predict.

We believe the market tends to reflect its fair value over a longer-term (3 - 5 years) and we believe longer-term investment may ride out volatility and reduce the risk through market movements.

This post has been edited by FSMOne Malaysia: Nov 16 2022, 11:53 AM

xander2k8
post Nov 16 2022, 06:26 PM

4,686 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 16 2022, 09:51 AM)
Yep. I wipe out my UT from PBB and put it back to EPF earlier this year. Cukur. Now all market kantoi. Made me peanuts for like 10 years.
At least you still have gains I know many got burnt from UT especially those so called EPF disapproved list now 🤦‍♀️

EPF money better not touch unless major purchases and special withdrawals which I love so that can DIY ETFs instead 👏
djlake
post Nov 16 2022, 06:47 PM

283 posts

1. Whatever is in the fund, get to know it and learn a thing or two to understand it. Asking basic 5W1H questions to your friend/agent will help you point in the right direction.
2. Don't take out your EPF and invest anymore until you are clear about what you are investing in. Your friend/agent needs to do a lot more convincing/pitching. Don't just "stamp your thumb".
3. Every 3 months, agents will come and ask you to 'top-up' your investment or invest in a new fund. Most of the time, I stress again, most of the time, they want to collect their gaji (commission).
4. It's basic sales, you can sell more to your existing clients than to acquire new clients.
5. If your friend/agent can't go thru the questions in point 1, you can request to change to a different agent (one that can answer your questions). It's your right to ask and his responsibility to answer.
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 09:27 PM

998 posts

Instead of charging all the commission when investor buy the UT, how about the fund house to allocate certain commission is only payable when the UT has hit certain level of profit? For example collecting 5% of the total profit made when UT has hit 10% margin?

Otherwise, those fund house and agents not care about whether the investor made profit or not after putting the money inside. Also give long winded story not to redeem/ sold off the UT units because the fund house impose x% management fees per annum based on the amount we invested in….

T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 09:49 PM

5,143 posts

There are a number of UT funds in FSM that does not have sales charges....
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 10:46 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 16 2022, 09:49 PM)
There are a number of UT funds in FSM that does not have sales charges....
I am talking about the UT that sold through agents.
T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 10:56 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 16 2022, 10:46 PM)
I am talking about the UT that sold through agents.
FSM is not sort of agent also?
agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

please elaborate the different so that others can help you with your query
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 11:06 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 16 2022, 10:56 PM)
agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?
T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 11:11 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 16 2022, 11:06 PM)
Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?
are they talking like what you asked in post 193?...

what you asked in post 193,...and my reply to you ...is NOT relevant?

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 16 2022, 11:14 PM
daniellehu
post Nov 16 2022, 11:31 PM

352 posts

first of all, never dwelled too much into a UTMC past performances that is more than 10 years as majority of those good UT Fund Managers may have left the company. As for the investment, it is a must to keep investing consistently as to attained good return. In EPF, your contribution towards the fund is very consistent. Fund was placed into the scheme on a monthly basis consistently. The same must be done for any new UTS. Always go with a full time UTC who has time for you as UTS requires close monitoring and reporting. Pay close attention to your investment and it will takes care of you when you grow old.

all the best!
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 17 2022, 05:18 PM

64 posts

agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

dont get offended ya, but we normally do not call ourselves as agents.

We got more than 500 funds from more than 30 asset management companies, spanning across both equity and fixed income with exposure to more than 30 countries and regions across the globe.

We can support your DIY investment journey by provide unbiased investment ideas based on in-house research view.

i think thats why FSMOne stand out to investors biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ~~

This post has been edited by FSMOne Malaysia: Nov 17 2022, 05:20 PM
xander2k8
post Nov 18 2022, 05:19 AM

4,686 posts

agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

FSM is more of a distributor rather than agents 🤦‍♀️
T231H
post Nov 18 2022, 07:42 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(FSMOne Malaysia @ Nov 17 2022, 05:18 PM)
dont get offended ya, but we normally do not call ourselves as agents.

We got more than 500 funds from more than 30 asset management companies, spanning across both equity and fixed income with exposure to more than 30 countries and regions across the globe.

We can support your DIY investment journey by provide unbiased investment ideas based on in-house research view.

i think thats why FSMOne stand out to investors  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif ~~
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 18 2022, 05:19 AM)
FSM is more of a distributor rather than agents 🤦‍♀️
Thanks for the extended elaboration of what is FSM or what FSM can do.
Whatever it is, ......
In the end, does FSM sells unit trust funds.?
Agents sells unit trust funds.

Yes, FSM does more than agents, but in the end, does FSM sells unit trust funds? And does FSM has numerous unit trust funds that does not have sales charges?.

That are what my earlier posts was meant to tell.

BTW,
Luckily I did not elaborate much about FSM like the 2 of you does, else I kena kuat kuat when asked in post 197
"Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?"

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 18 2022, 07:49 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 18 2022, 09:29 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 18 2022, 07:42 AM)
Thanks for the extended elaboration of what  is FSM or what FSM can do.
Whatever it is, ......
In the end, does FSM sells unit trust funds.?
Agents sells unit trust funds.

Yes, FSM does more than agents, but in the end, does FSM sells unit trust funds?  And does FSM has numerous unit trust funds that does not have sales charges?.

That are what my earlier posts was meant to tell.

BTW,
Luckily I did not elaborate much about FSM like the 2 of you does, else I kena kuat kuat when asked in post 197
"Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?"
If got, I wanna know.
T231H
post Nov 18 2022, 09:37 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 18 2022, 09:29 AM)
If got, I wanna know.
FSMOne Malaysia, can you tell him?

Or you can goto fsm malaysia site, fund section, use the fund selection tool,
matnormyth89
post Apr 13 2024, 10:17 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 31 2021, 08:55 AM)
i think cannot go wrong with good funds. i using hit and run method. anytime my epf fund i invest using FSM hit 10% i will take out. then put back in again. cos sometimes fund like china one very volatile, anytime can hit 10% in 1 month. if i can hit 10%, i already get so much better return compare to EPF.
Hi, how does it work for you in long run? Is it better then hodl?

One of the fund return is 20% after near 2 years investment. My inital strategy is hodl till retirement and keep buying as i have strong confidence in this particular fund in long run.
But as the return is quite big, make me hesitate to keep buying, i'm thinking to sell instead.
Ramjade
post Apr 13 2024, 10:44 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(matnormyth89 @ Apr 13 2024, 10:17 PM)
Hi, how does it work for you in long run? Is it better then hodl?

One of the fund return is 20% after near 2 years investment. My inital strategy is hodl till retirement and keep buying as i have strong confidence in this particular fund in long run.
But as the return is quite big, make me hesitate to keep buying, i'm thinking to sell instead.
Depends on fund. Some funds are good, some funds are ok, some funds are one time winner only.
chrisderick88
post Apr 14 2024, 01:22 PM

277 posts

Some funds are good, some funds are bad. Chances are you *might* pick a bad fund, or pick a good fund that later turn bad is very high.
In retirement fund, trust your government. They will guarantee your $$.
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2024, 01:38 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Apr 14 2024, 01:22 PM)
Some funds are good, some funds are bad. Chances are you *might* pick a bad fund, or pick a good fund that later turn bad is very high.
In retirement fund, trust your government. They will guarantee your $$.
Wrong. Never trust anyone. Do your own homework. Higher chances of picking the wrong fund. But with help of FSM, unlikely. I am one of those that with FSM help, able to get 10%p.a+ (being conservative here) from my unit trust bought using EPF money.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2024, 01:39 PM
chrisderick88
post Apr 14 2024, 08:53 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 14 2024, 01:38 PM)
Wrong. Never trust anyone. Do your own homework. Higher chances of picking the wrong fund. But with help of FSM, unlikely. I am one of those that with FSM help, able to get 10%p.a+ (being conservative here) from my unit trust bought using EPF money.
Nice one bro. Is the UT focusing on SPX? I would like to see the return over say next 10 or 20 years.

Still, I'm glad to be proven wrong.
Ramjade
post Apr 14 2024, 09:44 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Apr 14 2024, 08:53 PM)
Nice one bro. Is the UT focusing on SPX? I would like to see the return over say next 10 or 20 years.

Still, I'm glad to be proven wrong.
Sure here you go.
Principal global titans (no longer available). I bought it before it was discontinued by EPF
KAF Core income fund
KAF tactical fund

Kaf core being the superior of them all. That's where I putting my money.

If EPF allow back principal global titans, that is where I will put my money despite KAF core beating it.

Fsm only have 10y data. Good enough for me. You want afund that is consistent. Not one that is one time champion.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2024, 09:47 PM
BboyDora
post Apr 15 2024, 09:08 AM

2,368 posts

passive investment vs active investment . can it be compare?

unit trust = you pay someone (agent fees) to do " active investment" .
Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 09:18 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 15 2024, 09:08 AM)
passive investment vs active investment . can it be compare?

unit trust = you pay someone (agent fees) to do " active investment" .
Of course. See if you willing to click extra and see good funds available.

Er buy from FSM, it's free. You only pay annual fees. Rather than pay EPF to manage your money and get like 5%, by you doing a little work can earn minimum 10%p.a
Holocene
post Apr 15 2024, 12:33 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 14 2024, 09:44 PM)
Sure here you go.
Principal global titans (no longer available). I bought it before it was discontinued by EPF
KAF Core income fund
KAF tactical fund

Kaf core being the superior of them all. That's where I putting my money.

If EPF allow back principal global titans, that is where I will put my money despite KAF core beating it.

Fsm only have 10y data. Good enough for me. You want afund that is consistent. Not one that is one time champion.
Using I-invest, any reason you do not use Public Global for your global exposure?
Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 01:18 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Apr 15 2024, 12:33 PM)
Using I-invest, any reason you do not use Public Global for your global exposure?
I ma not going to pay service charge if I can help it. Unless no choice.
Holocene
post Apr 15 2024, 01:51 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 15 2024, 01:18 PM)
I ma not going to pay service charge if I can help it. Unless no choice.
I suppose at least KAF is doing pretty good at the moment.
markedestiny
post Apr 15 2024, 02:07 PM

764 posts

One can buy unit trust funds from i-invest within EPF by understanding market trends and macro-economy and have gains beating that of EPF's div. Just need to know what sectors to buy, then buy low, have patience and sell high.. don't hold funds too long as every industry sectors are cyclic. I usually hold not more than 3 years, rinse and repeat.
Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 02:32 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Apr 15 2024, 01:51 PM)
I suppose at least KAF is doing pretty good at the moment.
It have been good for the past 10 years beating EPF by minimal double digit.

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Apr 15 2024, 02:07 PM)
One can buy unit trust funds from i-invest within EPF by understanding market trends and macro-economy and have gains beating that of EPF's div.  Just need to know what sectors to buy, then buy low, have patience and sell high.. don't hold funds too long as every industry sectors are cyclic. I usually hold not more than 3 years, rinse and repeat.
Er, I hold long term. Only exception to this is principal Asia Pacific thanks to emperor xi.
boyboycute
post Apr 15 2024, 02:52 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Enemy @ May 15 2020, 01:40 PM)
To be honest I don't really know. Just that when I met him about 2-3 months ago, I know that only some are positive, but still nowhere near to cover the losses.
Thank you guys for giving your opinions. So far I'm seeing that it's best to just keep the funds in EPF.
Wah..u entrusted your hard earned money with someone u met for few months only. I also wanna become your friend
markedestiny
post Apr 15 2024, 02:54 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 15 2024, 02:32 PM)
It have been good for the past 10 years beating EPF by minimal double digit.
Er, I hold long term. Only exception to this is principal Asia Pacific thanks to emperor xi.
I bought Principal Global Titans before, sold for 25%+ gain.

Unit trusts are just a collection of stocks; subjected to ups and downs of the market...if hold too long, you gave back the gains to the market (like the china based unit trusts you are talking about, it was trending high back then)unless you plan to slowly collect dividends

Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 05:06 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Apr 15 2024, 02:54 PM)
I bought Principal Global Titans before, sold for 25%+ gain.
Unit trusts are just a collection of stocks; subjected to ups and downs of the market...if hold too long, you gave back the gains to the market (like the china based unit trusts you are talking about, it was trending high back then)unless you plan to slowly collect dividends
I kena before. Sold too early. Different stories for different people. Some want take profit. I am ok with letting it run.
coolguy_0925
post Apr 15 2024, 10:30 PM

4,552 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 15 2024, 09:18 AM)
Of course. See if you willing to click extra and see good funds available.

Er buy from FSM, it's free. You only pay annual fees. Rather than pay EPF to manage your money and get like 5%, by you doing a little work can earn minimum 10%p.a
Just to seek clarification as you mentioned that FSM is free

Yet the website is stating that equity, balanced, alternative investment and mixed assets funds is charging 1.50% of sales charge
Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 10:32 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 15 2024, 10:30 PM)

Yet the website is stating that equity, balanced, alternative investment and mixed assets funds is charging 1.50% of sales charge
My mistake. Sorry. I thought was free.
https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/frequentl...tUniqueKey=2362

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 15 2024, 10:33 PM
coolguy_0925
post Apr 15 2024, 10:38 PM

4,552 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 15 2024, 10:32 PM)
No issue, just to clarify

Yet 1.5% is acceptable as some charge even higher

I suppose opening and maintaining an account @ fsmone is FOC

This post has been edited by coolguy_0925: Apr 15 2024, 10:39 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 15 2024, 11:07 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 15 2024, 10:38 PM)

It's always free.
Holocene
post Apr 16 2024, 08:18 AM

945 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 15 2024, 10:30 PM)

I think what Ramjade meant was if you go through i-invest, the EPF approved funds available on FSM will be free.

dwRK
post Apr 16 2024, 08:37 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

9. What is the sales charge for EPF investment?

Effective from 1 May 2020, for a duration of one year, EPF has imposed a maximum sales charge of 1.5% on subscription via EPF form submission (ePPA). As such, your EPF sales charge will be stamped with 1.5% sales charge.

markedestiny
post Apr 16 2024, 09:24 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 16 2024, 08:37 AM)

The max sales charge is now capped to 0.5% if you directly invest via i-invest in your EPF account.

Most of the funds with the exception of PB Mutual do not charge this 0.5%, so usually no sales charge 0%. Besides FSM, there is also Philip Mutual fundhouse which you can buy from with 0%.

togekiss
post Apr 16 2024, 09:26 AM

429 posts

i have 4 funds through i-invest EPF. all 4 are in the negative. once it goes positive, i would park it back into EPF and will not take it out for unit trust purposes anymore.
markedestiny
post Apr 16 2024, 09:30 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(togekiss @ Apr 16 2024, 09:26 AM)
i have 4 funds through i-invest EPF. all 4 are in the negative. once it goes positive, i would park it back into EPF and will not take it out for unit trust purposes anymore.
See my earlier comments, you need to research what funds to buy and hold. If you don't or new to investment, then it's wiser to leave it as it is in the EPF and let it roll as EPF has very good fund managers
togekiss
post Apr 17 2024, 09:28 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Apr 16 2024, 09:30 AM)
See my earlier comments, you need to research what funds to buy and hold. If you don't or new to investment, then it's wiser to leave it as it is in the EPF and let it roll as EPF has very good fund managers
i agree.
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2024, 09:42 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Apr 16 2024, 08:18 AM)
I think what Ramjade meant was if you go through i-invest, the EPF approved funds available on FSM will be free.

I don't know if I am charged 0% or 1.5%. If charge 1.5% so be it. It's worth paying them 1.5% to get average minimum of 10%p.a and only one time charge.

QUOTE(togekiss @ Apr 16 2024, 09:26 AM)
Pick one. No need so many fund. Pick the best.
Ramjade
post Apr 17 2024, 11:34 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 15 2024, 10:38 PM)

QUOTE(Holocene @ Apr 16 2024, 08:18 AM)

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 16 2024, 08:37 AM)
I just checked my transactions on FSM bought via i-invest 0% service charge biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 17 2024, 11:35 PM
togekiss
post Apr 18 2024, 09:25 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 17 2024, 09:42 AM)

Pick one. No need so many fund. Pick the best.
thanks for the advice.
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2024, 09:34 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(togekiss @ Apr 18 2024, 09:25 AM)
thanks for the advice.
For me if somehow principal global titans is open back up, I will put my money with them.

Since EPF suspended them, my only choice left is KAF core income. Others all sucks.

Not sure about public mutual.
dwRK
post Apr 18 2024, 10:55 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 17 2024, 11:34 PM)
I just checked my transactions on FSM bought via i-invest 0% service charge  biggrin.gif
is a fsm problem.... on one faq page it says 1.5%... on another, the page i posted, says 1.5% for one year only which has now pass...

Ramjade
post Apr 18 2024, 11:04 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 18 2024, 10:55 AM)
is a fsm problem.... on one faq page it says 1.5%... on another, the page i posted, says 1.5% for one year only which has now pass...
Only way is test it out yourself and it will generate a report from FSM side. Report shows zero service charge. I didn't go and count.
mapeyeo1
post Apr 18 2024, 02:59 PM

112 posts

Decided to put some money in KAF Core Income Fund, wish me luck haha
Ramjade
post Apr 18 2024, 08:01 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ Apr 18 2024, 02:59 PM)
Decided to put some money in KAF Core Income Fund, wish me luck haha
Don't worry. Wish me luck too. I got like 20% of my EPF inside there. Lol.
acrylic_26
post May 13 2024, 03:56 PM

267 posts

mine from 2022 - 2024 got increase 20% consider not bad right?

This post has been edited by acrylic_26: May 13 2024, 03:58 PM
mapeyeo1
post Jun 15 2024, 10:31 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 18 2024, 08:01 PM)
Don't worry. Wish me luck too. I got like 20% of my EPF inside there. Lol.
Good fund recommendation, now up11% since purchase on April24, huat.
Ramjade
post Jun 15 2024, 11:00 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ Jun 15 2024, 10:31 PM)
Good fund recommendation, now up11% since purchase on April24, huat.
Don't worry. Will put more. Won't bother with EPF. Lol.
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 02:43 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 15 2020, 01:28 PM)
Don't TRUST them. Only a handful beats EPF returns.
Hehe. I like that.
prophetjul
post Jun 17 2024, 08:34 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 16 2024, 02:43 AM)
Hehe. I like that.
It's TRUE!
Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 09:23 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 16 2024, 02:43 AM)
Hehe. I like that.
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 17 2024, 08:34 AM)
It's TRUE!
Choose wisely.
MUM
post Jun 17 2024, 09:37 AM

14,948 posts

Then do frequently monitor and review of its performance against the ²current situation at that time and make wise decision about it based on the situation at that time.

Make wise decision about the need to change funds after that monitoring..

But Wise or not can only by tell after the facts....ha ha ha
icemanfx
post Jun 17 2024, 09:53 AM

21,457 posts

Unit trust charge management fees yearly, could be substantial over many years.

Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 09:59 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 17 2024, 09:53 AM)
Unit trust charge management fees yearly, could be substantial over many years.
Worth it if can give 10%p.a.nett fees

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 17 2024, 10:00 AM
icemanfx
post Jun 17 2024, 11:26 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 09:59 AM)
Not many unit trust could deliver this consistently.

hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 01:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 17 2024, 09:37 AM)
Then do frequently monitor and review of its performance against the ²current situation at that time and make wise decision about it based on the situation at that time.

Make wise decision about the need to change funds after that monitoring..

But Wise or not can only by tell after the facts....ha ha ha
Yes sadly, hindsight vision is always 20/20
guy3288
post Jun 17 2024, 01:57 PM

5,915 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 09:59 AM)
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 17 2024, 11:26 AM)
if can consistently nett 10% pa, we dont need to work already.

Just use banks' money to make money.

start small RM1 million nett a year RM100k.

upscale to RM100million, get RM10M a year
just how much extra work is that?

If bank loan expensive come get it from here 6% no frills.

icemanfx
post Jun 17 2024, 02:14 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 17 2024, 01:57 PM)
if can consistently nett 10% pa,  we dont need to work already.

start small  RM1 million  nett a year RM100k.

just how much extra work  is that?

According to wealth reports, only 4% of adults in this country have over USD 100k net worth. Also means less than 1% have RM 1m cash.
hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 02:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I’m happy to say that even at 5% consistent interest I’m ready for full time retirement haha
guy3288
post Jun 17 2024, 03:01 PM

5,915 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 17 2024, 02:14 PM)
According to wealth reports, only 4% of adults in this country have over USD 100k net worth. Also means less than 1% have RM 1m cash.
i meant to say go take bank loan..
not use own RM1 million saving.

If cant get RM 1 million loan ,take smaller loan also can
sure untung right?

sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 17 2024, 02:30 PM)
I’m happy to say that even at 5% consistent interest I’m ready for full time retirement haha
bro when your quantum is big enough, at 1% also you are ok.

imagine people with small quantum 10% dapat RM80k a year
you 1% also can dapat SD1 million a year.
hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 03:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 17 2024, 03:01 PM)
i meant to say go take bank loan..
not use own RM1 million saving.

If cant get RM 1 million loan ,take smaller loan also can
sure untung right?

sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit
bro when your quantum is  big enough, at 1% also you are ok.

imagine people with small quantum 10% dapat RM80k a year
you 1% also can dapat SD1 million a year.
Fair point. But nah, need a minimum 4% per annum to make sure I keep my head above the magical self set SGD1m mark (excluding our property returns)
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jun 17 2024, 03:24 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 15 2024, 11:00 PM)
Don't worry. Will put more. Won't bother with EPF. Lol.
bro can give list of recommendations fund for EPF? besides KAF core
Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 07:21 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 17 2024, 11:26 AM)
Surprising quite a lot.

You can. It's up your risk factor lo. Loan need to pay off. If own money no bank going to come after you.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jun 17 2024, 03:24 PM)
bro can give list of recommendations fund for EPF? besides KAF core
Actually a lot. Can check out FSM page. Fund selector. EPF approved fund. I will be waiting for them to enable back global titans (returns are lower than KAF core surprisingly). For me, I just buy one and stick with it. If the wheel ain't broken, don't change it.

MGM
post Jun 17 2024, 09:39 PM

18,459 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 07:21 PM)
Surprising quite a lot.
You can. It's up your risk factor lo. Loan need to pay off. If own money no bank going to come after you.
Actually a lot. Can check out FSM page. Fund selector. EPF approved fund. I will be waiting for them to enable back global titans (returns are lower than KAF core surprisingly). For me, I just buy one and stick with it. If the wheel ain't broken, don't change it.
These KAF CORE & GLOBAL titan?

Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 09:53 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 17 2024, 09:39 PM)
These KAF CORE & GLOBAL titan?

Kaf core have managed min 10%p.a for I think 10 years already.

Principal global titans was one of the few fund with overseas exposure but disabled by EPF. Reason of disable Iusnure but I can only speculatr that they want people to invest locally. Just speculation cause that time ringgit dropping. I don't believe in coincidence in govt related policies.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 17 2024, 09:53 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 10:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The KAF core fund looks impressive!
Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 10:19 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 17 2024, 10:05 PM)
The KAF core fund looks impressive!
I was shocked. For a Malaysian fund. It have been outperforming the EPF for years!!!

I maybe a DIY guy but if something is good, I will just pay them to do it for me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 17 2024, 10:19 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 10:21 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 10:19 PM)
I was shocked. For a Malaysian fund. It have been outperforming the EPF for years!!!

I maybe a DIY guy but if something is good, I will just pay them to do it for me.
Haha. Like you said, if it ain’t broke, why fix it!?
MGM
post Jun 17 2024, 10:23 PM

18,459 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 09:53 PM)
Kaf core have managed min 10%p.a for I think 10 years already.

Principal global titans was one of the few fund with overseas exposure but disabled by EPF. Reason of disable Iusnure but I can only speculatr that they want people to invest locally. Just speculation cause that time ringgit dropping. I don't believe in coincidence in govt related policies.
But the KAF Core is more impressive esp the last 5 years, 24%p.a.

Ramjade
post Jun 17 2024, 10:28 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 17 2024, 10:21 PM)
Haha. Like you said, if it ain’t broke, why fix it!?
If a fund is good, stick with it. No need to chase the latest fund. That my principal. Like the Scottish mortgage fund. It's a good fund listed on LSE

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 17 2024, 10:23 PM)
But the KAF Core is more impressive esp the last 5 years, 24%p.a.

Got lots of fund giving like 30% return for past 1-2 years. Must look at long term how it fare. So far the most consistent fund is the KAF core
!@#$%^
post Jun 19 2024, 10:04 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

so in terms of unit trust, there's not so much of buying 'low' and selling 'high' i suppose? for example kaf core will keep going up and up
Ramjade
post Jun 19 2024, 10:12 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 19 2024, 10:04 AM)
so in terms of unit trust, there's not so much of buying 'low' and selling 'high' i suppose? for example kaf core will keep going up and up
Got. Many of my returns from unit trust are from buying near low. No one can buy at the exact low.

Why? Keep in mind. Unit trust hold a basket of stocks. If price goes down, NAV also goes down. Also majority of unit trust hold like 5-say 20% of cash (maybe wrong here) so that low % of cash won't offset the NAV drop when market drop.

Long term likely doesn't matter if the fund is good. If the fund is lousy, it's a whole different story. Lol.

But if you are like me who likes to get extra returns, you need to have cash standby.

From bloggers who I follow, all make their money and wealth by having cash and buying when things are cheap. Only some bloggers will continue buying even though all time high.
mapeyeo1
post Jun 19 2024, 11:39 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 19 2024, 10:12 AM)
Got. Many of my returns from unit trust are from buying near low. No one can buy at the exact low.

Why? Keep in mind. Unit trust hold a basket of stocks. If price goes down, NAV also goes down. Also majority of unit trust hold like 5-say 20% of cash (maybe wrong here) so that low % of cash won't offset the NAV drop when market drop.

Long term likely doesn't matter if the fund is good. If the fund is lousy, it's a whole different story. Lol.

But if you are like me who likes to get extra returns, you need to have cash standby.

From bloggers who I follow, all make their money and wealth by having cash and buying when things are cheap. Only some bloggers will continue buying even though all time high.
Mind sharing which bloggers you following? want to read up on what they blog as well, tyty
!@#$%^
post Jun 19 2024, 11:43 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

once in a about 10 years. is it time soon?
kennykong85
post Jun 19 2024, 04:00 PM

268 posts

my eastspring small cap, invested using EPF since 2016, top up on 2018, now return as per today is 43.88%

quite good performance...the only sad thing is no longer can invest the same fund via epf.
SeniorCitizen
post Jun 19 2024, 04:32 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(kennykong85 @ Jun 19 2024, 04:00 PM)
my eastspring small cap, invested using EPF since 2016, top up on 2018, now return as per today is 43.88%

quite good performance...the only sad thing is no longer can invest the same fund via epf.
This is no good. For 8 years 43.88% is just around 5%pa.

I am also reading here looking for UT with more than 8%pa return.
kennykong85
post Jun 19 2024, 05:06 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(SeniorCitizen @ Jun 19 2024, 04:32 PM)

to me consider ok la since that day1 i bought consider quite a high price
MGM
post Jun 19 2024, 05:46 PM

18,459 posts

QUOTE(kennykong85 @ Jun 19 2024, 05:06 PM)
If u have left it in epf u would have got better returns.
MGM
post Jun 19 2024, 05:48 PM

18,459 posts

Where n what product u use to park your money while waiting?
Ramjade
post Jun 19 2024, 09:43 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ Jun 19 2024, 11:39 AM)
Mind sharing which bloggers you following? want to read up on what they blog as well, tyty
https://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/?m=1
Me tako escape (his blog disappeared already)
Joseph Carlson
Joseph Carlson after hours
Dividend guy
Brian feroldi
Mr fired up wealth
Chip stock investor
Dividendology

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 19 2024, 11:43 AM)
once in a about 10 years. is it time soon?
Who knows.

QUOTE(SeniorCitizen @ Jun 19 2024, 04:32 PM)

Agreed.

QUOTE(kennykong85 @ Jun 19 2024, 05:06 PM)
If you are using EPF money you better be damn sure it beats EPF money or match it. If it cannot beat it match EPF, don't bother. That's why I set my target at 10%p.a

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 19 2024, 05:48 PM)
Where n what product u use to  park your money while waiting?
EPF, interactive broker. I am using my RM100k to buy sg banks over putting money into EPF.
lola88
post Jun 19 2024, 11:34 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 19 2024, 09:43 PM)
https://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/?m=1
Me tako escape (his blog disappeared already)
Joseph Carlson
Joseph Carlson after hours
Dividend guy
Brian feroldi
Mr fired up wealth
Chip stock investor
Dividendology
Who knows.
Agreed.
If you are using EPF money you better be damn sure it beats EPF money or match it. If it cannot beat it match EPF, don't bother. That's why I set my target at 10%p.a
EPF, interactive broker. I am using my RM100k to buy sg banks over putting money into EPF.
When u mentiOned most bloggers bought the stocks when the price are low, for the current situation when most of the stocks are over valued, it’s still sensible to DCA into QQQ OR SP500 ETFs right?

Also the Rm100k which u intend to put into SG banks, are u gonna put all Rm100k at one go to SG banks by this year or u gonna wait till the price drop?
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2024, 12:46 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(lola88 @ Jun 19 2024, 11:34 PM)
When u mentiOned most bloggers bought the stocks when the price are low, for the current situation when most of the stocks are over valued, it’s still sensible to DCA into QQQ OR SP500 ETFs right?

Also the Rm100k which u intend to put into SG banks, are u gonna put all Rm100k at one go to SG banks by this year or u gonna wait till the price drop?
Most of them practice market timing. They use technical analysis (which I don't do). They don't buy when overvalued. There are 2 schools of thoughts. One is buy when valuation is cheap. Notice I didn't say price. Eg Nvidia is actually cheap even though price is expensive (if they can sustain current demand). Another is buy at any price. Look at Amazon and Costco, never go on sale. What is expensive now is actually cheaper in the future. Same with ringgit. I started my journey when RM Vs 3.0 Vs SGD and 4.0-4.2 Vs USD. You need to pick your camp. I am both camp. I practice market timing. Something I just buy regardless of price.

That's the beauty of being flexible. No need die die buy sg banks. Buy other quality companies that are on sale.

I already did my purchases early this year. Maybe this is new thing I said, the RM100k I can always divert elsewhere if no good deals. Not die die must buy sg banks. Must learn how to be flexible. My 100k already allocated into sg banks early this year when price was still low.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 20 2024, 07:10 AM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jun 20 2024, 08:11 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2024, 10:19 PM)

scare will be like interpac dana sufi only
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2024, 08:44 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jun 20 2024, 08:11 AM)
scare will be like interpac dana sufi only
All funds will not perform eventually. Need to monitor. Also I od t touch anything shariah.
torres09
post Jun 27 2024, 11:27 PM

577 posts

Hi sifu's here. I have a few questions here regarding my investments with Public Mutual from my EPF account 1.

1. How do you know if the returns from PM is lower or higher than what you would've got if you had kept the money in EPF account 1?
2. My way of calculation is (since I didn't touch my EPF account 2), I take my current account 2 balance as 30%, and assume how much should my EPF account 1 70% should be. For example, if I have 30k in my account 2 now, my account 1 should have 70k, if I did not withdraw to EPF. Is this method correct?
3. I am very confused with how PM show the fund performance in PMO app. The returns are shown as total unrealised P/L from the total investments into the fund. For example, I might see a return of 70% which seems great, but considering it has been more than 10 years without top up, it actually isn't that great. In 10 years considering an average of 5% EPF dividend, my money would've doubled! Isn't this misleading?
Hopefully someone can enlighten me as I am not invested in other unit trust funds except PM.
MUM
post Jun 28 2024, 06:04 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jun 27 2024, 11:27 PM)
Hi sifu's here. I have a few questions here regarding my investments with Public Mutual from my EPF account 1.

1. How do you know if the returns from PM is lower or higher than what you would've got if you had kept the money in EPF account 1?
2. My way of calculation is (since I didn't touch my EPF account 2), I take my current account 2 balance as 30%, and assume how much should my EPF account 1 70% should be. For example, if I have 30k in my account 2 now, my account 1 should have 70k, if I did not withdraw to EPF. Is this method correct?
3. I am very confused with how PM show the fund performance in PMO app. The returns are shown as total unrealised P/L from the total investments into the fund. For example, I might see a return of 70% which seems great, but considering it has been more than 10 years without top up, it actually isn't that great. In 10 years considering an average of 5% EPF dividend, my money would've doubled! Isn't this misleading?
Hopefully someone can enlighten me as I am not invested in other unit trust funds except PM.
I think it is better and easier for investors to compare if the fund provides "annualised returns" value. FSM has funds returns displayed in annualised value for those funds they sell too.

Seems like PM did not provides that.
But since you got total investment return value and the period of investment (in years), you can try to convert the total return into annualised value yourself.

Can try this article for some idea as it has examples too.
How To Calculate Annualized Returns (With an Example
https://www.indeed.com/career-advice/career...nualized-return

Just found the annualised return calculator.
https://www.buyupside.com/calculators/annualizedreturn.htm

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 28 2024, 06:22 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 28 2024, 08:42 AM

24,406 posts

Try this excel on the first page.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169

Not sure if you can get the fund code from public mutual. If cannot get, you cannot use the excel file.

Also don't use app. Use desktop where possible.
Holocene
post Jun 28 2024, 10:59 AM

945 posts

Date: Base on withdrawal date
Amount: Capital injected

You will then be able to determine the annualised return of your investment and conclude if your investments have outperformed EPF.

In your example of 70% return in 10 years (assume), you're looking at an annualised return of 5.44%, just about EPF return. The questions will be if it's worth the risk you're taking. If it's more than 10 years like what you mentioned, you probably want to reassess your investments.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by Holocene: Jun 28 2024, 11:08 AM
dwRK
post Jul 2 2024, 01:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

so this kaf y'all like so much... dead/flat for 7 years... surge for 6-9 months... dead again for 2 years... now moving again...

anyone know why or reason for the current move...?

yes its consistent rising now but not really in the past... classify as high risk...

Holocene
post Jul 3 2024, 03:26 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2024, 01:27 PM)
so this kaf y'all like so much... dead/flat for 7 years... surge for 6-9 months... dead again for 2 years... now moving again...

anyone know why or reason for the current move...?

yes its consistent rising now but not really in the past... classify as high risk...

New fund manager that's more aggressive than the past fund manager.

They exited glove stock at close to the peak and reallocated the profits to other sectors, now you can see the result of the seeds sow.

If you refer to their annual report from 31/8/2023, you will find some interesting information on why it's seeing a upwards movement.

DYODD.

This post has been edited by Holocene: Jul 3 2024, 03:35 PM
MGM
post Jul 3 2024, 08:56 PM

18,459 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jul 3 2024, 03:26 PM)

They exited glove stock at close to the peak and reallocated the profits to other sectors, now you can see the result of the seeds sow.

If you refer to their annual report from 31/8/2023, you will find some interesting information on why it's seeing a upwards movement.

DYODD.
Can share the interesting info?

dwRK
post Jul 3 2024, 11:12 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jul 3 2024, 03:26 PM)

DYODD.
thank you so much

0.1432sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:09 AM