15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

shaun_kok
post Feb 29 2020, 12:35 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 28 2020, 08:05 PM)
24/7 outage( if raining at night)
Astro is going to be affected as well?
All satellite will be affected for this, however the sun outage timing will be different due to the usage of different satellite (Measat 3/3A for Astro and Asiasat 9 for MYTV).

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 29 2020, 12:42 AM
shaun_kok
post Feb 29 2020, 12:39 AM

1,074 posts

double post

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 29 2020, 12:40 AM
shaun_kok
post Mar 5 2020, 02:02 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 4 2020, 11:36 PM)
The T2/S2 combo decoder one does have HEVC support tho. And it's quite popular for a certain reason. brows.gif
QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 5 2020, 12:43 AM)
Only a few tens of thousands of users are using S2/T2 box.
But there are millions of users using T2-only box, and for MYTV, Botato and Greenpacket brands, it is DVB-T2 only and up to H.264 only.

Just imagine how disaster would it be if MYTV change all channels to HEVC video codec, like right now, or even within this year.
Things are not as simple as changing some settings with just a few mouse clicks.
QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 5 2020, 01:38 PM)
Yes and not forgetting government spending to distribute decoders for the low income group. All that will go down the drain if MYTV now change to HEVC.
For some technical reason, the terrestrial transmissions remained on MPEG-4/H.264 only, despite the newer T2 boxes from MYTV and MYTV T2/S2 combo decoder comes with HEVC support. Some newer DVB-T2 TV models would support HEVC without hassle, as some countries (Netherlands, Germany, Czech Republic) already have such transmissions. MYTV would have used HEVC at start if they really want to use that. If MYTV switches transmission mode to HEVC now, it will render most if not all set top boxes (Earlier MYTV boxes, Botato, Greenpacket, generic set top boxes) and many low end/older DVB-T2 TV sets, branded or not, which only supports H.264 codec, completely useless. You will need to replace/buy lots of working but useless set top boxes already in use and also some TV sets (could be solved by adding a set top box, however some people/households doesn't prefer the usage of a set top box) if MYTV really wanted to move to HEVC, which in turn creates electronic waste. If MYTV really want to start HEVC transmissions now, MYTV would wisely start it on Pay TV services, which is going to be encrypted anyway.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Mar 5 2020, 02:06 PM
shaun_kok
post Mar 5 2020, 02:31 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Mar 5 2020, 02:07 PM)
There's one problem with that... MYTV Advance STB which supports smart card and access control doesn't have HEVC.
Yup, this is an issue too. Although it has a card slot, it is very likely that this box will be excluded from receiving Pay TV system anyway in the future, as the newer MYTV Basic T2 boxes and T2/S2 combo boxes which has HEVC, uses cardless system.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Mar 5 2020, 02:34 PM
shaun_kok
post Mar 15 2020, 11:36 PM

1,074 posts

Update : That usual self amusing watermark has reappeared to 2 CJ WOW SHOP channels. Luckily the main Media Prima channels (TV3/NTV7/8TV/TV9) remained watermark free, likely permanent, after its removal on 10 March.
shaun_kok
post Mar 23 2020, 07:54 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Mar 23 2020, 07:41 PM)
Kl area
If you haven't retune your TV set/set top box, please retune to Channel 43/650MHz in order to get RTM channels back. The transmitters in Klang Valley region has already moved the second multiplex to a new frequency last month, for 700MHz clearance. If you still cannot find 650MHz, try moving your antenna, preferably outdoors or a sweet spot indoors. Note that Multiplex 1 (The mux that carries TV3, 8TV .etc) remain unchanged at Channel 45/666MHz.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Mar 23 2020, 08:00 PM
shaun_kok
post Mar 23 2020, 07:59 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Mar 23 2020, 07:55 PM)
I'm staying in condo... so its a centralized antenna. sweat.gif
In this case you will need to contact your housing management, chances are your condo are yet to update the master antenna system after the retune event last month. See the post below for details.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Mar 23 2020, 08:04 PM
shaun_kok
post Apr 3 2020, 03:34 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 3 2020, 01:31 AM)
#105 is returning, please retune.
Yup, its back on MUX 1. Disappointed to see that 8TV is still not in HD.

shaun_kok
post Apr 5 2020, 12:36 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Apr 4 2020, 08:43 PM)
Compared to 8TV, NTV7 consider good enough for me.

Is free TV station, can't compare with paid.
Even if it is free, the picture quality of RTM HD channels is quite mediocre with around 2.5Mbps video bitrate available (not a suitable bitrate for 1080i HDTV broadcast), looks very like what you can see on YouTube (even sometimes YouTube videos looks much better if the uploading source is good). Slightly complex scenes already causes the text in the crawler bars to look blocky. When compared to DTT channels in Singapore (which has better quality) ours RTM looks like "ada gambar sudah".

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 5 2020, 03:56 AM
shaun_kok
post Apr 5 2020, 03:57 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 5 2020, 02:16 AM)
Errr.. Correction...
3.5Mbps for all RTM channels
4Mbps for TV3, Go Shop and Al Hijrah
SD channel no need to say. How high also no point. Still SD anyway 🤷‍♂🤷‍♂🤷‍♂
Have to check and confirm first. I knew that TV3 HD is around 4Mbps and for the SD channels, 2Mbps (which is considered good for a SD channel). I remembered that you had once post a graph showing that RTM TV channels are running at mere 2.5Mbps bitrate per HD channel on MPEG-4/H.264 codec.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 5 2020, 04:11 AM
shaun_kok
post Apr 5 2020, 04:13 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 5 2020, 01:42 PM)
Singapore has more multiplexes because they have a lot more spectrum than Malaysia for historical reasons and transmitting per person there is very cheap. Covering rural Malaysia gets very expensive.
Not necessarily. In fact, it is technically completely possible for Mediacorp to transmit all their TV services with similar quality by using just 1 or 2 multiplexes rather than 3 multiplexes (4 in the past). This doesn't include hidden multiplexes suspectedly transmitting from Singapore. When Singapore starts DTT transmission, they choose to simulcast existing TV services already existing on analogue TV and not adding additional TV services. Their small size also mean that the SFN is much easier for them to do as they have a lot of gap filler transmitters covering islandwide.

Since there are so little channels available and as Singapore already have some spectrum available and also lower modulation (16QAM) meant more robust signal and lower transmit power when compared to our 256QAM, it is wiser for them to transmit using more multiplexes instead while maintaining good technical quality and also to occupy the frequencies rightly owned by them.

I agree that the cost of transmitting in rural Malaysia is quite high, hence the satellite transmission approach. However some areas, notably Seremban (Gunung Telapak Burok), Kangar (Padang Pauh) and Labuan (Bukit Tampalagus+Bukit Timbalai) and some parts of Penang (Bukit Penara), controversially and ridiculously have no digital terrestrial transmitters, and these areas are certainly not considered as rural Malaysia.

For RTM, they have lower/no pressure on transmission cost since their operating cost are subsidized by the Government if compared to a commercial company like Media Prima. Yet, they are transmitting in much inferior quality than the commercial TV stations.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 5 2020, 04:30 PM
shaun_kok
post Apr 5 2020, 05:47 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 5 2020, 05:20 PM)
Video bitrate check on Mux 1 and Mux 2

user posted image     user posted image

Audio bitrate check on Mux 1 and Mux 2

Radio channels on Mux 2:

Well, from this graph, now you know what's the bitrate they're using.
And do note that I've filtered all data to display for only Video track and Audio track as what you can see above. Those subtitle tracks, EPG data, or whatsoever EIT, PAT all those, are filtered out.
Glad to see the bitrates has back to normal/usual. Still not good however.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 5 2020, 05:48 PM
shaun_kok
post Apr 8 2020, 06:03 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 8 2020, 04:13 PM)
Meanwhile in Singapore...

Oh well, they should just consider keep airing programmes 24/7 on all Mediacorp channels whenever possible.
After all, all of their TV channels is already on air 24/7.
Technically, these channels are available 24/7, but however nowadays more than 60% content on Channel 8 all day (and 100% off peak except news services on 9am and 1pm) are repeats and had even introduce shopping shows. Also that Channel U has become partial shopping channel with 6 hours shopping weekdays and 4 hour shopping weekdays (Channel U now only have 3-4 hour of new programming daily). This is not to mention that Channel 5 and Okto had merged last year onto a single channel. So longer broadcast times meant much more repeats for these channels.
shaun_kok
post Apr 12 2020, 05:06 AM

1,074 posts

Watermarks "SIARAN PERCUBAAN" had been gone on channels RTM HD Sports and Berita RTM. Still ways to go as 5 channels are still carrying that self amusing watermark.
shaun_kok
post Apr 12 2020, 02:11 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 12 2020, 11:28 AM)
I still think they should open 3rd mux just for channels like WowShop & GoShop to flex.
It depends to the policy of MYTV if they want to activate third MUX or not. Given the number of channels available on MYTV DTT, it isn't cost effective for MYTV to activate 3rd MUX yet even if the option is available, as there are still plenty of space available on both MUX 1 and MUX 2.
shaun_kok
post Apr 12 2020, 09:25 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 12 2020, 02:58 PM)
They need to increase the main channel bit rate, but given the economy state now, I don't see Mux 3 happening soon.
We don't know if the transmitters are fitted with two mux combiners or three mux. adding a third transmitter driver just costs money, changing the combiner takes the transmitter site out of service for some time.
QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 12 2020, 03:00 PM)
Or they can ramp up the video and audio bitrates to fully utilise available bandwidth until 34Mbps per mux, then activate third mux.
But, as a solely profit-oriented company, they don't care about quality also. All they care is money only.
Even if the bitrate of each HDTV channel is ramped up to 6Mbps CBR (SDTV maintain at 2Mbps) it would just barely fill up the whole multiplex. This is if MYTV doesn't care profit, which is pretty much impossible.

Statistical Multiplexing/VBR commonly used on European DTT could be used to improve HD video quality (ramped up to average 4-5Mbps per HD channel) when such limited bitrate is available but it seems like MYTV doesn't use this for now. The use of VBR may not bring the improvement of picture quality sometimes, as RTM sometimes simulcast news service across 3 channels or sports on 2 channels due to unavailability of the Sports channel on pay TV.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 12 2020, 09:26 PM
shaun_kok
post Apr 13 2020, 04:29 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 12 2020, 09:43 PM)
Any idea why MYTV isn't using VBR?
I mean, the real VBR that actually fluctuates.
Right now as I check on mediainfo, it says the Bit rate mode is Variable, but the bitrate graph (as well as other ways to check) shows that video bitrate is constant.

If they use the real VBR like Astro do, it's somehow practical to some extent that more bitrate should be given to channels that is currently showing fast motion scenes. But however, they should put a minimum bitrate cap to make sure the bitrate won't fluctuate until too low.
Yup, but VBR with very little fluctuation on bitrate is pretty much CBR in real terms.

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 13 2020, 03:07 AM)
True also, but if the viewer wants to see it, they will go and see it whenever they want to... Or look up for the information elsewhere.
There's no need to occupy the screen all the time until it severely obstruct the viewing on ALL channels, except Al Hijrah, Go Shop and CJ Wow Shop  dry.gif
Oh, when it comes to shopping, suddenly those overlay information not so important anymore?

As if Malaysians got no other source to get news and information on the on-going COVID-19 cured patients and related news.
And the font size of that text scroller is so big, even bigger than the typical local and international news channels  dry.gif

Imagine if those text scroller of COVID-19 information "like call this hotline when you need help, remember wash your hands with soap and stay at home" keep on scrolling at the bottom of your screen and the currently how many infected/cured patients information are always there showing up your screen all the time, and reminds you 24/7 that MCO is now until 28 Apr, also wish RTM 74th anniversary (OMG, seriously??),  dry.gif
you will get annoyed even if you try your best to ignore it and even if the intention of them providing the info to you is good.

Do they even need to show that on every single channels? Out of all 15 channels on digital TV platform, can't they just put any one or two channels? Must put almost all channels ah seriously?  dry.gif
There are times where people just want to take a break from all these COVID-19 news la seriously...
Whether got breaking news or no breaking news, those things will still appear there.  doh.gif
Yup, awful. It obstructs normal entertainment viewing too much by unnecessarily showing such information almost 24/7.
Around 30% viewing space is occupied by such information. No comment if these information was shown on Berita RTM and Bernama TV all day long.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 13 2020, 04:35 AM
shaun_kok
post Apr 18 2020, 01:37 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 17 2020, 10:15 PM)
Johor Bahru area and Bukit Bauk in Terrenganu will undergo frequency restacking exercise

When, you ask? It's Tomorrow (18 Apr) and day after tomorrow (19 Apr)!  shocking.gif

At this kind of time, frequency restack? So freaking last minute??? They last minute get approval due to the third phase of MCO is it?  dry.gif
I wonder how come MYTV Broadcasting's didn't announce this on Facebook page at all. Not even on their website. Yet, another round of last minute chaos is coming soon.

Current Frequencies:
Mux 1: CH47 682MHz
Mux 2: CH49 698MHz

New Frequencies:
Mux 1: CH45 666MHz
Mux 2: CH43 650MHz

Johor Bahru is the only region in entire Malaysia that changes both Mux 1 and Mux 2 frequencies.
So, if by the time you're reading this, and you're already unable to receive all Malaysia DTT channels out of a sudden, just perform manual search on this 2 frequencies.

If you previously having difficulties receiving Malaysia DTT channels, try receive it with the new frequencies starting 19 or 20 April. Who knows, signal readings might improve.
Surprised and very sick that MYTV Broadcasting do this during MCO period, without any warning giving prior then. MYTV doing what they want to do without giving any consideration to viewers and antenna installers (removing or moving channels without giving notice to viewers, no simulcasts during the switching period!!!) Not to mention by the time you post some areas may had already retuned to a new frequency!

And if not for this message I (and many others) won't even notice a retune event will happen soon and really there will be some chaos because the reception of Malaysian channels will gone all at once! This is not to mention that the electrical shops and antenna installers are not allowed to operate on this moment! Moreover, there would be risks and issue that for some TV viewers who do not retune (probably don't know how to do so), will be cut off from the latest information about the Coronavirus completely!

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 18 2020, 01:50 AM
shaun_kok
post Apr 18 2020, 12:20 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 18 2020, 11:08 AM)
Just wonderring, is there any advantage between manual scan and auto scan? I once guided someone over the phone to perform search, and find it's easier asking them to do auto instead of searching the frequency one after another.
Obviously Auto Scan is much easier to do so, provided if you can received a reliable signal for both multiplex on your antenna (typically outdoor antenna, which gives more stable and reliable reception) as you don't have to remember any frequencies at all.

Manual searching may be harder for less technical people to do since you have to remember both frequencies available in your area (typically 666 and 650MHz in most of Peninsular Malaysia), more than two if you wish to receive foreign DTT services (if available) in your area. However, if you cannot get one or both multiplexes after numerous scanning attempts, (if you are using Indoor antenna) manual scanning is the best way to go as you can reposition your antenna to get a sweet spot on your indoor antenna for both TV multiplexes when done manually (signal strength and quality could be seen on TV, which at here the recommended levels of signal strength is more than 70% and for signal quality 100% for a smooth picture). If indoor reception isn't possible even after attempts on antenna positioning, it is then recommended to use an outdoor antenna instead.
shaun_kok
post Apr 18 2020, 12:38 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 18 2020, 02:10 AM)
Yes. When I see this, I was like....  doh.gif  doh.gif  mega_shok.gif  mega_shok.gif  mega_shok.gif
This MYTV Broadcasting ah... Happened many times in the past already, until now still won't learn a lesson? Suka suka last minute change frequency.
I just got to know about this just few hours ago, seriously.

Or is it because, "since majority of JB people would watching Singapore channels, and Malaysian channels don't really matter them much, so change frequency at once also doesn't matter much."
Even so, they should be more responsible a bit lor...

Also, soon JB area will uses the same 666MHz and 650MHz frequency/channel number that is also used in quite many areas around Peninsular Malaysia, including Klang Valley.

Btw how's the DTT reception at your place now? What's the status now?
Is 666MHz and 650MHz up already?
And how's Indonesia's analogue TV reception?

Are you still using your apartment's centralised antenna? You didn't thought of buying a JP-5E or something, and place it near your TV or somewhere?
Who knows you can get all 3 country's DTT channels.  biggrin.gif
As on now, Channels 45 (666mhz) and 43 (650mhz) for my area still have some levels of analogue TV signal from RCTI anda Trans TV, despite the very weak signal. 682 and 698mhz could be still received for now. The centralised antenna is still used for the moment and Indonesian digital TV is too weak (what I heard it, 300w) to get in my area. Currently there is no plans for investing outdoor antenna due to precautious financial situation but will get one if financially stable. There are some difficulty getting analogue radio from Indonesia too in my area.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Apr 18 2020, 12:43 PM

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1107sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:26 AM