QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 30 2020, 11:51 PM)
Not unless you're got any health problem or buying a huge amount.Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance
Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance
Sep 30 2020, 11:56 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
10,162 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Oct 1 2020, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 1 2020, 12:21 AM) My sister who is OKU and tried with Manulife and they asked to do this and that and then was rejected after the latest blood count shows anemia and hypertension. May subject to loading / rejection depending on the readings.In this case, can still proceed to buy CI36? QUOTE(redtuna @ Oct 1 2020, 12:33 AM) Some insurance provider offer tailor made top up package to certain big Co. which use employer coverage as deductible. Yes there are options with high deductible available out there.Eg : Co. cover medical RM 80k. Top up plan RM 200k In normal situation if staff spend more than RM 80k he need to pay out of his own pocket. But under this package let say the medical fee is 180k the 1st RM 80k will be settled by employer as deductible and the remaining RM 100k will be paid by this takaful provider. Because the deductible is high (RM 80k), the premium for the extra RM 200k is much cheaper compare to standard 200k medical card. is there any insurance out there that can offers the same arrangement? Meaning client can choose the amount of deductible as to make the premium cheaper. |
Oct 2 2020, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(cy91 @ Oct 2 2020, 11:45 AM) My insurance company (Greet Eatson) asked me to increase my premium and showed me a table of increases in medical charges of 35%!!! Why is this allowed at the first place? The insurance company reserves the right to price hike up to 50% every year according to the contract. What should I do? Just be slaughtered by capitalist? It’s written in your policy book that the insurance company has the right to make adjustment to the insurance charges from time to time.By accepting the policy from the insurance company, you are deemed to agree to their terms and conditions |
Oct 3 2020, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(cy91 @ Oct 3 2020, 02:33 PM) You have a choice as a consumer to choose. 1. Stay with the current insurer on the same plan 2. Choose a different insurance provider 3. Change your plan 4. Downgrade to a lower plan |
Oct 3 2020, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(saplayer @ Oct 3 2020, 05:04 PM) Hi all, I'm 23M non-smoker. Nothing wrong. ILP gives you a flexibility to add on additional rider besides just a medical benefit. I got the quotation of 120/mo for medical card with 60 years sustainability and annual limit of 1.38m. I opted it for the flexibility of the plan which allow me to upgrade with better coverage later. I checked online for the premium of term plan which is greatly cheaper than ILP plan that I got. I do notice the factors that the price for term plan seems to increase once a few years. Perhaps, is it more optimal to select only term for my medical card instead of ILP? Of course, in this way, I would sacrifice the flexibility of ILP can provide. Can any sifu provide me some comments? If you just need a medical insurance then you may choose between just a term or ILP. |
Oct 4 2020, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(ali00 @ Oct 4 2020, 12:27 PM) gais.. i'm 25, non-smoker, male. 200 budget can get you quite a decent coverage.I tried comparing insurance between companies and all i got is more headache. I just want a simple and affordable death or accidental damages, and medical. That's it. Any recommendation? 100-200 budget should be good. Currently checking prudential (long term brand), aia (used by company, and etiqa (coz im using it for car and motor lol). But I have heard bad from prudential. So no idea |
Oct 4 2020, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Lfearlessly @ Oct 4 2020, 10:30 PM) Hi, I would like to know which medical plan is better for me. Better plan ? What is your existing plan so that I can find out for you which is better for you ?I try to search the AIA, TokioMarine, GE, Prudential and etc, but I still not really understand it. Can somebody help me on this? I am 25 years old guy (non-smoker), male, budget can be 100-250. P/S: I quite interest to A plus Health by AIA For your age, new policy will be around 200 monthly min |
Oct 5 2020, 08:59 AM
Oct 5 2020, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(dumbo1919 @ Oct 5 2020, 10:52 AM) 1) How about people with bipolar disorder or obsessive–compulsive disorder? Can they buy life insurance, CI and medical card? They need the doctor declaration, recommendation and from there they (insurance companies) will only assess if they can grant the insurance or not.2) If they really need insurance, any advise for them in order to get an insurance? |
Oct 5 2020, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(dumbo1919 @ Oct 5 2020, 07:34 PM) Normally for such cases, what is the success rate? Or there is no chance at all. Is there any successful application like this from your experience? No one in here can answer your question.If he/she disclosure the ocd or bipolar during application, how bad is it will affect them ? ( in terms of future re-application or application from other insurance company ) If you really want the insurance then apply for it to find out. QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2020, 08:37 PM) as per this.... This benefit is limited to under the Health Wallet within the medical card FYIKUALA LUMPUR, July 4, 2019— AIA Malaysia has decided to cover mental illness, believed to be the first Malaysian insurance company to do so. The insurance company now provides coverage for depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, schizophrenia, Tourette’s syndrome, and bipolar disorder and postpartum depression. https://codeblue.galencentre.org/2019/07/04...um%20depression. |
Oct 6 2020, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(Justinng343 @ Oct 5 2020, 11:24 PM) Someone intro me to this group, not sure if anyone still reply but I have a question. Certain plans are created by the insurance company to provide a higher coverage and each "Bulk" amount you purchase entitles you for some discounts by the insurance company i.e Life policiesWhich is should I separate my insurance policy? For example, one policy contain life and medical, another policy contain life and critical illness, and another policy contain only personal accident, etc...? It is really cheaper? Some Personal Accident plans as standalone provides more benefits compared to an all in one plan (though could cost alittle more) Unless you are really nit-picking into every single cent then feel free to count down each policy to its single cent and choose the "So-called" cheapest plan if you want to save on it. Just keep in mind that insurance company will make adjustment from there and then especially for Medical benefits for the premium payable. When it comes to buying an insurance, it's not always about cheaper/cheapest (Unless you're real broke then you may need to assess whether you should even buy an insurance in the first place). Secondly whether the insurance provides a comprehensive enough coverage for you or not, every insurance is useful until when it comes to the point of making a claim and found out you are not entitled to many claims benefit or the pay out is not even enough or most of the plan bought were for retirement/savings purposes but you needed more hospitalization / critical illness. Get a good advisor to help you out |
Oct 8 2020, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(The Residences @ Oct 8 2020, 03:49 PM) Hi, Those benefit you are mentioning falls under outpatient treatment which will be on a pay and file back a claim basis.Let say If I get Cancer or Kidney failure, does the insurance companies provide full coverage for follow up treatment? For example, if you get Kidney Failure, you need to do dialysis 2-3 times every week. May I know which insurance companies that provide this coverage? I don't want to pay and claim. QUOTE(sukirani @ Oct 8 2020, 04:39 PM) Hi, wonder if there are any insurance agents from Prudential or GE who can give me a ballpark figure for a medical insurance? I'm a 24, F, non-smoker. The premium varies depending on how long you want the policy to sustain as well. Can go as low as 120 monthlySome of the things that I'm looking for include: unlimited lifetime limit, high annual limit (700k-1mil), guaranteed renewal, CI coverage, waiver. |
Oct 8 2020, 06:02 PM
Oct 10 2020, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(mrvex @ Oct 10 2020, 11:38 PM) Hi fellow gurus, i'm currently looking at different ILP (Medical + life) insurance plans from different insurance companies (AIA, Alianz, GE). Would like your opinions on the below. With the budget of RM300 per months, i've received quotations for these plans, Overall Annual limit 1.5mil -> (Alianz Powerlink, AIA A-LifeLink 2, GE - SmartProtect Essential 3) Which insurance plan would you recommend? Which company would offer more/ cover more important things than the other? It seems the plans are fairly similar, not sure what else to look out for. Most people recommend GE, AIA seems to be higher cost on the COI, Alianz i'm not sure. Instead of picking base on a product /plan, which is ever changing, next 3 months another company will come up with something better.I'm a 26 y/o, non-smoker, male, analyst. The main differences that i've noticed from the insurance plans are.. a.)Q: Death/ TPD coverage of 100k or 50k vs Term of coverage (70 yrs old or 90 yrs); 100k plans are covered till 70 y/o, 50k plan is covered till 90 y/o, which plan is better? Is it more expensive to extend the TOC at y/o later on? PA/ TPD amount of 100k 47 yrs (Alianz Powerlink) 44 yrs (AIA A-LifeLink 2) PA/ TPD amount of 50k Toc - 63 years (GE - SmartProtect Essential 3) i. AIA + covers Riot and Civil commotion + PA/ TPD - 100k + No Claim reward (R&B + Health wallet) + REA Assistance Programme (International medical assistance) + Car Assistance Programme (Although covered by car insurance as well) - Term of coverage - 70 y/o - Intraocular Lens - 7k per lifetime ii. Allianz + PA/ TPD - 100k + Cancer Genomic Test - 15k + Intraocular Lens - As charged + No Claim reward (Room and Board + COI refund 10-20%) + Global Expert Medical Opinion - Term of coverage - 73 y/o - lack of oversea emergency support/ assistance/ evacuation - Lack of Car assistance Programme iii. GE + Term of coverage - 90 y/o + Outpatient Imaging MRI/ PET - RM5k per policy year + Supreme Assist + Car Assistance Programme (Although covered by car insurance as well) + Smart Multi Critical Care - PA/ TPD - 50k - Lacks of No Claim Reward - Intraocular Lens - 8k per lifetime Based on your experience, which plan covers more? Are there any important features from the plans that i've missed out? Each insurance agent i've met are selling their own insurance plan... Pick an advisor which can give you long term financial advise without bias |
Oct 11 2020, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(ColdDasher @ Oct 11 2020, 10:58 AM) Hi guys, Those are known as traditional plans where you are required to pay back an interest on the amount you took out from your policy though this will sound alittle stupid to do so unless you have no choice and can't find a single dime in your hidden pillow case for even RM10 then maybe by all means take a loan from your insurance policy. do you have any recommendations on a life insurance or whole life insurance policy that lets you borrow money against the policy? Meaning, ie, based on the cash value of the policy at that point of time, say, RM100k, they insurance with allow you to take a loan against your policy up to 80% - 90% of the cash value. I have been told by an agent that no such policy exist anymore. Thank you in advance! They still exist but not many company offers it. |
Oct 11 2020, 12:01 PM
Oct 12 2020, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 12 2020, 12:51 PM) One of my parents Prudential policy received a letter stating the premium is going to increase by RM600++ in 2021 and previously there were already about 2 to 3 times such hike since inception OptionsThe issue is it seems to be a force increase with no option to maintain current premium and benefits Of course, when contacted the agent for options to maintain current premium was always trying to taichi us by telling we can use the cash value to pay for future premium The same thing happened to my policy as well a couple of years ago The other company that my brother has bought his policy from, GE had also sent him a letter suggesting him to top up his premium but that wasn't like ours. His is with opt in basis, meaning only if he return / reply the letter he will be paying a higher premium Can I know what options we have to maintain current premium and benefits, or the previously stated coverage / benefits are not guaranteed (meaning we cannot maintain current premium) and Prudential has all the right to always revise our premium every few years? Like I mentioned, I can tell the agent is reluctant in revising the benefits for us, so the worst case is going to Prudential office ourselves Many thanks! 1. Reduce the existing coverage to maintain a similar premium if any 2. Top up with the existing coverage 3. Change the insurance plan |
Oct 12 2020, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 12 2020, 01:03 PM) The problem is the agent is not even want to talk about this and just told my parent over the phone that we can use the cash value to pay for the hike Yeah you can go over the branch counter, agent still get comm anyway without having to do anything.Was thinking to go to the branch office and request the staff there to help me on this topic? It is currently RM5,000++ so the hike is about 10 - 15% However, my worry is they can again tell you they wanna hike for another x% in 2022 and so on If like that, eventually in few more years the premium can easily hit RM7,000 to RM8,000... how to pay? I better surrender the policy and invest the money myself Sometimes they will still ask you to refer back to your agent for any quotes tho This post has been edited by lifebalance: Oct 12 2020, 01:13 PM |
Oct 12 2020, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 12 2020, 06:35 PM) Hey Adele, I remember you! The one that top up for parents to pump petrol full! Okay sorry for OT a bit! Hmmm the benefits seems a little out of date for the premium payable. Yeah I had read through the letter and the option there stated I should approach my agent in case I need to revise the plan so I did but all the agent did was keep taichi-ing that the cash value (surrender value) can cover it, which my aim was not to touch the fund but to remain at the same level as of now The premium is now RM5.1k ber annum and it is gonna be revised to RM5.8k in 2021 I guess I can still wait for a while before really need to visit the branch during the pendemic as the coming payment due December 2020 will still be RM5.1k according to the letter (saying that they understand COVID-19 is impacting us financially) The issue is we don't know how soon they will send another letetr telling us there will be another hike again like it is no end and it could easily end up us paying RM7k and so on which I think is already beyond our mean of getting an insurance And, here are the summary of policy benefits from the online portal Benefit Description Benefit Purchased PRULink Assurance Plan MYR 40k Accident Medical Reimbursement MYR 2k Accidental Death & Disablement MYR 50k Crisis Shield MYR 20k PRUMajor Med 3 MYR 100 (Room & Board) PRUMajor Med 3 Enhancer Yes PRUMajor Med Plus Yes Weekly Indemnity 4 units Yes this could be one of the options that I am looking for because the policy was supposed to end in 2 years time until the add on of 10y from either PRUMajor Med 3 Enhancer or Plus But this info is not available, and hopefully if I need to visit the office then this option / info will be available for us What's ur mom age and any pre existing illness? |
Oct 13 2020, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 12 2020, 06:58 PM) The policy was from 2005, 15 years ago when she was 53yo, now 68yo If you're looking to revise the premium, I would recommend a standalone medical card maybe?No pre existing illness I guess the age is the main reason why it is so expensive Room 250 Annual Limit 300k No deductible/co-insurance Age 68 - Yearly Premium 3,000 |
| Change to: | 0.1533sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:17 PM |