Thanks all for the suggestion. I just get started and don’t want to spend a fortune on upgrades.
Will start with a good pump and good tires.
Cycling V37: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, Average speed 30km/h is so 1786
Mar 13 2020, 03:27 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
95 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Thanks all for the suggestion. I just get started and don’t want to spend a fortune on upgrades.
Will start with a good pump and good tires. |
Mar 13 2020, 03:28 PM
2,111 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Malaysia |
Mar 13 2020, 03:30 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Mar 13 2020, 03:31 PM
Mar 13 2020, 03:33 PM
Mar 16 2020, 09:13 AM
5,165 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 13 2020, 03:30 PM) I got my floor pump from decathlon. Quite okay...get the metal body one.....can pump 120 psi no problem ( but I normally pump 100 psi)The plastic body type can't take the pressure. For hand pump I use top peak....fit to side of my bottle cage. Very good assembly ...but as usual....u toceng for 10 to 15 mins baru puas |
Mar 16 2020, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(tydell @ Mar 13 2020, 02:28 PM) My bike saddle is about the same level as the handle. My friends bike bike geometry is the saddle is taller than handle. Does this play a role? Aero bike will take less effort to ride? Take a book ( make sure it's a firm.book). Yank it between your legs and push as high into your balls possible. Make a mark at the wall where the top of the bookTake that mark ( which is your inseam height) and X 0.833 That is your saddle hight. Now measure the middle of your crank spindle to the top of your seat. That's how high your seat suppose to be |
Mar 16 2020, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Mar 10 2020, 10:03 AM) Hello riders, Look cleats imho don't last long. Average about 10 to 12 month( ride about 1k km a month)I'm looking out to try out Roadie pedals, initially set eyes on Shimano SPD -SL system, but now also look at Look system due to very affordable Xpedo light weight pedals that uses Look cleats. Any pros/cons of going either system? Leaning towards Xpedo pedals/Look cleats as it much cheaper given the 230g++. I have been using mtb cleat shoes on my roadie for sometime...Do i expect minor performance gain for switching to Roadie shoes due to better securement of the clips? Shimano cleats like bomb proof. Mine running for 1.5 year after change to Shimano SPD....sitll tahan. Done about 14k alrwady |
Mar 16 2020, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 16 2020, 09:13 AM) I got my floor pump from decathlon. Quite okay...get the metal body one.....can pump 120 psi no problem ( but I normally pump 100 psi) cepat nye pancutThe plastic body type can't take the pressure. For hand pump I use top peak....fit to side of my bottle cage. Very good assembly ...but as usual....u toceng for 10 to 15 mins baru puas |
Mar 16 2020, 09:27 AM
8,363 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
QUOTE(tydell @ Mar 13 2020, 09:27 AM) Need some guidance from pros/old timer here. Bought myself a decathlon road bike triban rc520. Decent hardware 105 groupset. Has been clocking about 300 km so far at GCE. When climbing i see other riders can ride way faster and make me a little butthurt. But thinking maybe they have been riding longer than i am. But when descending without pedaling they also go way faster. I had to pedal just to keep up. Is there something i miss? ![]() Looking at the 105 gearing, yours is the 50/34T and 11/32T right? And it's 11kg without rider. So perhaps those other riders have better (lighter) bikes and have better leg strength than you at the moment. For the pedaling hard while descending, did you change gears when you're coming downhill? ![]() QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 13 2020, 12:53 PM) |
Mar 17 2020, 01:37 PM
So with restricted movement imposed I am thinking I can go cycling...don't mind cycle alone..at gce.
Mar 17 2020, 09:11 PM
213 posts Joined: May 2005 From: https://www.supermotoxl.com |
QUOTE(tydell @ Mar 13 2020, 09:27 AM) Need some guidance from pros/old timer here. Bought myself a decathlon road bike triban rc520. Decent hardware 105 groupset. I tried this bike before from a friend who wanted to buy a bike to commute to work. Its a commuter and endurance bike rather than a race bike...which explained why the frame geometry geared towards comfort ride rather than aggressive riding; it have QR hub for disc rather than thru axle and have bunch of eyelets bracket for mounting cage, bags and fenders around the fork and rear triangle. Its very comfort to ride and ideal for long ride but when i try to sprint its a bit lower responsiveness both acceleration and handling...quite heavy too...hard to keep up with traffic. When hard cornering or stand up pedaling pushing the bike side to side the disc rotor have a bit rubbing causes much resistance which is why many true road disc brake have to use thru axle type hub to avoid flex. Has been clocking about 300 km so far at GCE. When climbing i see other riders can ride way faster and make me a little butthurt. But thinking maybe they have been riding longer than i am. But when descending without pedaling they also go way faster. I had to pedal just to keep up. Is there something i miss? Btw its a good bike for long distance ride and relaxing ride. But if you wanted to convert this bike into competitive racer and keep up with other rider you'll need to upgrade to lighter wheels and lower rolling resistance tires like Continental Grand Prix 5000 or Specialized Turbo Cotton which popular choice among local riders. You can find out details about rolling resistance here: https://www.bicyclerollingresistance.com/road-bike-reviews And also check make sure you have ample leg room to flex around as you pedal which is why many rider have seat higher than their handlebars. Crank length count too...i have to order special crank from Taiwan and UK for 160mm to 155mm crank to match my cadence. More likely if the bike is for Malaysian market you likely to own between 170mm, 172mm or 175mm crank length which can be struggle to pedal on asian size height. Btw found another review about the bike here: https://road.cc/content/review/252475-triba...-disc-road-bike This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Mar 17 2020, 09:21 PM |
Mar 18 2020, 04:32 PM
114 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
trying clipless shoes for the first time..jatuh berdebuk ha ha..anyway can we cycling during this lockdown time??
Mar 18 2020, 09:38 PM
Mar 26 2020, 12:31 PM
amat sadding
Mar 26 2020, 04:37 PM
eating
sleeping chonking |
Mar 27 2020, 11:05 AM
Mar 27 2020, 11:28 AM
Mar 27 2020, 11:29 AM
Mar 27 2020, 11:49 AM
| Change to: | 0.0391sec