31 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Oct 2 2023, 11:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 2 2023, 10:24 PM)
dwRK US Treasury UCITS is 0% right?
i think so... these are non-us domiciled treasury etfs... if you don't pay wht in the us... shouldn't need to pay wht elsewhere...

dwRK
post Oct 3 2023, 11:06 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Sep 29 2023, 10:13 PM)
For Irish domiciled US bomd ETF, it should be 0% right?
depends on the types of bond, % etf holdings and how much/many of it meets US qualifying interest income requirements...

you'll have to go back to the issuer and they should have calculated it out in their reports

dwRK
post Oct 4 2023, 10:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 3 2023, 11:14 PM)
One moderator from HWZ says that IB01 allows you to bypass all the withholding and estate taxes.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-149574191
go ask him what he meant by bypass... why just IB01... why not other treasury ucits... wink.gif

dwRK
post Oct 10 2023, 12:53 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 10 2023, 12:16 AM)
Why?
save on fx n fees...

dwRK
post Oct 10 2023, 02:21 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 10 2023, 01:50 PM)
But i wont be withdrawing often. I only plan to do it in maybe 10 years but wanted to test it out now to see how it works. Thats why need someone who is familiar with IBKR to Maybank transfers.
its probably jp morgan chase...

dwRK
post Oct 19 2023, 09:26 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 19 2023, 07:58 AM)
cybermaster98 2nd half of the video. timestamp 7:40 onwards

I only remembered that ziet did this video after melondance mentioned it. At least now I know where to refer ppl to if they ask for this. This will be Plan C. Plan A =Cimb sg->Cimb my, Plan B = wise.

Plan B I suspect I'll rarely use due to expensive wise fees, what more Plan C
he envision moving ~$10mil usd in 10 yrs time from ibkr directly to mbb... he not bothered with our b40 methods... des why keep on asking everywhere about intermediary banks... told him liao jpm chase or citibank and somebody even say maybank new york... he just have to do a test transfer now...

dwRK
post Nov 17 2023, 08:07 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Nov 16 2023, 07:30 PM)
During the recent TD Ameritrade SG shutdown, I managed to get my account transferred to TD Ameritrade USA. However, I learnt that they do not allow foreign account holders to name any beneficiaries.

Upon checking with my Will executor, they said the repatriation of any assets from the US normally is quite troublesome and may take years and lot of costs involved. So now I am mulling closing out that account, bring back funds to Malaysia in USD and then open an IBKR SG account.
? i tot you are approved AI... how come move to tda usa?

afaik i may be wrong... ibkr sg is for sg residents only... my residents goes to ibkr usa

dwRK
post Jan 8 2024, 10:35 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 8 2024, 08:23 AM)
USD now is RM4.65, a drop of 5% (5% is the annual returns in RHB MCA I think) is RM4.42. If lower, then you'll actually start losing money.

So, normally ppl exchange into USD to buy US stocks
you also have ppl saving usd for kid's study... or just hedging against myr... but ibkr is not the best vehicle for these

dwRK
post Feb 19 2024, 09:35 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 19 2024, 08:09 AM)
IBKR CS replied that when IBKR deducted the GBP cash in my account for the Preferential Offering, the forex conversion to GBP was not yet settled at that time, so I need to pay interest to IBKR.

--

Well, I can understand that we should wait T + 2 working day, for the trade of stock to be settled, before we can proceed to perform further trading of the stock, such as selling the stock. However, the forex conversion in IBKR should immediately be settled, and the SGD cash in my account was already deducted to pay for the forex conversion.
Moreover, I did not withdraw GBP cash out from my IBKR Cash Account, because GBP cash was used to pay for Preferential Offering.
I just cannot really understand why we should wait T + 2 working day, for the forex conversion to be settled.
here you go... https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/educa...nt-holidays.php

don't assume...

dwRK
post Feb 19 2024, 09:53 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 18 2024, 10:58 PM)
No. The objective is not to earn more profits. The objective is to trim to get out of later positions (currently in the green) which will go negative once the market corrects. So instead of holding some negative positions, ive trimmed them to increase my cash balance in order to buy in lower later.
your motivation to sell the Dec 2023 tranche is purely to avoid seeing red... for that tranche

your balance remains the same regardless of selling the first few tranches or the last few tranches...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 19 2024, 11:17 AM
dwRK
post Feb 19 2024, 12:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 19 2024, 11:37 AM)
now the mystery is why i don't see this in my SGDUSD conversion. currently i'm (like many here) exploiting the "recurring investment" bug/loophole to convert SGD to USD for free upon stock purchase. i've been manually duplicating all entries to my Excel after that commission fee bug that i see in monthly/daily report
you have sgd sitting in settled cash account... ibkr takes that, does the conversion for you, and buys your recurring stock... all is well...

he had just enough sgd as settled cash... when he buys gbp, settled cash account becomes empty waiting on T+2...

dwRK
post Feb 19 2024, 03:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 19 2024, 12:13 PM)
hmm..https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...y_user/jpy65z7/

ok this doesn't make sense either as I bought $IBIT immediately after manually converting to USD in mid Jan.

When does the interest get reflected in statements?
your's is cash or margin/portfolio account?

you say buy ibit immediately was it market order or limit order executed same day as your manual conversion?

interest should get reflected next day i think... ibkr has a doc somewhere showing the maths and how its done...

afaik... you buy and ibkr auto convert... this is considered 1 trade, so no t+2 for fx conv leg... if you do fx conv 1st, then buy... is considered 2 trades... 1st trade must settled 1st...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 19 2024, 03:07 PM
dwRK
post Feb 19 2024, 03:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

hmmm... i got no ideas for further forensic checks...

i wonder if base currencies plays a part...

anyways going forwards... maybe next time you manually convert sgd to usd... see how fast it gets settled... yada yada...

dwRK
post Feb 22 2024, 09:55 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 21 2024, 11:39 PM)
The sentence in bold is what you (and others) keep repeating without providing the WHY

Re-entering at a higher price point doesn't lose me any money for sure UNTIL there is a correction/crash (which happens more often that most ppl anticipate) and then those positions go negative (again no loss because its still on paper) but it does lower my buffer.
here you go...

can you now see why we say doesn't matter which tranche you sell from, only the units matter?

both gives you same cash in hand... both still sucks the same when price drop to 120... only difference is color... wink.gif

dwRK
post Feb 28 2024, 07:58 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Feb 27 2024, 09:32 AM)
ibkr if i buy singapore stocks today, when must i pay?

does it use my existing shares as collateral
pay immediately

no for cash account
dwRK
post Feb 29 2024, 09:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Feb 29 2024, 04:57 AM)
Anyone knows if 6 to 7 digit amount of funds in IBKR.. When withdrawing won't have any issues?

They're definitely funds which have paid tax.

I don't want to see problems where it's frozen by banks or there are issues happening. Hence. Till today I never dare to park so much funds outside a country that'll go back to my bank account eventually.
just keep your paperwork n paper trails... why worry if you have nothing to hide?

kena audit is part of life...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 29 2024, 09:29 AM
dwRK
post Feb 29 2024, 02:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 28 2024, 06:29 PM)
Having fun with WCRS function on Bloomberg to compute carry trade returns using different currency pair... Look at MYR...  laugh.gif

why no long sgd short myr?
dwRK
post Mar 3 2024, 11:08 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 3 2024, 10:36 PM)
if you have more than $25k in assets, can switch to margin account where u can daytrade without waiting for cash settlement

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/tradi...rgin-stocks.php

i haven't turn on margin trading as there's supposedly a bug affecting half of those who are doing recurring investing (probably fixed by now). funds don't get auto converted from SGD to USD and IBKR assumes they want to borrow USD
it is not a bug wink.gif ... there is no auto fx conversion for margin account...

purpose of margin account is to access margin loans if required biggrin.gif ... your sgd/stocks are used as collateral as well as to pay fees if you buy stuffs not in sgd... it is standard practice to convert before buying, or create a link order to execute fx conversion if you don't want to take the margin loan... this is well known and ibkr even describes it in their ibkr campus lessons...

problem is you get some noobs who doesn't know shit making fuss out of own ignorance... anyways mine is margin acc...

dwRK
post Mar 3 2024, 11:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 3 2024, 11:14 PM)
thanks for the info... maybe the bug is causing the auto conversion?... hmm.gif

anyways... not a problem i worry... cheers...

https://ibkrcampus.eu/trading-lessons/mecha...overseas-trade/

When the Client enters a foreign stock transaction, Credit Manager checks the associated currency account for availability:

If foreign currency is available – Credit Manager permits the stock trade and debits the currency account
If foreign currency is NOT available – Credit Manager creates a Margin Loan using base currency as collateral and THEN permits the transaction.

imho... logically the sg guy case... 1st time should be deduct $20, margin loan $1380... 2nd time margin loan $1400... reoccurring or not shouldn't be treated differently... anyways...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 4 2024, 12:15 AM
dwRK
post Mar 10 2024, 08:53 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Mar 10 2024, 01:25 PM)
Hi i have a question. Does state street publish a list of their qualified interest income funds? For eg if i buy their etf composed of only US corporate bonds it should be a qualified interest income right?
corporate bonds are generally taxable

31 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.3740sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:20 AM