5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

TSSilentVampire
post Feb 12 2020, 02:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(tomsulliven @ Feb 12 2020, 01:56 PM)

May I know from my router to hypptv is 568A or 568B? Or both end also same?
Doesn’t matter, but most Ethernet cable in this country is 568B.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 13 2020, 09:32 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 12 2020, 11:38 PM)
Hi all, my parents house is using the supplied Dlink modem, it was quite bad initially, but lately the wifi seems quite stable, only at very far end of the double story house it seems to drop occasionally..

However that the 2.4ghz is quite unusable (i don't think there are many interference nearby tho.) any idea how to get a good 2.4ghz network?

Use my old mikrotik router as wireless ap?

any idea what is the difference between tplink ax10 and c2300?
I would change that old Dlink modem ASAP. It is ancient and not fit for use in this current time.

2.4GHz is usually full of interference and congestion, so there is nothing much you can do. However, changing to a new router could probably help, as it could be a router issue rather than the channel issue. The router is just too old for use.

TP-Link AX10 is newer and supports Wifi 6. C2300 is older, and does not support Wifi 6. If you want to save some money, get the C2300. I would recommend Asus router though, specifically the Asus RT-AC86U.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 13 2020, 10:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Feb 13 2020, 04:04 PM)
i want to ask now recently tp-link newer model increase speed boot up time and connected to internet within in 1 min? they solved slow boot up time already?
I won’t recommend TP-Link anymore, unless you want a budget option. They totally disappoint me by ending the support for most of their AC routers and only concentrate on the AX routers.

QUOTE(bananalow @ Feb 13 2020, 05:26 PM)
Recently I have upgrade from unifi lite to unifi 100mbps. I found out that I would need to restart my btu and router in order for me to access some mobile game and my email using Samsung email app every few mins. If not I couldn’t load my apps. Do you guys think is it the router issue? FYI, my btu is Huawei btu while my unifi router is the netis ac1200.

Normal browsing,YouTube,etc is ok..
The Netis is crap. Get ASUS RT-AC86U.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 13 2020, 08:40 PM)
So you expect good hardware, good firmware, great support but you want the price to be like TP-Link prices?
Great logic there thumbsup.gif
Then what do you call these?

Lol, burn tongue.gif

TSSilentVampire
post Feb 13 2020, 10:47 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 13 2020, 10:29 PM)
Dulu orang kuat TP-Link.. Hahaha.  tongue.gif
Haha, I was a fan until they EOL some of the AC routers, namely the C3150 and the C2300 vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 13 2020, 10:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Feb 13 2020, 10:54 PM)
I also fan of tplink too I got own tpink 1043nd but I was upgrade to Asus ac66u during 11. 11 from taobao sales. Currently was in latest firmware version but really slow boot up time till connected to internet complete need use 5min.. I hope so can get the speed same as same as the 1043nd performance within fast boot up time.
That slow? I’m quite surprised. I thought it would be faster.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 14 2020, 08:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Feb 14 2020, 11:25 AM)
Guys,who having trouble with Fastly Site like Reddit,Speedtest.net or others, try tonight got better or not.
I report to them about one week ago,now they replied.

Ping on just now morning 11.22am.

Who always use reddit or any fastly cdn powered sites if still got problem,tell me tonight,i can continue complain to them.
Thank you for your report. Everything seems to be much faster now.

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Feb 14 2020, 05:29 PM)
Hi

just to check with you all.

do anyone of you who have modem provided by TM- Unifi; TP-Link C1200 encounter sudden restart by itself?

Cheers.!
Change to ASUs RT-AC86U.

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Feb 14 2020, 07:34 PM)
Thanks for the kind word bro.  thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif
Still use my trusted C3150v2, so far best router I ever had. Still have 2 mikrotik laying around unused though.
I’m also using this router. However, TP-Link has ended any support for it, which is very disgraceful and as a result, they have lost me as their supporter.

TSSilentVampire
post Feb 15 2020, 08:57 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 15 2020, 02:15 AM)
Sell it and join the ASUS brigade biggrin.gif
RT-AX88U. Then you won't have to worry about firmware updates for the next 7 - 8 years

TP-LINK MY See that up there? You just lost another customer. For the love of god, change your business style please. Stop with all this idiotic revisions specific firmware & region specific firmware
And stand by your product please, ini baru 2 tahun dah say bye bye to your customers. Bodoh
I'm planning to do it soon, once I sell my current house and moving to my new place. I won't sell the router but will pass it to my relative who don't really care about router updates and all that. Will definitely get the Asus RT-AX88U after that. Have been eyeing that router for quite some time actually haha.

They won't change their business model, unfortunately. I have given up on the brand for now, unless they change, but I'm not holding my breath.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 15 2020, 04:03 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 15 2020, 10:41 AM)
I'm waiting for the next iteration of RT-AC68U / RT-AC86U
Love standing routers because it makes it easier to install & hide the fan behind the routers but waiting for the Wi-Fi 6 models. Better yet, Wi-Fi 7 biggrin.gif
Haha, am happy with Wi-Fi 6 for now.

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 15 2020, 01:31 PM)
No openwrt/lede for your TPLink?
Not interested to find out, and will be changing to Asus router soon.

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Feb 15 2020, 02:06 PM)
The only ASUS model that I suggest active cooling is the Blue Cave. That Intel SoC is hot.

All other models will run well as long as you’re not covering the vents or using it in enclosed space.

We are going off topic now, let’s head over to ASUS thread for ASUS router discussion.
It's all good. We can talk about Asus router here too. This is a general thread for everything TM related, and Asus router is related in a way.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 20 2020, 09:56 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 20 2020, 09:20 AM)
I really can't accept of this rule:

I will open report..Just for information, a flat rate of RM53.00 (including 6% SST) per visit will be charged, subject to the root cause of the problem and equipment warranty

It is an effort from our technician to rectify the issue from you. The charges will be imposed if the fault comes from customer side, however we will not charge you if the fault is from TM side.

The charges will be imposed to customer if issue comes from customer side. If the issue is from our side, there is no charges

Technician will come and check your issue, from that they will know the fault is from customer side or TM side. The charges will be imposed on the next bill cycle once issue resolved
That is standard practice unfortunately, and I have seen some technician charge for that even when it is not the customer's fault. Make sure you check and verify that if is TM's fault, you don't end up paying for it.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 20 2020, 01:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 20 2020, 10:09 AM)
Not sure if Maxis does have this?

HOw about if I can ask rebate from TM if the service disruption for 1 or even more days?
Not sure if Maxis have it, and yes, you can ask for rebate from TM if service disruption is more than a day.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 20 2020, 08:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Feb 20 2020, 06:20 PM)
I have the orange coloured router which provided by TM. If I upgrade to Asus RT-AC86U, will I able to get stable internet connection? Btw, mine is 100mbps package.
Yes, but probably not on 2.4GHz if the wireless space in your are is full of interference and congestion. It doesn't matter what router you use.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 27 2020, 10:54 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Feb 27 2020, 07:12 PM)
I cannot log in my unifi tv on both new and old apps
Now using new device, reset password also cannot

They screwed up. Call them to migrate your Unifi Playtv account to the new app.
TSSilentVampire
post Feb 28 2020, 11:01 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Feb 27 2020, 11:07 PM)
call same no 100?
Yes. Call them and explain your situation.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 4 2020, 06:17 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Mar 4 2020, 05:56 PM)
It was a no go. I realized that although the WAN port supports 1Gbps, the LAN ports don't. The LAN ports are 10/100. It will bottleneck the 300Mbps speed. I managed to set it up to test the download. Download was stable and not stopping randomly like the Netis router. So it was indeed the Netis modem problem. I reset it but still same problem.

Haiz, it looks like I have to buy a new router....
I called TM to reset the password.
Just get a new router. That orange router is crap.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 5 2020, 09:29 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Mar 5 2020, 08:46 AM)

https://www.blacktubi.com/review/tp-link-archer-a10-review/

After reading the above review and other reviews, I finally ordered a AC2300 for its USB port, more ram.
Just to let you know though, AC2300 has reached its EOL, so that means there won't be any firmware ugrade or update, and there will not be any support for it anymore. That is why I am no longer a fan of TP-Link, as they don't support their own products for a long period of time, unlike Asus.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 5 2020, 11:17 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Mar 5 2020, 11:04 AM)
I wanted to buy AC2300, suddenly decided to cancel. Then which router is best for now and future?
Asus RT-AC86U. If you have money, you can buy the Asus AX routers for futureproofing, but it is up to you.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 5 2020, 11:18 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 5 2020, 10:17 AM)
hi guys,

which of the following is a better option if my concern is strong coverage to replace the stock wifi router given by unifi?

my main concern is just coverage and not so much on speed.

1) 1 x Linksys high-end wifi router (possible to cover a 2 storey landed house?) - Linksys MR8300AH 2200 AC Tri-Band MU-MIMO Mesh WiFi Router or Linksys MR9000 Tri-Band Mesh Wifi 5 Router AC3000? which one is better?

2) 2 x Linksys high-end mesh wifi routers

3) 1 x Linksys high-end wifi router + 1 Linksys Velop Mesh WiFi node

4) 1 x stock unifi wifi router + 2 x Linksys Velop Mesh WiFi nodes

Why Linksys? You can get Deco M9 Plus which is better and cheaper.

TSSilentVampire
post Mar 5 2020, 03:45 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Mar 5 2020, 12:17 PM)
Is Asus RT-AX3000 good router or 86U better?
Asus RT-AX3000 is better as it is newer, and supports Wifi 6.

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 5 2020, 12:56 PM)
becos of the look. i am from "appearance society". haha.  tongue.gif

does it support unifi natively, meaning can enter username and password for unifi to connect natively?

dun really prefer the deco series becos of the look. will only consider vellop series instead.

do you have suggestion on which option will be better? the 4 options that i have listed.
Yes, Deco M9 Plus support Unifi natively. I'm not sure about Linksys, so can't really comment about your setup and options. I wouldn't want to give advice if I'm not sure, sorry.

QUOTE(geep @ Mar 5 2020, 01:51 PM)
Im also thinking of Mesh setup in the future.
Would it be a good idea getting an Asus RT-AC66U B1 for now.
And Pair with another high end asus in the future?
Its the only asus with Aimesh I can afford for now.
Or there any other affordable and good solution?

Asus RT-AC66U is good enough if you just want a good reliable router to use.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 5 2020, 07:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 5 2020, 03:54 PM)
No problem.

Meaning deco m9 plus can enter username (xxx@unifi) and password at the config page for PPPoE to establish the connection from unifi BTU directly and function like a wifi mesh router without the need to have a separate wifi router?
Yes, Deco M9 Plus, and all the TP-Link Deco models can function as a WiFi mesh router without the need to have a separate WiFi router.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 6 2020, 09:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Mar 6 2020, 09:04 PM)
I'm on 300 Mbps plan but why I cannot achieve 300 Mbps speed most of the time? Speedtest results always between 150-250 Mbps even when I'm using LAN cable. Doesn't matter which speedtest websites I tried, it rarely reach full speed.

Is it because of the shitty TM router? TM gave me the orange/white router with that big unifi logo (Customers have to do advertisement for TM) on the front.
It could be the shitty router and your LAN cable. Get good quality CAT6 cables, such as Dintek.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2281sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:15 PM