Continental MaxContact 6 (MC6)

nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 07:56 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2020, 12:38 PM)
Naa.. I tried Michelin PS4 before and it is more silent compare to MC6..  brows.gif But for sure more expensive
MC6 is a budget UHP tires for me but not to my taste. If i were given a choice, i might go for GITI sport S1 that time..
I'm waiting to put the mc6 on my jaguar. Is it good? For my size options are

1. Mc6 600++
2. Ps4 1000++
3. Sumimoto z3 600++

Currently using pirelli p7.

Cornering good? I like to corner.

Btw conti cc6 is a more expensive version of mc6?

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 07:57 AM
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 11:23 AM

570 posts

So cs6 good enough for wet? Malaysia always rain
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 04:56 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 12:11 PM)
Entry level UHP,  still borderline with touring category.
CSC6 is slightly ahead of ECS. CSC6 is marketed as the global top model while ECS only on certain markets. Based on reviews I read, CSC6 should have the better ultimate dry performance and Continental still keeps improving or developing it while ECS is like half step below but better in the wet. ECS is also more widely available for smaller sizes under 19 while CSC6 mostly only 19 above except on few European countries. CSC6 also more expensive price than ECS. Between the 2, ECS should be the better value for money, and if you're using 18 you can only have the ECS in Malaysia. ECS also lasts quite a bit longer with TW at 340 vs CSC6 at 280.
CSC6 is excellent in the wet, highly recommended but having said that if you consider CSC6, I'd rather recommend Goodyear F1 Super Sport, it's been tested to beat both CSC6 and PS4S in the wet while still about matching them in the dry. If you want to save a bit, then try the Conti Extreme Contact Sport, much cheaper than all those yet equally excellent in the wet while lasting quite a bit longer.
I mean mc6 ok in the wet?
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 07:27 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 06:49 PM)
MC6 ok la, so far I heard it's decent but nothing special.
Don't need anything special. Just safe can dy lor. I had a conti in a mk5 golf gti before. It's was super bad during rain. Then change eagle f1 asym and then toyo t1r

So I just want to know if mc6 is ok in the rain cause the price is good.

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 07:28 PM
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 09:07 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 07:55 PM)
Which Continental did you have before? What size for your Jaguar btw, 19/20?

At that price range cannot expect too much. It wouldn't match GY F1A2/3 but should be better than T1R cuz T1R is rather poor and outdated model.
Jag 18.

I used the t1r back in 2010.

I think was oem conti csc3 back in 2008
nonexno
post Oct 24 2020, 11:49 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 24 2020, 09:39 PM)
CSC3 should be decent actually. I use a few times too, no issues, can still go 130-140 in the wet.
It was one of the worst tire I used. Was at JALAn tun razak near the library area, raining and the car aquanaut when hit puddle at 50 60km. Changed to eagle f1 then no provlem. That's why worried about the mc6.

Heard contis are very quiet tires but not good grip. Best overall performance I've used is ps2. Best grip def eagle f1 but not as good at cornering as ps2.

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 24 2020, 11:54 PM
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 10:20 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 08:19 AM)
you have not tried the csc5 and not sure where did u hear from that Conti tyres  dont have good grip. I will feedback in a week or two as i had just got hold of 4 MC6 yesterday! big sizes tyres are hard to get nowadays so i went ahead with this purchase.
Personal experience and also from be golf gti owners. Csc v ps2 should have no comparison I guess.

Thanks let me know about the mc6. I'm also waiting for 2020 large size. 275 width

This post has been edited by nonexno: Oct 25 2020, 09:48 PM
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:41 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 25 2020, 10:36 AM)
Been using the mc6 for close to 20k mileage.. Noisy but grips.. Sides are a bit soft.. I feel abit twitchy though. But price wise to performance.. No complains
Good feedback. Twitchy means? I remember csc3 was easy to spin the wheels at traffic lights. Rain was unpredictable.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:45 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 25 2020, 10:32 AM)
I used CSC 5 before quite good! PS4 i got no comment as i think its over priced !
245 and above are difficult to get ! PS4 got plenty as they  are freaking expensive! I would  agree with you if one has no issue on  high end imported UHP tyres! I have issue coz i  am reluctant to spend too much on tyres! Just need an average joe to do the job! laugh.gif
Sorry not ps4 but ps2.

Ps2 was good balance for everything.

I agree these ps2 tires are so ex. Mostly last 30000km only

I would put better tires on my car, like 1k per tire but I just bought another car. So this car just mainly drive once a week only. So thinking mc6 is cheap. Got quotes about 2400 for 4 pieces. Back and front is staggered. But i got to spend a bit more to buy a sealant and pump kit cause original is run flat.
nonexno
post Oct 25 2020, 09:51 PM

570 posts

This ec6 vs mc 6? Price a bit more
nonexno
post Oct 26 2020, 10:24 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 26 2020, 09:44 AM)
If you want anti-aquaplaning tires you can get a lot of tire review in the net by just ask mr. Google.

https://www.thetirelab.com/rankings/summer/aquaplaning/

If you look at the top 10, i believe all these model below can be quoted for your means.

Michelin PS4
Dunlop SP Sport MAXX RT2
Kumho Ecsta PS71
Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance
GoodYear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
Maxxis Premitra HP5

I can see that Conti is not there. The list looks pretty right. I believe in PS4 since I used PS2 before. Eagle F1 definitely damn good in the rain.

However the Conti mc6 is just cheap. Wondering if it's just because it's produced in Malaysia

nonexno
post Oct 28 2020, 10:26 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 26 2020, 04:02 PM)
Continental Malaysia CLAIMS MC6 to be rival to PS4 without data or proof of comparison other than marketing talk, but IMHO talk is cheap!

Hmm twitchy is not good. Predictability is a critical criteria of a good tire.
No la, just quick browsing in mudah can easily get prices in various places in Klang Valley. Lazada and Shopee are never good prices for tires.
I used the Conti CSC3 vs Michelin PS2/Toyo T1R/Eagle F1 Asym back in 2008.

Seriously the Conti CSC3 was so bad. Wheel spin at traffic light and during rain it aquaplan. While the PS2/T1R/F1 cut through the rain easily, especially the T1R and F1 but they are not very good cornering tires. PS2 was the most well balanced but expensive and wear very fast. However CSC3 is a quiet tire. Good for Uncle and Mercedes drivers.

Conti CSC3
Dry - 6/10
Wet - 1/10
Quiet and comfort - 8/10
Cornering - 2/10. No confident to try. Later end up in longkang.
Durability - Don't know. Throw the tire about 3000km. Too dangerous in the rain.

Michelin PS2
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 7/10
Cornering - 9/10
Quiet and comfort - 7/10
Durability - 7/10

Toyo T1R
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 9/10
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise but it's a directional tire.
Quiet and comfort - 5/10. Noisy and hard but grip druing wet is excellent.
Durability - 9/10. Most durable out of all 4.

Eagle F1 Asym
Dry - 9/10
Wet - 8/10. T1R better somehow
Cornering - 7/10. Not so precise also
Quiet and comfort - 6/10. Slightly better than T1R
Durability - 8/10. Almost as good as F1

Having said all that, I might end up buying MC6. Cheap ma. Using it for my car I only drive once a week or so. Not sports car but old car I kind of retired but not gonna sell.

nonexno
post Oct 28 2020, 10:28 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 26 2020, 01:04 PM)
Third day of usage , tyre noise is very minimal! The breaking on dry is very impressive! Havent got chance to try on wet yet.
Let me know in wet how.

Btw what car you using? Let me know when it rains and there's a water on left side of fast lane, whether the tires can cut through or not.

Thanks notworthy.gif
nonexno
post Oct 31 2020, 01:12 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 31 2020, 12:48 PM)
after a week or so of driving, below are my own conclusions.

1. doesnt feel like its a UHP tyre at at all  , the tyre i felt is quite soft! More towards comfy side!

2. Dont really dare to take sharp corner without braking  as i felt the tyre is on the soft side!

3. Dry braking is impressive !

4. its quite a quiet tyre compared to my previous set! Noise level is very low.

5. cruising is quite stable even at 130km/h and no 'floating'  feel!

6. Passing through a patch of water pool at 80km/h is also impressive! the tyre 'cut' through quite  well!

7.Steering response is quite fast and accurate !

please excuse me for my poor writing as i am not good at writing reviews.  laugh.gif

P/s: This set of MC6 is fitted on a W205 C250 AMG line.
Good review👍

So if it's too soft for cornering won't it be unsafe to go through a corner when it rains.

0.0305sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:31 AM