13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Modenas to build Kawasaki bikes?, Cheaper Z900 maybe? Fingers crossed.

technosakai
post Jul 29 2022, 09:30 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jul 29 2022, 06:13 PM)
If got b full might and you plan to upgrade, better off just skip 250 and straight to 650.. Yes it's more powerful than 250, but the power band is rather forgiving.. Only worries is the weight.. I have never rode big bikes before and also more than 10years never ride bike.. Straight got myself an er6 as my first big bike..
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 29 2022, 07:34 PM)
Nope don't think I tagged the wrong person.

If you got a full B, don't bother with a 250. Just get a used bike of a bigger capacity for the price as a learner bike.
Why though? What's the reason?
Weight is 1 thing. I think a 650 is too heavy for me to handle. Haven't even ridden a bike in traffic before and straight go for a 650. I cannot even lane split later.

Thought of getting a 250 first, learn the skills needed to handle a bike on the road before upgrading to a bigger cc.
Been driving for 10 years, so I know how to "read" the road, but a car and bike is different.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jul 29 2022, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(technosakai @ Jul 29 2022, 09:30 PM)
Weight is 1 thing. I think a 650 is too heavy for me to handle. Haven't even ridden a bike in traffic before and straight go for a 650. I cannot even lane split later.

Thought of getting a 250 first, learn the skills needed to handle a bike on the road before upgrading to a bigger cc.
Been driving for 10 years, so I know how to "read" the road, but a car and bike is different.
Weight means it's heavy lor, haha.. Btw, different ppl different thinking la.. If you really not confident in handling the weight then just proceed with what you're comfortable with.. Anyway, can consider used ones since you just want it as stepping stone.. I bought mine used too, after 3years ownership clocking 60k km, I still manage to sell it back slightly higher than my buying price.. But I never stingy on the maintenance and accessories la, hence can sell at better price..
mADmAN
post Jul 30 2022, 12:39 AM

10,530 posts

if this is the path u wanna take, buy the cheapest used 250cc u can buy....dont waste ur money on brand new... ull get bored quickly and this can minimize ur losses down the road. u might even be able to sell the bike for the same price u bought provided u got the right buyer. buying brand new u can lose roughly 7-10k the moment the bike leaves the shop.

correct...bike and car is different... so throw wat u think u know how to read as a driver and learn again from scratch as a rider.
SUSskyblu3
post Jul 30 2022, 07:28 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Jul 29 2022, 09:17 AM)

a B2 still able to ride a 250cc isn't it?
By right 250cc and above you need a B.

But for this you can ride with a B2.
Because it's 249cc. Not 250cc.
jaycee1
post Jul 30 2022, 10:59 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

If it's a stepping stone don't buy a new bike.

But you will get very quickly bored of the 250.

Weight is just something you will get used to after a few months of riding. Actually, a bigger, heavier engined bike might even be easier to ride as a greater proportion of the weight is centred lower on the bike. As mentioned before, the riding schools heavy z650 is much much easier to handle than my lighter but top heavy dominar 400 for tight maneuvers.
technosakai
post Jul 30 2022, 01:09 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jul 29 2022, 09:49 PM)
Weight means it's heavy lor, haha.. Btw, different ppl different thinking la.. If you really not confident in handling the weight then just proceed with what you're comfortable with.. Anyway, can consider used ones since you just want it as stepping stone.. I bought mine used too, after 3years ownership clocking 60k km, I still manage to sell it back slightly higher than my buying price.. But I never stingy on the maintenance and accessories la, hence can sell at better price..
yeah after all, everything takes time to get used to.
imagine riding a z650 or whatever that's bigger than a 250, yet can't split lane and got a queue of kapchais behind you. To me that is quite embarrassing. The 'coolness' of riding a big bike is straight out the window.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 30 2022, 12:39 AM)
if this is the path u wanna take, buy the cheapest used 250cc u can buy....dont waste ur money on brand new... ull get bored quickly and this can minimize ur losses down the road. u might even be able to sell the bike for the same price u bought provided u got the right buyer. buying brand new u can lose roughly 7-10k the moment the bike leaves the shop.
correct...bike and car is different... so throw wat u think u know how to read as a driver and learn again from scratch as a rider.
Yeap, that is my plan since the day I decided that I want a bike. Of course cheap and yet still less things to fix.
no point getting a cheap one only to find out got a bunch of things that I need to replace.
anyway, any suggestions on where to get a used bike? I see some ads on mudah, the bike condition seems nice, low mileage (20+k)
do shops usually allow test ride for used bikes? or just a see and pay thing?

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:59 AM)
If it's a stepping stone don't buy a new bike.

But you will get very quickly bored of the 250.
Weight is just something you will get used to after a few months of riding. Actually, a bigger, heavier engined bike might even be easier to ride as a greater proportion of the weight is centred lower on the bike. As mentioned before, the riding schools heavy z650 is much much easier to handle than my lighter but top heavy dominar 400 for tight maneuvers.
maybe I'll get bored of it, maybe i don't. I don't think so I'm aiming for high speed. Probably more towards just the feel that you get when you a ride bike. The air blowing onto your body and without the cage of a car.
but that might change in the future..

mADmAN
post Jul 30 2022, 06:44 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Jul 30 2022, 01:09 PM)
anyway, any suggestions on where to get a used bike? I see some ads on mudah, the bike condition seems nice, low mileage (20+k)
mudah is good and FB groups would be a good place to start... join the FB group of the bike ur looking to buy n theres usually ppl advertising to sell off their bikes.

shops usually no test rides.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jul 30 2022, 11:10 PM

For test ride if your in Klang Valley.. Selangor TM motoworld or Puncak Alam Motoworld.. KL Motosikal Mok.. These 3 shops I know can test ride used bike and also very friendly boss.. I've dealt with them.. Most important they never mess around with "fake" mileage, coz some shops you look around you will noticed all bikes low mileage even though very old.. definitely very fishy.. These three shops sometimes will got bikes 100k+ km and they sell as it is..
genesiscopy
post Jul 30 2022, 11:17 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jul 31 2022, 01:10 AM)
For test ride if your in Klang Valley.. Selangor TM motoworld or Puncak Alam Motoworld.. KL Motosikal Mok.. These 3 shops I know can test ride used bike and also very friendly boss.. I've dealt with them.. Most important they never mess around with "fake" mileage, coz some shops you look around you will noticed all bikes low mileage even though very old.. definitely very fishy.. These three shops sometimes will got bikes 100k+ km and they sell as it is..
I never went to Puncak Alam Motorworld before despite it being quite near to my place. Lol. But after they're nominated as one of the authorized service partner it makes me feel more relieved after the EMOS takeover of Kawi brands.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jul 31 2022, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Jul 30 2022, 11:17 PM)
I never went to Puncak Alam Motorworld before despite it being quite near to my place. Lol. But after they're nominated as one of the authorized service partner it makes me feel more relieved after the EMOS takeover of Kawi brands.
TM and Puncak are brother's company.. You can look for Jordan in Puncak.. They never stingy on letting customer test.. My 1st er6 was recommended by him.. I was actually eyeing z250 that time, and after some chat, he says er6 suits my needs more.. So he push out the z250 and er6n and let me test both.. When I confirm er6n, he even push another er6f for me to test which ones I like.. 2 of my friends who accompany me go on 2 occasion like bikes but have clearly said not intending to buy yet, still he push out bikes for them to test.. Thumbs up and highly recommended for these kinda service these days..
jaycee1
post Aug 1 2022, 03:29 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 30 2022, 06:44 PM)
mudah is good and FB groups would be a good place to start... join the FB group of the bike ur looking to buy n theres usually ppl advertising to sell off their bikes.

shops usually no test rides.
Usually. But shops also know they won't sell used bikes if not allowed to test.

I think mostly if they think you are serious or not or just out for joyride.

I road tested my dominar TWICE before buying. First time no helmet no licence also. Hahaha. 2nd time no license still but at least I brought a helmet.

Usually I get offered to test ride but I usually dont unless I am already certain to buy.
persona93
post Aug 1 2022, 03:42 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jul 30 2022, 11:10 PM)
thanks for the recommendation icon_rolleyes.gif
basilisk
post Oct 25 2022, 10:57 PM

30 posts

latest kawa cbu model price

Ninja 1000SX: RM71,400
Versys 1000SE: RM81,900
Z900RS: RM63,800
Ninja ZX-10R: RM112,600

z900rs in 2018 without gst = 64,056.60

z900 should be ckd and hopefully price can be lower.
basilisk
post Mar 18 2023, 10:06 PM

30 posts

the vulcan s should look like this ler... haiya..

genesiscopy
post Mar 19 2023, 02:45 PM

37 posts

Anybody been to Kawasaki All Star in S15 Shah Alam? 4S Kawa by Chear Motors.
Vincent6596
post Apr 10 2023, 12:13 PM

472 posts

FYI

sikongma
post Apr 13 2023, 05:58 PM

175 posts

imagine riding a z650 or whatever that's bigger than a 250, yet can't split lane and got a queue of kapchais behind you. To me that is quite embarrassing. The 'coolness' of riding a big bike is straight out the window.
Yeap, that is my plan since the day I decided that I want a bike. Of course cheap and yet still less things to fix.
no point getting a cheap one only to find out got a bunch of things that I need to replace.
maybe I'll get bored of it, maybe i don't. I don't think so I'm aiming for high speed. Probably more towards just the feel that you get when you a ride bike. The air blowing onto your body and without the cage of a car.
Hello there, just a little sharing from my own experience. I started riding after more than 20 years of driving and decided to get a 250 cc (around 21 HP bike). Top speed using GPS is around 120 kph but normally comfortable riding is around 90 kph. Like you, I didn't think I needed the speed and I was mostly riding in small towns and trunk roads. It is until I visited the big cities like JB or KL that I started feeling intimidated. Slow bike in a 6 lane highway especially when you come to intersections on highways can be quite a challenge and sometimes you really need the speed (say a lorry driving at 90-110 kph on a highway). That's when you'll feel torn... overtake it and you have to maintain almost max speed of what your bike can do. Don't overtake it, you stay behind and get smoked to death.

For used bike, depends if you want a twist and go bike (to learn) or you want a full clutched bike. If twist and go, consider scooters (Modenas Elegan 250). If you want a clutched bike, can consider 2nd hand Honda (CB250R) or Yamaha (MT25). If you don't mind some DIY (and some self repair sometimes) but want to ride in style, then you can go for bikes like GPX250 (cafe racer), QJ SRV250 (cruiser), Royal Alloy TG250 (scooter), Italjet Bucaneer 250i (cafe racer) and so on.
vikneswaranc_17
post Apr 14 2023, 08:51 AM

58 posts

Technically, i have bought my Z650 after using FZ150i and there was no issues in lane filtering as my work was in Jalan Ampang. For sure I have not caused any jam for bikes while riding in KL and trust u would know how terrible the jam is in Jalan Ampang and Tun Razak. The bike is small and doesn't feel heavy compared to ER6. I would say it is comparable to a 250 as the size doesnt do a justice. if the sticker is peeled off, there is no way of telling if it is a Z650 or 250cc apart from the double disc and tire size.
jame
post May 11 2023, 04:17 PM

EMOS seems to be stepping up in terms of bringing back Kawasaki into the Malaysian market. Started with the 250 and slowly more and more models are making their comeback.

Let the good times roll!
Vincent6596
post Jun 2 2023, 03:40 PM

472 posts

wow...good news

https://www.facebook.com/100086616738275/po...mibextid=qC1gEa

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 PM