5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

GE-DavidK
post Apr 25 2020, 05:14 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(smallikanbilis @ Apr 25 2020, 02:44 PM)
Hmmm I have always wondered why some agents ask us to buy medical insurance early to protect against escalating medical fees. Seems like there is no way to get a product that features fixed cost of insurance, guaranteed renewal, and no portfolio withdrawal clause
There is a plan from Great Eastern which features fixed/guaranteed cost of insurance which is SmartProtect Sure. It is a type of life insurance + critical illness policy but it's not the medical insurance you are looking for though.
GE-DavidK
post Apr 29 2020, 02:31 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Apr 29 2020, 12:25 PM)
Hi all.

Can I know whether the COI is same or not between standalone and ILP in same company? I heard that COI of standalone is higher than ILP.

Let say for example for 30 years old male non smoker for 500k term life compared to 500k life ILP plain plan with no other riders. The premium for sure will be different but I eager to know their COI is same or not each year.

And whether it also same if compared between online products and tru agents.

Thanks!
In the long run, standalone is definitely more expensive than ILP because standalone medical card increase premium every 5 years according to age band.

Depending on the length of coverage and design of the policy, ILP can be more affordable than term insurance in certain cases. It also depends on the fund performance selected. Also, term insurance usually will only cover until age 80 maximum whereas certain ILP can be extended for lifetime. The cash value in ILP can be withdrawn in the event of emergencies as well.

Most online products are limited to term insurance because term insurance is much more simpler in design.
GE-DavidK
post May 1 2020, 11:09 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 30 2020, 10:14 PM)
anyone with Great Eastern here, I have a 10 year old medical plan which i would like to cancel. My agent is no longer in the industry so am wondering who i can deal with for this
Hi db07mufan, I'm from Great Eastern and I might be able to assist you in this matter. You will need to fill up a surrender form if your policy is an investment linked plan. If it's standalone, you just have to stop payment and the policy will lapse on its own since there is no cash value.
GE-DavidK
post May 1 2020, 02:12 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ May 1 2020, 11:59 AM)
me too. My agent was my uncle last time. He passed away.
You may write a letter to GE requesting for a service transfer to another agent who is willing to do the service for you. Usually for investment-linked plans, we usually don't advise clients to lapse the policy.
GE-DavidK
post May 1 2020, 08:26 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(MiKE7LIM @ May 1 2020, 08:09 PM)
RM250 monthly
Benefits Payout
1 Life/TPD-100K
2 Critical Illness-150K
3 Early Critical Illness-100K
4 Diabetes Recovery-20K
5 Cancer Recovery-35K
Hospitalization & Surgical (Med Card
6 Room-150 daily
7 Annual Limit-850K
8 Lifetime Limit-Unlimited
Others Benefits
9 Waiver-Yes (in the event diagnose with CI, premium will be waive but still continue to enjoy the benefits)
10 Savings/Cash Value-Yes

Hi , above plan for single male - 30 years old should be ok right
Looks good to me. Some additional factors to consider is the sustainability of the policy and whether the amount of life and critical illness is shared together which is usually the norm.
GE-DavidK
post May 1 2020, 10:24 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ May 1 2020, 09:44 PM)
Hi all,

I'm currently 28. Class 1 job. Non-smoker.

I only have MP Generali health insurance from my employer.
I searched around and sieved through what I found interesting and ended up with these two.

1. AIA A-Plus Health
2. Allianz Medisafe

I wonder can I get a good enough ILP for below RM180?
So far from my understanding, standalone packages tend to be more expensive along the years that is why I'm leaning towards ILP.
I have not engaged with an agent yet. Thought of getting some opinion in Lyn first.
You can consider Great Eastern's SmartProtect Essential 3 as well. When choosing ILP, you have to consider about the sustainability of the plan because the cash value is used to offset the rising insurance charges in the future. Also ensure that waiver rider is included in the policy.
GE-DavidK
post May 3 2020, 12:37 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ May 2 2020, 09:29 PM)

I'm 32yo. Airline pilot.

Looking for a good insurance plan. Leaning towards AIA. Medical card and maybe life insurance.

I used to have one with AIA 9 years ago. The sale pitch by the agent was it was a 'Loss of licence' policy. But actually there's no such thing. It says on my policy booklet, the plan is : AIA Assurance Account. If i'm not mistaken it is under 'occupational' policy or something like that I really don't remember. It was also an ILP. I cancelled it years ago. An agent tried to sell me the same policy, but i'm a bit wiser now, so i asked to show where it says 'loss of licence', well it doesn't. I don't think it is right to sell something when it is not what you say it is, even when it is similar.

My company does cover me for permanent loss of licence, hospitalization and also death. But the amounts are not that high. So thinking of additional insurance.

Okay so now for me personally I don't mix insurance with investment. Can anyone suggest any policy that i can read up on? Medical card and life insurance. Preferably AIA.

And also is it true when people say you should get either a life insurance OR an MLTA but not both?

Thank you in advance.
Medical card with ILP generally comes with life insurance and critical illness coverage. Loss of license means provide coverage for pilots alone. For medical card/life insurance nowadays, any permanent disability or critical illness regardless of your occupation will be covered as well.

On whether mixing insurance with investment in ILP, you can do so by maximising the insurance coverage but the sustainability of the policy will be short. The investment/cash value is used to pay for the rising insurance charges in the future. If you are planning to get insurance for long term (i.e. coverage until age 80), you are still better off getting an ILP instead of term insurance/stand alone because ILP will be cheaper than term insurance.

MLTA is a type of mortgage life insurance which is a type of insurance to protect against the house loan you signed up for. Whereas for life insurance it is used to provide peace of mind and reduce financial loss or hardship faced by your family if you passed away.

In a person's lifetime, it is common to have multiple life insurances running at the same time. Different people have different needs and how much they want to leave behind for their family. So, how much life insurance you need is dependent on you.
GE-DavidK
post May 4 2020, 12:59 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ May 4 2020, 03:23 AM)
Thank you for your reply. The bolded part, it's quite difficult to say because if we lose our licence for example bcoz of a critical illness like diabetes, we won't be able to fly but we can still work elsewhere. but since we fall back to our spm bcoz we lost our licence,its gonna be hard to find a job. So an agent explained to me, in that case the insurance company will not pay up because we can still work elsewhere.
Hi. You've never heard of loss of licence because it is only offered by airlines. So as far as i know, no insurance company offers it. But some agents try to sell their product using this term which i think is wrong. I was young and ignorant when i got the policy 9 years ago. A few associations outside Malaysia do offer loss of licence. This is why I'm only looking for a medical card and life insurance.

There was a friend who told me that his life insurance coverage is RM1 mil+ and he's only paying like RM2000+ a year for it. I forgot to ask him from which company and i honestly don't know anything else about it other than those figures. Is it plausible to have that kind of coverage at that price?
Diabetes does not count as a critical illness.

In another example, if one day you lose your pilot license because of cancer, insurance company will pay you for the critical illness lump sum. Whether you can work elsewhere or not after your recovery, insurance company will still pay you because it is based on the critical illness, not the occupation. For pilots, it is considered as occupation class 2 and this information need to be declared to the insurance company when you sign up for the life insurance policy.

It's not impossible to do RM 1 million coverage for annual premium of RM2000+. For your age, 1 million life coverage can be done with monthly premium of RM250.

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 4 2020, 01:02 PM
GE-DavidK
post May 12 2020, 01:06 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(zeigeist @ May 11 2020, 10:53 PM)
Hi every sifu,

Want to ask how to surrender / terminate insurance during this MCO time, almost all the branches are closed during MCO. Having financial problem need terminate it. FYI, it is Prudential investment link policy.

I guess it is require to give back the physical policy back. And also fill some surrender form (with witness signature, how to get this if branch no open??)

I also enroll auto debit to my credit card on this policy. Worry processing till will get dragged till next month payment. Then one more month contribution $$ gone. Thinking to freeze my card to avoid auto debit, but if later due date reached, will Prudential auto deduct it from my account available investment unit left?

Any sifu can give advice?
Thank you thank you.
You can ask your agent to surrender the policy for you. If you want to do it yourself, you can fill the surrender form as below. I’m not sure if Prudential accept email submission for this form, you can contact their customer service and ask for clarification on this.

The surrender form for Prudential is here Surrender Form

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 12 2020, 01:07 AM
GE-DavidK
post May 12 2020, 05:23 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(responsible poster @ May 12 2020, 04:56 PM)
hi sifus,

nowadays almost all insurers sell life insurance via website. question is, the perception is that if no agent to serve, the process is complicated.

so is it actually complicated for next of kin to claim the insured value upon passing of insurance bearer?

thanks!
Not all types of life insurance can be bought online. Insurers are likely to refer you back to an agent to prepare the quotation for you.

You can prepare all the necessary documents on your own whenever you need to make a claim and submit the forms to the customer service center of the insurer. However, in certain complex cases, agents can help clients to appeal cases to the insurer and do follow ups to expedite the process. So, having an agent is better for the client.

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 12 2020, 05:24 PM
GE-DavidK
post May 13 2020, 12:44 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(responsible poster @ May 13 2020, 12:28 PM)
the problem with getting life insurance via agent is that their products are always investment linked which doesn't seem to be very attractive.
For medical insurance, I usually advise getting investment-linked because the coverage can be extended and the plan is a lot more flexible to adjust. In fact, investment-linked generally will be cheaper than term insurance in the long run for medical card.

For life insurance, you can consider getting Great Love 4 U from Great Eastern which does not require any medical underwriting with guaranteed acceptance. This is a term life insurance without investment-linked.
GE-DavidK
post May 17 2020, 06:44 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 16 2020, 06:42 PM)
Hi, i never take any insurance before.

Been quote this from AIA(life link). Is it ok?

Pampasan kematian - 500k
Pampsan TPD - 500k
Pampasan penyakit kritikal accelerated 250k
Age limit 70
Cash value at 70 : 16k
Waiver and save : inclusive

Monthly : 300
Like others mentioned, first step to insurance is better to be a medical card/hospitalisation. i.e. coverage for room & board and annual limit/lifetime limit for hospitalisation bills.

On this AIA plan, the critical illness accelerated means that once you claim critical illness 250k, the life will be deducted 250k as well.

Cash value is the money you can get in the investment part (not guaranteed).

QUOTE(darkueki @ May 17 2020, 12:49 AM)
Hi , I would like to seek answer what my agent said is true or not.About one week ago, my agent contacted me and said the insurance company doing offer by let me change the current policy from prulife ready to pruwithyou with medical no waiting period.As my existing policy was only 1 million for life time, then I agreed to shift to new policy.
Currently there are 2 policy , one old and one new, the old policy premium revised to lower.
Then I asked my agent  , do I still need to pay for old policy, she said no need but I afforable , I can pay it and the cash value will be more.
I felt weird why to keep the old policy as she mentioned my medical benefit transfer to new .
She answered me it is better to keep and the surrender value will just reduce a bit when I surrender 2 years later.
Can I have advise if I dont pay the old policy premium , will it really be like what my agent said, the surrender value will just reduce a little as only cost of insurance charges.
I attached screenshot but as she replied in Chinese  so hope got people can help.

I do agree with Adele123 that it's better to upgrade existing policy first, however there might be a limit on how much you can upgrade the existing policy. The waiting period for specified illness (including cancer) is 60 days or 2 months. However, insurance companies still can initiate early claim investigation for policies inforce within 2 years depends on the case, hence your agent asked you only to surrender after 2 years.

I would advise you to terminate the old policy once your new policy is already inforce for 2 months instead of 2 years because early claim investigation is rather unlikely.

QUOTE(rebornyama @ May 17 2020, 07:18 AM)
Hey guys,

I got laid off a while back and my extended medical coverage benefit will soon expires. Looking at the options available online, it seems like most medical card only covers hospital visits?

Are there takaful/insurance plan that covers GP/private clinic visit? Not really concerned about hospital visit tbh since worse case scenario still got govt hospital, but visiting govt clinic for the occasional flu/ailments is too much of a hassle.

tldr: need coverage for GP/clinic visits
Group insurance can cover for clinical visits if the company signed up outpatient clinical rider. Even if visiting government clinic for flu/ailments, personal medical card won't be able to cover.

Personal medical card only covers for:

1) Accidents
2) Hospitalisation
3) Surgery

QUOTE(darkueki @ May 17 2020, 01:57 PM)
Hi Ckdenion, thanks for your advice, yes there is life insurance /critical illness payout but only 35k each.
I would like to know can you quote me with below details:
Budget rm250
AnB: 28
Non smoker
Medical : annual at least 1m and lifetime unlimited
Occupation : class 2 even thought I think I class 1 but my agent said in system she can found is production site leader, my job is like planner ,work in supply chain management.

Thank you.

Class 1 and class 2 are treated with the same insurance charge (for Great Eastern). 1 million annual and lifetime limited can be easily done with your budget. Remember to add in waiver rider when your agent prepare the quotation for you.

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 17 2020, 06:47 PM
GE-DavidK
post May 19 2020, 10:03 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(itv_mark5 @ May 19 2020, 12:47 AM)
hi all, i'm considering to get an insurance for our soon to be out baby.

1. What to take note in this kind of insurance?
2. How much would be a decent amount for the baby's coverage?

And am currently looking at GE Smart Baby Shield, PRU My Child Plus.

Would like to know if any experience parents can share me some tips? Thanks a lot!
1. If the pregnant mother is within 13 -35 weeks of gestational period (3 to 9 months of pregnancy period), the coverage should include pregnant complications and death of mother.
- Ensure that waiver rider for both payer and child is included for the child's medical card.
- Ensure Junior critical illness (eg. coverage for Kawasaki Disease) and congenital diseases are included in the coverage.

2. Depending on your needs and budget. I would advise 50k to 100k life for baby is a good starting point. Take note that for the first 5 years, child lien will apply where only a percentage of life sum assured is paid. For example, if the baby pass away in the first year, only 20% of sum assured will be paid.

3. GE Smart Baby Shield is a rider for SmartProtect Junior (Medical card for children). Smart Baby Shield will cover for the mother during pregnancy period (if the policy is inforce within 13 to 35 weeks of pregnancy period) and coverage up to age 5 of the baby for any congenital diseases.

GE-DavidK
post May 19 2020, 07:00 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ May 19 2020, 11:48 AM)
There is also another one whereby mothers pay for their own medical card and the child attaches to the mother's medical card till he is 21 yrs old. I think my sister has this. paying rm 380 for self , whereby rm80 is for the child. and lifetime limit is RM1M.
As for SmartProtect Junior, the unborn child is the main insured person which comes with coverage for the mother during pregnancy period. The policy will run for whole life for the child with unlimited lifetime limit. Of course, the premium will be higher than RM80 as the policy is expected to cover up to age 100 for the child.
GE-DavidK
post May 19 2020, 10:22 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 19 2020, 09:41 PM)
My foot is pain, clinic Dr advise to have blood test body check. I have a plan(not sure whether it is possible) which is use my medical card to masuk hospital stay 1/2 days and ask to full body check up.

Is it possible? Is the blood test, body checking can claim? Bought the medical card for few years but never use before...
Hi jiaen0509, if the blood test will lead to hospitalisation or any form of surgery, it will be counted as pre-hospitalisation diagnostic test and you should be able to claim medical card for the blood test.
GE-DavidK
post May 19 2020, 11:20 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 19 2020, 10:43 PM)
It will be dangerous if the report is good, then I have to pay for the blood test fee right?

How if I enter ward first, the test etc will cover by medi card?
Yes, if you are required by doctor to be hospitalised, the treatment or any tests can be claim under the medical card.
GE-DavidK
post May 22 2020, 03:35 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(linkham @ May 22 2020, 02:02 PM)
Hi everyone,

This is my first time postion on this session of the forum.
I am 29 year old, married with a kid.

i am saving around 4k/monthly after deducting all my monthly expenses including current Life Insurance, PA, and Medical+Life.

Below are the premium I'm paying and coverage I'm getting.

AIA -Anniversary P.A --> Yearly Premium : RM 1060 -> Coverage : RM 1mil Death/Dismemberment

AIA -Medical+Life --> Monthly Premium : RM 330 --> Annual Limit RM 1mil, No Lifetime Limit, Death Benefit Rm100k+Fund value & Bonus

Allianz PremierLink --> Monthly Premium : RM 1.5k -->Sum Assured RM 2.1mil

Recently my AIA agent came to me with A-life Wealth Care plan to increase my savings and at the same time provide protection for my family upon my death.
She said with a monthly premium of RM 700, the sum assured will be around RM 1mil.

I wanted to know is there any other insurance company with similar plan for me to compare before I make a decision.
AIA's A-Life Wealth Care is an investment-linked plan. You need to check whether your agent quoted is based on age 70, 80 or 100 coverage which will affect the premium. The "savings" inside any investment-linked plan is used to pay off rising insurance charges in the future. Which means that the savings or cash value will deplete on its own when the insurance charges is higher than the return on investment.

If you plan to withdraw the cash value, it basically means that you are spending future money so technically it is not really savings. Make sure that waiver is included in the policy as well so when you are diagnosed with critical illness, you do not have to pay for the premium anymore (until the coverage ends).

When do you need life insurance?
1. If your family relies on you for the lifestyle they are living (including children for their future education).
2. You have debt (house mortgages and other loans)
3. You have a high-risk job
4. You want to build an inheritance for your family

Considering you currently have 3.2 million life insurance (1 mil + 100k + 2.1 mil), you may consider adding critical illness coverage which will pay you cash lump sum if you are diagnosed with critical illness. You can consider similar plans like SmartProtect Legacy Max from Great Eastern.

GE-DavidK
post May 22 2020, 07:27 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(rodeon @ May 22 2020, 05:52 PM)
Hi, Jiansheng Teh

I'd like to apply MLTA insurance to cover my house loan. I looking for some advice.

1. is the term MLTA useful?
2. long term MLTA suggested? (equal to House loan term)
3. what are the key areas I should focus in MLTA?
4. Are the returns are guaranteed at least 90% of proposed?

Thanks for the assistance
1. MLTA is very similar to traditional life insurance.

Main features of MLTA:
- Policyholder is protected against death/TPD as well as coverage for critical illnesses.
- Sum assured does not decrease overtime unlike MRTA.
- A portion of the premium goes to investment which can be withdrawn anytime.
- Transferable whereas MRTA is non-transferable and stick to the original property purchase.
- MLTA's beneficiary is you whereas MRTA's beneficiary is bank

Because of these extra coverages, MLTA's premium tend to be higher than MRTA.

2. Depending on your needs. You can have the MLTA designed for whole life or just for a period of 20 years.

3. Add critical illness coverage and waiver rider. Ensure that policy sustainability can last for the period of coverage.

4. Returns are not guaranteed. 90% of proposed is relatively on the high side. You or your agent should monitor your funds in the insurance policy and advise you accordingly on when to switch funds based on market performance.

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 22 2020, 07:28 PM
GE-DavidK
post May 23 2020, 04:14 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(linkham @ May 23 2020, 03:19 PM)
Hi David,
Like you stated above, i am thinking of saving plan comes with life insurance to build inheritance for my family. Even if i were to diagnosed with critical illness and had to quit my job for some months/years, i should be able to continue with current lifestyle and provide food for my family at least till i get back on my feet or my death
Hi Ck,

I want to accumulate wealth more and at the same time increase protection for my family in case I’m gone
Hi Cyclopes,
I am want it to be an addition and surely not for replacment.
I think your goals are pretty clear. In your policies mentioned earlier, you might need more critical illness coverage to achieve the complete protection you need. 5 years of income replacement or 300k critical illness (assuming monthly expenses: 5k) is a good start.
GE-DavidK
post May 25 2020, 12:38 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(irving @ May 23 2020, 11:28 PM)
Hi there,

I am looking for Medical insurance for my dad.

Was quoted approx. RM8.3k with Life/TPD from Great Eastern. 990k annual limit with no lifetime limit. We didnt get to execute that because of MCO and his birthday just passed on May 2. Upon renewing the quote after his birthday(my dad is 65 this year) it has now risen to approx. RM13k annually which is a huge jump.

Life insurance/TPD is optional for me, medical is the priority. GE agent has quote me again approx. RM6k annually for medical only with the same 990k annual limit, no lifetime limit.

However seems that GE has the most negative claim experience so I am looking for options. Please PM!

Using the information provided and only quoting for medical only, you can get a much lower premium. Maybe your agent quoted some life and CI coverage for your father as well.

QUOTE(irving @ May 25 2020, 12:02 AM)
Just doing some simple search on the forums:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...l=great+eastern

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3123872/+100
I dont mean to undermine any GE agents just basing my opinion on what i've read. GE name seems to be coming up more than most
I am with Allianz now but my agent recently quit. So any Allianz agents out there do drop a PM please
GE claims have been ok for my clients as well so far. It's unfortunate that there are agents out there who are unaware of the fine prints before explaining to their clients. Non-invasive keyhole surgery or angioplasty is a common knowledge and only entitled for 10% of the critical illness coverage. As for the hospital bills such as surgeries and treatment costs incurred, it will be fully paid out.

QUOTE(jaredtay1994 @ May 25 2020, 10:45 AM)
Hi all, I am planning to get a life insurance with savings plan to maximise my tax relief. My friend recommended Great Eastern Flexi Plus. Do you guyz think it’s a good plan? Is there a better alternative? Thank you
Depends on what is your objective. You will need to pay for 20 years for Great Flexi Plus and the maturity is 30 years. You may consider Great Flexi Wealth which you can choose to pay for 5 or 10 years and maturity is 20 years.

Savings plan is good for:
1. Disciplined force savings
2. Low risk investment
3. Life insurance protection for accidental coverage

QUOTE(responsible poster @ May 25 2020, 12:10 PM)
hi guys, for life insurance i realised that the total payout is much cheaper for a 5 year plan instead of a 20-30 year old plan.

for example the yearly pay is higher on 5 years for example RM10k for 500k coverage, but RM4k for 20 years. however 10k for 5 years is only RM50k, while RM4k for 20 years is RM80k.

is it actually much more beneficial to get a shorter payment term?
Let me rephrase your statement to make it easier to understand:

Life: 500k
Payment Term: 5 Years
Annual Premium: 10k

Life: 500k
Payment Term: 20 Years
Annual Premium: 2k

Yes, you are correct. The shorter the payment term, the lower the premium is. This is because of the investment capital is larger in the first few years while the insurance charges is still low. Hence, the return on investment can cover for the sustainability of the policy. This is assuming the investment performance is up to benchmark. The waiver rider cost for a shorter payment term is lower as well, therefore the premium is cheaper for a shorter premium term.

This post has been edited by GE-DavidK: May 25 2020, 12:40 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1354sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:16 AM