Money in EPF vs Unit Trusts

Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 05:46 PM

24,417 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 05:25 PM)
Anybody into 0% promo trade for US stocks for POEMS just for this month only?
Don't get bluff by 0% promo. There's platform fees. You want real 0%, use webull where everyday is zero.
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 07:55 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 05:46 PM)
Don't get bluff by 0% promo. There's platform fees. You want real 0%, use webull where everyday is zero.
What is their actual platform fees on POEMS? A bit confused on their fees structure
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 08:11 PM

24,417 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 07:55 PM)
What is their actual platform fees on POEMS? A bit confused on their fees structure
SGD 2 per stock up to a max. of SGD 150 per quarter (7% GST applies)
Monthly charges are automatically waived if there are at least

(a) two trades in your trading account in the same calendar month, regardless of trade size in local or foreign shares OR

(b) six trades in your trading account in the same calendar quarter, regardless of trade size in local or foreign shares OR

© SGD 132 of paid brokerages in the same calendar quarter

https://globalmarkets.poems.com.sg/faq/fees...ges-settlement/
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2021, 02:57 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 08:11 PM)
Settlement fees it looks like it

Super confusing especially Asian brokerages
SUScatherintherye
post Apr 2 2021, 08:23 AM

64 posts

Wow, so many platform wants to be like EPF. Look at characteristic

EPF
- Every month 21% deducted from your salary to EPF for investment.
- EPF build porfolio using SAA (strategic asset allocation) just a fancy name means, 50% fixed income, 40% equity (local/foreign), 6% property, 4% money market
- 0 fees

Unit trust, mutual, stashaway, whatever
- Every month you decide pump in how many
- depend on type above u choose, and porfolio they build, be it by robo by fund manager, choose their own SAA style
- annual fees (1-2%), transaction fees ( 0.x - 1.x%) no free lunch, initial buying fees, some could cut into 5% first etc...

The way they make money is the the more u transact...the more fees. So, your investment, please take into account such thing, every month u depost RM1000 to whatever type, could be 1% charges or 10 ringgit whatever depend %, so your RM1000 is actuall 990 only, plus yearly come, fund manager wants to take a cut.

SUSyklooi
post Apr 2 2021, 08:49 AM

8,188 posts

At the e nd of the day, it is the returns that matters to each individuals at the investment platform or products that suits the risk appetite n returns expectations of that individuals...
Fees are just secondary....
It will have to be the consistency of "net" returns that matters most in their mind initally.

After some times, if the returns are consistent, then they will think abt the fees variance..... To try to get more for the same amount of risk taken

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 2 2021, 08:53 AM
blackchides
post Apr 2 2021, 12:21 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Definitely a lot of irresponsible agents out there. I have seen some actually got their clients to park EPF money into Public Mutual bond funds with 4% 10 year annualized returns, which is lower than EPF 6% 10y.

The excuse was so that they can reoptimize the portfolio when equity markets are underperforming. Completely ridiculous - why not reoptimize into the EPF fund itself then?

This is in addition to parking in equity fund with only 7% 10y annualized performance. Why risk your EPF money for extra 1% outperformance?

honsiong
post Apr 2 2021, 12:36 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 2 2021, 12:21 PM)
Definitely a lot of irresponsible agents out there. I have seen some actually got their clients to park EPF money into Public Mutual bond funds with 4% 10 year annualized returns, which is lower than EPF 6% 10y.

The excuse was so that they can reoptimize the portfolio when equity markets are underperforming. Completely ridiculous - why not reoptimize into the EPF fund itself then?

This is in addition to parking in equity fund with only 7% 10y annualized performance. Why risk your EPF money for extra 1% outperformance?
EPF already put 50% in fixed income and 3% in money market iirc. Agents really got huge conflicts of interest.
farizmalek
post Apr 6 2021, 11:33 PM

182 posts

Better EPF because:-

1. less risk

2. compunded dividen every year

3. Every month deduct salary 11% and Employer contribute 13% and go into your EPF.

4. 50 years old age can take out 1/3 and at 55 years old can take out all. However below 50 years old also can take out if more than a million in your EPF account. You can take out the balance at anytime. Minimum cannot take out is RM1 million.
afif737
post Apr 6 2021, 11:49 PM

103 posts

You don't always have to flex to prove a point you know. Just saying.
NorAzdanNordin
post Apr 7 2021, 12:39 AM

132 posts

Just gonna leave this here.

I cincai throw into one UT during the 0% sales charge sometime Oct last year, gonna sell back and put into EPF balik.

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 09:40 AM

14,949 posts

QUOTE(NorAzdanNordin @ Apr 7 2021, 12:39 AM)
Just gonna leave this here.

I cincai throw into one UT during the 0% sales charge sometime Oct last year, gonna sell back and put into EPF balik.

thumbup.gif good that you got positive results in your investment.

if those that had previously entered and cabut during these indicated periods, they would have cursed about this fund at that time of their exit....their reasons are valid too....

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 09:53 AM

14,949 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 6 2021, 11:33 PM)

Better EPF because:-

1. less risk

2. compunded dividen every year

3. Every month deduct salary 11% and Employer contribute 13% and go into your EPF.

4. 50 years old age can take out 1/3 and at 55 years old can take out all. However below 50 years old also can take out if more than a million in your EPF account. You can take out the balance at anytime. Minimum cannot take out is RM1 million.
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

as per 2018 article....
A net worth of $93,170 U.S. (abt RM400k) is enough to make you richer than 90 percent of people around the world, Credit Suisse reports.
The institute defines net worth, or “wealth,” as “the value of financial assets plus real assets (principally housing) owned by households, minus their debts.”

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/11/07/how-much-mo...-worldwide.html

in 2019 report, 3.7% Malaysians was placed in the US$100,000 to US$1 million wealth band.
https://themalaysianreserve.com/2019/10/22/...wealth-bracket/
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:12 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 09:40 AM)
thumbup.gif good that you got positive results in your investment.

if those that had previously entered and cabut during these indicated periods, they would have cursed about this fund at that time of their exit....their reasons are valid too....
Good chart. This just shows that you can outperform EPF with UT, but must be prepared mentally to handle the volatility and you must be in for the long haul to ride any multi-year dips.

Whereas EPF returns are almost linear every year like clockwork, so you may feel tempted to switch out from UT in those years when returns are below EPF dividends.

MUM
post Apr 7 2021, 10:24 AM

14,949 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 7 2021, 10:12 AM)
Good chart. This just shows that you can outperform EPF with UT, but must be prepared mentally to handle the volatility and you must be in for the long haul to ride any multi-year dips.

Whereas EPF returns are almost linear every year like clockwork, so you may feel tempted to switch out from UT in those years when returns are below EPF dividends.
hmm.gif based on past performances, your statement maybe questionable for some of the EPF-MIS funds that are in FSM platforms (the image are excludes those from other source or PM funds)

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 7 2021, 10:29 AM

hussain
post Apr 7 2021, 10:27 AM

2,012 posts

Diversify
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:36 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 7 2021, 10:24 AM)
hmm.gif based on past performances, your statement maybe questionable for some of the EPF-MIS funds that are in FSM platforms (the image are excludes those from other source or PM funds)
Oh yes, I was speaking purely based on the snapshot of the fund you posted.

There are plenty of really crappy underperforming funds out there pushed by irresponsible agents.

As usual, whoever wants to take this route must do sufficient research, look at the usual metrics - annualized returns, annual performance, beta, Sharpe ratio, benchmarks.

kidmad
post Apr 7 2021, 10:40 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(l4nunm4l4y4 @ May 15 2020, 01:07 PM)
They say to sell Unit Trusts during MCO. 
I didn't and I lost about RM10k.
2020 was the best time buying UT. nearly all portfolios went up approx 30%. Even the few portfolio's i invested in now 2020 shown 22% for their conservation 24% for their balance and 32% for their moderate aggressive portfolios.

How come you lose money? something must be wrong.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Apr 7 2021, 10:41 AM
blackchides
post Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 7 2021, 10:40 AM)
2020 was the best time buying UT. nearly all portfolios went up approx 30%. Even the few portfolio's i invested in now 2020 shown 22% for their conservation 24% for their balance and 32% for their moderate aggressive portfolios.

How come you lose money? something must be wrong.
Old post. May 2020. He must be celebrating that he didnt sell now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by blackchides: Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM
kidmad
post Apr 7 2021, 10:46 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 7 2021, 10:43 AM)
Old post. May 2020. He must be celebrating that he didnt sell now  biggrin.gif
ops my bad! hahahaha yes! then indeed he must be celebrating if he didn't sell them. muahahahaha

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:17 PM