Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

adele123
post Oct 16 2020, 06:39 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 16 2020, 12:15 AM)
it seems allianz is good

I have MANULINK PRIME @80 which I pay 240 a month. Thinking to surrender this and buy the stand alone one.
The general advice is think 3 times before surrendering current policy.

It's usually not advantageous to buy new and surrender old ones. unless you buy online, sure, no commission then, you can change every year.

If buy via agent, initial expense is highest in the earliest years. when you buy a new policy, you incur the expense again.

medical card waiting period should be 30 days and 120 days. 30 days for most illness, 120 days for specific illnesses, you can lookup your contract.

but point here is dont simply surrender in the first place.

jack2
post Oct 16 2020, 07:24 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 16 2020, 06:29 PM)
ok. from what you mentioned in a few posts before this, you are paying RM240/month for Manulink Prime @ 80. there is only Life Insurance 3,900 and PA 5,000 and medical card MHEB150 right? not really many benefits i will say. at what age that you apply for this plan? if you were to apply a new one, perhaps you can also think of risk planning on life/CI insurance (if you want it).
Perhaps agencies from the so called the best insurance companies can propose me with their best plan with best value.
ckdenion
post Oct 17 2020, 01:26 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 16 2020, 07:24 PM)
Perhaps agencies from the so called the best insurance companies can propose me with their best plan with best value.
main reason why I don't recommend you to surrender that policy is because of its 100% allocation even from the 1st year of the policy. unless it is a super obsolete medical plan. if you are looking to top up your life insurance and CI coverage, you can top up to that plan. smile.gif
jack2
post Oct 17 2020, 02:33 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 17 2020, 01:26 PM)
main reason why I don't recommend you to surrender that policy is because of its 100% allocation even from the 1st year of the policy. unless it is a super obsolete medical plan. if you are looking to top up your life insurance and CI coverage, you can top up to that plan. smile.gif
I opted to pay monthly. So wasted.some.money is ok in order to exchange better value product
lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 02:53 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 17 2020, 02:33 PM)
I opted to pay monthly. So wasted.some.money is ok in order to exchange better value product
I wouldn't say it's wasted, could be viewed as cutting losses sometimes.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Oct 22 2020, 01:56 PM
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 05:33 PM

49 posts

Hi Sifu, my wife is looking for a upgrade from her existing insurance.

Her existing insurance is from Prudential as below:
Death Benefits - RM20K
Crisis Shield Plus - RM30K
Accidental Death & Disablement - RM50K
Accident Medical Reimbursement - RM2K

PHL 150:
- R&B - 150
- Annual Limit: RM62,500
- Lifetime Limit: RM625,000
- Term of Coverage: 70 years old

Total Monthly Premium: RM210.78
Total Annual Premium: RM2,529.36

I would like to know your opinions on both of these policies:

37F non-smoker Class 1

Prudential -
Death and Disability - RM50K
Crisis Shield Plus - RM50K
Accident Death and Disablement - RM50K

PRUmillion med 200:
- R&B - 200 (Deductible: RM300)
- Annual Limit: 1.38 mil
- Lifetime Limit: no limit
- Term of Coverage: 80 years old

Total Monthly Premium: RM320
Total Annual Premium: RM3,840

Allianz
Life/TPD - RM50K
Critcal Illness - RM50K (Covered 77 Critical Illness)
Personal Accident - RM50K

Medical Card : Plan 200
- R&B - 200
- Annual Limit: 1.5 mil
- Term of Coverage: 100 years old
Waiver of Premium: Yes

Total Monthly Premium: RM300
Total Annual Premium: RM3,600

This post has been edited by kienloon: Oct 17 2020, 05:34 PM
lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 05:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 05:33 PM)
Hi Sifu, my wife is looking for a upgrade from her existing insurance.

Her existing insurance is from Prudential as below:
Death Benefits - RM20K
Crisis Shield Plus - RM30K
Accidental Death & Disablement - RM50K

PHL 150:
- R&B - 150
- Annual Limit: RM62,500
- Lifetime Limit: RM625,000
- Term of Coverage: 70 years old

Total Monthly Premium: RM210.78
Total Annual Premium: RM2,529.36

I would like to know your opinions on both of these policies:

37F non-smoker Class 1

Prudential -
Death and Disability - RM50K
Crisis Shield Plus - RM50K
Accident Death and Disablement - RM50K

PRUmillion med 200:
- R&B - 200 (Deductible: RM300)
- Annual Limit: 1.38 mil
- Term of Coverage: 80 years old

Total Monthly Premium: RM320
Total Annual Premium: RM3,840

Allianz
Life/TPD - RM50K
Critcal Illness - RM50K (Covered 77 Critical Illness)
Personal Accident - RM50K

Medical Card : Plan 200
- R&B - 200
- Annual Limit: 1.5 mil
- Term of Coverage: 100 years old
Waiver of Premium: Yes

Total Monthly Premium: RM300
Total Annual Premium: RM3,600

What's your consideration?
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 06:06 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 17 2020, 05:45 PM)
What's your consideration?
I am looking to upgrade to 1mil Annual Limit & lifetime no limit.
But Prudential only cover up to 80 years old, is it enough?
And then I don't know the sustainability, normally how many years?
ckdenion
post Oct 17 2020, 06:08 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 05:33 PM)
hi kienloon, just need to make sure both plans with such coverage can reach up to at least 80 years old. check the sustainability clause in the proposal illustration. both plans are very similar in terms of benefits. which is your pick?
lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 06:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 06:06 PM)
I am looking to upgrade to 1mil Annual Limit & lifetime no limit.
But Prudential only cover up to 80 years old, is it enough?
And then I don't know the sustainability, normally how many years?
I don't think the Allianz policy is term until 100 for that premium, so check again on the terms from the agent.

With that being said, Pru should be cheaper after the adjustments.

As for until 80, it's more than sufficient. Just top up in the future if you feel that it's not enough
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 06:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 17 2020, 06:08 PM)
hi kienloon, just need to make sure both plans with such coverage can reach up to at least 80 years old. check the sustainability clause in the proposal illustration. both plans are very similar in terms of benefits. which is your pick?
Medical card cover up to 80 years old is enough? I saw some cover up to 90 years old and 100 years old.
If I upgrade from Prudential is it no need to pay both premium for a year?
lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 06:16 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 06:13 PM)
Medical card cover up to 80 years old is enough? I saw some cover up to 90 years old and 100 years old.
Prudential policy can be until 100 years as well. What I'm talking about is the premium payable and sustainability of the policy.

The term of coverage is until 100, but the premium you're paying at 300 can only last you until 80 years old. It'll be triple the amount if you want to really last till 100
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 06:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 17 2020, 06:16 PM)
Prudential policy can be until 100 years as well. What I'm talking about is the premium payable and sustainability of the policy.

The term of coverage is until 100, but the premium you're paying at 300 can only last you until 80 years old. It'll be triple the amount if you want to really last till 100
Oooh, Allianz agent told me the sustainability of the policy (RM300) is until 63 years old. After that might need to top-up premium.
But when we asked Prudential, he says can last until 80 years old no need to top up which I quite doubt.

Since both policies are similar, is it more advisable to go for the same provider to avoid paying both providers for a year?

lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 06:38 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 06:34 PM)
Oooh, Allianz agent told me the sustainability of the policy (RM300) is until 63 years old. After that might need to top-up premium.
But when we asked Prudential, he says can last until 80 years old no need to top up which I quite doubt.

Since both policies are similar, is it more advisable to go for the same provider to avoid paying both providers for a year?
Already told you Allianz won't be so cheap. Cause I sell both of this companies I know.

If you're comparing on price paid for benefits, Prudential will be cheaper unless you're willing to fork out the extra premium for it.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Oct 17 2020, 06:39 PM
Cyclopes
post Oct 17 2020, 06:46 PM

474 posts

Coverage will be till Age 100 for most policies, but some only wants coverage sustain to a lower age, example Age 80.

I believe all upgrades will require premium from Day 1, just than some insurer may have promotions, which can be premium free for X months.
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 06:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 17 2020, 06:38 PM)
Already told you Allianz won't be so cheap. Cause I sell both of this companies I know.

If you're comparing on price paid for benefits, Prudential will be cheaper unless you're willing to fork out the extra premium for it.
Like that I will just upgrading Prudential for policy RM320 based on your advise, thanks.
lifebalance
post Oct 17 2020, 06:57 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 06:55 PM)
Like that I will just upgrading Prudential for policy RM320 based on your advise, thanks.
Cheers you're welcome
ckdenion
post Oct 17 2020, 06:59 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

yea, so you need to differentiate between coverage term and sustainability. medical card now mostly has coverage until 100 years old but the plan may not be able to sustain up to xx years old. so check the proposal illustration to be safe.
kienloon
post Oct 17 2020, 07:17 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 17 2020, 06:59 PM)
yea, so you need to differentiate between coverage term and sustainability. medical card now mostly has coverage until 100 years old but the plan may not be able to sustain up to xx years old. so check the proposal illustration to be safe.
Thank, I will check with the agent again.
adele123
post Oct 18 2020, 12:40 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 16 2020, 06:39 PM)
The general advice is think 3 times before surrendering current policy.

It's usually not advantageous to buy new and surrender old ones. unless you buy online, sure, no commission then, you can change every year.

If buy via agent, initial expense is highest in the earliest years. when you buy a new policy, you incur the expense again.

but point here is dont simply surrender in the first place.
QUOTE(kienloon @ Oct 17 2020, 07:17 PM)
Thank, I will check with the agent again.
Bolded the important statement for your own benefit.

Try checking if there are other ways to upgrade on your existing policy before you jump to buying a new policy

126 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:06 PM