8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Prudential vs Great Eastern: My Experience, Not all insurance companies are the same

lifebalance
post Mar 15 2021, 04:09 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(eddyooi @ Mar 15 2021, 03:58 PM)
that means we actually get back a lot

like i have been paying rm2k /yr for life ins. 20 years in force

meaning total paid rm2k x20= rm40k
now i got guaranteed cash value rm16k. plus accumulated bonus of rm14k
so i will get back rm30k.
meaning i only have paid rm10k for 20 years of life insurance. so its atually good to take life insurance long term
You do have to factor in the inflation incurred over the last 20 years, getting 30k back today is equivalent to RM8,700; 20 years ago.
zstan
post Mar 15 2021, 04:17 PM

15,856 posts

i also just cancelled all my Great Eastern policies. Moved to AIA & AXA
Cyclopes
post Mar 15 2021, 04:23 PM

474 posts

meaning i only have paid rm10k for 20 years of life insurance. so its atually good to take life insurance long term
Sorry to ask you this: Is surrender Value 18k, 16k or 14k?

If you can provide the actual policy/product name, might be more helpful for other GE agents to provide input. Different products, different terms and conditions on the surrender Value and Bonuses.
Ewa Wa
post Mar 15 2021, 04:29 PM

685 posts

Good then pls keep it. Surrender policy is not a wise action. Traditional plans usually has better cash bonus payout.

This post has been edited by Ewa Wa: Mar 15 2021, 04:30 PM
eddyooi
post Mar 15 2021, 04:31 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ Mar 15 2021, 04:23 PM)
Sorry to ask you this: Is surrender Value 18k, 16k or 14k?

If you can provide the actual policy/product name, might be more helpful for other GE agents to provide input. Different products, different terms and conditions on the surrender Value and Bonuses.
16k plus bonus 14k

life 87 and supreme livingcare series 2

both also almost similar sv and bonus.
lifebalance
post Mar 15 2021, 04:34 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(eddyooi @ Mar 15 2021, 04:31 PM)
16k plus bonus 14k

life 87 and supreme livingcare series 2

both also almost similar sv and bonus.
Yes, it's confirm that both amount will be paid upon surrender.
eddyooi
post Mar 17 2021, 09:32 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 15 2021, 04:34 PM)
Yes, it's confirm that both amount will be paid upon surrender.
great....so its still something beneficial to get life insuarnce
prophetjul
post Mar 30 2021, 08:44 AM

12,267 posts

Great Eastern Life issues. Hahahaha! thumbup.gif 30 years ago was like this. Nothing changes with GEL laugh.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The High Court here has recorded a consent judgment between a 42-year-old cancer patient and an insurance company in a RM2.5mil lawsuit she filed against the latter.

In the judgment recorded before Judicial Commissioner Liza Chan Sow Keng here on Monday (March 29), businesswoman Tan Siew Wei and Great Eastern Life Assurance (Malaysia) Bhd achieved a full and final settlement in one of the two insurance policies she is claiming for.

In the settlement, a sum of RM500,000 was to be paid by the defendant to Tan as a full and final settlement of all the claims and demands which Tan has against the defendant, in respect to the particular policy.

Tan, who was diagnosed with Stage 4 cervical cancer in 2019, had sued the company for rejecting her critical illness insurance claims on allegations that she had broken the policy clause with a non-disclosure on her mental state, where she was diagnosed with an anxiety attack in February, 2017.

She is suing the company to claim for RM500,000, which is the basic sum assured from the first life insurance policy, and another RM2mil, the basic sum assured from her second life insurance policy.

The court ordered for the settlement sum to be paid before April 1 and did not make any order as to costs.

Neither party would have any further claim against the other after the settlement is completed. The policy shall be terminated with all the benefits and rights provided under the policy to cease.

Tan's lawyer Ng Kian Nam said hearing for the RM2mil policy continues on April 14.

In the statement of claim filed on Aug 12, last year, Tan said she bought the first policy in 2015 from Great Eastern with a half a million basic sum assured and a monthly premium of RM600 payable for 20 years.

In 2018, she signed up for a second policy with a RM2mil basic sum assured and a monthly premium of RM1,666.70 payable for 61 years.

Before entering into the agreement on both policies, Tan said she had truthfully filled in her information in the forms and made full disclosures in line with the Financial Services Act on her health, including declaring that she did not have depression or anxiety at all material times.

On Dec 27,2018, the plaintiff said she gave birth to her fourth child at a private hospital in Cheras and the next year, she was diagnosed with cancer.

She subsequently made insurance claims on critical illness from the defendant, as well as other insurance companies where she had bought life insurance policies.

Tan claimed that all of the companies have compensated her, but Great Eastern had repudiated both her policies and returned her monthly premiums on grounds that she had made a non-disclosure, had a psychology consultation and had been diagnosed with anxiety attack.

In Great Eastern's statement of defence, the defendant said it had assessed and processed the plaintiff's insurance claims and found that the plaintiff did not have the right to the basic sum assured under the policies.

It claimed the plaintiff had a psychological consultation history on April 17,2014.

It further claimed the plaintiff was diagnosed with anxiety attack and was prescribed Xanax on Feb 13,2017.
The defendant claimed that Tan had consulted with another doctor on Feb 16,2017, and complained about an infection in her body.

"The defendant found that the plaintiff had the illness and is aware of the illness as early as February, 2014.

"She, however, failed to disclose the diagnosis, treatment or the illness in her forms," it added.

Great Eastern said it had rejected the plaintiff's claims through its letters dated June 18,2019 and returned her premiums via direct credit.

"Therefore, the defendant's rejection of liability on the plaintiff's claim was valid, lawful and justifiable," it said.

Lawyers Wong Hok Mun and Chris Lim appeared for the defendant in the proceeding.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021...ompany#cxrecs_s

guanteik
post Mar 30 2021, 09:46 AM

2,656 posts

Don't risk your life with this company. There are better ones in the market such as Pru and Etiqa.
lifebalance
post Mar 30 2021, 10:58 AM

10,162 posts

prophetjul busy fanning the flames? innocent.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 30 2021, 11:35 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 30 2021, 10:58 AM)
prophetjul busy fanning the flames?  innocent.gif
Look at the thread title.

And this news happen to come out in the kopitiam.

SHARING IS CARING! laugh.gif
wingdover
post Mar 30 2021, 11:43 AM

85 posts

yeah GE support really sucks, even their website support interface is not user friendly and very complicated, mountain of selection for you to choose to submit an inquiry and I have not a single idea of what the selections means, and you need to go to a certain page that explain what all the selections means and after read it still not a single idea all the high class terms means, its like dealing with government regulations. and the response time is just like gov response time, haha, what a joke.

This post has been edited by wingdover: Mar 30 2021, 11:45 AM
hedfi
post Mar 30 2021, 01:25 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 30 2021, 11:35 AM)
Look at the thread title.

And this news happen to come out in the kopitiam.

SHARING IS CARING!  laugh.gif
Agent butthurt

prophetjul
post Mar 30 2021, 01:47 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Mar 30 2021, 01:25 PM)
Agent butthurt
Ha....i am no insurance agent. I am a 60 year old senior engineer with nothing better to do, GE agent! laugh.gif
hedfi
post Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 30 2021, 01:47 PM)
Ha....i am no insurance agent.  I am a 60 year old senior engineer with nothing better to do, GE agent!  laugh.gif
Sorry, didn't mean you but the person that you replied to ☮️
prophetjul
post Mar 30 2021, 02:21 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM)
Sorry, didn't mean you but the person that you replied to ☮️
OOOppss.....i am sorry. But i really am a 60 year old senior engineer. icon_rolleyes.gif
adey64
post Apr 1 2021, 01:11 AM

13 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by adey64: Apr 1 2021, 01:13 AM
squarepilot
post Apr 1 2021, 03:11 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 17 2021, 12:38 AM)
With all due respect TS, if anything, it appears Prudential paid out your critical illness claim in error. Prudential’s own T&C exclude it. EVERY SINGLE life insurer has the exact same definition and exclusion list.
CI claim should be paid out once CI is detected and not only after treatment is performed. CI is used for or as income replacement. this is what I understand of CI
Holocene
post Apr 1 2021, 09:33 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Apr 1 2021, 03:11 AM)
CI claim should be paid out once CI is detected and not only after treatment is performed. CI is used for or as income replacement. this is what I understand of CI
CIs normally have a survival clause. Hopefully sekalian punya agent did explain it to everyone.

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Apr 1 2021, 10:01 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Apr 1 2021, 03:11 AM)
Not every type of Critical Illness will be paid out immediately. Certain illnesses require time to assess to make sure it's really critical i.e Coma.

tongue.gif get your agent to explain

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0370sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:53 AM