Just upgraded to 300mbps unifi, Need sifus advise on best router to get

TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM, updated 6y ago

319 posts

Hi dear sifus, so I just upgraded to 300mbps, any recommendation for which router to get in the market besides this 2 for best gaming experience with minimum lag or dc..

Currently I’m using this 2 router which is given to me by Abang tm, one is when I’m using 100mbps, another is when I upgraded to 300mpbs.

Thanks sifus!

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 12:56 PM
GOPI56
post Feb 19 2020, 12:41 PM

1,494 posts

Use the Tp-Link one, the Unifi one sucks.
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Feb 19 2020, 12:41 PM)
Use the Tp-Link one, the Unifi one sucks.
Besides this 2 modem any other good modem you recommended? I saw in the market keep advertising this Asus rog gt- ax11000 but too expensive for me...
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM

319 posts

Sorry double post

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM
slaveone
post Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM

1,230 posts

read this thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096
GOPI56
post Feb 19 2020, 12:47 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 01:43 PM)
Sorry double post
I would recommend Asus brand personally, their firmware is stable and they provides firmware updates for years. The model depends on your budget.

For 300Mbps I would recommend, Asus RT-AC58U and Asus RT-AC1300UHP
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Feb 19 2020, 12:44 PM)
Thanks bro
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

thats a router not modem.

go for Asus AC68 or AC86 or AC88
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 12:58 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 19 2020, 12:50 PM)
thats a router not modem.

go for Asus AC68 or AC86 or AC8
Ahh my mistake, just edited.. cuz My room is far. That’s why would prefer something with good beamforming.
Auentura
post Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM

33 posts

TL-WR941HP

i use this , stable yes. But still not reach my expectation of range. Attached toilet in room still not enough strong signal
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 01:21 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Auentura @ Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM)
TL-WR941HP

i use this , stable yes. But still not reach my expectation of range. Attached toilet in room still not enough strong signal
Hmm.. hmm.gif gaming wise acceptable?
blacktubi
post Feb 19 2020, 01:48 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(Auentura @ Feb 19 2020, 01:02 PM)
TL-WR941HP

sweat.gif

Are you suggesting a Wireless N router for a 300Mbps user?
zwanvedder
post Feb 19 2020, 02:25 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

how much u pay for 300mbps now TS?

1mr3tard3d
post Feb 19 2020, 02:33 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:58 PM)
Ahh my mistake, just edited.. cuz My room is far. That’s why would prefer something with good beamforming.
well, the archer c1200 also supports beamforming
no comment without speed test result
if long distance/hard penetration, you will end up using 2.4GHz anyway

what are you using on the other end (network adapter/pcie)?

you should also mention your budget cause you could try Asus AiMesh, etc
sHawTY
post Feb 19 2020, 02:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

ASUS RT-AC86U or ASUS RT-AX88U
Jjuggler
post Feb 19 2020, 03:04 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM)
Hi dear sifus, so I just upgraded to 300mbps, any recommendation for which router to get in the market besides this 2 for best gaming experience with minimum lag or dc..

Currently I’m using this 2 router which is given to me by Abang tm, one is when I’m using 100mbps, another is when I upgraded to 300mpbs.
Thanks sifus!

The archer c1200 certainly better than the Netis but not good enough, yet. If you're committed to use a router for long term, pick ASUS. Their routers may be pricey locally, but it is worth because you can always get firmware upgrades (if you don't familiar with firmware word, firmware = software in general term for non-tech enthusiasts). If you're following the trend, lets say migrating from Wi-Fi 5 (AC) routers to Wi-Fi 6 (AX) routers then after four years switch to Wi-Fi 7 (BE) routers, then pick TP-LINK. They're famous for giving a good farewell to their premium models after two years of launch. Some even lasted until a year. Example, C3150v1 & v2. TP-LINK focusing more on their new ax line-up models, comparing to ASUS, their AC routers still getting firmware upgrades. Well, you get for what you paid for.
misspinky
post Feb 19 2020, 04:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 01:43 PM)
Besides this 2 modem any other good modem you recommended? I saw in the market keep advertising this Asus rog gt- ax11000 but too expensive for me...
If you are running out of budget right now and still collecting the money, you can use that tp-link, all of us suggest not recommended you to use that router for permanent or long terms usage. Bare in mind if that router not come with tm logo, you can directly upgrade the firmware. First, just make sure check your router version, if V1 just upgrade with V1 only. If come with tm logo, you can try to upgrade directly, if failed you need to make recovery mode first then you can upgrade the firmware. Indeed, Asus are the best so far when it's come for consumer router, even though it's expensive but its come many features given and long term support especially firmware whether you use back dated router or latest model of router. if you not considering warranty one, you can get asus router from someone that don't want use that router anymore with good price given because some of them really like upgrading to latest router.

C1200 firmware V1-V3 Malaysia
tp-link recovery mode
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 04:43 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM)

Thanks sifus!

TP-Link AC1200 is better because my office is here is using this router now. However, this router max only can reach 300mbps on wifi 5GHz (Unifi 500mbps). Coverage is not bad, probably office here all the wall are made by wood. That's why I still can get good reception even the router is placed in front of office.

Me myself sure won't use this TP-Link router, my home for me personal, I was upgraded mine to RT-AC86U.

This post has been edited by junclj: Feb 19 2020, 05:08 PM
QuantumEdge
post Feb 19 2020, 05:30 PM

1,592 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Feb 19 2020, 02:25 PM)
Now should be RM199+6%,basically RM210
Just asked authorized seller today, no more 159 with tv...
Only 199,189,129,89 are available
arefiq09
post Feb 19 2020, 05:33 PM

102 posts

Get ASUS RT-AC86U
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:02 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Feb 19 2020, 02:25 PM)
199 including iptv, but they say the iptv run out of stock so they only charge me 138 per month until they install the iptv at my house biggrin.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:20 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 19 2020, 03:04 PM)
The archer c1200 certainly better than the Netis but not good enough, yet. If you're committed to use a router for long term, pick ASUS. Their routers may be pricey locally, but it is worth because you can always get firmware upgrades (if you don't familiar with firmware word, firmware = software in general term for non-tech enthusiasts). If you're following the trend, lets say migrating from Wi-Fi 5 (AC) routers to Wi-Fi 6 (AX) routers then after four years switch to Wi-Fi 7 (BE) routers, then pick TP-LINK. They're famous for giving a good farewell to their premium models after two years of launch. Some even lasted until a year. Example, C3150v1 & v2. TP-LINK focusing more on their new ax line-up models, comparing to ASUS, their AC routers still getting firmware upgrades. Well, you get for what you paid for.
Sorry but what you meant by following the trend? As in changing routers or firmware? hmm.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:24 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Feb 19 2020, 02:33 PM)
well, the archer c1200 also supports beamforming
no comment without speed test result
if long distance/hard penetration, you will end up using 2.4GHz anyway

what are you using on the other end (network adapter/pcie)?

you should also mention your budget cause you could try Asus AiMesh, etc
Budget around 600-900.. don’t mind stretching if the router is good! Using handphone but desktop coming soon.. the router is beside my room, but somehow I’m only able to receive 60-70mbps, if standing beside my router I can’t even get 300mbps... do I need to call tm to check my speed?
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:25 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 19 2020, 02:34 PM)
ASUS RT-AC86U or ASUS RT-AX88U
Hmm.. seems like a lot of ppl recommending 86.. you yourself using which?
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:27 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(arefiq09 @ Feb 19 2020, 05:33 PM)
Get ASUS RT-AC86U
How bout the gt version? For eg. The gt-ac2900?
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 07:57 PM

319 posts

Sad.. standing next to my router also this speed.. alone at home watching YouTube at 1080 also lag.. is this normal?

junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 08:05 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:27 PM)
This one is too expensive for me, RT-AC86U is more than enough for my 500mbps. I just bought the China set for RM600 only. I bought 2 units and set aimesh. 2 units RT-AC86U vs 1 unit GT-AC2900. So you think which one has wider wifi coverage.
sHawTY
post Feb 19 2020, 08:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:25 PM)
Hmm.. seems like a lot of ppl recommending 86.. you yourself using which?
Previously using RT-AC86U but now I'm using GT-AC5300
Waiting for RT-AX86U will switch to it once it's released
QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:27 PM)
Trust me, you don't need the GT-AC2900, it's exactly the same with RT-AC86U but with some RGB LEDs & some game latency booster built-into the firmware
sHawTY
post Feb 19 2020, 08:13 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:57 PM)
Sad.. standing next to my router also this speed.. alone at home watching YouTube at 1080 also lag.. is this normal?
Set the 5GHz bandwidth to run at 80MHz so you can get full 300Mb/s
Do not let it run at auto or 20MHz / 40MHz
Jjuggler
post Feb 19 2020, 08:58 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:20 PM)
Sorry but what you meant by following the trend? As in changing routers or firmware?  hmm.gif
Routers. Routers is a type of investment to secure your home from cybercriminals. Cheaper brands do offer a router with good hardware, but limited support (usually range in between 1 to 2 year). Most of the forumers here ditch out those two brands and invest more in buying ASUS router. Means, for the next 7 to 8 years, you will receive updates every month, sometime four intervals in the year.
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 10:58 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Feb 19 2020, 08:05 PM)
This one is too expensive for me, RT-AC86U is more than enough for my 500mbps. I just bought the China set for RM600 only. I bought 2 units and set aimesh. 2 units RT-AC86U vs 1 unit GT-AC2900. So you think which one has wider wifi coverage.
So putting 2 units across your home connected to each other to increase the coverage? Hmm hmm.gif and what is aimesh sorry for asking..

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 10:58 PM
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 11:00 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 19 2020, 08:11 PM)
Previously using RT-AC86U but now I'm using GT-AC5300
Waiting for RT-AX86U will switch to it once it's released
Trust me, you don't need the GT-AC2900, it's exactly the same with RT-AC86U but with some RGB LEDs & some game latency booster built-into the firmware
So 86 ftw.. But haven’t release yet? And price wise? What’s the difference between ac and ax version?

This post has been edited by Grayson: Feb 19 2020, 11:20 PM
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 11:01 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 19 2020, 08:13 PM)
Sorry for asking this but how do I do it? Through the IP address setting?
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 11:02 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 19 2020, 08:58 PM)
Routers. Routers is a type of investment to secure your home from cybercriminals. Cheaper brands do offer a router with good hardware, but limited support (usually range in between 1 to 2 year). Most of the forumers here ditch out those two brands and invest more in buying ASUS router. Means, for the next 7 to 8 years, you will receive updates every month, sometime four intervals in the year.
I see.. how do we update it? Through ip adress? Thanks sifu
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 11:31 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:00 PM)
So 86 ftw.. But haven’t release yet? And price wise? What’s the difference between ac and ax version?
this is the rumor design of RT-AX86U from CES 2020
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 11:33 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:01 PM)
Sorry for asking this but how do I do it? Through the IP address setting?
It is a wireless settings inside the router
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 11:35 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:02 PM)
Just click the check button
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 11:38 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 10:58 PM)
So putting 2 units across your home connected to each other to increase the coverage? Hmm hmm.gif and what is aimesh sorry for asking..
Simple explanation about aimesh

TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 11:56 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Feb 19 2020, 11:33 PM)
It is a wireless settings inside the router
Should I just type my ip adress to go inside this website or?.. thanks
TSGrayson
post Feb 19 2020, 11:56 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Feb 19 2020, 11:38 PM)
Simple explanation about aimesh

Thanks, looking into it now wink.gif
junclj
post Feb 19 2020, 11:59 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:56 PM)
Should I just type my ip adress to go inside this website or?.. thanks
once you get your router, you need to type 192.168.1.1 or http://router.asus.com on the web browser.
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 12:07 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Feb 19 2020, 11:59 PM)
once you get your router, you need to type 192.168.1.1 or http://router.asus.com on the web browser.
I haven’t bought my Asus router yet, now using to-link c1200.. one sifu advise me to change to 80mhz..
Jjuggler
post Feb 20 2020, 06:31 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:02 PM)
Brother junclj has shown the method. You don't really have to go to ASUS's official site to check if any latest firmware is issued to your router as you can do this by logging in to your router to check it. But, you have to be diligent to always check if there is any firmware issued twice in a month. biggrin.gif

TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 10:33 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 20 2020, 06:31 AM)
Brother junclj has shown the method. You don't really have to go to ASUS's official site to check if any latest firmware is issued to your router as you can do this by logging in to your router to check it. But, you have to be diligent to always check if there is any firmware issued twice in a month.  biggrin.gif

Cool! biggrin.gif thanks for the info bro.. do you know how to change the mhz for tp-link router?
Zot
post Feb 20 2020, 10:40 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM)
No need to go AX. Last time the GT-AC5300 was near to 2k now cheaper already. That's for gamer. RT-AC5300 is sufficient.

Budget?
1mr3tard3d
post Feb 20 2020, 10:43 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:24 PM)
Budget around 600-900.. don’t mind stretching if the router is good!  Using handphone but desktop coming soon.. the router is beside my room, but somehow I’m only able to receive 60-70mbps, if standing beside my router I can’t even get 300mbps... do I need to call tm to check my speed?
If your router is beside your room, using lan cable will get you 300Mbps almost guaranteed, and you can save the money
Emm...did the TM employees configure the AC1200 for you?
sometimes restart will work
do you store the router in a cabinet?
I assume you connected to 5GHz while doing the speed test
but 100Mbps is enough for 1080p streaming

type 192.168.0.1 in your browser
default password: admin/blank
go to advance, wireless settings, 5GHz

Zot
post Feb 20 2020, 10:56 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 11:00 PM)
The 802.11ax is designed to operate in all ISM bands between 1 and 6 GHz when they become available for 802.11 use, in addition to the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands already allocated. Now to make thing simple, it is called WiFi6.

Now most devices support 802.11ac. So, I'd say just stick to 802.11ac. Yes, people might say, buy now and you can use for long time when more and more devices out there support. However, you are paying for high price for nothing when the modem price will quickly drop when more and more in market, in my opinion.
Zot
post Feb 20 2020, 11:05 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 07:24 PM)
Budget around 600-900.. don’t mind stretching if the router is good!  Using handphone but desktop coming soon.. the router is beside my room, but somehow I’m only able to receive 60-70mbps, if standing beside my router I can’t even get 300mbps... do I need to call tm to check my speed?
If your modem can provide 300Mbps, it does not mean that you will get 300Mbps. It depends on your devices/phone also. Your phone probably only can do 1 spatial stream (single antenna). So, the max speed is around that on 20MHz bandwidth. You will get around 300Mbps with 80MHz channel, but you will also exposed to interference from neighbor since your channel if you are on 2.4GHz band
Lord Suave
post Feb 20 2020, 11:17 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 19 2020, 08:13 PM)
oh this is awesome tips, i was reading the thread and stumbled on this new learning... thanks!
pokchik
post Feb 20 2020, 11:48 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

RT-AC86U for the win.

AiMesh is gooding.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=95498046
SUSnonamer
post Feb 20 2020, 12:40 PM

224 posts

100mbps is more than enough to run any kind of game (as long as u can fix the router's QoS in environment with multiple user) but still some games like csgo unless u go for wired u will be at competitive disadvantage even with the highest end wireless router
misspinky
post Feb 20 2020, 03:17 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 19 2020, 08:24 PM)
Your budget already passed if want to buy asus router. Just make sure choose wifi mode for 2.4GHz 802.11n only with wifi channel static whether 1/6/11, for 5GHz choose wifi mode 802.11n/ac only or 802.11ac only any wifi channel static as long not interference with your neighbour.
Jjuggler
post Feb 20 2020, 07:58 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 10:33 AM)
Cool!  biggrin.gif thanks for the info bro.. do you know how to change the mhz for tp-link router?
Brother 1mr3tard3d has showed you dae way.. tongue.gif . If you want to buy an ASUS router (just incase you don't care about budget at all), I can suggest a few models for you ranging from AC86U (Wi-Fi 5 router) or if you want to futureproof your home-network, give AX56U a try. It is an entry level Wi-Fi 6 router.
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:16 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 20 2020, 10:40 AM)
No need to go AX. Last time the GT-AC5300 was near to 2k now cheaper already. That's for gamer. RT-AC5300 is sufficient.

Budget?
Budget around 600-900, let’s just say I just buy the lan cable to connect to my desktop, is tplink sufficient? Or does rog excel in that too?
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:17 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Feb 20 2020, 10:43 AM)
If your router is beside your room, using lan cable will get you 300Mbps almost guaranteed, and you can save the money
Emm...did the TM employees configure the AC1200 for you?
sometimes restart will work
do you store the router in a cabinet?
I assume you connected to 5GHz while doing the speed test
but 100Mbps is enough for 1080p streaming

type 192.168.0.1 in your browser
default password: admin/blank
go to advance, wireless settings, 5GHz
Thanks bro, finish work later I try
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:18 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 20 2020, 10:56 AM)
The 802.11ax is designed to operate in all ISM bands between 1 and 6 GHz when they become available for 802.11 use, in addition to the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands already allocated. Now to make thing simple, it is called WiFi6.

Now most devices support 802.11ac. So, I'd say just stick to 802.11ac. Yes, people might say, buy now and you can use for long time when more and more devices out there support. However, you are paying for high price for nothing when the modem price will quickly drop when more and more in market, in my opinion.
You’re right, the price does fluctuates a lot so a bit dizzy what to buy, scare buy then later price drop..
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:20 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 20 2020, 11:05 AM)
If your modem can provide 300Mbps, it does not mean that you will get 300Mbps. It depends on your devices/phone also. Your phone probably only can do 1 spatial stream (single antenna). So, the max speed is around that on 20MHz bandwidth. You will get around 300Mbps with 80MHz channel, but you will also exposed to interference from neighbor since your channel if you are on 2.4GHz band
So to be safe, 20mhz for 2.4ghz, and 80mhz for 5ghz?
I tried standing beside connecting to 5ghz with phone supporting 300mbps but manage to get below than 100mbps, called tm service they say I’m suppose to get above 50% of the applied 300mbps..
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:22 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(nonamer @ Feb 20 2020, 12:40 PM)
100mbps is more than enough to run any kind of game (as long as u can fix the router's QoS in environment with multiple user) but still some games like csgo unless u go for wired u will be at competitive disadvantage even with the highest end wireless router
Understood.. planning to get a good stable line for wifi, if no choice need to think how to connect the wifi to my desktop..
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:22 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Feb 20 2020, 11:48 AM)
Will take note on that brother
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:24 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(misspinky @ Feb 20 2020, 03:17 PM)
Your budget already passed if want to buy asus router. Just make sure choose wifi mode for 2.4GHz 802.11n only with wifi channel static whether 1/6/11, for 5GHz choose wifi mode 802.11n/ac only or 802.11ac only any wifi channel static as long not interference with your neighbour.
Dint quite get what you meant.. too much code haha, still new in this game..
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 09:24 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 20 2020, 07:58 PM)
Brother 1mr3tard3d has showed you dae way..  tongue.gif . If you want to buy an ASUS router (just incase you don't care about budget at all), I can suggest a few models for you ranging from AC86U (Wi-Fi 5 router) or if you want to futureproof your home-network, give AX56U a try. It is an entry level Wi-Fi 6 router.
All right brother, will take note on these few model for research.
Jjuggler
post Feb 20 2020, 09:46 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 09:24 PM)
All right brother, will take note on these few model for research.
Always read on the reviews before buying. It is for your own satisfaction so that, you know, you've invested on a right gear.
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 11:00 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 20 2020, 09:46 PM)
Always read on the reviews before buying. It is for your own satisfaction so that, you know, you've invested on a right gear.
Right on! I’ve always been like that.. want all my money well spent wink.gif
Jjuggler
post Feb 20 2020, 11:05 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 11:00 PM)
Right on! I’ve always been like that.. want all my money well spent wink.gif
ASUS is the only 'premium' consumer networking gear, that worth to spent money on.
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 11:13 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 20 2020, 11:05 PM)
ASUS is the only 'premium' consumer networking gear, that worth to spent money on.
Just bought desktop with rog mobo and gpu biggrin.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 20 2020, 11:21 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(misspinky @ Feb 20 2020, 03:17 PM)
Am I correct? Wifi mode as in this;

And channel static as in this;

Correct? Thanks..
Zot
post Feb 21 2020, 08:11 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 09:16 PM)
Budget around 600-900, let’s just say I just buy the lan cable to connect to my desktop, is tplink sufficient? Or does rog excel in that too?
LAN cable will definitely takes the load of the WiFi and mush faster. The main reason is the LAN cable is full-duplex but the WiFi is simplex communication. The WIFI is like walkie-talkie, when someone talk you can only listen laugh.gif . If you have many devices on WiFi, each one have to wait for their turn smile.gif

The ROG is designed specifically for gamer since it will provide something like QoS (Quality of Service) to your game data packets. The packets will get priority. So, no delay. I bought ROD too but I don't play game laugh.gif doh.gif

I'd say for normal use, TPLink is sufficient enough.
Jjuggler
post Feb 21 2020, 08:11 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 11:13 PM)
Just bought desktop with rog mobo and gpu biggrin.gif
Nice. Hope you enjoy your pick.

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 11:21 PM)

Correct? Thanks..
Yes. You are correct. Try to use the channel in between 36, 40, 44, and 48, but bear in the mind, these channels often congested ya. If your router supports DFS and TPC, then you can use these channels 52, 56, 60, and 64, indeed.
Zot
post Feb 21 2020, 08:22 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 20 2020, 09:20 PM)
So to be safe, 20mhz for 2.4ghz, and 80mhz for 5ghz?
I tried standing beside connecting to 5ghz with phone supporting 300mbps but manage to get below than 100mbps, called tm service they say I’m suppose to get above 50% of the applied 300mbps..
Yes, I'd just do that 20MHz for 2.4GHz band.

Less than 100Mbps is low. Something is not right. I think you have fixed the bandwidth to 80Mhz, right? I get around 470Mbps on my 500Mbps service with both laptop and my phone. I forget what my setting was anyway.

Since wireless is half-duplex, I guess that is why the cs said you should get above 50%, generally around 60% I believe due to protocol overhead, etc.
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 10:22 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 08:11 AM)
LAN cable will definitely takes the load of the WiFi and mush faster. The main reason is the LAN cable is full-duplex but the WiFi is simplex communication. The WIFI is like walkie-talkie, when someone talk you can only listen  laugh.gif . If you have many devices on WiFi, each one have to wait for their turn  smile.gif

The ROG is designed specifically for gamer since it will provide something like QoS (Quality of Service) to your game data packets. The packets will get priority. So, no delay. I bought ROD too but I don't play game  laugh.gif  doh.gif

I'd say for normal use, TPLink is sufficient enough.
Nice, very good example and very easy to understand. Thanks.
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 10:26 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 21 2020, 08:11 AM)
Nice. Hope you enjoy your pick.
Yes. You are correct. Try to use the channel in between 36, 40, 44, and 48, but bear in the mind, these channels often congested ya. If your router supports DFS and TPC, then you can use these channels 52, 56, 60, and 64, indeed.
Sorry for asking, why use 36, 40, 44 and 48? Why not use others and what’s the difference between these channels? And I’m using tplink right now how do I know if it’s support dfs nd tpc? Thank you for your time. notworthy.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 10:28 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 08:22 AM)

Less than 100Mbps is low. Something is not right. I think you have fixed the bandwidth to 80Mhz, right? I get around 470Mbps on my 500Mbps service with both laptop and my phone. I forget what my setting was anyway.

Since wireless is half-duplex, I guess that is why the cs said you should get above 50%, generally around 60% I believe due to protocol overhead, etc.
I have adjusted the bandwidth just now, and from 50-70mbps now I got around 100mbps which is still quite Low I think. Hm hmm.gif
Zot
post Feb 21 2020, 10:40 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 10:26 AM)
Sorry for asking, why use 36, 40, 44 and 48? Why not use others and what’s the difference between these channels? And I’m using tplink right now how do I know if it’s support dfs nd tpc? Thank you for your time. notworthy.gif
Dynamic Frequency Selection
Dynamic Frequency Selection is a channel allocation schemes specified for wireless LAN, commonly Wi-Fi. It is designed to prevent interference with other usages of the C band frequency band that had predated Wi-Fi, such as military radar, satellite communication, and weather radar. It was standardized in 2003 as part of IEEE 802.11h.

In the US and other countries, some of the Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure (U-NII) bands are used by radar systems. Wi-Fi networks operating in those bands are required to employ a radar detection and avoidance capability. I think this is not applicable here in Malaysia. We are still on standard ISM bands.

The Transmit Power Control (TPC) goes together with DFS to avoid interfering the radar by reducing the power.

I think you can have both disabled if there is such feature in setting
Zot
post Feb 21 2020, 10:41 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 10:28 AM)
I have adjusted the bandwidth just now, and from 50-70mbps now I got around 100mbps which is still quite Low I think.  Hm  hmm.gif
Have you ever installed any apps to check if there is other signal within your operating WiFi channel?
Jjuggler
post Feb 21 2020, 10:44 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 10:26 AM)
Because channel 36 to 48 is the recommended channels for 5GHz. If you hover over the channel drop down menu, you can see the available channels there. If you can't see channels in between 52 up until 140, then your router don't support DFS channel. To make you understand a bit further, the DFS channel often regarded as the WLANs utilizes 5GHz frequencies that made available only for radars. The 5GHz frequencies often operates in between 5250 – 5330 MHz and 5490 – 5710 MHz.

This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Feb 21 2020, 10:45 AM
misspinky
post Feb 21 2020, 11:16 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 12:21 AM)

Correct? Thanks..
Indeed, you can pick 802.11ac only for 5GHz for starting. If you face hardly connected or frequently disconnected, just stick back to 802.11n/ac only. From what i can see, you are using tm stock default router because wifi name come with @unifi, you may refer from my past replied how to upgrade the firmware by using recovery mode, for temporary usage before you find the best deal router soon. i know this can make it confuse a bit for you. Just make sure make strong a password, not using a number only. Old timer tp-link router, 5GHz, usually support channel 36 until 48 only. DFS channel you need to try and error, if your place too much helicopter and aeroplane playing around in your area - flight live view , you very hardly to use these channel. So, you need try one by one channel if want to use DFS channel, not all router support DFS channel. Some of router that support these channel cannot use it properly, not functioning very well. Only certain of its got stable by using these channel, depend on what hardware specs of that router too. Nowadays, many router support 5GHz channel from 36 until 161/165 with channel width 80MHz. Only certain router that support channel width 160MHz.
misspinky
post Feb 21 2020, 11:23 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 11:28 AM)
I have adjusted the bandwidth just now, and from 50-70mbps now I got around 100mbps which is still quite Low I think.  Hm  hmm.gif
That is standard speed usually for wifi 2.4GHz especially if you're using tplink router, depend on specs of your devices too. Bare in mind just connecting direct Lan cable only if you're using desktop, if using laptop at same place better using direct Lan cable. Just use wifi when need moving to other place and there is no way for wired.
SUSCandy12
post Feb 21 2020, 12:40 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 08:22 AM)

20MHz for 2.4GHz is narrow band you can only reach max about 50-75Mbps on speedtest if you choose this setting.

Increase it to 40MHz you'll probably get max 125Mbps if you have a supported wifi client/device that supports it. Most newer equipment nowadays already support this unless you have very old outdated stuff at home that'll need Wi-Fi connectivity.

Then there's 2x2 MIMO on top of the 40MHz 2.4GHz Wifi which claims to oduble the speed with 2 parallel antennas.

Do remember that even though your router/AP supports newer technologies such as 2.4GHz wide band Wifi and MIMO 2x2, you need a client that matches it as well.

For 300Mbps plans above, it's recommended that you use 5GHz WiFi instead to gain the extra bandwidth and take advantage of the speed.
For 100Mbps plans below, 40MHz 2.4GHz will be good enough for most people.

My stock router at home is capable of AC1200, it makes sense to get a AC1200 rated wifi adapter or a matching capable device to take advantage of the speed which is 1.2Gbps via wireless.

Do note that speeds are theoretical speeds, give or take 20% overhead with published speeds on the tech sheet, that's what'll get in real time conditions.
Zot
post Feb 21 2020, 01:03 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Feb 21 2020, 12:40 PM)
20MHz for 2.4GHz is narrow band you can only reach max about 50-75Mbps on speedtest if you choose this setting.

Increase it to 40MHz you'll probably get max 125Mbps if you have a supported wifi client/device that supports it. Most newer equipment nowadays already support this unless you have very old outdated stuff at home that'll need Wi-Fi connectivity.

Then there's 2x2 MIMO on top of the 40MHz 2.4GHz Wifi which claims to oduble the speed with 2 parallel antennas.

Do remember that even though your router/AP supports newer technologies such as 2.4GHz wide band Wifi and MIMO 2x2, you need a client that matches it as well.

For 300Mbps plans above, it's recommended that you use 5GHz WiFi instead to gain the extra bandwidth and take advantage of the speed.
For 100Mbps plans below, 40MHz 2.4GHz will be good enough for most people.

My stock router at home is capable of AC1200, it makes sense to get a AC1200 rated wifi adapter or a matching capable device to take advantage of the speed which is 1.2Gbps via wireless.

Do note that speeds are theoretical speeds, give or take 20% overhead with published speeds on the tech sheet, that's what'll get in real time conditions.
You can put any widest band if you have no interference from any other WAP like from neighbor or your other WAP. I'd leave the 2.4GHz band for guess and old devices.

For the 5GHz band , it is different story because you have more channels. Unless your device can do link aggregation, you can only use either band only. So, no 1200Mbps total smile.gif
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 06:35 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 21 2020, 10:44 AM)
Because channel 36 to 48 is the recommended channels for 5GHz. If you hover over the channel drop down menu, you can see the available channels there. If you can't see channels in between 52 up until 140, then your router don't support DFS channel. To make you understand a bit further, the DFS channel often regarded as the WLANs utilizes 5GHz frequencies that made available only for radars. The 5GHz frequencies often operates in between 5250 – 5330 MHz and 5490 – 5710 MHz.
Ahh so technically the dfs is better for 5ghz but only for newer router.
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 09:44 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 10:40 AM)
Dynamic Frequency Selection
Dynamic Frequency Selection is a channel allocation schemes specified for wireless LAN, commonly Wi-Fi. It is designed to prevent interference with other usages of the C band frequency band that had predated Wi-Fi, such as military radar, satellite communication, and weather radar. It was standardized in 2003 as part of IEEE 802.11h.

In the US and other countries, some of the Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure (U-NII) bands are used by radar systems. Wi-Fi networks operating in those bands are required to employ a radar detection and avoidance capability. I think this is not applicable here in Malaysia. We are still on standard ISM bands.

The  Transmit Power Control (TPC) goes together with DFS to avoid interfering the radar by reducing the power.

I think you can have both disabled if there is such feature in setting
Wow, it gets complicated as it goes, compare to when I previously thought is all about connect and disconnect own wifi

TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 09:45 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 10:41 AM)
Have you ever installed any apps to check if there is other signal within your operating WiFi channel?
Nope, can you recommend me the app so I can check?
TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 09:48 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(misspinky @ Feb 21 2020, 11:16 AM)
Indeed, you can pick 802.11ac only for 5GHz for starting. If you face hardly connected or frequently disconnected, just stick back to 802.11n/ac only. From what i can see, you are using tm stock default router because wifi name come with @unifi, you may refer from my past replied how to upgrade the firmware by using recovery mode, for temporary usage before you find the best deal router soon. i know this can make it confuse a bit for you. Just make sure make strong a password, not using a number only. Old timer tp-link router, 5GHz, usually support channel 36 until 48 only. DFS channel you need to try and error, if your place too much helicopter and aeroplane playing around in your area - flight live view , you very hardly to use these channel. So, you need try one by one channel if want to use DFS channel, not all router support DFS channel. Some of router that support these channel cannot use it properly, not functioning very well. Only certain of its got stable by using these channel, depend on what hardware specs of that router too. Nowadays, many router support 5GHz channel from 36 until 161/165 with channel width 80MHz. Only certain router that support channel width 160MHz.
So for my old tp-link ac1200 is safe to go for 36 until 48.. cuz I live nearby airport actually haha.. and why do I need to create a strong password? To prevent from hackers? Thanks.

TSGrayson
post Feb 21 2020, 09:49 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(misspinky @ Feb 21 2020, 11:23 AM)
That is standard speed usually for wifi 2.4GHz especially if you're using tplink router, depend on specs of your devices too. Bare in mind just connecting direct Lan cable only if you're using desktop, if using laptop at same place better using direct Lan cable. Just use wifi when need moving to other place and there is no way for wired.
Understood, I guess that’s the better choice.
Zot
post Feb 22 2020, 12:37 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Grayson @ Feb 21 2020, 09:45 PM)
Nope, can you recommend me the app so I can check?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....analyzer&hl=en
TSGrayson
post Feb 22 2020, 02:06 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 22 2020, 12:37 PM)
Thanks brother
SUSCandy12
post Feb 28 2020, 12:30 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 21 2020, 01:03 PM)
You can put any widest band if you have no interference from any other WAP like from neighbor or your other WAP. I'd leave the 2.4GHz band for guess and old devices.

For the 5GHz band , it is different story because you have more channels. Unless your device can do link aggregation, you can only use either band only. So, no 1200Mbps total  smile.gif
With the overheads involved, AC1200 should get you connected at around 867Mbps. AC1200 Wireless cards/adapters are priced affordably too.
That's good enough to cover TM 800Mbps , 500Mbps and 300Mbps plans.

If there are other isps offering 1Gbps plan above, you need to find better routers or don't forget higher end wireless adapters/cards such as AC1900, AX3000 or better to attain such speeds.

AC1200 should be enough for now to cover upto 800Mbps wirelessly for ISP plans in Malaysia for time being.
cnks
post Mar 5 2020, 08:00 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Feb 28 2020, 01:30 PM)
With the overheads involved, AC1200 should get you connected at around 867Mbps. AC1200 Wireless cards/adapters are priced affordably too.
That's good enough to cover TM 800Mbps , 500Mbps and 300Mbps plans.

If there are other isps offering 1Gbps plan above, you need to find better routers or don't forget higher end wireless adapters/cards such as AC1900, AX3000 or better to attain such speeds.

AC1200 should be enough for now to cover upto 800Mbps wirelessly for ISP plans in Malaysia for time being.
Don't think the calculation speed works that way. I was on TIME 1Gbps plan, was using AC1750 router, and AC1200 adapter on my PC. The most I can get is 290mbps. AC1750 is more recommended for speed upto 500Mbps. Not sure for higher speed though.
SUSCandy12
post Mar 9 2020, 09:39 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(cnks @ Mar 5 2020, 08:00 PM)
Don't think the calculation speed works that way. I was on TIME 1Gbps plan, was using AC1750 router, and AC1200 adapter on my PC. The most I can get is 290mbps. AC1750 is more recommended for speed upto 500Mbps. Not sure for higher speed though.
What is the connected speed for your wireless client? You can look it up under connected Wi-Fi status of your OS.
If it's 867Mbps or so and you are still getting very slow speed on your local based speed tests it means your ISP is at fault.

AC1750 router is good but it's hard to find matching AC1750 wireless adapters out there. Even it there is, you'll be paying a very high price for them while they're rare.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Mar 9 2020, 09:40 PM
soonwai
post Mar 9 2020, 10:29 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(cnks @ Mar 5 2020, 08:00 PM)
You're right. Dunno which idiot thought up the ACxxxx numbers as the sum of both 5 & 2.4Ghz max link speeds. So AC1200 is about 866Mbps for 5GHz and 300Mbps for 2.4Ghz. A nice big number for marketing to fool some people.
cnks
post Mar 10 2020, 10:01 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Mar 9 2020, 10:39 PM)
What is the connected speed for your wireless client? You can look it up under connected Wi-Fi status of your OS.
If it's 867Mbps or so and you are still getting very slow speed on your local based speed tests it means your ISP is at fault.

AC1750 router is good but it's hard to find matching AC1750 wireless adapters out there. Even it there is, you'll be paying a very high price for them while they're rare.
My WiFi adapter is AC1200, which by your logic should have 867Mbps. My ISP has no problem, because when I speed test using LAN it can go up to 900++ Mbps. Again, my point is, AC1200 is not the right router for Internet Package up to 800Mbps. It is only suitable upto internet package of 300Mbps
lcwei85
post Apr 3 2021, 12:55 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(cnks @ Mar 10 2020, 10:01 AM)
My WiFi adapter is AC1200, which by your logic should have 867Mbps. My ISP has no problem, because when I speed test using LAN it can go up to 900++ Mbps. Again, my point is, AC1200 is not the right router for Internet Package up to 800Mbps. It is only suitable upto internet package of 300Mbps
You’re right. I also noticed usually WiFi speed just 1/3 or less of advertised.

0.0461sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:43 AM