DTH heatsink discussion!, vs tower and ultra 120

kmarc
post Jun 1 2007, 02:53 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

This cooler has a lot of space between the heatpipes and the heatsink base (especially at the base). Would it help if these dead spaces were closed up? I mean solder it up or put thermal paste?

As with other heatsinks, I notice there is a flat surface at the base. Have been wondering whether cooling would be improved if one were to stick a heatsink over the base.... hmm.gif
lohwenli
post Jun 1 2007, 07:17 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

The flatness probably does affect the heatsink's effectiveness. But contrary to most people's perception, thermal paste actually has very bad thermal conductivity compared to metal-so filling the gaps with thermal paste would probably have not much effect.

Filling it with solder however, might be a good idea as it would allow better heat transfer from the IHS to the heatpipes (more area). BUT, there's a huge risk...
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=270141&hl=

Off topic,

I think sticking a small heatsink on the flat base of larget heatsinks would have minimal effect. It would be hard to get good thermal contact unless you lapped both surfaces to match, and the bigger heatsink would already be doing a good job of transferring heat away, a conventional heatsink would be insignificant by comparision. Even the best non-heatpiped heatsinks struggle to deal with 80W and above, noisy, high power fans would be required.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Jun 1 2007, 07:45 PM
kmarc
post Jun 1 2007, 07:30 PM

14,576 posts

Errr.... the link is to a sony mp3 player la doh.gif

One thing about this cooler is the uneven distribution of heat. I mean, since aluminium is different to copper in terms of heat conductivity and heat specific, this would create different temperature on the IHS.

You know, one stripe of hotter area and one stripe of cooler area.

Well, I guess not so much on the proc itself as the IHS is the one with differential temperature but would it be good for the proc?
lohwenli
post Jun 1 2007, 07:48 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 1 2007, 07:30 PM)
Errr.... the link is to a sony mp3 player la  doh.gif

One thing about this cooler is the uneven distribution of heat. I mean, since aluminium is different to copper in terms of heat conductivity and heat specific, this would create different temperature on the IHS.

Well, I guess not so much on the proc itself as the IHS is the one with differential temperature but would it be good for the proc?
Corrected the link..sorry, had too many tabs open, forgot what I last copied.

Yeah, that would be the case, alternating cool and hot strips of area on the IHS. But anyway heat production on the processor die is by no means uniform to start with, and the processor die is pretty small even when compared to the IHS. So I guess there would be no real effect of uneven cooling.
LittleLinnet
post Jun 1 2007, 07:55 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 1 2007, 02:53 PM)
This cooler has a lot of space between the heatpipes and the heatsink base (especially at the base). Would it help if these dead spaces were closed up? I mean solder it up or put thermal paste?

As with other heatsinks, I notice there is a flat surface at the base. Have been wondering whether cooling would be improved if one were to stick a heatsink over the base....  hmm.gif
isn't the spaces between the heatpipes at the base filled with the aluminium ??

Heatsink with flat surface, even you put a heatsink on it, it wouldn't help much, unless you put a fan on there.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 1 2007, 07:30 PM)
Errr.... the link is to a sony mp3 player la  doh.gif

I guess the uneven distribution of heat wont be really significant IMHO.
Maybe it does affect, but wont by much i guess.
kmarc
post Jun 1 2007, 08:13 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Jun 1 2007, 07:55 PM)
Heatsink with flat surface, even you put a heatsink on it, it wouldn't help much, unless you put a fan on there.
I was just wondering about that. However, I just can't put my hand on the base of my noctua heatsink to see whether it is hot to touch or not (no space!!!). If it is hot, I believe that another heatsink would help.....

@lohwenli - aiyoo! I don't mean using a stove to heat up the heatsink for soldering la!!! doh.gif Lucky for that guy that did it!!!

What I mean was using a soldering iron.......

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 1 2007, 08:14 PM
lohwenli
post Jun 1 2007, 08:27 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 1 2007, 08:13 PM)
I was just wondering about that. However, I just can't put my hand on the base of my noctua heatsink to see whether it is hot to touch or not (no space!!!). If it is hot, I believe that another heatsink would help.....

@lohwenli - aiyoo! I don't mean using a stove to heat up the heatsink for soldering la!!!  doh.gif Lucky for that guy that did it!!!

What I mean was using a soldering iron.......
Trust me on this-when soldering something that can rapidly dissipate heat, you need a TON of heat even to keep the solder workable. Regardless of whether you use a stove or a very high power soldering iron, you're setting yourself up for trouble.
ckhoong
post Jul 4 2007, 01:06 AM

whatever
627 posts

I found an interesting comparison between

Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme,
Noctua NH-U12F
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Tuniq Tower120

All are high performance air cooler..

A Taiwanese reviewer wrote the article and posted at http://www.coolaler.com/~coolaler/forum/sh...ad.php?t=156295
I got his permission to post it here in English. laugh.gif not the complete article..just a portion

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:10 amThermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme which uses 6 heat-pipes
Nice lapped.. just like mirror
Cooler with LGA 775 bracket.. AM2 bracket included too

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:15 amXigmatek HDT-S1283 which uses HDT (Heat-pipe Direct Touch) technology..
Accessories.. with reinforce mobo bracket for socket 775
Comes with 0.44A 12 cm fan
It is lightweight, and normal size..
HDT technology.. never seen be4 right?

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:17 amTest Bed:
CPU Intel C2D QX6850(G0)
M/B MSI P35 Neo2-FR(ICH9R) BIOS:P07 beta(6/28)
RAM King Box DDR2 800 D9GMH@1200
HDD Quantum 30G P-ATA
VGA MSI 8500GT DDR2 256MB
16X DVD-ROM
PSU Enhance 650W(ES)
cooling fan: Tower 120 2000rpm+speed controller

Software Used:
OS win XP SP2
intel Thermal Analysis Tool
ORTHOS (dual core SP2004 version CPU loading50%) printscreen after 5 minutes operation
Room temperature 31~33 °C

Coolers are tested under these criteria:

1.fan2000rpm test QX6850(G0)3Ghz idle
2.fan2000rpm test QX6850(G0)3Ghz with ORTHOS dual core SP2004
3.fan1500rpm test QX6850(G0)3Ghz with ORTHOS dual core SP2004
4.fan1000rpm test QX6850(G0)3Ghz with ORTHOS dual core SP2004
5.fan2000rpm test QX6850(G0)OC to 3.6Ghz with ORTHOS dual core SP2004

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:24 amuser posted image
i cant put many pictures on this thread..there is a limit.. so heres the result..

Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme has the best performance thumbup.gif
Noctua NH-U12F is a good silent cooler
Xigmatek HDT-S1283 is compact, lightweight
Tuniq Tower120 the legend

This post has been edited by ckhoong: Jul 4 2007, 01:30 AM
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 07:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

I knew it!
I knew from the start that the heatpipe direct touch is the best!

Seriously, if you think deeply enough, the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 is the real winner!
Why?

Okay, how many heatpipe does Ultra 120 Extreme uses? It's 6 U Heatpipe! shakehead.gif
And how many heatpipe does Xigmatek HDT-S1283 use? It's 3 U heatpipe! wub.gif

Look at that!
Ultra 120 Extreme uses double the number of heatpipe compared to Xigmatek HDT-S1283, but Ultra 120 Extreme can only cool 1 degrees cooler than Xigmatek HDT-S1283.
Isn't that kinda pathetic? sweat.gif

Can you imagine the peformance of Xigmatek HDT-S1283 if it uses the same number of heatpipe just like what Ultra 120 uses? brows.gif

Seriously, the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 is the clear winner! thumbup.gif

I love HDT (Heat-pipe Direct Touch) technology! wub.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2007, 07:48 AM
MakNok
post Jul 4 2007, 08:53 AM

5,713 posts

i love it...going to replace my thermalright HR-1......

it is small compared to the HR-01....i have removed some fins in order to put in my system...dah cacatlo...
tongue.gif
sjn hassan
post Jul 4 2007, 08:59 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 07:46 AM)
I knew it!
I knew from the start that the heatpipe direct touch is the best!

Seriously, if you think deeply enough, the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 is the real winner!
Why?

Okay, how many heatpipe does Ultra 120 Extreme uses? It's 6 U Heatpipe! shakehead.gif
And how many heatpipe does Xigmatek HDT-S1283 use? It's 3 U heatpipe! wub.gif

Look at that!
Ultra 120 Extreme uses double the number of heatpipe compared to Xigmatek HDT-S1283, but Ultra 120 Extreme can only cool 1 degrees cooler than Xigmatek HDT-S1283.
Isn't that kinda pathetic? sweat.gif

Can you imagine the peformance of Xigmatek HDT-S1283 if it uses the same number of heatpipe just like what Ultra 120 uses? brows.gif

Seriously, the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 is the clear winner! thumbup.gif

I love HDT (Heat-pipe Direct Touch) technology! wub.gif
Bro..how about Alu and copper?TR use an Alu but Wigmatek use a Hybrid hmm.gif

** When looking at the design, my expecting is same with U.HDT should be better.How about price and availability?can we get in our local market?

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Jul 4 2007, 08:59 AM
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 09:09 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jul 4 2007, 08:59 AM)
Bro..how about Alu and copper?TR use an Alu but Wigmatek use a Hybrid  hmm.gif

Manada.
Merepek je ko ni.

Thermalright punya product diorang guna copper heatpipe, but the heatpipes & the base has been plated with nickel. Sebab tu ko nampak the whole heatsink macam fully 100% aluminium.

It's just the same with most heatsink in the market nowadays.

The reason why they plated the heatpipe & the base with nickel is because they don't want the heatpipe and the base to oxidized and with fully 100% aluminium look, dia nampak lagi kemas dan lebih professional.

Tu je. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2007, 07:27 PM
sniper69
post Jul 4 2007, 09:18 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

Xigmatek and ThermalRight hmm.gif, both of them are good product i must say, Xigmatek the HDR HDT laugh.gif; smaller Ultra-120 Extreme on the other hand... the "100%" Aluminium tongue.gif; bigger... but, hell i'd go for Xigmatek because of it's size icon_idea.gif
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 09:26 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jul 4 2007, 09:18 AM)
Xigmatek and ThermalRight hmm.gif, both of them are good product i must say, Xigmatek the HDR HDT laugh.gif; smaller Ultra-120 Extreme on the other hand... the "100%" Aluminium tongue.gif; bigger... but, hell i'd go for Xigmatek because of it's size icon_idea.gif
Ni lagi sorang, aku ketuk kepala karang baru tau. laugh.gif
Ultra 120 Extreme bukan full 100% aluminium la.

Heatpipe ngan base Ultra 120 Extreme copper, tapi dah plated with nickel, sebab tu ko nampak macam 100% Aluminium. smile.gif

Product thermalright semua camtu.
[except heatsinks yang 100% copper la] blush.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2007, 07:26 PM
sniper69
post Jul 4 2007, 09:28 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 09:26 AM)

Heatpipe ngan base Ultra 120 Extreme copper, tapi dah anodized, sebab tu ko nampak macam 100% Aluminium. smile.gif

haduh... bukan ke aku type "100%" pe... laugh.gif
styloe
post Jul 4 2007, 11:19 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jul 4 2007, 09:28 AM)
haduh... bukan ke aku type "100%" pe... laugh.gif
tula pasal?anyway maner nak cekau xigmatek kat Malaysia Hari Ini? laugh.gif

in wuv with the size and weight liao wub.gif

This post has been edited by styloe: Jul 4 2007, 11:44 AM
Polar_012
post Jul 4 2007, 05:43 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 09:26 AM)

Heatpipe ngan base Ultra 120 Extreme copper, tapi dah anodized, sebab tu ko nampak macam 100% Aluminium. smile.gif

thermalright bukan anodise ler...plated dengan nikel.
allenultra
post Jul 4 2007, 05:59 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Polar_012 @ Jul 4 2007, 05:43 PM)
its the same. the process is same for anodise and electroplating.

correct me if I'm wrong.
Polar_012
post Jul 4 2007, 06:02 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jul 4 2007, 05:59 PM)
its the same. the process is same for anodise and electroplating.

correct me if I'm wrong.
Anodisation is a process that changes the surface texture of a matter, while electroplating is plating the matter with another type of matter.
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 07:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Polar_012 @ Jul 4 2007, 05:43 PM)
Whoops.
Sorry. blush.gif

It's Plated. laugh.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:09 AM