Xbox Series X, The next Xbox generation

TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 08:44 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 17 2020, 07:04 PM)
but 1440p and 120fps, is not ur TV native reso, everything will be blurry eh. Ur tv will do the upscaling to 4k? If upscale to 4k via TV, can still have 120fps? cos 1440p without upscaling, i can confirm it looks super bad on a 65inch TV lol.
Haha, need to test lo but even right now 1080p from PS4, i also barely see much difference?

But if based on how Xbox One works that time, upscaling 4k will disable the 1440p 120hz feature which probably gets upscaling 4k with 30hz~60hz ?
Have to disable "Allow 4K" under system display menu.

But my TV got native support on 1440p 120hz as per the Rtings review

I also got see youtuber last 2 years mention this on NU8000 review that 1440p looks good also on this TV biggrin.gif
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 08:54 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 18 2020, 08:44 AM)
Haha, need to test lo but even right now 1080p from PS4, i also barely see much difference?

But if based on how Xbox One works that time, upscaling 4k will disable the 1440p 120hz feature which probably gets upscaling 4k with 30hz~60hz ?
Have to disable "Allow 4K" under system display menu.

But my TV got native support on 1440p 120hz as per the Rtings review

I also got see youtuber last 2 years mention this on NU8000 review that 1440p looks good also on this TV biggrin.gif
cos u need to see ps4 vs ps4 pro which u can see 1080p vs 4k native lol. Now ur TV do the upscaling for 1080p content for u. Easy u go youtube find 4k native video those high quality one then u switch between 1080p see got diff or not.

But at distance 3-4m, u dont really see much diff, maybe only artifacts from 1080p upscaling can see. I can see the diff when i run game from my PC 1080p vs 4k native.

if disable 4k at xbox then upscaling will be by ur TV. TV upscaling is very basic upscaling, if series s using better upscaling method like supersampling it will be much better than ur TV.
TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 09:16 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 08:54 AM)
cos u need to see ps4 vs ps4 pro which u can see 1080p vs 4k native lol. Now ur TV do the upscaling for 1080p content for u. Easy u go youtube find 4k native video those high quality one then u switch between 1080p see got diff or not.

But at distance 3-4m, u dont really see much diff, maybe only artifacts from 1080p upscaling can see. I can see the diff when i run game from my PC 1080p vs 4k native.

if disable 4k at xbox then upscaling will be by ur TV. TV upscaling is very basic upscaling, if series s using better upscaling method like supersampling it will be much better than ur TV.
I dont think my TV will do the upscaling work, haha..

Basically it depends on the console / devices / media player to do the job

Else 1080p / 1440p contents will be raw output to the TV.

Based on my laptop last time connect to TV, it will shows 2560 x 1440 with 60p on the Information but laptop not power enuf to run 4k , so cant really see differ XD
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 09:32 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 18 2020, 09:16 AM)
I dont think my TV will do the upscaling work, haha..

Basically it depends on the console / devices / media player to do the job

Else 1080p / 1440p contents will be raw output to the TV.

Based on my laptop last time connect to TV, it will shows 2560 x 1440 with 60p on the Information but laptop not power enuf to run 4k , so cant really see differ XD
No la, TV actually do the upscaling if ur content is lower than 4k lol. Thats y some TV can do quite good job, some cant. But if TV do upscaling, u will have some input lag. Maybe in game mode, there is no upscaling.

Anyway, if u go rtings u can see the section for upscaling. Most TV can do decent job upscaling video content from 1080p to 4k, but still can beat native, easily can see netflix content 1080p vs ultra 4k lol.
TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 09:40 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 09:32 AM)
No la, TV actually do the upscaling if ur content is lower than 4k lol. Thats y some TV can do quite good job, some cant. But if TV do upscaling, u will have some input lag. Maybe in game mode, there is no upscaling.

Anyway, if u go rtings u can see the section for upscaling. Most TV can do decent job upscaling video content from 1080p to 4k, but still can beat native, easily can see netflix content 1080p vs ultra 4k lol.
Yea, i dont see any upscaling review mentioned much in Rtings XD

But i havent checked between Native app of Netflix of my TV vs Nvidia Shield one with AI Enhanced though.

Upgrading TV probably wont be so soon for me until they really fix those handshake issue between TV, Soundbar/Audio and Console.
HDR, Vision, Atmos, hahaha

No perfect TV solution yet.

Kinda off topic though sweat.gif
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 10:22 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 18 2020, 09:40 AM)
Yea, i dont see any upscaling review mentioned much in Rtings XD

But i havent checked between Native app of Netflix of my TV vs Nvidia Shield one with AI Enhanced though.

Upgrading TV probably wont be so soon for me until they really fix those handshake issue between TV, Soundbar/Audio and Console.
HDR, Vision, Atmos, hahaha

No perfect TV solution yet.

Kinda off topic though  sweat.gif
Nah, upscaling review memang ada, maybe u scroll pass it lol. this one is nu8000 one.

There will never be a perfect solution, since hdmi started with all these arc, hdr sure bound to have some handshake issue when u start u implement more and more features. See hdmi-cec already how long in the market still got issue.

For me, as long as is not game-breaking, just enjoy while it last thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

still xbox topic la, so ppl know what the set their console for their own preferences smile.gif
TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 10:34 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 10:22 AM)
Nah, upscaling review memang ada, maybe u scroll pass it lol. this one is nu8000 one.

There will never be a perfect solution, since hdmi started with all these arc, hdr sure bound to have some handshake issue when u start u implement more and more features. See hdmi-cec already how long in the market still got issue.

For me, as long as is not game-breaking, just enjoy while it last  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

still xbox topic la, so ppl know what the set their console for their own preferences smile.gif
But don't have 1440p upscaling XD which is under Series S native, haha..

However, macam no issue can notice even till 4k sweat.gif
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 10:41 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 18 2020, 10:34 AM)
But don't have 1440p upscaling XD which is under Series S native, haha..

However, macam no issue can notice even till 4k  sweat.gif
cos there is no native 1440p video content in the market sweat.gif sweat.gif 1440p is all this while for pc gaming only. series s actually is for those ppl who use pc monitor, the panel runs natively at 1440p, so u wont see any soften images.
Timemuffin
post Nov 18 2020, 10:42 AM

98 posts

Xbox boss say supply constraint till Apr 2021...

Desoerate and depressed liao...
TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 10:44 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 10:41 AM)
cos there is no native 1440p video content in the market  sweat.gif  sweat.gif 1440p is all this while for pc gaming only. series s actually is for those ppl who use pc monitor, the panel runs natively at 1440p, so u wont see any soften images.
Now u mentioned... i wonder if my Soundbar can passtru (ARC) for 1440p or not, hmm ...

ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 10:50 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Nov 18 2020, 10:42 AM)
Xbox boss say supply constraint till Apr 2021...

Desoerate and depressed liao...
might have to pay scalper price to get series x lol..

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 18 2020, 10:44 AM)
Now u mentioned... i wonder if my Soundbar can passtru (ARC) for 1440p or not, hmm ...
easiest way to try, connect ur desktop/laptop to soundbar and try set reso to 1440p see can passthru or not lol. easiest way to test.
TongCN
post Nov 18 2020, 10:57 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 10:50 AM)
easiest way to try, connect ur desktop/laptop to soundbar and try set reso to 1440p see can passthru or not lol. easiest way to test.
Lol, True haha

This one Rtings really no mention and only shows can 4k 60hz passthrough

This post has been edited by TongCN: Nov 18 2020, 10:59 AM
SubRoutine
post Nov 18 2020, 11:52 AM

202 posts

Cyberpunk 2077 comparison between Xbox One X and Series X! Super hyped for this game, really hope XSX will be the best place to play this game
yibaandre
post Nov 18 2020, 05:03 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Nov 18 2020, 07:56 AM)
Most of us here would be buying digital games during sale, some may buy it new but with gamepass buying games would be at the minimal.

Not many shops bring in physical xbox games.
would malaysia credit card works on microsoft store ?
tripleB
post Nov 18 2020, 05:18 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Nov 18 2020, 05:03 PM)
They do. But sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I don't know how or why. I only have Maybank credit cards for example. I can use it to buy digital games and DLC for Xbox One and SOME 360 games, but I can't use it to buy original Xbox games. I have been trying to buy Panzer Dragoon Orta for many, many months but it never worked for me. In the end I just bought some gift cards for the US, redeemed it, then pay using the gift points. Then only it worked.
IccyAsd
post Nov 18 2020, 06:07 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Nov 18 2020, 05:03 PM)
Yes you can, on the Xbox console it self.

QUOTE(tripleB @ Nov 18 2020, 05:18 PM)
They do. But sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I don't know how or why. I only have Maybank credit cards for example. I can use it to buy digital games and DLC for Xbox One and SOME 360 games, but I can't use it to buy original Xbox games. I have been trying to buy Panzer Dragoon Orta for many, many months but it never worked for me. In the end I just bought some gift cards for the US, redeemed it, then pay using the gift points. Then only it worked.
i use Citibank with paypal, so far no issue yet since 2007.

Are you buying those games through paypal? on xbox console? i know some of the earlier OG Xbox & 360 games have region lock.

This post has been edited by IccyAsd: Nov 18 2020, 06:11 PM
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 06:37 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Nov 18 2020, 06:07 PM)

Are you buying those games through paypal? on xbox console? i know some of the earlier OG Xbox & 360 games have region lock.
i tried subscribe the usd1 gamepass trial via my malaysia paypal account link with malaysia credit card, it cant get thru using PC. Maybe is using xbox can.

dx_treme
post Nov 18 2020, 08:23 PM

64 posts

have any malaysian tweet to Phil Spencer bout official launch in MY yet? haha
tripleB
post Nov 18 2020, 08:35 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Nov 18 2020, 06:07 PM)

I also thought it might be region lock issue at first. But I can buy Panzer Dragoon Orta and also Ninja Gaiden Black using gift card. It just won't allow me to buy using credit card or Paypal. Not on the Xbox itself or PC. Not if my profile is set to Singapore or United States. Not if I'm using proxy solution to bypass geolocation. It just won't work for whatever reason.
ben3003
post Nov 18 2020, 09:14 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dx_treme @ Nov 18 2020, 08:23 PM)
have any malaysian tweet to Phil Spencer bout official launch in MY yet? haha
somebody should try and do it lol.. anyone did actually start petition ? biggrin.gif

259 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:00 AM