Realme Realme 6/6 Pro/6i Discussion Thread, Midrange Phone with 90Hz Display

ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 5 2020, 11:03 PM

1,027 posts

Bought the Realme 6 during the Lazada Flash Sale. Can confirm that Malaysian version has Band 7.
So all telco is supported with Realme 6.

Owning the phone for 10 days, my thoughts are
The Best: The Photography
After getting the latest update, the photography is the best in class. The night mode even rivals that of the Mi 9T, even the Samsung Galaxy Note 10 and easily beats the Redmi Note 9S out of the water.
As for daylight shots, it is not overly exposed and highly saturated(Finally, realme listens to its customers). But if you still want those highly saturated shots for Instagram, you can turn on Chroma Boost to spice up the photo.
TLDR: Best photos for under RM1000

Pros:
Feels light in hand despite the battery
The charging surprised me(100% in an hour)
Got me through a day with 25%-35% at the end of the day
90Hz display
Playing Brawl Stars and Minecraft PE is a blast on this phone

Cons:
The volume buttons is on the left
No NFC, IR blaster
Shooting videos are unstable compared to the Redmi Note 9S and Galaxy M31.

Verdict: If you want a gaming and camera phone(for photos only) for under RM1000, this is the phone for you.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 5 2020, 11:05 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(NooBiE888 @ Apr 5 2020, 10:41 PM)
Really need to confirm this band 7 kao2.

I seriously interested to the realme 6 pro
Which is why , avoid the G90T.

YouTube battery test also a lot of difference between realme 6 and realme 6 pro.
The Malaysia Realme 6 supports Band 1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41

Which could be why the Realme 6 only comes in 4GB + 128GB in Malaysia
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 5 2020, 11:07 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 4 2020, 10:38 AM)
Just ordered one out of boredom during the MCO... Anyone else already has one and care to share a little? smile.gif
Just wrote my review if you want a read.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 5 2020, 11:09 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(NooBiE888 @ Apr 5 2020, 08:55 AM)
Can anyone confirm this ?

Cause I have GX38 as 2nd sim for data only.

If it's true then I will skip this realme 6 T_T
Confirmed have Band 7
Phones comes with Triple Slot(2 Nano, 1 Dedicated MicroSD slot)
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 6 2020, 12:03 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 5 2020, 11:32 PM)
Thanks bro, I read it. Can’t wait to receive mine.

How’s the battery life while idle? Any peculiar standby battery drain?
Luckily for you, with the fast charging, I did the unimaginable.
I left my phone uncharged overnight for the first time since 2010. After I had slept 8 hours, the phone's battery drained from 30% to 26%. I kept using it for YouTube until I had finished my breakfast(about 15%), and kept it charging while I was showering. By the time I had showered, the phone was at 77%, surprising to say the most.

Edit: Difference of battery drain between 60Hz and 90Hz is not significant. I tried using 60Hz one day and 90Hz for the other, I ended the day with 35% on the 60Hz and 34% on the 90Hz.
Upon unboxing the phone, the phone presets to 60Hz, so I suggest to switch it to 90Hz, you will notice the difference in responsiveness when swiping through Instagram, WhatsApp and Chrome.

This post has been edited by ASoulNamedLeo: Apr 6 2020, 12:17 AM
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 6 2020, 06:59 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Apr 6 2020, 11:54 AM)
Sorry, I don't get the relationship between the supported band and  RAM+ROM of a phone model. Was it predetermined by the manufacturer during the launching?
I mean, as to why there's only one storage option 4GB RAM in Malaysia for the Realme 6. Because the Indian versions have 6GB and 8GB RAM options but no Band 7 support.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 7 2020, 11:12 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(NF2M @ Apr 7 2020, 02:52 PM)
Thank you for tagging him to the conversation. Hope he could share some insight.
1. Does it have stutter problems? Yes.
2. How frequent are the stutters? I would say 3 times a week. But the stutter do sour the 90Hz experience a bit. Because when I'm blazing through my feed, the stutter feels like I'm going back to 60Hz.
3. Does it overheat? Surprisingly the processor doesn't overheat during gaming, it overheats when I video call for 2 hours with my colleague or taking slo-mo videos and full 64MP photos with the camera.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 8 2020, 11:14 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ Apr 8 2020, 02:50 AM)
Same goes with SAMSUNG Exynos.
Yup, but for now MediaTek has upped their game with their G series processors. Can't say the same for Samsung's Exynos.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 9 2020, 06:00 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 7 2020, 12:39 PM)
Ya bro, the reason I bought the Realme 6 was to try : -

1. The Mediatek Processor (I've never owned a phone with Mediatek before)
2. Realme UI (My last Realme 5 was running ColorOS)
3. The 90hz Display

Otherwise, I'd probably try the RN9S for RM 699 smile.gif
Yup. Defeats the purpose of having a new toy to play with during the MCO period. laugh.gif
Bro, you got your Realme 6 yet?
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 14 2020, 03:55 PM

1,027 posts

Okay, PSA for every Realme 6 user.

If you're like me and put your phone on 90Hz all day, you'll be shocked to see why you feel your phone slows down when you hit 20%.

It's because the phone automatically turns on Power Saving Mode, and a function of power saving mode is setting the screen to 60Hz. (Thus, making the phone feel slower)

And after you charge it to 100%, it doesn't turn off Power Saving Mode, instead it continues to set the phone at 60Hz.
And I had to manually turn back on the 90Hz.

So, to prevent your phone slowing down, I suggest going to Settings and set the Power Saving Mode to turn on at 5%, and to turn off when the phone is charged until 60%. Do note that this is not thermal throttling, just that default settings emphasize more on battery life than performance.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 14 2020, 06:11 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 04:26 PM)
There is a prompt at 20% to choose if you'd like to enable Power Saving, can just choose "No" right? It won't be enabled after that, or will it still do so automatically?
It would do so automatically at 10% and prompts you to do so at 20%
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 14 2020, 06:12 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 14 2020, 04:30 PM)
Power Saving Mode not at 10% meh?
I thought it's standard for phone....

why Realme 6 is 20%.. higher than normal...
It prompts you at 20% but does so automatically for you at 10%.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 14 2020, 10:26 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 08:30 PM)
Ya bro, that surprised me too, since I was running it on 90hz full time and it’s just a 4300mAh battery. The Mediatek processor seems to be very efficient during standby. Just 1% battery drain over 8 hours at night with all settings left on (but with Do Not Disturb activated). I’ll try to take some night shots tomorrow but so far the camera gets the job done, but is by no means spectacular. As for charging, I’m currently not using the 30W charger it comes with, so theoretically I can’t measure how fast it charges, but probably ASoulNamedLeo can comment on that. I slow charge all my phones using a 3rd party 12W adapter and an auto-disconnect cable.
I don’t game bro, so I haven’t experience any stutters. So far all is smooth - 90hz all the way and no hiccups so far.

Will post my initial impressions tomorrow, after 3 full days of use now.
GTA5 , since attw uses a 3rd party 12W charger while I am using the 30W charger out of the box, I am going to give the review of the fast charging.

For starters, the charging time will be faster, going from 0% to 60% in half an hour, and reaching 97% another half hour later.

Is this life-changing? Yup, I used to top up my old phone every night before sleep. But with the Realme 6, I top it up in the the morning while I go into my morning shower.

Is the life-changing for good or for worse? I don't know, but having that reassurance of me charging my phone for 30 minutes and using it for the whole day calms me down.

My verdict on charging: Even if you don't use the 30W charger in the box, the battery will already last you a day, but having that charger is icing on the cake. Plus with more manufacturers adopting fast charging, the Realme 6 becomes more futureproof as it can support up to 30W, compared to the Redmi Note 9S 18W and Samsung Galaxy M31 15W.

ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 14 2020, 11:30 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 14 2020, 11:08 PM)
Meanwhile my 12W slow charger went from 5% to 100% in just under....

...3 hours laugh.gif
Don't worry, wait until 30W becomes the norm, then you'll experience magnetic 30W experience. 😄

But I do suggest trying out the in box 30W charger for maybe a day.

This post has been edited by ASoulNamedLeo: Apr 14 2020, 11:33 PM
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 16 2020, 06:54 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ Apr 16 2020, 05:31 PM)
So they're cheating by enabling "Performance Mode" in benchmarks, no wonder I got an update yesterday from Realme adding a new feature called High Performance Mode, guess MediaTek is going the Kirin route but instead of Huawei calling it GPU Turbo, MediaTek is now calling it High Performance Mode. Also heard Xiaomi users getting the High Performance Mode too, wonder if High Performance Mode affects battery life?

ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 16 2020, 09:47 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 16 2020, 09:31 PM)
Realme 6i

The 3GB/64GB variant will go for RM599 on 23/04.

The Realme 6 at RM799 still a better buy smile.gif
Of course, and the G80 is slightly better than the G70 while significantly worse than the G90T. The only thing that the Realme 6i wins is probably battery life, but since it compromises the 90Hz, the 30W fast charging, the camera and the performance. The Realme 6 is obviously the better buy.
ASoulNamedLeo
post Apr 21 2020, 01:50 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Apr 21 2020, 11:32 AM)
Ye, I'm aware of the 3rd party apps and will only use it as the last resort as i had some not so good experience even with the paid version. So I'm more interested to know if they (Realme) have that feature built-in like Huawei, Samsung and the like. In the case of Xiaomi, they do have that feature built-in but it only works with their own browser, not with others. My focus is on taking long screenshot while using browser. Anyway, thanks for inviting azhar75 into this conversation. Looking forward for his comment.
Hi, am also a Realme 6 user!
Realme UI has it built in for every app(including Chrome)
They also included a swipe gesture(3 fingers swipe down from your screen)

This post has been edited by ASoulNamedLeo: Apr 21 2020, 01:51 PM

0.0757sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:40 AM