427 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Mar 1 2020, 07:43 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Mar 1 2020, 03:09 AM)
banks' exchange rate are not competitive(Wire/TT), they take about 3-5% of your money instantly while fintech companies take about 0.3-0.5%.

It is up to you to decide.
dunno where you get your numbers...

tw saves me about 0.7+% vs mbb rates

I sent usd10k...I get rm300 more with tw...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 1 2020, 07:46 AM
dwRK
post Mar 1 2020, 08:26 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(Investor12 @ Mar 1 2020, 12:35 AM)
So we cant do direct transfer back to Malaysia bank account? Quite troublesome to have so many bank account..
can

we ppl here generally kiasu...so wanna extract every cent

secret is to get super rich...go for convenience... bank fees become nothing

poor ppl buy perodua after warranty expires look for cheap outside workshop... rich ppl buy porsche gets driver to send back for factory service wink.gif

if ppl say they are rich...just that still wanna save or don't want bank to profit from their hard earned money... they are not rich enough biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 1 2020, 08:30 AM
Yggdrasil
post Mar 1 2020, 12:30 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Mar 1 2020, 03:09 AM)
banks' exchange rate are not competitive(Wire/TT), they take about 3-5% of your money instantly while fintech companies take about 0.3-0.5%.

It is up to you to decide.
No lah. Where got banks take 3%~5%? Around 1%~3% yes. Fintech around 0.6%.

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Mar 1 2020, 12:31 PM
GloryKnight
post Mar 2 2020, 12:15 AM

1,770 posts

Question; if i want to DCA LSE etfs, for next 5 years, 1k usd each month. Is it advisable yo go pure IBKR instead of whitelabel/saxo/scb?

How trustworthy is TSG?
TSmoosset
post Mar 2 2020, 12:19 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 2 2020, 12:15 AM)
Question; if i want to DCA LSE etfs, for next 5 years, 1k usd each month. Is it advisable yo go pure IBKR instead of whitelabel/saxo/scb?

How trustworthy is TSG?
whitelabel, TSG, Captrader etc are just resale agent, so it's not much difference, just that if directly via IBKR, it has a min transaction fee per month.

what LSE ETFs are you looking at?
Ramjade
post Mar 2 2020, 07:05 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 1 2020, 12:30 PM)
No lah. Where got banks take 3%~5%? Around 1%~3% yes. Fintech around 0.6%.
Markup exchange rate, additional fees. Price is 3%+ Not 1% for banks.

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 2 2020, 12:15 AM)

How trustworthy is TSG?
Whitelabels. If you have USD100K then pure IBKR. Avoid Saxo at all cost.

Even with whitelabels you still deal with interactive broker for everything. Depositing money, buying, selling, customer service all via interactive broker. You don't even deal with Whitelabels apart from opening account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 2 2020, 07:10 AM
GloryKnight
post Mar 2 2020, 10:08 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 2 2020, 12:19 AM)
whitelabel, TSG, Captrader etc are just resale agent, so it's not much difference, just that if directly via IBKR, it has a min transaction fee per month.

what LSE ETFs are you looking at?
VUSA/VUSD/CSPX - either one.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 2 2020, 07:05 AM)
Markup exchange rate, additional fees. Price is 3%+ Not 1% for banks.
Whitelabels. If you have USD100K then pure IBKR. Avoid Saxo at all cost.

Even with whitelabels you still deal with interactive broker for everything. Depositing money, buying, selling, customer service  all via interactive broker. You don't even deal with Whitelabels apart from opening account.
Okay...but given the scenario if in the next 7 years for every month i put in 1k, and stocks grow, and value is worth over 100k, advisable to stay with whitelabels instead of IBKR because (just troublesome shifting stocks around).

I hope the whitelabels are trustworthy/secure enough to hold 50k usd or something moving forward or even 100k. lol.
Yggdrasil
post Mar 2 2020, 10:10 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 2 2020, 10:08 AM)
Okay...but given the scenario if in the next 7 years for every month i put in 1k, and stocks grow, and value is worth over 100k, advisable to stay with whitelabels instead of IBKR because (just troublesome shifting stocks around).

I hope the whitelabels are trustworthy/secure enough to hold 50k usd or something moving forward or even 100k. lol.
I will move if I were you. Of course, I'll only move if my balance is reasonably above $100k because stocks may fall and the balance may fall below $100k again.

The main reason to move is the cheap margin.
GloryKnight
post Mar 2 2020, 10:23 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 2 2020, 10:10 AM)
I will move if I were you. Of course, I'll only move if my balance is reasonably above $100k because stocks may fall and the balance may fall below $100k again.

The main reason to move is the cheap margin.
But TBH, the difference is not much. I could be wrong in this as I have not use Tradestation nor IBKR before, just based on readings.

https://www.stockbrokers.com/compare/intera...vs-tradestation
Yggdrasil
post Mar 2 2020, 10:27 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 2 2020, 10:23 AM)
But TBH, the difference is not much. I could be wrong in this as I have not use Tradestation nor IBKR before, just based on readings.

https://www.stockbrokers.com/compare/intera...vs-tradestation
IBKR margin is the lowest in the market.
Btw, TradeStation and TradeStation international are different entities.
However, I'm not sure if TradeStation International offers the same rates as IBKR or not. I do believe they follow IBKR.
TSmoosset
post Mar 2 2020, 01:50 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 2 2020, 10:27 AM)
IBKR margin is the lowest in the market.
Btw, TradeStation and TradeStation international are different entities.
However, I'm not sure if TradeStation International offers the same rates as IBKR or not. I do believe they follow IBKR.
actually, until now, I'm not familiar with the fee structure. If you figure it out, please share.
Yggdrasil
post Mar 2 2020, 10:58 PM

2,210 posts

Err.. How do I transfer SGD directly to IBKR via Instarem?
Do I need to inform IBKR of the transfer?
TSmoosset
post Mar 3 2020, 12:06 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 2 2020, 10:58 PM)
Err.. How do I transfer SGD directly to IBKR via Instarem?
Do I need to inform IBKR of the transfer?
you always have to inform them!!

just like normal... fill out all the details.
Brinkman
post Mar 3 2020, 08:12 AM

26 posts

Hi sifus, I am trying to fund my interactive broker acc via following route:
Instarem > Cimb SG (fast saver) > IBKR.
I live in Malaysia and I have linked the SG fast saver account to my Cimb clicks Malaysia. But I can't find an option to transfer fund from SG fast saver account to other SG bank.
1. Does it mean that I need to open a Cimb clicks Singapore account in order to perform the fund transfer?
2. I found from Cimb SG website that to open a Cimb clicks Sg, we can either visit a Cimb SG branch or fill up a form and mail to Cimb SG. But not sure if Malaysian can use the same form. May I know if anyone used the form option to open the Cimb clicks Sg account?
Yggdrasil
post Mar 3 2020, 08:38 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 3 2020, 08:12 AM)
1. Does it mean that I need to open a Cimb clicks Singapore account in order to perform the fund transfer?
Log in here to perform transfer.You can only log in once you received the code via sms.

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 3 2020, 08:12 AM)
2. I found from Cimb SG website that to open a Cimb clicks Sg, we can either visit a Cimb SG branch or fill up a form and mail to Cimb SG. But not sure if Malaysian can use the same form. May I know if anyone used the form option to open the Cimb clicks Sg account?
Use this online form. No need to fill physical form.
You are not Singaporean/no PR so click "Fill form manually".

I'm confused why you are asking this when you said you "linked the SG fast saver account to my Cimb clicks Malaysia" rclxub.gif

Yggdrasil
post Mar 3 2020, 08:38 AM

2,210 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Mar 3 2020, 08:39 AM
Brinkman
post Mar 3 2020, 10:43 AM

26 posts

Thanks for the reply.

I think I might missed out some steps in between.
What I have:
1. I have filled up the manual form before this and got a Cimb fast saver account number.
2. I linked this account number to my Malaysia Cimb clicks and transferred SGD 1k to the Sg fast saver account from my Malaysia Cimb account via Malaysia Cimb clicks.
3. The Sg fast saver account got approved. But I did not receive any SMS for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.

Guess I will need to call the customer service to get the tag for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.
Yggdrasil
post Mar 3 2020, 10:50 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 3 2020, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for the reply.

What I have:
1. I have filled up the manual form before this and got a Cimb fast saver account number.
2. I linked this account number to my Malaysia Cimb clicks and transferred SGD 1k to the Sg fast saver account from my Malaysia Cimb account via Malaysia Cimb clicks.
3. The Sg fast saver account got approved. But I did not receive any SMS for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.

Guess I will need to call the customer service to get the tag for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.
Have you sent the manual form? It might take longer than the online form because the letter has to reach them.

As for me, CIMB Singapore called me a few days later after I made the transfer and asked me why I needed to open an account there when I can just use their foreign currency account instead. I had to talk my way through.
TSmoosset
post Mar 3 2020, 10:52 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 3 2020, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for the reply.

What I have:

send them an email. That's what I did.
Yggdrasil
post Mar 3 2020, 08:27 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 2 2020, 01:50 PM)
actually, until now, I'm not familiar with the fee structure. If you figure it out, please share.
Just activated margin on IBKR (Tradestation Global).
From IBKR's website, it says that interest is accrued daily. Meanwhile, Tradestation Global says their margin rates is what IBKR quotes +2.5%.
Haven't bought anything on margin yet but earlier I tried to place an order for EQQQ.MI in EUR when I only had SGD and USD, the order was placed (I cancelled before it was matched).
Will report back when I'm ready to use margin biggrin.gif

427 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:22 PM