127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

[Q&A] PS3 Price Thread, discussion on local PS3 pricing, etc

Muchi
post Nov 10 2007, 02:43 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 10 2007, 02:25 AM)
Aiya Electric consumtion,who cares haha.its not PC(torrent 24/7)
So PS3 with 380W i still gonna get it beacuse it has 4 slot of USB port
Lol, so you decided to get the 80gb version? Add me when you got your PSN account. Btw, Monday SPM d.. Tengah belajar ar? Haha. Good luck man thumbup.gif
saiga
post Nov 10 2007, 10:07 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Nov 10 2007, 01:57 AM)

Munak, I posted this on Post #489  biggrin.gif

According to Kaz Hirai, the 40gb PS3 will be using the 65nm process for the Cell chip but the RSX graphics chip will still be using the 90nm process. However, the shrinkage of the CPU is considered enough to cut the power consumption of the PS3.

And the 20gb/60gb PS3 might continue production depending on how the consumer reacts. 

Here is the link: Ign.com

For those who can read Japanese, here is the Kaz Hirai interview: watch.impress.co.jp
Lol, camping here won't increase my post count. Just like to help people out and inform people bout the PS3 if I could  smile.gif  And I was the one who posted what Kaz Hirai said.  laugh.gif

Maybe it's because I experienced a few times where no one care bout what I asked. So yea, if someone ask something or state something and I could add to it, why not? It's no fun being clueless  smile.gif
bro, dun worry. what you did very good indeed! thumbup.gif help a lot of people, including me notworthy.gif
corez
post Nov 10 2007, 11:29 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Nov 9 2007, 04:45 PM)
At the top of your PS3 box, check the bottom right corner. There is a sticker there. Is yours CECHE12(Hong Kong) or CECHE06(Singapore). And 'HK5' is printed on my sticker as well because it's Hong Kong version. Hope that helps  thumbup.gif

I just check mine n it is sgp version
lim_ryan
post Nov 10 2007, 12:13 PM

110 posts

if anybody spot duel shock 3 landing in KL pls let me know.....n assasins creed too,,,peace
Muchi
post Nov 10 2007, 02:35 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Nov 10 2007, 10:07 AM)
bro, dun worry. what you did very good indeed!  thumbup.gif  help a lot of people, including me  notworthy.gif
Thank you thumbup.gif

QUOTE(corez @ Nov 10 2007, 11:29 AM)
I just check mine n it is sgp version
Ok smile.gif

QUOTE(lim_ryan @ Nov 10 2007, 12:13 PM)
if anybody spot duel shock 3 landing in KL pls let me know.....n assasins creed too,,,peace
I don't think most people would remember to update you hmm.gif Try calling Bernard, Keane or Djinn next week.

You can find their handphone/shop number on their thread

Bernard's Thread

Keane's Thread

Djinn's thread

Hope that helps laugh.gif
munak991
post Nov 10 2007, 03:19 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Nov 10 2007, 02:43 AM)
Lol, so you decided to get the 80gb version? Add me when you got your PSN account. Btw, Monday SPM d.. Tengah belajar ar? Haha. Good luck man  thumbup.gif
THx Thx rclxms.gif
MR.Shiney
post Nov 10 2007, 04:01 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 10 2007, 03:19 PM)
THx Thx  rclxms.gif
oi pegi study laaaa tongue.gif tongue.gif
me 12th until 30th November sweat.gif
Muchi
post Nov 10 2007, 04:19 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Nov 10 2007, 04:01 PM)
Lol you also pegi study la.. Still hang around LYN laugh.gif

Anyway good luck thumbup.gif
munak991
post Nov 10 2007, 06:21 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Nov 10 2007, 04:01 PM)
hmmmm account student. hahahahhahaa i didnt took account only Bio.
IF u have take chinese worst
Ryuuga
post Nov 10 2007, 10:47 PM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

SPM student here, but im planning to buy ps3 right after spm (last day 30th nov, yeah accounts student)
Just wanna know whts the cheapest price now ^^ i think im going for the 60gb version since the HDD can upgrade. What do the experienced ps3-ers recommend?
Muchi
post Nov 11 2007, 12:27 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 10 2007, 10:47 PM)
SPM student here, but im planning to buy ps3 right after spm (last day 30th nov, yeah accounts student)
Just wanna know whts the cheapest price now ^^ i think im going for the 60gb version since the HDD can upgrade. What do the experienced ps3-ers recommend?
Is the PS2 backward compatibility important to you?

You prefer 4 usb slot or 2 usb slot, is it important?

Is the built-in card reader on the 60/80gb PS3 important to you?

Other than that, all the PS3s are the same generally.

One more thing, can you see the chrome thingy on the PS3? The silver finish. The 60/80gb PS3 has the glossy finish(shiny), while the 40gb has the matte finish(not shiny enough).

This post has been edited by Muchi: Nov 11 2007, 12:43 AM
biatch0
post Nov 11 2007, 03:02 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Looking for some general info on the PS3 now... can anyone give a quick run through?

Based on the questions from the previous poster:
(i) PS2 backward compat is a +
(ii) more USB slots is a + (unless USB hubs work on the PS3)
(iii) built-in card reader also a +

I can live without the 3 above but would rather have them.

Questions:

(i) What are the prices I will be looking at?
(ii) What models am I looking at (I saw HKG, JPN, etc.)?
(iii) I read in some other thread that the HKG version has no "blood" effects?
(iv) any recommendations where to go to buy? (djinn has good reputation here so I'll probably go there)
munak991
post Nov 11 2007, 03:17 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 11 2007, 03:02 AM)
Looking for some general info on the PS3 now... can anyone give a quick run through?

Based on the questions from the previous poster:

I can live without the 3 above but would rather have them.

Questions:

(iv) any recommendations where to go to buy? (djinn has good reputation here so I'll probably go there)

PS2 compat :only 20Gb dont have em
USB slot:20 and 40GB have only 2 slot
Card reader: hmmmm photo?

For YOur answer

(i) For 40GB its about $399(USD) about RM1400+ For 80GB(avaiable for NTSC only) it was about $499 RM1600++

(ii)Mostly Malaysia sellers is selling HK and SG version HK 80Gb have 1 console SG 80Gb have 2 console.You could grab USA version too. All game are region FREE so no worries,as long ur blue ray disc is region A u can play it on USA,HK,SG,JP PS3 Machine biggrin.gif

(iii)This 1 i have no idea ask others.

(iv) here
this is some great seller

Bernard's Thread

Keane's Thread

Djinn's thread

Nelsonkoay thread

im buying from Nelson, he offering great price for me. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by munak991: Nov 11 2007, 03:22 AM
Muchi
post Nov 11 2007, 09:04 AM

18 posts

The 60gb PS3's backward compatibility works the best because it has the Emotion Engine(EE) intact. The 80gb PS3 has limited backward compatibility because it does not have the EE and it runs through software emulation.

USB hubs works fine.

Normal card reader works fine as well

Questions:

Asian version games are said to be toned down. Whether all of them are toned down, I am not sure. Since PS3 games are region free. You could get the US version with complete violent effects.

Questions:

Refer to munak's post thumbup.gif

Feel free to ask more questions. Will try to answer you if we know it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Muchi: Nov 11 2007, 09:08 AM
biatch0
post Nov 11 2007, 11:36 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Nov 11 2007, 09:04 AM)
The 60gb PS3's backward compatibility works the best because it has the Emotion Engine(EE) intact. The 80gb PS3 has limited backward compatibility because it does not have the EE and it runs through software emulation.

How "limited" is the 80GB version? I don't have many PS2 games, maybe 15-20... and 10 of them are the Winning Eleven series. Any list available that shows compatibility for the 80GB version?

I also read that the HDD in the PS3 is upgradeable. Is it as easy as upgrading the HDD in a PC? Does it void the PS3 warranty? etc.etc.

Just looking for all the general information I should know before getting 1.
Muchi
post Nov 11 2007, 11:51 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 11 2007, 11:36 AM)
How "limited" is the 80GB version? I don't have many PS2 games, maybe 15-20... and 10 of them are the Winning Eleven series. Any list available that shows compatibility for the 80GB version?

I also read that the HDD in the PS3 is upgradeable. Is it as easy as upgrading the HDD in a PC? Does it void the PS3 warranty? etc.etc.

Just looking for all the general information I should know before getting 1.
Try checking the PlayStation website, click here. This checker is for the US version PS3. Can't find the one for the Asia version PS3.

And upgrading the HDD does not void your warranty. The manual that comes with the PS3 even has step by step on how to change your HDD. But just make sure you keep the original HDD with you.

Source:
playstation.com
playstation.com_2
futureshopforums.com

If you read through the thread, some people even called Sony to confirm it.

This post has been edited by Muchi: Nov 11 2007, 11:54 AM
acougan
post Nov 11 2007, 11:55 AM

590 posts

the status on backwards compatibility on 60GB/80GB sets are not up to date. Sony PR says team doing BC is being scaled down to reduce cost tongue.gif

for ori NTSC/J JPN titles, can try

http://www.jp.playstation.com/ps3/status/index.cgi
^note the whole thing is in JPN though

for ori NTSC/J Asian titles, no site is available.

rhinodatum
post Nov 11 2007, 12:38 PM

15 posts

DjiNn,

Hi how much do you sell for the PS3 40gb version?
zaj
post Nov 11 2007, 12:40 PM

82 posts

does anyone have the us version ps3. is the power supply universal or 110v?
i am waiting for the 40gb version but does it include spiderman3 bd like the us version??

thks
skincladalien
post Nov 11 2007, 12:41 PM

Densha Otaku
1,914 posts

do remember that the ps2 games are region locked. ie US version of ps2 game wont work in SG/HK set.

and if usb hub/external card reader works fine, screw 80gb...

40gb is ftw (and get a 120gb hdd)

127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:25 PM