Hong Kong Exchange & HK Stocks, Per title post-Extradition Bill W/drawal

ChAOoz
post May 19 2022, 10:05 AM

3,272 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 18 2022, 05:48 PM)
Tencent 1Q 2022 result available now. https://www.tencent.com/en-us/investors.html

Press release: https://static.www.tencent.com/uploads/2022...17eff3567ce.pdf

Results highlights: https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/LGt7QzXgGKPKeA4fM_kQeg

HKEX announcements: https://static.www.tencent.com/uploads/2022...a71f165d02a.pdf

Presentation slides: (Not yet available, to be updated later.)
You are so consistent. Was just wondering why no one posted tencent report and here we have it.

Due to limited fund, im trying to catch it below 300, i still think its prospect is bright, just have to discount the current market condition and china domestic outlook into the price.

Boon3
post May 19 2022, 11:53 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 19 2022, 10:05 AM)
You are so consistent. Was just wondering why no one posted tencent report and here we have it.

Due to limited fund, im trying to catch it below 300, i still think its prospect is bright, just have to discount the current market condition and china domestic outlook into the price.
Eh? I thought I read the news saying profits was really bad. Down almost by 50%.... what am I missing?

solstice818
post May 19 2022, 12:11 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,396 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 19 2022, 11:53 AM)
Eh? I thought I read the news saying profits was really bad. Down almost by 50%.... what am I missing?
Yes, sharp decline on the profit. It's worth keeping an eye on it.
Boon3
post May 19 2022, 12:26 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ May 19 2022, 12:11 PM)
Yes, sharp decline on the profit. It's worth keeping an eye on it.
Ah... that's what I thought.

But if we are gonna evaluate the risk, the money question is what if this is the only the START of the profit decline?

Previously, on a yearly basis, net income track record was as follows: from 78 billion (2018) -> 93 billion (2019) -> 159 billion (2020) -> 224 billion (2021).
Extremely impressive net income growth.
Which explained the impressive share price growth too.

But net income only came in at a mere 23.4 Billion yuan. (on the simplified annualized basis, this is only about 100 billion)

That's simply shocking what the numbers are suggesting. 100 billion vs 224 billion the previous year???

hence, the biggest risk is this could be it... the start of a massive decline.....

and when a stock is priced for its profit growth doesn't have the profit growth to show.... the downside risk is tremendous!!!

well... that's how I saw it when I glanced thru it this morning. wink.gif

sgh
post May 19 2022, 12:31 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 19 2022, 12:26 PM)

But if we are gonna evaluate the risk, the money question is what if this is the only the START of the profit decline?

Previously, on a yearly basis, net income track record was as follows: from 78 billion (2018) -> 93 billion (2019) -> 159 billion (2020) -> 224 billion (2021).

But net income only came in at a mere 23.4 Billion yuan. (on the simplified annualized basis, this is only about 100 billion)

That's simply shocking what the numbers are suggesting. 100 billion vs 224 billion the previous year???

hence, the biggest risk is this could be it... the start of a massive decline.....

and when a stock is priced for its profit growth doesn't have the profit growth to show.... the downside risk is tremendous!!!
Tencent is fully private or there are government involvement? Usually for big corporation country government may help to "save" as they cannot afford the country major icons to fall. In Covid, Spore govt "prop-up" SIA. Can anyone imagine Taiwan TSMC or Korea Samsung massive decline and country government never lift a single finger to help and let them fall to the bottom? Hmm...
solstice818
post May 19 2022, 12:39 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,396 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 19 2022, 12:26 PM)

Yes, you are right but other metrics like cash in hand, increased subscriptions and the newly implemented cost control initiative makes it worth keeping an eye for, for the next quarter.

But there is a sharp decline for earning per share though laugh.gif
Boon3
post May 19 2022, 12:47 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ May 19 2022, 12:39 PM)
Yes, you are right but other metrics like cash in hand, increased subscriptions and the newly implemented cost control initiative makes it worth keeping an eye for, for the next quarter.

But there is a sharp decline for earning per share though  laugh.gif
When I first started to learn about growth stocks, I was taught the greatest risk is when the stock is no longer considered a growth stock...... wink.gif

if I had to place the downside risk in pricing.... I would put it at 200.

Yes. 200.

so do jaga sikit. icon_rolleyes.gif
TOS
post May 19 2022, 07:00 PM

6,882 posts

Heard on the Street

Tencent’s Earnings Are a Bad Omen for Chinese Tech

China’s most valuable internet company is contending with a toxic mix of slowing consumption and regulatory overhang at home, and the same forces punishing other tech firms abroad

https://www.wsj.com/articles/tencents-earni...share_permalink
ChAOoz
post May 19 2022, 07:42 PM

3,272 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 19 2022, 11:53 AM)
Yeah, but i more or less prepare about it around 1 - 2 months ago based on reports coming out from analyst and also other china gaming / advertising quarter reports, so not really a big surprised.

My interest for tencent has always been their ownership of epicgames and the unreal engine nod.gif
Boon3
post May 20 2022, 07:09 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 19 2022, 07:42 PM)
Yeah, but i more or less prepare about it around 1 - 2 months ago based on reports coming out from analyst and also other china gaming / advertising quarter reports, so not really a big surprised.

My interest for tencent has always been their ownership of epicgames and the unreal engine  nod.gif
Okay.. so you were ready for the poor result...wink.gif

How about the next quarter? And if the numbers are gonna be poor once again, have you considered the possible ramifications on the already weak share price? How low are you willing to ride this down?

Yeah.. Just curious. As a trader, can't seem to understand...
ChAOoz
post May 20 2022, 08:22 AM

3,272 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 20 2022, 07:09 AM)
Okay.. so you were ready for the poor result...wink.gif

How about the next quarter? And if the numbers are gonna be poor once again, have you considered the possible ramifications on the already weak share price? How low are you willing to ride this down?

Yeah.. Just curious. As a trader, can't seem to understand...
Next quarter will probably be bad as well cause of the covid zero policy and tencent largest ads revenue is from advertisement from games, tech edu and tech stocks which is not doing good this year.

Share price will definitely go down, the natural thing to do if i were to trade it will be to sell and buy back later but this is not my trading position so i wont do that. Probably it will go down again this week when alibaba report their earnings, as that one wont be good as well.

I will just sit in losses till a reversal come, which i believe it will come.

Boon3
post May 20 2022, 08:31 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 20 2022, 08:22 AM)
Next quarter will probably be bad as well cause of the covid zero policy and tencent largest ads revenue is from advertisement from games, tech edu and tech stocks which is not doing good this year.

Share price will definitely go down, the natural thing to do if i were to trade it will be to sell and buy back later but this is not my trading position so i wont do that. Probably it will go down again this week when alibaba report their earnings, as that one wont be good as well.

I will just sit in losses till a reversal come, which i believe it will come.
Oh well... I tried my best. tongue.gif
TOS
post May 23 2022, 02:04 PM

6,882 posts

Today's 香港明报 Money Monday (230522): https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IZjrXJtXBz...iew?usp=sharing

How do ESG ratings affect stock prices?

Still another week of private equity investor education, this time learn the "British" style of private equity. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: May 23 2022, 02:50 PM
TOS
post May 26 2022, 07:57 PM

6,882 posts

Alibaba earnings released today

https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/ir/earnings (webcast can be accesed from this link too)

HKEX filing: https://doc.irasia.com/listco/hk/alibabagro...al/2022/res.pdf

Press release: https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/news/press_pdf/p220526.pdf

Presentation slides: https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/ir/presenta...s/pre220526.pdf

Ant Financial paid dividends for the first time too. Based on the 3.94 billion RMB Baba received, the total payout from Ant to all shareholders is estimated to be close to 12 bliion RMB.

https://finance.mingpao.com/fin/instantf/20...%ba%ba%e5%b9%a3

This post has been edited by TOS: May 26 2022, 08:28 PM
Toku
post May 26 2022, 09:16 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 26 2022, 07:57 PM)

https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/ir/earnings (webcast can be accesed from this link too)

Presentation slides: https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/ir/presenta...s/pre220526.pdf

Ant Financial paid dividends for the first time too. Based on the 3.94 billion RMB Baba received, the total payout from Ant to all shareholders is estimated to be close to 12 bliion RMB.

If remember correctly, 1/3 of Ant Financial stake was taken by the government. I think the reason for the dividend distribution is that government need money now...
Cubalagi
post May 26 2022, 10:56 PM

3,789 posts

Looks like good results..ADR up 13% now in US market.
ChAOoz
post May 27 2022, 01:16 AM

3,272 posts

Thanks for compiling all the link in one spot as always.

Result was not that great but due to super low expectation, and cloud segment finally turning a profit, market seemed satisfied with the result.

Still i feel Alibaba has too many loss making business segment, their direct to retail model is another new segment that is eating their margin, not sure how to really feel from it.

Growth from international commerce is still too slow as well. Need to compare SEA limited growth to have a good benchmark on whether external environment such as Ukraine/Russia conflict and China covid lockdown is the real reason for the slow growth as stated.
Cubalagi
post May 27 2022, 09:32 AM

3,789 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 27 2022, 01:16 AM)
Thanks for compiling all the link in one spot as always.

Result was not that great but due to super low expectation, and cloud segment finally turning a profit, market seemed satisfied with the result.

Still i feel Alibaba has too many loss making business segment, their direct to retail model is another new segment that is eating their margin, not sure how to really feel from it.

Growth from international commerce is still too slow as well. Need to compare SEA limited growth to have a good benchmark on whether external environment such as Ukraine/Russia conflict and China covid lockdown is the real reason for the slow growth as stated.
Things are looking up, with CCP govt taking the economic problems more urgently. We are already seeing interest rate cuts and tax cuts. Hopefully stimulus will be ramped up further.

TOS
post May 27 2022, 09:48 PM

6,882 posts

Heard on the Street

Alibaba’s Next Challenge: a Sputtering Chinese Economy

China’s iconic tech firm barely weathered the tech crackdown in 2021, and 2022 could be just as bad

https://www.wsj.com/articles/alibabas-next-...share_permalink
prophetjul
post May 30 2022, 07:38 AM

11,570 posts

Hi chaps.
Are dividends from China stocks listed on the HK stock exchange subject to with holding taxes?

73 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:37 PM