RCCB for Water Heater

TSa_dot_el
post Apr 7 2020, 03:36 PM, updated 6y ago

192 posts

Hi all

Would like to ask, does anyone install individual RCCB outside the bathroom on each of their water heater?

There is a central RCCB at the DB box in the living room, but I've read somewhere for water heater it's best to install RCCB nearest to it possible. Was thinking of installing individual RCCB and ELCB as well, but have read that if you have RCCB you don't need ELCB, and some recommend MCB + RCCB.

Already install MCB for each of the AC outlets and the oven.

Your advice is highly appreciated.

halcyon27
post Apr 8 2020, 10:23 PM

2,140 posts

Maybe talk to these guys as shown here.

Your intention is correct...layering electrocution protection
MCB 100ma electrical fire protection
Water heater circuit 30mA RCBO residual current breaker and overload protection (layman calls it rccb but technically it's rc+o breaker)
Heater appliance ELCB built in. Newer ones also have 10ma RCD.

Some may add 10mA at the heater master switch also for added protection due for hook on contact when electrocution caused spasms that the user is unable to let go of the energized device.

The reasonable protection principle is redundancy....in case even the protection circuitry fails over time, there is another along the circuit to back it up. Just don't overdo.

The other is to engage a qualified electrician to check the integrity of the circuit at water heater after installation. Or a renovation that touched the bathroom and may have perhaps involved the water heater. A checker auditing an installers work. Usually the head electrician will do that. You never know...and don't want to find out the shocking way.

Also look up isolator barriers which are now mandated for storage water heater installations. The company that produces them is called showertec. And also non metal type shower hoses.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Apr 8 2020, 10:51 PM
SGMedic
post Apr 9 2020, 05:48 AM

26 posts

From ST guidelines ..

The recommended 4mm2 wire for 20A mcb to Aircon & water heater..

I suppose if you install new might as well use the recommended sizes.

i used 2.5mm2 for water heater and aircon when i renovated yrs ago so better confirm with your wireman if you want the 4mm2..

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Apr 8 2020, 10:23 PM)

Water heater circuit 30mA RCBO residual current breaker and overload protection (layman calls it rccb but technically it's rc+o breaker)
Agree ..

The RCBO combines both mcb and rcd in one device..

For water heaters better use a 10mA RCD or 10mA RCBO per ST guide.

RCCB (residual current circuit breaker) & RCD (residual current device) is the same thing and operates via trip relay current difference in mA betw live/neutral. No need earth wire to operate. Installed in DB..

ELCB (earth leakage circuit breaker) operates via voltage difference and needs an earth connection to operate..which is factory installed in instant water heaters cause cannot let the leakage current electrocution risk. So a low Impedance earth connection is important.

old houses sometimes have them (big black fuse switch with a yellow button) but regulations now is RCD's ..

SUSceo684
post Apr 9 2020, 12:24 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

WHOLE HOUSE
Recommend 30mA as little use to put an insensitive RCD unless you run huge motors (industrial) use.
According to Hager, shock exceeding 50mA is lethal.

Refer page 2 - Attached File  Technical_Handbook_10x15cm_English.pdf ( 3.41mb ) Number of downloads: 324

WH 10mA RCD
RCD 10ma need to be combined with the MCB 16A or 20A depending on your load amps of water heater.
There is no requirement to position the RCD outside WH. In DB box also same protection as the RCD work on differential L-N. If 13.000A incoming on L, at least 12.990A must return otherwise it will trip (current loss = fault somewhere).

You can choose either to add on RCD 10ma + combine with MCB,
or
RCBO (all in one) device - RCD+MCB in one slot (eg Schneider)

They cost about the same..
EU made ABB or Hager RCD 17x-19x bucks
CN made SE RCD is about 105
CN made SE RCBO 175

Recommend match back the brand you have in your DB box unless its some local made/CN stuff that doesn't get international certification.

Do note 2P RCD 10ma usually take up 2 more slot in DB box. Whereas for the RCBO you can just replace MCB with it directly.

Also need to identify which is the neutral wire dedicated for WH circuit.
In my new place built 2018 no problem they actually put in some china brand RCD but it is combined 40A 10ma for two WH circuits (which even ABB, Hager unable to produce such model). I replace with ABB 10ma RCD and split to two circuits/two RCD 10ma (i.e. dedicated RCD to one circuit) as they should be.

For my old place built 1995 i add in RCD 10ma keep on tripping when on WH. WH no issue with 30ma main RCD. Suspect wiring problem with original 1995 wiring so I run dedicated line to WH from the RCD 10ma in DB box then it was OK, since its MCO I only have 2.5mm cable but it works fine for temporary solution.

Aircon load 4-7A only for 1-1.5hp typical operating load.
WH is the one that heat up wires as typical load is 13.7-16A depending on power rating.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 9 2020, 04:24 PM
Chengi
post Aug 4 2020, 12:16 PM

215 posts

i have RCBO just before my storage heater. But honestly, how many times you would test it in 1 year if you were to put it just before heater?
SUSceo684
post Aug 4 2020, 07:21 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Chengi @ Aug 4 2020, 12:16 PM)
i have RCBO just before my storage heater. But honestly, how many times you would test it in 1 year if you were to put it just before heater?
Maybe once a year should suffice if it's a good brand and not some kind of questionable CN brand..
Chengi
post Aug 4 2020, 11:59 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 4 2020, 07:21 PM)
Maybe once a year should suffice if it's a good brand and not some kind of questionable CN brand..
schneider brand..
but as i recall, those in DB, need to test like once a month
iSean
post Aug 6 2020, 01:30 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 9 2020, 12:24 PM)
WHOLE HOUSE
Recommend 30mA as little use to put an insensitive RCD unless you run huge motors (industrial) use.
According to Hager, shock exceeding 50mA is lethal.

Refer page 2 - Attached File  Technical_Handbook_10x15cm_English.pdf ( 3.41mb ) Number of downloads: 324

WH 10mA RCD
RCD 10ma need to be combined with the MCB 16A or 20A depending on your load amps of water heater.
There is no requirement to position the RCD outside WH. In DB box also same protection as the RCD work on differential L-N. If 13.000A incoming on L, at least 12.990A must return otherwise it will trip (current loss = fault somewhere).

You can choose either to add on RCD 10ma + combine with MCB,
or
RCBO (all in one) device - RCD+MCB in one slot (eg Schneider)

They cost about the same..
EU made ABB or Hager RCD 17x-19x bucks
CN made SE RCD is about 105
CN made SE RCBO 175

Recommend match back the brand you have in your DB box unless its some local made/CN stuff that doesn't get international certification.

Do note 2P RCD 10ma usually take up 2 more slot in DB box. Whereas for the RCBO you can just replace MCB with it directly.

Also need to identify which is the neutral wire dedicated for WH circuit.
In my new place built 2018 no problem they actually put in some china brand RCD but it is combined 40A 10ma for two WH circuits (which even ABB, Hager unable to produce such model). I replace with ABB 10ma RCD and split to two circuits/two RCD 10ma (i.e. dedicated RCD to one circuit) as they should be.

For my old place built 1995 i add in RCD 10ma keep on tripping when on WH. WH no issue with 30ma main RCD. Suspect wiring problem with original 1995 wiring so I run dedicated line to WH from the RCD 10ma in DB box then it was OK, since its MCO I only have 2.5mm cable but it works fine for temporary solution.

Aircon load 4-7A only for 1-1.5hp typical operating load.
WH is the one that heat up wires as typical load is 13.7-16A depending on power rating.
What does WH means hmm.gif
SUSceo684
post Aug 6 2020, 06:53 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 6 2020, 01:30 AM)
What does WH means  hmm.gif
water heater bruce.gif
culain99
post Aug 9 2020, 05:22 PM

-----
765 posts

Planning to replace replace old DB in house, currently only ELCB no RCCB.
amco
post Aug 29 2020, 03:00 AM

785 posts

Good idea, but it's troublesome to change to bigger DB Box and find the neutral wire dedicated for the water heater and need also separate the neutral bar for just water heater.
For simplicity i just change the socket or plug with built-in RCBO according to usage amphere. All of my water heaters and air conditioners are with RCBO either with socket or plug. Much easier

I have this 10mA but only 13A for water heater.

This post has been edited by amco: Aug 29 2020, 03:28 AM
SUSceo684
post Aug 29 2020, 03:46 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Aug 29 2020, 03:00 AM)
Good idea, but it's troublesome to change to bigger DB Box and find the neutral wire dedicated for the water heater and need also separate the neutral bar for just water heater.
For simplicity i just change the socket or plug with built-in RCBO according to usage amphere. All of my water heaters and air conditioners are with RCBO either with socket or plug. Much easier

That may work for aircon but WH at 3300W / 230V = 14.3A, 3600W = 15.6A which is a fire hazard to knowingly overload the 13A socket.

Schneider 1-DIN module RCBO is available so it is just direct replacement of the WH MCB in DB box.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 29 2020, 03:48 AM
amco
post Aug 29 2020, 04:32 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 29 2020, 03:46 AM)
That may work for aircon but WH at 3300W / 230V = 14.3A, 3600W = 15.6A which is a fire hazard to knowingly overload the 13A socket.

Schneider 1-DIN module RCBO is available so it is just direct replacement of the WH MCB in DB box.
Actually, I am using China's plug & socket which is 16A for water heater with tank. That 13A is suitable for AC and tankless water heater.
culain99
post Aug 30 2020, 11:02 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Aug 29 2020, 03:00 AM)

What brand is that? Where to buy
enduser
post Aug 31 2020, 07:35 AM

1,280 posts

Shud use sirim approved sso etc or later difficult to claim insurance if incident happen

SUSceo684
post Aug 31 2020, 10:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Aug 29 2020, 04:32 AM)
Actually, I am using China's plug & socket which is 16A for water heater with tank. That 13A is suitable for AC and tankless water heater.
I don't think it's suitable for water heater since normal running already exceeded 13A.

The correct one should use 30mA for whole house RCD, and 10mA RCD specific for each WH circuit as per ST guidelines.

babybaby1988
post Apr 19 2021, 09:55 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Apr 8 2020, 10:23 PM)

Heater appliance ELCB built in. Newer ones also have 10ma RCD.

Some may add 10mA at the heater master switch also for added protection due for hook on contact when electrocution caused spasms that the user is unable to let go of the energized device.

The reasonable protection principle is redundancy....in case even the protection circuitry fails over time, there is another along the circuit to back it up. Just don't overdo.

The other is to engage a qualified electrician to check the integrity of the circuit at water heater after installation. Or a renovation that touched the bathroom and may have perhaps involved the water heater. A checker auditing an installers work. Usually the head electrician will do that. You never know...and don't want to find out the shocking way.

Also look up isolator barriers which are now mandated for storage water heater installations. The company that produces them is called showertec. And also non metal type shower hoses.
can anyone recommend an installer for external rccb ?

This post has been edited by babybaby1988: Apr 19 2021, 11:28 PM
SUSceo684
post Apr 19 2021, 10:45 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Apr 19 2021, 09:55 PM)
can anyone recommend an installer for external rccb ?
Well, it is supposed to be inside the DB box.
Any qualified electrician will be able to handle the installation of 10mA RCD.

Generally if theres enough space in the DB box for 2 modules ("fat RCD") then no problem to add it in, else may need to consider using slim 1 module RCBO instead. U can take a pic of the DB box and show us for better commentary. No need to open until can see wires. Just the user accesible portion will do.

There may be false tripping if your WH circuit is not dedicated circuit but running on looped (shared) neutral as the 10mA RCD is a highly sensitive device.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 19 2021, 11:03 PM
babybaby1988
post Apr 19 2021, 11:26 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:45 PM)
Well, it is supposed to be inside the DB box.
Any qualified electrician will be able to handle the installation of 10mA RCD.

Generally if theres enough space in the DB box for 2 modules ("fat RCD") then no problem to add it in, else may need to consider using slim 1 module RCBO instead. U can take a pic of the DB box and show us for better commentary. No need to open until can see wires. Just the user accesible portion will do.

There may be false tripping if your WH circuit is not dedicated circuit but running on looped (shared) neutral as the 10mA RCD is a highly sensitive device.
attached is my current box, its messy as i requested my electrician to change all fuse mcb to trip mcb, but somehow my autogate and bell stop working and he cant seems to figure out how.

So i asked him to stop work and tmr another electrician will come.

So i told this new electrician i want RCCB outside toilet and i am not sure he understand what i want so he said he will come and see first

SUSceo684
post Apr 19 2021, 11:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Apr 19 2021, 11:26 PM)
attached is my current box, its messy as i requested my electrician to change all fuse mcb to trip mcb, but somehow my autogate and bell stop working and he cant seems to figure out how.

So i asked him to stop work and tmr another electrician will come.

So i told this new electrician i want RCCB outside toilet and i am not sure he understand what i want so he said he will come and see first
Oh dear. Best to get the new electrician to do complete overhaul change all the MCBs to one brand (ABB/Hager). The MCBs around RM7-8 bucks each only at the electrical store.

As you can see, between the taller ones and the shorter ones there are physical differences. This is a very dangerous situation as it is a loose connection (can catch fire) for the top row of short Hager fuse boxes.

Judging from the age of the whole setup, it is likely that the wires has broke internally for the one that powers your autogate (internal injury of the cable).

Normally we will advise user to turn off the questionable circuit until the electrician comes - but in this case there are alot of LIVE WIRES hanging around with masking tape as insulation puke.gif - so please do NOT touch it at all

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 19 2021, 11:49 PM

stormer.lyn
post Apr 20 2021, 08:30 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:45 PM)
You absolutely cannot use a shared neutral through a RCCB/RCBO.
Zot
post Apr 20 2021, 08:43 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Aug 29 2020, 04:32 AM)
Tankless water heater has to continuously heat the water, unlike tank type. The only reason the socket still survive is just because the heater setting was not not full power, perhaps.

Continuous heat on the 3-[in 13A plug will soften the clamping brass in the socket, thus making contact poorer leading to mere heat generated. This is how most fire get started in houses. smile.gif
Zot
post Apr 20 2021, 08:45 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 20 2021, 08:30 AM)
I believe if the N is shared before the RCCB, it is still okay. Not between RCCB and device being protected.
SUSceo684
post Apr 20 2021, 10:56 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 20 2021, 08:30 AM)
Yup, as this 10mA is for WH circuit only.

Whole house one still return to neutral common link so no issue for the whole house RCD.

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 20 2021, 08:45 AM)
I believe if the N is shared before the RCCB, it is still okay. Not between RCCB and device being protected.
Prev owner contractors did funny things for connecting the WH. I pulled new dedicated cables for the WH and all good smile.gif
babybaby1988
post Apr 20 2021, 02:50 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 19 2021, 11:39 PM)
Oh dear. Best to get the new electrician to do complete overhaul change all the MCBs to one brand (ABB/Hager). The MCBs around RM7-8 bucks each only at the electrical store.

As you can see, between the taller ones and the shorter ones there are physical differences. This is a very dangerous situation as it is a loose connection (can catch fire) for the top row of short Hager fuse boxes.

Judging from the age of the whole setup, it is likely that the wires has broke internally for the one that powers your autogate (internal injury of the cable).

Normally we will advise user to turn off the questionable circuit until the electrician comes - but in this case there are alot of LIVE WIRES hanging around with masking tape as insulation  puke.gif - so please do NOT touch it at all
Thanks ceo684, finally got someone to fix back everything and change the mcb.

I plan to pull new wires from dbbox since i have shared heater and ac on all three bedrooms upstairs.

always have to off ac before use heater. so far no issue, just troublesome.

Any electrician whom u can recommend or u able to do?

SUSceo684
post Apr 20 2021, 06:34 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Apr 20 2021, 02:50 PM)
Thanks ceo684, finally got someone to fix back everything and change the mcb.

I plan to pull new wires from dbbox since i have shared heater and ac on all three bedrooms upstairs.

always have to off ac before use heater. so far no issue, just troublesome.

Any electrician whom u can recommend or u able to do?
Your new electrician should be able to handle?
Since new wiring (new set of LNE cables) being pulled it may make sense to procure the material yourself and ask him to come to install as labour only if agreeable and also it will save some cost lah.

Ideally, following ST guidelines, core scope of work will be
Pull a new set of 2.5mm² LNE cables for each AC unit
Pull a new set of 4.0mm² LNE for each WH unit
Add in C20 MCB for all the above circuits
Add in 10mA RCD to the DB box, one RCD for each WH circuit
Add in 20A double pole WH switch for each WH circuit outside bathroom
Add in 20A double pole switch for each aircon

Additional nice to haves:
Whether to conceal (need extensive hacking) or just run surface mounted PVC conduit (no need extensive hacking, minor hacking required) will be a price+aesthetic consideration.

Replace whole hse main incomer from switch fuse and old 100mA RCD - to new whole hse RCD 30mA + new whole house MCB (40/63A depending on existing cable size)

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 20 2021, 06:36 PM
babybaby1988
post Apr 21 2021, 07:55 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 20 2021, 06:34 PM)
Your new electrician should be able to handle?
Since new wiring (new set of LNE cables) being pulled it may make sense to procure the material yourself and ask him to come to install as labour only if agreeable and also it will save some cost lah.

Ideally, following ST guidelines, core scope of work will be
Pull a new set of 2.5mm² LNE cables for each AC unit
Pull a new set of 4.0mm² LNE for each WH unit
Add in C20 MCB for all the above circuits
Add in 10mA RCD to the DB box, one RCD for each WH circuit
Add in 20A double pole WH switch for each WH circuit outside bathroom
Add in 20A double pole switch for each aircon

Additional nice to haves:
Whether to conceal (need extensive hacking) or just run surface mounted PVC conduit (no need extensive hacking, minor hacking required) will be a price+aesthetic consideration.

Replace whole hse main incomer from switch fuse and old 100mA RCD - to new whole hse RCD 30mA + new whole house MCB (40/63A depending on existing cable size)
Cos he doesnt do hack/conceal, only do casing sweat.gif sweat.gif

But i manage to find another electrician already, also prefer not to do hacking so i said will have to find some contractor to do hacking first

So i got quoted 3550RM without hacking for:-

a) install second DB at second floor
b) pull 3 wires for AC & switch
c) pull 3 wires for WH & switch
d) pull 1 wire for water pump & switch
e) pull 3 wires for socket

reasonable?
SUSceo684
post Apr 22 2021, 11:30 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Apr 21 2021, 07:55 PM)
Cos he doesnt do hack/conceal, only do casing sweat.gif  sweat.gif

But i manage to find another electrician already, also prefer not to do hacking so i said will have to find some contractor to do hacking first

So i got quoted 3550RM without hacking for:-

a) install second DB at second floor 500
b) pull 3 wires for AC & switch 180*3 540
c) pull 3 wires for WH & switch 180*3 540 or 250*3 750 dep on 4mm² follow spec or 2.5mm²
d) pull 1 wire for water pump & switch 130
e) pull 3 wires for socket 130*3 390

reasonable?
roughly circa 2100 for the electricals; and the rest will be the hacking work.
Sounds about right.
babybaby1988
post Apr 23 2021, 04:03 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 22 2021, 11:30 PM)
roughly circa 2100 for the electricals; and the rest will be the hacking work.
Sounds about right.
3550 is just for electrical, without hacking sweat.gif sweat.gif
babybaby1988
post Jun 9 2021, 05:51 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 19 2021, 11:39 PM)

Normally we will advise user to turn off the questionable circuit until the electrician comes - but in this case there are alot of LIVE WIRES hanging around with masking tape as insulation  puke.gif - so please do NOT touch it at all
btw can we change the neutral and live for rccb?

The electrician already changed the whole DB Box and mcb but didnt change the RCCB cos he said still can use but still charged me full sum cry.gif .

I just ok that time, but now i bought another hager RCCD and think just install myself.

The new RCCB stated that top left no. 1 is live but my old RCCB the top right is live instead and the wire not long enough if wanna switch.
SUSslimey
post Jun 9 2021, 06:13 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 9 2021, 05:51 PM)

The electrician already changed the whole DB Box and mcb but didnt change the RCCB cos he said still can use but still charged me full sum cry.gif  .

I just ok that time, but now i bought another hager RCCD and think just install myself.

The new RCCB stated that top left no. 1 is live but my old RCCB the top right is live instead and the wire not long enough if wanna switch.
cannot.

with a distribution board so messy............i would change and redo everything

This post has been edited by slimey: Jun 9 2021, 06:14 PM
SUSceo684
post Jun 9 2021, 08:27 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 9 2021, 05:51 PM)

The electrician already changed the whole DB Box and mcb but didnt change the RCCB cos he said still can use but still charged me full sum cry.gif  .

You need to plan out how to reposition it. When there is limitation of wire length, this becomes tricky.
I've done replacement of DB for such hangmen tight wires that it may require some creative placement (to ensure everything can be connected).
For the wiring that came with the house.. that one no comment la can't do much; but for new wiring enough slack inside the DB box is important so you can configure accordingly.

Not sure how the NEW DB (current condition) look like but from the OLD BOX you can isolate the whole house off by disabling the fuse marked with Danger High Voltage (pull out the fuse and put it safely away on a table).
The incomer will be a problem to shut off but if you can shut off the whole house using the fuse (pull out) then you can work on the downstream components AFTER it.

Your new RCCB (30mA) can replace the existing one (i.e. second module) of the OLD BOX pic AFTER you have isolated the power.

Ref OLDBOX2 pic:
Busbar and 16mm² mega kabel pigtailsin the correct RED/BLACK colours can be purchased as loose cut (by meter).. LINK (Loose cut 16mm)

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 9 2021, 08:43 PM

babybaby1988
post Jun 9 2021, 09:06 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 9 2021, 08:27 PM)
You need to plan out how to reposition it. When there is limitation of wire length, this becomes tricky.
I've done replacement of DB for such hangmen tight wires that it may require some creative placement (to ensure everything can be connected).
For the wiring that came with the house.. that one no comment la can't do much; but for new wiring enough slack inside the DB box is important so you can configure accordingly.

Not sure how the NEW DB (current condition) look like but from the OLD BOX you can isolate the whole house off by disabling the fuse marked with Danger High Voltage (pull out the fuse and put it safely away on a table).
The incomer will be a problem to shut off but if you can shut off the whole house using the fuse (pull out) then you can work on the downstream components AFTER it.

Your new RCCB (30mA) can replace the existing one (i.e. second module) of the OLD BOX pic AFTER you have isolated the power.

Ref OLDBOX2 pic:
Busbar and 16mm² mega kabel pigtailsin the correct RED/BLACK colours can be purchased as loose cut (by meter).. LINK (Loose cut 16mm)
Oh looks like my old setup the live is on RCCB top left, in my new setup (see attached pic), its on top right, so it means no issue to switch from left to right?

SUSceo684
post Jun 10 2021, 12:13 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 9 2021, 09:06 PM)
Oh looks like my old setup the live is on RCCB top left, in my new setup (see attached pic), its on top right, so it means no issue to switch from left to right?
Whoever did this should be banned from working with electricity. bruce.gif
The original (OLD FUSE) is 40A (sized for 10mmsq cable). Cannot suka suka replace with 63A breaker without changing ALL the wire to 16mmsq.
Should be fitted with C40 (NOT C63). 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 risk - cable all burn but the master MCB will not trip.."haven't overload >63A mah!" shocking.gif

You can park the new RCD at the far right and just extend with new pigtails.
I see the new one also 100mA whistling.gif Should return it and request to change it to a 30mA RCD instead as 100mA whole house is NOT up to code.
A single phase 40A 30mA RCD is not expensive. It make a world of difference between a 30mA or 100mA if there is a fault situation passing thru a human.

The nominal rating of 30mA has thus become the internationally accepted norm for RCDs intended to provide additional protection against the risk of electrocution.

For further reading can see BEAMA (UK/BS standards) on RCDs. Attached File  BEAMA_RCD_Handbook__Dec_2010_.pdf ( 4.78mb ) Number of downloads: 51

Only in Msia lives are cheap- we still sell 100mA and 300mA openly shakehead.gif

Unmodified file rotated for easier viewing

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 10 2021, 12:14 AM
babybaby1988
post Jun 11 2021, 12:42 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 10 2021, 12:13 AM)
Whoever did this should be banned from working with electricity.  bruce.gif
The original (OLD FUSE) is 40A (sized for 10mmsq cable). Cannot suka suka replace with 63A breaker without changing ALL the wire to 16mmsq.
Should be fitted with C40 (NOT C63). 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 risk - cable all burn but the master MCB will not trip.."haven't overload >63A mah!"  shocking.gif

You can park the new RCD at the far right and just extend with new pigtails.
I see the new one also 100mA  whistling.gif Should return it and request to change it to a 30mA RCD instead as 100mA whole house is NOT up to code.
A single phase 40A 30mA RCD is not expensive. It make a world of difference between a 30mA or 100mA if there is a fault situation passing thru a human.
For further reading can see BEAMA (UK/BS standards) on RCDs. Attached File  BEAMA_RCD_Handbook__Dec_2010_.pdf ( 4.78mb ) Number of downloads: 51

Only in Msia lives are cheap- we still sell 100mA and 300mA openly  shakehead.gif
Unmodified file rotated for easier viewing
Hmm already buried all the wires into wall can the electrician uncle just pull the cable out without hacking?

I was thinking about 30mA RCD too but when he tried to install a 10mA RCD at the water heater plug downstairs, it keeps tripping. The plug point has looping (to another 4 sockets which i am not using except for a socket for a hood) which causes the tripping according to him. So to be safe i thought just used back the original 100mA since no tripping issue.

The electrician also install new DB upstairs (as attached). Anything i should ask him to change besides to change the 10mm to 16mm? The water heater cable he is using 2.5mm instead and he said trust him no issue one even after i show him the ST guidelines, i suppose should be ok right since my water heater is only 15amp. Not an easy uncle to deal with, even after i bought 10mA RCD and asked him to install, he refuses saying ppl will laugh at me. Only agreed after i showed him the Electricity Regulations. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2021, 01:21 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 11 2021, 12:42 AM)
Hmm already buried all the wires into wall can the electrician uncle just pull the cable out without hacking?

I was thinking about 30mA RCD too but when he tried to install a 10mA RCD at the water heater plug downstairs, it keeps tripping. The plug point has looping (to another 4 sockets which i am not using except for a socket for a hood) which causes the tripping according to him. So to be safe i thought just used back the original 100mA since no tripping issue.

The electrician also install new DB upstairs (as attached). Anything i should ask him to change besides to change the 10mm to 16mm? The water heater cable he is using 2.5mm instead and he said trust him no issue one even after i show him the ST guidelines, i suppose should be ok right since my water heater is only 15amp. Not an easy uncle to deal with, even after i bought 10mA RCD and asked him to install, he refuses saying ppl will laugh at me. Only agreed after i showed him the Electricity Regulations.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Personally 30mA whole house will be fine since total amps IN = total amps OUT regardless how it is looped after that.
I run 30mA whole house myself no issue.
My parent's place also had this same problem where the WH circuit was shared with other things and its NOT dedicated. 10mA always trip. Resolved by running dedicated LNE circuit to the WH.
The difference is that the SINGLE circuit 10mA RCD had "unexplainable and unaccounted for amps from other devices" that the 10mA cannot account for = trip first talk later, save life more important.
Whereas for WHOLE HOUSE 30mA.. as long as total amps IN = total amps OUT (since there's only one IN and one OUT cable back to TNB meter) it will be fine, even high sensitivity 30mA also OK.

Anyway, congrats for putting in the 10mA RCDs for better electrical safety. thumbup.gif

The difference is in 10mA WH circuit:
Even in cases where the WH circuit is actually shared neutral and trips the 10mA (because the neutral also contain other appliances' return so its imbalance with the incoming amp), this will not affect the whole house RCD.

This one can be solved by (a) correct way i.e. running a dedicated LNE circuit to that WH itself, as per code, without looping or
(b) use dirty trick (not so code compliant but likely to work without extensive hacking all over) is to install RCD as a spur i.e. AFTER the 20A switch (load side) and BEFORE the WH, so only that particular line going to the WH is balanced amps between incoming and outgoing.

Regarding the 63A MCB used on 10mm wire..
Changing the 10mm to 16mm will be expensive. In this situation, since your 63A will never trip before the 10mm cable is overloaded, the TNB cutout fuse will be your Plan Z overcurrent protection (between TNB meter to DB box) since that should still be on original 40A fuse.
The difference with MCB vs fuse, one can be reset in case of overload (just flip the MCB back on) whereas a fuse once blow already it need someone to buy a replacement, and that replacement fuse will not be available fast if the electrical supply store is closed.

Regarding 2.5mm cable used for WH circuits;
Should be OK-lah with 2.5mm for WH if its just 15-16A load, within spec of the cable, as long as its all 3kW class heater (3xxx W). You cannot install those highlands model with 4800W using 2.5mm cable.
2.5mm can withstand 21A safely.

That uncle cannot explain why these happened leh.. nobody is laughing

September 2013 – Japanese man electrocuted while holding shower head of water heater. Wife electrocuted trying to save husband.
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2013...death-apartment

August 2014 – Pharmacist (lady) found electrocuted while still clutching shower head of water heater.
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2014...-clutching-show

July 2016 - https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/m...e-having-shower

August 2020 https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020...ted-in-bathroom

Singapore- using plug to connect WH
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/impr...while-showering

Since 2009; seven reported cases of death by electrocution on heated appliances, safety for electrical household appliances, SIRIM) (as of 2015)

7 Examples of WH Failure (Malaysia) https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...er%20Heater.pdf
on heated appliances, safety for electrical household appliances, SIRIM):
-- Four cases involved water heaters
-- Three cases involved storage water heaters
-- Most cases RCCB (main) not working
-- In one case earth and live cables melted (found to be undersized).
-- In ALL cases, victim died while still holding onto metallic shower head.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 11 2021, 01:33 AM
babybaby1988
post Jun 11 2021, 03:07 PM

262 posts

The cutout fuse already blown once when I tried to plug in a old computer, so TNB came and changed to new one at 63A

So i should just use back 40A should be enough ? Change everything to 40A since my wiring all is 10mm to the second DB also

SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2021, 03:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 11 2021, 03:07 PM)

The cutout fuse already blown once when I tried to plug in a old computer, so TNB came and changed to new one at 63A

So i should just use back 40A should be enough ? Change everything to 40A since my wiring all is 10mm to the second DB also
Normally, a fuse is sacrificial i.e. rated lower than the cable to protect the cable from burning up.
The other way, cable will burn up first to protect a higher rated fuse from blowing.

The TNB to main DB (incomer) is 10mm also?

Having four water heaters on at the same time is 16Ax4, without adding on anything else. Upsizing fuse need the cable to be upsized accordingly as well.
babybaby1988
post Jun 19 2021, 02:13 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2021, 03:39 PM)
Normally, a fuse is sacrificial i.e. rated lower than the cable to protect the cable from burning up.
The other way, cable will burn up first to protect a higher rated fuse from blowing.

The TNB to main DB (incomer) is 10mm also?

Having four water heaters on at the same time is 16Ax4, without adding on anything else. Upsizing fuse need the cable to be upsized accordingly as well.
Tnb to main is 16mm at least I think.

Anyway I asked my electrician to change to 40a main switch and 40a rccb 0.03A. But even with full load of 51a tested using clamp meter, the thing doesnt trip? Something wrong ah? But the cable very hot though, almost 45 degree celcius compared to ambient of just 28 degree
SUSceo684
post Jun 19 2021, 02:35 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 19 2021, 02:13 PM)
Tnb to main is 16mm at least I think.

Anyway I asked my electrician to change to 40a main switch and 40a rccb 0.03A. But even with full load of 51a tested using clamp meter, the thing doesnt trip? Something wrong ah? But the cable very hot though, almost 45 degree celcius compared to ambient of just 28 degree
The main switch need to be C40 MCB for it to trip on OVERCURRENT FAULT exceeding 40A.
Note: Just plain switch (isolator) without OVERCURRENT protection (ie No MCB function) does nothing to protect for OVERCURRENT.

When will MCB Slow Trip
In this case 51A > 40A its a sustained overload (MINOR OVERCURRENT FAULT) and it should "slow trip" using thermal trip within few mins.

In case of sustained overload more than the rated safe current of the MCB thermal bimetal tripping will operate in 2 secs to 10000 secs depending on the overload and not overcurrent or transients.

I'm assuming you got a hager C40 P/N MU240A installed.
According to datasheet, https://www.hager-me.com/products/energy-di...u240a/30368.htm
min/maxi threshold value of the AC thermal operation 1,13/1,45 In (meaning between 1.13x40A and 1.45x40A)
for the 51A (divided by 40A rating) is around 1.27 In
this means a time to trip about 500 seconds based on Hager MU datasheet
‐-----
When will MCB Fast/instant Trip
(It will do a "fast trip" on the magnetic trip only if there is a SHORT CIRCUIT/MAJOR OVERCURRENT FAULT).

-----
RCD working principle is DIFF from MCB

For the 0.03A RCD yes this will be instant trip for CURRENT IMBALANCE (LEAKAGE PROTECTION).
The 40A on this unit is an indicator on how much total current can be safely monitored..but this RCD does NOT & will NOT trip in case of OVERCURRENT (which is MCB job).

RCD only measure "I-in = I-out + (tolerance of loss x up to 0.03A)". If the loss x higher than 0.03 (eg 0.032A) it will trip because "something is missing somewhere".

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 19 2021, 03:11 PM
babybaby1988
post Jun 19 2021, 03:12 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 19 2021, 02:35 PM)
The main switch need to be C40 MCB for it to trip on OVERCURRENT FAULT exceeding 40A.
Note: Just plain switch (isolator) without OVERCURRENT protection (ie No MCB function) does nothing to protect for OVERCURRENT.

When will MCB Slow Trip
In this case 51A > 40A its a sustained overload (MINOR OVERCURRENT FAULT) and it should "slow trip" using thermal trip within few mins.
‐-----
When will MCB Fast/instant Trip
(It will do a "fast trip" on the magnetic trip only if there is a SHORT CIRCUIT/MAJOR OVERCURRENT FAULT).

-----
RCD working principle is DIFF from MCB

For the 0.03A RCD yes this will be instant trip for CURRENT IMBALANCE (LEAKAGE PROTECTION).
The 40A on this unit is an indicator on how much total current can be safely monitored..but this RCD does NOT & will NOT trip in case of OVERCURRENT (which is MCB job).

RCD only measure "I-in = I-out + (tolerance of loss x up to 0.03A)". If the loss x higher than 0.03 (eg 0.032A) it will trip because "something is missing somewhere".
Ahh no wonder.

The 40A on this unit is an indicator on how much total current can be safely monitored..

Urmm lets say now my current usage now is 50A and then there is a leakage of 0.1A somewhere, will this 40A 0.03A RCCB trip?
SUSceo684
post Jun 19 2021, 03:26 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jun 19 2021, 03:12 PM)
Ahh no wonder.
Urmm lets say now my current usage now is 50A and then there is a leakage of 0.1A somewhere, will this 40A 0.03A RCCB trip?
For RCD it will trip.
Main RCD max current rating (40A part of that 40A 0.03) should match or exceed the main MCB rating (40A).
empoleon
post Oct 17 2021, 08:51 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 19 2021, 03:26 PM)
For RCD it will trip.
Main RCD max current rating (40A part of that 40A 0.03) should match or exceed the main MCB rating (40A).
Please help me to check if my house wiring is correct.

My 3600W water heater shares a 16A MCB with the lights/fan in the kitchen, bathroom and 3rd bedroom. From what I understand light points use 1.5mm wires, so are the wires being overloaded now?
So far no problem. The heater was fixed 5 years ago by the shop people.

Another thing, all my light points use 16A MCB, while sockets use 20A. Should I change the 16A MCBs to something lower or it doesn't matter?

SUSceo684
post Oct 17 2021, 10:23 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Oct 17 2021, 08:51 PM)
Please help me to check if my house wiring is correct.

My 3600W water heater shares a 16A MCB with the lights/fan in the kitchen, bathroom and 3rd bedroom. From what I understand light points use 1.5mm wires, so are the wires being overloaded now?
So far no problem. The heater was fixed 5 years ago by the shop people.

Another thing, all my light points use 16A MCB, while sockets use 20A. Should I change the 16A MCBs to something lower or it doesn't matter?
Lights should be C6 (6A) for safety. I don't think the installer would ever use 2.5mm for light circuits.

MCB must be rated lower than the cable safe load.
I suspect the WH is running on 1.5mm if its tapping into the light circuit if the WH circuit was not originally built in (wrong).

Shop ppl wont care.."not my house syndrome"

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 17 2021, 10:23 PM
empoleon
post Oct 17 2021, 10:57 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 17 2021, 10:23 PM)
Lights should be C6 (6A) for safety. I don't think the installer would ever use 2.5mm for light circuits.

MCB must be rated lower than the cable safe load.
I suspect the WH is running on 1.5mm if its tapping into the light circuit if the WH circuit was not originally built in (wrong).

Shop ppl wont care.."not my house syndrome"
This confirms my doubts. I wanted to DIY replace the heater but saw all these mistakes.

One more thing. I have another water heater, this one has its own circuit and is using a 16A MCB. Everytime the heater is used there's a buzz coming from the MCB. This has been going on for over 7 years. 2 years ago I changed the water heater to a new one and the buzz still happens. The installer said it's normal. Is this really normal? I suppose I can get the MCB replaced as the next troubleshooting step but keen to hear your experience on this.

SUSceo684
post Oct 17 2021, 11:53 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Oct 17 2021, 10:57 PM)
This confirms my doubts. I wanted to DIY replace the heater but saw all these mistakes.

One more thing. I have another water heater, this one has its own circuit and is using a 16A MCB. Everytime the heater is used there's a buzz coming from the MCB. This has been going on for over 7 years. 2 years ago I changed the water heater to a new one and the buzz still happens. The installer said it's normal. Is this really normal? I suppose I can get the MCB replaced as the next troubleshooting step but keen to hear your experience on this.
Weird sounds are indicative of overload (close to redline) or loose connection.

What MCB brand are you using? It'll be good to check your cable sizing whether 1.5mm or 2.5mm...the former looks very thin. You can off the whole DB to check safely. The cable going out from MCB controlling WH should look like the sockets one..NOT like light circuits.
empoleon
post Oct 18 2021, 01:24 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 17 2021, 11:53 PM)
Weird sounds are indicative of overload (close to redline) or loose connection.

What MCB brand are you using? It'll be good to check your cable sizing whether 1.5mm or 2.5mm...the former looks very thin. You can off the whole DB to check safely. The cable going out from MCB controlling WH should look like the sockets one..NOT like light circuits.
MCB brand is UMS.
Wires are 2.5mm and the screws are tight.

I think I'll get a wireman to pull new cables to both the heaters. Maybe install RCBO also.

hcmalaya
post Nov 5 2021, 08:14 PM

61 posts

Tumpang tanya
House rccb trip few times lately thunder
Notice the plastic part cracked
How much normally is the charge to replace it ah?
SUSceo684
post Nov 5 2021, 11:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Nov 5 2021, 08:14 PM)
Tumpang tanya
House rccb trip few times lately thunder
Notice the plastic part cracked
How much normally is the charge to replace it ah?
Depending on you're 1ph or 3ph supply, and how many amps. Take a pix and post lah.
hcmalaya
post Nov 5 2021, 11:10 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 5 2021, 11:09 PM)
Depending on you're 1ph or 3ph supply, and how many amps. Take a pix and post lah.
Residential not all single phase ka?
SUSceo684
post Nov 5 2021, 11:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Nov 5 2021, 11:10 PM)
Residential not all single phase ka?
I use 3 phase at home. whistling.gif The pricing of the device also depend on rated current. Hence if you're talking about single phase RCD, e.g. from ABB.os its 77 for 40A 30mA and 127 for 63A 30mA materials only

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 6 2021, 12:13 AM
hcmalaya
post Nov 6 2021, 02:55 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 5 2021, 11:59 PM)
I use 3 phase at home. whistling.gif The pricing of the device also depend on rated current. Hence if you're talking about single phase RCD, e.g. from ABB.os its 77 for 40A 30mA and 127 for 63A 30mA materials only
Maybe ur house bungalow lo
Mine just normal terrace house
Add labour around 100?

SUSceo684
post Nov 7 2021, 12:33 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Nov 6 2021, 02:55 AM)
Maybe ur house bungalow lo
Mine just normal terrace house
Add labour around 100?
Wah landed!
I stay in highrise.
Long time ago supply only 40A per phase due to wire size small. So not very useful, hence prev owner put in 3ph so can use up to 120A.

U supply the parts yourself will be cheaper than asking the electrician to buy for you..But to get the right part w/o pic of ur existing is hard..err on the side of 63A 30mA 2P RCD. then get an electrician or wireman to wire it up should cost around there. For plug and play replacement you can shop around FB..some are pretty cheap on labour. My usual sub con costs from 200 to show up. laugh.gif
hcmalaya
post Nov 7 2021, 05:25 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 7 2021, 12:33 AM)
Wah landed!
I stay in highrise.
Long time ago supply only 40A per phase due to wire size small. So not very useful, hence prev owner put in 3ph so can use up to 120A.

U supply the parts yourself will be cheaper than asking the electrician to buy for you..But to get the right part w/o pic of ur existing is hard..err on the side of 63A 30mA 2P RCD. then get an electrician or wireman to wire it up should cost around there. For plug and play replacement you can shop around FB..some are pretty cheap on labour. My usual sub con costs from 200 to show up. laugh.gif
Ok thanks
Got it done 180 with ABB
Fair deal i guess
esoo88
post Jan 12 2022, 05:43 PM

26 posts

Hi All,
does anyone know if water pump require a RCBO protection as it also dealing with water ? my current water pump has a dedicated MCB without RCCB, it relies on main RCCB with sensitivity of 100ma.

SUSceo684
post Jan 12 2022, 07:13 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(esoo88 @ Jan 12 2022, 05:43 PM)
Hi All,
does anyone know if water pump require a RCBO protection as it also dealing with water ? my current water pump has a dedicated MCB without RCCB, it relies on main RCCB with sensitivity of 100ma.
Here in MY whilst the appliance is not in a wet floor area, it won't be covered by ST reg w.r.t water heater. But if its outdoors then should have at max 30mA RCD.

b) Regulation 36(2) of the Electricity Regulations 1994 states that for
a place where the floor is likely to be wet or where the wall or
enclosure is of low electrical resistance, protection against earth
leakage current must be provided by a residual current device of
sensitivity not exceeding 10 milliamperes;
c) Regulation 36(3) of the Electricity Regulations 1994 states that for
an installation where hand-held equipment, apparatus or
appliance is likely to be used, protection against earth leakage
current must be provided by a residual current device of
sensitivity not exceeding 30 milliamperes;

Over in UK - https://www.electricalsafetyfirst.org.uk//g.../garden-safety/ it is recommended to fit an RCD for water pump.

In your case..I would suggest to change the 100mA main RCD with a 30mA RCD in the event rainwater drip in onto the pump during thunderstorm. Then it would cover all bases including your 13A sockets. thumbup.gif

Modern RCD from ABB, Hager come with anti nuisance trip feature, it will not nuisance trip much compared to those sold before 2000, about 97% reduction.
esoo88
post Jan 13 2022, 09:50 AM

26 posts

thanks for responding, my water pressure pump is located on ceiling and covered by roof, hence it is at dry area.

do you still see a need for a RCD for extra protection ?

many have talked and discussed that RCD is mandatory for WH, little is talking about water pump here in malaysia.

on your recommendation on changing the main RCD from 100ma to 30ma, would it be too sensitive with unnecessary trips ?

i see many electrician uses 300ma in main RCD.
SUSceo684
post Jan 13 2022, 02:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(esoo88 @ Jan 13 2022, 09:50 AM)
thanks for responding, my water pressure pump is located on ceiling and covered by roof, hence it is at dry area.

do you still see a need for a RCD for extra protection ?

many have talked and discussed that RCD is mandatory for WH, little is talking about water pump here in malaysia.

on your recommendation on changing the main RCD from 100ma to 30ma, would it be too sensitive with unnecessary trips ?

i see many electrician uses 300ma in main RCD.
What is the likelihood the roof leaks from thunderstorm/strong wind esp in older homes, and causes the pump to be flooded?

RCD has dual function to protect life, and protect against fire.
Assuming only a single unit (main RCD) is installed, 100mA you already breaking Electricity Regulations 1994 as all the 13A sockets can kill humans at 50mA.

Itu electrician qualified or not? You are not running a dodol machine at home that will trip a 30mA on normal startup.

Nobody in their right mind put 300mA in residential. In SG and UK, everybody put 30mA for residential. Maybe Malaysia got stronger human than them can sustain 230V currents lah.. laugh.gif

I personally use all 30mA.

As mentioned, modern RCD has anti nuisance trip so it does not trip on false alarm like those made before 2000.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 13 2022, 02:24 PM
esoo88
post Jan 14 2022, 03:50 PM

26 posts

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/viewer.html?pdfurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.waterpump.co.uk%2Fmedia%2Fwysiwyg%2Fmanual%2F5711497234216.pdf&clen=6523985&chunk=true

saw this from grunfos scala2 spec doc, they do recommend to install RCCB with less than 30ma.

BL98
post Mar 29 2022, 01:41 PM

739 posts

Recently upgraded to 3 phase for my house reno.
The contractor say this device the higher the better.
True?

Edit: found out mine is 300mA

This post has been edited by BL98: Mar 29 2022, 03:34 PM
Kiding
post Mar 29 2022, 06:42 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 29 2022, 01:41 PM)

True?

The lower of the trip current, the higher sensitivity of detecting current leaking.
SUSceo684
post Mar 29 2022, 06:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 29 2022, 01:41 PM)

True?

300mA better dun put la. Confirm six times killed, then only trip icon_idea.gif

The higher the better for them only because 1. Lowest price (lousy sensitivity is dirt cheap on 3phase) and 2. very hard to trip (no callbacks from owner). Which is ok for industrial use but at home, what good is human dying 6 times over ☠☠☠☠☠☠ before it decided oh ok..lets trip.🥱

All the expensive specification i.e. 63A max load, 30mA top tier sensitivity, 3phase supply and good brand like ABB/Hager using VI design (works regardless got voltage or not) will cost 290-300 bucks for RCD alone easily exclude installation.

At 300mA 🤦‍♀️, VD type (won't work if no voltage), non high end brand (Schneider and below) easily half the price but ZERO life protection. ☠☠☠☠☠☠ It only protect building for FIRE 🔥 protection. Not to mention, its illegal to use 300mA in residential...CHEAP mah! 😅

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 29 2022, 07:03 PM
SUSceo684
post Mar 29 2022, 07:02 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 29 2022, 06:42 PM)
The lower of the trip current, the higher sensitivity of detecting current leaking.
Yes, lower mA trip current is safer.

Humans die at 50mA current.

Pick your poison between 30mA, 100mA, 300mA.
Two of them can and will ☠. Just a matter of whether ☠☠ or ☠☠☠☠☠☠
BL98
post Mar 29 2022, 09:23 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 29 2022, 06:49 PM)
300mA better dun put la. Confirm six times killed, then only trip icon_idea.gif

The higher the better for them only because 1. Lowest price (lousy sensitivity is dirt cheap on 3phase) and 2. very hard to trip (no callbacks from owner). Which is ok for industrial use but at home, what good is human dying 6 times over ☠☠☠☠☠☠ before it decided oh ok..lets trip.🥱

All the expensive specification i.e. 63A max load, 30mA top tier sensitivity, 3phase supply and good brand like ABB/Hager using VI design (works regardless got voltage or not) will cost 290-300 bucks for RCD alone easily exclude installation.

At 300mA 🤦‍♀️, VD type (won't work if no voltage), non high end brand (Schneider and below) easily half the price but ZERO life protection. ☠☠☠☠☠☠ It only protect building for FIRE 🔥 protection. Not to mention, its illegal to use 300mA in residential...CHEAP mah! 😅
Holy cow. Lucky I asked. kknccb contractor.

Spent 10k to upgrade to 3 phase thinking can get better safety. Manatau...

So this EPS brand ok? Saw they use EPS brand in the whole DB box.

Going to tell the contractor to change this RCBO...Which brand should I tell him to change to?

Should I call other electrician to double check or audit their work? Scare kena electrocuted.
SUSceo684
post Mar 29 2022, 10:22 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 29 2022, 09:23 PM)
Holy cow. Lucky I asked. kknccb contractor.

Spent 10k to upgrade to 3 phase thinking can get better safety. Manatau...

So this EPS brand ok? Saw they use EPS brand in the whole DB box.

Going to tell the contractor to change this RCBO...Which brand should I tell him to change to?

Should I call other electrician to double check or audit their work? Scare kena electrocuted.
3phase and 10k reno should use ABB or Hager for the mains RCD 30mA (0.03A)
EPS boleh pakai lah..local brand.. but I personally prefer ABB. Safety item really you get what u pay for biggrin.gif

⚠️ Also ensure you have individual 10mA (0.01A) per each water heater unit.
BL98
post Mar 30 2022, 01:05 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 29 2022, 10:22 PM)
3phase and 10k reno should use ABB or Hager for the mains RCD 30mA (0.03A)
EPS boleh pakai lah..local brand.. but I personally prefer ABB. Safety item really you get what u pay for biggrin.gif

⚠️ Also ensure you have individual 10mA (0.01A) per each water heater unit.
If MCB is EPS, can still mixed with Hager RCD?

So I just tell the electrician to change the 300mA to Hager/ABB RCD 30mA?

If I got 4 toilets with water heater, then have to use 4 individual 10mA RCD? Or just use 1 10mA RCD?

Suddenly feel like kena kencing by contractor... Damn sienzz... ranting.gif
SUSceo684
post Mar 30 2022, 10:28 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 30 2022, 01:05 AM)

If I got 4 toilets with water heater, then have to use 4 individual 10mA RCD? Or just use 1 10mA RCD?

If MCB is EPS, can still mixed with Hager RCD? Yes

So I just tell the electrician to change the 300mA to Hager/ABB RCD 30mA? Yes thumbup.gif

If I got 4 toilets with water heater, then have to use 4 individual 10mA RCD? Yes 4WH = 4x 10mA RCD's is best. If DB no space issue, can use Schneider 25A 10mA RCBO

Kiding
post Mar 30 2022, 12:28 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 30 2022, 01:05 AM)

The best way to install RCCB for water heater is installing it nearby the water heater, if you don't mind aesthetic
maxguy
post Mar 30 2022, 01:16 PM

822 posts

my 14 years old house main db with 63A 100ma RCD and 40A 100ma, 3 WH with 20A MCB only (zero protection) bangwall.gif

recently swapped with new db and upgrade to 63A 30ma RCD and 40A 30ma and 3 WH with 25A 10ma RCBO thumbup.gif

BL98
post Mar 30 2022, 01:26 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 30 2022, 10:28 AM)
If MCB is EPS, can still mixed with Hager RCD? Yes

So I just tell the electrician to change the 300mA to Hager/ABB RCD 30mA? Yes  thumbup.gif

If I got 4 toilets with water heater, then have to use 4 individual 10mA RCD? Yes 4WH = 4x 10mA RCD's is best. If DB no space issue, can use Schneider 25A 10mA RCBO
Appreciate your reply.

The Hager/ABB RCD 30mA can support the whole house? Even with 3 phase wiring?
I only have 1 DB box for story terrace house. Contractor say 1 DB box enough liao.
maxguy
post Mar 30 2022, 01:32 PM

822 posts

SUSceo684
post Mar 30 2022, 06:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 30 2022, 01:26 PM)
Appreciate your reply.

The Hager/ABB RCD 30mA can support the whole house? Even with 3 phase wiring?
I only have 1 DB box for  story terrace house. Contractor say 1 DB box enough liao.
Can, I'm using single (whole house) 30mA RCD w 3ph supply to type this
BL98
post Mar 30 2022, 07:01 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(maxguy @ Mar 30 2022, 01:32 PM)
So complicated rclxub.gif
BL98
post Mar 30 2022, 07:03 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 30 2022, 06:18 PM)
Can, I'm using single (whole house) 30mA RCD w 3ph supply to type this
So 1 number of 63A Hager 30mA RCB for whole house, replacing the EPS 300mA 63A.

And 1 25A Schenider 10mA RCB for water heater
maxguy
post Mar 30 2022, 07:20 PM

822 posts

hager 63A 30mA RCD for power socket and 40A 30mA RCD for lighting and fans, then 25A Schneider 10mA RCBO for water heater
SUSceo684
post Mar 30 2022, 11:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 30 2022, 07:03 PM)
So 1 number of 63A Hager 30mA RCB for whole house, replacing the EPS 300mA 63A.

And 1 25A Schenider 10mA RCB for water heater
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(maxguy @ Mar 30 2022, 07:20 PM)
hager 63A 30mA RCD for power socket and 40A 30mA RCD for lighting and fans, then 25A Schneider 10mA RCBO for water heater
no need lah, this is 2022
we are not in the business of selling RCDs
MS1979:2007 COP55 mentioned can put one single whole house RCD [at origin of installation]

the code in force is Electricity Regulations 1994
back then:
a. nobody use LED light. all use leaky fluorescent tube.
b. nobody use inverter at home for AC and fridge.
c. my Sony VCR also leak current, always kena zap from metal body. it came with 2 pin plug.
d. people use CRT TV

nowadays
appliances are made better with much lesser leakage current
meaning to say there's no actual need to use so many mains RCD's [this is in relation to some who propose one 30mA and one 100mA]
when one single whole house RCD 30mA can comply fully.
note its "maximum tolerance allowed" not "identical die-die must be exact"

----

as for your suggestion it is not wrong.. actually split load design is to have half the lights and half the sockets on each mains RCD (two mains RCDs), not split by lights vs sockets. Because again, 2022 everyone using much better made items with much lesser residual leakage current.

to expand on your suggestion, 3 phase supply CAN also be protected with 3x single phase RCDs.

split load pro: so in the case one RCD trips, you still have half the things running until user figure out what's wrong
split load con: cost of extra RCD whistling.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 31 2022, 12:05 AM
maxguy
post Mar 31 2022, 09:09 AM

822 posts

Panduan_Pendawaian_Elektrik_ST_Edisi_Baru_2015

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Panduan_Pendawaian_Elektrik_ST_Edisi_Baru_2015.pdf ( 7.24mb ) Number of downloads: 74
BL98
post Mar 31 2022, 09:18 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 30 2022, 11:59 PM)
thumbup.gif
no need lah, this is 2022
we are not in the business of selling RCDs
MS1979:2007 COP55 mentioned can put one single whole house RCD [at origin of installation]

the code in force is Electricity Regulations 1994
back then:
a. nobody use LED light. all use leaky fluorescent tube.
b. nobody use inverter at home for AC and fridge.
c. my Sony VCR also leak current, always kena zap from metal body. it came with 2 pin plug.
d. people use CRT TV

nowadays
appliances are made better with much lesser leakage current
meaning to say there's no actual need to use so many mains RCD's [this is in relation to some who propose one 30mA and one 100mA]
when one single whole house RCD 30mA can comply fully.
note its "maximum tolerance allowed" not "identical die-die must be exact"

----

as for your suggestion it is not wrong.. actually split load design is to have half the lights and half the sockets on each mains RCD (two mains RCDs), not split by lights vs sockets. Because again, 2022 everyone using much better made items with much lesser residual leakage current.

to expand on your suggestion, 3 phase supply CAN also be protected with 3x single phase RCDs.

split load pro: so in the case one RCD trips, you still have half the things running until user figure out what's wrong
split load con: cost of extra RCD  whistling.gif  sweat.gif
This is really interesting stuff, wished last time Kemahiran Hidup class got learnt this things.
zodiacyi
post Jun 11 2022, 03:25 AM

Hi all, my current water heater is not connected to RCCB. I plan to install RCBO instead of RCCB due to limited space at my current DB box.

Question, since the neutral wire from double pole switch for water heater is connected directly to the neutral busbar in db box, how can I identify which is the neutral wire for it, so that I can divert it to the outgoing at the RCBO? Many thanks in advance for your reply.
SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2022, 05:25 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Jun 11 2022, 03:25 AM)
Hi all, my current water heater is not connected to RCCB. I plan to install RCBO instead of RCCB due to limited space at my current DB box.

Question, since the neutral wire from double pole switch for water heater is connected directly to the neutral busbar in db box, how can I identify which is the neutral wire for it, so that I can divert it to the outgoing at the RCBO? Many thanks in advance for your reply.
By the process of elimination.
Obviously, it won't be the 1.5mm thin wires.
So out of the 2.5mm pile..
disconnect half and test continuity. (isolate the bunch u disconnected - make sure it doesnt contact elsewhere). if its not lighting up the double pole switch LED then u have isolated that "half" - its somewhere in that isolated pile.

Its not hard, but its annoying coz you don't know which is which at the neutral. But it is a necessary evil and salute you for installing a 10mA RCD/RCBO anyhow.
jchong
post Jun 11 2022, 06:42 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 12 2022, 07:13 PM)
Modern RCD from ABB, Hager come with anti nuisance trip feature, it will not nuisance trip much compared to those sold before 2000, about 97% reduction.
I saw some RCCBs listed as 'High Immunity'. Is this HI the same as anti nuisance trip feature or it's something different?
SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2022, 10:28 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 11 2022, 06:42 PM)
I saw some RCCBs listed as 'High Immunity'. Is this HI the same as anti nuisance trip feature or it's something different?
HI is usually used to described advanced anti-nuisance trip (protect against switching transients and harmonics).
Those with anti nuisance trip (protect against switching transients) for residential use will suffice.
jchong
post Jun 12 2022, 04:58 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2022, 10:28 PM)
HI is usually used to described advanced anti-nuisance trip (protect against switching transients and harmonics).
Those with anti nuisance trip (protect against switching transients) for residential use will suffice.
Thanks for the reply. Learned a lot from your various postings.
zodiacyi
post Jun 14 2022, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2022, 05:25 PM)
By the process of elimination.
Obviously, it won't be the 1.5mm thin wires.
So out of the 2.5mm pile..
disconnect half and test continuity. (isolate the bunch u disconnected - make sure it doesnt contact elsewhere). if its not lighting up the double pole switch LED then u have isolated that "half" - its somewhere in that isolated pile.

Its not hard, but its annoying coz you don't know which is which at the neutral. But it is a necessary evil and salute you for installing a 10mA RCD/RCBO anyhow.
Thanks for the reply. On another note, I have one issue with my newly installed RCCB (brand EPS, 63A, 100mA). The RCCB will trip once the main power is switched on, even when all the MCB are switched off. Any idea why is this happening and how to troubleshoot? My electrician is telling me my RCCB is faulty and I'll need to get a new one.
SUSceo684
post Jun 14 2022, 01:01 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Jun 14 2022, 12:53 AM)
Thanks for the reply. On another note, I have one issue with my newly installed RCCB (brand EPS, 63A, 100mA). The RCCB will trip once the main power is switched on, even when all the MCB are switched off. Any idea why is this happening and how to troubleshoot? My electrician is telling me my RCCB is faulty and I'll need to get a new one.
Also by process of elimination, it should not be hard for the electrician to prove a component or the load is faulty by hooking up a test load like a lamp or something (ie disconnect everything else). Sometimes old wiring or old appliance can be leaky. A competent electrician can easily swap out your RCCB with another 100mA unit that he/she has in stock.
zodiacyi
post Jun 14 2022, 02:12 AM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 14 2022, 01:01 AM)
Also by process of elimination, it should not be hard for the electrician to prove a component or the load is faulty by hooking up a test load like a lamp or something (ie disconnect everything else). Sometimes old wiring or old appliance can be leaky. A competent electrician can easily swap out your RCCB with another 100mA unit that he/she has in stock.
Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, my electrician does not have a spare 100mA RCCB, instead he swapped it with his spare 300mA RCCB and it stops tripping. Therefore he is telling me that my newly bought RCCB is faulty and to get a new one. Just wondering, will it be possible it's due to earth leakage from a neutral wire?
SUSceo684
post Jun 14 2022, 08:06 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Jun 14 2022, 02:12 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, my electrician does not have a spare 100mA RCCB, instead he swapped it with his spare 300mA RCCB and it stops tripping. Therefore he is telling me that my newly bought RCCB is faulty and to get a new one. Just wondering, will it be possible it's due to earth leakage from a neutral wire?
That is where the process of elimination comes into play (if there is no load connected at all to the RCD you bought) then it should stay energised.
He can also slave the 100mA you bought into his 300mA onto a spare bulb as test circuit just to test the RCD functionality.

You should return it for more reputable brands if even a controlled test circuit refused to work.
zodiacyi
post Jun 14 2022, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 14 2022, 08:06 AM)
That is where the process of elimination comes into play (if there is no load connected at all to the RCD you bought) then it should stay energised.
He can also slave the 100mA you bought into his 300mA onto a spare bulb as test circuit just to test the RCD functionality.

You should return it for more reputable brands if even a controlled test circuit refused to work.
I think it's time for me to get a certified electrician to get the job done. He has no idea what I'm talking about when I asked him to perform a test circuit to confirm if the RCD is indeed faulty. He even suggested for me to buy a new RCD that is less sensitive (300mA) just like the spare RCD he has installed for me. I do not want to be killed 6 times over so I just brushed him off. Thanks again for your reply.
davidlow7
post Jun 14 2022, 11:15 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Jun 14 2022, 03:45 PM)
I think it's time for me to get a certified electrician to get the job done. He has no idea what I'm talking about when I asked him to perform a test circuit to confirm if the RCD is indeed faulty. He even suggested for me to buy a new RCD that is less sensitive (300mA) just like the spare RCD he has installed for me. I do not want to be killed 6 times over so I just brushed him off. Thanks again for your reply.
I got headache with most electricians nowadays and I don't know where to find someone competent now to install ab RCD/RCBO 10mA for me.

The electrician that someone recommended does not know what is RCBO and tell me this is not for Malaysia one 🤦‍♂️. He further insisted that I'll need to rewiring everything when I install one.

Really headache and I don't know where to get someone competent. I've not used the water heater for months now.
intellactual85
post Jun 20 2022, 12:02 PM

261 posts

i bought schneider electric RCBO for my home. supposed to be quite good in terms of safety, reliability. contacted schneider electric support and they directed me to nearest store. think online also have
judesh
post Jan 6 2023, 08:03 AM

76 posts

Hi Guys, after reading the comments here I decided to check what's in my house. It's a 2 storey house in Melaka with 3 phase supply. 1 WH connected to dB downstairs which I will replace with 10mA RCCB. Will also replace the main 4P 100mA RCCB with 30mA from ABB.
Upstairs DB will also replace main 100mA RCCB to 30mA.... But all slots full so can't change to RCCB for each WH so looking at options...
1. Change 14way to 18way DB?
2. Replace with 10mA RCBO for the 2 WH...is this PnP or need also to identify the N and connect accordingly?
3. Maxguard or any other Sirim approved 10mA RCBO ok or recommended Schneider only?
4. All the WH are connected by plug socket in wall above inside bathroom. Will also replace this with splash proof socket as recommended... Can I connect the 10mA RCCB above this socket instead ? Or above switch outside bathroom?
lowyat101
post Jan 6 2023, 10:50 AM

2,538 posts

just curious, why you want to use the 30mA for the mains?

sorry ignore the questions above, just found out that my house also having the 30mA sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lowyat101: Jan 6 2023, 10:57 AM
RagingCandy
post Mar 17 2023, 05:14 AM

205 posts

Hi there, my house is a 3 stories terrace with 3 phase electric supply. Developer gave 0.3A RCCB. Is it safe?

This post has been edited by RagingCandy: Mar 17 2023, 05:15 AM
brutus
post Mar 17 2023, 07:32 PM

1,742 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 17 2023, 05:14 AM)
Hi there, my house is a 3 stories terrace with 3 phase electric supply. Developer gave 0.3A RCCB. Is it safe?

Wow, not bad that the developer give HAGER!
notworthy.gif
SUSceo684
post Mar 18 2023, 01:23 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 17 2023, 05:14 AM)

Completely useless for human life protection.
Its only good for fire protection.

0.3A RCD has NO PLACE in residential domestic use.

For single RCD (whole house RCD) your RCDs shall be a 30mA (0.03A) [one per house] to be code compliant; AND
a 10mA (0.01A) [one for each water heater circuit].

SUSceo684
post Mar 18 2023, 01:36 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Jun 14 2022, 03:45 PM)
Most welcome. Sorry late reply.

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Jun 14 2022, 11:15 PM)
I got headache with most electricians nowadays and I don't know where to find someone competent now to install ab RCD/RCBO 10mA for me.

The electrician that someone recommended does not know what is RCBO and tell me this is not for Malaysia one 🤦‍♂️. He further insisted that I'll need to rewiring everything when I install one.

Really headache and I don't know where to get someone competent. I've not used the water heater for months now.
Got one, but you need to dig in FB "Chargeman & Wireman" group.

QUOTE(judesh @ Jan 6 2023, 08:03 AM)
Hi Guys, after reading the comments here I decided to check what's in my house. It's a 2 storey  house in Melaka with 3 phase supply.  1 WH connected to dB downstairs which I will replace with 10mA RCCB. Will also replace the main 4P 100mA RCCB with 30mA from ABB.
Upstairs DB will also replace main 100mA RCCB  to 30mA.... But all slots full so can't change to RCCB for each WH so looking at options...
1. Change 14way to 18way DB?
2. Replace with 10mA RCBO for the 2 WH...is this PnP or need also to identify the N and connect accordingly?
3. Maxguard or any other Sirim approved 10mA RCBO ok or recommended Schneider only?
4. All the WH are connected by plug socket in wall above inside bathroom. Will also replace this with splash proof socket as recommended... Can I connect the 10mA RCCB above this socket instead ? Or above  switch outside bathroom?
1) is always possible, I run 48 way for my small apartment; RCBO is space saving as it can replace existing MCB slot (1-to-1).
2) need to identify the return N for that specific circuit. bit mafan. but doable, and its a necessary step for proper installation.
3) Your life insurance provider. Personally if best-of-the-best, ABB or Hager has technical advantage being VI (voltage independent) in such that even if the voltage to RCD dips below certain V, the RCD still will operate even at 0 voltage. It is pure current imbalance detection. Whereas "for any other commonly available brand that is cheaper" they are highly likely to be the VD type RCD (voltage dependent). Nevertheless, understand that ABB/Hager 10mA costs upwards of RM150 each, I would recommend at least getting a Schneider 10mA.
4) Plug and socket is illegal because almost all WH already exceed 15A nominal. Change to splash proof centon connector.
4.1) The 10mA ideally should be at the DB box area for ease of maintenance but if there is no other better way, keep it OUTSIDE of the wet area (outside of bathroom) and before the 20A switch (i.e. RCD must always be powered).

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jan 6 2023, 10:50 AM)

just curious, why you want to use the 30mA for the mains?

sorry ignore the questions above, just found out that my house also having the 30mA  sweat.gif
30mA offers a "seatbelt" to cut power before your heart goes out of order "ventricular fillibration" at 50mA.
Since 100mA or 300mA is gonna cut power AFTER your heart goes out of order "ventricular fillibration" at 50mA... in short, it means bye bye rclxs0.gif

There is no mention of 300mA for domestic installation in the MS1979 COP at all.
--Yes this is old version @ 2007 but the 2015 one didn't change much.

mushigen
post Mar 18 2023, 06:21 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 18 2023, 01:23 AM)

For single RCD (whole house RCD) your RCDs shall be a 30mA (0.03A) [one per house] to be code compliant; AND
Bro, I have seen 300mA RCCD being used in Sarawak. The developer and all other electricians we spoke to claim 3-phase power supply requires 300mA RCCD which I think is bollock because ST guidelines suggest 100mA max.

And there's no 10mA RCCD for water heater too.
brutus
post Mar 19 2023, 10:16 AM

1,742 posts

For single phase the RCCB is 100mA for power and 30mA for lighting. For water heater it is 10mA.
If 3-phase the main RCCB is 300mA (effectively 100mA per single phase) and 100mA (around 33mA for single phase). Dont think there is any application for 3-phase heater in a residential home.

This post has been edited by brutus: Mar 19 2023, 07:55 PM
RagingCandy
post Mar 19 2023, 01:52 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 18 2023, 01:23 AM)

Shitty developer. There is one sub-db which using a 0.1A RCCB. Shall I change the main-DB to 0.1A or lower?
RagingCandy
post Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 10:16 AM)
For single phase the RCCB is 100mA for power and 30mA for lighting. For water heater it is 10mA.
If 3-phase the main RCCB is 300mA (effectively 100mA per single phase) and 100A (around 33mA for single phase). Dont think there is any application for 3-phase heater in a residential home.
Means using 300mA RCCB is okay? Noob here

SUSceo684
post Mar 19 2023, 06:16 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:52 PM)
Shitty developer. There is one sub-db which using a 0.1A RCCB. Shall I change the main-DB to 0.1A or lower?
It’s for lighting only (does not control any sockets or any water heaters) then it’s ok-lah
SUSceo684
post Mar 19 2023, 06:17 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM)
Six times ded. Hexa kill 300mA is only used in commercial/industrial applications. You don’t run huge motors at home
fireballs
post Mar 19 2023, 06:25 PM

5,646 posts

If your final circuit have 30ma then is ok

Else die also won't trip
brutus
post Mar 19 2023, 07:54 PM

1,742 posts

For a 3-phase supply, yes it is OK. But if you have instant/storage heater, run a different RCCB of 10mA (either 16A or 20A) for best protection.
For my own home I have individual RCCB for:

1) Power Circuit (63A 100mA)
2) Lighting Circuit (25A 30mA)
3) Solar Heater Circuit (16A 10mA)

Mine is on single phase setup.
RagingCandy
post Mar 19 2023, 09:05 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 07:54 PM)
For a 3-phase supply, yes it is OK. But if you have instant/storage heater, run a different RCCB of 10mA (either 16A or 20A) for best protection.
For my own home I have individual RCCB for:

1) Power Circuit (63A 100mA)
2) Lighting Circuit (25A 30mA)
3) Solar Heater Circuit (16A 10mA)

Mine is on single phase setup.
My friend told me the same to ass individual 10mA for water heater.
RagingCandy
post Mar 19 2023, 09:07 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 19 2023, 06:17 PM)
Six times ded. Hexa kill 300mA is only used in commercial/industrial applications. You don’t run huge motors at home
Got it. will change it to 100mA then.
SUSceo684
post Mar 20 2023, 12:20 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 09:07 PM)
Got it. will change it to 100mA then.
Use 30mA, no developed country use 100mA for homes one.
RagingCandy
post Mar 22 2023, 02:15 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 20 2023, 12:20 AM)
Got it... Will do so....thanks for the guidance...
Pain4UrsinZ
post May 8 2023, 11:29 AM

1,856 posts

why many still using ELCB instead of RCD when RCD is better and cheaper cost ?
SUSceo684
post May 8 2023, 02:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ May 8 2023, 11:29 AM)
why many still using ELCB instead of RCD when RCD is better and cheaper cost ?
ELCB is cheaper because it is dinosaur tech.
https://electrical-engineering-portal.com/w...rent-device-rcd

10mA RCD one ketul good one (ABB/Hager) VI type already RM160 barang only.
It attract new problem like no space in DB box and a complete overhaul of new panel (new DB) is a lot of work and not every customer willing to pay for it.
Quote even RM10 more expensive you lost the job so there is no incentive to do things proper in MY.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 8 2023, 02:55 PM
jio
post May 9 2023, 07:46 PM

383 posts

Actually most RCCB on local market is VI type, even the 10ma local branded China oem design. Only RCBO some is VI type. You can check on the diagram on the RCD. You can even test trip VI RCD using 1.5v battery, some will trip instantly & others will trip after current flow both direction once.
mushigen
post May 9 2023, 11:44 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 10:16 AM)
If 3-phase the main RCCB is 300mA (effectively 100mA per single phase) and 100mA (around 33mA for single phase) . Dont think there is any application for 3-phase heater in a residential home.
ST guidelines and electrical safety guidelines say max sensitivity is 100mA for both 1P and 3P supplies.
For 3P, you can choose to install one 100mA rccb (if any phase is defective, you lose power to whole house) or 3x100mA rccb for each phase.

SUSceo684
post May 11 2023, 11:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 9 2023, 11:44 PM)
ST guidelines and electrical safety guidelines say max sensitivity is 100mA for both 1P and 3P supplies.
For 3P, you can choose to install one 100mA rccb (if any phase is defective, you lose power to whole house) or 3x100mA rccb for each phase.
https://www.clipsal.com/learn-and-discover/...ts-up-buzz-rcds
In Australia:
The main change is to the application of RCDs in domestic installations. All final sub-circuits in a residential installation, no matter the amperage or number of phases, are to be 30mA RCD protected. In general, the changes made now require fixed or stationary electrical equipment, such as a hot water service, an air conditioner, cook top, oven or range to be protected by a 30mA RCD.

Where a whole switchboard is being upgraded to replace existing protection then that switchboard is to be brought up to date with RCD protection.

In Msia:
Maybe humans in MY can tahan better than humans in AU.

mushigen
post May 11 2023, 11:20 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 11 2023, 11:09 PM)
https://www.clipsal.com/learn-and-discover/...ts-up-buzz-rcds
In Australia:
The main change is to the application of RCDs in domestic installations. All final sub-circuits in a residential installation, no matter the amperage or number of phases, are to be 30mA RCD protected. In general, the changes made now require fixed or stationary electrical equipment, such as a hot water service, an air conditioner, cook top, oven or range to be protected by a 30mA RCD.

Where a whole switchboard is being upgraded to replace existing protection then that switchboard is to be brought up to date with RCD protection.

In Msia:
Maybe humans in MY can tahan better than humans in AU.
Yeah, ST still allows 100mA for lighting and AC.

House developers will always say if you use 30mA as main RCD, you can expect trips every 2-3 days.

SUSceo684
post May 12 2023, 07:40 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 11 2023, 11:20 PM)
Yeah, ST still allows 100mA for lighting and AC.

House developers will always say if you use 30mA as main RCD, you can expect trips every 2-3 days.
Didn't see my own place blackout every 2-3days laugh.gif its a myth
mushigen
post May 12 2023, 08:45 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 07:40 AM)
That's a dilemma I'm facing. My house has just one main 300mA RCCB.
Really confused now with the options:
1) one main 30mA rccb and 10mA rccb for heater, but worried about frequent trips as double storey house tends to have more current imbalance due to more circuits/fixtures?

2) 100mA main rccb, 10mA rccb for WH, and swap SSO circuit MCBs with RCBOs - means aircon and lighting circuit protected by syok-sendiri 100mA main rccb.

Which option should I go for?

Also, will adding SPD at DB help with trip reduction especially during thunderstorm?
SUSceo684
post May 12 2023, 08:51 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 12 2023, 08:45 AM)
That's a dilemma I'm facing. My house has just one main 300mA RCCB.
Really confused now with the options:
1) one main 30mA rccb and 10mA rccb for heater, but worried about frequent trips as double storey house tends to have more current imbalance due to more circuits/fixtures?

2) 100mA main rccb, 10mA rccb for WH, and swap SSO circuit MCBs with RCBOs - means aircon and lighting circuit protected by syok-sendiri 100mA main rccb.

Which option should I go for?

Also, will adding SPD at DB help with trip reduction especially during thunderstorm?
1. Modern 30mA = Never tripped except for severe thunderstorm (wind howling type). Maybe once/twice a year at most, not every single rain like the old 300mA we had.
Whole SG also using 30mA don't see blackout all the time.

2. Very costly. For what follow ER1994 spec identically when we can go tighter without problems.

Just don't cheap out on RCD can liao. Get ABB/Hager (with anti nuisance trip)

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 12 2023, 08:51 AM
mushigen
post May 12 2023, 09:25 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 08:51 AM)
1. Modern 30mA = Never tripped except for severe thunderstorm (wind howling type). Maybe once/twice a year at most, not every single rain like the old 300mA we had.
Whole SG also using 30mA don't see blackout all the time.

2. Very costly. For what follow ER1994 spec identically when we can go tighter without problems.

Just don't cheap out on RCD can liao. Get ABB/Hager (with anti nuisance trip)
I'm leaning towards a main 30mA RCCB due to it being safer for the whole house and cheaper too.

When you said anti-nuisance, are you implying there are versions with or without this feature, or in general ABB/Hager has better anti-nuisance feature compared to other brands?
Asking because I checked with Shopee ABB official store seller, and they told me the model I'm interested doesn't have anti-nuisance trip feature.

https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH204-A...8d-a9aef9a044be

They suggested adding auto recloser (almost RM1k), which could be my Plan B.

TIA
jex-koi
post May 14 2023, 09:11 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 12 2023, 09:25 PM)
I'm leaning towards a main 30mA RCCB due to it being safer for the whole house and cheaper too.

When you said anti-nuisance, are you implying there are versions with or without this feature, or in general ABB/Hager has better anti-nuisance feature compared to other brands?
Asking because I checked with Shopee ABB official store seller, and they told me the model I'm interested doesn't have anti-nuisance trip feature.

https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH204-A...8d-a9aef9a044be

They suggested adding auto recloser (almost RM1k), which could be my Plan B.

TIA
Most electricians/shops in malaysia that sells these items do not understand the actual use of it, or how to properly use it.

Only use the 30mA RCCB for single water heater, not for the whole house. Read this for more info : https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...cal%20insta.pdf

This post has been edited by jex-koi: May 14 2023, 09:12 PM
mushigen
post May 17 2023, 01:22 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ May 14 2023, 09:11 PM)
Most electricians/shops in malaysia that sells these items do not understand the actual use of it, or how to properly use it.

Only use the 30mA RCCB for single water heater, not for the whole house.  Read this for more info : https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...cal%20insta.pdf
I don't understand this statement.
amco
post Jun 11 2023, 01:13 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 17 2023, 01:22 PM)
I don't understand this statement.
This is untrue. ST requires 10ma RCCB for all type of water heater. Plug and socket for water heater inside toilet is banned. I know why it's banned.

Latest Guideline for water heater
xkaizoku
post Aug 3 2023, 11:47 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 20 2023, 12:20 AM)
i just checked my single phase db beside the lever have 63a 100mA rccd, so it is suggested to replace with 63a 30mA 2P? my house quite old already 20+ years

ABB https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH202-A...93-457ea2c660fb
Hager https://shopee.com.my/HAGER-CD263B-63AMP-2-...e1-9498152d9ef1

This post has been edited by xkaizoku: Aug 3 2023, 01:46 PM
thinkgoodpositive
post Aug 25 2023, 04:49 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Aug 3 2023, 11:47 AM)
i just checked my single phase db beside the lever have 63a 100mA rccd, so it is suggested to replace with 63a 30mA 2P? my house quite old already 20+ years

ABB https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH202-A...93-457ea2c660fb
Hager https://shopee.com.my/HAGER-CD263B-63AMP-2-...e1-9498152d9ef1
This ABB model I think without anti-nuisance tripping function. Hager model stated with anti-nuisance tripping function, fyi.

em_on
post Aug 25 2023, 04:53 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(thinkgoodpositive @ Aug 25 2023, 04:49 PM)
This ABB model I think without anti-nuisance tripping function. Hager model stated with anti-nuisance tripping function, fyi.
nope, ABB does have

https://library.e.abb.com/public/7115a45a1e...421002B0201.pdf
thinkgoodpositive
post Aug 28 2023, 10:09 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Aug 25 2023, 04:53 PM)
Ya I know this model got. What I meant was the one ABB model FH202 quoted by him earlier in the shopee link.
xkaizoku
post Aug 29 2023, 10:35 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(thinkgoodpositive @ Aug 28 2023, 10:09 AM)
Ya I know this model got. What I meant was the one ABB model FH202 quoted by him earlier in the shopee link.
which ABB model have?
thinkgoodpositive
post Aug 30 2023, 09:40 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Aug 29 2023, 10:35 PM)
which ABB model have?
https://library.e.abb.com/public/7115a45a1e...421002B0201.pdf

This AP range but not sure is commonly available online in Malaysia or not.
jio
post Aug 30 2023, 09:33 PM

383 posts

Actually ABB FH202 AC-63/0.03 does has anti nuisance tripping. You can search using its SKU at ABB website where it does list 250A max surge current. AP-R range is their high immunity model and usually hard to find ready stock. If you have excessive tripping during lightning that not even close by, it is usually due leakage/short from neutral to earth that high resistance enough preventing it from tripping the RCCB on normal days. Only the lowest end consumer RCCB (for 30ma/100ma) don't have anti nuisance tripping.

This post has been edited by jio: Aug 30 2023, 09:34 PM
Richard Walter
post Oct 3 2023, 12:25 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 07:40 AM)
Is this DB ok? Need some advice before proceeding. Thanks in advance!

SUSceo684
post Oct 3 2023, 07:00 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 3 2023, 12:25 PM)
Ok except the last one use 40A 0.03A

Richard Walter
post Oct 3 2023, 08:45 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 3 2023, 07:00 PM)
Ok.Will get it replaced. Thanks a lot notworthy.gif
stormer.lyn
post Oct 3 2023, 08:57 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 3 2023, 12:25 PM)
I believe you will have unnecessary tripping faults. You have made a common Neutral busbar for both the top RCCB (Marked "40A 30mA" - Let's call this RCCB1) and the bottom RCCB (Marked "63A 100mA or 40A 30mA" - Let's call this RCCB2)

This may happen : Current flows through RCCB1 live > MCB 16A > socket in room > appliance > Neutral wire back to DB > Neutral busbar > RCCB2 Neutral.
Your RCCBs will trip. You have to split the Neutral busbar for RCCB1 and RCCB2.

The WH Neutrals must be connected to the RCCB2 Neutral busbar, as the current to the WH originated from RCCB2.

Also, physically, when I am making the connections, I would connect the 10 mm² wires together. This is for the WH Live. In the drawing it is connected through the Live busbar at each end. Potentially the Live busbar will heat up.

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Oct 3 2023, 09:08 PM
Richard Walter
post Oct 4 2023, 11:49 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 3 2023, 08:57 PM)
I believe you will have unnecessary tripping faults. You have made a common Neutral busbar for both the top RCCB (Marked "40A 30mA" - Let's call this RCCB1) and the bottom RCCB (Marked "63A 100mA or 40A 30mA" - Let's call this RCCB2)

This may happen : Current flows through RCCB1 live > MCB 16A > socket in room > appliance > Neutral wire back to DB > Neutral busbar > RCCB2 Neutral.

The WH Neutrals must be connected to the RCCB2 Neutral busbar, as the current to the WH originated from RCCB2.

Also, physically, when I am making the connections, I would connect the 10 mm² wires together. This is for the WH Live. In the drawing it is connected through the Live busbar at each end. Potentially the Live busbar will heat up.
Oh no, The DB box only has 1 neutral busbar. Need to change DB box or can add another neutral busbar?

For the WH live you mean replace the busbar to 10mm wire instead?

Thanks ya
lankorn
post Oct 5 2023, 01:05 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 3 2023, 08:57 PM)

This may happen : Current flows through RCCB1 live > MCB 16A > socket in room > appliance > Neutral wire back to DB > Neutral busbar > [b]RCCB2 Neutral.

May i know why you say so?Do you mean to have 2 separate Neutral busbar?
Eventually all the Neutral will be connect back to incoming(main) Neutral right?

This post has been edited by lankorn: Oct 5 2023, 01:07 AM
SUSceo684
post Oct 5 2023, 01:20 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Oct 5 2023, 01:05 AM)
May i know why you say so?Do you mean to have 2 separate Neutral busbar?
Eventually all the Neutral will be connect back to incoming(main) Neutral right?
Actually on second thought. Why not just use a single 63 0.03 RCD since it’s on single phase. There is no need to split DB.

It’s because the neutral group of circuits on RCCB A should not be mixed with neutral group of circuits on RCCB B before passing the “checkpoint”.
lankorn
post Oct 5 2023, 01:30 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:20 AM)
Actually on second thought. Why not just use a single 63 0.03 RCD since it’s on single phase. There is no need to split DB.

It’s because the neutral group of circuits on RCCB A should not be mixed with neutral group of circuits on RCCB B before passing the “checkpoint”.
I cannot understand biggrin.gif .Can you draw?

This post has been edited by lankorn: Oct 5 2023, 01:30 AM
SUSceo684
post Oct 5 2023, 01:49 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Oct 5 2023, 01:30 AM)
I cannot understand  biggrin.gif .Can you draw?
Mixing your neutrals BEFORE the RCD "checkpoint" has different implications.

U know how shops like genki sushi and sushi king charge for per-plate kaiten belt sushi?
RCD operates like u eat, u pay for your plate tower.
Now let's say I eat, I don't know you, but I put my plates into your table.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 5 2023, 01:52 AM

Richard Walter
post Oct 5 2023, 07:49 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 3 2023, 07:00 PM)
Done changed the RCCB & DB box to the one with double neutral bars. smile.gif

Should be good to go right? Waiting for the wireman to fix on weekend.

stormer.lyn
post Oct 5 2023, 08:37 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 5 2023, 07:49 AM)
Done changed the RCCB & DB box to the one with double neutral bars. smile.gif

Should be good to go right? Waiting for the wireman to fix on weekend.
Yes, this diagram looks good. What I meant about the water heater live wire is in the picture below.

This is the physical connection of the wires. This way the Current to the WH doesn't go through the busbar, but goes wire-to-wire. If you look at a busbar, the bar is rated for 120A (example) but the tines are rated for the Current to an MCB only. They way wiremen stuff the incoming wire into the MCB and get it to distribute is dangerous in my opinion.

Sorry, a bit busy to get on LYN. In the marine line, many ships right now. But I'll try to get back to you asap if you have any further questions.
Richard Walter
post Oct 5 2023, 10:49 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 5 2023, 08:37 AM)
Yes, this diagram looks good. What I meant about the water heater live wire is in the picture below.

This is the physical connection of the wires. This way the Current to the WH doesn't go through the busbar, but goes wire-to-wire. If you look at a busbar, the bar is rated for 120A (example) but the tines are rated for the Current to an MCB only. They way wiremen stuff the incoming wire into the MCB and get it to distribute is dangerous in my opinion.

Sorry, a bit busy to get on LYN. In the marine line, many ships right now. But I'll try to get back to you asap if you have any further questions.
I see. True also. Possible to slot 2 10mm cables & busbar tines into the same mcb . I mean does it fit?
Thanks for everyones input on this. Really appreciate it.
lankorn
post Oct 5 2023, 10:56 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:49 AM)

U know how shops like genki sushi and sushi king charge for per-plate kaiten belt sushi?
Got it.Thanks for the explanation with the picture man thumbsup.gif
Richard Walter
post Oct 7 2023, 12:00 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:49 AM)

Quick question. According to the wireman the RCCB can be fed from both ways, Is the Live & Neutral position correct? New RCCB ABB Model FH202 & MCB SH201L.

I also have many of the old MCB ABB Model S231. Can i mix and use back?

Attached picture below

SUSceo684
post Oct 7 2023, 01:37 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 7 2023, 12:00 PM)
Quick question. According to the wireman the RCCB can be fed from both ways, Is the Live & Neutral position correct? New RCCB ABB Model FH202 & MCB SH201L.

I also have many of the old MCB ABB Model S231. Can i mix  and use back?

Attached picture below
Yes the FH202 terminals are bidirectional from the diagram 1/2 2/1

SH201 without L better.

Old MCB u need to check for fakes as well. Since new MCB not expensive rm 8 a piece I would go for new “peace of mind” for 30 years
Richard Walter
post Oct 7 2023, 01:43 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 7 2023, 01:37 PM)
Yes the FH202 terminals are bidirectional from the diagram 1/2 2/1

SH201 without L better.

Old MCB u need to check for fakes as well. Since new MCB not expensive rm 8 a piece I would go for new “peace of mind” for 30 years
Thanks for reply. Mine all the new one SH201L. What is the difference with L and without ya?

Ok .will change all to new mcb
SUSceo684
post Oct 7 2023, 01:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 7 2023, 01:43 PM)
Thanks for reply.  Mine all the new one SH201L. What is the difference with L and without ya?

Ok .will change all to new mcb
4.5kA vs 6kA short circuit withstand.
Richard Walter
post Oct 7 2023, 01:58 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 7 2023, 01:54 PM)
4.5kA vs 6kA short circuit withstand.
Meaning? Which is which ?
Sorry ya, i noob to this. Worried get con by wireman.:{

Richard Walter
post Oct 7 2023, 01:59 PM

15 posts

By the way the RCCB L & N in correct position right? Also the MCB load at bottom correct?

Thanks a bunch
SUSceo684
post Oct 7 2023, 02:02 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 7 2023, 01:59 PM)
By the way the RCCB L & N in correct position right? Also the MCB load at bottom correct?

Thanks a bunch
Yes FH202 L&N ok one.

Traditionally MCB is line at bottom but ABB one bidirectional. Ok.
JinXXX
post Oct 12 2023, 01:50 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Oct 5 2023, 08:37 AM)

your pic shouldn't the wire be 16mm coming out from the main switch ? ? rather than 10mm ?
or cause you have 40a/30ma rccd thats why you ok with 10mm ?
lowyat101
post Oct 12 2023, 05:22 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 12 2023, 01:50 PM)
your pic shouldn't the wire be 16mm coming out from the main switch ? ? rather than 10mm ?
i think he got another 100mA rccd on the upper part for the socket outlets, there's another 10mm cable going up there

ryansxs
post Oct 12 2023, 05:25 PM

2,376 posts

Have 3 RCCBs

100mA for lightings
30mA for sockets
10mA for direct water related product (water heater)
JinXXX
post Oct 12 2023, 05:39 PM

2,516 posts

my concern isnt the rccb or the xxmA , its more about the wire size /carrying amps and the sub switch lower amps
stormer.lyn
post Oct 12 2023, 08:27 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 12 2023, 05:39 PM)
my concern isnt the rccb or the xxmA , its more about the wire size /carrying amps and the sub switch lower amps
You are right, and that is an extremely valid question. Kudos for noticing that.

An RCCB, although marked 40A 30mA DOES NOT TRIP on 40A overcurrent. Ideally, the 10mm² wire would enter a 2 pole MCB rated 40A, and then only to the RCCB. This means there is overcurrent protection (MCB) and also leakage protection (RCCB) The wires are also protected, because the MCB will trip at 40A before the wires have a chance to heat up and melt.

But this makes the DB become very big. If I were doing the wiring, I would explain all this to the homeowner.

So why did I let this "fault" go without mention? It is because the 10mm² wire is still "safe" from melting no matter what happens. The INDIVIDUAL MCBs in the DB will trip if there is a fault (6A, 16A, 20A as in the poster's drawing) The 10mm² wire will never experience a 40A current unless the fault is within the DB itself, but this is very, very unlikely to happen.

Edit to add: Of course if you change all the 10mm² to 16mm², and the main RCCBs to 63A xxmA, you don't have to worry about any of the above. But you are now dealing with 16mm² wires within the DB, and that is a whole other issue

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Oct 12 2023, 09:01 PM
JinXXX
post Oct 12 2023, 09:07 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Oct 12 2023, 02:50 PM)
Edit to add: Of course if you change all the 10mm² to 16mm², and the main RCCBs to 63A xxmA, you don't have to worry about any of the above. But you are now dealing with 16mm² wires within the DB, and that is a whole other issue
how fat is a 16mm vs a 10mm actually , the diameter ? until well you not wanting to deal with 16mm wire?

ps how u do the mm square thinggy ?
stormer.lyn
post Oct 12 2023, 09:32 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 12 2023, 09:07 PM)
how fat is a 16mm vs a 10mm actually , the diameter ? until well you not wanting to deal with 16mm wire?

Because the OP is stuffing 2 sets of wires into the 63A MCB, and if they are trouble if they are 16mm². Part of the problem is that all electrical wires have 7 strands. They are small when the wire is 2.5mm², but each strand in 16mm² wire is relatively huge, and thus hard to bend and shape. Not impossible, just troublesome. And then finally you will realise you should have used a larger DB!

Your keyboard must have a separate keypad. Press and hold Alt then 0, 1, 7, 8 on the keypad. Technical person, so below are my most used symbols

For manual usage in this forum you can use the superscript tags
CODE
[sup] [/sup]

JinXXX
post Oct 12 2023, 10:06 PM

2,516 posts

okie thanks for the sharing so the op, will be doing the electrical db sendiri or what ? since sharing the diagram pigue my interest is this gonna be a DIY or hire someone to do ?

lowyat101
post Oct 13 2023, 08:11 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 12 2023, 09:07 PM)

My understanding is, the 10mm2 cable is ok since TS is not expecting the current over this circuit to exceed this, but TS need to install a 40A MCB before the 40A RCCD. To me this is a must, else you are right that the cable should then be 16mm2.

JinXXX
post Oct 13 2023, 08:53 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Oct 13 2023, 08:11 AM)
My understanding is, the 10mm2 cable is ok since TS is not expecting the current over this circuit to exceed this, but TS need to install a 40A MCB before the 40A RCCD. To me this is a must, else you are right that the cable should then be 16mm2.
doesnt the 40A rccd also functions like a MCB ?
lowyat101
post Oct 13 2023, 09:12 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 13 2023, 08:53 AM)
doesnt the 40A rccd also functions like a MCB ?
I don't think so, RCCDs are only for leakages/imbalance load. you will need a RCBO to cover the overcurrent protection. That's what i see in my current DB also, there's this extra MCB before the RCCD.

But I'm not an electrical engineer, so pls correct me if I'm wrong blush.gif

JinXXX
post Oct 13 2023, 11:12 AM

2,516 posts

https://chintglobal.com/blog/difference-bet...-rcd-rccb-rcbo/

Circuit breakers are essentially safety devices of any property that uses electricity. These fixtures act as the third party within sophisticated and dangerous electrical wiring systems. MCB, MCCB, RCD, RCCD, and RCBO are all circuit breakers. They are used in homes to protect against human hazards and appliance damage.

The appliances are designed to perform specific functions. It is their particular functionality that makes them different. However, the main difference is that MCB, RCDs, and RCCBs are used for low current, as low as 125 amps. However, MCCBs are used for high currents up to 1000 amps.

MCB
MCB stands for Miniature Circuit Breakers.

MCCB
On the other hand, MCCB is an abbreviation for Molded Case Circuit Breaker.

RCCB
RCCB stands for Residual Current Circuit Breaker. RCCB is also known as RCB or RCD. RCD stands for Residual Current Device, while RCB stands for Residual Current Breaker. RCCB is an electrical wiring device that disconnects the circuit as soon as it detects a current leak to the earth wire. It also protects against electric electrocution or shock caused by direct contact.

RCBO and RCCBs, are residual current protection devices. This protection is achieved by monitoring the current flow in the line and neutral. In a healthy circuit, the current flow via the line equals the return flow in the neutral.

However, this return flow may not be equal to the line’s current flow in the event of any abnormalities. A residual current device will sense such a scenario and interrupt the circuit.

RCBO
RCBO stands for Residual Current Breaker with Over-Current. The RCBO combines the functionality of an MCB and RCD/RCCB. When there is a current leakage, the RCBO trips the entire circuit. Consequently, internal magnetic/thermal circuit breaker components can trip the electronic device when the circuit is overloaded.

RCD Vs. RCBO: What is the Difference?
RCDs can protect against electric shocks, residual currents, and earth faults. On the other hand, RCBOs can do what RCDs can do and protect a circuit from short circuits and overload. RCBOs are essentially a combination of MCB and RCCB. As such, it can protect overload and short circuits.

so RCBO is better than RCCB, since RCBO can do both ?

This post has been edited by JinXXX: Oct 13 2023, 11:14 AM
SUSceo684
post Oct 14 2023, 12:30 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 7 2023, 01:58 PM)
Meaning? Which is which ?
Sorry ya, i noob to this. Worried get con by wireman.:{
L is slightly cheaper.
The barang cost only 50c or rm1 a pc difference. I don't bother using 4.5ka SH201L because the small diff use 6kA SH201 better
The SH201L one is when "every cent is a problem" case when client very tight for money but its not worth stocking..

16mm x2 in that almost impossible to fit.

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Oct 12 2023, 05:25 PM)
Have 3 RCCBs

100mA for lightings
30mA for sockets
10mA for direct water related product (water heater)
U forgot the up to.
Also note per each water heater = need its own unique unit of 10mA. Three WH = 3pcs 10mA.

Also note that this is 30 year old regulations (ER 1994) in the era of flourescent tubes and window-box type aircon rclxub.gif in 2023 one piece 30mA bao kah liao is perfect. Save space. Save time.
It is also illegal w.e.f July 2023 in SG to use anything other than a 30mA RCD for the main RCD. This is for safety reasons.
Attached File  Circular_RD_E01_2023_ELISE.pdf ( 247.6k ) Number of downloads: 26

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Oct 13 2023, 08:11 AM)
By right should be protected by 2 pcs of 40A MCB if 2 pcs of 10mm cable is used.
A 63A main switch does not protect any of the 10mm cable.
Going by principle of either FUSE PROTECT CABLE = OK and CABLE PROTECT FUSE = 🔥 this should be better managed especially by the tradespeople sweat.gif

Loose cut (cut by 1m lengths) mega kabel 16mm only few ringgit even to order in the correct multi colours Red Yellow Blue Black..

** sorry, am typing on laptop quite hard to do the alt 0178 notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 14 2023, 12:38 AM
SUSceo684
post Oct 14 2023, 12:41 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 13 2023, 11:12 AM)
so RCBO is better than RCCB, since RCBO can do both ?
Just a way of saying 2-in-1 coffee sachet vs separated coffee and creamer sachets; IRL dedicated functionality RCD+MCB is preferred (cheaper by approx half price of a RCBO) unless there is space constraint

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 14 2023, 12:41 AM
ryansxs
post Oct 14 2023, 01:41 PM

2,376 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 14 2023, 12:30 AM)
L is slightly cheaper.
The barang cost only 50c or rm1 a pc difference. I don't bother using 4.5ka SH201L because the small diff use 6kA SH201 better
The SH201L one is when "every cent is a problem" case when client very tight for money but its not worth stocking..
U forgot the up to.
Also note per each water heater = need its own unique unit of 10mA. Three WH = 3pcs 10mA.

Also note that this is 30 year old regulations (ER 1994) in the era of flourescent tubes and window-box type aircon  rclxub.gif in 2023 one piece 30mA bao kah liao is perfect. Save space. Save time.
It is also illegal w.e.f July 2023 in SG to use anything other than a 30mA RCD for the main RCD. This is for safety reasons.
Attached File  Circular_RD_E01_2023_ELISE.pdf ( 247.6k ) Number of downloads: 26

By right should be protected by 2 pcs of 40A MCB if 2 pcs of 10mm cable is used.
Going by principle of either FUSE PROTECT CABLE = OK and CABLE PROTECT FUSE = 🔥 this should be better managed especially by the tradespeople  sweat.gif

Loose cut (cut by 1m lengths) mega kabel 16mm only few ringgit even to order in the correct multi colours Red Yellow Blue Black..

** sorry, am typing on laptop quite hard to do the alt 0178  notworthy.gif
Yes up to, each water related equipment needs one RCCB of 10mA

Follow ST document attached. (Malaysia standard follow bulat bulat what IEC says anyway)
Also what wiremen who hold PW2/PW3 have to follow.

Watch MahBayu youtube for fun.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  GARIS_PANDUAN_PENDAWAIAN_ELEKTRIK_PEPASANGAN_DOMESTIK1.pdf ( 3.39mb ) Number of downloads: 24
SUSceo684
post Oct 14 2023, 02:07 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Oct 14 2023, 01:41 PM)
Yes up to, each water related equipment needs one RCCB of 10mA

Follow ST document attached. (Malaysia standard follow bulat bulat what IEC says anyway)
Also what wiremen who hold PW2/PW3 have to follow.

Watch MahBayu youtube for fun.
Correct. This ST guideline still based on ER1994.
ryansxs
post Oct 14 2023, 02:43 PM

2,376 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 14 2023, 02:07 PM)
Correct. This ST guideline still based on ER1994.

Also, it is mentioned in Malaysia Standard that the 10mA RCCB must be after the 100mA RCCB. (some wiring i have seen, they put in parallel with 100mA and 30mA, which is wrong)

If the schematic is seen carefully, the 10mA RCCB comes after the MCB. (again, some wiring is done with RCCB, then MCB. If asked, will the circuit work if put before or after, it will work still, since its just the same circuit. But does it follow the ST spec, answer is no.)

Richard Walter
post Oct 31 2023, 11:04 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 14 2023, 12:30 AM)
L is slightly cheaper.
U forgot the up to.

Also note that this is 30 year old regulations (ER 1994) in the era of flourescent tubes and window-box type aircon  rclxub.gif in 2023 one piece 30mA bao kah liao is perfect. Save space. Save time.

Going by principle of either FUSE PROTECT CABLE = OK and CABLE PROTECT FUSE = 🔥 this should be better managed especially by the tradespeople  sweat.gif

** sorry, am typing on laptop quite hard to do the alt 0178  notworthy.gif
Thanks for the replies.

*Update - The main switch has been changes to 40A instead of 63A,the Positions of the neutral & earth link , mcb & the supply to the Water Heaters.

** The cut off TNB fuse is @32A and i think the cable from the meter is 25mm and not 16mm.

Like what you said fitting in 2 X 16mm into the same slot is nearly impossible. sad.gif

Richard Walter
post Oct 31 2023, 11:34 AM

15 posts

Forgot to mention .Will be adding this as well (picture attached), not sure how good. All will be done after some wiring works complete. Did insulation test and found some wiring need to be replaced.

SUSceo684
post Oct 31 2023, 12:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 31 2023, 11:34 AM)
Forgot to mention .Will be adding this as well (picture attached), not sure how good. All will be done after some wiring works complete. Did insulation test and found some wiring need to be replaced.
I’m not in favour of this because it only has CE shiok sendiri mark. It’s not a proper Sirim or equivalent certification.
Richard Walter
post Oct 31 2023, 05:54 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 31 2023, 12:54 PM)
I’m not in favour of this because it only has CE shiok sendiri mark. It’s not a proper Sirim or equivalent certification.
I see coz the wireman recommended. Will skip it in this case. The others should be good to go right?
Once finished wiring will start to change the DB

SUSceo684
post Oct 31 2023, 07:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 31 2023, 05:54 PM)
I see coz the wireman recommended. Will skip it in this case. The others should be good to go right?
Once finished wiring will start to change the DB
Yup all good 👍
Richard Walter
post Oct 31 2023, 08:12 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 31 2023, 07:18 PM)
Yup all good 👍
Thanks a lot notworthy.gif
stormer.lyn
post Oct 31 2023, 10:12 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Richard Walter @ Oct 31 2023, 11:34 AM)
This is purely opinion - Please read with an open mind. No problem if you disagree.
-----
Well, I have the exact same Traxnele item installed in my own DB, and I do like it even though it is not SIRIM certified, and generally not used in M'sia. My concern is that the Neutral at the substation (or somewhere along the line, anywhere, say your meter room) will be damaged and disconnected. Even though you only use one phase, the distribution is in 3 phases, shared single phase between various housing units. If the Substation Neutral is disconnected, any unit may experience up to 415Vac (the 3 phase voltage) within their own single phase Live and Neutral. This Traxnele thing could prevent that overvoltage when it disconnects, and save your appliances from blowing up.

I know your wiring is single phase, so this fault could only happen in the wiring outside your unit. For people with 3 phase wiring? Never, ever disconnect your Neutral with the phases still active.

I have read about TNB overvoltage before, and TNB does reimburse for your damaged appliances. But for the RM 70(?) this Traxnele cost I feel is cheap prevention insurance. Again my opinion only. YMMV.

One reference website here
Here is another.
Yes, your single phase supply is actually affected by the other unit's electrical load should the Neutral disconnect
jio
post Oct 31 2023, 11:25 PM

383 posts

I don't recommend these kind of voltage protection for power main due to its design. There is risk of damaged contact of the relay, either high resistance (main mcb/mccb won't trip due to current limited in event of short circuit) or fused contact.

Relay type (voltage or phase sequence) + shunt trip coil will be the safer choice. There is shunt trip addon for MCB depending on brand. For 3 phase with MCCB, use phase sequence relay.
cfc
post Dec 11 2023, 03:16 PM

440 posts

planning to replace the MCB with EPS 20A 0.1MA RCBO.
Can the rcbo installed on center of the MCB row (jus swap with current WH DB) or it must be rearranged to edge or beside main DB RCCB as shown in schneider rcbo install video guide ?
thanks.
stormer.lyn
post Dec 13 2023, 08:25 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Dec 11 2023, 03:16 PM)
planning to replace the MCB with  EPS 20A 0.1MA RCBO.
Can the rcbo installed on center of the MCB row (jus swap with current WH DB) or it must be rearranged to edge or  beside main DB RCCB  as shown in schneider rcbo install video guide ?
thanks.
You have to mount it at the end if you are using an MCB busbar as the RCBO needs to be connected with wires, and will not fit this busbar
lankorn
post Dec 13 2023, 10:13 PM

125 posts

My friend asked to upgrade the DB in his house which is old.Just want to clarify what is the main ingredient of a DB,i mean for the current modernized DB?
Which one is better,the main switch or the isolator.I believe we dont use the isolator nowadays.
He wants to upgrade the DB box that can accommodate more MCBs...i think 26 way would be fit

user posted imageuser posted image
mushigen
post Dec 14 2023, 12:07 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Dec 11 2023, 03:16 PM)
planning to replace the MCB with  EPS 20A 0.1MA RCBO.
Can the rcbo installed on center of the MCB row (jus swap with current WH DB) or it must be rearranged to edge or  beside main DB RCCB  as shown in schneider rcbo install video guide ?
thanks.
Should go for 0.01A or 10mA.
cfc
post Dec 14 2023, 07:46 AM

440 posts

Thanks all guys .. typo from my side. It's a 10ma

stormer.lyn
post Dec 14 2023, 09:20 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Dec 13 2023, 10:13 PM)
My friend asked to upgrade the DB in his house which is old.Just want to clarify what is the main ingredient of a DB,i mean for the current modernized DB?
Which one is better,the main switch or the isolator.I believe we dont use the isolator nowadays.
He wants to upgrade the DB box that can accommodate more MCBs...i think 26 way would be fit
What do you mean "main ingredient"? All items in the DB are important and should be considered before installation.

As for the input isolation, the use of an electronic isolator or a fused isolator doesn't matter. Make sure it is double poled to isolate both the live and the neutral for safety.
lankorn
post Dec 14 2023, 02:16 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Dec 14 2023, 09:20 AM)
What do you mean "main ingredient"? All items in the DB are important and should be considered before installation.

As for the input isolation, the use of an electronic isolator or a fused isolator doesn't matter. Make sure it is double poled to isolate both the live and the neutral for safety.
The ingredient i meant is the main part biggrin.gif .Im just asking because nowadays can see a lot of smart devices installed inside DB such as power monitoring and auto-ON breakers.
And the old devices like ELCB replaced with RCCB nowadays.But just want to ask,can we install both ELCB and RCCB or RCCB alone is sufficient?
As for the isolator i think the switch type is better than the fuse type.Switch type will trip if anything and just need to reset but the fuse type need to replace the fuse.
SUSceo684
post Dec 29 2023, 12:48 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Usually human die at 50mA.
300mA mean u kena hexa killed (6x killed).
30mA will stop it before major damage occur to your heart.
SUSceo684
post Feb 6 2024, 11:06 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

--

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 6 2024, 11:07 PM
nbi
post May 3 2024, 01:18 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 29 2023, 12:48 AM)
Usually human die at 50mA.
300mA mean u kena hexa killed (6x killed).
30mA will stop it before major damage occur to your heart.
situation, add one washing machine at bathroom.

1, share water heater rccb 25a 10ma connection to the new washing machine, can?

or

2, individual new mcb 16a + new rccb 25a 10ma?

stormer.lyn
post May 3 2024, 08:52 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(nbi @ May 3 2024, 01:18 PM)

or

No 2 better, but you could use an RCBO and just replace the current MCB being used
No 1 I think can, because it doesn't say that 1 RCCB for 1 water heater, just that wet area be protected by 10mA RCCB. But better wait for more knowledgeable people to chime in.

I personally would do No 2.
jio
post May 3 2024, 11:17 PM

383 posts

If the water heater is on MCB C16 & washing machine is on C10, then it is kinda safe but not recommend if you want to upgrade to higher power water heater or dryer. And electrician tend to shortcut loop from 1 socket to another without checking. You will still need a new cables from DB to the socket outlet if it doesn't exist in the first place.

You can have 40A 10ma RCCB such as Hager CCA540D support 2xC20 circuits if that what you prefer but it will cost about 2x Hager 16A/25A 10ma RCCB.

Maxguard 25A 10ma RCCB is under 60 & 16A 10ma RCBO is under 65.

This post has been edited by jio: May 3 2024, 11:21 PM
SUSceo684
post May 4 2024, 02:50 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(nbi @ May 3 2024, 01:18 PM)

or

I prefer option 2. I don't prefer to share because the WH itself consume a big chunk of amperage by itself.
lowyat101
post May 13 2024, 09:34 AM

2,538 posts

At my parent's old house, there's no dedicated circuit for the WH with 10mA RCCD at the DB. I'm thinking to install a RCCD at the incoming power cable inside the bathroom itself (at high level above the WH) then only connect the WH cable to the RCCB. I guess this will serve the same function for protection right?

lowyat101
post May 13 2024, 09:38 AM

2,538 posts

BTW may I know is this brand EPS good enough?

stormer.lyn
post May 13 2024, 09:01 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ May 13 2024, 09:34 AM)
At my parent's old house, there's no dedicated circuit for the WH with 10mA RCCD at the DB. I'm thinking to install a RCCD at the incoming power cable inside the bathroom itself (at high level above the WH) then only connect the WH cable to the RCCB. I guess this will serve the same function for protection right?

Yes can.
You could also mount it near the water heater switch. There are small casings that fit only an RCCB

DroppedJaw
post Jun 7 2024, 06:55 PM

171 posts

Hey all, my house is 27 years old 3 phase and equipped with two 300mA RCCBs.

Can I replace them both with F204 A-63/0.03? Will I experience nuisance trips on the main DB since theres so many load?

There is no extra 10mA RCCB for the solar water heater with electric backup. Do I need one? The pipes in the wall seem to be made of PPR material.

DIY replaced MCB few months ago.

Picture of my db:

This post has been edited by DroppedJaw: Jun 7 2024, 06:57 PM
jio
post Jun 7 2024, 08:33 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(DroppedJaw @ Jun 7 2024, 06:55 PM)
Hey all, my house is 27 years old 3 phase and equipped with two 300mA RCCBs.

Can I replace them both with F204 A-63/0.03? Will I experience nuisance trips on the main DB since theres so many load?
Check the existing condition during normal peak usage using leakage clamp meter. If the standing leakage current is below 30% of the new RCCB, then you can proceed. Above 50% I don't recommend as the RCCB will trip at 80% or even as low as 70% of the RCCB rating. Use leakage clamp meter with 40mm or slightly larger jaw as you have to clamp 3 phase + neutral. You can get Multi M-140 for MYR320.
subaiku
post Jun 12 2024, 07:02 PM

445 posts

Hey guys, can anybody recommend a good electrician in Penang? Looking to replace the db box at my parents place. It’s a mess!
13aby
post Jul 15 2024, 12:03 AM

975 posts

my house water heater from developer direct from MCCB C20 is this safe? the one i added one i using C16 MCB and RCCB 16A 10mA (RCCB is near the switch) and i just notice that my C16 MCB install at 63a 100mA power at DB ... this is dangerous right? another power line is 63a 30mA , should put the C16 here correct? as the developer C20 is here

This post has been edited by 13aby: Jul 15 2024, 10:56 PM
Lighters
post Jul 18 2024, 10:19 PM

Hi guys just recently upgrade DB box. All aircon and water heater seperate MCB and RCBO. Any comment on these set up?

C6-Lighting
C20- Aircon x6, dryer x1
C32-socket
RCBO for 3 heater

This post has been edited by Lighters: Jul 18 2024, 10:21 PM
jio
post Jul 19 2024, 12:02 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 18 2024, 10:19 PM)
Hi guys just recently upgrade DB box. All aircon and water heater seperate MCB and RCBO. Any comment on these set up?

C6-Lighting
C20- Aircon x6, dryer x1
C32-socket
RCBO for 3 heater

WTF are you using isolator as main switch? Use 2P MCB please. In the past long ago isolator switch was used as main switch but it is always with fuse (integrated or separate). It is long replaced with MCB, fuse holder etc. Do not use main switch without overcurrent protection.
Lighters
post Jul 19 2024, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(jio @ Jul 19 2024, 12:02 AM)
WTF are you using isolator as main switch? Use 2P MCB please. In the past long ago isolator switch was used as main switch but it is always with fuse (integrated or separate). It is long replaced with MCB, fuse holder etc. Do not use main switch without overcurrent protection.
The isolator is the one next to RCCB right. So we cant use the 2pole isolator? Replace with the MCB C63 2 pole? This isolator quite exp haha but may i know whats the difference?
mac_mac21
post Jul 19 2024, 02:22 PM

189 posts

Means we use 2 way MCB box cover with RCCB instead of the normal 20A switch for water heater before enter toilet?
jio
post Jul 19 2024, 10:25 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 19 2024, 11:45 AM)
The isolator is the one next to RCCB right. So we cant use the 2pole isolator? Replace with the MCB C63 2 pole? This isolator quite exp haha but may i know whats the difference?
You need the overcurrent protection which the isolator switch lack. I recommend 2P MCB instead of fuse as I've seen fuse being temporarily bypassed during emergency (burnt fuse but no replacement fuse available) which supposed to be replaced but totally forgotten/ignored by the owner.

For your case you can either
1. Replace it with 2P MCB or switchfuse
or
2. Add fuseholder (technically you can substitute this with 1P MCB but you will as well replace the isolator with 2P MCB).

Edit: The incoming seems to be connected to the RCCB. Is this sub-DB instead of the main DB?

This post has been edited by jio: Jul 19 2024, 10:50 PM
Lighters
post Jul 19 2024, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(jio @ Jul 19 2024, 10:25 PM)
You need the overcurrent protection which the isolator switch lack. I recommend 2P MCB instead of fuse as I've seen fuse being temporarily bypassed during emergency (burnt fuse but no replacement fuse available) which supposed to be replaced but totally forgotten/ignored by the owner.

For your case you can either
1. Replace it with 2P MCB or switchfuse
or
2. Add fuseholder (technically you can substitute this with 1P MCB but you will as well replace the isolator with 2P MCB).

Edit: The incoming seems to be connected to the RCCB. Is this sub-DB instead of the main DB?
Appreciate ur replies. Which mean 2P MCB is more safer than the isolator. got it.

This is the main db. The only DB also. It should be connected to the RCCB right?
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2024, 05:24 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 19 2024, 11:33 PM)
Appreciate ur replies. Which mean 2P MCB is more safer than the isolator. got it.

This is the main db. The only DB also. It should be connected to the RCCB right?
Isolator don't have overcurrent protection, but you can just add in another 63A 2P MCB after it. Followed by the RCCB.
Momo33
post Jul 24 2024, 02:50 PM

1,448 posts

why is there need to install additional RCCB for water heater when i see
some WH already have this protection.
example Joven WH specs states below.

Double Poles EELS System with 10mA sensitivity

Any technical view ?

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jul 24 2024, 03:18 PM
Kiding
post Jul 24 2024, 07:11 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jul 24 2024, 02:50 PM)
why is there need to install additional  RCCB for water heater  when  i see
some WH  already have  this protection.
example  Joven WH  specs  states below.

Any technical view ?
what if the water heater protection fail to work?

remember, avoid any single point of failure for life critical device.
13aby
post Jul 25 2024, 07:02 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jul 24 2024, 02:50 PM)
why is there need to install additional  RCCB for water heater  when  i see
some WH  already have  this protection.
example  Joven WH  specs  states below.

Any technical view ?
Yes some WH build in ELCB/RCCB but Suruhanjaya Tenaga Does not approve it or Trust it . Must add one more RCCB / RCBO before the WH Switch .

In the event if caught fire or electric shock . Insurance / bomba will fail owner and saman the owner if without addtional RCCB/RCBO .
numbertwo
post Nov 10 2024, 08:46 PM

1,784 posts

Hello all,
Thanks for this very informative thread. This thread wakes me up to check my existing DB box and I found a following list of concerns, could the pros here help to comment ?

1. There are TWO water heaters (no pump) connecting to two individual MCB C32. So both got to be changed to a RCBO C20 0.01A ?

2. An electronic induction cooker that comes with Highlight burner connecting to a MCB C32, is this Ok ? Or oversized ? Unfortunately i don't have the spec anymore.. Assuming it is 3000W-3500W, does it really need a C32 MCB or can it be lower down to MCB C20 ?

3. A Pacific kitchen hood is also connecting to a C32 MCB. Again, should i downgrade to a C20 MCB or even C16 would suffice ?

Btw.. this DB Box config was reconfig'ed when i reno my house 10+ years back, wirings were all new (reroute all from DB to all the points). I have recently changed it to a 3Phase electric and stumbled upon this informative thread, hence the question.

Thanks all.

stormer.lyn
post Nov 10 2024, 10:13 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 10 2024, 08:46 PM)
1.  There are TWO water heaters (no pump) connecting to two individual MCB C32.  So both got to be changed to a RCBO C20 0.01A ?

2.  An electronic induction cooker that comes with Highlight burner connecting to a MCB C32, is this Ok ? Or oversized ?  Unfortunately i don't have the spec anymore.. Assuming it is 3000W-3500W, does it really need a C32 MCB or can it be lower down to MCB C20 ?

3.  A Pacific kitchen hood is also connecting to a C32 MCB.  Again, should i downgrade to a C20 MCB or even C16 would suffice ?
The rating of the MCB is to protect the cables that are connected. So for example a 2.5 mm² cable has a rating of 24 A**, then the MCB should be not be 25 A, but 20 A.

1. Yes, must change to RCBO, or add RCCB with the C32. If wire is 4 mm² can maintain C32, but I would strongly suggest C25. (Maximum 5700 W water heater with C25) If the wire is 2.5 mm², then technically you already cannot use C20 as Suruhanjaya Tenaga say cannot use 2.5 mm² wire for water heater. Realistically the water heater won't be at maximum heat, so you can get away with a C20 RCBO. (My own instant water heater with rain shower and warm enough for me draws ~16 A measured)

2. Again mainly depends on the wire size. You should also look at the rating of the appliance. For 3500 W, then you would have about 16 A at full cooking power. So, going down to a C20 would be safer no matter the wire size.

3. It does sound extremely oversized. Most hoods are less than 1000 W, so a C16/C20 would be fine.

My own unit:
Lighting 1.5 mm² MCB C10
13 A socket 2.5 mm² MCB C16
A/cond 2.5 mm² MCB C16
Water heater 4 mm² MCB C20+RCCB 10 mA -or- RCBO C20 10 mA
Specialty appliance 4 mm² C25 (Oven for example) Edit I have a row of 3 x 13 A sockets at my kitchen counter. I can foresee myself using an air fryer and an induction cooker while boiling water at the same time. Individually they are not more than 1500 W each, but collectively to the looped sockets it is more than C20. Hence the wire feeding these looped sockets are 4 mm²
Note that ST says air conds are to use 4 mm² wires, but I think that is absolutely overkill as a 2 HP a/cond is at maximum 2000 W (~9A). So I don't follow ST rules to the letter. I'm okay to match the MCB to the wire to the power draw of the appliance.

** This rating depends mainly on the heat that is produced when the wire is flowing the rated amperes. This 24 A is the rating at best case, when the heat can dissipate from the cable. Make that situation worse, by burying that cable in the wall, run 3 phase together, run lots of wires together, etc, and that rating will reduce.

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Nov 10 2024, 10:31 PM
numbertwo
post Nov 11 2024, 09:34 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 10 2024, 10:13 PM)
The rating of the MCB is to protect the cables that are connected. So for example a 2.5 mm² cable has a rating of 24 A**, then the MCB should be not be 25 A, but 20 A.

1. Yes, must change to RCBO, or add RCCB with the C32. If wire is 4 mm² can maintain C32, but I would strongly suggest C25. (Maximum 5700 W water heater with C25) If the wire is 2.5 mm², then technically you already cannot use C20 as Suruhanjaya Tenaga say cannot use 2.5 mm² wire for water heater. Realistically the water heater won't be at maximum heat, so you can get away with a C20 RCBO. (My own instant water heater with rain shower and warm enough for me draws ~16 A measured)

2. Again mainly depends on the wire size. You should also look at the rating of the appliance. For 3500 W, then you would have about 16 A at full cooking power. So, going down to a C20 would be safer no matter the wire size.

3. It does sound extremely oversized. Most hoods are less than 1000 W, so a C16/C20 would be fine.

My own unit:
Lighting 1.5 mm² MCB C10
A/cond 2.5 mm² MCB C16
Specialty appliance 4 mm² C25 (Oven for example) Edit I have a row of 3 x 13 A sockets at my kitchen counter. I can foresee myself using an air fryer and an induction cooker while boiling water at the same time. Individually they are not more than 1500 W each, but collectively to the looped sockets it is more than C20. Hence the wire feeding these looped sockets are 4 mm²
Note that ST says air conds are to use 4 mm² wires, but I think that is absolutely overkill as a 2 HP a/cond is at maximum 2000 W (~9A). So I don't follow ST rules to the letter. I'm okay to match the MCB to the wire to the power draw of the appliance.

** This rating depends mainly on the heat that is produced when the wire is flowing the rated amperes. This 24 A is the rating at best case, when the heat can dissipate from the cable. Make that situation worse, by burying that cable in the wall, run 3 phase together, run lots of wires together, etc, and that rating will reduce.
--- 13 A socket 2.5 mm² MCB C16 ---

This is another question of mine, all the 13A wall 3 pin are connected with MCB C20 in my DB box now. The 3-Phase RCCB is a single RCCB 0.1A coupled with a MCB C64. Your thoughts please ?

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Nov 11 2024, 09:35 AM
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 10:36 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 11 2024, 09:34 AM)
--- 13 A socket 2.5 mm² MCB C16 ---

This is another question of mine, all the 13A wall 3 pin are connected with MCB C20 in my DB box now.    The 3-Phase RCCB is a single RCCB 0.1A coupled with a MCB C64.  Your thoughts please ?

Technically cannot. ST requires a RCCB 30 mA for 13 A sockets. Your DB should have 2 RCCBs, the 30 mA one feeding all the sockets and appliances, and a 100 mA one feeding all the lighting.
-BUT- you could have one RCCB 30 mA feeding everything, as ST specifications say MAXIMUM rating of the RCCB. So using a 30 mA for lighting does not exceed the 100 mA specification.
Actually, ST recommends using 3 x RCCB, one for each phase-neutral pair for residential applications. This is because you may be 3 phase, but you are actually 3 single phase for residential.
numbertwo
post Nov 11 2024, 10:45 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 11 2024, 10:36 AM)
Technically cannot. ST requires a RCCB 30 mA for 13 A sockets. Your DB should have 2 RCCBs, the 30 mA one feeding all the sockets and appliances, and a 100 mA one feeding all the lighting.
-BUT- you could have one RCCB 30 mA feeding everything, as ST specifications say MAXIMUM rating of the RCCB. So using a 30 mA for lighting does not exceed the 100 mA specification.
Actually, ST recommends using 3 x RCCB, one for each phase-neutral pair for residential applications. This is because you may be 3 phase, but you are actually 3 single phase for residential.
-- all the 13A wall 3 pin are connected with MCB C20 in my DB box now.

Is it critical to have them all change to C16?
numbertwo
post Nov 11 2024, 10:49 AM

1,784 posts

yeah, i read the ST diagrams from others thread, 3x RCCB is recommended but it is too late as the 3P upgrade is done. So my priority now is to change the WH MCB to switch to RCBO , then downsize the few C32 to C20 for the time being.
YoungMan
post Nov 11 2024, 03:45 PM

6,785 posts

How about water heater RCCB 10 mA, install in DB? Actually how to decide between choosing RCCB or RCBO for WH?
Zot
post Nov 11 2024, 03:55 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Nov 11 2024, 03:45 PM)
How about water heater RCCB 10 mA, install in DB? Actually how to decide between choosing RCCB or RCBO for WH?
RCCB - Residual Current Circuit Breaker
RCBO - Residual Current Breaker with Overcurrent

RCCB trips when the outgoing current vs return current difference over its rated trip current. However, if there malfunction in appliance is over normal operating current but the outgoing and return current still tally, it will not trip the RCCB. With RCBO, it will trip because overcurrent protection will trip the RCBO. Additional protection.
Zot
post Nov 11 2024, 04:03 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 11 2024, 10:45 AM)

As for ST guideline:
MCB 16A for 1x 13A socket
MCB 20A for 2x 13A socket
MCB 32A for 4x 13A socket
MCB 32A for 6x 13A socket in ring configuration.

numbertwo
post Nov 11 2024, 04:47 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 11 2024, 04:03 PM)
As for ST guideline:
Thank you. In this case got to keep the current ones as most of them connect to 2x 13A. Thank u.
YoungMan
post Nov 11 2024, 07:25 PM

6,785 posts

As for ST guideline:
So if developer/contractor uses mostly 32 A, it is fine as long not more than 6 13A socket and not for high load/kitchen use? Anything else that need to take into consideration for right sizing MCB?
numbertwo
post Nov 11 2024, 08:19 PM

1,784 posts

Gentlemen, is this the correct spec of the RCBO : Schneider Electric (Easy9 RCBO, 1P+N, 6kA, C Curve 10mA) ?

And for MCB, (Schneider Electric Miniature Circuit Breaker 1P 20A C 6000A 230V) looks right ?

TIA

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Nov 11 2024, 09:26 PM
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 09:36 PM

1,132 posts

As for ST guideline:
Could you cite the ST source for this please? I unfortunately can't remember ever seeing these specifications.
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 09:44 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Nov 11 2024, 03:45 PM)
There is generally also a size difference if your DB is limited in additional space, RCBO generally being smaller and a drop in replacement for the MCB.
I'll repeat what Zot said in that RCCB does not trip on over current, meaning you still need to maintain the MCB, making the space required even larger.

Cost wise an RCCB vs RCBO are comparable within the same brand for the same specs.
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 09:53 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Nov 11 2024, 07:25 PM)
So if developer/contractor uses mostly 32 A, it is fine as long not more than 6 13A socket and not for high load/kitchen use? Anything else that need to take into consideration for right sizing MCB?
The rating of the MCB depends on the size of the wire that is used, not the number of sockets connected to the MCB. For C32, the wires would have to be a minimum of 4 mm², or a ring circuit with 2.5 mm². I've asked Zot for the source of his information so I can restudy it and correct myself if I am wrong. Stay tuned once he cites the source.
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 10:04 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 11 2024, 10:49 AM)
yeah, i read the ST diagrams from others thread, 3x RCCB is recommended but it is too late as the 3P upgrade is done.  So my priority now is to change the WH MCB to switch to RCBO , then downsize the few C32 to C20 for the time being.
Using a single RCCB is fine, all that happens is that all the phases will lose power if there is a fault in any single one. With 3 x RCCB, a fault in one phase will only affect that phase and not the two other. Just thought to mention what ST recommends in their documentation, and to point out 3 phase vs 3 single phase usage.

Just imagine you follow all the recommendations of one 30 mA RCCB for socket outlets and one 100 mA RCCB for lighting, and then you have 3 phase - so now 6 RCCB in the DB - and then maybe 4 bathrooms, each with one 10 mA RCCB..... the DB is going to be hugely unpractical!
stormer.lyn
post Nov 11 2024, 10:42 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 11 2024, 10:45 AM)

This is a hard question to answer definitively because ... it all depends.
Personally, I would do it. But that is just me being an engineer. In my line, people get hurt or worse when things are done without that inherent safety factor incorporated into the implementation.

Practically though.... you probably are never going to be pulling 20 A continuously from the sockets in a loop such that the wires can overheat and cause a fire. Suppose there is a short circuit. Is it going to be pulling 19.9 A and overheat without tripping the MCB, or it is going to be >20 A and trip the MCB making it safe? I'd say >20 A is more likely.

So you make a trade-off for the price you pay vs the safety factor vs the trouble to do vs the inconvenience vs probability of failure vs many other things you think off. And only you can make that decision. I'm perfectly fine running 2.5 mm² wire to the TV area with a C16 MCB feeding 8 socket outlets. Because a 55" TV, an amplifier, some speakers, maybe the router, HTPC, phone charger, a lamp, Amazon Echo, and maybe sometimes a vacuum plugged into the loop will never pull more than 10 A when everything is turned on. But my kitchen counter is 4 mm² C25 MCB to only 3 socket outlets, and I have said why in a previous post.

Exposure determines risk. If you never swim in the wilds, you probably are not going to be mauled by a shark. (Sharknado notwithstanding) So I urge you to understand what you are trying to do, and consider which ones need to be changed based on your needs.
Zot
post Nov 12 2024, 08:43 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Nov 11 2024, 07:25 PM)
Note that the 6 sockets are in ring configuration. Just in case you are not sure what it means. The ring wiring is when wires come out from DB and go to sockets in series and return back to DB through another path to form a circle. Therefore, if you cut wire to one of the socket, power will still be available on the rest of sockets. My house wiring is like this. There are two separate rings for ground and upper floors. I have 2x32A MCB in my DB.

Just think you MCB is more on protecting wire in wall. If current is too high, the MCB will trip to protect wire in the wall from getting to hot and melt the insulator, short-circuited and ignite fire. The MCB rating is not rated to provide total power to sockets on the wall. As you can see the 20A MCB is used for 2x13A socket. Two sockets totaled up for 26A but the MCB is only 20A.

Current carrying capability of wire depends not only on its size but ambient temperature and how it is laid also affect current rating. I always assume the 4mm wire should be protected by 20A MCB even though it can carry much more current. If in thermally isolated trunking in will be rated at 24A but if laid directly on concrete wall it can go up to 32A. However, you have other wires put together.This will affect ambient temperature as well.

Hope this helps.
Zot
post Nov 12 2024, 08:44 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 11 2024, 09:36 PM)
Could you cite the ST source for this please? I unfortunately can't remember ever seeing these specifications.
https://www.st.gov.my/contents/publications...uildings%20.pdf
YoungMan
post Nov 12 2024, 09:47 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 11 2024, 09:53 PM)
The rating of the MCB depends on the size of the wire that is used, not the number of sockets connected to the MCB. For C32, the wires would have to be a minimum of 4 mm², or a ring circuit with 2.5 mm². I've asked Zot for the source of his information so I can restudy it and correct myself if I am wrong. Stay tuned once he cites the source.
Thank you. Got to plan for my house reno next year. At least I learn some knowledge so not be easily deceive by contractor.

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 12 2024, 08:43 AM)
Note that the 6 sockets are in ring configuration. Just in case you are not sure what it means. The ring wiring is when wires come out from DB and go to sockets in series and return back to DB through another path to form a circle. Therefore, if you cut wire to one of the socket, power will still be available on the rest of sockets. My house wiring is like this. There are two separate rings for ground and upper floors. I have 2x32A MCB in my DB.

Just think you MCB is more on protecting wire in wall. If current is too high, the MCB will trip to protect wire in the wall from getting to hot and melt the insulator, short-circuited and ignite fire. The MCB rating is not rated to provide total power to sockets on the wall. As you can see the 20A MCB is used for 2x13A socket. Two sockets totaled up for 26A but the MCB is only 20A.

Current carrying capability of wire depends not only on its size but ambient temperature and how it is laid also affect current rating. I always assume the 4mm wire should be protected by 20A MCB even though it can carry much more current. If in thermally isolated trunking in will be rated at 24A but if laid directly on concrete wall it can go up to 32A. However, you have other wires  put together.This will affect ambient temperature as well.

Hope this helps.
Thank you. That helps in my understanding

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Nov 12 2024, 09:49 AM
numbertwo
post Nov 12 2024, 09:55 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Nov 12 2024, 09:47 AM)
Thank you. Got to plan for my house reno next year. At least I learn some knowledge so not be easily deceive by contractor.
Thank you. That helps in my understanding
yeah.. so much to learn from members here.. How I wish this thread started in 2012 instead.
lj0000
post Nov 12 2024, 10:06 AM

2,197 posts

As for ST guideline:
Need to follow cable size. Not socket qty
Avoid ring if possible. If the ring break, mcb won't trip even when overloaded

I would love to see the St publication.
Zot
post Nov 12 2024, 10:18 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 12 2024, 10:06 AM)
Need to follow cable size. Not socket qty
Avoid ring if possible. If the ring break, mcb won't trip even when overloaded

I would love to see the St publication.
Cable size is already defined for lighting and socket. Why ring will not trip if overloaded? The current to MCB is still total of two separated string of loads. Note that each socket is still protected by 13A fuse.
lj0000
post Nov 12 2024, 10:25 AM

2,197 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 12 2024, 10:18 AM)
Cable size is already defined for lighting and socket. Why ring will not trip if overloaded? The current to MCB is still total of two separated string of loads. Note that each socket is still protected by 13A fuse.
Ring uses loop. If the loop is broken
The only become 1 wire feeding the socket instead of two.

Zot
post Nov 12 2024, 10:40 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 12 2024, 10:25 AM)
Ring uses loop. If the loop is broken
The only become 1 wire feeding the socket instead of two.
Yes, but the wire is still the 4mm wire for the socket as standard
lj0000
post Nov 12 2024, 11:29 AM

2,197 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 12 2024, 10:40 AM)
Yes, but the wire is still the 4mm wire for the socket as standard
page18

here say ring use 2.5mm2 and mcb 32amps.

if ring use 4mm2, then no issue.
Zot
post Nov 12 2024, 01:00 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 12 2024, 11:29 AM)
page18

here say ring use 2.5mm2 and mcb 32amps.
if ring use 4mm2, then no issue.
I see what you meant. I did not look into drawing detail. I am wondering if the 2.5 and 4 is actually the surface area. When I look at the wire, it looks like the wire diameter not area laugh.gif If it is really the 2.5mm², then the diameter is only 1.78mm.

Anyway, even if the area is 2.5mm², the wire will survive much longer than the MCB tripping time based on what I used to read before. Anyway, not good as you say laugh.gif
stormer.lyn
post Nov 12 2024, 05:42 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 12 2024, 08:44 AM)
Very sorry, but you have made a mistake, as lj0000 has also pointed out to you. I reproduce the diagram from the ST document you linked to below

The MCB protects the wires from melting, not you put a 32 A MCB you can have 4 socket outlets. The wire sizes are stated in the diagram, and are the determining factor for the MCB rating. You can see the ring circuit is using 2.5 mm². (2 x 2.5 mm² = 5 mm², which is larger than 4 mm²) That is the Cross Sectional Area of the wire, not diameter.

lj0000 also points out that in the ring circuit a wire may be disconnected, and then it becomes unsafe. This really happens from my experience, as different techs will service the wiring without knowing the ring connection. There is also specific requirements if you want to branch off from a ring circuit. I do not like ring circuits for these reasons.
lj0000
post Nov 12 2024, 06:16 PM

2,197 posts

Avoid ring as much as possible
It's designed during WW2 as copper shortage
stormer.lyn
post Nov 12 2024, 10:46 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 12 2024, 01:00 PM)
Anyway, even if the area is 2.5mm², the wire will survive much longer than the MCB tripping time based on what I used to read before. Anyway, not good as you say  laugh.gif
Except it won't. Pull 30 A through a 2.5 mm² ring circuit protected by a 32 A MCB, and if one of the wires is faulty, the wires will overheat well before the MCB trips.
Here's the thing - a ring circuit that has a faulty connection/wire still has power so you don't know it is faulty - until you overload it and things catch fire.
Zot
post Nov 13 2024, 08:57 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 12 2024, 05:42 PM)
Very sorry, but you have made a mistake, as lj0000 has also pointed out to you. I reproduce the diagram from the ST document you linked to below

The MCB protects the wires from melting, not you put a 32 A MCB you can have 4 socket outlets. The wire sizes are stated in the diagram, and are the determining factor for the MCB rating. You can see the ring circuit is using 2.5 mm². (2 x 2.5 mm² = 5 mm², which is larger than 4 mm²) That is the Cross Sectional Area of the wire, not diameter.

lj0000 also points out that in the ring circuit a wire may be disconnected, and then it becomes unsafe. This really happens from my experience, as different techs will service the wiring without knowing the ring connection. There is also specific requirements if you want to branch off from a ring circuit. I do not like ring circuits for these reasons.
Yes I understood what you said. I also mentioned that the MCB is more on protecting wire in the wall, not appliances.

My house is ring and it is using 4mm wire, not the 2.5mm like in diagram. I was not looking at the diagram because for me any socket is using 4mm sad.gif . My mistake there. The reason I mentioned about area vs diameter was because the 2.5mm² wire has less than 2mm diameter which is very small and makes me wonder if it really the area. laugh.gif
stormer.lyn
post Nov 13 2024, 09:53 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 13 2024, 08:57 AM)
My house is ring and it is using 4mm wire, not the 2.5mm like in diagram. I was not looking at the diagram because for me any socket is using 4mm
One reason for using a ring circuit is so that you can use under specced wires to perform like larger wires, ie 2 x 2.5 mm² wires can perform like 4 mm². Did your installer tell you they used 4 mm² in a 32 A ring circuit, and did you confirm this for yourself?

Because it makes no sense to use 4 mm² in a ring circuit as 4 mm² is already rated individually for 32 A. Now if you said the ring circuit is 50 A but using 4 mm² then it makes sense.

(Slight aside : The other reason for a ring circuit is to ensure less voltage drop over the wiring for very large areas. Malaysia supply is 230 V +10% -6%, so minimum of 216.2 V must reach the appliance.
2.5 mm² wire has a resistance of about 7 ohm per km.
So according to the online calculator, it would require 49 m of 2.5 mm² wire length to drop that 13.8 V at full 20 A loading. I guess it is possible if your incoming is already low, and you area is very large, but my experience is TNB supply is always on the high side)

Zot
post Nov 13 2024, 10:18 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 13 2024, 09:53 AM)
One reason for using a ring circuit is so that you can use under specced wires to perform like larger wires, ie 2 x 2.5 mm² wires can perform like 4 mm². Did your installer tell you they used 4 mm² in a 32 A ring circuit, and did you confirm this for yourself?

Because it makes no sense to use 4 mm² in a ring circuit as 4 mm² is already rated individually for 32 A. Now if you said the ring circuit is 50 A but using 4 mm² then it makes sense.
(Slight aside : The other reason for a ring circuit is to ensure less voltage drop over the wiring for very large areas. Malaysia supply is 230 V +10% -6%, so minimum of 216.2 V must reach the appliance.
2.5 mm² wire has a resistance of about 7 ohm per km.
So according to the online calculator, it would require 49 m of 2.5 mm² wire length to drop that 13.8 V at full 20 A loading. I guess it is possible if your incoming is already low, and you area is very large, but my experience is TNB supply is always on the high side)
Why it makes no sense? It is better, isn't it? The wiring is original from developer and I know it is a ring because I checked it myself. There is no voltage problem and it is just normal semi-D house size in Malaysia to concern about voltage drop in wire. I did extend a bit at the back of the house and I pulled another big cable from main DB to another DB I added at the back of the house to supply power for kitchen, air-cond and heaters to rooms/bathrooms at the back of the house. The kitchen is electrical hob, hood and garbage disposer. Developer only provide power points for air-cond and heater to master bedroom only. doh.gif My friend and I got cables laid down during renovation work.

stormer.lyn
post Nov 13 2024, 02:35 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 13 2024, 10:18 AM)
Why it makes no sense? It is better, isn't it? The wiring is original from developer and I know it is a ring because I checked it myself. There is no voltage problem and it is just normal semi-D house size in Malaysia to concern about voltage drop in wire. I did extend a bit at the back of the house and I pulled another big cable from main DB to another DB I added at the back of the house to supply power for kitchen, air-cond and heaters to rooms/bathrooms at the back of the house. The kitchen is electrical hob, hood and garbage disposer. Developer only provide power points for air-cond and heater to master bedroom only.  doh.gif My friend and I got cables laid down during renovation work.
It makes no sense to me because it increases cost, increases complexity, increases installation work, increases points of failure, increases the chance of being done wrong (see conduit fill, proper torque for terminals, number of wires into a terminal) and is so unnecessary to do with 4 mm² at 32 A. There's also no benefit of increased current carrying capacity, as your MCB is C32 anyway. And you also say that the area is not that large, so no reason to do it for voltage drop in the wires.

I contend that a simpler system that does the job properly is always better than a complex system.

As for benefit, well it is a fully redundant system since you say the wires are 4 mm². Is this "better"?.... if you think it is better then it is.
jio
post Nov 13 2024, 02:45 PM

383 posts

Ring circuit is actually good for when you need a lot of socket outlets in a room ( & won't be adding anymore) but the total load is not high. I would pair 2.5mm² ring with 10ma C25 RCBO with FE as this is the most easily available 10ma RCBO with FE. This is useful for washing machine + dryer & bedroom with socket outlet in bathroom. Ring circuit is actually easier for me to check the continuity/resistance of the wiring. But if you're using Sirim non-JKR cable, you must not use 2.5mm² cable with C32 breaker as most of them actually 14AWG (~80% cross section area & ~90% current capacity of actual 2.5mm²). I don't like circuit spanning multiple area/room. There is no point using 4mm² ring circuit for socket outlets even for kitchen. Just use multiple C20/25 4mm² radial circuit. For 13A plug appliances, they are usually rated for <10A (2-2.4KW) for long continuous operation type or <13A (3KW) for short operation type. Use double socket outlets to distinguish the circuit grouping.

As long as you never thermally overload cable and protect it from the environment, the cable insulation can easily last >30years even for sirim certified non-JKR cable. This is easy to follow for fixed appliance each having it's own circuit even after derating the cable for the ambient temperature (I use 50°C for hot kitchen and roof ceiling). Socket outlet circuit is where people mess up with excessive looping or not know the circuit grouping of the socket outlets. You might have 3 separate C20 2.5mm² circuits, but that won't stop them from overloading 1 of the circuits with powers strip extension. To prevent the cable the from being overloaded, just make sure the MCB overload current (1.45x) didn't exceed the cable current carrying capacity.

Zot
post Nov 13 2024, 04:16 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 13 2024, 02:35 PM)
It makes no sense to me because it increases cost, increases complexity, increases installation work, increases points of failure, increases the chance of being done wrong (see conduit fill, proper torque for terminals, number of wires into a terminal) and is so unnecessary to do with 4 mm² at 32 A. There's also no benefit of increased current carrying capacity, as your MCB is C32 anyway. And you also say that the area is not that large, so no reason to do it for voltage drop in the wires.

I contend that a simpler system that does the job properly is always better than a complex system.

As for benefit, well it is a fully redundant system since you say the wires are 4 mm². Is this "better"?.... if you think it is better then it is.
It is good say when the current in conductor is constantly high for long period. This will lower the wire operating temperature compare to smaller gauge. PVC insulated cable operating at 1x current load at 70C will have service life for 20 years. biggrin.gif
stormer.lyn
post Nov 13 2024, 08:31 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 13 2024, 04:16 PM)
It is good say when the current in conductor is constantly high for long period. This will lower the wire operating temperature compare to smaller gauge. PVC insulated cable operating at 1x current load at 70C will have service life for 20 years.  biggrin.gif
Lasting 20 years?!! rclxub.gif

I have installations from 1990 still going strong till today tongue.gif
Zot
post Nov 18 2024, 03:13 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 13 2024, 08:31 PM)
Lasting 20 years?!!  rclxub.gif

I have installations from 1990 still going strong till today  tongue.gif
As mentioned if the cable/wire is operating hot at 70C. This is based on electrical engineering formulation. I believe it is more on insulation based on Arrhenius equation.
stormer.lyn
post Nov 18 2024, 06:08 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 18 2024, 03:13 PM)
As mentioned if the cable/wire is operating hot at 70C. This is based on electrical engineering formulation. I believe it is more on insulation based on  Arrhenius equation.
Wait, what? Isn't that equation valid for a chemical reaction, while wires and insulation degrade through a physical process ie overheating?
numbertwo
post Nov 22 2024, 05:05 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Nov 10 2024, 10:13 PM)

My own unit:
Lighting 1.5 mm² MCB C10
A/cond 2.5 mm² MCB C16

Thank you again for your suggestion.

#1 Finally managed to get one willing electrician (most don't bother a small job like this, dunno why) who agreed to do this. It was quite a tedious job to replace MCB to RCBO, not as straight-cut as I thought it to be. He had to find the correct neutral and get it hooked up to the RCBO. And he too confirmed the heater wire is 4mm².

#2. He is in the opine that I should keep it the C32. Wire size is acceptable to him - matching the C32 requirement but because I'm not sure the original spec of the induction cooker (one induction, one highlight ceramic) he would recommend me to keep it that way.

#3. Changed to MCB C20.

For all the changes, he took out the wall switch and inspected all the wires in it too just to make sure the wire size is correct.. I guess that's considered a good electrician ? His last recommendation was to change the DB box from plastic to metal type (wouldn't that be dangerous ?) and to split the 3P RCCB from 0.1mA into 2 (0.03mA and 0.1mA).. Will wait for budget then unsure.gif

All good for now.

stormer.lyn
post Nov 22 2024, 05:45 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 22 2024, 05:05 PM)
Thank you again for your suggestion. 

#1 Finally managed to get one willing electrician (most don't bother a small job like this, dunno why) who agreed to do this.  It was quite a tedious job to replace MCB to RCBO, not as straight-cut as I thought it to be.  He had to find the correct neutral and get it hooked up to the RCBO.  And he too confirmed the heater wire is 4mm². 

#2.  He is in the opine that I should keep it the C32.  Wire size is acceptable to him - matching the C32 requirement but because I'm not sure the original spec of the induction cooker (one induction, one highlight ceramic) he would recommend me to keep it that way.

#3.  Changed to MCB C20.

For all the changes, he took out the wall switch and inspected all the wires in it too just to make sure the wire size is correct.. I guess that's considered a good electrician ?  His last recommendation was to change the DB box from plastic to metal type (wouldn't that be dangerous ?)  and to split the 3P RCCB from 0.1mA into 2 (0.03mA and 0.1mA)..  Will wait for budget then  unsure.gif

All good for now.

Glad that there is some positive progress. I guess electricians do not want to do small jobs because of the opportunity cost.
As for finding the neutral wire, you just have to clamp and see which wire that has the same current of the outgoing live when the heater is On. Should only take a few minutes. Don't know why your guy got stuck there.
MaxGuard has 25 A MCB if you ever want to change the 32 A ones. Can order online.
Metal DBs last longer and won't get brittle like plastic ones, but they can rust. I don't think it is any more dangerous if properly earthed. Unfortunately the 0.03 mA RCCB is a requirement from Suruhanjaya Tenaga, so you'll have to make sure to budget for it some time.
Anyway, I'll try to answer if you post any more questions here.

0.1271sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:03 PM