51 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

New broadband service, iBurst by iZZinet Sdn Bhd

theedge
post Aug 8 2007, 02:46 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(husagi @ Aug 6 2007, 01:38 PM)
Final note: I don't think I'll be doing further testing on iBurst after today since I'm returning the card to its rightful owner. Hope this is helpful to those who are curious/interested in their service.
Sad sad, it would nice to get more feedback.
Husagi, 4G xpert wink.gif

Well iBurst is a TDD system. If memory serve me right. Time- webbit is also TDD.

Will users of iBurst experience like what happen to webbit when their subscriber increase?

dgtel2
post Aug 8 2007, 02:57 PM

966 posts

This company will gulung tikar one day...
husagi
post Aug 8 2007, 06:59 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(theedge @ Aug 8 2007, 02:46 PM)
Will users of iBurst experience like what happen to webbit when their subscriber increase?

Well... we'll never know unless they can somehow, miraculously, increase their subscriber take-up rate. whistling.gif

No users = no capacity overload brows.gif
TSJinXXX
post Aug 9 2007, 12:02 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(husagi @ Aug 8 2007, 06:59 PM)
Well... we'll never know unless they can somehow, miraculously, increase their subscriber take-up rate.  whistling.gif

No users = no capacity overload  brows.gif
so if you want the best speed and all its better to subscribe early and use it tongue.gif then terminate it after 1 year cause more subscriber and move on to the next available isp tongue.gif

samueler
post Aug 9 2007, 12:10 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 9 2007, 12:02 PM)
so if you want the best speed and all its better to subscribe early and use it tongue.gif then terminate it after 1 year cause more subscriber and move on to the next available isp tongue.gif
You're assuming they have sufficient capacity for you to sign up and maximise the usage of the service. What if they don't? You'll be wasting one whole year's of subcription just to test something that very few people have had positive experience with wink.gif Looking at the bandwidth tests done by husagi, are you really going to be happy with 250kbps? laugh.gif
t3ngf0ung
post Aug 10 2007, 05:03 PM

66 posts

I was planning to go to apply iZZiPro tonight at asashi Desa Setapak. But after I read this whole thread, I feel so sad and dissapointed sad.gif
TSJinXXX
post Aug 10 2007, 06:08 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(samueler @ Aug 9 2007, 12:10 PM)
You're assuming they have sufficient capacity for you to sign up and maximise the usage of the service.  What if they don't?  You'll be wasting one whole year's of subcription just to test something that very few people have had positive experience with  wink.gif  Looking at the bandwidth tests done by husagi, are you really going to be happy with 250kbps? laugh.gif
well maybe it will improve *hoping*...

"who know maybe today its 250..tomorrow you try its 1mbps",

read it as it was russel peter's, china dude joke

QUOTE(t3ngf0ung @ Aug 10 2007, 05:03 PM)
I was planning to go to apply iZZiPro tonight at asashi Desa Setapak. But after I read this whole thread, I feel so sad and dissapointed  sad.gif
well don't be let down by us, cause more of us haven't tried and there a just a small hand full of users using, who knows your place the service might be better.. since alot of students in that area tongue.gif
samueler
post Aug 10 2007, 06:19 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 10 2007, 06:08 PM)
well maybe it will improve *hoping*...

"who know maybe today its 250..tomorrow you try its 1mbps",

read it as it was russel peter's, china dude joke

And pigs will fly tongue.gif

well don't be let down by us, cause more of us haven't tried and there a just a small hand full of users using, who knows your place the service might be better.. since alot of students in that area tongue.gif
Didn't know students were so rich nowadays as to pay an entire year's subscription upfront shocking.gif

The jury's still out on this one, I think. But for those who are daring and with deep pockets, this won't stop them from subscribing anyway...
alienatorz
post Aug 10 2007, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Aug 7 2007, 06:07 PM)
they had flyers distributed all over aman suria today. some sohai came and put on my car. interesting package. They did claim (on the advertisement flyer) that they were able to do all that u've all posted before. Yes i did go through all the pages.

Almost signed up for it, luckily didnt. Thanks . will alert all my friends who are looking for streamyx alternatives......

Out of topic - anyone tried emailing metrofon lately ? been sending em various emails but none replied.
itry to email them about coverage on ampang / tasik... actually they reply but going to my SPAM? when i wanna empty the spam and check the spam folder... i found their reply... i wonder why it go there?.. try to check at your spam folder... it might be one inside it together with other garbage mail... hehe blink.gif
aarondotcom
post Aug 13 2007, 12:19 AM

389 posts

I subscribed last week at pc fair there.
Package: izzipro
Current Situation: 2 pc connected to a router then connected to izzi wireless modem.
Speed: INCONSISTENT
My conclusion: This ISP reali disappointed me. I tell u guys wat. I get 1kb/s just now. How ridiculous. Best effort so far i can see is 101 to 110kb/s. fxxk! i try to download apache-tomcat ver6 and eclipse. Around 80mb++. And my download speed is 15kb/s to 25kb/s. This figure make me stop download the file. how pity.

Guys, and recommendation? either to enhancement this '4G wireless broadband' speed or got other better ISP available?.

This post has been edited by aarondotcom: Aug 13 2007, 08:25 AM
DEC
post Aug 13 2007, 12:48 PM

[quote=husagi,Aug 3 2007, 12:33 AM]
LOL. true... true...

Here are some candies for you guys to chew on...

Traceroutes:
MX510
post Aug 13 2007, 12:52 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

QUOTE(aarondotcom @ Aug 13 2007, 12:19 AM)
I subscribed last week at pc fair there.
Package: izzipro
Current Situation: 2 pc connected to a router then connected to izzi wireless modem.
Speed: INCONSISTENT
My conclusion: This ISP reali disappointed me. I tell u guys wat. I get 1kb/s just now.  How ridiculous. Best effort so far i can see is 101 to 110kb/s. fxxk! i try to download apache-tomcat ver6 and eclipse. Around 80mb++. And my download speed is 15kb/s to 25kb/s. This figure make me stop download the file. how pity.
Guys, and recommendation? either to enhancement this '4G wireless broadband' speed or got other better ISP available?.
Get a 3G DataCard with HSPDA support smile.gif from Celcom worth buying. If i were you i refund the modem smile.gif is there money back guaranteed?
husagi
post Aug 13 2007, 04:13 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(DEC @ Aug 13 2007, 12:48 PM)
Hi all! Can someone teach me how to "trace route"? took d plunge at pcf klcc wif usb terminal. ref above readings - assume lower ms=better speed rite? Pardon 4 silly questions but just trying to learn blush.gif  Seems faster than my 3G tho but duno how to confirm. Can above test b done for 3G as well? So I can compare n know whether i choset a suicide route again?  icon_question.gif

I assume that you run MS Windows. From your command prompt, type the following:

CODE
C:\> tracert -d some.domain.com

You can also traceroute an IP address:
CODE
C:\> tracert -d 202.188.1.5

There are other software out there that lets you do traceroutes in a more visually appealing way, of course. But I don't use them, so can't quite recommend you any.

A lower ms doesn't always translate to better speed. It also depends on the number of "hops" taken to the other end of the communication line. Some other factors apply too.

This post has been edited by husagi: Aug 13 2007, 04:15 PM
DEC
post Aug 15 2007, 06:36 PM

Thanks, senseh thumbup.gif will try it latr n post the results
TSJinXXX
post Aug 25 2007, 01:24 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(DEC @ Aug 15 2007, 06:36 PM)
Thanks, senseh thumbup.gif will try it latr n post the results
wow aug 15 last post and today is 25 already...
10 days any there isn't any news or updates regarding izzi ?

i see that their marketing is mostly everywhere but nobody is applying ? ..
something must be wrong for it to receive such cold treatment..

its an alternative to sucky streamyx, but if it sucks too then too bad lol smile.gif
OKLY
post Aug 25 2007, 11:13 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Unless they get a good review, many people will think twice before subscribing to a new ISP.
samueler
post Aug 27 2007, 12:33 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Aug 25 2007, 11:13 PM)
Unless they get a good review, many people will think twice before subscribing to a new ISP.
It's the hefty upfront costs that is keeping people away. People are asking, and rightly so, that if a new, untested, unproven company was to launch a service and demanded one full year's payment upfront, something must be fishy somewhere? Although they do have some sort of a money back guarantee, it seems to be such a big hassle for the customer. And there is insufficient positive user feedback so far about this service; if anything, the user feedback in this forum seem to be a mixed bag.
DaViDcHiN
post Aug 27 2007, 02:26 AM

2,720 posts

So all in all, SPEED is nice, but only at OUTDOOR, indoor = no connetion...

-.-" Who's going to online outside?!?!!! Under the sun? Kopitiam? Sure no aircon 1, those got aircon is indoor 1....

Disappointed leh...
jinaun
post Aug 27 2007, 10:41 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Aug 25 2007, 11:13 PM)
where is their backbone connected to???
wr6969
post Aug 27 2007, 11:28 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Aug 27 2007, 02:26 AM)
So all in all, SPEED is nice, but only at OUTDOOR, indoor = no connetion...

-.-" Who's going to online outside?!?!!! Under the sun? Kopitiam? Sure no aircon 1, those got aircon is indoor 1....

Disappointed leh...
Most, if not all, wireless broadband require you to be close to the "outside", ie. near a window, opening, etc. These signals don't penetrate deep into a sheltered structure. That's why you see Maxis and Celcom installing indoor base stations in busy shopping centres to address this. UMTS/HSDPA signals are the same - the further inside a house you go, the less the signal becomes. Most people lose HSDPA signal completely once they are inside the house, away from windows.

If anyone wants to have some information on ping times, tracerts, etc on the Izzi network, post them here and I'll do them once I've finished downloading wink.gif

51 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:59 PM