[RESOLVED] Creaking Sound When Going Over Bumps, Suspension Issue Honda City TMO (09-13)

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:15 AM, updated 3y ago

22 posts

Hi everyone. my Honda City TMO (2010) has been making creaking sounds at the front ('nyek -nyek'...like old spring bed ) when going over uneven surface / the slightest bumps. I took the car to Honda SC a few weeks back when the sound was not so obvious, and they said it was the STABILIZER BAR BUSH. I have since tried to google this and found that worn out stabilizer bush will result in clunking or knocking sound and not creaking.
I have an appointment to replace the stabilizer bar bush in a few days @ RM120+, but i am not confident it will solve the problem. The SC did say that my front absorbers need to be changed as well since its almost 9 years old. But again, according my Google searches, bad shocks don't creak - they only leak, go dead, etc. (Do correct me if i am wrong). My priority is getting rid of the sound since the ride doesn't seem harsh to me esp since the car is mostly used for short trips.

There is no sound when turning the steering. No other problems with car ride or handling. Everything in the car is stock. Im guessing it is something to do with the coil spring mounting

Really appreciate if those who have faced this problem could share their experience and how it was resolved. Thanks a lot

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 6 2019, 06:51 PM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:47 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Aug 4 2019, 10:17 AM)
are you a student?

since only RM120, just change it first

no need headache troubleshooting
Sorry, i don't subscribe to your approach. All the same, thanks for your input.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:49 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Aug 4 2019, 10:22 AM)
Did uncle google didnt tell you to get a 2nd opinion at a different workshop?
Thanks for ur insightful comments.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:50 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 4 2019, 10:25 AM)
9 years old car and haven't change absorber before
it's time lah

squeaking is indicating that your absorber needed replacement already
Thanks for your view
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:00 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 10:29 AM)
Most likely sound comes from this part.
You can try spray wd40 see sound goes away.

If yes then can buy at205 later to apply
Hi AllnGap,

Thanks for reading my post, understanding my question and offering solutions. This can sometimes be a rare commodity on this forum.

I am leaning towards the mounts, bushing or coil spring insulator/seat as the culprits. I will look up the product u mentioned..thanks a lot.

In the meantime, i still hope someone who has first hand experience with this problem could weigh in and help zero-in on the problem.

Cheers
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:03 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Global_Financing @ Aug 4 2019, 10:54 AM)
driving the same honda city and got the same sound when going over bumps, at the front.

tell me when u solved it.
did u take ur car to a workshop ? I suggest u do that and we can compare findings
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:14 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 4 2019, 11:08 AM)
To be fair we do not know what kind of abuse the car went through. Another thing is quality of parts may be of another factor why the car creaks over duration of time.

Be fair 10 years is really a long time for rubber/ silicone/ PU parts to be in service.

Spraying oils/ chemicals is only a stop gap measure. Replacing is the only way to go. You have to remember crushed /worn with material loss/ cracked parts cannot be rejuvenated with any chemicals.

I am driving a 10 year old Myvi and a 43 year old Corolla. So i do know what kind of acceptable damage and wear level either car has with the age and driving that goes into it. Your 10 year old Honda would have same wear level on suspension as my Myvi. The myvi has creaking sound at the back when braking. And rattly under carriage when driving on bad roads. All are due to worn bushings that needs to be changed. I have sprayed WD silicone on these joints and it is only good for about a few weeks if it was not raining. I wish i have time to mount an action cam to the under carriage to prove my point. But get the car on a lift and manually shaking the suspension & control arms confirms the worn parts for play and creaks.

If you are still not happy that anyone can prove that the worn parts that needs replacing, then buy a new car.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:21 AM

22 posts

The car has only done 90k on the road. Was always driven carefully and gently and parked in covered area. Everything on the car is original. Fully maintained at Honda SC till today.

I do understand that rubber degrades with time and im prepared to change whatever necessary. Just trying to avoid fixing things blindly. In my experience, once you start opening up and changing parts you start a chain reaction where 1 after the other, related components start to act up - i guess coz the equilibrium has been disturbed.

No need for anyone to prove anything la. Just share if you have faced simillar issues so that i can minimize fiddling with the car more than necessary.

Cheers

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 11:26 AM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:48 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2019, 11:24 AM)
lower arm
Did you experience this yourself? I thought if lower arm it would have steering vibration, sound when turning steering. I don't experience any of this. Is it possible to just change out the bush of the arm and not the antire arm?

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 11:53 AM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 12:58 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 12:07 PM)
It's most likely absorber mount (called struts)
that piece of rubber is attached to your car holding the absorber.
when you hit bumps, the rubber is compressed, thus making annoying sound.
see this picture, it's the black stuff on top of the absorber. that piece of thing shrink d

That rubber part is called struts is it? Ok, will get mine checked. Tx

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 01:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 4 2019, 01:04 PM)
Thjs. Mine got some sound due to absorber mount. Mechanic ask me to change absorber and mount. Almost 1k..
Did the sound go away after you changed the mount and absorber?

SC has quoted me RM1484 to change front absorbers (together with dust cover, bump stop and rubber comp - i think this is the rubber mounting)

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 01:43 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(BluePants @ Aug 4 2019, 01:34 PM)
DIY identify the source. Connect one end of a tube/hose near each component and the other end to your ear, listen while driving.

Or get silicone spray and spray each bushing one by one and test.

Absorber mounts can last a lot longer than 90K KM.
Yeah.. and from my vehicle records, i found that both sides were replaced in 2014! unsure.gif

Put hose near the part and hear while driving. I can't imagine how this can be done biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 01:45 PM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 02:13 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 02:06 PM)
another name is absorber mounting.

usually mechanics will ask you to change whole set including absorber so warn you first.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
ok ok. But ar i checked my records, 2014 aredi changed absorber mounting both sides wor.

Could it be any other part like the bottom part of the coil spring. I donno whether there oso got another rubber like on the top.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 03:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 4 2019, 01:49 PM)
Ya. Absorber is quite easy to identify
Sc quote me 3k for all
RM3k just for the pair of front absorbers?! Mind to share what else they changed together

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 03:23 PM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 04:26 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Strixes @ Aug 4 2019, 03:53 PM)
mind telling me where is the place that changes vushings for rm120? all the places ive checked quoted me rm300+
PMed u

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 06:43 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Aug 4 2019, 04:52 PM)

Watch min 4.14
Buy a "silicon lubricant" and spray at that area of the absorber, as shown in the video.

Mine city 2013. After spraying, the squeaks become less audible.
And to access the absorber, just turn steering wheel all the way left / right. No need to jack up car.

"Silicon lubricant" can get less than rm20, ace hardware, Mr DIY, etc.
Tx for the suggestion. It seems like a temporary fix though. Read quite a few reviews about how the sound came back a shortwhile after

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 07:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Aug 4 2019, 04:07 PM)
for 9 yo car .. better get it fix outside if cost is your concern. stabilizer bush only cost few bucks per piece. few other possible cause is absorber mounting/absorber/lower arm. can check the price at sparepart shops / lazada / shopee to get an idea how much it cost. SC sure cut throat price ler.

why dont u open the hood n push down the front bumper. get someone to try to identify where the sound coming from.
Just tried to push down with the bonnet open, unfortunately couldn't reproduce the creaking sound sweat.gif
TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM

22 posts

UPDATE:

Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City.

I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface.

Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out.

TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 08:08 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Aug 6 2019, 07:08 PM)
Wah. My 2 yr old civic has friction sound at drivers rear wheel. It is not hard knocking sound but it sounds like friction (sound like the bottom of your car hit high hump) when go through wide hump. Small hump no sound.

Are yours with the same sound? My Civic only managed to make appointment at Honda on Friday
No, mine was a ngeeek..ngeeek sound like opening a rusty gate.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 08:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Aug 6 2019, 08:17 PM)
How much is it? How many quantity did u change? Got photo of your old one?
RM122.15. It comes in a pair. Din take pic

0.0225sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:39 AM