15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Money in EPF vs Unit Trusts

backspace66
post Dec 2 2020, 06:01 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Dec 2 2020, 05:19 PM)
I initially invested some elf money into mutual fund through investment agent. This year, I asked whether got any difference if I invest directly through I-invest, he said cannot, EPF withdrawal can only be done through thumb print using agent's help... is he BS me? do I need to do thumb print withdrawal with I-invest website?
That is pure BS, he just want to earn partly from the sales charge. If you buy yourself from epf-mis portal, you can get 0 % sales charge and he will not earn anything from you.

Just as a reminder, 0% sales charge is temporary until next year april IIRC. As for FSM , the sales charge for epf-mis is 0% even after the next april 2021 but other fund house such as public mutual will start to charge 0.5% afterwards.

Register for FSM and public mutual online and proceed to invest through epf-mis.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM
whirlwind
post Dec 2 2020, 06:04 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Dec 2 2020, 05:19 PM)
I initially invested some elf money into mutual fund through investment agent. This year, I asked whether got any difference if I invest directly through I-invest, he said cannot, EPF withdrawal can only be done through thumb print using agent's help... is he BS me? do I need to do thumb print withdrawal with I-invest website?
You don’t need thumb print withdrawal

Go get your online epf log in and try it yourself
Many good and helpful people here that can help you if you encounter any issues
taiping...
post Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 2 2020, 05:48 PM)
Why glad that you didn't?
Seems public mutual fee is not worth it
backspace66
post Dec 2 2020, 06:09 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 2 2020, 06:06 PM)
Better learn and update man. All the complain is before the existence of epf-mis portal(august last year) which enable you to invest yourself with zero or near zero sales charge (public mutual 0.5% after next april 2021)
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM

24,406 posts

Majority of unit trust in Malaysia are rubbish. I will say 90% of them.
Only some are good ones. The good ones easily 10-20% returns every year. Living proof.

Public mutual was never any good. Never buy unit trust based on brands.
whirlwind
post Dec 2 2020, 06:35 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

Since it’s still 0% sales charge, you should grab this opportunity

And yes, like all the sifus say there’s so many other better funds available in epf-mis
taiping...
post Dec 2 2020, 08:36 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Dec 2 2020, 06:09 PM)
Better learn and update man. All the complain is before the existence of epf-mis portal(august last year) which enable you to invest yourself with zero or near zero sales charge (public mutual 0.5% after next april 2021)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM)
Only some are good ones. The good ones easily 10-20% returns every year. Living proof.

QUOTE(whirlwind @ Dec 2 2020, 06:35 PM)
Since it’s still 0% sales charge, you should grab this opportunity

And yes, like all the sifus say there’s so many other better funds available in epf-mis
Base on history, EPF returns are doing much better
Am not going to take out money from EPf to put into UT

nanan75
post Dec 2 2020, 08:39 PM

434 posts

think 20 times before parking money in UT. I havent had good experience, to me let it compund in EPF is better.

Or if you can take out, buy gold.
cklimm
post Dec 2 2020, 08:42 PM

2,338 posts

Although a PB Bank shareholder, I used to be a PB Mutual hater due to the weak return over the years, BUT they surprised me this year

This post has been edited by cklimm: Dec 2 2020, 08:46 PM
ky33li
post Dec 2 2020, 09:16 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 06:21 PM)

agree. our local fund managers underperform as compared to overseas one. Not to mention the various sales charge and fees.
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 09:17 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Dec 2 2020, 08:36 PM)
Base on history, EPF returns are doing much better
Am not going to take out money from EPf to put into UT
That's only true if
1) you pick lousy funds which is majority of what's being sold. So chances of picking the lousy fund is very high considering majority of it is lousy
2) you blindly buy without what fund to buy (ie listen to agents)

That's why learning how to analyze unit trust is very important.

QUOTE(ky33li @ Dec 2 2020, 09:16 PM)
agree. our local fund managers underperform as compared to overseas one. Not to mention the various sales charge and fees.
Overseas also the same. Only a handful of funds are good to buy overseas.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 2 2020, 09:19 PM
ky33li
post Dec 2 2020, 09:21 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2020, 09:17 PM)
That's only true if
1) you pick lousy funds which is majority of what's being sold. So chances of picking the lousy fund is very high considering majority of it is lousy
2) you blindly buy without what fund to buy (ie listen to agents)

That's why learning how to analyze unit trust is very important.
Overseas also the same. Only a handful of funds are good to buy overseas.
Ramjade, may i know why you buy from eunitrust sg instead of fsm sg? Also, do you mind sharing which fund u bought in Singapore? TQ
cnks
post Dec 2 2020, 09:26 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 2 2020, 09:42 PM)
Although a PB Bank shareholder, I used to be a PB Mutual hater due to the weak return over the years, BUT they surprised me this year

I got some surprise this year as well. One of my 3 years old fund yield 30% return (10% p.a. on average), sold it already. Another fund I bought early this year is seeing 27% return already, despite less than a year. Previous years all my funds are either at loss or below 5% return.
Ramjade
post Dec 2 2020, 09:36 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Dec 2 2020, 09:21 PM)
Ramjade, may i know why you buy from eunitrust sg instead of fsm sg? Also, do you mind sharing which fund u bought in Singapore? TQ
FSM SG have quarterly platform fees while eUT SG does not have quarterly fees.
Both zero service charge. So why should I pay FSM SG for quarterly platform fees when eUT SG is not charging me? What benefits I will get from FSM SG to warrant that extra charge? Nothing.
Both have the same fund.

Schoders asia growth
Blackrock World Tech funds
- You can pick any tech funds, is just I like this one

I only have this 2 and they are good. Giving me almost 30% returns already.

ear_hear
post Mar 31 2021, 08:02 AM

19 posts

Any EPF-MIS funds exposed to US market?
MUM
post Mar 31 2021, 08:50 AM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(ear_hear @ Mar 31 2021, 08:02 AM)
Any EPF-MIS funds exposed to US market?
Try check this out?
It is at abt 39.5%
Principal global titan fund
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...c=global-search
ben3003
post Mar 31 2021, 08:55 AM

10,859 posts

i think cannot go wrong with good funds. i using hit and run method. anytime my epf fund i invest using FSM hit 10% i will take out. then put back in again. cos sometimes fund like china one very volatile, anytime can hit 10% in 1 month. if i can hit 10%, i already get so much better return compare to EPF.
tehoice
post Mar 31 2021, 02:16 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ May 15 2020, 02:40 PM)
I made the mistake not once but twice. First time into CIMB Mutual Fund. Lost 5-7%. Took out the fund and put back in EPF. Then, 2nd time with Kenaga. Lost 8-9%. (This is including commission but not including the potential profit I would have gain from EPF).
may i know which fund did you invest in?

if you are in KGF and been investing consistently, you should be positive right now instead.
ChessRook
post Mar 31 2021, 02:45 PM

375 posts

I think this keep in EPF vs use EPF money to invest in UT, depends on the risk appetite of the individual. For example, 59 vs 24 year old, a person with millionaire parents, person with 6 dependents vs bachelor with no family, etc.

Also important is that the person has some financial knowledge, personal interest and time to analyse UT.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Mar 31 2021, 02:46 PM
leileichungy
post Mar 31 2021, 03:13 PM

102 posts

UT is not like share market, u put in today, then tomorrow cash out. Is a long term saving for compounding purpose ma.

If you wanna see a big untung, then go forex, or those money game.

Just my 2cent.

Recently I got look into some equity fund that has average around 8-10% return. Not bad what?

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1141sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:40 AM