QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM)
Usually human die at 50mA.300mA mean u kena hexa killed (6x killed).
30mA will stop it before major damage occur to your heart.
RCCB for Water Heater
Dec 29 2023, 12:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM) Usually human die at 50mA.300mA mean u kena hexa killed (6x killed). 30mA will stop it before major damage occur to your heart. subaiku and RagingCandy liked this post
Feb 6 2024, 11:06 PM
--
This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 6 2024, 11:07 PM |
May 3 2024, 01:18 PM
258 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 29 2023, 12:48 AM) Usually human die at 50mA. situation, add one washing machine at bathroom. 300mA mean u kena hexa killed (6x killed). 30mA will stop it before major damage occur to your heart. 1, share water heater rccb 25a 10ma connection to the new washing machine, can? or 2, individual new mcb 16a + new rccb 25a 10ma? |
May 3 2024, 08:52 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Apr 2014 From: Shah Alam, Selangor |
QUOTE(nbi @ May 3 2024, 01:18 PM) situation, add one washing machine at bathroom. No 2 better, but you could use an RCBO and just replace the current MCB being used1, share water heater rccb 25a 10ma connection to the new washing machine, can? or 2, individual new mcb 16a + new rccb 25a 10ma? No 1 I think can, because it doesn't say that 1 RCCB for 1 water heater, just that wet area be protected by 10mA RCCB. But better wait for more knowledgeable people to chime in. I personally would do No 2. |
May 3 2024, 11:17 PM
383 posts Joined: May 2005 |
If the water heater is on MCB C16 & washing machine is on C10, then it is kinda safe but not recommend if you want to upgrade to higher power water heater or dryer. And electrician tend to shortcut loop from 1 socket to another without checking. You will still need a new cables from DB to the socket outlet if it doesn't exist in the first place.
You can have 40A 10ma RCCB such as Hager CCA540D support 2xC20 circuits if that what you prefer but it will cost about 2x Hager 16A/25A 10ma RCCB. Maxguard 25A 10ma RCCB is under 60 & 16A 10ma RCBO is under 65. This post has been edited by jio: May 3 2024, 11:21 PM |
May 4 2024, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(nbi @ May 3 2024, 01:18 PM) situation, add one washing machine at bathroom. I prefer option 2. I don't prefer to share because the WH itself consume a big chunk of amperage by itself.1, share water heater rccb 25a 10ma connection to the new washing machine, can? or 2, individual new mcb 16a + new rccb 25a 10ma? |
May 13 2024, 09:34 AM
2,538 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
At my parent's old house, there's no dedicated circuit for the WH with 10mA RCCD at the DB. I'm thinking to install a RCCD at the incoming power cable inside the bathroom itself (at high level above the WH) then only connect the WH cable to the RCCB. I guess this will serve the same function for protection right?
Thanks |
May 13 2024, 09:38 AM
2,538 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
May 13 2024, 09:01 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Apr 2014 From: Shah Alam, Selangor |
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ May 13 2024, 09:34 AM) At my parent's old house, there's no dedicated circuit for the WH with 10mA RCCD at the DB. I'm thinking to install a RCCD at the incoming power cable inside the bathroom itself (at high level above the WH) then only connect the WH cable to the RCCB. I guess this will serve the same function for protection right? Yes can.Thanks You could also mount it near the water heater switch. There are small casings that fit only an RCCB ![]() lj0000 liked this post
Jun 7 2024, 06:55 PM
171 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Hey all, my house is 27 years old 3 phase and equipped with two 300mA RCCBs.
Can I replace them both with F204 A-63/0.03? Will I experience nuisance trips on the main DB since theres so many load? There is no extra 10mA RCCB for the solar water heater with electric backup. Do I need one? The pipes in the wall seem to be made of PPR material. DIY replaced MCB few months ago. Picture of my db: This post has been edited by DroppedJaw: Jun 7 2024, 06:57 PM |
Jun 7 2024, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(DroppedJaw @ Jun 7 2024, 06:55 PM) Hey all, my house is 27 years old 3 phase and equipped with two 300mA RCCBs. Check the existing condition during normal peak usage using leakage clamp meter. If the standing leakage current is below 30% of the new RCCB, then you can proceed. Above 50% I don't recommend as the RCCB will trip at 80% or even as low as 70% of the RCCB rating. Use leakage clamp meter with 40mm or slightly larger jaw as you have to clamp 3 phase + neutral. You can get Multi M-140 for MYR320.Can I replace them both with F204 A-63/0.03? Will I experience nuisance trips on the main DB since theres so many load? DroppedJaw liked this post
Jun 12 2024, 07:02 PM
445 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hey guys, can anybody recommend a good electrician in Penang? Looking to replace the db box at my parents place. It’s a mess!
Jul 15 2024, 12:03 AM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
my house water heater from developer direct from MCCB C20 is this safe? the one i added one i using C16 MCB and RCCB 16A 10mA (RCCB is near the switch) and i just notice that my C16 MCB install at 63a 100mA power at DB ... this is dangerous right? another power line is 63a 30mA , should put the C16 here correct? as the developer C20 is here
This post has been edited by 13aby: Jul 15 2024, 10:56 PM |
Jul 18 2024, 10:19 PM
10 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Jul 19 2024, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 18 2024, 10:19 PM) Hi guys just recently upgrade DB box. All aircon and water heater seperate MCB and RCBO. Any comment on these set up? WTF are you using isolator as main switch? Use 2P MCB please. In the past long ago isolator switch was used as main switch but it is always with fuse (integrated or separate). It is long replaced with MCB, fuse holder etc. Do not use main switch without overcurrent protection.C6-Lighting C20- Aircon x6, dryer x1 C32-socket RCBO for 3 heater ![]() ![]() |
Jul 19 2024, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(jio @ Jul 19 2024, 12:02 AM) WTF are you using isolator as main switch? Use 2P MCB please. In the past long ago isolator switch was used as main switch but it is always with fuse (integrated or separate). It is long replaced with MCB, fuse holder etc. Do not use main switch without overcurrent protection. The isolator is the one next to RCCB right. So we cant use the 2pole isolator? Replace with the MCB C63 2 pole? This isolator quite exp haha but may i know whats the difference? |
Jul 19 2024, 02:22 PM
189 posts Joined: Feb 2021 |
Means we use 2 way MCB box cover with RCCB instead of the normal 20A switch for water heater before enter toilet?
Jul 19 2024, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 19 2024, 11:45 AM) The isolator is the one next to RCCB right. So we cant use the 2pole isolator? Replace with the MCB C63 2 pole? This isolator quite exp haha but may i know whats the difference? You need the overcurrent protection which the isolator switch lack. I recommend 2P MCB instead of fuse as I've seen fuse being temporarily bypassed during emergency (burnt fuse but no replacement fuse available) which supposed to be replaced but totally forgotten/ignored by the owner.For your case you can either 1. Replace it with 2P MCB or switchfuse or 2. Add fuseholder (technically you can substitute this with 1P MCB but you will as well replace the isolator with 2P MCB). Edit: The incoming seems to be connected to the RCCB. Is this sub-DB instead of the main DB? This post has been edited by jio: Jul 19 2024, 10:50 PM |
Jul 19 2024, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(jio @ Jul 19 2024, 10:25 PM) You need the overcurrent protection which the isolator switch lack. I recommend 2P MCB instead of fuse as I've seen fuse being temporarily bypassed during emergency (burnt fuse but no replacement fuse available) which supposed to be replaced but totally forgotten/ignored by the owner. Appreciate ur replies. Which mean 2P MCB is more safer than the isolator. got it.For your case you can either 1. Replace it with 2P MCB or switchfuse or 2. Add fuseholder (technically you can substitute this with 1P MCB but you will as well replace the isolator with 2P MCB). Edit: The incoming seems to be connected to the RCCB. Is this sub-DB instead of the main DB? This is the main db. The only DB also. It should be connected to the RCCB right? |
Jul 23 2024, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(Lighters @ Jul 19 2024, 11:33 PM) Appreciate ur replies. Which mean 2P MCB is more safer than the isolator. got it. Isolator don't have overcurrent protection, but you can just add in another 63A 2P MCB after it. Followed by the RCCB.This is the main db. The only DB also. It should be connected to the RCCB right? |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:11 PM |