4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

tzxsean
post Dec 27 2022, 10:28 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

for first time travel to Japan (potentially solo) during the month of May or July (long weekend / holiday), is it better to go Hokkaido or Tokyo?

Need some suggestions before I plan my itinerary.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Dec 27 2022, 10:33 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 8 2023, 10:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

Just playing around with ChatGPT.

How is the itinerary suggestion below for 1st timer (solo) to Tokyo around December?

Day 1: Arrival and Shinjuku
Arrive at Tokyo's Narita or Haneda airport and take the train or bus to your hotel in Shinjuku.
Spend the afternoon exploring Shinjuku, a bustling commercial and entertainment district with many shopping, dining, and nightlife options. Don't miss a visit to the observation deck of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building for stunning views of the city.

Day 2: Asakusa and Ueno
Start the day by visiting Asakusa, home to the famous Sensoji Temple and Nakamise shopping street.
After lunch, head to Ueno, a cultural and historical district that houses many museums, including the Tokyo National Museum and the National Museum of Western Art.
End the day with a walk through Ueno Park, which is especially beautiful during cherry blossom season in the spring.

Day 3: Shibuya and Harajuku
Start the day in Shibuya, a trendy district known for its fashion, entertainment, and nightlife. Don't miss the famous Shibuya Crossing and Hachiko statue.
After lunch, head to Harajuku, a youthful and eclectic neighborhood with many unique fashion boutiques and cafes.
End the day with a visit to Meiji Shrine, a beautiful Shinto shrine set in a serene forest.

Day 4: Tokyo Tower and Roppongi
Start the day with a visit to Tokyo Tower, a famous landmark that offers stunning views of the city.
After lunch, head to Roppongi, a district known for its nightlife, art museums, and international cuisine. Don't miss a visit to the Mori Art Museum for stunning contemporary art exhibits.
End the day with a visit to the nearby Roppongi Hills observation deck for another great view of the city.

Day 5: Tsukiji Market and Ginza
Start the day early with a visit to Tsukiji Market, the largest fish market in the world.
After breakfast at one of the market's many sushi restaurants, head to Ginza, a luxury shopping district with many high-end boutiques and department stores.
End the day with a visit to the Kabukiza Theatre, where you can watch a traditional kabuki performance.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 8 2023, 11:09 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 9 2023, 02:12 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

Hello all

I'm planning my travel itinerary for Tokyo (first timer and most likely solo) around Q4 of this year

Appreciate if the pros here can give some pointers regarding my schedule.

Google map layers for easy reference

Questions:

- is the itinerary for each day too pack / rush?
- is it possible to move around these places while staying in one same hotel?
- any better way to rearrange to itinerary for efficiency?
- Any similar locations that can be removed/skipped?
- Any good hotel recommendations?

p/s: I have 1 free / buffer day if I need to move my schedule around

Thanks in advance for the advice and suggestion.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 9 2023, 10:26 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 10 2023, 07:14 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

The flight time and fare price seems OK?

Should I buy 1st and do all the other stuffs later?

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 10 2023, 07:29 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 10 2023, 09:00 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Apr 10 2023, 08:55 PM)
This flight time means you are transiting somewhere for approx 4-5 hours

Price depends on which airline. If taking Singapore Airlines, the price is OK
yes is SQ ... will transit at Changi Airport for around 3-4 hours ....

feel like I should bite the bullet ASAP (after applying leave) ...

no ppl know when the price will drop .. or increase

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 11 2023, 12:02 AM
tzxsean
post Apr 11 2023, 10:13 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

Which area is best for accommodation for first time traveller?

Shinjuku? Any recommendations for hotel for budget around RM350 and below per night?

Am comparing these 2 actually:

- Toyoko Inn Tokyo Shinjuku gyoemmae eki 3 ban Deguchi
- APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 11 2023, 10:16 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 12 2023, 04:03 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 12 2023, 08:10 AM)
Ikebukuro. Alot budget food chain and station are smaller & easy to navigate compare to Shinjuku.
I will consider about Ikebukuro. Based on checking on Agoda and Booking, the room price is similar to Shinjuku Hotel (APA in particular)

QUOTE(sben525 @ Apr 12 2023, 10:54 AM)
if you don't mind to transit
can consider airasia if you want budget.....RM500+ for 1 way.....return around RM1100 (without add-on)
I’m afraid AirAsia will delay / reschedule / cancel the flight
tzxsean
post Apr 12 2023, 08:43 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

I had time to draft my itinerary for first time travel in Tokyo.

I need some advices / suggestions on the schedule / location synergy if I should move things around for efficiency purposes.

Other than that, I would love to hear some of the food recommendations around the area I'm visiting!

Thank you.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 12 2023, 08:44 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 12 2023, 09:18 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 12 2023, 09:10 PM)
So packed, you planning to just touch n go everything meh. Day 1 ... Shinjuku Gyoen itself can easily take up half a day.
which is why I asked for comments lo ... I'm not familiar which area will take up more time

so other than Shinjuku Gyoen .. what else I need to adjust?

some spots are not critical I can skip / remove (e.g. Hakone) and leave for next time.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 12 2023, 09:24 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 13 2023, 10:35 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 13 2023, 10:13 PM)
Don’t put anything into the day of your arrival… today I touched down at Haneda, with fast track and all but nothing is fast because it took us more than 2 hours just to be pass the immigration… then go take SIM card, tekan money from ATM and buy Suica/Pasmo card… almost 4 hours just to get into the city after arrival…

And oh… just to update on Wise card ATM withdrawal, it works on Seven bank and JPbank ATM machines with a ¥220 local bank fee charges. Going to try out Family Mart and other brands
wow ... might take out ueno park and move to other day or skip it

what was your arrival time though?

I need to head to Shinjuku (most likely) to store my luggage before check in time ...

Btw, I also just applied Wise Card ..please keep us posted on the ATM withdrawal blush.gif
tzxsean
post Apr 14 2023, 08:14 AM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 14 2023, 06:16 AM)
Mine was the 645 arrival, reached 10 mins earlier but there was already a very long queue, the entire hall was full about 30 mins later. Surprisingly a lot of Thais…

When we reached our hotel in Ginza it was already noon. After noon you might be able to start if not too tired…
Wow mine is also 645 HND

Did the hotel allow early check in?
tzxsean
post Apr 14 2023, 11:54 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Apr 14 2023, 07:02 PM)
Bad news, JR pass going to increase price by October, almost 65% up, crazy. Other JR passes will follow?

what?luckily(?) I think I don't need JR pass since I'm only travelling around Tokyo
tzxsean
post Apr 15 2023, 08:41 AM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 15 2023, 08:14 AM)
FYI Wise card update, most of the dept/convenience stores like Odakyu, Solamachi, etc accepts cards. I didn’t do any withdrawal yet after the airport since only use cash for Suica topup and some shops

It’s only those roadside/under tunnel shops with 5-6 seats accept only cash so far, or Tsukiji market (“water fish” market)… this is for Tokyo, will update again when I reach the smaller cities
Is stuff at tsujiki outer market really overpriced?

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 15 2023, 08:46 AM
tzxsean
post Apr 16 2023, 12:21 AM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 15 2023, 11:03 PM)
Almost every food there starts from ¥3000, it’s an Angmo hotspot
wow ... but I guess I will go and try sea urchin then and that's it laugh.gif
tzxsean
post Apr 16 2023, 09:18 AM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 16 2023, 05:35 AM)
That’s the first thing I tried, donburi bowl with sea urchin, salmon roe and some fish, nice but ¥4000 laugh.gif
MY is strong against YEN now

Hope it can go up further so I can buy it tongue.gif
tzxsean
post Apr 18 2023, 11:36 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Apr 17 2023, 09:07 PM)
Wanna ask how much do people generally spend in a one week Japan trip?
Is RM10K including flight ticket sufficient?
will be going to Tokyo in Oct (solo travel)

Here's my estimated spending:-

- RM2.7k for flight (booked with SIA)
- RM1.7k for accommodation (3 star hotel in Ginza)
- RM700 for transportation and admission fees
- RM1.5k for entertainment, food, shopping, souvenirs

Hopefully doable below 7k

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 18 2023, 11:39 PM
tzxsean
post Apr 30 2023, 02:17 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

https://wanderlog.com/view/wizyddoime/trip-to-japan/shared

this is my current itinerary for 6.5 days in Tokyo

Hopefully it's manageable and weather is good (for Mt Fuji) and maybe early autumn for the momiji
tzxsean
post May 4 2023, 11:27 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

are there any affordable wagyu recommendations in Tokyo?

currently looking at lunch menu of Kobe Beef 511

This post has been edited by tzxsean: May 4 2023, 11:27 PM
tzxsean
post May 5 2023, 04:53 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ May 5 2023, 09:08 AM)
All-you-can-eat Japanese beef hall Akihabara Meat shop Yokocho

i seen a few video recommending this place. But review says sometimes they have less selection for the meat. Around 5000-6000 yen.
QUOTE(Dealus @ May 5 2023, 12:56 PM)
The place you’ve suggested seems refine.

A more commercialised and mid range place with good cuts is Han-no-daidokoro bettei in Shibuya. Haven’t tried the lunch set but had dinner there with the most amazing Yamagata wagyu.

I’m visiting Uguisudanien next week. Casual yakiniku place with a medium plate of wagyu starting from 1500 yen only. Decided to try as many local and foreign reviewers said it’s one of the most cost effective place with quality meat.
thanks for some suggestions ...

since I'm travelling solo, I also need to look for solo friendly eateries ...

most that I found, it starts with 2 pax minimum and hard to get reservation (needs JP phone number)
tzxsean
post May 9 2023, 08:21 PM

Lonely Driver
5,607 posts

any1 used hotlink roaming in Tokyo previously?

How's the speed and quality?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1163sec    1.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:08 AM