6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro, The New Flagship killer?

Someonesim
post May 27 2020, 12:44 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 08:53 PM)
Same price as the Poco F2 Pro in Europe

https://gsmarena.com/realme_x3_superzoom_is...-news-43420.php

Only SD855+ (no 5G) and LCD screen, though you do get a high refresh rate screen.
It's more Poco F1 successor biggrin.gif
Spec wise, it's incremental upgrade compared to poco f1, remain LCD, flagship SOC, above average camera, rather large battery. One flaw/downgrade are lack of 3.5mm headphone jack.
Poco should have a regular F2 similar to this for people concern on best value, while do what they want with 'Pro' model for people want top spec.

QUOTE(attw @ May 27 2020, 09:21 AM)
Good question. I do prefer Realme UI over MIUI though the main purpose of getting the F2 Pro would be to try the SD865 chipset, hahaha. We'll see smile.gif
While I havent use realme UI daily, I guess I prefer MIUI, mainly due to long history of MIUI development biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post May 27 2020, 12:48 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 27 2020, 11:18 AM)
Not really, I like ROG2 build, battery life, screen and speaker and the stock like android
I do recommend ROG2 to friend, if they're mobile gamer. Huge top and bottom bezel, physical size and weight, average camera are not recommending for other usage, but perfect for mobile gamers. My friend who use dual display also, 'looks' good when gaming at mamak/cafe biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post May 27 2020, 01:17 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

MKBHD on Poco F2 pro

Someonesim
post May 27 2020, 03:42 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 27 2020, 02:57 PM)
Yeah, the ROG2 looks kinda cool. I was planning to try the 8/128 model when it launched but stocks were limited and there were no good pre-order deals so I moved on smile.gif
I'm guessing it'll be in the range of the X2 Pro, 2399-3499. Anything more would be very, very difficult considering it's not a SD865 chipset.
I currently have a RN7 for work running on MIUI and I don't quite like it due to the bloatware and ads. It's tolerable though but Realme UI appeals to me more smile.gif
ROG2 around rm2.5k for AP set biggrin.gif

Best is still: laugh.gif
Stock/Pixel/OnePlus > MIUI/RealMe biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post May 27 2020, 08:38 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 27 2020, 06:08 PM)
samsung is the worst for me, when u work in banking IT lines, office firewall will alert you every 10-15minute.
Samsung did have weird issue. I got friend who can consistently show me how his S9 S10's Instagram always lag.
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 03:43 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ May 28 2020, 10:10 AM)
Not really if you think about it. You got a brand new iPhone that costs less than that laugh.gif

And wtf is with the fan free gift? The phone already has a special cooling system, giving this as a free gift just makes it more suspicious.
Blackshark probably have too much leftover stock biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jebsee @ May 28 2020, 12:08 PM)

Really good offer i would say
Might try luck on this. Below rm2k worth it IMO
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 05:19 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

IMO, if they got F2 non pro version, the bashing will be lesser. It's alright if they launch Pro version, but need to keep true to flagship-killer-affordable-non-Pro version for hardcore fans.
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 05:56 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 28 2020, 05:24 PM)
Then it won't be a flagship to kill the flagship of flagships? Haha sorry just joking but u do have a point.
Flagship killer Poco F1, it has performance and so to fight with flagship. It cut corner at good place IMO, like using LCD, plastic back cover, IP rating.
But this Poco F2 Pro, not much corner cut, it's just not competitive already sad.gif
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 06:43 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 28 2020, 06:34 PM)
Yeah, agree with you there. The names are confusing laugh.gif
Hypothetical question: if the Poco F2 was introduced with the Realme X3 Superzoom's specs and priced at RM1,799, would it be a more appropriate successor to the Poco F1?
IMO realme X3 superzoom are suitable as Poco F1 successor. LCD display, flagship SOC ( last year's, but at least no bullshit 5G )
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 07:59 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 28 2020, 06:51 PM)
Does lcd 120mhz n 60 MHz make huge difference ?
Most people should able to notice the difference between 120fps vs 60fps.
Notice I use terms fps instead of Hz.

120Hz Display = hardware
It doesnt guarantee whatever games/apps/usage are 120fps ( which are what's important )

If phone running resource heavy games that's laggy ( like 20-30fps ), then the 120Hz display are no difference to 60Hz display.
I even doubt most manufacturer's OS optimized enough to sustain constant smooth 60fps and above.

This post has been edited by Someonesim: May 28 2020, 08:00 PM
Someonesim
post May 28 2020, 08:42 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(marcyeo @ May 28 2020, 08:29 PM)
x3 vs f2...hmm

f2 - snapdragon 865, no notch and punch out display, amoled

x3 - 120hz rr, cheaper rm200, but older 855+

arrggghhh
Not huge difference on SOC.
Although benchmark dont fully reflect real life performance, but SD855+ are 9% slower than SD865
https://www.notebookcheck.net/SD-865-vs-SD-...1.247596.0.html
Someonesim
post May 29 2020, 02:07 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bangolufsen @ May 29 2020, 01:53 PM)
Hi guys, want to ask, how to know if poco f2 pro can output to external monitor through type c cable?

Is it the usb 2.0, 3.1 format or some other specs term?

Can’t find any details online.
2.0 3.1 those are not relevant.

I suspect you just need a USB-C to HDMI cable/adapter. I suspect that cable/adapter need MHL support as well.
Someonesim
post May 29 2020, 08:08 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 29 2020, 06:36 PM)
That's why I don't like USB-C port at all.... (surprised with my statement...? LOL). The physical port is the same USB-C but the protocols can be as listed below:

[attachmentid=10503131]

There's incoming USB 4.0 protocol soon.

To me USB-C physical port is currently not properly being differentiate between protocols. OEMs should start colouring the USB-C port(s) on smartphones/PCs/lptops/iPads/MacBook/etc being black as basic USB 2.0 protocols and different colours for USB 3.2 Gen 1 protocol, USB 3.2 Gen 2 protocol, USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 protocol or USB 4.0 protocol or etc...

And then ThunderBolt??? Use white colour USB-C port loohhh...

Xiaomi/Poco can get away from general public but they ain't fool me regarding these USB-C port...
You should hate most other USB port also biggrin.gif
What grind my gear are how USB IF or manufacturer change naming. USB 3.1 3.2 gen 1 2 3, IINM they even changed previous speed to another name. Fxxking idiot stupid forum ( USB IF ).

Color does help, but I think it depends on manufacturer. Most use blue for 3.0 but like Razer laptop's USB3.0 are green ( Razor theme )
Someonesim
post May 30 2020, 01:19 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

Seriously you guys will surprise at naked phone user ? Recent 5 years I'm using phone naked also ( only exception are pixel XL with wrap/skin ), no issue hmm.gif
I think depends on type of user ? I dont use phone while walking, am not phone addicts that always look at phone, so I really really rarely drop phone, past 3 years I cant recall once laugh.gif
Someonesim
post May 30 2020, 02:09 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 30 2020, 01:34 AM)
Probably not for some people, but for me, yeah notworthy.gif. I've seen a lot more people using naked phone 10 years back, but in the past 2-3 years, I've seen none  doh.gif. Respect to you guys  rclxm9.gif... What about you guys, have you seen one other than yourselves irl? If yes, around how many percent of all users roughly?
I suspect due to phone trend now, screen getting larger and larger, back cover also glass doh.gif

For naked phone user, mostly I saw is iphone 8 biggrin.gif those who refuse to leave fingerprint scanner. However, chances you saw an iPhone 8 WITHOUT cracked screen are low tongue.gif
Someonesim
post May 30 2020, 01:42 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 30 2020, 01:35 PM)
No matter how careful u are u will put the phone in your pockets. There will definately be micro scratches here n there

I also thought i can go naked, but then took my phone out and got micro scratches on the screen. U have to look at certain angle then only can see.
My phone only put alone in pocket. Pocket usually no sands or dust.
My Pixel XL, Poco F1 and current Mi9T all good, no noticeable scratches ( even if check at angles, light sources etc ), except tiny dent on poco f1 at the plastic body portion.

Depends on your behavior/usage really. There's careful people.
Someonesim
post May 30 2020, 04:03 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 30 2020, 02:34 PM)
Confirm got dust n sands wan la .. lol

And the screen can be scratched by the fabric too

I also thought no scratches until i put it under a bright light and checked.. got the shock of my life

After that, quickly put TG. Using S9 plus btw
Wow you secretly live in my house is it laugh.gif Perhaps you need to buy new washing machine biggrin.gif To make sure pockets dont caught all the sands and dust.

Fabric dont scratch. Sands or dust caught in your pocket's fabric does.
Someonesim
post Jun 3 2020, 08:58 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Jun 3 2020, 06:01 PM)
T&L now selling global set at 2099
global set, so I guess it's AP set.

RM2099 still quite good price.
Someonesim
post Jun 4 2020, 04:32 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ Jun 4 2020, 04:24 PM)
Woah, you bought two units? How much?
Nice review. But he didn't mention lack of USB to hdmi output or whatever u call it.
TBH not that useful for me, if not useless.
Now most TV support wireless casting already. I can just cast youtube played on my phone to TV with 1-2 steps.
Someonesim
post Jun 4 2020, 08:32 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bangolufsen @ Jun 4 2020, 06:10 PM)
Cause before this you gotta spend for flagship phones to experience this, with android 10, android desktop mode comes to all android 10 phones.

And with third party developers now devoloping their own skin for android desktop mode, it will be more useful in the future.

https://www.xda-developers.com/taskbar-sams...ode-android-10/

Some people who have Samsung even install Dex on PC on their old laptops and run Dex on it to make it new again.
No need badmouth other for not paying flagship price in 2020. I use all generation Nexues ( except Nexus One ) and 1st gen Pixel XL.
And yes Android 10 have hidden desktop mode, not restricted to 'flagship' phone only.

Android Desktop mode can almost predicted to be abandon by Google and others in just few years time. Apps support is the key here ( or the lack of )
Same reason Android failed to capture mainstream tablet market, Android apps are not optimized well enough to run on over size display, nor most of them have proper tablet mode.
Most Chromebook user and reviewer will tell you Android apps support and optimization in Chromebook are near rubbish, most of Chromebook display are much larger than phone, and support touch control as well.

Android desktop mode projected to even larger size monitor and TV, with almost non existence touch control, are so far gimmick. They tried for years now and not getting any better.

Only hope are Google's project Fuchsia, which build up from ground, and at least few years away from seeing real product.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0738sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:26 PM