DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here
raymannlucas
Sep 21 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 17 2007, 02:15 PM) Hi, mhave anybody experience their 1520 hang before? seems like i get it yesterday, was running some program and suddenly, hang Was shock to see this because for the last few weeks never experience hang before. so far so good....
raymannlucas
Oct 1 2007, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(terng~n~o_mania @ Oct 1 2007, 01:00 AM) can anyone help me with this? i guess u need to refer back to dell technician...im sure they will help u with this... Added on October 1, 2007, 12:16 pmguys! speedfan works fine on our lappy... This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Oct 1 2007, 12:16 PM
raymannlucas
Oct 2 2007, 11:53 PM
agreed....
raymannlucas
Oct 4 2007, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 4 2007, 01:31 PM) i'm planing to buy 1 of this Dell 1520 model soon, all model 1520 comes with 2.0MP camera right? and if run vista, wny problems so far? first i find it annoying using vista...the grapical thingy eats up alot of ur memory...now u can configure with windows xp...choose xp first dude...or, u purchase with vista then uninstall it and install xp urself...wait for the sp only u reconsider using vista back...so far im using windows xp without any problem...all the drivers u need is available for download already...thats my point of view u can take as reference...
raymannlucas
Oct 5 2007, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 5 2007, 07:01 AM) I oredy got a Dell 9400 using vista so kinda used to it alredy.. coz both model im taking are going to be having 2gb rams. should be enough to cure the lags. Uninstall vista and install XP  If compare 7900GS and 8600GT GC.. which has better performance on a laptop..? of coz the 8600GT...i scored 4000 in 3dmarks06...thats quite impressive..i play nfs carbon is maximum gc setting without any lagging...going to try lineage with full maximum setting as well...i just have to love this shit...  Added on October 5, 2007, 2:14 pmQUOTE(kingmax @ Oct 5 2007, 02:02 PM) 1730 SLI graphic card is upgradable whist 1520 is not if I am correct. Try not to waste getting a 8800GTS for 1k.Suggest buying a Dell M1730 which can score about 8000 on 3dmark 2006.As you know , when Nvidia comes out SLI 8800M you can upgrade it. XPS M1730 can sore 8000 in 3dmarks06? thats impressive...but its kinda pricey....rm8K plus man.....8K......better use hal of it to built a superb desktop and use half of it to buy inspiron1520.... This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Oct 5 2007, 02:14 PM
raymannlucas
Oct 14 2007, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 14 2007, 02:16 PM) and i wanna ask.. all 1520 comes with the remote control hah..? I ordered 1 1520 already from ahchew (bought my 9400 from him also).. with 4gb rams..  depends on dells promotion...ahchew dell store i dunno got or not...u shud ask him instead of us tough...LMAO!! 4GB of ram? how much? may i know the complete detail of the spec? This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Oct 14 2007, 05:12 PM
raymannlucas
Oct 15 2007, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 15 2007, 04:16 PM) rm4400 with that spec is good...including the 3 years complete cover and delivery charge? rm5K
raymannlucas
Oct 22 2007, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(Hayumi @ Oct 20 2007, 11:46 PM) Thanks for the info XD Will call them up on monday >.< just tell them u need the laptop very urgently...they will speed up the delivery...but it depends on where u live also...all dells product ship from either butterworth dell or penang dell...not sure...  Added on October 22, 2007, 11:35 pmQUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 16 2007, 06:29 AM) dear all 1520 users, do u find the keyboard is easily tainted due to its white color? ? white colour keyboard? bro...dun get what u mean here... This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Oct 22 2007, 11:35 PM
raymannlucas
Oct 23 2007, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(melnikor @ Oct 23 2007, 01:00 AM) just got my 1520, brown color benchmark 3dmark06 = 3261 normal screen, not true life. mind to share with us the spec u configured?
raymannlucas
Oct 24 2007, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(melnikor @ Oct 23 2007, 03:35 PM) Intel(R) Core(tm)2 Duo Processor T7300 2.0 GHz (800 FSB/4Mb Cache) 2GB (2 X 1024MB) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 RAM 15.4" Widescreen WXGA (1280x800) Display NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 256MB GDDR2 Dedicated Graphic Memory Integrated Stereo Sound 160GB SATA 5400RPM Hard Disk DVD+/-RW Burner 9-cell Primary Batt Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit Brown Color Kit with A/V Communication Package and 2.0 megapixel webcam now formating to xp is it ok 3261? btw, when put earphone given by dell, really got wind sound. Added on October 23, 2007, 4:45 pmget 3421 with xp i got 3999 3dbenchmark06....using win xp....same spec with u accept the hdd....
raymannlucas
Oct 25 2007, 03:13 AM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:08 PM) er then you can help us on DFO? hopefully he is willing to help us out...dell long term customer here....muahahha
raymannlucas
Oct 27 2007, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(zadan @ Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM) just got my 1520 inspiron sunshine yellow. so far owning this laptop feels like not owning one....1st time boot up hang, many times boot still hang,reinstalled windows vista my self, i installed Dirt cannot play, installed my NFS carbon cannot play, still got crash. today very very fedup i reformatted the laptop and reinstalled everything again. so far the performance...still my P4 out performs it. i have no idea why is it like this. is this normal for this spec? C2D 2.0ghz 2gb Ram 8600gt vista home premium anyway how come the video driver detects as standard video card?not 8600gt? not happy with this lappy currently. can anyone help? dont blame dell...i face the same problem with u when using vista...after i installed win xp, no more such problem exist...all the games u mentioned above, i did tried on vista, succesfully installed and get to play, but not more than 15 mins, it hanged and i have to turn off by pressing the turn off button 3 seconds...give up on vista, and i installed only windows xp...it works until now...and i think u got the same spec with me though....it shudnt be a problem if u use windows xp... u shud have a driver cd with u...try uninstall the standard driver video card driver as u said...reinstall the chipset driver first only u install the video card...thats the weird procedure doing it...thats what i found out...
raymannlucas
Nov 7 2007, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 28 2007, 01:01 PM) is there sumthing wrong with my 3dmark setting..? 3208 points only for my 8600gt..   i dunno whether ur bencmark setting is right or not...but i get 3429 for my 3d benchmark....makesure ur plug in ur adapter before testing ur 3d benchmark....erm....if can close all the application and set all the setting for performance. i think u can increase ur 3d mark...
raymannlucas
Nov 22 2007, 03:47 PM
i believe 1520 handles every games in the market....for such spec for this laptop, it supposed to be bulky ler...but the size to me still alright...i dun carry it to shopping though...
raymannlucas
Jan 12 2008, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(ych @ Jan 3 2008, 09:17 PM) hey, guys, the current promotion 4 this laptop is free upgrade 2 160Gb hard drive n free Targus USB Wireless Mouse. Is this promotion gd enuf? i wan 2 buy this laptop at better promotion. wait for CNY dude...i believe the promotion would be way better...but depends on ur needs of the upgrades la... this lappy is superb...opt for windows xp...goodluck...
raymannlucas
Jan 15 2008, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 12 2008, 11:00 PM) plan too.. er.. the TS kinda inactive ler.. need update more stuff on the 1st post lo.. TS busying with his 1520....
raymannlucas
Jan 22 2008, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(calvintan1985 @ Jan 21 2008, 01:22 AM) Any1 got problem on wireless for Inspiron 1520? After been used the vista 1 month. My pc keep restore back previous. Before that, using xp so far not problem to me. But recently, I install program such as CCleaner. After that, dunno why my laptop always on start up loading very slow somemore keep prompt up the window closing program. "Intel Proset/Wireless Registry Services" Recently always happen on the start up. What should I need to do?  Added on January 21, 2008, 10:14 ambut i sure the file is named "RegSrvc.exe" got problem do u install any spyware or adware scanner? i suspect ur lappy infected by those spam ads...or maybe cc cleaner? vista is quite not compatible with ccleaner...use back xp bro...
raymannlucas
Jan 24 2008, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(edrush @ Jan 23 2008, 06:17 AM) hi guys.. My boss looking for a SECOND HAND Dell Inspiron 1520, any colours will do.. in Windows Vista only. Need it As Soon As Possible. If you guys have one, we can meet-up at my office (near Tesco puchong) during office hours. He need to see the LAPTOP conditions first before he decide to buy in CASH Anything please contact my number 012-223 7437 (9am-11pm) or office no: 03-5882 0972/0973 during office hours. Thx Eddy ahhhh.....ask him to buy online ler...
raymannlucas
Jan 28 2008, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 24 2008, 11:59 PM) my laptop seldom shut down.. will try it la.. thanks a lot man.. try it tomolo see it works or not.. @alexnvidia.. im using black colour 1520 as well. do we need to download new drivers to enable to use the simcard slot..? sim card slot is for the new generation wifi system...im not sure whether u can use maxis or digi sim card to read that or not..i assume a NO...
raymannlucas
Feb 12 2008, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jan 31 2008, 06:02 AM) by the way, i dont mean to brag, but i got 4768 score in 3DMARK06 in 1280x800 resolution and all default settings.  my system is basically same as yours, the only difference is i have 320GB HDD. anyway, try tweaking and discover how much more your inspiron can deliver. lower processor and hdd speed..i get higher than that also... Added on February 12, 2008, 12:59 pmQUOTE(HouHouSek @ Feb 1 2008, 08:51 AM) Thx alex  . Hmm i didnt tell u that actually the 3rd day i received my laptop it kena lightning strike so my network card rosak. That time feel so down, ask y god wan punish me lidat 3rd day playing with my new lappie oni kena lightning strike liao Luckily called Dell up, they happily replaced my mobo for me bcoz my network card is integrated. They actually brought a freaking brand new inspiron 1520 for me in case my laptop is unsaveable Thank god my lappie is dell  . God bless me  actually u can request for a new laptop replacement...too bad they just change the mobo for u....if im u,i would ask them to replace a new one... This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Feb 12 2008, 12:59 PM