Continental MaxContact 6 (MC6)

TSDarkL1ghT
post Sep 14 2019, 12:21 PM, updated 7y ago

No love for this tyre? In Sabah, which has an already higher price that Semenanjung there is a major price drop compared to when it first came out almodt 2 years ago. RM440 vs 320 for 205/45r16.
6UE5T
post Sep 14 2019, 02:14 PM

1,704 posts

I prefer the higher CSC or ECS models.
eter23
post Oct 27 2019, 08:37 AM

It’s been couple years now since so has anyone got some feedback on this tyre? Currently running Cinturato P7 ecoimpact and starting to get a bit noisy. Looking for something comfort and quiet for my Golf MK7 with handling not too shabby. Mileage longevity is not so much a concern. MC6 appears to fit the bill. Any sifu who has used them to advise otherwise?

Ps: I went to the shop to check out Primacy 4 and the side wall seems very thin and the price is about RM150 more expensive each for my size so this would be my 2nd choice.

This post has been edited by eter23: Oct 27 2019, 08:40 AM
leehernandez
post Oct 27 2019, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(eter23 @ Oct 27 2019, 08:37 AM)
It’s been couple years now since so has anyone got some feedback on this tyre? Currently running Cinturato P7 ecoimpact and starting to get a bit noisy. Looking for something comfort and quiet for my Golf MK7 with handling not too shabby. Mileage longevity is not so much a concern. MC6 appears to fit the bill. Any sifu who has used them to advise otherwise?

Ps: I went to the shop to check out Primacy 4 and the side wall seems very thin and the price is about RM150 more expensive each for my size so this would be my 2nd choice.
which size is that?and how much is the mc6 and primacy 4?
eter23
post Oct 27 2019, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Oct 27 2019, 10:16 AM)
which size is that?and how much is the mc6 and primacy 4?
225/45R17 just after some comments regarding the real world experience of using the MC6. Any?
6UE5T
post Oct 27 2019, 09:16 PM

1,704 posts

Lazy to try that tire coz got other more convincing options.
ayamback
post Jan 9 2020, 11:31 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 27 2019, 09:16 PM)
Lazy to try that tire coz got other more convincing options.
What other convincing options bro? Can suggest? Looking to change mine 215/45R17
6UE5T
post Jan 9 2020, 01:36 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Jan 9 2020, 11:31 AM)
What other convincing options bro? Can suggest? Looking to change mine 215/45R17
Depends on your budget.
Cheap and cheerful budget: Hankook V12E2
Medium cheap budget: Falken FK510
Good high budget: Michelin PS4
ayamback
post Jan 9 2020, 02:30 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 9 2020, 01:36 PM)
Depends on your budget.
Falken FK510 hard to source.. asking everywhere also dont have. Any recommendations on where to get them?

Here are the prices I managed to source:

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Michelin Primacy 4 - RM304
Conti MC6 - RM270

Not sure which one to go for sweat.gif
Hankook would be a safe option right?

This post has been edited by ayamback: Jan 9 2020, 02:31 PM
6UE5T
post Jan 9 2020, 02:59 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Jan 9 2020, 02:30 PM)
Falken FK510 hard to source.. asking everywhere also dont have. Any recommendations on where to get them?

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Conti MC6 - RM270

Not sure which one to go for  sweat.gif
In mudah got some ads for FK510.

V12E2 in Klang Valley can be as low as rm270. Should be a good enough option. Best value for money.
ayamback
post Jan 9 2020, 03:28 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(eter23 @ Oct 27 2019, 08:37 AM)

Which tyre did you get in the end and how was it?

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 9 2020, 02:59 PM)
In mudah got some ads for FK510.

V12E2 in Klang Valley can be as low as rm270. Should be a good enough option. Best value for money.
RM270.. wow.. that's cheap. Thanks, will check mudah out! I thought Klang shops already the cheapest (the prices above are from klang)...

This post has been edited by ayamback: Jan 9 2020, 03:44 PM
ReVolVolution
post Jan 13 2020, 12:05 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 9 2020, 01:36 PM)
Depends on your budget.
Actually falken’s fk510 pricing now is so so near to Michelin ps4. I’d rather go for ps4 if the difference is just less than 10%.
6UE5T
post Jan 13 2020, 01:07 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jan 13 2020, 12:05 PM)
Actually falken’s fk510 pricing now is so so near to Michelin ps4. I’d rather go for ps4 if the difference is just less than 10%.
I think still 15-20% cheaper, especially bigger sizes.
davidletterboyz
post Jan 14 2020, 04:58 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Conti MC6 - RM270

Which shop did you manage to find the PS4 at that price?
ayamback
post Jan 14 2020, 11:13 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jan 14 2020, 04:58 PM)
Which shop did you manage to find the PS4 at that price?
That's for 215/45R17
Shop name is Oscar Tyres in Shah Alam
sg999
post Jan 19 2020, 11:39 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Jan 9 2020, 03:30 PM)

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Conti MC6 - RM270

Conti MC6. biggrin.gif
littlefire
post Jan 28 2020, 10:53 AM

2,710 posts

I got the MC6 on the beemer, also 225/45/R17. I can say it is not a quiet tire, but grip and performance is ok for the price.. No comment on the comfort as it is low profile tire at first.. If you ask me will i purchase again? I will go for other options..

markblurberry
post Jan 28 2020, 04:08 PM

110 posts

Currently on lower rated conti UC6, and its pretty quiet...didn't know mc6 is noisier..
Luqaz19 P
post Jan 29 2020, 07:16 PM

Probation

QUOTE(markblurberry @ Jan 28 2020, 04:08 PM)
Currently on lower rated conti UC6, and its pretty quiet...didn't know mc6 is noisier..
That’s because UC6 is an all-rounder tyre kind of like GY ATM2 and Hankook Ventus Prime3 while MC6 is true UHP tyre
berann
post Feb 1 2020, 06:02 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(markblurberry @ Jan 28 2020, 04:08 PM)
MC6 a UHP tyre, sure will be noisier.

Using MC6 on my civic for over 1 year now. Superb performance on dry & wet.. way better than MC5. Comfortable too.

Not a quiet tyre but is acceptable as a UHP tyre.

jimmyteng18
post Feb 13 2020, 04:49 PM

669 posts

Does MC6 has 195/55/R15?
19 Degree South
post Oct 22 2020, 06:08 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 28 2020, 10:53 AM)
I got the MC6 on the beemer, also 225/45/R17. I can say it is not a quiet tire, but grip and performance is ok for the price.. No comment on the comfort as it is low profile tire at first.. If you ask me will i purchase again? I will go for other options..
any further comment after almost one year of usage? I am having a conti as well! Should be a costly tyre rite?
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 09:11 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 06:08 PM)
any further comment after almost one year of usage? I am having a conti as well! Should be a costly  tyre rite?
not too bad actually... ps4~600 vs mc6~450

not too interested in it though...looking at maxx050+ & f1 sport
19 Degree South
post Oct 23 2020, 11:42 AM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 09:11 AM)
not too bad actually... ps4~600 vs mc6~450

not too interested in it though...looking at maxx050+ & f1 sport
oic! you are a petrolhead! laugh.gif me no drive like rally drivers so just looking for a decent set of donuts nia. laugh.gif
littlefire
post Oct 23 2020, 12:25 PM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 07:08 PM)
any further comment after almost one year of usage? I am having a conti as well! Should be a costly  tyre rite?
Still the same old bising tires.. lol.. I prefer more silent type.. Mostly going for Japanese brand next purchase, looking at Yokohama, Toyo & maybe Falken due to budget..
19 Degree South
post Oct 23 2020, 12:33 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2020, 12:25 PM)
Still the same old bising tires.. lol.. I prefer more silent type.. Mostly going for Japanese brand next purchase, looking at Yokohama, Toyo & maybe Falken due to budget..
Uhp tyre is noisy one. You can't have the best of both worlds.just like u can't expect a Ferrari to be good at fuel consumption. Lol.
littlefire
post Oct 23 2020, 12:38 PM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 01:33 PM)
Uhp tyre is noisy one. You can't have the best of both worlds.just like u can't expect a Ferrari to be good at fuel consumption. Lol.
Naa.. I tried Michelin PS4 before and it is more silent compare to MC6.. brows.gif But for sure more expensive
MC6 is a budget UHP tires for me but not to my taste. If i were given a choice, i might go for GITI sport S1 that time..

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 23 2020, 12:38 PM
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 11:42 AM)
oic! you are a petrolhead! laugh.gif  me no drive like rally drivers so just looking for a decent set of donuts nia. laugh.gif
got another car for comfy driving... so consider moving back to zoom zoom tires... laugh.gif
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:50 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2020, 12:38 PM)
Naa.. I tried Michelin PS4 before and it is more silent compare to MC6..  brows.gif But for sure more expensive
MC6 is a budget UHP tires for me but not to my taste. If i were given a choice, i might go for GITI sport S1 that time..
so far my "research" indicates American tires very bad in the wet... USA is very dry country and don't rain a lot so I think their manufacturers don't place too much design for summer tire wet driving
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 07:56 AM

570 posts

Naa.. I tried Michelin PS4 before and it is more silent compare to MC6..  brows.gif But for sure more expensive
I'm waiting to put the mc6 on my jaguar. Is it good? For my size options are

1. Mc6 600++
2. Ps4 1000++
3. Sumimoto z3 600++

Currently using pirelli p7.

Cornering good? I like to corner.

Btw conti cc6 is a more expensive version of mc6?

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 07:57 AM
amscouzach57
post Oct 24 2020, 08:12 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 07:56 AM)

1. Mc6 600++
2. Ps4 1000++
3. Sumimoto z3 600++

No. CC6 is the cheapest range of continental. Budget range.

MC6 is the UHP category
19 Degree South
post Oct 24 2020, 09:08 AM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 07:56 AM)

1. Mc6 600++
2. Ps4 1000++
3. Sumimoto z3 600++

CSC6 is the ultimate in the conti's range if i am not mistaken!
amscouzach57
post Oct 24 2020, 10:06 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 24 2020, 09:08 AM)
CSC6 is the ultimate in the conti's range  if i am not mistaken!
I think Conti extremecontact sport should be the ultimate.
19 Degree South
post Oct 24 2020, 10:37 AM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 24 2020, 10:06 AM)
oic! tongue.gif
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 11:23 AM

570 posts

So cs6 good enough for wet? Malaysia always rain
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2020, 12:11 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 24 2020, 08:12 AM)
No. CC6 is the cheapest range of continental. Budget range.

MC6 is the UHP category
Entry level UHP, still borderline with touring category.

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 24 2020, 09:08 AM)
CSC6 is the ultimate in the conti's range  if i am not mistaken!
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 24 2020, 10:06 AM)
CSC6 is slightly ahead of ECS. CSC6 is marketed as the global top model while ECS only on certain markets. Based on reviews I read, CSC6 should have the better ultimate dry performance and Continental still keeps improving or developing it while ECS is like half step below but better in the wet. ECS is also more widely available for smaller sizes under 19 while CSC6 mostly only 19 above except on few European countries. CSC6 also more expensive price than ECS. Between the 2, ECS should be the better value for money, and if you're using 18 you can only have the ECS in Malaysia. ECS also lasts quite a bit longer with TW at 340 vs CSC6 at 280.

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 11:23 AM)
So cs6 good enough for wet? Malaysia always rain
CSC6 is excellent in the wet, highly recommended but having said that if you consider CSC6, I'd rather recommend Goodyear F1 Super Sport, it's been tested to beat both CSC6 and PS4S in the wet while still about matching them in the dry. If you want to save a bit, then try the Conti Extreme Contact Sport, much cheaper than all those yet equally excellent in the wet while lasting quite a bit longer.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 24 2020, 12:13 PM
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 04:56 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 12:11 PM)
Entry level UHP,  still borderline with touring category.
CSC6 is slightly ahead of ECS. CSC6 is marketed as the global top model while ECS only on certain markets. Based on reviews I read, CSC6 should have the better ultimate dry performance and Continental still keeps improving or developing it while ECS is like half step below but better in the wet. ECS is also more widely available for smaller sizes under 19 while CSC6 mostly only 19 above except on few European countries. CSC6 also more expensive price than ECS. Between the 2, ECS should be the better value for money, and if you're using 18 you can only have the ECS in Malaysia. ECS also lasts quite a bit longer with TW at 340 vs CSC6 at 280.
CSC6 is excellent in the wet, highly recommended but having said that if you consider CSC6, I'd rather recommend Goodyear F1 Super Sport, it's been tested to beat both CSC6 and PS4S in the wet while still about matching them in the dry. If you want to save a bit, then try the Conti Extreme Contact Sport, much cheaper than all those yet equally excellent in the wet while lasting quite a bit longer.
I mean mc6 ok in the wet?
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2020, 06:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 04:56 PM)
I mean mc6 ok in the wet?
MC6 ok la, so far I heard it's decent but nothing special.
amscouzach57
post Oct 24 2020, 07:21 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 12:11 PM)
Entry level UHP,  still borderline with touring category.
Thanks for the clarification. Can consider Conti extreme contact sport for the next tyre change
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 07:27 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 06:49 PM)
MC6 ok la, so far I heard it's decent but nothing special.
Don't need anything special. Just safe can dy lor. I had a conti in a mk5 golf gti before. It's was super bad during rain. Then change eagle f1 asym and then toyo t1r

So I just want to know if mc6 is ok in the rain cause the price is good.

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 07:28 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2020, 07:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 07:27 PM)
Don't need anything special. Just safe can dy lor. I had a conti in a mk5 golf gti before. It's was super bad during rain. Then change eagle f1 asym and then toyo t1r

So I just want to know if mc6 is ok in the rain cause the price is good.
Which Continental did you have before? What size for your Jaguar btw, 19/20?

At that price range cannot expect too much. It wouldn't match GY F1A2/3 but should be better than T1R cuz T1R is rather poor and outdated model.
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 09:07 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 07:55 PM)
Which Continental did you have before? What size for your Jaguar btw, 19/20?

At that price range cannot expect too much. It wouldn't match GY F1A2/3 but should be better than T1R cuz T1R is rather poor and outdated model.
Jag 18.

I used the t1r back in 2010.

I think was oem conti csc3 back in 2008
6UE5T
post Oct 24 2020, 09:39 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 09:07 PM)
Jag 18.

I used the t1r back in 2010.

I think was oem conti csc3 back in 2008
CSC3 should be decent actually. I use a few times too, no issues, can still go 130-140 in the wet.
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 11:49 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 09:39 PM)
CSC3 should be decent actually. I use a few times too, no issues, can still go 130-140 in the wet.
It was one of the worst tire I used. Was at JALAn tun razak near the library area, raining and the car aquanaut when hit puddle at 50 60km. Changed to eagle f1 then no provlem. That's why worried about the mc6.

Heard contis are very quiet tires but not good grip. Best overall performance I've used is ps2. Best grip def eagle f1 but not as good at cornering as ps2.

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 11:54 PM
19 Degree South
post Oct 25 2020, 08:19 AM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 24 2020, 11:49 PM)
It was one of the worst tire I used. Was at JALAn tun razak near  the library area, raining and the car aquanaut when hit puddle at 50 60km. Changed to eagle f1 then no provlem. That's why worried about the mc6.

Heard contis are very quiet tires but not good grip. Best overall performance I've used is ps2. Best grip def eagle f1 but not as good at cornering as ps2.
you have not tried the csc5 and not sure where did u hear from that Conti tyres dont have good grip. I will feedback in a week or two as i had just got hold of 4 MC6 yesterday! big sizes tyres are hard to get nowadays so i went ahead with this purchase.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 10:20 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 08:19 AM)
you have not tried the csc5 and not sure where did u hear from that Conti tyres  dont have good grip. I will feedback in a week or two as i had just got hold of 4 MC6 yesterday! big sizes tyres are hard to get nowadays so i went ahead with this purchase.
Personal experience and also from be golf gti owners. Csc v ps2 should have no comparison I guess.

Thanks let me know about the mc6. I'm also waiting for 2020 large size. 275 width

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 25 2020, 09:48 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2020, 10:26 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 08:19 AM)
you have not tried the csc5 and not sure where did u hear from that Conti tyres  dont have good grip. I will feedback in a week or two as i had just got hold of 4 MC6 yesterday! big sizes tyres are hard to get nowadays so i went ahead with this purchase.
No lah, 18 are plenty out there! You just want cheap but good that's why more difficult. You get what you pay in most cases.
19 Degree South
post Oct 25 2020, 10:32 AM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 25 2020, 10:20 AM)
Personal experience and also from be golf gti owners. Csc v ps4 should have no comparison I guess.

Thanks let me know about the mc6. I'm also waiting for 2020 large size. 275 width
I used CSC 5 before quite good! PS4 i got no comment as i think its over priced !

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 10:26 AM)
No lah, 18 are plenty out there! You just want cheap but good that's why more difficult. You get what you pay in most cases.
245 and above are difficult to get ! PS4 got plenty as they are freaking expensive! I would agree with you if one has no issue on high end imported UHP tyres! I have issue coz i am reluctant to spend too much on tyres! Just need an average joe to do the job! laugh.gif
philipskardon
post Oct 25 2020, 10:36 AM

83 posts

Been using the mc6 for close to 20k mileage.. Noisy but grips.. Sides are a bit soft.. I feel abit twitchy though. But price wise to performance.. No complains
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2020, 02:12 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 10:32 AM)
I used CSC 5 before quite good! PS4 i got no comment as i think its over priced !
245 and above are difficult to get ! PS4 got plenty as they  are freaking expensive! I would  agree with you if one has no issue on  high end imported UHP tyres! I have issue coz i  am reluctant to spend too much on tyres! Just need an average joe to do the job! laugh.gif
No lah, 245/40/18 is a very common size, almost all models have it.Aside from Mc6, Toyo Proxes Sport got at just under rm500/pc, Falken Azenis FK510, Dunlop Sportmaxx 050+, Goodyear F1S are available with still very reasonable prices for UHP around 500-600/pc. PS4 is just a bit more expensive at around rm650-680. You use Mercs with 18' 245 tires then should be prepared to pay la. If you want much cheaper then can downsize to 225/45/18.
19 Degree South
post Oct 25 2020, 02:58 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 02:12 PM)
No lah, 245/40/18 is a very common size, almost all models have it.Aside from Mc6, Toyo Proxes Sport got at just under rm500/pc, Falken Azenis FK510, Dunlop Sportmaxx 050+, Goodyear F1S are available with still very reasonable prices for UHP around 500-600/pc. PS4 is just a bit more expensive at around rm650-680. You use Mercs with 18' 245 tires then should be prepared to pay la. If you want much cheaper then can downsize to 225/45/18.
I asked PS4 and was quoted RM 760 per piece ler for 245 width! Those brand that u mentioned i asked around and dont see them easily available in most tyre shops ler. Maybe i went to the wrong shops! laugh.gif Its ok la.....i think MC6 rock my boat! lest see how they perform in a week or two! laugh.gif oh....i didnt ask about Good year coz i dont like this brand! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Oct 25 2020, 02:59 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 25 2020, 10:36 AM)
Been using the mc6 for close to 20k mileage.. Noisy but grips.. Sides are a bit soft.. I feel abit twitchy though. But price wise to performance.. No complains
Thanks for the feedback! smile.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2020, 03:48 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 02:58 PM)
I asked PS4 and was quoted RM 760 per piece ler for 245 width!  Those brand that u mentioned i asked around and dont see them easily available  in most tyre shops ler. Maybe i went to the wrong shops! laugh.gif Its ok la.....i think MC6 rock my boat! lest see how they perform in a week or two! laugh.gif oh....i didnt ask about Good year coz i dont like this brand! laugh.gif
Oh why you don't like Goodyear? It's one of my favourites actually coz they make awesome tires and the only brand that can consistently match and even beat Michelin across the model ranges. The Efficient Grip can beat Primacy 4 while F1SS (above F1S and F1A5) is probably the best max category UHP out there, even beating CSC6 and PS4S!

Btw how much did you buy the MC6?
19 Degree South
post Oct 25 2020, 09:28 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 03:48 PM)
Oh why you don't like Goodyear? It's one of my favourites actually coz they make awesome tires and the only brand that can consistently match and even beat Michelin across the model ranges. The Efficient Grip can beat Primacy 4 while F1SS (above F1S and F1A5) is probably the best max category UHP out there, even beating CSC6 and PS4S!

Got one bad experience with a certain series of GY tyres on my previous Jap car . laugh.gif My MC6 i got them for RM480 /piece for 225/45/18 an RM 640 for the 245/40.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:41 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 25 2020, 10:36 AM)
Good feedback. Twitchy means? I remember csc3 was easy to spin the wheels at traffic lights. Rain was unpredictable.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:45 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 10:32 AM)
245 and above are difficult to get ! PS4 got plenty as they  are freaking expensive! I would  agree with you if one has no issue on  high end imported UHP tyres! I have issue coz i  am reluctant to spend too much on tyres! Just need an average joe to do the job! laugh.gif
Sorry not ps4 but ps2.

Ps2 was good balance for everything.

I agree these ps2 tires are so ex. Mostly last 30000km only

I would put better tires on my car, like 1k per tire but I just bought another car. So this car just mainly drive once a week only. So thinking mc6 is cheap. Got quotes about 2400 for 4 pieces. Back and front is staggered. But i got to spend a bit more to buy a sealant and pump kit cause original is run flat.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:51 PM

570 posts

This ec6 vs mc 6? Price a bit more
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2020, 10:28 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 09:28 PM)
Got one bad experience  with a certain  series of GY tyres on my previous Jap car .  laugh.gif  My MC6 i got them for  RM480 /piece  for 225/45/18 an RM 640 for the 245/40.
Wah you got chopped kaw kaw la! 😅 Which shop was that? Must avoid next time. MC6 225/45/18 should be just rm420-430 while 245/40/18 only rm550-570! Rm640 might as well top up rm30-40 and get PS4 already.

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 25 2020, 09:51 PM)

This ec6 vs mc 6? Price a bit more
That one is ECS, not EC6. Anyway surely MUCH better than MC6! I used the ECS before, one of if not the best tire I ever tried. At least as good if not better than PS4 for both dry and wet! Highly recommended.
littlefire
post Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 25 2020, 12:49 AM)
It was one of the worst tire I used. Was at JALAn tun razak near  the library area, raining and the car aquanaut when hit puddle at 50 60km. Changed to eagle f1 then no provlem. That's why worried about the mc6.

If you want anti-aquaplaning tires you can get a lot of tire review in the net by just ask mr. Google.

https://www.thetirelab.com/rankings/summer/aquaplaning/

If you look at the top 10, i believe all these model below can be quoted for your means.

Michelin PS4
Dunlop SP Sport MAXX RT2
Kumho Ecsta PS71
Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance
GoodYear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
Maxxis Premitra HP5

IamAHuman
post Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 02:58 PM)
I asked PS4 and was quoted RM 760 per piece ler for 245 width!  Those brand that u mentioned i asked around and dont see them easily available  in most tyre shops ler. Maybe i went to the wrong shops! laugh.gif Its ok la.....i think MC6 rock my boat! lest see how they perform in a week or two! laugh.gif oh....i didnt ask about Good year coz i dont like this brand! laugh.gif
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 03:48 PM)

Yes, don’t leave out GY. They are now pricing it very competitive. I’d rather choose GY over Michelin and Continentals. Look at GY asym5. Performance is really not bad for its pricing. And yes, the efficient Grip performance is much better than primacy 4.

I feel that Michelins are now over priced. It’s more of brand perception among Malaysians.

Look at Lazada or Shopee. Sometimes their price is one of the lowest. Another tyre shop that offer good pricing is Oscar Shah Alam.
littlefire
post Oct 26 2020, 09:58 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Oct 26 2020, 10:44 AM)
Yes, don’t leave out GY. They are now pricing it very competitive. I’d rather choose GY over Michelin and Continentals. Look at GY asym5. Performance is really not bad for its pricing. And yes, the efficient Grip performance is much better than primacy 4.

I feel that Michelins are now over priced. It’s more of brand perception among Malaysians.

Look at Lazada or Shopee. Sometimes their price is one of the lowest. Another tyre shop that offer good pricing is Oscar Shah Alam.
Primacy 4 advantage is more towards safe braking distance in wet & dry even when new or wear situations, they are going for the safety route.
If talking about grip thru corners, handling, anti-aquaplaning or even silent tires they are not on the throne now. In the end is all depends on the owner which requirement he wants and do some research.

https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/2019-...r-Tyre-Test.htm

For me i would prefer Bridgestone Turanza T005 over Primacy 4. Dry, Wet handling, wet braking and even noise already passed Primacy 4, losing only dry braking.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 26 2020, 10:00 AM
nonexno
post Oct 26 2020, 10:24 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM)
If you want anti-aquaplaning tires you can get a lot of tire review in the net by just ask mr. Google.

https://www.thetirelab.com/rankings/summer/aquaplaning/

If you look at the top 10, i believe all these model below can be quoted for your means.

Michelin PS4
Dunlop SP Sport MAXX RT2
Kumho Ecsta PS71
Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance
GoodYear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
Maxxis Premitra HP5

I can see that Conti is not there. The list looks pretty right. I believe in PS4 since I used PS2 before. Eagle F1 definitely damn good in the rain.

However the Conti mc6 is just cheap. Wondering if it's just because it's produced in Malaysia

philipskardon
post Oct 26 2020, 11:28 AM

83 posts

MC6 was benchmark against PS4 when it was launched..

twitchy ie.. at times not predictable especially on uneven corners. probably because of softer side walls?

19 Degree South
post Oct 26 2020, 01:01 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 10:28 PM)
Wah you got chopped kaw kaw la! 😅 Which shop was that? Must avoid next time. MC6 225/45/18 should be just rm420-430 while 245/40/18 only rm550-570! Rm640 might as well top up rm30-40 and get PS4 already.
That one is ECS, not EC6. Anyway surely MUCH better than MC6! I used the ECS before, one of if not the best tire I ever tried. At least as good if not better than PS4 for both dry and wet! Highly recommended.
hahha...maybe you are regular in the tyre market and can get wholesale prices! I have asked around and PS4 for my size is at least RM 760 and above . I meant around TMN OUG and Old Klang road area. I know Klang is cheaper but the hassle of driving there. laugh.gif As for my MC6, i checked lazada and shopee ler....the prices are not far off. Dont know....bought and using liao. laugh.gif

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM)

Yeah...i was told Shah alam and klang area can get good deal for tyres. Maybe i will try GY for my the other ride when its due for a change! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Oct 26 2020, 01:04 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 26 2020, 11:28 AM)

twitchy ie.. at times not predictable especially on uneven corners. probably because of softer side walls?
Third day of usage , tyre noise is very minimal! The breaking on dry is very impressive! Havent got chance to try on wet yet.
6UE5T
post Oct 26 2020, 04:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 26 2020, 11:28 AM)

Continental Malaysia CLAIMS MC6 to be rival to PS4 without data or proof of comparison other than marketing talk, but IMHO talk is cheap!

Hmm twitchy is not good. Predictability is a critical criteria of a good tire.

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 26 2020, 01:01 PM)
hahha...maybe you are regular in the tyre market and can get wholesale prices! I have asked around and PS4 for my size is at least RM 760 and above . I meant around TMN OUG and Old Klang road area. I know Klang is cheaper but the hassle of  driving there. laugh.gif  As for my MC6, i checked lazada and shopee ler....the prices are not far off. Dont know....bought and using liao. laugh.gif
Yeah...i was told Shah alam and klang area can get good deal for tyres. Maybe i will try GY for my the  other ride when its due for a change! laugh.gif
No la, just quick browsing in mudah can easily get prices in various places in Klang Valley. Lazada and Shopee are never good prices for tires.
DS51
post Oct 26 2020, 10:49 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2020, 10:26 AM)
Dunno why, but I really likes ur words..It can be a killer weapon. Its like a headshot nia. Can use ur words in kopitiam section sometimes. lol.
6UE5T
post Oct 27 2020, 01:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Oct 26 2020, 10:49 PM)
Dunno why, but I really likes ur words..It can be a killer weapon. Its like a headshot nia. Can use ur words in kopitiam section sometimes. lol.
Hahaha it is possible to find so called value for money products. I also honestly like to try find those but not easy, need more time and patients, and only down to a certain extent or level, cannot be too cheap so need to set certain level of expectations and more reasonable price level. For example:
- some cheaper clothes and shoes are just as nice and long lasting as expensive ones
- cheaper foods sometimes nicer than those in expensive restaurants
- Hankook V12E2 or Falken FK510 are good substitute for PS4
- Konig Hypergram is a good substitute for Enkei RPF1
- Works BOV and airfilters are good substitute for Turbosmart and K&N ones.
Etc2.
nonexno
post Oct 28 2020, 10:26 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 26 2020, 04:02 PM)
Continental Malaysia CLAIMS MC6 to be rival to PS4 without data or proof of comparison other than marketing talk, but IMHO talk is cheap!

Hmm twitchy is not good. Predictability is a critical criteria of a good tire.
No la, just quick browsing in mudah can easily get prices in various places in Klang Valley. Lazada and Shopee are never good prices for tires.
I used the Conti CSC3 vs Michelin PS2/Toyo T1R/Eagle F1 Asym back in 2008.

Seriously the Conti CSC3 was so bad. Wheel spin at traffic light and during rain it aquaplan. While the PS2/T1R/F1 cut through the rain easily, especially the T1R and F1 but they are not very good cornering tires. PS2 was the most well balanced but expensive and wear very fast. However CSC3 is a quiet tire. Good for Uncle and Mercedes drivers.

Conti CSC3
Dry - 6/10
Wet - 1/10
Quiet and comfort - 8/10
Cornering - 2/10. No confident to try. Later end up in longkang.
Durability - Don't know. Throw the tire about 3000km. Too dangerous in the rain.

Michelin PS2
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 7/10
Cornering - 9/10
Quiet and comfort - 7/10
Durability - 7/10

Toyo T1R
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 9/10
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise but it's a directional tire.
Quiet and comfort - 5/10. Noisy and hard but grip druing wet is excellent.
Durability - 9/10. Most durable out of all 4.

Eagle F1 Asym
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 8/10. T1R better somehow
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise also
Quiet and comfort - 6/10. Slightly better than T1R
Durability - 8/10. Almost as good as F1

Having said all that, I might end up buying MC6. Cheap ma. Using it for my car I only drive once a week or so. Not sports car but old car I kind of retired but not gonna sell.

nonexno
post Oct 28 2020, 10:28 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 26 2020, 01:04 PM)
Third day of usage , tyre noise is very minimal! The breaking on dry is very impressive! Havent got chance to try on wet yet.
Let me know in wet how.

Btw what car you using? Let me know when it rains and there's a water on left side of fast lane, whether the tires can cut through or not.

Thanks notworthy.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2020, 11:00 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 28 2020, 10:26 AM)
I used the Conti CSC3 vs Michelin PS2/Toyo T1R/Eagle F1 Asym back in 2008.

Seriously the Conti CSC3 was so bad. Wheel spin at traffic light and during rain it aquaplan. While the PS2/T1R/F1 cut through the rain easily, especially the T1R and F1 but they are not very good cornering tires. PS2 was the most well balanced but expensive and wear very fast. However CSC3 is a quiet tire. Good for Uncle and Mercedes drivers.
Conti CSC3
Dry - 6/10
Wet - 1/10
Quiet and comfort - 8/10
Cornering - 2/10. No confident to try. Later end up in longkang.
Durability - Don't know. Throw the tire about 3000km. Too dangerous in the rain.

Michelin PS2
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 7/10
Cornering - 9/10
Quiet and comfort - 7/10
Durability - 7/10

Toyo T1R
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 9/10
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise but it's a directional tire.
Quiet and comfort - 5/10. Noisy and hard but grip druing wet is excellent.
Durability - 9/10. Most durable out of all 4.

Eagle F1 Asym
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 8/10. T1R better somehow
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise also
Quiet and comfort - 6/10. Slightly better than T1R
Durability - 8/10. Almost as good as F1

Having said all that, I might end up buying MC6. Cheap ma. Using it for my car I only drive once a week or so. Not sports car but old car I kind of retired but not gonna sell.
Noted anyway all those are pretty old models so better buy newer models nowadays. Besides MC6, I would recommend you to also try check out Falken FK510 or Goodyear F1 Sport.
philipskardon
post Oct 28 2020, 03:02 PM

83 posts

how about Yoko Flevas?
6UE5T
post Oct 29 2020, 09:56 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 28 2020, 03:02 PM)
how about Yoko Flevas?
Generally just meh tire, maybe decent in the dry (but easy to squeal) and weak in the wet. I'd say not worth it since the price is rather high too. I'd personally choose the new RE004 over this, at least the RE004 is proven good grip in the dry eventhough wet also might be rather weak.

https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/2019-...r-Tyre-Test.htm

https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/2017-...r-Tyre-Test.htm
19 Degree South
post Oct 31 2020, 12:48 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Oct 28 2020, 10:28 AM)
Let me know in wet how.

Btw what car you using? Let me know when it rains and there's a water on left side of fast lane, whether the tires can cut through or not.

Thanks  notworthy.gif
after a week or so of driving, below are my own conclusions.

1. doesnt feel like its a UHP tyre at at all , the tyre i felt is quite soft! More towards comfy side!

2. Dont really dare to take sharp corner without braking as i felt the tyre is on the soft side!

3. Dry braking is impressive !

4. its quite a quiet tyre compared to my previous set! Noise level is very low.

5. cruising is quite stable even at 130km/h and no 'floating' feel!

6. Passing through a patch of water pool at 80km/h is also impressive! the tyre 'cut' through quite well!

7.Steering response is quite fast and accurate !

please excuse me for my poor writing as i am not good at writing reviews. laugh.gif

P/s: This set of MC6 is fitted on a W205 C250 AMG line.
nonexno
post Oct 31 2020, 01:12 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 31 2020, 12:48 PM)

1. doesnt feel like its a UHP tyre at at all  , the tyre i felt is quite soft! More towards comfy side!

2. Dont really dare to take sharp corner without braking  as i felt the tyre is on the soft side!

5. cruising is quite stable even at 130km/h and no 'floating'  feel!

6. Passing through a patch of water pool at 80km/h is also impressive! the tyre 'cut' through quite  well!

please excuse me for my poor writing as i am not good at writing reviews.  laugh.gif

Good review👍

So if it's too soft for cornering won't it be unsafe to go through a corner when it rains.

6UE5T
post Oct 31 2020, 03:46 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 31 2020, 12:48 PM)

1. doesnt feel like its a UHP tyre at at all  , the tyre i felt is quite soft! More towards comfy side!

2. Dont really dare to take sharp corner without braking  as i felt the tyre is on the soft side!

5. cruising is quite stable even at 130km/h and no 'floating'  feel!

6. Passing through a patch of water pool at 80km/h is also impressive! the tyre 'cut' through quite  well!

please excuse me for my poor writing as i am not good at writing reviews.  laugh.gif

Hmm contradictory between point no.1 & 2. Vs no. 7. Do you feel like no. 7 relative to other comfort touring tires/cheap models, or compared to proper top UHP like F1/PS3&4/CSC5?

As for no.6, have you tried driving in heavy wet above 100kph on it?

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 31 2020, 03:47 PM
19 Degree South
post Oct 31 2020, 04:20 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 31 2020, 03:46 PM)
Hmm contradictory between point no.1 & 2. Vs no. 7. Do you feel like no. 7 relative to other comfort touring tires/cheap models, or compared to proper top UHP like F1/PS3&4/CSC5?

As for no.6, have you tried driving in heavy wet above 100kph on it?
This was in comparison to my previous CSC5 . I felt that the tyre is soft compared to my previous UHP csc5. I dont have confidence in bending sharp corner with this MC6 compared to my CSC5. As i am not expert in tyres, i just felt the steering and the tyre sync quite well and accurate! As for the heavy rain test, yet to have a chance. laugh.gif I did have a set of indon Achilles tyre on my W204 before and i felt that set of tyres were more solid than this MC6. Nonetheless i am quite satisfied with this tyre considered the price that i paid for it compared to the price of PS4. laugh.gif I am more concerned on braking and aquaplaning rather than sharp cornering! Hope that i explained myself clear. tongue.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 31 2020, 04:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 31 2020, 04:20 PM)
This was in comparison to my previous  CSC5 . I felt that the tyre  is soft compared to my previous UHP csc5. I dont have confidence in bending sharp corner with this MC6 compared to my CSC5. As i am not expert in tyres, i just felt the steering and the tyre sync quite well and accurate!  As for the heavy rain test, yet to have a chance. laugh.gif  I did have a set of indon Achilles tyre on my W204 before and i felt that set of tyres were more solid than this MC6. Nonetheless i am quite satisfied  with this tyre considered  the price that i paid for it compared to the price of  PS4.  laugh.gif  I am more concerned on braking and aquaplaning rather than sharp cornering! Hope that i explained myself clear. tongue.gif
Your experience confirms though what I have suspected all along, this MC6 is more of a touring tire or at best just entry level/borderline UHP, cannot really compete with true UHP like CSC5/PS4/F1. No wonder Continental Malaysia never comes up with real comparison to back up their marketing claims that this is UHP to rival PS4.
dwRK
post Oct 31 2020, 06:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 31 2020, 04:33 PM)
Your experience confirms though what I have suspected all along, this MC6 is more of a touring tire or at best just entry level/borderline UHP,  cannot really compete with true UHP like CSC5/PS4/F1. No wonder Continental Malaysia never comes up with real comparison to back up their marketing claims that this is UHP to rival PS4.
from the bottom, after cc6, uc6, is mc6... and mc6 is upgrade from mc5 touring lineage... performance definitely no where near ps4/f1ss, etc... but price is also cheap no where near the top... so ok lah smile.gif

225/45/18 - p4 480, mc6 450, t005a 430... vs ps4 600

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 31 2020, 08:10 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 31 2020, 09:30 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 31 2020, 06:56 PM)
from the bottom, after cc6, uc6, is mc6... and mc6 is upgrade from mc5 touring lineage... performance definitely no where near ps4/f1ss, etc... but price is also cheap no where near the top... so ok lah smile.gif

Yeah just that during launch Continental Malaysia bragged that the MC6 is to rival PS4.
dwRK
post Nov 1 2020, 08:54 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 31 2020, 09:30 PM)
Yeah just that during launch Continental Malaysia bragged that the MC6 is to rival PS4.
I scanned through 30+ launch coverage... only 2 publications mentioned rival ps4... maybe is kiss ass "reporters" trying to get free review tires... laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 1 2020, 03:27 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 1 2020, 08:54 AM)
I scanned through 30+ launch coverage... only 2 publications mentioned rival ps4... maybe is kiss ass "reporters" trying to get free review tires... laugh.gif
Maybe but unfortunately that's the message that was heard widely. What's even more disappointing is the fact that Continental Malaysia still refuses to bring in the globally tried and well proven CPC6 while just pushing for this MC6 as if indirectly supporting that claim!
sg999
post Nov 1 2020, 11:32 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 1 2020, 04:27 PM)
Maybe but unfortunately that's the message that was heard widely. What's even more disappointing is the fact that Continental Malaysia still refuses to bring in the globally tried and well proven CPC6 while just pushing for this MC6 as if indirectly supporting that claim!
In fact, local continental still producing CPC2 smile.gif
dwRK
post Nov 2 2020, 10:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

found this...

and this...

and more... this got comparison with ps4, re003...

225/45/17 >> https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/75335091
245/45/18 >> https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/65920020

hmm... ok shortlist lah... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 3 2020, 12:01 AM
budang
post Nov 3 2020, 12:27 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2020, 10:59 PM)
found this...

and this...

hmm... ok shortlist lah...  biggrin.gif
Those chinese technical terms and wordings are so alien to me but from the bar chart the MC6 fared really well against other premium competitors.

A worthy option it seems
dwRK
post Nov 3 2020, 12:29 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 3 2020, 12:27 AM)
Those chinese technical terms and wordings are so alien to me but from the bar chart the MC6 fared really well against other premium competitors.

A worthy option it seems
i use google translate ah... wink.gif
speedy3210
post Nov 3 2020, 05:11 PM

518 posts

Walaooo...... Primacy4 outbraked PS4/RE003 biggrin.gif

dwRK
post Nov 3 2020, 11:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Nov 3 2020, 05:11 PM)
eye opening... laugh.gif

mc6 outbreaked pzero from a Korean test... so results match with the powerpoint

got info from korean/japanese websites/videos too.. but don't understand a single word they saying ... hahaha
DS51
post Nov 4 2020, 12:30 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 31 2020, 06:56 PM)

My size 225/50 R17, last time I change ps4 in melaka, rm530 per piece, but now like got a lil price hike, just ask around rm550 per piece. got a lil price hike, but mc6 price almost the same, rm395.

got 2 possibility:
1) conti tyres is indeed cheap
2) michelin inflated ps4 price due to its popularity.

Sometimes, its insane to think, same size, price can be so different.gap rm150 between mc6 and ps4 is like a 1 pieces of small tyre. So insane.
6UE5T
post Nov 4 2020, 01:10 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Nov 4 2020, 12:30 AM)
My size 225/50 R17, last time I change ps4 in melaka, rm530 per piece, but now like got a lil price hike, just ask around rm550 per piece. got a lil price hike, but mc6 price almost the same, rm395.

got 2 possibility:

Sometimes, its insane to think, same size, price can be so different.gap rm150 between mc6 and ps4 is like a 1 pieces of small tyre. So insane.
Continental if imported ones from Europe like those CSC5 or ECS are even more expensive than PS4!
6UE5T
post Nov 4 2020, 01:12 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Nov 3 2020, 05:11 PM)
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2020, 11:20 PM)
eye opening...  laugh.gif

mc6 outbreaked pzero from a Korean test... so results match with the powerpoint

got info from korean/japanese websites/videos too.. but don't understand a single word they saying ... hahaha
How about dry and wet handling?
speedy3210
post Nov 4 2020, 08:38 AM

518 posts

Summer Tyre test candidates :

1. Continental MC6 ---- RMB820
2. Michelin PS4 ---- RMB1050
3. Dunlop Sport Maxx TT ---- RMB900
4. Bridgestone RE003 ---- RMB750
5. Michelin Primacy 4 ---- RMB950
6. Chao Yang Zuper Ace SA-57 ---- RMB620
7. Landsail LS588UHP ---- RMB650
8. Sailun Atrezzo SU18 ---- RMB550
9. Double Star Prtech DSU02 ---- RMB550
10. Triangle Sportex TSH11 ---- RMB450

Dry Handling Test

1. BS RE003 ----- 114.0 km/h
2. Conti MC6 ----- 112.5
3. Michelin PS4 ----- 112.5
4. Michelin Primacy4 ----- 112.1
5. Dunlop Maxx TT ----- 111.5
6. Triangle ----- 111.3
7. Twin Star ----- 111.0
8. Chao Yang ----- 111.0
9. Sailun ----- 110.7
10. Landsail ----- 110.0

Dry Braking Test (100-0 km/h)

1. Conti MC6 ----- 36.4 m
2. Michelin Primacy4 ----- 36.4 m
3. Michelin PS4 ----- 36.8 m
4. Dunlop Maxx TT ------ 37.9 m
5. BS RE003 ------ 38.3 m
6. Twin Star ----- 39.8 m
7. Landsail ------ 39.9 m
8. Chao Yang ----- 40.2 m
9. Sailun ----- 40.8 m
10.Triangle ----- 40.8 m

Dry Braking test (Residual Speed comparison, km/h)

1. Conti MC6 ----- 0.0
2. Michelin Primacy4 ----- 0.0
3. Michelin PS4 ----- 10.5
4. Dunlop Maxx TT ----- 20.3
5. BS RE003 ----- 22.4
6. Twin Star ----- 23.2
7. Landsail ----- 29.2
8. Chao Yang ----- 29.7
9. Sailun ----- 31.0
10.Triangle ----- 32.9

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Nov 4 2020, 09:39 AM
speedy3210
post Nov 4 2020, 08:53 AM

518 posts

Comfortability (Subjective score)

1. Conti MC6 ---- 7.5
2. Michelin Primacy4 ---- 7.0
3. Dunlop Maxx TT ---- 7.0
4. Landsail ---- 7.0
5. BS RE003 ---- 6.5
6. Twin Star ---- 6.5
7. Michelin PS4 ---- 6.5
8. Triangle ---- 6.5
9. Chao Yang ---- 6.0
10. Sailun ---- 6.0

Cabin Noise Test (50 km/h......80km/h, dB)

1. Landsail ---- 62.5 65.1
2. Conti MC6 ---- 62.4 65.3
3. Sailun ---- 62.7 65.3
4. Michelin Primacy4 ---- 62.6 65.4
5. Michelin PS4 ---- 63.0 65.4
6. Dunlop Maxx TT ---- 62.9 65.6
7. Triangle ---- 62.7 65.7
8. BS RE003 ---- 63.5 65.9
9. Chao Yang ---- 62.5 65.9
10. Twin Star ---- 63.4 66.1

Rolling Resistance Test

1. Landsail ---- 0.666
2. Michelin Primacy4 --- 0.792
3. Conti MC6 --- 0.832
4. Triangle --- 0.895
5. Twin Star --- 0.900
6. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 0.910
7. BS RE003 --- 0.916
8. Chao Yang --- 0.928
9. Sailun --- 0.955
10. Michelin PS4 --- 0.971

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Nov 4 2020, 09:40 AM
speedy3210
post Nov 4 2020, 09:10 AM

518 posts

Wet Braking Test (100-0 km/h......in metres)

1. Michelin Primacy4 --- 48.5
2. Michelin PS4 --- 51.1
3. Conti MC6 --- 51.4
4. Landsail --- 55.4
5. BS RE003 --- 61.3
6. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 63.8
7. Sailun --- 67.0
8. Chao Yang --- 67.9
9. Twin Star --- 68.7
10. Triangle --- 69.6

Wet Braking test (Residual Speed comparison, km/h)

1. Michelin Primacy4 --- 0.0
2. Michelin PS4 --- 22.7
3. Conti MC6 --- 23.7
4. Landsail --- 35.2
5. BS RE003 --- 45.7
6. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 48.9
7. Sailun --- 52.5
8. Chao Yang --- 53.4
9. Twin Star --- 54.3
10. Triangle --- 55.1

Wet Handling Test ( km/h)

1. Michelin Primacy4 --- 76.5
2. Conti MC6 --- 76.3
3. Michelin PS4 --- 76.1
4. BS RE003 --- 73.0
5. Landsail --- 72.1
6. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 70.4
7. Chao Yang --- 69.4
8. Sailun --- 67.6
9. Triangle --- 67.3
10. Twin Star --- 66.7

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Nov 4 2020, 09:49 AM
speedy3210
post Nov 4 2020, 09:25 AM

518 posts

Water Dispersion Test (8mm depth, km/h)

1. Michelin PS4 ---- 73.4
2. Chao Yang --- 72.1
3. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 71.0
4. Michelin Primacy4 --- 70.7
5. Landsail --- 70.7
6. BS RE003 --- 70.5
7. Twin Star --- 69.6
8. Conti MC6 --- 69.5
9. Triangle --- 69.5
10. Sailun --- 67.9

Wet Acceleration Traction Test ( m/s2 )

1. Chao Yang --- 30.4
2. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 2.94
3. Michelin PS4 --- 2.93
4. Twin Star --- 2.92
5. Sailun --- 2.80
6. BS RE003 --- 2.70
7. Triangle --- 2.59
8. Landsail --- 2.41
9. Conti MC6 --- 2.40
10. Michelin Primacy4 --- 2.35

Wet Circle Circuit Test ( seconds )

1. Michelin Primacy4 --- 11.76
2. Michelin PS4 --- 11.80
3. Conti MC6 --- 11.84
4. BS RE003 --- 11.85
5. Landsail --- 12.49
6. Dunlop Maxx TT --- 12.50
7. Chao Yang --- 12.51
8. Twin Star --- 12.71
9. Sailun --- 12.89
10. Triangle --- 12.96

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Nov 4 2020, 10:18 AM
dwRK
post Nov 4 2020, 11:32 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

just to add... 17" tests above done using vw golf, looks like mk 7, they didn't say gti or tsi, but i think probably tsi...

so if using other cars with different front-rear balance and brake bias will obliviously give slightly different results...

my other take-away is china tyre overall sucks... hahaha

speedy3210 thanks for the hard work... thumbsup.gif

tldr: MC6 & P4 are awesome...but sucks when heavy raid and flooded roads... wink.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 4 2020, 11:46 AM
speedy3210
post Nov 4 2020, 11:58 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 4 2020, 11:32 AM)
just to add... 17" tests above done using vw golf, looks like mk 7, they didn't say gti or tsi, but i think probably tsi...

so if using other cars with different front-rear balance and brake bias will obliviously give slightly different results...

my other take-away is china tyre overall sucks... hahaha

speedy3210 thanks for the hard work...  thumbsup.gif

tldr: MC6 & P4 are awesome...but sucks when heavy raid and flooded roads... wink.gif
Yeah..... surprised to find out that in the wet, PS4 being a UHP still skids on at 22.7 km/h when Primacy4 has came to a complete stop. HAHAHA

And, for those who use Triangle, Sailun etc etc will still "cruise" on at 50+ km/h bye.gif bye.gif

And that's your "normal" up-to-date 1.2ton car.
6UE5T
post Nov 4 2020, 12:11 PM

1,704 posts

Interesting results. If only they had included some popular Goodyear models like the new F1A5 and Efficient Grip. But yeah as many have known, China tires in general are worse.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 4 2020, 12:14 PM
budang
post Nov 4 2020, 01:03 PM

974 posts

Seriously eye opening. P4 outperformed PS4 in so many categories. While MC6 supposedly being a 'UHP' has a better subjective comfort & cabin noise score than the supposedly 'King of comfort' Primacy4....

And tests have again proven, dodgy China brand tires generally suck.
dwRK
post Nov 4 2020, 01:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Nov 4 2020, 12:30 AM)

got 2 possibility:

r&d, market segmentation, marketing/creaming, etc... laugh.gif

we are also generally conditioned to believe more expensive = better... hahaha

dwRK
post Nov 4 2020, 01:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 4 2020, 01:03 PM)
Seriously eye opening. P4 outperformed PS4 in so many categories. While MC6 supposedly being a 'UHP' has a better subjective comfort & cabin noise score than the supposedly 'King of comfort' Primacy4....

uhp I think means got 20“, low profiles, high speed & load rating...lol

that's why my favorite uhp is s1n2...try to buy again but no more

mc6 have softer rubber design for malaysian's jkr roads...hahaha. in a separate Korean video, tread wear was quite bad imho after track racing

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 4 2020, 04:20 PM
19 Degree South
post Nov 4 2020, 05:27 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 4 2020, 01:03 PM)

Proven! The MC6 is comfy and low noise! laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 5 2020, 09:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 4 2020, 01:39 PM)
uhp I think means got 20“, low profiles, high speed & load rating...lol

that's why my favorite uhp is s1n2...try to buy again but no more

mc6 have softer rubber design for malaysian's jkr roads...hahaha.  in a separate Korean video, tread wear was quite bad imho after track racing
S1N2 is UHP? You mean S1E2?
dwRK
post Nov 5 2020, 11:48 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 5 2020, 09:36 AM)
S1N2 is UHP? You mean S1E2?
just throwing my s1n2 into the fray...since comfy p4/mc6 doing so well against ps4/re003... hahaha

i know your definition of uhp is "can fight" with ps4/f1ss/pc6/etc... i'm following traditional uhp definition of v, w or y rated low profile tire ah... summarized a bit from the net...

"UHP tires, are available in two basic categories: summer and all-season. Summer UHP tires generally focus on dry and wet handling and traction. This focus will involve stiffer sidewalls (achieved in part by low profile designs) in addition to bolstered construction and relatively softer tread compounds that provide increased traction. All-season M+S UHP tires are directed more at “everyday” use. Without giving up dry and wet handling, these tires are designed to also offer good traction on snow and ice."... s1n2 is classed as all season uhp, not summer uhp so its hard to find tests/comparisons... usually ppl focus only on summer and winter tires
6UE5T
post Nov 5 2020, 01:07 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2020, 11:48 AM)
just throwing my s1n2 into the fray...since comfy p4/mc6 doing so well against ps4/re003... hahaha

i know your definition of uhp is "can fight" with ps4/f1ss/pc6/etc... i'm following traditional uhp definition of v, w or y rated low profile tire ah... summarized a bit from the net...

"UHP tires, are available in two basic categories: summer and all-season. Summer UHP tires generally focus on dry and wet handling and traction. This focus will involve stiffer sidewalls (achieved in part by low profile designs) in addition to bolstered construction and relatively softer tread compounds that provide increased traction. All-season M+S UHP tires are directed more at “everyday” use. Without giving up dry and wet handling, these tires are designed to also offer good traction on snow and ice."...  s1n2 is classed as all season uhp, not summer uhp so its hard to find tests/comparisons... usually ppl focus only on summer and winter tires
One way to also distinguish is the tread wear rating. True UHP usually have no higher than 340TW. If higher then usually entry level UHP or borderline with touring category. S1N2 if not mistaken is around 400-500TW, is it?
UHP also never have profile higher than 55 and not available with speed rating H or below.
dwRK
post Nov 5 2020, 01:29 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 5 2020, 01:07 PM)
One way to also distinguish is the tread wear rating. True UHP usually have no higher than 340TW. If higher then usually entry level UHP or borderline with touring category. S1N2 if not mistaken is around 400-500TW, is it?
UHP also never have profile higher than 55 and not available with speed rating H or below.
i consider s1n2 more of a touring tire also myself...that's why i bought it... but its a strange beast, treadwear is much higher than touring, but traction is AA even beat out maxx 050+... also yokohamas are well known for soft/quiet tires and s1n2 beats them also... lol... hence i'm having a hard time finding a replacement since hankook stop this noble line liao... mc6 currently top choice but treadwear 340 only... haiz

s1n2 (500 AA A)...whilst p4 (340 A A), t005a (320 A A), prime3 (300 A A), 050+(240 A A), mc6(340 AA A)

anyways to me uhp is a meaningless label lah... study comparative tests and select metrics that i want more importance...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 5 2020, 01:56 PM
speedy3210
post Nov 5 2020, 01:58 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2020, 01:29 PM)
i consider s1n2 more of a touring tire also myself...that's why i bought it... but its a strange beast, treadwear is much higher than touring, but traction is AA even beat out maxx 050+... also yokohamas are well known as quiet tires and s1n2 beats them also... lol... hence i'm having a hard time finding a replacement since hankook stop this noble line liao... mc6 currently top choice but treadwear 340 only... haiz

s1n2 (500 AA A)...whilst p4 (340 A A), t005a (320 A A), prime3 (300 A A), 050+(240 A A), mc6(340 AA A)
lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif

Me too....... tried to find back this S1N2 due to its sleeper nature...... the 1st branded sub-200buck 205/55R16 tyre for me. Can't find anymore coz this size is 1 of the earliest retired sad.gif sad.gif

Had same impression as you 1st time I saw it..... Knn TW 500 but traction AA...... must be Bangkook instead of Hankook, but since sub-200 I closed 1 eye.
6UE5T
post Nov 5 2020, 03:07 PM

1,704 posts

i consider s1n2 more of a touring tire also myself...that's why i bought it... but its a strange beast, treadwear is much higher than touring, but traction is AA even beat out maxx 050+... also yokohamas are well known for soft/quiet tires and s1n2 beats them also... lol... hence i'm having a hard time finding a replacement since hankook stop this noble line liao... mc6 currently top choice but treadwear 340 only... haiz

anyways to me uhp is a meaningless label lah... study comparative tests and select metrics that i want more importance...
Traction rating is wet traction, so not really indicative coz many UHP are still just A rating, especially BS which has none in AA!
dwRK
post Nov 5 2020, 04:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 5 2020, 03:07 PM)
Traction rating is wet traction, so not really indicative coz many UHP are still just A rating, especially BS which has none in AA!
yes, traction is wet 100-0... just one of many metric for consideration

budang
post Nov 5 2020, 10:32 PM

974 posts

was there a treadwear/traction/temperature rating on the Prime3? Last I saw there isn't any.
dwRK
post Nov 5 2020, 10:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 5 2020, 10:32 PM)
was there a treadwear/traction/temperature rating on the Prime3? Last I saw there isn't any.
i search US sites for it... wink.gif
dwRK
post Nov 6 2020, 11:58 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Nov 5 2020, 01:58 PM)
:lol2:  :lol2:  :lol2:

Me too....... tried to find back this S1N2 due to its sleeper nature...... the 1st branded sub-200buck 205/55R16 tyre for me. Can't find anymore coz this size is 1 of the earliest retired  sad.gif  sad.gif

Had same impression as you 1st time I saw it..... Knn  TW 500 but traction AA...... must be Bangkook instead of Hankook, but since sub-200 I closed 1 eye.
1st ever Korean tire for me too... made in Indonesia some more... big "downgrade" from existing... was so unsure until I touch and smell it... then got good feeling... laugh.gif

at the time...zero review, only 2 customer feedback on tyre review uk... but it was also ~50% cost of ps4... since I don't do racing, try je lah... hahaha, never been happier

today I just saw this... grouped together with ps4, f1a5, f1ss, ecs... hahaha
https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre-Type/Pas...formance-Tyres/

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 6 2020, 12:00 PM
budang
post Nov 6 2020, 12:05 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 6 2020, 11:58 AM)
1st ever Korean tire for me too... made in Indonesia some more... big "downgrade" from existing... was so unsure until I touch and smell it... then got good feeling... laugh.gif

at the time...zero review, only 2 customer feedback on tyre review uk... but it was also ~50% cost of ps4... since I don't do racing, try je lah... hahaha, never been happier

today I just saw this... grouped together with ps4, f1a5, f1ss, ecs... hahaha
https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre-Type/Pas...formance-Tyres/
I've been eyeing S1N2 1 year + ago too for my next change but too bad can't find one anymore today
dwRK
post Nov 7 2020, 04:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 6 2020, 12:05 PM)
I've been eyeing S1N2 1 year + ago too for my next change but too bad can't find one anymore today
I'm eyeing the efficientgrip performance 2... dunno when launching... this mc6 looks like very good choice that's why keep digging deeper for info as my backup plan

I found another uhp 500 AA A tire, cooper rs3-g1... went n have a look but no feeling so unsure about it...
budang
post Nov 8 2020, 10:40 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 7 2020, 04:43 PM)
I'm eyeing the efficientgrip performance 2... dunno when launching... this mc6 looks like very good choice that's why keep digging deeper for info as my backup plan

I found another uhp 500 AA A tire, cooper rs3-g1... went n have a look but no feeling so unsure about it...
Efficientgrip performance 2 is such a darling tire. Seen many good reviews on it but not even sure when is it arriving rclxub.gif
dwRK
post Nov 8 2020, 11:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Nov 8 2020, 10:40 AM)
Efficientgrip performance 2 is such a darling tire. Seen many good reviews on it but not even sure when is it arriving  rclxub.gif
ya... my s1n2 already 70k... maybe can nurse 20k or 1 more year from it...

anyways just a few tests on 16/17"...wanna see 18/19" too... size got impact to relative ranking/rating...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 8 2020, 11:40 AM
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 28 2020, 01:28 PM

503 posts

Based on the recent posts of the Chinese test, does this mean that MC6 is worthy of replacing V12 evo2's title as the budget PS4?

What about the Primacy 4 vs PS4, according to these tests? Seems like it's outperforming the PS4 in certain categories. The general consensus used to be PS4 = performance, Primacy 4 = comfort/touring.

For 225/45 R17, the average price on Shopee seems to be as follows:
MC6 = RM350
PS4 = RM480
P4 = RM440

How would you suggest which to get for someone like me who is very indecisive?
dwRK
post Nov 28 2020, 02:25 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 28 2020, 01:28 PM)
Based on the recent posts of the Chinese test, does this mean that MC6 is worthy of replacing V12 evo2's title as the budget PS4?

What about the Primacy 4 vs PS4, according to these tests? Seems like it's outperforming the PS4 in certain categories. The general consensus used to be PS4 = performance, Primacy 4 = comfort/touring.

MC6 = RM350
PS4 = RM480
P4 = RM440

if like to drive fast in the rain...drive over deep end see how high/far can splash water...see water beads fly up the windscreen while secretly laughing at slow people... then ps4, otherwise mc6
6UE5T
post Nov 28 2020, 08:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 28 2020, 01:28 PM)

MC6 = RM350
PS4 = RM480
P4 = RM440

For touring tires, Goodyear Efficient Grip or BS Turanza T005A would be a better value for money than P4.

For UHP, try find Falken FK510, well proven good UHP tire with better value for money as well, usually just around 80-90% the prices PS4. Another better value is the newest Goodyear F1 Sport, also should be quite a bit cheaper than PS4.

If I were you I'd try the F1S coz usually Goodyear makes excellent tires which rival or even better than those of Michelin, especially the F1 line up.
dwRK
post Nov 29 2020, 09:14 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 28 2020, 08:49 PM)
For touring tires, Goodyear Efficient Grip or BS Turanza T005A would be a better value for money than P4.

For UHP, try find Falken FK510, well proven good UHP tire with better value for money as well, usually just around 80-90% the prices PS4. Another better value is the newest Goodyear F1 Sport, also should be quite a bit cheaper than PS4.

If I were you I'd try the F1S coz usually Goodyear makes excellent tires which rival or even better than those of Michelin, especially the F1 line up.
hahaha...you giving him more choices...he already very indecisive...hahaha

for myself...for touring i'd go with mc6...for sports i agree with you i wanna try f1s...

my dilemma, i really wanna try mc6 on my slow car but no 205/55/16 size...if put this on my fast car i can't try out f1s... ranting.gif
_kilakila_
post Nov 29 2020, 12:23 PM

JUST DO IT!
638 posts

Is efficientgrip much more diff than triplemax?
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 29 2020, 12:43 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 29 2020, 09:14 AM)

for myself...for touring i'd go with mc6...for sports i agree with you i wanna try f1s...

my dilemma, i really wanna try mc6 on my slow car but no 205/55/16 size...if put this on my fast car i can't try out f1s...  ranting.gif
I've already fitted a set of new PS4, but it's quite interesting to keep up with the tyre choices/performance over time haha. And this sifu decided to add more headache to the equation aaaaaa
6UE5T
post Nov 29 2020, 02:19 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 29 2020, 09:14 AM)

my dilemma, i really wanna try mc6 on my slow car but no 205/55/16 size...if put this on my fast car i can't try out f1s...  ranting.gif
I suspect F1S price is very similar to MC6 or at least not far so I's just take the F1S.

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ Nov 29 2020, 12:23 PM)
Is efficientgrip much more diff than triplemax?
Triplemax I think is more towards durability.

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 29 2020, 12:43 PM)
I've already fitted a set of new PS4, but it's quite interesting to keep up with the tyre choices/performance over time haha. And this sifu decided to add more headache to the equation aaaaaa
Good la if already use PS4, only another 2-years then only headache to change again. Lol
Jason
post Dec 9 2020, 03:33 PM

6,354 posts

Other than the noise, how does it compare? PS4 vs MC6
dry handling, steering response
wet handling, braking, aquaplane resistance
littlefire
post Dec 10 2020, 10:05 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 9 2020, 04:33 PM)
Dry handling - PS4
Steering response - MC6
Wet handling - MC6
Braking - PS4
Aquaplane Resistance - PS4

This is base on my driving experience/feel and may not be the same to all ppl.
Overall PS4 is better but more expensive compare to MC6.

SingTime
post Dec 10 2020, 12:59 PM

110 posts

I am using 215/45R17 now. Thinking of changing to Mc6 205/45R17. What is the difference?

This post has been edited by SingTime: Dec 10 2020, 12:59 PM
dwRK
post Dec 10 2020, 09:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 9 2020, 03:33 PM)
results here... https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=98790880
Jason
post Dec 10 2020, 10:36 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 10 2020, 10:05 AM)
Dry handling - PS4
Steering response - MC6
Wet handling - MC6
Braking - PS4
Aquaplane Resistance - PS4

This is base on my driving experience/feel and may not be the same to all ppl.
Overall PS4 is better but more expensive compare to MC6.
Thanks for the review.
Aquaplane resistance seems to be a strong suit for Pilot Sport line. PS3 had very good performance too.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 10 2020, 09:46 PM)
Saw it, very impressive.

dwRK
post Dec 11 2020, 09:08 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 10 2020, 10:36 PM)
Thanks for the review.
Aquaplane resistance seems to be a strong suit for Pilot Sport line. PS3 had very good performance too.
Saw it, very impressive.
yeah.

what also surprised me on second reading is ls588 going head to head with re003 at maybe half the price... another very good candidate for touring use and some fun if required
6UE5T
post Dec 11 2020, 11:52 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 11 2020, 09:08 AM)
yeah.

what also surprised me on second reading is ls588 going head to head with re003 at maybe half the price... another very good candidate for touring use and some fun if required
Hmm not quite correct to say ls588 head to head with RE003. If you scrutinise more closely on the results, you would see that ls588 is more for comfort tires, low noise and rolling resistance then better on wet braking but in other categories which are more for performance oriented, the RE003 is ahead. So those are 2 different types of tires, one is more for comfort touring while the other UHP (and more geared towards dry).
Jason
post Dec 11 2020, 03:13 PM

6,354 posts

My own experience for RE003, the wet performance is lacking, especially aqua plane resistance. Dry is stellar.

My requirement is weighted more towards wet performance.
dwRK
post Dec 11 2020, 05:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 11 2020, 11:52 AM)
Hmm not quite correct to say ls588 head to head with RE003. If you scrutinise more closely on the results, you would see that ls588 is more for comfort tires, low noise and rolling resistance then better on wet braking but in other categories which are more for performance oriented, the RE003 is ahead. So those are 2 different types of tires, one is more for comfort touring while the other UHP (and more geared towards dry).
ya in terms of overall performance re003 is still ahead...so I agree with you per se, but ls588 didn't lose out big or disgraced itself...often coming in just 1 or 2 spot behind re003, except for dry handling where re003 is legendary... that's why i did say ls588 is a good candidate as a touring tire

my main concern on ls588 outside of performance is this...
saw this 5yr old low mileage cracking n chipping...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 11 2020, 05:27 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 11 2020, 07:43 PM

1,704 posts

[quote=dwRK,Dec 11 2020, 05:10 PM]
ya in terms of overall performance re003 is still ahead...so I agree with you per se, but ls588 didn't lose out big or disgraced itself...often coming in just 1 or 2 spot behind re003, except for dry handling where re003 is legendary... that's why i did say ls588 is a good candidate as a touring tire

my main concern on ls588 outside of performance is this...
saw this 5yr old low mileage cracking n chipping...

Many tires are like that if driven too short distances so they don't reach optimum temperature and easily brittle. Even PS3 also like that.
neekun
post Dec 15 2020, 04:53 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

I am looking to replace all 4 tyres 225 45 19 for my Mazda 6 wagon.

I was quoted BRIDGESTONE T005B RM770 and UC6 SUV RM660. Don't know which one to take, please advise. BTW, what is the difference between UC6 and MC6?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by neekun: Dec 16 2020, 09:48 AM
modesto66
post Jan 6 2021, 02:28 PM

49 posts

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Conti MC6 - RM270
Mind to share where did you get conti MC6 at RM 270? smile.gif

6UE5T
post Jan 7 2021, 12:00 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Dec 15 2020, 04:53 PM)
I am looking to replace all 4 tyres 225 45 19 for my Mazda 6 wagon.

I was quoted BRIDGESTONE T005B RM770 and UC6 SUV RM660. Don't know which one to take, please advise. BTW, what is the difference between UC6 and MC6?

Thank you.
T005 should be better than UC6. It's more proven internationally while UC6 is just a low end category tire for local Malaysia market.
UC6 is 1 class lower than MC6 and just 1 class higher than the horrible bottom of the pile CC6.
pandikar
post Jul 13 2021, 05:11 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2020, 10:59 PM)
found this...

and this...

hmm... ok shortlist lah...  biggrin.gif
Got latest/newer comparison analysis that included Bridgestone RE004?

Wanna see how RE004 fared against the others.
Chiggah
post Feb 17 2024, 02:52 PM

567 posts

The China analysis seems to match up well with this site too

https://toptirereview.com/continental-max-c...-pilot-sport-4/
Chiggah
post Feb 22 2024, 06:17 PM

567 posts

Continental MC7 is out too.
zup
post Mar 9 2024, 02:19 AM

110 posts

235 55 r18

may I know, where Hankook Ventus Prime 4 position (rank) should be?

Currently using s1 evo2 (stock), thread almost finish. Able to use it for almost 5 years 100+k mileage. (fast driver but not aggressive style).

Was looking for evo3. expensive pulak (Rm700+ / piece). Prime 4 quite cheap. Review quite good (based on tyrereview.com)

Anyone can rank out these tire:
- Hankook s1 evo3
- Michelin mc6
- Hankook prime 4/4+
- GoodYear f1 asymmetric
- Michelin primacy 4
- Bridgestone turanza
- Goodyear efficient grip
- Pirelly PZ4

- You may add other tyre to the rank.

Example:
Primacy 4 > F1 assym > prime 4
ktek
post Mar 15 2024, 09:25 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(zup @ Mar 9 2024, 02:19 AM)
235 55 r18

may I know, where Hankook Ventus Prime 4 position (rank) should be?

Currently using s1 evo2 (stock), thread almost finish. Able to use it for almost 5 years 100+k mileage. (fast driver but not aggressive style).

Was looking for evo3. expensive pulak (Rm700+ / piece). Prime 4 quite cheap. Review quite good (based on tyrereview.com)

Anyone can rank out these tire:
- Hankook s1 evo3
- Michelin mc6
- Hankook prime 4/4+
- GoodYear f1 asymmetric
- Michelin primacy 4
- Bridgestone turanza
- Goodyear efficient grip
- Pirelly PZ4

- You may add other tyre to the rank.

Example:
Primacy 4 > F1 assym > prime 4
rank as in grip? prime4 equal mc6. both below turanza
splinter
post Apr 7 2024, 06:30 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

For 235/45/18 is MC6 is best all round tyre? Ps5 is overrated for low mileage user like me
Redundant
post Apr 18 2024, 10:18 AM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Apr 7 2024, 06:30 PM)
For 235/45/18 is MC6 is best all round tyre? Ps5 is overrated for low mileage user like me
Try to hunt or wait for their latest MC7 instead! Unless you can get clearance price for MC6 smile.gif

0.0831sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:15 AM