Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

tohff7
post Mar 8 2023, 11:32 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Watta?? @ Mar 8 2023, 10:20 AM)
hi guys, was just looking at flights to Hokkaido in May, noticed that air asia has no flights in may.. anyone know why is this?
Direct KL-Sapporo is still not being re-introduced back by AirAsia.

What AirAsia offers now is KL-Bangkok-Sapporo
tohff7
post Mar 23 2023, 03:57 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 23 2023, 11:46 AM)
Usually, are the buses plying the Kanazawa-Shirakawa-go-Takayama route punctual or will it get long delayed to due traffic jam?
the bus can be quite empty also haha
tohff7
post Mar 31 2023, 12:00 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 31 2023, 11:14 AM)
Thanks bro
People posted on Google maps that Lawson next to Dentetsu Toyama has closed down late last year
All good, the hotel recommended convenience stores around, should be able to get something, else need to tapao roti the night before
Pray for good weather haha

2018 opening day was hit by strong wind/typhoon, so it got cancelled dry.gif Buses cannot go up to the peak
tohff7
post Sep 20 2023, 10:34 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Sep 20 2023, 12:45 PM)
Thanks will look into all the pass
But for JR i dont think is worth it? coz i will only take 1 time shinkansen from Osaka to Tokyo?
For JR pass worth it, and with the price increase? Coz my plan only Osaka > Kyoto > Nara > Tokyo.
I think will only take 1 Shinkansen from Osaka to Tokyo. And till now i still dont know how to tell which is JR train or other train loool
1 way ticket is for Osaka to Tokyo is RM500? but JF pass is RM 1000?

Ya plan to go Nara like early in the morning from Osaka maybe around 7/8am and spend half the day
Plan to walk around the park to see Deer and maybe go Higashimuki Shopping St and the famous mochi shop
And plan to go back Osaka maybe after lunch 1/2pm and take Shinkansen around 3pm to Tokyo and reach maybe around 6pm?
Do you think this is doable/viable? any advice is appreciated
Not worth using JR pass. Even before the price increase, if you travelling one-way shinkansen from Osaka to Tokyo (for departure flight), you don't need JR pass

JR (is just like our KTM) and they build major railways connecting cities across the whole country. Beyond that, they also build a few rails in big cities (Osaka Loop Line, Tokyo Yamonate Line, Kansai/Narita airport express, etc.)

Then you have several private railways operators (Keisei, Odakyu, etc.) that specialise in certain routes

and lastly, each major cities have their own subway line (our LRT/MRT)
tohff7
post Sep 21 2023, 12:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 21 2023, 11:40 AM)
definitely i haven't bought anything yet.

I'm also curious we can buy shinkansen tickets from Malaysia?  hmm.gif  Which website?

I always buy it only when i'm there.

so, 20 minutes not enough?  sad.gif I always carry two luggages for skiing stuff

yes, not just Shinkansen, even those limited express also can.

They will send u an email with QR code and pickup code for you to print the ticket at their ticket vending machine
tohff7
post Oct 9 2023, 12:17 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 9 2023, 11:18 AM)
What's the best data sum card for 15 days travel? Can we buy locally. Thanks
Just get roaming pass from your telco provider.

Not much price difference nowadays
tohff7
post Oct 16 2023, 11:45 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2023, 10:59 AM)
Welcome Suica card is better or add IC card into Apple Wallet? Can physical Suica cards reload with credit cards at the machine? I read from a FB group saying sometimes these IC cards on Apple Wallet take a bit time to clear the transaction after pass by JR stations and could be an issue in the next usage. Not sure if it is true or not.

Can anyone share the experience?

What's the pros and cons of using physical card vs IC card Apple Wallet?
No issue using Suica on my iPhone 15 Pro trains and bus. You even get notifications after u tap to show that “current journey in progress”

Not too sure about reloading physical Suica with CC. Most recharge/ticket machine I see so far only accept cash for recharge (maybe to avoid fraud?), even though they can accept CC to pay for discount passes etc.

Even the welcome Suica vending machine also doesn’t accept CC? I read it was possible but then tried and failed. So i just use cash since I don’t want hold up the queue

tohff7
post Oct 16 2023, 11:59 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2023, 11:50 AM)
Thanks for sharing the experience! Good to know there is such a notification. Have you tried on any JR stations before?
I would prefer the IC card on my Apple Wallet to be honest, I lost my IC physical card before in Tokyo. laugh.gif Also, the convenience of reloading the card directly from my Apple Pay.
First time i use it was for JR Chuo Line (Shinjuku-Kanda station). No problem with lag or anything

Just that foreign visa card cannot use reload Apple Wallet Suica, so I have to use my Amex
tohff7
post Oct 16 2023, 12:18 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

To add - Actually I somehow managed to get 2 blank PASMO card in Shibuya station.

I was browsing Tokyu ticket vending machine to buy the Tokyu Minatomirai 1-day pass. After finding hard, I found it under Freepass->IC (not Magnetic Ticket). So, the 1-day pass was issued in a PASMO card, and you can topup and use it normally also.
tohff7
post Oct 18 2023, 01:57 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Oct 18 2023, 01:43 PM)
yeah estimate it will be cooling and if got wind it can get colder so need to prepare coat or jacket

big difference as in when its dark it became quite cold?

how about hand gloves?
Just wear layers that u can take off when going indoor etc.

The weather can be chilly nice, but if the wind blow strongly also can make you feel very cold. So when checking weather forecast, also check the wind condition

As for gloves, really depends on yourself. Tucking into the jacket/coat is good enough. Only issue if you need to take a lot of photos/videos, so your hands are out for a long time
tohff7
post Oct 20 2023, 10:58 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 19 2023, 01:58 PM)
anyone has itinerary around Fukuoka and nearby places for around 8days?
Fukuoka/Hakata
Nagasaki
Hui Ten Bosch
Yufuin
Beppu
Kumamoto

tohff7
post Oct 25 2023, 03:43 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Rol_98 @ Oct 24 2023, 11:22 AM)
Has anyone here used GOGO Roaming Japan Sim Card? How's the performance of the data in Kansai area? Is it the data is unlimited for the whole day?
there is no true 'unlimited' data roaming. Most roaming plans/SIMcard/pocket wifi give u 1-3GB/day data usage, then will throttle your speed
tohff7
post Oct 31 2023, 04:46 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 31 2023, 01:43 PM)
JR Pass probably no, not gonna fully utilize it though our hotel is accessible with JR lines. Moreover, JR pass has increased price tremendously.

I think this should be OK https://www.klook.com/activity/1410-skyline...ckId=10098ae998
I think NEX sold on Klook only to Shinjuku.
If you take NEX, you probably stop at Tokyo Station to exchange to JR Yamanote Line? Not sure how easy to change platform and how busy Tokyo station will be on a Saturday.

Keisei Skyliner stopping at Nippori station should be less busy.

During my trip, my flight also arrived Narita in the evening. I just took NEX straight to Shinjuku. Not much queue to buy tickets from ticket vending machine.

Only place with queue is the "Welcome Suica" vending machine near the gate entering NEX
tohff7
post Nov 2 2023, 02:33 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Nov 1 2023, 09:26 PM)
2 question before travel to Japan

Need to buy adapter for japan socket? the 2 pin ones

and buy sim card for japan thru shopee cheaper or buying it there?
just get roaming from your telco. quite standard price now

rm58 - unlimited 7-day (softcap 2GB/day)
rm98 - unlimited 30-day (softcap 2GB/day)
tohff7
post Nov 6 2023, 01:15 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(kienhuia @ Nov 6 2023, 01:04 PM)
any suggestion what to buy as souvenir ?
Tokyo banana - read it is avail at ISetan ... any other suggestion ?

also any particular store to buy cosmetic ?
Tokyo Banana everywhere also can buy. even at airport duty-free

other typical souvenir
- Calbee Hokkaido Potato Stick
- Kyoto Veneto Gracha
tohff7
post Mar 31 2024, 10:03 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Mar 31 2024, 09:39 AM)
Hi All,

Ticket purchased to Hokkaido on 12 - 21 Nov 2024
ANA KL - Narita - CTS (8am - 7.40pm)

CTS - Haneda - KL (8.30pm - 6.45am +1day)
This is my 1st time to Hokkaido.
Seeking your help here/input/suggestions on the route of 9 Nights in Hokkaido.

The date mentioned its end of Autumn / entering Winter not sure I should plan according to which season kinda lost here.
been thinking to do;

I would like to get 2 Night of Ryokan Onsen with my wife any suggestions please?
thanks in advance,
regards,
KT
Lake Toya - Lake Suite Ko No Sumika

https://www.konosumika.com/en/
tohff7
post Apr 22 2024, 02:39 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

going to Kurobe Alpine Route in mid May.

anybody got any snow/winter shoes to recommend? maybe thinking of walking around up in the snow wall, and worried that it might be slippery if I bring my normal shoes.
tohff7
post Apr 22 2024, 04:46 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(carloschak @ Apr 22 2024, 02:54 PM)
Hey guys ! heading to Tokyo first time with my partner mid-Sept, doing alpine route, takayama and kawaguchiko so here's the itinerary based on all of your inputs here (appreciate it!), would love to get some comments or any other recommendations !

Day 1 Fri - KUL - HND - stay in HND
Day 2 Sat - Tokyo - within Tokyo
Day 3 Sun - Day trip to Kawaguchiko, back to tokyo for night bus to Ogizawa from Shinjuku (Keio Dentetsu) for early alpine route next day
Day 4 Mon - Half day for alpine route, then bus from Toyama to Kanazawa, stay in Kanazawa
Day 5 Tues - Shirakawago after breakfast then head to Takayama after that by bus (Nohi), stay in Takayama
Day 6 Wed - Takayama to Kamikochi (Nohi), stay in Hirayu/Shin-hotaka ryokan
Day 7 Thurs - After breakfast head to Matsumoto (Bus) chill there half day before heading back to Tokyo (Azusa without pass)
Day 8,9,10 - Chill within Tokyo , night flight back to KUL from HND

Will be doing almost all of travel through bus except from Matsumoto to Tokyo since Hokuriku Arch not paying off.

A few queries :

1. Day 4-7 - is it a little too rush for the Chubu region ? feel like adding one more day around Takayama area, actually Matsumoto also wasn't in our plan because just need to take train back to Tokyo ? or is there any other town that you guys recommend to visit ?

2. Day 2&3 - should i do a 2D1N in kawaguchiko + maybe another town closer to it instead of tokyo, now allocated tokyo for 4 days (first timer for both of us)
Not sure if you already have plans, but you might also need to do some planning on your luggage. Although you mostly take buses, taking smaller luggage to Alpine Route and/or planning how to ship your luggage to your next hotel will help a lot.

For e.g., you can book the same hotel in Tokyo, then just pack enough clothes/item for travel to Alpine Route, Takayama etc, and ask the hotel keeps your remaining luggage
tohff7
post Apr 24 2024, 05:10 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Apr 24 2024, 11:27 AM)
They increased it today  bruce.gif
Just because they launched a campaign starting today, they jacked up the prices from 10k to 12k in total. (4 pax)
got this cheap meh? 3k return for KUL-CTS on ANA?
tohff7
post May 12 2024, 11:45 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ May 12 2024, 10:28 AM)
When is a good time to visit Japan where the country is not infested with tourists and weather is good?
depends where you want to go.

I think the main cities (Osaka, Kyoto, Tokyo) areas are 'infested' with tourists all year round no matter where you go.

0.0915sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:52 PM