DTH heatsink discussion!, vs tower and ultra 120

Polar_012
post Jul 4 2007, 05:43 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 09:26 AM)
Ni lagi sorang, aku ketuk kepala karang baru tau. laugh.gif
Ultra 120 Extreme bukan full 100% aluminium la.

Heatpipe ngan base Ultra 120 Extreme copper, tapi dah anodized, sebab tu ko nampak macam 100% Aluminium. smile.gif

Product thermalright semua camtu.
[except heatsinks yang 100% copper la] blush.gif
thermalright bukan anodise ler...plated dengan nikel.
Polar_012
post Jul 4 2007, 06:02 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jul 4 2007, 05:59 PM)
its the same. the process is same for anodise and electroplating.

correct me if I'm wrong.
Anodisation is a process that changes the surface texture of a matter, while electroplating is plating the matter with another type of matter.
Polar_012
post Jul 9 2007, 10:25 PM

288 posts

That could be the reason your HR-01 isn't performing as expected.

Anyway the HR01 fins were soldered to the heatpipe. How did you manage to remove the fins?
Polar_012
post Jul 9 2007, 10:40 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 9 2007, 10:35 PM)
Maybe my defective HR-01 isn't performing as expected but i remember clearly that the result doesn't differ much even if the original height for this HR-01 is still intact..
just taken a risk to dismantle some of the aluminium fins and i bend the the end rod as u can see.

Using longnose plier,,,i twist and turn and using cutter as well.

and u can see my masterpiece!! tongue.gif
I can't tell how much of a difference but there would be loss in performance as less heat would get dissipated due to less number of fins.
Polar_012
post Jul 9 2007, 11:17 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 9 2007, 11:13 PM)
yalor ...not much difference and i have just broken one of the heatpipe to show that Polar_012 theory is wrong...!!
see the broken heatpipe....there goes my HR-01!!
[attachmentid=259478]
now my heatsink really defective!!!!
The inner part of that heatpipe you broke is porous for the sole purpose of capilary function so that the fluid would flow back to it's original state despite gravity.
Polar_012
post Jul 10 2007, 12:52 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 9 2007, 11:30 PM)
like that ar..

then i will saw off the bottom heat pipe  tomolo at my working place
interested to know further if your theory is right!!
learning new thing everyday!!!
Wah bro, that will totally destroy your heatsink sad.gif
Polar_012
post Aug 19 2007, 01:32 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Aug 19 2007, 02:26 AM)
put the case horizontal. only thing to look out for is dvdrom. harddisks can operate no matter how u place them
If not mistaken DVDrom works vertically too.
Polar_012
post Sep 13 2007, 08:19 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Sep 11 2007, 01:55 PM)
hi , i want to ask the best airflow direction either A or B (AMD platfom only 2 direction , either face psu or gc)

It would be best for you to try both ways and opt for the way with the better cooling results.

QUOTE(styloe @ Sep 13 2007, 02:07 AM)
wudnt it increase the psu temp?maybe just slightly is still ok right?
Not really maybe just a slight bit.
Polar_012
post Sep 15 2007, 07:15 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Sep 15 2007, 02:49 PM)
HDT on VGA  drool.gif
but hvn release , no actual pic at the moment.
secret product
http://www.coolaler.com/~coolaler/forum/sh...t=162292&page=6
Can't read chinese but i assume you are refering to the zalman. If so then it isn't HDT.

Refer here.

0.0272sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:00 AM