Prudential vs Great Eastern: My Experience, Not all insurance companies are the same

roystevenung
post Oct 29 2021, 03:19 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(shop.petong @ Oct 29 2021, 03:01 PM)
No offense here but I just feel Prudential as a company is equally guilty as well. Firstly The claim is sitting in the system pending for almost a month yet they didnt even bother to follow up with me or at least give me a call. Should they do that i could have submit the documentation one week earlier. Secondly Even when i complain to the customer service all i got is an apology but not an offer to help with the situation. Look at the reply i got from cs is it even helpful?

Also after i submit the ctc to PJ office, I was told that the claim will take about two weeks to process. Adding all up its close to 1.5 months of lead time (best case) vs the one week that you mention.

Well we have been with the company for >15 years paying the premium timely but definitely dont feel being valued/appreciated, not at all.
I reiterate, the agent is the one who needs to follow up on this as they are the ones that deal with the customer directly.

The insurer seldom deals with the customer directly as some agents will not be happy as if they are being by-passed.

The insurer will only step in once there is a complaint against the agent or if the claim is submitted by the client themselves.

At least for now we are still able to submit everything online without the need to physically do CTC.
lifebalance
post Oct 29 2021, 05:27 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(shop.petong @ Oct 29 2021, 11:38 AM)
Just to share my experience with Prudential when submitting claim for my late father recently:

27th Sep - ask the agent to help with death claim

28th Sep - send all the required documentation to agent

5th Oct - informed by agent that claim has been submitted

8th Oct - ask agent why premium still charge to my card and agent say will check with company. Until today no reply

25th Oct - whatsapp agent to ask about claim status (almost a month). didn't get a reply

26th Oct - as I didn't get any reply from the agent, i called the customer service to check on claim status. And I was told a CTC of death certificate is required and this request was made on 19th Oct (no one actually bother to inform me whether its agent or Prudential and happily just mark the claim as pending)

28th Oct - take my own initiative and visit PJ office to submit the documentation in order to expedite the claim. Out of frustration I send a complain to Prudential customer service and below is the reply from their customer service. Didn't even bother with a phone call to help me resolve the issue or follow up.

Thank you for your email below.

We are deeply sorry this has happened to you and it is not experience we wish to create for any of our customer.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that you encountered.

Two issue I have here:

1. Agent will always be nice to you when asking you to buy policy but look at their service when they can no longer earn from you. Just like a used tissue paper

2. Prudential is not showing any respect or care to the deceased family at least that is how I feel. Are you telling me they can't see when there is a death claim pending for almost a month requiring verification of a basic documentation? Not to mention the perfunctory reply from their customer service! FYI other insurance companies all processed and paid out the claim within a week no hassle at all.
From the chronology, the agent is normally updated on the status of the claim & to you as well if you have access to your customer portal.

If your agent is not following up then maybe their service to you is questionable.

I'd say claim department is normally not at fault as the queue is normally on first-come-first-serve basis. If there are queries, it will be sent back to the agent to be notified on what is outstanding on this claim as the claim department normally has a turn-around-time (TAT) to respond to a claim request. If they've replied on the claim for extra requirement from the agent/customer, it's not within their TAT to respond/follow up wit you as they'll take it that it's your/your agent's responsibility now to reply on the latest outstanding documents required to further process on the claim.

Anyways, where are you at now with the claims ?
shop.petong P
post Oct 30 2021, 01:00 AM

Probation
22 posts

Well people are entitled to their own opinion so i respect what you guys are saying.

Nevertheless IMO Prudential is utimately accountable because we consumer are buying a product from the company not the agent. If the agent is not doing their job then shouldnt the company do something about it eg disciplinary action? In fact by looking at the response I got from their cs its basically telling me its agent issue and they cant do anything about it so just live with it. How convenient whilst being irresponsible at the same time.

As for the portal i did login everyday to check on the status. And the fact that its pending for two weeks trigger me to check on the status but just to learn that a ctc is actually required. I do not know how i can react if im not being informed at the very first place not to mention this information is not available in the portal.

As for where im at now with the claim - i submitted the ctc to PJ33 branch (closing down soon) and was told it will take two weeks for processing. I can only check the bank account everyday and call the customer service two weeks later if i didnt receive the payment. This again is due to the fact that i can only get an update if i take my own initiative.

FYI other companies its either the detailed status is available on the customer portal or i get the update via sms. And the statement is sent to my mailing address within 2-3 days.

I wouldnt be so frustrated if its the industry standard but there are easily 2-3 comparisons based on my experience

PortgasDerekAce
post Oct 30 2021, 02:44 AM

206 posts

i also stay away from GE
jonoave
post Oct 30 2021, 04:20 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(shop.petong @ Oct 29 2021, 08:00 PM)
Well people are entitled to their own opinion so i respect what you guys are saying.

Nevertheless IMO Prudential is utimately accountable because we consumer are buying a product from the company not the agent. If the agent is not doing their job then shouldnt the company do something about it eg disciplinary action? In fact by looking at the response I got from their cs its basically telling me its agent issue and they cant do anything about it so just live with it. How convenient whilst being irresponsible at the same time.

As for the portal i did login everyday to check on the status. And the fact that its pending for two weeks trigger me to check on the status but just to learn that a ctc is actually required. I do not know how i can react if im not being informed at the very first place not to mention this information is not available in the portal.

As for where im at now with the claim - i submitted the ctc to PJ33 branch (closing down soon) and was told it will take two weeks for processing. I can only check the bank account everyday and call the customer service two weeks later if i didnt receive the payment. This again is due to the fact that i can only get an update if i take my own initiative.

FYI other companies its either the detailed status is available on the customer portal or i get the update via sms. And the statement is sent to my mailing address within 2-3 days.

I wouldnt be so frustrated if its the industry standard but there are easily 2-3 comparisons based on my experience
Sorry to hear about your loss.

I agree, regardless of whose fault it is - the customer (in this case, you) has been wronged. A more tailered/proactive response would be much better instead of a generic "Sorry for the inconvenience caused" would do wonders in restoring customer's faith and develop good PR.

Some thing like:
"We are very sorry for the loss and this should not have happened. We will investigate this as soon as possible. In the meantime, our customer service will call you within 2 days to assist you and get more details about your case,
and if needed another agent will be assigned to your case".

Truth is the, often the company management is not much better than the salesperson/insurance agent they hire.
jack2
post Nov 3 2021, 07:30 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(shop.petong @ Oct 29 2021, 11:38 AM)
Just to share my experience with Prudential when submitting claim for my late father recently:

27th Sep - ask the agent to help with death claim

28th Sep - send all the required documentation to agent

5th Oct - informed by agent that claim has been submitted

8th Oct - ask agent why premium still charge to my card and agent say will check with company. Until today no reply

25th Oct - whatsapp agent to ask about claim status (almost a month). didn't get a reply

26th Oct - as I didn't get any reply from the agent, i called the customer service to check on claim status. And I was told a CTC of death certificate is required and this request was made on 19th Oct (no one actually bother to inform me whether its agent or Prudential and happily just mark the claim as pending)

28th Oct - take my own initiative and visit PJ office to submit the documentation in order to expedite the claim. Out of frustration I send a complain to Prudential customer service and below is the reply from their customer service. Didn't even bother with a phone call to help me resolve the issue or follow up.

Thank you for your email below.

We are deeply sorry this has happened to you and it is not experience we wish to create for any of our customer.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that you encountered.

Two issue I have here:

1. Agent will always be nice to you when asking you to buy policy but look at their service when they can no longer earn from you. Just like a used tissue paper

2. Prudential is not showing any respect or care to the deceased family at least that is how I feel. Are you telling me they can't see when there is a death claim pending for almost a month requiring verification of a basic documentation? Not to mention the perfunctory reply from their customer service! FYI other insurance companies all processed and paid out the claim within a week no hassle at all.
It is normal lah.. they have earned all your commissions and spent it up. So why bother to serve you?

I believe the agents will be forced out in the future and everyone can do and buy insurance without agents and can save the commissions.

Lucas0323
post Nov 3 2021, 08:30 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 3 2021, 07:30 PM)
It is normal lah.. they have earned all your commissions and spent it up. So why bother to serve you?

I believe the agents will be forced out  in the future and everyone can do and buy insurance without agents and can save the commissions.
I think agents is there mostly to explain the fineprint of the policy to avoid dispute else they can just diy everything online plus policy always change time by time.
MGM
post Mar 29 2022, 01:19 PM

18,398 posts

Urgent!!! A relative working in Spore requested that I pay Great Eastern (GEA) premium for her.
How to make payment online without registering an online account to GEA?
MUM
post Mar 29 2022, 01:27 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 29 2022, 01:19 PM)
Urgent!!! A relative working in Spore requested that I pay Great Eastern (GEA) premium for her.
How to make payment online without registering an online account to GEA?
Maybe this?..
I just tested (halfway)
Pbe online,...
Payment, other bill, corporate code, button great Eastern assurance.....

Not sure how it will leads as I stooped there

MGM
post Mar 29 2022, 01:31 PM

18,398 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 29 2022, 01:27 PM)
Maybe this?..
I just tested (halfway)
Pbe online,...

Thanks a lot.
I also found that there is a option in OCBC online with GEA as a biller and payment can be made using OCBC Titanium, wonder that will entitle for 1% cashback.
mini orchard
post Mar 29 2022, 01:51 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 29 2022, 01:27 PM)
Maybe this?..
I just tested (halfway)
Pbe online,...

Can pay through debiting CASA or CC.
MGM
post Mar 29 2022, 02:13 PM

18,398 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 29 2022, 01:31 PM)
Thanks a lot.
I also found that there is a option in OCBC online with GEA as a biller and payment can be made using OCBC Titanium, wonder that will entitle for 1% cashback.
Cant use CC only CASA, even though OCBC owns GEA.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 29 2022, 01:51 PM)
Can pay through debiting CASA or CC.
Thanks, tested just now and seems like can use CC(didnt proceed yet). Entitle for VIpoints if use Quantum Visa?
According to GEA CS, policy is under (GEA-exOAC), found in OCBC online. But in PBe, only GEA is available, not GEA-exOAC.

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 29 2022, 02:16 PM
mini orchard
post Mar 29 2022, 03:29 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 29 2022, 02:13 PM)
Cant use CC only CASA, even though OCBC owns GEA.
Thanks, tested just now and seems like can use CC(didnt proceed yet). Entitle for VIpoints if use Quantum Visa?
According to GEA CS, policy is under (GEA-exOAC), found in OCBC online. But in PBe, only GEA is available, not GEA-exOAC.
PBe online payment can use cc or casa. Not sure about your cc card points but my platinum will have points.

If it accept policy no in the system, then no problem if is ex OAC.
MGM
post Mar 29 2022, 04:11 PM

18,398 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 29 2022, 03:29 PM)
PBe online payment can use cc or casa. Not sure about your cc card points but my platinum will have points.

If it accept policy no in the system, then no problem if is ex OAC.
Which platinum card? According to the PDS many reward cards r excluded.

Just tested but didnt complete, PBe accepts both 8digit & 10digit policy number without validating cos GEA uses 10d & OAC uses 8d.
mini orchard
post Mar 29 2022, 05:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 29 2022, 04:11 PM)
Which platinum card? According to the PDS many reward cards r excluded.

Just tested but didnt complete, PBe accepts both 8digit & 10digit  policy number without validating cos GEA uses 10d & OAC uses 8d.
Visa Platinum.
Davidtcf
post Mar 29 2022, 05:34 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

oh old necro'ed thread.

Come I share my experience also.

Many years ago also I bought GE, had a minor accident had to do checkup with doctor at Assunta. I got the receipts + doctor report etc.. pass it to my agent (as he ask me to self pay first then he will help me submit claim).

Ok lor do as he said (as I didn't want to get warded). Then mana tau when processing.. no news from GE after 3 mths! I kept bother my agent friend and in the end he told me GE HQ there say they didn't receive my documents / not enough proof! I was like WTH? I paid insurance for this???

Then I really boh song write email to their complaints department, same like TS after 1 mth then see the money come in.

Compare with my wife Prudential, she claim what what also get approve so quickly. After seeing her claims go through so easily, I terminated my GE and switched to Prudential. No looking back ever since.

When buy insurance don't just listen to agent tell you why theirs good.. for insurance it's all about the claims. Ask those that bought about how smooth/hard their claims was. Coz when shit happens this is all that matters.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 29 2022, 05:34 PM
dave185
post Feb 19 2023, 05:21 PM

52 posts

After I check all posting ... I guess I satisfied that I won't be joining working with GE ... f'up money taking company..

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0286sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:26 AM