60 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Seiko Watch Thread V6, Seikoholics Unite Kopitiam

HolyAssasin4444
post Jan 26 2021, 05:02 AM

153 posts

Hi seiko gurus! Interested in getting into the watch world and decided to get a Seiko 5 Sports (4R36) as my entry drug. Is there any shops that are recommended? Only shop I've checked is citychain

This post has been edited by HolyAssasin4444: Jan 26 2021, 05:53 AM
gmail
post Jan 26 2021, 10:11 AM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

QUOTE(MrCola @ Jan 15 2021, 04:36 PM)
As we all know SKX line of watches have been discontinued for some time ago, recently i have been contemplating whether or not I should be getting SKX013 (in which i prefer over the SKX007) or the SRPD55K1 (successor of the SKX007) which has the upgraded movement (4r36), exhibition case back, better finishing and polishing. From the sources that i can find, market price for brand new (old stock) SKX013's will set me back around rm1.3-1.4k. And SRPD55K's are going for around rm800 (almost half) these days. What are your take on this? Would you still be getting the SKX013 due to it being an all time classic (which is also ISO certified unlike the newer models), or would you go for the newer model because you don't think SKX013 are worth spending rm1.3-1.4k on nowadays?

For me, I dont really know man, in terms of SKX i think anything over rm800 is not worth getting for, yes it is reliable as ever however the specs are frankly, outdated in today's standards, 7s movement which is non-hacking and non-handwinding, however the watch along with the 007 and 009's have such a cult following in the watch community, because "Its a SKX bro".

In terms of the SRPD55K, you can see that Seiko has carry forward the old designs into the current line of Seiko 5 diver models. Almost every aspect of the watch has been updated and refined (finishing, winding and hacking movement, display case back), however the watch community has been constantly bashing on this watch because it lacks character. It is not ISO certified, only 100m WR instead of 200. These are often regarded as fashion watches that looks like dive watches.

So what's your verdict? Would you bite the bullet and get the overpriced though classic SKX013 or SRPD55K which is almost half the price of the former watch? Do you think the SKX's will appreciate overtime just like the SARB's? Or will they retain in value or drop?
I did own both at some point of time.

Movement wise, in terms of accuracy I've no problem with both 7S26 and 4R36, in fact the 7S26 is much more accurate than the few other 6R15 in my collection. Besides, you got to ask yourself is hacking and handwiding important for you? Can you live without it?

I didn't really fancy the bracelet on the SRPD63, the 22mm non tapered bracelet just doesn't feels right on my wrist and not really comfortable to wear.

At the end of the day, I'm still keeping the SKX007 and sold the SRPD63 after few months of ownership as I find the SKX still a proper diver watch with screwdown crown despite the shortcomings of the movement.

I guess I'm not in a right position to comment on the price, I bought them to wear, so appreciation (if any) is just a bonus for me to shiok sendiri tongue.gif

radi0head
post Jan 27 2021, 06:41 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(RattleSnaKe @ Jan 25 2021, 10:10 PM)
Bought the SRP777 Turtle in the end! Got it at about 1.0k from Shoppee seller after cashback. Tempted by Pepsi (SRP779), PADI (SRPA21) and Gold (SRP775) but chose the black one as I think it is the most versatile and classic. First automatic too.

The reference number for the one I bought is actually SRPE93K1 as it has "Divers Watch 200M" instead of "Air Divers 200M" at the caseback due to an update to ISO regulation. The original SP77x series should have been phased out by now.
great purchase and great price u got it too... thumbsup.gif
wearing it daily ?

mc_kambeng
post Feb 3 2021, 06:31 PM

518 posts

Any strap seller to be recommended?
Mr.Dealova
post Feb 5 2021, 10:49 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mc_kambeng @ Feb 3 2021, 06:31 PM)
Custom leather?
mc_kambeng
post Feb 6 2021, 02:01 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Dealova @ Feb 5 2021, 10:49 PM)
Custom leather?
Just any legit seller selling genuine leather will be good enough..
R3dBull P
post Feb 6 2021, 07:20 AM

Probation

QUOTE(mc_kambeng @ Feb 3 2021, 06:31 PM)
Barton Watch Bands are pretty good.
staind
post Feb 11 2021, 01:55 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

Legendary Seiko Flightmaster SNA411

gdomanguera
post Feb 25 2021, 02:09 PM

70 posts

My first vintage watch
Seikomatic 35j "Dolphin King" (ref 6218-8950)
Circa October 1965

Asyouwishwish
post Mar 3 2021, 07:19 AM

49 posts

At last, I got my wishlist Seiko with day date & the word, "PADI" on my hand!

hazzery
post Mar 3 2021, 10:02 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Asyouwishwish @ Mar 3 2021, 07:19 AM)
At last, I got my wishlist Seiko with day date & the word, "PADI" on my hand!
Congratulations! Wear it in good health..
Edisonlky P
post Mar 7 2021, 08:29 PM

Probation

Anyone buy seiko brightz Saga209 in Malaysia?

https://pictr.com/images/2021/03/07/7XKtjc.md.jpg
discretesound
post Mar 8 2021, 08:45 AM

272 posts

thinking of re-adding Seiko into my collection.
I am torn between the King Seiko SDKA001 and the SLA043.
Love the simplicity of the king Seiko but I'm also a dive watch addict.. anybody had the chance to handle both before to give an impression?
tan_pang
post Mar 10 2021, 06:03 PM

3,110 posts

I'm not a quartz person, but recently found SPC255P1...

Running 7T86 caliber. Have hour and minutes hand at middle and second subdial at 9o'clock. The watch can change between calendar mode and stopwatch mode.

In calendar mode, the day hand at 12o'clock will point to day of week, middle calendar hand will point to date, month or leap year and subdial at 6o'clock will display alarm time.
In chrono mode, the day hand at 12o'clock will point to CHR (indicate it is now in chrono mode), day hand no longer point to date but instead become stopwatch second hand and alarm at 6o'clock become 24h subdial for stopwatch.

Thinking to get this one, but want to get some feedback before buy... especially feedback about battery life... sweat.gif
hjh87
post Mar 16 2021, 10:12 PM

794 posts

Mind to share the reasoning on why one model have two different numbering?

Etc. the Seiko Presage SARW055 / SPB161J1.
vankodoq
post Mar 17 2021, 09:03 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Jan 26 2021, 05:02 AM)
Hi seiko gurus! Interested in getting into the watch world and decided to get a Seiko 5 Sports (4R36) as my entry drug. Is there any shops that are recommended? Only shop I've checked is citychain
Tho I can't say I'm a guru, I think CityChain would be a good enough shop, since a lot of their store are listed as Authorized Distributor of Seiko in Malaysia.
But if you live close to Midvalley or Sunway, there's no harm in checking out Seiko's own shop there. nod.gif

QUOTE(discretesound @ Mar 8 2021, 08:45 AM)
thinking of re-adding Seiko into my collection.
I am torn between the King Seiko SDKA001 and the SLA043.
Love the simplicity of the king Seiko but I'm also a dive watch addict.. anybody had the chance to handle both before to give an impression?
I personally would go for the King Seiko for its historical value. But I haven't had a chance to see both of them IRL, so.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Mar 16 2021, 10:12 PM)

My guess would be the market they're selling for. I'd guess that SARW-055 is for domestic Japan market and SPB161J1 is for foreign market.
Probably for Seiko to see which market likes the product more? At least, that's gonna be my assumption for now. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by vankodoq: Mar 17 2021, 09:07 AM
hazzery
post Mar 17 2021, 09:03 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Mar 16 2021, 10:12 PM)

One is Japan Model and another is International Model hence the difference reference number.

Japan model basically at the dial will stated Made in Japan
hjh87
post Mar 17 2021, 09:18 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(hazzery @ Mar 17 2021, 09:03 AM)
One is Japan Model and another is International Model hence the difference reference number.

Japan model basically at the dial will stated Made in Japan
Noted, I've read some where that Japan made is more accurate than the one made from their subsidiary which is China, Malaysia & Singapore?

And does Japan model come with international warranty?
hazzery
post Mar 17 2021, 09:40 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Mar 17 2021, 09:18 AM)
Noted, I've read some where that Japan made is more accurate than the one made from their subsidiary which is China, Malaysia & Singapore?

And does Japan model come with international warranty?
Japan model a.k.a JDM was never meant to be sold to customers outside of Japan. Seiko Japan no longer offers Worldwide warranties for Seiko wristwatches shipped from Japan. These come with Japan domestic warranties.

Any sifus can confirm on this? Seiyajapan stated that need to send back to them in order to claim warranty and the warranty is only valid for 1 year from the purchase date.

This post has been edited by hazzery: Mar 17 2021, 09:41 AM
discretesound
post Mar 17 2021, 09:43 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Mar 17 2021, 09:03 AM)
Tho I can't say I'm a guru, I think CityChain would be a good enough shop, since a lot of their store are listed as Authorized Distributor of Seiko in Malaysia.
But if you live close to Midvalley or Sunway, there's no harm in checking out Seiko's own shop there. nod.gif
I personally would go for the King Seiko for its historical value. But I haven't had a chance to see both of them IRL, so.. hmm.gif
My guess would be the market they're selling for. I'd guess that SARW-055 is for domestic Japan market and SPB161J1 is for foreign market.
Probably for Seiko to see which market likes the product more? At least, that's gonna be my assumption for now. rolleyes.gif
Missed out on the King so have the SLA043 on order instead. Will see how they turn out

60 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:42 PM