QUOTE(attw @ Apr 13 2020, 08:46 PM)
So far so good bro, only my third full day with it so far. Will post my first impressions here in a day or two 
Nice. But is Mediatek good for gaming haha.My Realme X50 pro hope can get it this week
Realme Realme 6/6 Pro/6i Discussion Thread, Midrange Phone with 90Hz Display
Apr 14 2020, 01:31 AM
1,927 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Apr 14 2020, 08:05 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Apr 14 2020, 12:48 AM) Well, firstly, it is MCO, so the achievement is somewhat artificial because it's 100% on WiFi, which we know is less power consuming compared to LTE. I don't play games (unless you factor in those Lazada games, haha) so it was mostly browsing, ordering food delivery, social media and messaging. Oh and there was an half-an-hour video call on WhatsApp.QUOTE(badboy77 @ Apr 14 2020, 01:31 AM) I don't play games bro, but some reviews shared that while it does handle games alright, it tends to heat up pretty fast too. |
Apr 14 2020, 08:33 AM
48,543 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
First time I see good reviews from Mediatek based phone..
Keep updating boss @attw 🙏 |
Apr 14 2020, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 14 2020, 08:33 AM) Good and bad, bro. But it's definitely much improved from the Mediatek of old. So far I have no lagging issues and the GPS locks faster than my SD855 S10 Lite and my wife's iPhone 11 Pro Max. Luar biasa... |
Apr 14 2020, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 11:40 AM) Good and bad, bro. But it's definitely much improved from the Mediatek of old. So far I have no lagging issues and the GPS locks faster than my SD855 S10 Lite and my wife's iPhone 11 Pro Max. Luar biasa... That why I'm quite surprise...MTK really improve from previously.... Must be feeling the competition heat from others.... Pressured to improve.. Now others also needs to fight back with even better.... |
Apr 14 2020, 03:55 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,027 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Okay, PSA for every Realme 6 user.
If you're like me and put your phone on 90Hz all day, you'll be shocked to see why you feel your phone slows down when you hit 20%. It's because the phone automatically turns on Power Saving Mode, and a function of power saving mode is setting the screen to 60Hz. (Thus, making the phone feel slower) And after you charge it to 100%, it doesn't turn off Power Saving Mode, instead it continues to set the phone at 60Hz. And I had to manually turn back on the 90Hz. So, to prevent your phone slowing down, I suggest going to Settings and set the Power Saving Mode to turn on at 5%, and to turn off when the phone is charged until 60%. Do note that this is not thermal throttling, just that default settings emphasize more on battery life than performance. |
Apr 14 2020, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Apr 14 2020, 03:55 PM) Okay, PSA for every Realme 6 user. There is a prompt at 20% to choose if you'd like to enable Power Saving, can just choose "No" right? It won't be enabled after that, or will it still do so automatically?If you're like me and put your phone on 90Hz all day, you'll be shocked to see why you feel your phone slows down when you hit 20%. It's because the phone automatically turns on Power Saving Mode, and a function of power saving mode is setting the screen to 60Hz. (Thus, making the phone feel slower) And after you charge it to 100%, it doesn't turn off Power Saving Mode, instead it continues to set the phone at 60Hz. And I had to manually turn back on the 90Hz. So, to prevent your phone slowing down, I suggest going to Settings and set the Power Saving Mode to turn on at 5%, and to turn off when the phone is charged until 60%. Do note that this is not thermal throttling, just that default settings emphasize more on battery life than performance. |
Apr 14 2020, 04:30 PM
Power Saving Mode not at 10% meh?
I thought it's standard for phone.... why Realme 6 is 20%.. higher than normal... |
Apr 14 2020, 06:11 PM
Apr 14 2020, 06:12 PM
Apr 14 2020, 06:25 PM
Apr 14 2020, 06:26 PM
Apr 14 2020, 06:35 PM
GSMArena has dropped their Realme 6 Pro video review
Apr 14 2020, 07:53 PM
Apr 14 2020, 07:59 PM
1,412 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 13 2020, 08:46 PM) So far so good bro, only my third full day with it so far. Will post my first impressions here in a day or two Nice.. I see your battery stats is super impressive for a 90hz screen phone. With 30W charger, can top up super fast too. Hope your review can cover the following:- - Night mode photography - Color OS, bloatwares. - Charging time. Can't wait for your review. |
Apr 14 2020, 08:15 PM
2,702 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: P8X-86A |
Apr 14 2020, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(GTA5 @ Apr 14 2020, 07:59 PM) Nice.. Ya bro, that surprised me too, since I was running it on 90hz full time and it’s just a 4300mAh battery. The Mediatek processor seems to be very efficient during standby. Just 1% battery drain over 8 hours at night with all settings left on (but with Do Not Disturb activated). I’ll try to take some night shots tomorrow but so far the camera gets the job done, but is by no means spectacular. As for charging, I’m currently not using the 30W charger it comes with, so theoretically I can’t measure how fast it charges, but probably ASoulNamedLeo can comment on that. I slow charge all my phones using a 3rd party 12W adapter and an auto-disconnect cable.I see your battery stats is super impressive for a 90hz screen phone. With 30W charger, can top up super fast too. Hope your review can cover the following:- - Night mode photography - Color OS, bloatwares. - Charging time. Can't wait for your review. QUOTE(nightzstar @ Apr 14 2020, 08:15 PM) I don’t game bro, so I haven’t experience any stutters. So far all is smooth - 90hz all the way and no hiccups so far.Will post my initial impressions tomorrow, after 3 full days of use now. |
Apr 14 2020, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 08:30 PM) Ya bro, that surprised me too, since I was running it on 90hz full time and it’s just a 4300mAh battery. The Mediatek processor seems to be very efficient during standby. Just 1% battery drain over 8 hours at night with all settings left on (but with Do Not Disturb activated). I’ll try to take some night shots tomorrow but so far the camera gets the job done, but is by no means spectacular. As for charging, I’m currently not using the 30W charger it comes with, so theoretically I can’t measure how fast it charges, but probably ASoulNamedLeo can comment on that. I slow charge all my phones using a 3rd party 12W adapter and an auto-disconnect cable. GTA5 , since attw uses a 3rd party 12W charger while I am using the 30W charger out of the box, I am going to give the review of the fast charging.I don’t game bro, so I haven’t experience any stutters. So far all is smooth - 90hz all the way and no hiccups so far. Will post my initial impressions tomorrow, after 3 full days of use now. For starters, the charging time will be faster, going from 0% to 60% in half an hour, and reaching 97% another half hour later. Is this life-changing? Yup, I used to top up my old phone every night before sleep. But with the Realme 6, I top it up in the the morning while I go into my morning shower. Is the life-changing for good or for worse? I don't know, but having that reassurance of me charging my phone for 30 minutes and using it for the whole day calms me down. My verdict on charging: Even if you don't use the 30W charger in the box, the battery will already last you a day, but having that charger is icing on the cake. Plus with more manufacturers adopting fast charging, the Realme 6 becomes more futureproof as it can support up to 30W, compared to the Redmi Note 9S 18W and Samsung Galaxy M31 15W. |
Apr 14 2020, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Apr 14 2020, 10:26 PM) GTA5 , since attw uses a 3rd party 12W charger while I am using the 30W charger out of the box, I am going to give the review of the fast charging. Meanwhile my 12W slow charger went from 5% to 100% in just under....For starters, the charging time will be faster, going from 0% to 60% in half an hour, and reaching 97% another half hour later. Is this life-changing? Yup, I used to top up my old phone every night before sleep. But with the Realme 6, I top it up in the the morning while I go into my morning shower. Is the life-changing for good or for worse? I don't know, but having that reassurance of me charging my phone for 30 minutes and using it for the whole day calms me down. My verdict on charging: Even if you don't use the 30W charger in the box, the battery will already last you a day, but having that charger is icing on the cake. Plus with more manufacturers adopting fast charging, the Realme 6 becomes more futureproof as it can support up to 30W, compared to the Redmi Note 9S 18W and Samsung Galaxy M31 15W. ...3 hours |
Apr 14 2020, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 11:08 PM) Don't worry, wait until 30W becomes the norm, then you'll experience magnetic 30W experience. 😄But I do suggest trying out the in box 30W charger for maybe a day. This post has been edited by ASoulNamedLeo: Apr 14 2020, 11:33 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:43 AM |