Seiko Watch Thread V6, Seikoholics Unite Kopitiam

vankodoq
post Dec 23 2020, 12:32 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 20 2020, 09:34 AM)
Seiko Naruto & Boruto line is out! Are these worth collecting ?

Saw them on display in the Seiko area inside Isetan Lot10. If I have the budget, I might go for Shikamaru's model, since it's arguably the subtlest out of all. Kinda like the character himself. nod.gif

QUOTE(waka14 @ Dec 21 2020, 02:05 PM)
My first automatic dress watch, got it for Rm1191 from shopee's 12.12 sale. I know presage is shiny, but didn't know it's this shiny, overall like it 👍🏼
SSA341j1
Nice choice for first automatic dress watch. thumbup.gif
I'm still awe-stricken by the blue dial model of Presage Sharp Edged and I'm kinda thinking of getting that and selling my Blue Moon model from the Cocktail Time line. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vankodoq: Dec 23 2020, 12:33 AM
vankodoq
post Mar 17 2021, 09:03 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Jan 26 2021, 05:02 AM)
Hi seiko gurus! Interested in getting into the watch world and decided to get a Seiko 5 Sports (4R36) as my entry drug. Is there any shops that are recommended? Only shop I've checked is citychain
Tho I can't say I'm a guru, I think CityChain would be a good enough shop, since a lot of their store are listed as Authorized Distributor of Seiko in Malaysia.
But if you live close to Midvalley or Sunway, there's no harm in checking out Seiko's own shop there. nod.gif

QUOTE(discretesound @ Mar 8 2021, 08:45 AM)
thinking of re-adding Seiko into my collection.
I am torn between the King Seiko SDKA001 and the SLA043.
Love the simplicity of the king Seiko but I'm also a dive watch addict.. anybody had the chance to handle both before to give an impression?
I personally would go for the King Seiko for its historical value. But I haven't had a chance to see both of them IRL, so.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Mar 16 2021, 10:12 PM)
Mind to share the reasoning on why one model have two different numbering?

Etc. the Seiko Presage SARW055 / SPB161J1.
My guess would be the market they're selling for. I'd guess that SARW-055 is for domestic Japan market and SPB161J1 is for foreign market.
Probably for Seiko to see which market likes the product more? At least, that's gonna be my assumption for now. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by vankodoq: Mar 17 2021, 09:07 AM
vankodoq
post Apr 24 2021, 04:38 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(icelemontea @ Mar 25 2021, 11:50 AM)
Would you recommend buying from site like shopee or lazada? I'm concerned about the authenticity

Been eyeing this:

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/seiko-pr...ee_1185137548.1
I still prefer to buy at physical store if the price is significant enough for me. But at least if I check that store, it offers 1 year international manufacturer warranty (which should mean official Seiko warranty, ideally). If you end up buying from that store, I think you can directly go to a Seiko official outlet to check its authenticity. hmm.gif
vankodoq
post May 12 2021, 10:25 AM

373 posts

Just found out yesterday that Seiko will release its 140th anniversary starting this month!
The website says that Prospex, Astron, and Seiko 5 lines for the 140th anniversary are available in May, but the Presage version (Sharp Edged GMT!) will be available in July
What do you think fellas? Now I kinda want to save up some money for the Sharp Edged GMT line for this 140th anniversary release drool.gif
vankodoq
post Nov 10 2021, 05:45 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Predator10 @ Oct 31 2021, 12:43 AM)

Happy to join you guys with my first Seiko automatic watch  biggrin.gif
What a beauty! Love the photographs as well!! rclxms.gif

Anyone here bought the anniversary edition of Sharp Edged GMT? hmm.gif
vankodoq
post Apr 16 2022, 10:04 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Apr 16 2022, 08:17 PM)
What model is this?
That's the Sharp Edged GMT for Seiko 140th Anniversary (SPB223J1). thumbup.gif
vankodoq
post Apr 24 2022, 01:00 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Apr 17 2022, 05:40 AM)
That limited edition one. Iinm there is a set of watches in different watches with same theme.
You can just check Seiko Presage Sharp Edged GMT. They come in several different dials. hmm.gif
vankodoq
post Jun 18 2022, 11:53 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(HAHA1234!@# @ May 9 2022, 01:37 PM)
How much is seiko automatic watch? Thinking of seiko or Tissot. It's my first AUTOMATIC watch.
really depends on what kind of watch you're thinking of buying as your first automatic watch..
if you're going for the dress watch route, then the Presage line would be nice and (if I'm not mistaken) it starts from around RM1,300 and up..
but if you're only looking for a casual automatic watch, then the Seiko 5 line is also nice and it starts from just like what steevan1000 said above.. nod.gif

QUOTE(vinzhaw @ May 30 2022, 09:44 AM)
Anyone bought Seiko watch from HK before?

I'm interested on SSA343J1 but seller told me have 1 year warranty in Hong Kong & China only.

Legit?
hmm.. I consider myself a conservative guy, so if I were you, I wouldn't go for it..
but to be fair, I've never bought myself anything from Hong Kong and got it shipped here, so I might be wrong.. hmm.gif
vankodoq
post Jun 22 2022, 11:09 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(trex9999 @ Jun 21 2022, 11:32 PM)
If you’re around klang valley look for Steven aka wah foong. He’s 1 of the best ard. My watches only goes to him for service whenever they’re out of warranty.
oohh, might want to have his service later..
just googled "wah foong" and a shop in Jalan Raja Laut came up, I assume that's what you're talking about? hmm.gif
vankodoq
post Jul 1 2022, 03:16 PM

373 posts

the upcoming Seiko 5 GMT seems to be interesting..
if I ever get one of them, I think I'll take the blue-black version of it (i.e. SSK003).. hmm.gif
source -> https://www.seikowatches.com/uk-en/news/20220608
vankodoq
post Jul 3 2022, 02:14 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(gnuix @ Jul 2 2022, 09:21 PM)
Went to midvalley Seiko boutique to have a look at the new releases..

[attachmentid=11191152]

[attachmentid=11191153]

[attachmentid=11191154]
the Grand Seiko is fiiineeee.. might not be a huge visual improvement, but fine piece nonetheless..
on the other hand, the new SSK003 doesn't look as nice as I expected.. probably need to try them on my own wrist.. hmm.gif

0.0344sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:17 PM