Handheld War: PSP vs. NDS
akachester
Oct 13 2007, 11:26 AM
For me, all i need is the ONE game that i wanted to play badly and that will make my point on choosing the console i would get..
As off now, it would be the FF7:CC and thats why i got myself the PSP..Still DSLite are in my list of future purchases...
jedi_dc
Oct 14 2007, 10:09 PM
u seldom see people opening up their psp modding the Sound trigger mod .. PSP Great Screen size .. i like the homebrew.. accessories.. all these are the interest of me and my psp.. its the thrill of showing off your latest firmware and XMB to your friends.. haha.. oh ye.. psp can change faceplate ..all these ... their cool and interesting to figure out .. NDSL OR NDS my friend has one and he said its quite good .. but then he bought the psp ... left his nds on the table collecting dust .. he said psp has more Thrill to the games.. haha .. OVERALL : : : DEPENDS ON YOU  Sony lover? Nintendo Lover? Both!? who can say anything on what you like.. No-one! . BUT i prefer psp ...
viper-xs
Oct 15 2007, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Oct 7 2007, 07:35 AM) I bought my gf 1-2 years back a GBA cos she's a freak for Mario. She's been playing that since late 80's i suppose. Can't recall. Anyway that is purely for Mario and nothing else. After that i bought her as a present a Gamecube and guess what, with Mario of course and only that. Last month I bought her a NDSL simply cos of Mario also. Guess what, now I can "pinjam" her GBA and carry it with me cos I travel to overseas often and for quite long time. Personally I like PS. I have PS2 but PSP graphic is too good for handheld. I think it will be more suited for TV. NDSL game is more easy and relaxing. Quite fast too. Like what I said to my gf when she asked me if I want to buy and carry PSP to overseas and I said flat no. I need something lite and chose GBA instead. If I want something heavy I will stick to PS2. After sticking my hand in GBA now my hand abit gatal edi to get NDSL for myself. I don't mind the design wise eventhough it looks cute. I think for my handheld, I will need it to be cute cos I got other stuff which looks macho... Handheld=Nintendo rules for the games, simplicity etc. Console=PS..for me that is Now Wii got Mario ler..haihz..sure she will think of that soon. Cheers And I just bought one for myself yesterday...*blame* it on Nintendo with good nice simple games and my gf to introduce me to it. Now I'm hook-up to it...
onimusha_m16
Oct 16 2007, 08:45 AM
heard that the loading time for psp is slow.. but will it become faster if those !@#$% game loads from mspd??
This post has been edited by onimusha_m16: Oct 16 2007, 08:45 AM
jedi_dc
Oct 17 2007, 09:02 PM
@onimusha
well , i guess so . depends on the mspd haha..
iman_210
Oct 22 2007, 11:12 AM
guys
do the current loading time in psp lite improved?
i am into racing games and FPS so does NDS has those title? is PSP a better choice?
TSsihumchai
Oct 22 2007, 11:26 AM
Yate Haugan WOOSH!
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Oct 22 2007, 11:12 AM) guys do the current loading time in psp lite improved? i am into racing games and FPS so does NDS has those title? is PSP a better choice? I don't think the NDS has very top-notch racing games. Better if you go PSP if want racing games.. Unless you like throwing banana peels and red shells are people, boosting on corners, then Mario Kart is for you. As for FPS.. DS has some FPS games, like Brothers in Arms, Call of Duty 4, Metroid Prime Hunters, Dementium: The Ward(latest).. PSP, the only last one I heard was Medal of Honor, with 16-32 players online, altho' old.. Medal of Honor: Heroes 2 will be coming soon too.
teo
Oct 25 2007, 04:39 PM

im going to get a psp. is this the time to buy.now got psp slim rite? coz this is the 1st time im buying sony protable product. wat is the wifi for beside battle each others.
Endless9930
Oct 26 2007, 01:27 PM
Hi
Just curious that PSP old and PSP lite....is the lite better than the old one in terms of the function ??
I mean like longer battery power, faster cpu etc etc..
HMMaster
Oct 26 2007, 05:27 PM
10K Club
QUOTE(Endless9930 @ Oct 26 2007, 01:27 PM) Hi Just curious that PSP old and PSP lite....is the lite better than the old one in terms of the function ?? I mean like longer battery power, faster cpu etc etc.. there are some improvement over the fat psp. the slim has more ram, which mean faster loading time. the playing hour is still the same, but the battery has less power than the fat. anyway, i bought myself a DS. Currently playing Zelda:PH
zio
Oct 31 2007, 04:38 PM
As with all other consoles, its a matter of preference. If you want a device that is capable of video playback and MP3 as well play games, the PSP is probably the choice. It is a multimedia device not just a gaming machine.
NDS on the other hand has more creative games but dont expect super powerful graphics. I guess exception would be Zelda: PH which has very pretty graphics.
liquidsny
Jun 25 2008, 01:52 PM
i hope to hear more discussion over this matter psp vs nds. since not much people commenting over lite psp in this thread due to the fact this is an old thread . perhaps more games in psp in 2008 can bring more hot discussion ??? i'm torn between nds n psp right now hehee..
mickeynic
Jun 25 2008, 03:04 PM

HAD BOTH last month PSP and NDSL
HAVING 1 only Now ~NDSL
Besides games are SIMPLE YET ADDICTIVE with NDSL
Online RANDOM players SEARCH is AWESOME ~
Never Tried ONCE ~ unable to search for a random players online and get connected to play
This post has been edited by mickeynic: Jun 25 2008, 03:05 PM
' or 1=1 --
Jun 25 2008, 10:59 PM
yeps. psp games looks extremely good for a handheld. but hardly fun to play on such a small screen. I know it's quite big but for long periods of time, its not really ideal.
As for the nds. as with all nintendo consoles are specifically aimed towards fun and interactivity. both are good. but are not comparable by any means since both are very2 different type of handheld consoles.
woop07
Aug 1 2008, 01:09 AM
i have a psp now, super games n graphics.
however, seeing all the hebat responses for the NDSL, i just wanna ask 1 thing, how much for 1 game (ori) n can u get homebrew games for it?
PhoenixByte
Aug 1 2008, 10:09 AM
Dun worry, both psp and ndsl hv their own sets of homebrews la. I have both and right now my psp is resting coz no new games at the moment while the ndsl got FF4 and Trauma Centre.  The cycle for ndsl time for a rest is when starwars force unleashed and FF:Dissidia is out.
bem69
Aug 1 2008, 06:05 PM
I just got my PSP, and here's my brief usage description of both consoles.
PSP: Big screen, great video quality, great video streaming, great internet capabilities (browser + internet radio), oh and good gameplay too, thought I don't play that much.
DS: Excellent games library, pickup and play type, stylus control means its accessible to anyone AND it can be used for other applications like the new KORG DS software, language coaching titles, etc. But I love it mostly for Colors! The best homebrew paint program on any portable ever. I use that a lot.
blackpengiun
Aug 1 2008, 07:10 PM
Well, I think DS is a good machine with good games. But, DS game mostly are more cartoony and cute. DS also support lots of remakes like the FF series and the forthcoming Chrono Trigger. But .......... if your looking for good graphic, function, movies watching and a mp3 player, PSP should be in the book
Most of all, DS got emulator (not sure if I can say this), and if you think of what the did for GBA, so you go guess.
Anyway, PSP has also a good library of games but not much RPGs. Some good RPG are in Japanese anyways like Star Ocean 1 & 2, Tales of Rebirth (from PS2), Super Robot Wars and ofcourse Monster Hunter 2nd G.
However, the control for shooter games for PSP is kinda need getting use to, as being use to a 2nd analog button.
But, then again, DS got FF series, Chorno Trigger, Metriod, Mario and more. Good for guys that kinda like more simple games with lots of remake RPGs.
I personally think the screen is kinda small though. Oh yeah, and DS got my favourate game on it. CASTLEVANIA ... Sad
razor77
Oct 8 2008, 03:16 AM
personally i prefer psp for all in one multimedia handheld... but kinda sad the game is not many compare than ds... and ds game is quite unique because the touch screen feature.. for psp the game is just typical game..like console game..
in conclusion i like both since both of them has adv. and disadv. waiting for the next generation of this both handheld to release....
SUSicyfawkes
Oct 8 2008, 10:56 AM
its the best to have both actually...why DS?1 word,MARIO!!! why psp?its all bout the functions it comes in it!!! music video games,its all nice graphics!!! but i think it will all come down to what new features they have in the new ones... keep the old DS lite,get the new v3000 psp...which isint out yet...