QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 10:20 AM)
you know any mall selling it? tried searching it in ACE hardware can't find it.[RESOLVED] Creaking Sound When Going Over Bumps, Suspension Issue Honda City TMO (09-13)
[RESOLVED] Creaking Sound When Going Over Bumps, Suspension Issue Honda City TMO (09-13)
Aug 4 2019, 07:13 PM
648 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Aug 4 2019, 07:37 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penangites |
Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM
22 posts Joined: May 2014 |
UPDATE:
Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City. I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface. Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out. |
Aug 6 2019, 07:08 PM
832 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
Wah. My 2 yr old civic has friction sound at drivers rear wheel. It is not hard knocking sound but it sounds like friction (sound like the bottom of your car hit high hump) when go through wide hump. Small hump no sound.
Are yours with the same sound? My Civic only managed to make appointment at Honda on Friday |
Aug 6 2019, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Aug 6 2019, 07:08 PM) Wah. My 2 yr old civic has friction sound at drivers rear wheel. It is not hard knocking sound but it sounds like friction (sound like the bottom of your car hit high hump) when go through wide hump. Small hump no sound. No, mine was a ngeeek..ngeeek sound like opening a rusty gate.Are yours with the same sound? My Civic only managed to make appointment at Honda on Friday |
Aug 6 2019, 08:17 PM
161 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM) UPDATE: How much is it? How many quantity did u change? Got photo of your old one?Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City. I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface. Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out. |
Aug 6 2019, 08:18 PM
137 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Aug 6 2019, 08:28 PM
Aug 6 2019, 08:34 PM
Aug 6 2019, 09:53 PM
Aug 6 2019, 09:55 PM
Aug 6 2019, 09:59 PM
Aug 6 2019, 10:03 PM
Aug 7 2019, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 6 2019, 09:53 PM) Be careful. Read My above post. Honda SC strongly recommends against using this product for stabilizer bush and absorber mount! After thinking about it i think there might be a safety issue as well. If something is designed to work dry (no grease oso) then if we lubricate it/spray stuff on it..it may cause a malfunction because of the slippery film on the surface. esp for moving parts and suspension. Don play-play and take the risk la. |
Aug 7 2019, 04:38 PM
1,692 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Probation? |
QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 01:22 PM) Did the sound go away after you changed the mount and absorber? may i know why you continue go to SC after warranty period overSC has quoted me RM1484 to change front absorbers (together with dust cover, bump stop and rubber comp - i think this is the rubber mounting) |
Aug 11 2019, 05:19 AM
Aug 11 2019, 07:16 AM
164 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM) UPDATE: did you put lubricants on them without knowing you shouldnt? A price to pay for sure, glad you worked it outJust changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City. I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface. Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out. |
Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(maxpudding @ Aug 11 2019, 07:16 AM) did you put lubricants on them without knowing you shouldnt? A price to pay for sure, glad you worked it out No i did not. I'm just sharing the feedback i got from Honda SC when i told them about the AT205 spray recommended by Scotty. Seems it could be dangerous. Just hope everyone will be careful in trying stuff out, itu je.This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM |
Aug 12 2019, 04:11 PM
164 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM) No i did not. I'm just sharing the feedback i got from Honda SC when i told them about the AT205 spray recommended by Scotty. Seems it could be dangerous. Just hope everyone will be careful in trying stuff out, itu je. Yeah, dry mechanical bushes that dont require any lubricants should just be left alone, they werent designed for lubes anywaysThe creaking sound from these dry joints should be immediately checked for any wear and tear, most of the time the sound will go away after a few days, whilst lubrication might reduce or eliminate the sound, but it’ll just make the bushes degrade more over time |
Feb 24 2020, 09:55 AM
273 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I had the same problem. Going over bumps or bumpy roads, you will hear that sound 'creaking'. This is due to the lower-arm joint. I guess your car went into a pool of water (or flood), then this problem start occurring.
To solve this, spray silicone lubricant on the lower arm joint (left & right). You will need to turn the streering full-left and full-right to access them. For me, I spray on 3 spots on each side of the car. No sound after that. Of course, you will need to re-spray the silicone lubricant every few months when the sound starts again. This post has been edited by jex-koi: Feb 24 2020, 09:56 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:54 PM |