55 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

JustForFun
post Feb 24 2022, 08:21 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 24 2022, 02:49 AM)
fb manyak helmet frm thai, copy ori apa pon ada, they can still enter mar.. lol.. kautim oni..
all same la, not jz helmet,
carry on luggage if they din check, still jalan terus ..

i heard imported helmet only got sirim if distributor send for sirim testing? like arai?
else will only hv jpj sticker.
If it's from Thailand all they have to do is wear it and ride across border, doubt it will be checked.

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Feb 24 2022, 06:23 AM)
If that is the case they must have done the JPJ's CTA (component type approval) by an approved Certification Body.

I've checked back again the rules that was recently enforced, the main requirements for the JPJ CTA are either MS 1 or UN ECE R22 by an accredited Certification Body.

For bringing in helmets from overseas for personal use, either by online purchase or by flight carry on luggage, if the helmets does not have the JPJ approval yet, the helmet  must have a valid UN ECE R22 certification. However, upon entry you will still need to apply for JPJ approval.
Okay so based on what I found here, your helmet will be confiscated by kastam on arrival. According to the guideline provided by JPJ, You need to send an email containing pictures of the ECE tag within the helmet to JPJ to obtain the approval, but how do you even do that when the item is still confiscated by kastam? Doesn't make much sense.
TSbasilisk
post Feb 24 2022, 08:27 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Feb 24 2022, 08:21 AM)
If it's from Thailand all they have to do is wear it and ride across border, doubt it will be checked.
Okay so based on what I found here, your helmet will be confiscated by kastam on arrival. According to the guideline provided by JPJ, You need to send an email containing pictures of the ECE tag within the helmet to JPJ to obtain the approval, but how do you even do that when the item is still confiscated by kastam? Doesn't make much sense.
i mean ppl (trader) selling helmet those helmet, they already hv ready stock on hand.

u need to prepare the pic beforehand and wait for kastam letter, pic frm net etc ,
or u go kastam there to take the pic, when u rcv the kastam letter kena tahan.
many hv done tht..
those ruroc flers all over utube..

JustForFun
post Feb 24 2022, 08:50 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 24 2022, 08:27 AM)
i mean ppl (trader) selling helmet those helmet, they already hv ready stock on hand.

u need to prepare the pic beforehand and wait for kastam letter, pic frm net etc ,
or u go kastam there to take the pic, when u rcv the kastam letter kena tahan.
many hv done tht..
those ruroc flers all over utube..
That's too bad, I assume the item will get stuck at Kompleks Kastam in KL? Then it's not really feasible for people outside of KL to travel there just to get it released.
alexei
post Feb 24 2022, 09:13 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

When the helmet confiscate was in the news, I know someone who bought China helmet from shopee. RM60 with internal visor. The person bought 2 on separate occasions from different seller. That same helmet also got local seller at slightly higher price.

The helmets arrived with no issue. After use a while, the helmet EPS liner tercabut from the shell, and then inside the shell got 1 sticker.

The sticker says 'suitable for electric moped under 30kmh only'.
My friend gave the helmets away.

SIRIM ada test helmets, for local manufacturers and and imported brands want to get the SIRIM label. MS1 helmet certification got 2, 1996 and 2001 IINM.

JPJ is the governing body on what we use for head protection. Kastam jaga whatever we import.

So, all these 3 bodies work together to earn money from helmet makers or importers or buyers to make sure we wear the correct helmets, eventhough they sendiri may not wear helmets.
amscouzach57
post Feb 24 2022, 12:19 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Feb 24 2022, 08:21 AM)
This is the awkward part, when the helmets arrived, it will be "confiscated" by Customs. That is when you will receive the Notis Penahanan Kastam.

The best way & only possible way to get the pictures is to request it from the seller before shipping out your helmet. Especially when buying online.

by providing all the required documents (via online system), JPJ will then grant the approval & later present it to Customs for the item to be released.
alexei
post Feb 24 2022, 02:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Heard some ppl buy KYT R10 from Indonesia, but failed to bring in.
Now, many on Shopee.
TSbasilisk
post Feb 26 2022, 09:44 PM

30 posts

alexei
post Feb 27 2022, 07:28 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 26 2022, 09:44 PM)
Any idea if SIRIM also perform tests on visor?
TSbasilisk
post Feb 28 2022, 01:56 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 27 2022, 07:28 PM)
yeah, this is my over 15yo michel helmet with bogo visor both made by solid gold.

this my over 10yo sol helmet made in taiwan,
imported by winmaster

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 28 2022, 02:25 AM
amscouzach57
post Feb 28 2022, 07:16 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 27 2022, 07:28 PM)
Yes, they do. They can test the helmet visors in accordance to the MS 1-2, MS 1065 & UN ECE R22 standards.
alexei
post Feb 28 2022, 08:10 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Nice. I'm hoping to find SIRIM tested visor for local helmets. Such as those smoke or iridium ones.
Mainly for impact protection, and optical quality.

At one time, I bought a smoked visor, it made my sense of distance off, things macam flat, colorless, and the surroundings appear less 3D. That helmet, very old liao, so used a bit later threw away.
Switched to a different helmet and pasang the ori smoked visor, eventho mahal, but the quality really different. The visor even do water beading and is not iridium type.

nowadays, I buy helmet will ask what visor they sell, got ori smoke? ori iridium? then will consider that helmet
I heard branded visor even up to 3~4 hundred a piece, those visor must got see through ability
TSbasilisk
post Feb 28 2022, 09:31 AM

30 posts

if visor alone, not sure if sirim test is required..
alexei
post Feb 28 2022, 12:57 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Please provide options for economy helmets with Sirim MS1:2011.
Price range, let's say under RM150?

Apparently MS88 is certified to it.

Would prefer something with visor.

This post has been edited by alexei: Feb 28 2022, 12:59 PM
MeToo
post Feb 28 2022, 01:02 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 28 2022, 01:56 AM)
yeah, this is my over 15yo michel helmet with bogo visor both made by solid gold.

this my over 10yo sol helmet made in taiwan,
imported by winmaster

The problem with SIRIM certification is that test are destructive, hence low volume expensinve helmets doesnt make sense to be tested by SIRIM. Say you have an ARAI model which you think will sell 5~6 units, u give 1 unit for SIRIM to test/destroy... how can you cover back your margin?

That being said, my ARAI i went cross border, bought it and wore it back... no SIRIM, but I'm not too worried about the reliability.. tongue.gif
TSbasilisk
post Feb 28 2022, 02:06 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 28 2022, 12:57 PM)

i think nowadays got many?
they import parts frm china then assemble here, oso got sirim punya, the visor u need to test to c got distortion ornot.
i dono d quality of bogo visor these days,
last time the michel helmet visor damn good
alexei
post Feb 28 2022, 02:45 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 28 2022, 02:06 PM)
i think nowadays got many?
they import parts frm china then assemble here, oso got sirim punya, the visor u need to test to c got distortion ornot.
i dono d quality of bogo visor these days,
last time the michel helmet visor damn good
asking mah, since lately hard to go shops and see see
sometimes u go shop, they also not really layan

if better, can compile a list for reference, make this thread more meat (content)
TSbasilisk
post Feb 28 2022, 02:54 PM

30 posts

too bad i dont go to shop atm ...
jaycee1
post Mar 2 2022, 02:20 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 28 2022, 08:10 AM)
Nice. I'm hoping to find SIRIM tested visor for local helmets. Such as those smoke or iridium ones.
Mainly for impact protection, and optical quality.

At one time, I bought a smoked visor, it made my sense of distance off, things macam flat, colorless, and the surroundings appear less 3D. That helmet, very old liao, so used a bit later threw away.
Switched to a different helmet and pasang the ori smoked visor, eventho mahal, but the quality really different. The visor even do water beading and is not iridium type.

nowadays, I buy helmet will ask what visor they sell, got ori smoke? ori iridium? then will consider that helmet
I heard branded visor even up to 3~4 hundred a piece, those visor must got see through ability
QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 28 2022, 12:57 PM)

If the budget is only 150, tough to get a good helmet.

My HJC visor alone costs more.

I think the bare minimum would be the givi 30.2 (open face) or the 50.2 (full face)

As a tip, dont buy cheap iridium or those "Revo" coated visors, they scratch very very easily. Cheap visors are also not tested to be impact and shatter resistant. Kind of missing the point for a visor.

Most of the time I just use the ori clear visor as my helmet has a drop down sunshade. Get one with pinlock if going for a full face.

alexei
post Mar 3 2022, 12:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Yes, thanks but GIVI helmets quite pricey also, at above 200.
If anyone go bajet helmet shopping, please share share info ya? MS1:2011 certification please... terima kasih didahulukan

This post has been edited by alexei: Mar 3 2022, 12:14 PM
TSbasilisk
post Mar 3 2022, 01:41 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 3 2022, 12:11 PM)
Yes, thanks but GIVI helmets quite pricey also, at above 200.
If anyone go bajet helmet shopping, please share share info ya? MS1:2011 certification please... terima kasih didahulukan
mins got sirim sticker ? or lagi special ??

55 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:30 AM