6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

[RESOLVED] Creaking Sound When Going Over Bumps, Suspension Issue Honda City TMO (09-13)

iverice
post Jun 1 2022, 08:41 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Feb 24 2020, 09:55 AM)
I had the same problem. Going over bumps or bumpy roads, you will hear that sound 'creaking'. This is due to the lower-arm joint. I guess your car went into a pool of water (or flood), then this problem start occurring.

To solve this, spray silicone lubricant on the lower arm joint (left & right). You will need to turn the streering full-left and full-right to access them. For me, I spray on 3 spots on each side of the car. No sound after that. Of course, you will need to re-spray the silicone lubricant every few months when the sound starts again.
any reason why the lower arm made noise after the car went into a pool of water, my car also had this noise, and if i remember correctly, it only happened after i went through a water on a heavy rain day.
mousqy
post Jun 1 2022, 08:44 AM

758 posts

buy new car ....what use 9 years car

This post has been edited by mousqy: Jun 1 2022, 08:46 AM
delphine.88
post Mar 20 2023, 09:00 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM)
UPDATE:

Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City.

I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and  surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface.

Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out.
Mine have that “krakk” sounds when going over bump and rattling on uneven road?
Could it be stabiliser bar bush too?
TSSwivlev
post Mar 27 2023, 03:37 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Mar 20 2023, 09:00 AM)
Most likely not.
if stabilizer bush the sound is squeaking sound.
tungfunglaw
post Mar 27 2023, 03:40 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Mar 27 2023, 03:37 PM)
Most likely not.
if stabilizer bush the sound is squeaking sound.
have u changed it?

Paradigmata
post Mar 27 2023, 03:47 PM

345 posts

Just put grease that compatible with rubber.

If me, I use used engine oil to sapu only. Let it soaked.

OK also, FOC
JON97
post Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM

346 posts

Honda? Maybe the steering rack... Try turning your steering wheel left and right, if got a knocking sound.... well prepare your wallet.

Also, might be an issue with absorber bearings, stabilizer bush, or absorber link...

FYI, the lower arm, and stabilizer bush are easy to verify. Just fully turn your steering wheel and use your phone to take a picture to check for cracks.

delphine.88
post Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM)
Honda? Maybe the steering rack... Try turning your steering wheel left and right, if got a knocking sound.... well prepare your wallet.

Also, might be an issue with absorber bearings, stabilizer bush, or absorber link...

FYI, the lower arm, and stabilizer bush are easy to verify. Just fully turn your steering wheel and use your phone to take a picture to check for cracks.

Looks good right? I suspect my shocks now.
Was wondering should I go back to sc to check.
Or any recommended workshop?
mingyuyu
post Jun 26 2023, 10:47 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM)
best way is to go to tyre shop and ask them to check
JON97
post Jun 27 2023, 10:03 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM)
QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 26 2023, 10:47 PM)
best way is to go to tyre shop and ask them to check
Gonna agree with mingyuyu... the best way is to go tyre shop and check if you are not sure. Because even though there are no signs of cracks, the inner part might be bad.

Also, if your car is still under warranty (Honda 5 Years - engine, gearbox & steering rack etc. | 3 Years - Break, Suspension etc). Yes, it would be best if you go back SC. If not, ask SC to do the checking and ask them to list out the part that can claim warranty, go out to change if cannot claim.

But SC sometimes won't give you exact detail of what is gone, they usually ask you to change the whole car... But it's also good to self-verify or find reputable workshops... Because from my experience with SC, they didn't inform me my steering rack is gone after multiple test drives by them. Till I complained and pointed out steering rack got sound only, they proceeded to properly check and claim.

If SC I recommended HZN Shah Alam, overall, they are more straightforward instead of others like Kepong, give you a 10k bill to replace the whole suspension LoL.
If Damansara - Uptown Tyre
IF Kajang - SC Automotive (They do more HRVs but City also can)
Others not sure.. can try FB community groups for eg: honda city
delphine.88
post Jul 6 2023, 08:53 PM

143 posts

I haven’t go check yet. Maybe this weekend.
But from the look, is it stabiliser link spoilt?
JON97
post Jul 10 2023, 01:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 6 2023, 08:53 PM)

I haven’t go check yet. Maybe this weekend.
But from the look, is it stabiliser link spoilt?
Yea.. from the looks of it. Also, from the pic, it looks like your absorber might be leaking, if yes, then absorber also gone
delphine.88
post Jul 10 2023, 04:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 10 2023, 01:45 PM)
Yea.. from the looks of it. Also, from the pic, it looks like your absorber might be leaking, if yes, then absorber also gone
I went to check at some shop and was told the sound is from steering rack. When they gently knock on the rack end, there’s some sound from steering rack. Was quoted 700+ for a China brand rack. Worth it?
terradrive
post Jul 10 2023, 04:09 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

stabilizer link with worn rubber bush can create that sound, my first gen old vios has that and fixed after i changed the stabilizer link. But I end up changing all shock absorbers and shock mountings with ori ones to eliminate all the small noises before. It runs great now (i did previously changed the lower arm and steering linns etc with ori too)

most bush starts to worn after 10 years
JON97
post Jul 11 2023, 02:03 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 10 2023, 04:01 PM)
I went to check at some shop and was told the sound is from steering rack. When they gently knock on the rack end, there’s some sound from steering rack. Was quoted 700+ for a China brand rack. Worth it?
If budget, try to get half cut - because they are cheaper and ori, OEM Thai - Also ok, not sure about OEM china... Sounds like it might not last long
If budget not an issue - New Ori
If repair - Might not last

Or maybe try a different workshop haha
JON97
post Jul 11 2023, 02:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jul 10 2023, 04:09 PM)
stabilizer link with worn rubber bush can create that sound, my first gen old vios has that and fixed after i changed the stabilizer link. But I end up changing all shock absorbers and shock mountings with ori ones to eliminate all the small noises before. It runs great now (i did previously changed the lower arm and steering linns etc with ori too)

most bush starts to worn after 10 years
Cough cough... Mine 5 years 70k already replace all except the stabilizer link.
Virlution
post Jul 11 2023, 02:17 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM)

my car got knocking sound.... turn parking got knock sound... jialat already
delphine.88
post Jul 11 2023, 07:37 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jul 11 2023, 02:17 PM)
my car got knocking sound.... turn parking got knock sound... jialat already
Turn steering left and right for sound?could be steering rack also
Virlution
post Jul 12 2023, 09:02 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 11 2023, 07:37 PM)
Turn steering left and right for sound?could be steering rack also
yeah, turn left or right, every now and then will get a "tok" knocking sound
bigduck
post Jul 12 2023, 09:06 AM

156 posts

Sohai TS thinks he’s smarter than mechanic

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0251sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:48 PM